Skip to main content

Full text of "One hundred years of progress : a graphic, historical, and pictorial account of the Catholic Church of New England, Archdiocese of Boston."

See other formats






f    ■}  -A 

A  ^     I 



Gift  of 








f |5|^HQ^M{^^^ 


James  S«  Sullivan,  M.  D,,  ed. 


Boston  &  Portland 
Illustrated  Publishing  Company- 
Henry  O'Brien 



VERY    REV.    WILLIAM    BYRNE,    D.  D.,    V.  G. 

BOSTON  puinc  immm 


contents  upon  him.  His  Grace  may  be  deeply  moved  and  yet  not  give  outward  expression  to  his  emotion.  On 
this  occasion,  however,  he  yielded  to  it  in  a  way  that  revealed  an  intenseness  of  feeling  not  generally  expected. 
It  was  characteristic  of  his  unselfish  nature  that,  joyful  though  the  occasion  was,  the  expression  should  take  the 
form  of  indignation  for  hurt  inflicted  upon  the  most  defenseless  of  his  assistants.  This  was  manifested  in  his 
speech  made  at  the  reception  given  him  by  the  Boston  Catholic  Union,  and  which  next  day  thrilled  the  city. 
Referring  to  the  anti-Catholic  demonstrations  evoked  by  the  protest  of  a  priest  against  the  teaching  of  false 
history  in  the  public  schools,  he  said  among  other  things:  "It  is  not  the  accusations  that  were  made  against 
us,  not  the  revilings  even,  not  even  the  insults  that  I  find  fault  with,  but  the  attacks  which  were  made  on  the 
virtue  of  our  ladies  in  religious  societies.  The  revilers  attacked  the  clergy,  but  to  that  we  were  less  sensiti\^, 
because  we  are  men.  But  when  they  attacked  women  who  had  devoted  their  lives  to  virginity,  spouses  of 
Christ,  and  kept  up  the  attack ;  when  placards  were  placed  on  our  walls  and  not  torn  down-  by  the  authorities  of 
the  city — then  it  was  almost  time  to  resent  the  injuries.  And  yet,  you  remained  quiet.  F<5r  'tliis  I  gi\-e  you 
credit,  and  for  this  I  am  proud  to-day.  It  was  a  time,  indeed,  for  every  one  to  mutter..arfcl  gnash  Ijis  teeth  as  he 
went  through  the  streets.  For  myself  I  knew  that  the  trouble  came  not  from  the  l^etter  part  of ,  the  coramimity. 
It  was  only  a  storm  that  was  passing  over.  What  affected'me  most- — and  I  will  give- vent  to  jt  to-night^ was 
not  the  insults,  nor  the  accusations,  nor  the  revilings,  but  I  was  ashamed  for  Bosto'ri  that  air  this  did  not  com- 
mence with  those  who  expressed  them  openly,  but  came  in  cold  blood  from  hidden  leaders  for  political  effect." 
"In  the  twenty-five  years  preceding  this  celebration,  missions  of  more  or  less  importance  were  established 
by  the  Redemptorists,  Marists,  Franciscan,  Oblate,  and  Augustinian  Fathers.  There  were  introduced,  for  the 
teaching  of  schools  and  the  care  of  asylums  and  hospitals,  the  Xaverian  Brothers,  the  Sisters  of  the  Sacred 
Heart,  Sisters  (If  St.  Joseph,  School  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame,  Sisters  of  Mercy,  Sisters  of  Charity  of  Nazareth, 
the  Gray  Nuns  of  Montreal,  Halifax  Sisters  of  Charity,  Madison  Sisters  of  Charity,  Sisters  of  Providence,  Sisters 
of  the  Third  Order  of  St.  Dominic,  Sisters  of  St.  Anne,  School  Sisters  of  the  Good  Shepherd,  and  the  Montreal 
Brothers  of  Charity..  Immediately  after  the  Third  Plenary  Council  of  Baltimore,  parochial  schools  began  to 
multiply  at  a  ratithat  gave  a  phenomenal  increase.  Perhaps  the  most  important  institution  established  that 
of  St.  John's  Tl5i::,ological  Seminary  at  Brighton,  founded  in  1884.  According  to  the  Catholic  Directories  of  the 
present  year  theriL^'-e  now  176  churches,  400  priests,  99  parochial  schools,  7  female  academies,  3  colleges,  i 
theological  seminary,^'33,ooo  pupils  in  Catholic  schools,  122  ecclesiastical  students,  10  orphan  asylums  with  1,000 
orphans,  and  7  hospitals,  while  the  Catholic  population  is  about  575,000. 

In  the  Ecclesiastical  Province  of  Boston,  which  includes  the  whole  of  New  England,  on  the  territory  which 
first  comprised  the  Diocese  of  Boston,  there  are  now,  to  quote  the  same  authority :  i  Archbishop,  8  Bishops,  1,150 
priests,  287  seminaries,  738  churches,  154  chapels  and  stations,  i  theological  seminary,  :^o  academies,  296 
parochial  schools,  55  charitable  institutions,  98,260  pupils  in  parochial  schools,  and  the  Catholic  population  is 
estimated  at  1,363,000  souls.  "^ 


Bishop  Br#y  was  born  in  the  County  Cavan,  Ireland.  Having  completed  his  studies  for  the  priesthood 
at  All-HalloweS  College,  Dublin,  he  received  Holy  Orders  in  1S65.  The  field  of  his  mission  was  the  Diocese 
of  Boston.  On  arriving  here  he  was  assigned  as  curate  at  St.  Vincent's  Church,  on  Fort  Hill.i  Not  long 
after,  he  was  transferred  to  Newburyport,  where  he  was  when  called  to  the  pastoral  charge  of  Amesbury  in 
1868.  He  served  in  this  capacity  for  twenty-three  years.  In  that  time  he  replaced  the  little  wooden  structure 
that  had  been  used  as  a  house  of  worship  by  a  fine  brick  church,  capable  of  seating  1,200  persons;  he  built  a 
brick  school-house  where  the  Catholic  children  of  the  parish  have  been  receiving  a  grammar  and  high-school 
education;  he  built  a  convent  for  the  teachers,  the  Sisters  of  St.  Joseph;  and  last  of  all  he  erected  a  comfortable 
rectory.  Father  Brady  had  been  permanent  rector  three  years  when  he  was  elevated  to  the  episcopate.  He 
was  consecrated  in  the  Cathedral  of  Holy  Cross,  Boston,  August  5,  1891.     At  the  ceremonies  His  Grace,  Arch- 


bishop  Williams,  was  the  consecrator,  with  Bishop  O'Reilly,  of  Springfield,  and  Bishop  Harkins,  of  Providence, 
as  assistants;  Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  D.  D.,  V.  G.,  was  assistant  priest;  Rev.  Thomas  H.  Shahan  and  Rev. 
Joseph  H.  Gallagher  were  deacons  of  honor  to  the  Archbishop;  Rev.  Denis  O'Callaghan  and  Rev.  M.  T. 
MacManus,  deacons  of  the  Mass;  Rev.  James  Talbot,  D.  D.,  master  of  ceremonies;  and  the  sermon  was 
preached  by  Bishop  Bradley  of  Manchester.  Besides  the  prelates  and  clergymen  already  mentioned,  Bishop 
de  Goesbriand,  of  Burlington,  and  about  200  priests  were  present  in  the  sanctuary. 


The  Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  D.  D.,  is  the  present  vicar-general.  High  executive  ability  has  distin- 
guished the  performance  of  his  official  duties.  He  was  born  in  1835,  in  Kilmessan,  County  Meath,  Ireland, 
not  far  from  the  birthplace  of  the  late  John  Boyle  O'Reilly.  He  came  to  this  country  at  the  age  of  nineteen, 
and  had  engaged  in  teaching  a  school  near  Baltimore,  when,  urged  by  a  feeling  that  his  true  calling  was 
the  priesthood,  he  threw  up  all  to  prepare  for  that.  His  theological  studies  were  made  at  Mount  St.  Mary's 
College,  Emmittsburg,  and  he  was  ordained  priest  for  Boston,  December  31,  1864.  For  some  time  before 
his  ordination  and  after  it  he  was  professor  of  mathematics  and  Greek  in  the  college.  He  was  called  to 
Boston  late  in  1865.  In  the  following  year  he  was  appointed  chancellor  of  the  diocese.  He  was  assigned 
to  the  pastoral  charge  of  St.  Mary's  Parish,  Charlestown,  in  1874.  In  this  capacity  it  fell  to  his  lot,  June  6, 
1875,  to  be  the  first  Catholic  priest  permitted  to  hold  divine  service  in  the  Charlestown  State  Prison.  Upon 
the  death  of  Father  Lyndon,  in  1878,  Father  Byrne  was  appointed  to  the  office  of  vicar-general.  Appealed  to  in 
behalf  of  Mount  St.  Mary's  College,  whose  affairs  had  fallen  into  disorder,  he  accepted  the  presidency  of  that 
institution  in  1880,  and  in  three  years  succeeded  in  placing  it  upon  the  stable  footing  it  has  since  maintained. 
Pie  received  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Divinity,  in  1880,  from  Georgetown  College.  On  returning  to  Boston  he 
went  to  the  Cathedral,  where  he  acted  as  administrator  of  the  Archdiocese  during  the  absence  of  the  Arch- 
bishop, until  February  i,  1884,  when  he  was  appointed  pastor  of  St.  Joseph's,  West  End.  He  served  in  the 
same  capacity  in  1S87,  and  represented  the  Archbishop  in  Rome  at  the  celebration  of  the  Golden  Jubilee  of 
Pope  Leo  XIII.,  in  1888.  As  a  writer,  the  vicar-general  is  master  of  a  terse,  clear  style.  Among  his 
productions  are  the  account  of  the  Catholic  Church  in  Boston  in  the  Memorial  History  of  Boston;  his  recent 
book  on  "Catholic  Doctrine,"  which  has  received  commendation  from  the  highest  authorities  in  the  country, 
and  articles  contributed  to  Donahot s  Magazine  on  the  school  question  and  other  topics. 


The  office  of  chancellor  of  the  diocese  has  been  filled  with  marked  ability  by  the  Rev.  Richard  Neagle 
since  July,  1886.  Previous  to  his  appointment  he  had  spent  nine  years  as  assistant  at  St.  Mary's  Church, 
Charlestown.  Born  July  19,  1854,  at  Bradford,  Mass.,  and  graduated  at  Holy  Cross  College,  Worcester,  when 
nineteen  years  old,  he  was  ordained  priest,  at  St.  Joseph's  Seminary  of  Troy,  by  Cardinal  McCloskey  in  May, 
1877.  He  is  the  spiritual  director  of  the  Young  Ladies'  Charitable  Association,  of  Boston,  an  organization 
that  has  become  remarkable  for  the  large  amount  of  good  it  has  accomplished  in  the  few  years  of  its  existence. 
In  1891  he  spent  several  months  visiting  in  Europe  and  the  Holy  Land. 


Chancellor    Archdiocese   of    Bosto 


Catbebral  of  tbe  IfJol^  Cross. 

T  the  close  of  the  RevoUition,  a  few  Spaniards  and  Frenchmen,  with  thirty  Irishmen, 
comprised  the  Catholic  community  of  Boston.  Abbe  Claude  Florent  Bouchard  de  la 
Poterie,  an  ex-chaplain  of  the  French  fleet,  formed  them  into  a  congregation.  Having 
procured  authority  from  the  Rt.  Rev.  John  Carrolh 
Bishop  of  Baltimore,  it  is  alleged  that  he  offered 
his  first  Mass  in  the  residence  of  a  Mr.  Baury,  on 
Green  Street.  In  lygo  a  little  Huguenot  meeting- 
house on  School  Street  was  hired.  After  making  some  alterations  in  it,  and  naming 
it  the  Church  of  the  Holy  Cross,  Abbe  Poterie  celebrated  in  it  the  first  public  Mass, 
November  2,  1788.  The  Abbe,  who  left  for  the  West  Indies,  was  succeeded  in  1790 
by  the  Rev.  L.  Rousselet,  or  Roussclot,  as  Mr.  John  Gilmary  Shea  calls  him,  also  a 
French  priest.  Tliis  clergyman  did  not  remain  long  as,  by  Bishop  Carroll's  appointment,  the  Rev.  John  Thayer 
took  charge  of  the  New  England  mission  June   10,  1790. 

The  lot  on  which  the  Huguenot  Church  was  erected  was  bought  in  1704,  for  "one  hundred  and  ten  pounds 
current  silver  money  of  New  England,"  on  which  "to  erect  and  build  a  church  for  the  French  conTeoation." 
It  was  situated  about  midway  between  the  present  site  of  the  Parker  House  and  Washington  Street;  the 
dimensions  of  the  lot  being  43^^-  feet  on  "  School  House  Lane,"  as  School  Street  was  then  called,  36  feet  on 
the  side  towards  what  is  now  Washington  Street,  88^-  feet  on  the  side  towards  Tremont  Street,  and  35^  feet  on 
the  rear  line.  The  small  brick  church  was  not  erected  for  about  ten  years  from  date  of  purchase  of  the  land. 
In  1748,  the  congregation  had  dwindled  down  to  about  seven  male  communicants,  and  was  then  sold  to  the 
trustees  of  a  new  Congregational  Church  for  "three  thousand 

pounds  of  good  bills."      This  society  continued  to  use  the  Q  CZJ^     ^        /Ij  n0 

building  for  a  meeting-house  for  some   years,  when  it  was  Q^'Vi^    J^<^'*^'^^^ 
sold  to  private  parties  who  leased  it  to  Father  Thayer.  C/ 

During  the  year  1791  Dr.  Carroll  paid  a  visit  to  Boston  and  was  most  cordially  received  and  entertained, 
as  would  appear  from  a  letter  he  sent  to  Governor  Hancock  after  his  return  to  Baltimore.  This  letter  is  dated 
August  28,  1791,  and  in  it  Dr.  Carroll  warmly  e.xpresses  his  gratitude  to  the  Governor  and  his  lady,  also  to 
Mrs.  Jaffray,  Mr.  Sheriff  and  his  sister,  the  Rev.  Mr.  Thatcher,  and  Judge  Sullivan  for  their  civilities  and 

Father  Tha}'er  the  first  Enghsh  speaking  pastor,  and  is  regarded  by  some  authorities  as  the  first 
legitimate  pastor  of  the  Church  of  the  Holy  Cross.  He  was  a  convert  to  Catholicity.  Born  in  Boston,  of 
Protestant  parents,  he  was  brought  up  in  all  the  prevailing  misconceptions  of  the  Catholic  Church  and  its 
followers.  After  serving  two  years  in  Boston  as  a  Congregationalist  minister,  he  yielded  to  a  secret  desire  to 
travel  by  going  to  Europe  in  1 78 1 .  His  stay  in  France  and  Italy  disabused  him  of  his  misconceptions.  In  Rome, 
he  made  a  study  of  the  Catholic  religion,  as  he  might  have  of  the  Koran,  had  he  been  in  Constantinople.  To 
do  this  the  more  completely,  he  obtained  the  assistance  of  a  Jesuit  Father  and  an  Augustinian  Friar.  His 
investigation  ended  in  convincing  him  that  only  the  Catholic  Church  taught  the  true  religion  of  Christ.  In 
Rome,  on  May  25,  1783,  he  publicly  abjured  Protestanism  and  announced  his  purpose  to  enter  the  Catholic 
Church.  Subsequently,  deciding  to  become  a  priest,  he  studied  at  the  College  of  St.  Sulpice,  in  Paris,  and  in 
due  time  was  admitted  to  Holy  Orders. 







On  entering  upon  his  pastoral  duties  in  Boston,  in  tlie  year  1790,  lie  found  that  tlie  number  of  his  flock 
did  not  exceed  one  hundred.  In  order  to  secure  himself  and  them  from  possible  molestation,  he  made  it  his  first 
care  to  procure  a  lease  of  the  School  Street  building.  Then  he  took  up  his  missionary  work  with  enthusiasm. 
He  made  special  efforts  to  convert  his  Protestant  fellow  countrymen.  Through  the  newspapers,  he  offered  to 
preach  on  the  evenings  of  week  days  in  any  of  the  neighboring  towns,  provided  a  room  or  hall  was  furnished 
him  for  the  purpose.  Also,  in  the  month  of  January,  179 1,  he  began  a  course  of  controversial  lectures  in  the 
School  Street  Church,  delivering  two  each  week,  for  the  benefit  of  the  same  people.  Numbers  of  Protestants 
went  to  hear  him  and  many  conversions  resulted,  but  considerable  antagonism  was  aroused. 

On  August  20,  1792,  he  received  from  Bishop  Carroll  an  assistant,  in  the  person  of  the  Rev.  Francis 
Anthony  Matignon,  D.  D.     Dr.  Matignon  was  one  of  four  distinguished  clergymen  who,  driven  from  France  by 

ol    -yne.    J^Aixcscc  ^--^v^-ni^ /713/i^c^     fy!£JS'!-^^0'ydtf 

the  Revolution,  landed  in  Baltimore  June  24,  1792.  He  laad  been  Regius  Professor  of  Divinity  in  the  College 
of  Navarre.  Born  in  Paris,  November  10,  1753,  his  youth  was  devoted  to  study  and  the  practices  of  religion. 
Having  completed  the  course  of  St.  Sulpice,  and  taken  the  degree  of  Doctor  of  Divinity,  he  was  ordained  priest 
September  10,  1778.  He  has  been  described  as  an  accomplished  Christian  gentleman.  Constantly  studying 
the  wants  and  anticipating  the  wishes  of  all  he  knew,  he  was  a  scholar  of  wide  range,  and  was  gifted  with  a 
sound  judgment  and  a  rich  imagination.  He  was  just  the  sort  of  man  needed  to  relieve  the  tension  of  the 
situation  in  Boston  at  that  time.  His  learning  and  piety  caused  him  to  be  widely  respected,  while  his  unfailing 
courtesy,  gentleness,  and  patience  disarmed  hostility.  His  assistance  enabled  Father  Thayer  to  carry  the  gospel 
to  other  parts  of  New  England. 

In  1799  Bishop  Carroll  found  it  necessary  to  send  Father  Thayer  to  Kentucky.  While  engaged  in  this 
mission  he  conceived  the  plan  of  establishing  a  convent  school  for  girls,  such  as  he  had  often  seen  in  Europe, 
in  his  native  city.  To  collect  funds  for  this  object,  with  the  permission  of  the  Bishop,  he  went  to  Europe  a 
few  years  later.  In  Limerick,  Ireland,  death  put  an  end  to  his  pious  work,  February  15,  1815.  His  project 
had  been  condemned  as  foolish  and  impracticable,  but  he  was  able  to  bequeath  Dr.  Matignon  from  eight  to 
ten  thousand  dollars  with  which  to  begin  its  execution. 

Dr.  Matignon  succeeded   Father  Thayer  in  the  charge  of  the  New  England  mission.     The  Rev.  John 

Cheverus,  who  had  been  recalled  from  Maine  a  short  time  before,  was  his  assistant.     The  united  labors  of 

these  two  ideal  priests  were  rewarded  with  the  happiest  results.     Not  the  least  gratifying  of  these  was  the 

allayment  of  the  animosity  which   many  of  their  Protestant  neighbors  had  come  to   entertain    against  the 

^atholics  again. 

Another  of  these  results  was  the  increase  of  the  congregation  to  such  a  number  as  to  make  apparent  the 
need  of  a  larger  place  of  worship  in  the  near  future,  the  Catholic  population  at  this  time  being  estimated  at 
1,300.  The  lease  of  the  church  on  School  Street  was  about  to  expire,  and  they  had  to  decide  whether  to  renew 
the  lease  or  select  another  place.  Under  these  circumstances  a  suggestion  to  build  a  church  was  favorably 
received.  At  a  meeting  held  in  the  church  on  Sunday,  March  31,  1799,  Don  Juan  Stoughton,  the  Spanish 
Consul,  John  Magner,  Michael  Burns,  John  Duggan,  Patrick  Campbell,  Owen  Callaghan,  and  Edmund  Connor 
were  appointed  a  committee  to  consider  the  matter,  and  report  at  another  meeting  to  be  held  on  the  following 
Sunday.  At  the  second  meeting,  in  accordance  with  the  committee's  report,  there  was  opened  a  subscription 
list,  which,  by  a  preamble,  bound  each  signer  to  pay  half  the  sum  promised  immediately,  and  the  other  half 
within  six  months  from  that  time.  In  this  way,  after  a  few  days,  $3,202  was  pledged  by  212  persons.  This 
was  a  large  sum  for  people  in  the  circumstances  of  these  pioneer  Catholics.  It  surpassed  expectation  and 
greatly  encouraged  the  promoters  of  the  enterprise.  So  great  was  the  zeal  awakened,  that  some  of  the  poorest 
members  of  the  congregation  gave  all  the  money  they  had,  while  others  promised  to  contribute  half  their 
earnings  by  monthly  payments  until  the  object  was  attained. 

Contributions  poured  in  steadily  after  this.  The  project  seems  to  have  awakened  general  interest  in 
Boston.     About  140  persons  of  Protestant  creeds,  headed  by  John  Adams,  President  of  the  United   States, 





sent  in  donations.  Also,  from  the  South,  came  more  subscriptions,  in  response  to  Dr.  Matignon's  appeal. 
The  total  amount  collected  before  the  building  was  finished  was  $16,153.52.  Protestants  contributed  $3,433.00 
of  this  sum.  Of  the  remainder,  $10,771.69  was  given  by  members  of  the  congregation,  and  $1,948.83  by 
other  Catholics.  At  another  meeting,  held.  October  28,  1799,  it  was  decided  to  buy  from  the  Boston  Theatre 
Corporation  a  lot  situated  at  the  foot  of  Franklin  Square,  as  a  site  for  the  proposed  church,  for  $2,500.  This 
done,  the  property  was  made  over  to  P)ishop  Carroll  and  Dr.  Matignon  in  trust  for  the  congregation.  The 
plans  of  the  church  were  gratuftously  furnished  by  James  Bulfinch,  who  also  superintended  the  erection  with- 
out remuneration.  Subsequently,  in  testimony  of  their  gratitude,  the  congregation  presented  Mr.  l-julfinch 
with  a  beautiful  silver  urn  valued  at  $165. 

(jround  w.\s  broken  for  the  foundation  of 
the  church  on  St.  l^atrick's  Day,  in  the  year 
1800.  More  than  three  years  elapsed  before  it 
was  ready  for  dedication.  'J'he  ceremony  was 
performed  September  29,  1S03,  by  IJishop  Car- 
roll, assisted  by  Dr.  Matignon,  Father  Cheverus, 
and  two  other  priests.  Having  robed  in  the 
house  of  the  Spanish  Consul,  on  Franklin  Square, 
they  went  in  ]irocession  to  the  cliurch,  attended 
by  a  few  acolytes.  Here  a  large  assemblage, 
partly  drawn  by  curiosity  and  partly  by  devotion, 
awaited  them.  The  building  was  blessed  in  con- 
formity with  the  prescribed  forms,  under  the 
name  of  the  Church  of  the  Holy  Cross.  Then 
followed  a  Pontifical  High  Mass,  also  celebrated 
by  Bishop  Carroll,  and  Father  Cheverus  preached 
an  appropriate  sermon.  The  collection  taken  up 
on  this  occasion  amounted  to  $286. 

The  church  was  a  brick  structure  of  Ionic 
design,  built  over  a  stone  basement,  and  meas- 
ured 60  feet  front  by  80  feet  depth.  Besides  a 
gallery  for  the  choir,  it  had  one  running  along- 
each  side  for  the  use  of  worshipers.  Prominent 
among  the  interior  furnishings  was  a  striking  altar-piece,  representing  the  crucifixion,  painted  by  Lawrence 
Sargent,  a  Boston  artist  of  that  day.  A  bell  was  presented  to  the  church,  some  time  later,  by  General  Hasket 
Derby,  a  Protestant,  and  grandf.ither  of  the  present  Dr.  Hasket  Derby,  the  well  known  Boston  oculist.  The 
total  cost  of  the  church  was  $20,000. 

When  New  England  was  constituted  the  Diocese  of  Boston  in  iSoS,  it  was  by  Dr.  Matignon's  request  that 

his  assistant,  Father  Cheverus,  was  made  Bishop,  so  little  influence  with  him  had  mere  considerations  of  self. 

O   ^  /^  „        Te'i    years    later,    on    September    19,   after    having 

■+-     ia^Lx^     /^>W^  ^,    ^    ^^^-$    labored  unremittingly  in  the  New  England  mission 

tx  *'*''*'Xi»-c,t^    ^V.«  t-"    •*  /      for  twenty-six  years,  he  passed  to  his  reward.      His 

body  was  first  taken  to  the  Granary  burying-ground  and  deposited  in  the  vault  of  John  Magner.  Soon  after 
Bishop  Cheverus  purchased  the  land  for  St.  Augustine's  Cemetery.  After  it  was  prepared  for  its  purpose 
and  dedicated  he  had  the  remains  of  his  friend  re-interred  there.  They  now  rest  in  a  vault  within  the  little 
Mortuary  Chapel  near  the  altar,  and  a  memorial  tablet,  set  in  the  w.ill  on  the  epistle  side,  bears  eloquent  testi- 
mony in  gilded  lettering  to  the  respect  and  affection  in  which  he  had  been  held  by  Bishop  and  people. 

The  Rev,  William  Taylor  was  the  next  clergyman  of  note  who  served  as  pastor  of  the  Cathedral.  Bishop 
Cheverus,  who  had  previously  appointed  Father  Taylor  his  vicar-general,  when  leaving  for  France  in  1823, 
entrusted  the  affairs  of  the  diocese  to  his  administration.     Upon  the  arrival  of  Bishop  Fenwick,  Father  Taylor 




resigned    with    tlie   purpose    of   going   to  Europe.      This   left  the   Rev.    Patrick   Byrne    the   only   priest   at   the 

The  enlargement  of  the  Cathedral  was  one  of  the  first  objects  to  receive  Bishop  Fenwick's  attention.  With 
the  exception  of  St.  Augustine's  Mortuary  Chapel  in  South  Boston,  there  was  no  other  place  of  worship  within 
the  city  limits.  The  congregation  had  largely  increased  in  the  first  twenty-five  years,  and  was  then  too  numerous 
to  be  accommodated  in  the  Church  of  Holy  Cross.  In  accordance  with  a  plan  drawn  by  the  Bishop,  another 
building,  72  feet  wide  by  40  feet  in  depth,  was  added  at  the  rear  gable.  Begun  in  1827,  the  work  was  completed 
in  the  following  year.  Besides  increasing  the  capacity  of  the  auditorium,  it  furnished  much  needed  space  for 
school-rooms  in  the  basement  story.  Here  was  kept  a  school  which,  taught  by  ecclesiastical  students,  became 
a  nursery  for  still  more  ecclesiastical  students.  'Among  its  pupils  was  John  J.  Williams,  destined  afterwards  to  ' 
become  the  Archbishop  of  Boston.  The  first  ordination  in  the  Cathedral  took  place  in  the  Ember  Days  of 
December,  1827,  when  the  Rev.  James  Fitton  and  the  Rev.  William  Wiley  were  admitted  to  the  priesthood. 
On  August  13,  1834,  two  days  after  the  destruction  of  the  Ursuline  Convent  in  Charlestown,  a  guard  of  armed 
citizens  held  at  bay  a  mob  that  came  to  wreck  the  Cathedral.  Occasionally  afterwards,  parties  taken  from  the 
congregation  were  obliged  to  take  turns  in  watching  it  lest  it  should  fall  a  prey  to  the  Know-Nothing  incendiaries. 

After  serving  its  purpose  for  nearly  threescore  years  it  was  at  length  resolved  to  abandon  it.  Once  more 
the  congregation  had  outgrown  its  capacities.  Its  timbers  were  weakening  with  age.  Owing  to  the  encroach- 
ments of  business  the  locality  had  become  most  unsuitable  for  a  church.  A  strong  desire  for  a  Cathedral  worthy 
of  the  diocese  had  developed.  Influenced  by  these  considerations,  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  disposed  of  it  in  Sep- 
tember, i860,  to  Isaac  Rich  at  the  much  enhanced  price  of  $115,000.  The  last  services  were  held  on  the  i6th 
of  the  same  month,  when  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  assisted  by  the  Rev.  James  Fitton  and  the  Rev.  Michael  Moran, 
celebrated  a  Pontifical.  High  Mass.  So  deeply  affected  by  the  occasion  was  the  Bishop,  that  he  distrusted  his 
ability  to  preach  the  sermon  without  giving  way  to  his  feelings  and  he  substituted  a  letter. 

A  site  for  the  new  Cathedral,  situated  at  the  South  End,  had  been  purchased  in  1859,  but  for  sufficient 
reasons  work  was  not  begun  before  the  Bishop's  death,  in  1866.  In  the  interval  the  episcopal  residence  was 
established  in  South  Street,  and,  for  a  time,  a  hall  on  Washington  Street,  called  the  Melodeon,  was  used  for 
Sunday  services,  while  Sunday-school  was  held  in  the  Chapel  of  the  Holy  Family  on  Beach  Street.  In  1862 
the  Unitarian  Church  at  the  corner  of  Washington  and  Castle  Streets  was  purchased,  and,  beginning  December 
10,  was  thereafter  used  as  a  pro-Cathedral. 

Almost  the  first  act  of  Bishop  Williams,  upon  assuming  episcopal  charge  of  the  diocese,  was  to  appoint 
the  Rev.  P.  F.  Lyndon  vicar-general  and  rector  of  the  Cathedral.  He  did  this  in  order  that  the  erection  of 
the  new  Cathedral  should  be  supervised  by  Father  Lyndon,  who  had  shown  remarkable  business  capacity  in 
other  positions.  On  April  29,  1866,  ground  was  broken,  and  on  September  15  of  the  following  year  the 
corner-stone  was  laid  with  impressive  ceremonial.  In  response  to  Bishop  Williams'  first  appeal  for  funds  to 
carry  on  the  work,  5^36,000  was  at  once  subscribed  by  a  number  of  Boston  Catholics.  Further  contributions 
and  the  earnings  of  fairs  held  at  sundry  times  greatly  augmented  the  fund  later.  When  the  building  reached 
its  present  condition  work  on  it  was  suspended,  and  it  was  decided  to  dedicate  it.  This  was  done  December 
8,  1875,  in  the  presence  of  all  the  Bishops  of  the  Boston  Province,  priests  to  the  number  of  about  one 
hundred  and  fifty,  and  an  assemblage  of  the  faithful  that  overflowed  through  the  portals  into  the  neighboring 
streets.  Archbishop  Williams,  who  in  the  preceding  May  had  received  the  pallium  in  the  same  place,  was 
celebrant;  Bishop  Lynch,  of  South  Carolina,  preached  the  sermon,  and  the  musical  service  was  rendered  by 
the  Catholic  Choral  Society  of  Boston  and  the  Cathedral  sanctuary  choir,  composed  of  young  men  and  boys. 

The  Cathedral  is  built  in  the  style  of  the  early  English  Gothic,  in  conformity  with  the  designs  furnished 
by  the  celebrated  architect,  P.  C.  Keely,  of  Brooklyn,  N.  Y.  Its  form  is  that  of  a  cross  somewhat  broken  in 
the  external  outline  by  a  chapel  attached  to  the  northern  arm.  It  covers  46,000  square  feet  of  ground,  sur- 
passing in  that  particular  the  Cathedrals  of  Salisbury,  Strasbourg,  and  Venice.  Its  length,  including  that  of 
the  chapel,  is  364  feet;  without  the  chapel,  300  feet;  general  width,  90  feet;  across  the  transept,  170  feet; 
and  its  height  to  the  ridge-pole,  120  feet.  The  front,  facing  Washingtoii  Street,  comprises  the  gable  pierced 
by  the  main  portal,  and  two  flanking  towers,  massively  buttressed,  entered,  respectively,  by  the  right  and  left 





portals.     The  towers  are  of  unequal  dimensions  and  are  still  without  the  spires  called  for  by  the  architect's 
drawings.     With  these,  the  northwest  tower  will  be  200  feet  in  height,  and  the  southwest  tower  300  feet. 

From  the  spacious  vestibule,,  entrance  to  the  interior  is  obtained  beneath  an  arch  constructed  of  bricks, 
taken  from  the  ruins  of  the  Ursuline  Convent  of  Charlestown,  burned  by  a  mob  in  1834.  The  enclosure  consists 
of  nave,  aisles,  transept,   and  clerestory.     The  view  is  uninterrupted  from  end  to  end,  save  by  the  two  rows  of 


clustered  pillars  supporting  the  central  roof,  and  an  elaborately  carved  pulpit,  stationed  at  the  junction  of  the 
transept  and  the  southern  aisle.  Over  the  front  vestibule  is  the  choir  gallery,  40  feet  square,  containing 
the  great  organ,  and  capable  of  accommodating  a  choir  of  more  than  300  members.  On  either  hand  is  a  choral 
tribune  with  projecting  balcony.  The  interior  is  yet  unfinished,  as  a  closer  view  reveals.  Empty  niches  remain 
to  be  filled  and  much  ornamentation  to  be  added.     The  ceihngs  are  simple,  yet  graceful,  designs  in  wood.     That 



of  the  transept  shows  a  large  cross  of  inlaid  wood,  while  that  of  the  chancel  is  decorated  with  figures  of  angels 
painted  upon  a  surface  of  gold.  A  large  sculptured  figure  of  an  angel  in  prayer  rests  upon  the  capital  of  each 
of  the  four  pillars,  marking  the  intersection  of  nave  and  transept.  From  these,  and  all  the  rest  of  the  pillars, 
spring  two  bands  of  gas-jets,  which  illummate  the  church  at  night. 

The  high  altar,  erected  in  an  octagonal  apse  off  the  sanctuary,  is  a  beautiful  design  in  variegated  marble. 
To  the  left  of  it,  on  the  gospel  side,  is  the  Bishop's  chair,  the  presence  of  which  entitles  the  church  to  be  called 
a  Cathedral.  On  the  extreme  right  of  the  transept,  in  a  recess,  facing  the  southern  aisle,  is  a  chapel  of  the 
Virgin,  having  a  costly  altar,  the  gift  of  Tobias  Boland  and  wife.     On  the  extreme  left,  in  a  corresponding 

ST.    JOSEPH'S    Al.TAR,    fAlII  lOI  iRA  L    (IF    Til    ,     llolA     CROSS. 

situation  to  that  of  the  Virgin,  is  the  chapel  of  the  Blessed  Sacrament,  much  larger  in  size  and  considered  a 
master-work  of  architecture.  Then  there  are  two  side  altars  nearer  to  the  central  altar,  that  on  the  right  being 
dedicated  to  St.  Patrick,  and  the  one  on  the  left  to  St.  Joseph. 

Most  of  the  windows  are  costly  works  of  art.  The  largest  are  two  transept  windows,  measuring  40  feet  by 
20  feet — that  in  the  south  wall  representing  the  finding  of  the  true  cross,  the  gift  of  the  Confraternity  of  the 
Holy  Cross;  and  that  in  the  north  wall,  representing  the  exaltation  of  the  cross  by  Emperor  Heracluis,  the 
gift  of  E.  F.  Boland,  in  memory  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick.  Lighting  the  organ  gallery  is  a  large  rose  window  of 
unique  design.     Over  the  main  altar  in  the  chancel  wall  are  five  beautiful  windows,  the  central  three   of  which 



— severally  donated  by  the  Rev.  A.  S.  Healy,  A.  E.  S.  in  memory  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  and  the  Rev.  P.  F. 
Lyndon  —  illustrate  the  birth,  death,  and  resurrection  of  Christ.  The  clerestory  of  chancel  and  transept  contain 
twenty-four  smaller  windows,  showing  full-length  figures  of  the  twelve  Apostles,  the  four  Prophets,  the  four 
Evangelists,  and  the  four  greatest  divines  of  the  church.  The  subjects  of  the  remaining  windows  in  the  north 
wall  are  St.  Augustine,  gift  of  Rev.  J.  P.  Gilmore,  0.  S.  A.;  St.  Francis  of  Sales,  gift  of  Rev.  H.  P.  Smyth;  St. 
Thomas  of  Canterbur3^  gift  of  Rev.  T.  B.  McNulty;  St.  Michael,  gift  of  Michael  Gleason;  Memorial  of  Pius 
IX.,  gift  of  the  Catholic  Union,  St.  John  the  Baptist,  gift  of  Rev.  J.  J.  Gray;  St.  John,  Apostle,  gift  of  Revs. 
Michael  and  James  Masterson  ;  Holy  Family,  memorial  of  Joseph"  lasigi ;  St.  James,  gift  of  James  Collins  ;  St. 
Edward,  gift  of  Rev.  James  E.  O'Brien.  The  subJL-cts  of  the  other  southern  windows  are:  Mother  of 
Mercy,  gift  of  Rev.  Michael  O'Brien  ;   St.  Rose  of  Lima,  gift  of  Rev.  James  McGlew  ;   St.  Bridget,  gift  of  Rev. 


William  Halley ;  St.  Patrick,  memorial  of  Patrick  Treanor;  Confession  of  St.  Thomas,  memorial  of  Thomas 
Dwight ;  St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  gift  of  the  Society  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul ;  Mary  Magdalen,  gift  of  A.  J. 
Teeling;  St.  Cecelia,  memorial  of  Rev.  A.  Sherwood  Healy;  St.  Agnes,  gift  of  the  Young  Ladies'  Sodality; 
and  St.  William,  gift  of  Patrick  Denvir. 

The  auditorium  is  heated  by  steam,  conveyed  from  two  boilers  in  the  basement  to  pipes  running  along  the 
walls  behind  an  ornamental  screen-work  which  completely  hides  them.  In  addition  to  the  three  portals  in 
front,  there  are  two  others,  one  for  each  extremity  of  the  transept.  The  pews  will  seat  from  2,500  to  3,000 
people,  and  as  many  more  can  find  standing  space.  In  the  basement  is  a  chapel  for  children,  containing  the 
altar  of  the  first  Cathedral  in  Frankhn  Street.  In  addition  to  this  and  the  boiler  rooms,  there  are  eight  school 
rooms,  capable  of  seating  three  or  four  hundred  pupils  each.  Back  of  the  altar,  in  the  chapel,  is  the  crypt, 
where  repose  the  remains  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  the  projector  of  the  Cathedral,  and  Father  Lyndon,  the  moving 
spirit  of  its  erection. 



KliV.     I..     M,    A.    CORCORAN, 
Rector   Cathedral  of  the   Holy  Cro 


Two  remarkable  events,  namely,  the  conferring  of  the  pallium  on  Bishop  Williams  and  the  dedication  of 
the  building,  had  already  distinguished  the  history  of  the  new  Cathedral.  Both  were  joyous  occasions,  and 
likely  to  be  recalled  with  pleasure  for  many  years  afterwards.  The  next  was  likewise  a  memorable  event,  but 
a  sad  one.  The  great  auditorium  was  crowded  again,  but  the  sentiment  which  pervaded  the  assemblage  was 
grief  for  an  esteemed  pastor.  The  occasion  was  the  obsequies  of  Father  Lyndon,  who  had  died  at  St. 
Joseph's,  April  ig,  1878.  Referring  to  his  decease,  The  Pilot  said  :  "As  a  pastor  and  remarkable  worker  for 
Catholic  progress  in  New  England  for  so  many  years,  as  the  faithful  friend  and  co-worker  of  the  Most  Rev. 
Archbishop  in  bearing  much  of  the  archdiocesan  toil,  bringing  all  the  energy  of  unusual  business  capacity  to 
the  service  of  religion,  and  blending  with  it  the  love  and  zeal  of  a  pastor  of  souls,  he  has  filled  so  large  a 
place  that  his  loss  cannot  be  truly  known  until  the  void  is  to  be  filled." 

Patrick  Francis  Lyndon  was  born  in  1812,  in  the  parish  of  Crossmaglen,  County  Armagh,  Ireland. 
Encouraging  the  studious  disposition  he  manifested  in  his  earliest  years,  his  parents  gave  him  all  the  educa- 
tional advantages  they  could  afford.  Under  the  tutorship  of  a  priest,  at  Newry,  he  made  rapid  progress  in 
the  classics  and  acquired  a  desire  to  enter  the  ministry.  He  came  to  this  country  when  scarcely  more  than  a 
boy,  and  having  made  known  his  wishes  to  the  Bishop,  was,  by  that  prelate,  sent  to  Montreal  to  prosecute 
the  studies  necessary  to  prepare  him  for  the  priesthood.  After  spending  four  years  there,  he  accompanied 
John  J.  Williams,  the  present  Archbishop,  to  Paris,  in  order  to  finish  his  studies  at  the  Seminary  of  St. 
Sulpice.  This  was  the  beginning  of  a  friendship  between  the  two  men  which  only  death  could  interrupt.  He 
was  only  two  years  at  St.  Sulpice  when  he  was  ordained  priest.  On  returning  to  Boston  he  was  assigned  to 
duty  at  the  Cathedral.  When  Father  Tyler  was  made  Bishop  of  Hartford,  Father  Lyndon  succeeded  to  the 
rectorship  of  the  Cathedral.  Subsequently,  he  served  as  pastor  of  St.  Mary's  Parish,  Charlestown,  SS.  Peter 
and  Paul's,  South  Boston,  and  St.  Joseph's,  West  End,  handling  the  affairs  of  each  congregation  with  marked 
success.  He  was  at  St.  Joseph's  when  called  upon  by  his  friend  and  Bishop  to  direct  the  great  work  of  build- 
ing the  new  Cathedral.  Having  earned  the  gratitude  of  the  diocese  by  ably  performing  this  service  as  far  as 
it  was  possible,  he  returned  to  St.  Joseph's,  and,  once  more,  had  nearly  cleared  the  church  property  of  debt 
when  he  died.  .As  before  stated,  his  body  was  interred  beside  that  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  in  the  Cathedral 
crypt,  an  honor  usually  reserved  for  those  who  had  borne  episcopal  dignity.  He  left  the  bulk  of  his  property 
to  be  applied  to  the  object  of  finishing  the  Cathedral.  His  house  on  Allen  Street  he  bequeathed  to  the  parish 
of  St.  Joseph;  while  his  clothing  and  all  the  rest  of  his  personal  property  were,  by  his  wish,  sold  and  given 
over  to  the  poor. 

The  present  rector  of  the  Cathedral,  the  Rev.  L.  M.  A.  Corcoran,  is  filling  with  great  acceptance  to  the 
people  the  position  which  has  been  filled  by  a  long  line  of  eminent  men  who  were  distinguished  alike  for  fine 
abilities  and  exalted  piety.  His  dignified  yet  gentle  manners  and  kind  heart  have  won  the  love  of  his  parish- 
ioners and  the  high  regard  of  all  with  whom  he  associates.  Father  Corcoran  is  a  Boston  boy,  having  been 
born  in  the  parish  of  which  he  now  has  charge  in  1849.  He  was  educated  in  the  Quincey  Grammar  School 
and  the  Boston  Public  Latin  School.  After  graduating  from  the  latter  institution,  he  took  a  course  at  the 
seminary  at  Montreal,  from  which  he  graduated  in  1879,  receiving  the  degree  of  B.  S.  T.  He  then  came  to 
the  Cathedral  as  assistant  priest,  and  in  1892,  on  the  death  of  Father  Boland,  he  was  made  permanent  rector. 
Father  Corcoran  is  blessed  with  good  health  and  spirits,  and  it  is  sincerely  hoped  that  he  has  before  him  a 
long  career  of  usefulness  in  his  exalted  calling. 

The  most  memorable  of  all  the  events  with  which  the  Cathedral  has  been  associated  down  to  the  present 
day  was  the  celebration  of  the  Archbishop's  Silver  Jubilee,  March  12,  1891.  Over  five  thousand  persons  had 
obtained  admission  before  the  services  began.  In  the  procession  which  emerged  from  the  Chapel  of  the  Blessed 
Sacrament  at  ten  o'clock  A.  M.,  besides  the  students  of  St.  John's  Theological  Seminary,  and  over  two  hundred 
priests,  secular  and  regular,  were  Rt.  Rev.  Matthew  Harkins,  Bishop  of  Providence  ;  Rt.  Rev.  P.  T.  O'Reilly, 
Bishop  of  Springfield ;  Rt.  Rev.  D.  M.  Bradley,  Bishop  of  Manchester ;  Rt.  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  Bishop  of 
Portland;  Rt.  Rev.  L.  S.  McMahon,  Bishop  of  Hartford;  Rt.  Rev.  L.  DeGoesbriand,  Bishop  of  Burlington; 
Rt.  Rev.  B.  J.  McQuaid,  Bishop  of  Rochester,  N.  Y.  ;  and  Rt.  Rev.  John  J.  Conroy,  Bishop  of  Curium.  In 
the  rear  of  all  came  the  venerable  prelate,  erect  and  serenely  dignified,  whom  they  had  come  to  honor.     The 



scene  was  deeply  impressive.  The  officials  of  the  Pontifical  High  Mass,  which  ensued,  were:  Archbishop 
Williams,  celebrant ;  Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  D.  D.,  V.  G.,  assistant  priest ;  Rt.  Rev.  Mgr.  P.  Strain  and 
Rev.  Thomas  Shahan,  deacons  of  honor ;  Rev.  Leo  P.  Boland  and  Rev.  L.  M.  A.  Corcoran,  deacon  and  sub- 
deacon  of  the  Mass  ;  Rev.  James  F.  Talbot,  D.  D.,  Rev.  Hugh  Roe  O'Donnell,  and  Rev.  George  Patterson, 
masters  of  ceremonies.      Bishop  Healy  was  the  orator  selected  to  give  verbal  expression  to  the  feelings  which 


filled  the  hearts  of  all  present.  None  there  knew  so  well  the  theme.  He  had  been  the  friend  and  co-laborer 
of  the  Archbishop  since  the  time  when  both  were  obscure  curates  and  could  speak  as  one  who  testifies.  It 
was  an  easy  and  grateful  task  to  him,  while  it  would  have  been  impossible  of  accomplishment  to  any  one  else. 
Few  listened  to  that  memorable  address  who  failed  to  carry  home  a  vivid  recollection  of  its  eloquence  and  power. 


St.  /Iftar^'8  Iparisb,  Cbavlestown, 

MARY'S  CHURCH,  Charlestown,  was  the  second  Catholic  church  erected  within  the 
limits  of  what  is  now  called  Boston,  and  St.  Mary's  Parish  was  the  first  set  off  from 
the  extensive  territory  attended  from  the  Franklin  Street  Cathedral.  Having  enlarged 
the  Cathedral,  Bishop  Fenwick,  for  the  greater  convenience  of  the  workmen  employed 
at  the  navy  yard  in  Charlestown,  and  at  the  glass  works  in  East  Cambridge,  he  being 
especially  desirous  that  their  children  might  receive  instruction  more  frequently,  decided 
to  build  a  church  for  them.  On  August  15,  1828,  he  examined  and  approved  a  site, 
and  suggested  that  a  meeting  of  the  people  interested  be  held  August  25.  This  was 
done,  and  a  plan  for  building  a  church  capable  of  containing  120  pews  was  adopted. 
By  selling  half  the  number  of  pews  in  advance,  $6,000  was  obtained.  With  this  sum  in  hand,  a  lot  was 
bought  from  Amos  Binney  for  $1,569,  and  the  work  of  erecting  the  church  was  begun  October  3,  1828,  when 
the  corner-stone  was  laid.  The  ceremony  was  performed  by  Bishop  Fenwick,  assisted  by  the  Rev.  Patrick 
Byrne,  Rev.  William  Wiley,  Rev.  W.  Tyler,  Rev.  John  Mahony,  and  Rev.  R.  D.  Woodley.  They  assembled 
and  robed  at  the  house  of  a  Protestant  gentleman,  named  Robertson,  and  went  in  procession  to  the  site  of 
the  proposed  church  on  Richmond  Street.  After  the  ceremonies  Bishop  Fenwick  preached  a  sermon  appro- 
priate for  the  occasion.  The  church  was  finished  in  the  following  Spring,  and  was  dedicated  under  the 
patronage  of  the  Virgin  Mary,  on  May  10,  by  Bishop  Fenwick,  assisted  by  the  Rev.  James  Fitton  and  Rev. 
William  Wiley.  The  High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  the  Rev.  W.  Tyler,  assisted  by  Fathers  Fitton  and  Wiley, 
and  Bishop  Fenwick,  as  on  the  former  occasion,  preached  the  sermon.  The  building  measured  80  by  45  feet, 
and  showed  no  effort  at  architectural  display. 

It  was  attended  by  the  priests  of  the  Cathedral  until  1830,  when  the  Rev.  Patrick  Byrne  was  appointed 
pastor,  and  territory  that  extended  to  Reading  was  assigned  to  him  as  a  parish.  After  spending  thirteen  years 
at  St.  Mary's,  Father  Byrne  was  sent  to  New  Bedford  in  response  to  the  requests  of  the  Catholics  in  that  district 
for  a  resident  priest.  He  died  September  4,  1844,  and  was  interred  at  St.  Augustine's  Cemetery  in  South 
Boston.  Father  Byrne  was  one  of  the  first  priests  ordained  within  the  diocese  by  Bishop  Cheverus.  He  came 
originally  from  Kilkenny,  Ireland. 

The  Rev.  George  F.  Goodwin,  a  convert,  succeeded  Father  Byrne.  His  pious  example  and  zealous  labors 
were  enjoyed  by  the  congregation  but  for  three  years,  when  death  removed  him.  His  successor  was  the 
Rev.  Patrick  F.  Lyndon,  who,  in  the  six  years  of  his  pastorate,  enlarged  the  church  and  remodeled  the 
parochial  residence.  The  next  pastor,  the  Rev.  George  A.  Hamilton,  built  the  Church  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales 
on  Bunker  Hill,  besides  a  new  parochial  residence.  The  Rev.  William  Byrne,  who  succeeded  Father  Hamilton, 
was  the  first  Catholic  priest  permitted  to  offer  Mass  within  the  precincts  of  the  State  Prison  in  Charlestown. 
Father  Byrne  was  made  vicar-general  of  the  diocese  in  1878,  and  his  pastorate  terminated  with  his  acceptance 
of  the  presidency  of  Mt.  St.  Mary's  College,  Emmittsburg,  Md.,  in  1880.  Then  came  the  present  rector,  the 
Rev.  John  W.  McMahon,  D.  D.  In  May,  1879,  the  golden  jubilee  of  the  parish  was  celebrated  by  clergy  and 

The  need  of  a  larger  church,  and  one  more  in  consonance  with  the  times,  had  been  felt  before  this.  To 
build  a  church  that  would  supply  this  need  immediately  became  a  primary  object  with  Father  McMahon. 
Circumstances,  however,  obliged  him  to  move  slowly  in  the  matter.     He  soon  became  convinced  that  it  would 








be  the  work  of  years.  Bearing  this  in  mind,  he  modernized  and  otherwise  improved  the  existing  church.  In 
the  course  of  time,  he  bouglit  out  all  the  pew  owners,  whose  rights  were  derived  from  the  absolute  sale  of  the 
pews  in  earlier  times.  Having  cleared  the  old  church  of  debt,  he  purchased  a  lot  fronting  on  Warren  Street, 
and  bounded  by  Winthrop  and  Solay  Streets,  for  $30,000.  Considerable  progress  had  been  made  with  the 
building  when  the  corner-stone  was  laid.  This  ceremony  was  performed  October  29,  1887,  by  Archbishop 
Williams,  the  Rev.  A.  V.  Higgins,  O.  S.  D.,  preaching  the  sermon  for  the  occasion.  Among  the  ecclesiastics 
present  was  the  Rt.  Rev.  Lawrence  S.  McMahon,  Bishop  of  Hartford,  the  brother  of  the  rector.  The  dedication 
took  place  October  2,  1892.  Archbishop  Williams  officiated  on  this  occasion  also,  with  the  assistance  of  the 
Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  D.  D.,  V.  G.  The  Pontifical  High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  the  Rt.  Rev.  Matthew 
Harkins,  D.  D.,  Bishop  of  Providence,  with  Vicar-General  Byrne  as  assistant  ;  Rev.  P.  A.  McKenna  and 
Rev.  J.  E.  Millerick,  deacons;  Rev.  W.  J.  Millerick  and  Rev.  J.  W.  Allison,  masters  of  ceremonies;  while  the 

sermon  was  delivered  by  the  Rev.  Henry  A.  Brann, 
D.  D.  Bishop  McMahon  of  Hartford,  Auxiliary  Bishop 
Brady  of  Boston,  and  nearly  one  hundred  priests  were 
present  in  the  Sanctuary. 

The  church  is  a  design  of  P.  C.  Keely,  of  Brook- 
lyn, in  what  is  known  as  the  Tudor  Gothic  style.  At 
present,  its  exterior  gives  the  impression  of  massiveness 
and  strength.  The  chief  cause  of  this  is  the  absence 
of  the  spire  with  which  the  tower,  forming  the  most 
conspicuous  feature  of  the  front,  is  to  be  completed. 
Another  is  the  prevalence  of  Rockport  granite  in 
blocks,  with  uncut  outer  surfaces,  somewhat  relieved 
by  brick  trimmings.  It  seems  to  be  one  of  those  archi- 
tectural problems  which  needs  but  one  touch  of  the 
artist's  wand  to  transform  it  into  something  entirely 
different  and  satisfying.  The  form  is  that  of  a  rectan- 
gle, measuring  on  the  external  dimensions  81  by  152^- 
feet.  The  tower  is  now  90  feet  high,  but  the  top  of  the 
spire  will  be  double  that  distance  from  the  ground. 
The  interior  is  one  of  Keely's  most  effective  designs. 
Unprepared  for  the  absence  of  pillars,  or  other  obstruc- 
tions of  the  view,  a  sense  of  spaciousness  combined 
with  suggestions  of  wholeness  and  oneness  give  a 
pleasurable  surprise.  After  this  comes  the  effect  of 
the  light  and  color,  both  abundant  and  intense  enough, 
and  no  more.  The  details  do  not  thrust  themselves 
out  beyond  the  main  features,  and  yet  are  seen  without 
effort  when  looked  for.  The  ceiling,  supported  by  carved  trusses,  is  a  fine  display  of  panel  work,  finished  in 
gold,  terra  cotta,  and  gray.  The  walls,  gracefully  wainscotted  in  hardwood  below,  are  finished  in  water  colors 
harmoniously  graduated  as  they  approach  the  eaves.  Over  the  vestibule  and  projecting  a  few  yards  into  the 
auditorium,  where  the  only  two  pillars  in  the  church  support  it,  is  the  choir  gallery,  with  its  splendid  organ.  A 
generous  space  is  given  to  the  sanctuary,  but  not  more  than  seems  in  keeping  with  the  general  arrangements. 
The  pews  will  seat  from  twelve  to  thirteen  hundred  persons.  The  high  altar  is  an  integral  part  of  the  church, 
being  built  up  from  the  basement  floor,  through  the  floor  of  the  upper  church,  and  is  privileged  with  indulgen- 
ces for  those  in  whose  behalf  Masses  are  offered  at  it.  It  is  22  feet  wide  by  27  in  height,  and  composed  of 
Rutland  and  Carrara  marbles  and  onyx,  blended  in  a  beautiful  design.  The  side  altars,  or  rather  shrines,  are 
also  constructed  of  marble,  that  on  the  Gospel  side  being  dedicated  to  the  Sacred  Heart,  while  the  one  on  the 
Epistle  side  is  dedicated  to  St.  Joseph.     All  the  windows  in  the  church  are  of  stained  glass,  and,  in  accordance 

W     MlMahciN,  JJ.  D. 








with  the  admirable  idea  of  the  rector,  tell  in  marvelous  pictures  the  story  of  the  Virgin  Mary  as  the  agent  of 
the  Redemption.  They  number  twenty-three,  and  were  all  made  to  order  in  Munich.  The  three  over  the  high 
altar  were  the  joint  gift  of  the  rector  and  his  brother,  the  late  Bishop  McMahon,  in  memory  of  their  parents. 
Others  were  donated  by  Mrs.  M.  McCarthy,  as  a  memorial  of  Dr.  McCarthy;  Mrs.  D.  Donovan,  memorial  of 
her  deceased  husband;  Mrs.  Charles  Burcham,  memorial  of  her  son,  and  Mrs.  D.  Crowley,  memorial  of  her 
husband.  The  stations  of  the  cross  are  the  exact  and  only  copies  of  those  in  the  Hartford  Cathedral,  having 
been  made  from  the  same  models,  which  were  then  destroyed.  The  basement  of  the  church  is  high  and 
roomy,  and  capable  of  seating  persons.  The  ground  beneath  the  floor  having  been  bricked,  concreted, 
and  rolled  with  thoroughness,  the  atmosphere  of  the  church  is  entirely  free  from  dampness  and  can  be  easily 

Other  property  of  the  parish  is  the  lot  on  the  opposite  side  of  W'inthrop  Street,  corresponding  in  situation, 
and  nearly  in  size,  to  that  on  which  the  church  is  built.  Besides  other  houses,  it  contains  the  present  parochial 
residence.  The  debt  on  the  church  is  relatively  small,  the  parishioners  having  seconded  the  rector's  efforts  with 
generous  contributions.  To  procure  the  funds  so  far  received,  no  fairs  were  held,  and  the  rector  made  a  house 
to  house  canvass  but  three  times.  When  he  recovers  his  health,  which  was  much  impaired  by  his  unremitting 
labors  in  carrying  the  church  to  completion,  he  will  probably  transform  the  old  church  into  a  parochial  school. 

Dr.  McMahon,  was  born  of  Irish  parents,  in  Charlestown,  February  14,  1847.  He  entered  Holy  Cross 
College  in  1863,  and  graduated  in  1867.  Then  he  went  to  the  American  College  in  Rome  for  his  theological 
course.  This  finished,  he  was  ordained  priest  by  Cardinal  Patrizzi,  on  May  25,  1872.  Upon  his  return  to 
Boston  he  was  assigned  as  assistant  to  St.  Stephen's  Church  at  the  North  End.  Here,  his  familiarity  with  the 
Italian  language  enabled  him  to  be  of  great  assistance  among  the  Italian  population  of  the  district.  After 
spending  nine  years  at  St.  Stephen's,  he  was  appointed  pastor  at  St.  Mary's,  Charlestown,  where  he  is  stationed 
at  present.  His  health  gave  way  about  two  years  ago,  when'  work  on  the  church  was  suspended,  thereby  giving 
indication  of  the  cause.  He  has  been  in  the  physician's  hands  since,  much  against  his  will.  When  in  good 
health  his  sermons  and  lectures  were  marked  by  an  eloquence  that  gave  him  an  extended  reputation  as  a 
speaker.      His  degree  of  Doctor  of  Divinity  was  conferred  on  him  by  Georgetown  College. 



St,  /Iftar^'s  Iparisb,  Boston, 

HEN  the  old  Cathedral  was  enlarged,  in  1827,  it  was  supposed  to  be  capable  of 
accommodating  all  who  should  seek  to  worship  there  for  a  long  time  to  come.  Yet, 
in  less  than  ten  years  afterwards,  it  was  found  necessary  to  build  two  additional 
churches.  One  of  these  was  the  church  of  St.  Mary.  The  land  for  it  was  procured 
with  much  difficulty  in  1834.  Four  lots  on  Pond  Street,  now  Endicott  Street,  each 
20  by  85  feet,  were  purchased.  So  anxious  was  Bishop  Fenwick  to  supply  the  needs 
of  his  people  that  he  personally  superintended  the  erection  of  the  church.  By  Octo- 
ber 1 4,  in  the  following  year,  the  walls  were  ready  to  receive  the  roof.  The  first  Mass 
was  celebrated  in  the  basement  on  Christmas  Day  of  the  same  year,  and  at  Pentecost,  May  22,  1836,  the 
edifice  having  been  previously  completed,  it  was  dedicated  to  the  service  of  God  under  the  patronage  of  the 
Virgin  Mary.  Its  first  pastor  was  the  Rev.  William  Wiley.  His  successors  for  the  ensuing  ten  years  were  the 
Rev.  P.  O'Beirne,  Rev.  Michael  Healy,  Rev.  Thomas  J.  O'Flaherty,  Rev.  John  B.  Fitzpatrick,  and  Rev.  Patrick 
Flood.  St.  Mary's  was  used  as  a  succursal  church  during  this  time.  In  1847  it  was  given  into  the  charge  of 
the  Rev.  John  McElroy,  a  member  of  the  Society  of  Jesus.  This  order  has  had  the  pastoral  care  of  the 
parish  ever  since.- 

When  Father  McElroy  left  to  build  the  church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception 
and  found  Boston  College,  the  Rev.  Bernardine  J.  Wiget,  S.  J.,  succeeded  him  at 
St.  Mary's.  This  priest's  name  is  inseparably  associated  with  the  establishment 
of  the  first  parochial  school  for  boys  in  Boston.  The  circumstances  attending  the 
event  form  a  most  interesting  episode  in  the  history  of  the  parish. 

In  the  public  schools  at  that  time  Catholic  children  were  obliged  to  sing- 
Protestant  hymns,  recite  passages  from  the  Protestant  version  of  the  Bible,  and 
repeat  the  Lord's  Prayer,  together  with  the  concluding  doxology,  according  to  the 
Protestant  form.  Objection  was  made  to  these  practices  in  the  Spring  of  1859, 
and  a  warm  discussion  of  the  subject  ensued.  On  March  14,  Thomas  L.  Whalli 
aged  ten  years,  a  pupil  of  the  Eliot  School,  refused  to  read  the  Decalogue  from 
the  Protestant  Bible  when  requested  so  to  do  by  McLaurin  F.  Cooke,  the  sub- 
master.  Thereupon,  Mr.  Cooke  declared  his  intention  to  spend  the  forenoon  in 
the  effort  to  make  the  child  obey,  and  began  to  strike  him  with  a  rattan  on  the 
hands.  The  boy  held  out  for  thirty  minutes,  when  his  hands  were  swollen  badly  ^'''  ''"'>'''^''"'"'' ■  ■ 
and  bleeding.  At  this  time  somebody  entered  the  room  and  stated  that  the  child's  father  had  given  him  per- 
mission to  read  the  Bible  as  directed.  On  being  told  this  he  submitted,  and  Mr.  Cooke  wiped  and  put  away 
his  rattan.  Nearly  four  hundred  boys  followed  Whall's  example;  but  Mr.  Cooke's  sense  of  justice  was  not 
equal  to  the  task  of  punishing  them  in  the  same  way.  These  were  only  suspended  from  attendance  until  they 
should  agree  to  conform  to  the  rules.  This  was  the  proper  course  to  have  followed  in  the  case  of  the  child, 
Whall.  Considering  that  his  father  had  taken  the  responsibility  of  the  boy's  act,  the  punishment,  brutal  in 
itself,  was  a  shameful  outrage  on  the  little  victim,  and  a  most  mischievous  invasion  of  parental  rights.  When 
the  matter  was  brought  to  the  attention  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  he  advised  submission  under  protest  until  an 
effort  should  be  made  to  have  the  school  rules  amended.  He  then  sent  to  the  school  committee  the  following 
letter,  in  which  he  states  the  objections  to  the  practices  complained  of,  and  urges  their  abolition : 



ST     MA.R\  b    CHURCH,    BOSTON 


To  the  President  a7id  Members  of  the  School  Cotnmi(/ee  of  Boston  : 

The  undersigned  has  learned  that  a  meeting  of  the  school  committee  for  the  city  of  Boston  is  to  be  held  this  afternoon, 
and  doubts  not  that  the  unpleasant  difficulties  which  recently  have  sprung  up  between  the  teachers  and  Catholic  pupils  in 
certain  schools  will  form  part  of  the  matter  for  deliberation,  which  on  the  occasion  will  be  brought  before  the  members  of 
that  honorable  board. 

He  also  thinks  and  hopes  that  it  will  not  be  regarded  as  an  act  of  presumption  or  obtrusiveness  on  his  part  to  offer 
some  few  remarks  upon  the  subject,  and  to  set  forth  as  clearly  as  may  be  the  nature  and  foundation  of  the  objections  which 
Catholics  feel  and  make  against  certain  articles  of  the  regulations  which  govern  the  exercises  of  our  public  schools.  He  is 
persuaded  that  the  committee  desire  to  know  and  weigh  all  the  considerations  which  may  have  a  reasonable  bearing  on  the 
question  at  issue;  and  he  even  thinks  that  his  testimony  as  to  what  regards  Catholics  in. the  case  may  be  to  them  more 
satisfactory  than  would  be  that  of  some  others.     These  reasons  induce  him  to  write. 

The  undersigned  would,  therefore,  first  state,  in  general,  that  the  objections  raised  by  the  Catholic  pupils,  and  by  their 
parents,  are  not  affected  scruples  —  are  not,  as  some  one  would  seem  to  think,  fetches  or  pretenses,  devised  simply  for  the 
purpose  of  creating  a  difficulty.  They  are  serious  and  solid  objections  founded  in  the  individual  conscience  and  individual 
faith.  To  show  this  it  may  be  well  to  divide  the  matter  and  set  apart  for  consideration  three  particular  points,  out  of  which 
and  against  which,  mainly,  those  objections  arise. 

These  points  are:  ist.  The  enforced  use  of  the  Protestant  version  of  the  Bible.  2d.  _  The  enforced  learning  and 
reciting  of  the  Ten  Commandments  in  their  Protestant  form.  3d.  The  enforced  union  in  chanting  the  Lord's  Prayer  and 
other  religious  chants. 

On  these  three  points  the  undersigned  respectfully  begs  leave  to  remark  as  follows: 

I.  Catholics  can  not,  under  any  circumstances,  acknowledge,  receive,  and  use  as  a  complete  collection  and  faithful 
version  of  the  inspired  books  which  compose  the  written  word  of  God  the  English  Protestant  translation  of  the  Bible. 
Still  less  can  they  so  acknowledge,  accept,  or  use  it  when  its  enforcement  as  such  is  coupled  expresssly  with  the  rejection 
of  that  version  which  their  own  church  approves  and  adopts  as  being  correct  and  authentic.  And  yet,  this  is  required  of 
them  by  law.  The  law,  as  administered,  holds  forth  the  Protestant  version  to  the  Catholic  child,  and  says,  "  Receive  this 
as  the  Bible."  The  Catholic  child  answers,  "I  can  not  so  receive  it."  The  law,  as  administered,  says,  "  You  must,  or 
else  yovi  must  be  scourged  and  finally  banished  from  the  school." 

n.  The  acceptance  and  recital  of  the  Decalogue,  under  the  form  and  words  in  which  Protestants  clothe  it,  is  offensive 
to  the  conscience  and  belief  of  Catholics;  inasmuch  as  that  form  and  those  words  are  viewed  by  them,  and  have  not  unfre- 
quently  been  used  by  their  adversaries  as  a  means  of  attack  upon  certain  tenets  and  practices  which,  under  the  teachings 
of  the  Church,  they  hold  as  true  and  sacred. 

111.  The  chanting  of  the  Lord's  Prayer,  of  psalms,  of  hymns,  addressed  to  God,  performed  by  many  persons  in 
unison,  being  neither  a  scholastic  exercise  nor  a  recreation,  can  only  be  regarded  as  an  act  of  public  worship.  Indeed  it  is 
professedly  intended  as  such  in  the  regulations  which  govern  our  public  schools.  It  would  seem  that  the  principles  which 
guide  Protestants  and  Catholics  in  relation  to  communion  in  public  worship  are  widely  different.  Protestants,  however 
diverse  may  be  their  religious  opinions  —  Trinitarians,  who  assert  that  Jesus  Christ  is  true  God,  and  Unitarians,  who  deny 
that  He  is  true  God  —  find  no  difficulty  to  offer  in  brotherhood  a  blended  and  apparently  harmonious  worship,  and  in 
so  doing  they  give  and  receive  mutual  satisfaction  and  mutual  edification.  The  Catholic  can  not  act  in  this  manner.  He 
can  not  present  himself  before  the  Divine  presence  in  what  would  be  for  him  a  merely  simulated  union  of  prayer  and 
adoration.  His  Church  expressly  forbids  him  to  do  so.  She  considers  indifference  in  matters  of  religion,  indifference  as 
to  the  distinction  of  positive  doctrines  in  faith,  as  a  great  evil,  which  promiscuous  worship  would  tend  to  spread  more 
widely  and  increase.  Hence  the  prohibition  of  such  worship,  and  the  Catholic  can  not  join  in  it  without  doing  violence  to 
his  sense  of  religious  duty. 

These  three  points  the  undersigned  simply  sets  forth  as  facts  as  appertaining  to  the  faith  of  Catholics  and  to  their  con- 
science in  matters  of  religion.  Any  discussion  or  show  of  argument  to  show  the  reasonableness  of  such  belief  and  of  such 
conscience  would  seem  to  him  out  of  place;  inasmuch  as  the  question  to  be  solved  is  not  why  people  believe,  but  what 
they  believe,  save  always  the  laws  of  common  morality,  and  the  respect  due  to  all  such  things  as  may  be  essential  or 
integral  to  the  Constitution  under  which  the  Commonwealth  is  governed. 

The  undersigned  will  not  bring  his  communication  to  a  close  without  disavowing  the  slightest  thought  of  imputing  to 
the  gentlemen  who  framed  the  school  regulations  any  design  to  disregard  the  rights  or  the  feelings  of  Catholics.  His  per- 
sonal knowledge  of  several  amongst  them  excludes  such  an  idea  from  his  own  mind,  and  the  bare  inspection  of  the  rules 
is,  he  thinks,  enough  to  prove  that  good  and  just  and  honest  intentions  presided  in  their  councils. 

The  undersigned  begs  leave  to  add  one  word  more  in  conclusion.  It  has  been  supposed  that  because  he  was  silent  he 
was  satisfied  with  the  state  of  our  public  schools.  This  is  not  so.  He  has  always  entertained  the  sentiments  which  he  now 
expresses.  But  whenever  and  wherever  an  effort  has  been  made  by  Catholics  to  effect  such  changes  as  they  desired,  the 
question  has  been  distorted  from  its  true  sense,  and  a  false  issue  has  been  set  before  the  non-Catholic  community.  It  has 
been  represented  that  the  design  was  to  eliminate  and  practically  annihilate  the  Bible.     This  has  never  been  true;  and  yet 






this  has  always  been  believed,  and  a  rallying  cry,  "To  the  rescue  of  the  Bible!"  has  resounded  on  every  side.  Angry 
passions  have  been  aroused,  violent  acts  have  been  committed,  and  almost  invariably  the  last  condition  of  things  has  been 
worse  than  the  first.  In  the  light  of  this  experience,  any  attempt  to  bring  about  a  change  seemed  calculated  to  cause 
much  strife,  but  very  little  good,  and  therefore  not  advisable. 

To-day,  however,  circumstances  known  to  all  seem  to  make  it  a  duty  for  the  undersigned  to  act  and  to  speak.     He 
does  so  without  reluctance  since  it  is  a  duty,  and  he  hopes  that  what  he  has  said  will  be  received,  as  it  is  spoken,  with  a 
spirit  of  conciliation,  and  with  a  true  disposition  to  promote  good-will  and  charity  amongst  all  classes  of  citizens. 
The  undersigned  has  the  honor  to  be,  with  most  respect,  gentlemen, 

Your  obedient  servant, 

tJOHN   B.    FITZPATRICK,    Bishop  of  Boston. 
Boston,  Monday,  March  21,   1S59. 

The  consideration  of  this  letter  was  "indefinitely  postponed"  by  the  committee.  Cooke  was  neither 
removed  nor  censured,  and  the  charge  of  assaulting  the  boy,  brought  against  him  through  a  criminal  suit,  was 
dismissed  by  Judge  Maine.  The  results  were  unquestionable  evidence  of  the  bitter  anti-Catholic  spirit  still 
pervading  New  England  at  that  late  day. 

The  parents  of  the  children  under  suspension  took  the  only  course 
open  to  them  without  sacrificing  their  self-respect  and  the  respect  of 
their  children.  In  consultation  with  Father  Wiget,  it  was  decided  to 
open  a  school  that  would  be  under  his  supervision.  For  this  purpose, 
rooms  in  a  brick  building  on  Travers  Street  were  hired  until  better 
accommodation  could  be  procured.  This  became  known  as  Father 
Wiget's  School.  The  name  was  transferred  to  the  school-house  subse- 
quently erected  beside  the  church  on  Endicott  Street.  A  school  for 
girls  had  been  established  in  the  parish  prior  to  these  events,  so  that 
thereafter  none  of  the  Catholic  children  of  the  district  were  under  the 
necessity  of  attending  a  public  school. 

Father  Wiget  was  succeeded  by  the  Rev.  John  H.  Barrister,  S.  J., 
after  whom  came  the  Rev.  R.  W.  Brady.  Father  Brady  became  pastor 
a  second  time  after  his  first  successor,  the  Rev.  D.  O'Kane,  and  con- 
tinued in  charge  of  the  parish  until  he  was  made  Provincial  of  his  order 
in  the  East.  In  1876,  during  his  pastorate,  the  armory  building  on 
Cooper  Street,  part  of  which  had  been  in  use  for  a  public  school,  was 
bought  from  the  city  and  taken  possession  of  by  Father  Wiget's  School. 
These  more  commodious  quarters  were  necessitated  by  the  increased 
Rev.  r.  w.  Bradv.  number  of  pupils.     A  rather  grisly  association  for  a  school-house  is  the 

fact  that,  in  the  draft  riots  of  1863,  the  rioters  were  fired  upon  with  cannon  through  the  door-way  of  this 
building  and  several  of  them  killed. 

A  short  time  before  this  the  old  church  had  been  found  insufficient  for  the  congregation  and  the  erection 
of  a  larger  one  determined  on.  With  that  object  in  view,  the  balance  of  the  land  necessary  to  extend  the 
property  to  Thacher  Street  was  purchased.  This,  together  with  the  lot  on  which  stood  the  old  school-house, 
was  selected  as  the  ground  for  the  new  church.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  in  1875.  In  August,  1876,  the 
basement  was  ready  for  use,  and  the  first  Mass  was  offered  therein.  With  the  purpose  of  making  room  for  a 
pastoral  residence  the  demolition  of  the  old  church  was  begun  in  the  same  year.  The  church  was  finished  in 
the  following  year,  and  on  December  16,  1877,  it  was  dedicated  by  Archbishop  Williams.  At  the  Pontifical 
High  Mass  the  Archbishop,  assisted  by  the  Very  Rev.  P.  F.  Lyndon,  V.  G.,  was  celebrant;  the  deacons  of 
honor  were  the  Rev.  W.  A.  Blenkinsop  and  the  Rev.  William  Byrne,  and  the  sermon  was  delivered  by  the  Rev. 
R.  W.  Brady,  S.  J. 

So  closed  in  by  the  houses  in  the  locality  is  the  church  that  there  is  no  point  of  view  from  which  an 
adequate  idea  of  its  exterior  can  be  obtained.  Judging  from  its  drawings  majestic  simplicity  is  its  charac- 
teristic.    Its  architecture  is  pure  Roman,  while  its  materials  seem  to  have  been  selected  with  the  object  of 



avoiding  strong  contrast  with  the  surroundings.  The  front  on  Thacher  Street,  with  its  flanking  towers,  rising 
to  the  height  of  170  feet,  is  an  imposing  work.  Three  noble  portals  give  admission  to  a  vestibule,  measuring 
45  by  20  feet.  Five  additional  doors  are  ready  to  facilitate  quick  egress  whenever  desired.  Carrying  still  in 
the  mind  a  picture  of  the  dingy  streets  without,  one  receives  a  sort  of  shock  upon  passing  the  inner  portal.  A 
flood  of  beauty  is  poured  on  the  eyes.  The  grand  sweep  of  the  auditorium  towards  the  altars,  the  graceful 
columns,  the  soaring  arches,  the  light,  the  color,  the  atmosphere,  contribute  to  a  bewildering  effect,  somewhat 
like  that  of  a  stage  transformation  scene,  but  unlike  it  in  the  power  of  holding  and  growing  upon  one's  atten- 
tion. The  extreme  depth  of  the  church  is  186  feet,  the  extreme  width  is  74  feet,  and  seating  capacity  is  1,800. 
The  paneled  ceiling,  64  feet  from  the  floor,  is  supported  by  bronze  pillars,  which,  after  performing  their  part  in 
supporting  triforium  arcades,  one  on  either  side,  descend  to  mark  the  limits  of  the  nave  and  side  aisles.  Nine 
large  windows,  reaching  to  the  arches  beneath  the  arcades,  admit  the  light  from  each  side,  and  five  smaller 
ones,  serving  as  a  coronal  for  the  high  altar,  render  a  similar  service  in  the  chancel  wall.  The  chancel  win- 
dows, together  with  two  of  the  side  windows  nearest  the  sanctuary,  have  been  reset  by  the  present  rector, 
and  now  show  scenes  from  the  life  of  Christ  and  figures  of  saints  and  angels,  beautifully  worked  out  in  stained 
glass.  The  reset  window  on  the  gospel  side  was  the  gift  of  Mr.  Gilbride,  a  member  of  the  congregation. 
The  worshipers  are  admitted  to  the  arcades,  which  are  each  lighted 
by  twenty-seven  windows.  From  the  tesselated  sanctuary  floor,  white 
marble  steps  lead  up  to  a  magnificent  altar,  built  of  differently  colored 
marbles.  The  painting  and  statuary  are  master-pieces.  In  the  choir 
gallery  is  a  grand  organ  which  cost  $10,000.  The  basement,  in  which 
the  church  societies  meet,  would  be  considered  an  adequate  auditorium 
for  another  church.     The  expense  of  erection  exceeded  $200,000. 

Before  the  building  was  completed  the  Rev.  William  H.  Duncan, 
S.  J.,  succeeded  Father  Brady  in  the  rectorship.  Besides  taking  up 
Father  Brady's  work  where  it  was  dropped,  and  carrying  it  to  a  success- 
ful termination.  Father  Duncan  erected,  for  the  girls'  parochial  school, 
a  splendid  edifice  on  Stillman  Street,  which  was  dedicated  June  29,  1S84. 
It  is  a  five-story  structure,  with  65  feet  front  and  105  feet  depth.  The 
basement  is  constructed  of  granite.  The  superstructure  is  built  of 
brick  with  freestone  trimmings.  Besides  dressing  rooms,  etc.,  the  first, 
second,  and  third  floors  contain  eighteen  class  rooms  capable  of  accom- 
modating 700  pupils.  On  the  fourth  floor  is  a  fine  hall  designed  to 
seat  1,375  persons.  The  plans  and  specifications  were  furnished  by  the 
celebrated  architect,  Charles  J.  Bateman,  Esq.,  who  was  architect  for 
the  City  of  Boston  for  some  time.     When  it  was  completed  the  girls'  '*'^^'  ^'^'"-"'^"  ^-  Duncan,  s.  j. 

school,  until  then  located  on  Lancaster  Street,  was  moved  in  and  has  occupied  it  since.  The  site  is  in  the 
rear  of  the  boys'  school,  so  that  both  schools  occupy  one  lot,  extending  from  Cooper  to  Stillman  Street,  while 
being  no  more  than  two  or  three  rods  distant  from  the  church. 

After  Father  Duncan,  the  present  rector  of  St.  Mary's,  the  Rev.  M.  F.  Byrne,  S.  J.,  took  charge  in 
October,  1892.  About  twelve  months  after,  St.  Mary's  Young  Men's  Catholic  Association,  taking  for  its  motto 
'■'■Mens  Sana  in  corpore  sano,"  "A  sound  mind  in  a  sound  body,"  started  out,  under  most  auspicious  circum- 
stances, upon  a  career  which  can  hardly  fail  to  be  one  of  the  highest  usefulness.  Father  Byrne  has  been  its 
creator,  and  remains  its  pilot.  The  object  aimed  at,  as  suggested  in  the  motto,  is  the  improvement  of  mind 
and  body  under  the  aegis  of  religion.  In  addition  to  a  library,  reading  room,  and  recreation  room,  the  asso- 
ciation commands  a  fully  equipped  gymnasium,  in  charge  of  an  experienced  trainer.  At  present  there  are  900 
children  attending  the  schools.  They  are  carried  through  a  full  grammar  course  by  seventeen  lay  teachers. 
The  parish  controls  twenty  scholarships  in  Boston  College,  enabling  the  rector  to  send  three  or  four  boys  there 
every  year  free  of  charge.  The  church  societies  include,  with  the  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  Conference,  the  Married 
Men's  Sodality,  numbering  700;  Married  Women's  Sodahty,  600;  Young  Ladies'  Sodality,  750;  Young  Men's 



Sodality,  500;  and  a  crowded  children's  Sodality.  Six  fathers  reside  in  the  parochial  house  at  present,  all 
being  actively  engaged  in  the  work  of  the  parish.  The  number  was  greater  between  1877  and  1891,  when  St. 
Mary's  was  the  chief  house  of  the  eastern  province.  During  that  period  a  band  of  mission  fathers,  generally 
numbering  five  or  six,  was  held  in  readiness  to  respond  to  a  call  for  a  mission  in  any  part  of  the  province. 
The  time  when  Father  Maguire,  the  renowned  preacher,  resided  there  is  still  fresh  in  the  memory  of  many 

Perhaps  the  parish  has  seen  its  best  days  as  regards  numerical  strength.     The  present  congregation  is 
estimated  at  5,000.     The  district  being  the  oldest  part  of  Boston  is  naturally  the  least  improved.     For  some 

KI'.W    M.    I'.    l;\"KNK, 

years  there  has  been  an  outflow  of  the  Catholic  residents  towards  the  suburbs.  The  counter  inflow  has  been 
much  greater,  resulting  in  a  denser  population,  but  in  a  diminished  percentage  of  Catholics.  However,  to  the 
fathers  this  is  no  subject  of  regret.  Assured  that  those  who  have  gone  will  be  adequately  cared  for,  it  is 
a  matter  of  congratulation  to  them  that  the  exodus  results  in  an  extension  of  their  missionary  field.  In  the 
past  fifty-eight  years  their  work  in  St.  Mary's  has  conferred  inestimable  benefits  on  the  City  of  Boston. 



St.  patiich  s  Cbiucfx 

N  the   north  side   of  Northampton   Street,   between   Washington    Street  and 

Harrison  Avenue,  is  a  dingy  brick  building  with  gable  to  the  front,  that 

often  arouses  the  curiosity  of  strangers  riding  by  in  the  street-cars.     The 

form  of  its  doors,  as  well  as  its  belfry,  or  the  cross  surmounting  it,  suggests 

its  purpose;  but  the  almost  palpable  air  of  abandonment  it  wears  induces 

the  conviction  that  the  time  when  it  served  that  purpose  has  long  gone  by.     Yet  its 

appearance  rather  anticipates  its  destiny.      Its  days  of  worship  are  numbered,  but  not 

finished.     Divine  service  is  still  held  within  it  every   Sunday  for  the  convenience  of 

the  faithful   living  in  the  immediate  neighborhood.     It  has,  however,  lost  its  original 

importance,  and  the  time  can  not  be  distant  when  it  will  be  turned  to  other  uses,  or 

disappear  before  the  march  of  municipal  improvement. 

This  was  the  first  church  of  St.  Patrick. 
It  was  erected  in  1836  to  accommodate  the 
Catholic  residents  of  Roxbury,  Brookline,  and 
Brighton.  In  the  present  day  this  looks  like  a 
blunder,  as  Tremont  Street  or  Columbus  Ave- 
nue certainly  offers  a  much  better  location  for 
the  purpose.  But  the  Back  Bay  district  at  that 
time  was  a  veritable  bay,  the  most  of  it  being 
St.  Patuick.  under  water,  with  here  and  there  a  rough  cause- 

way or  hazardous  mud-trail,  liable  to  submergence  at  high  tide.  The 
site  chosen  was  the  most  central  that  could  be  found.  It  was,  more- 
over, the  highest  location  in  the  vicinity,  an  important  consideration 
when  the  waters  of  the  South  Bay  formed  its  eastern  boundary. 

Two  attempts  to  start  a  movement  for  the  purchase  of  the  land 
and  the  building  of  the  church  had  failed  before  the  successful  one 
was  made.  The  second  attempt  was  a  meeting  in  Daniel  McLaughlin's 
house,  situated  at  the  corner  of  Washington  and  Northampton  Streets, 
called  by  the  Rev.  John  J.  Curtin.  So  few  attended  it  that  Father 
Curtin  abandoned  the  project  as  hopeless.  Thereupon,  the  Rev. 
Thomas  Lynch  undertook  it,  with  Bishop  Fenwick's  permission.  He, 
likewise,  called  a  meeting  in  Mr.  McLaughlin's  house,  when  seven 
persons  attended.  The  names  of  only  five  are  remembered.  These  were  Daniel  McLaughlin,  Patrick  Shar- 
key, James  Wise,  Patrick  Cumiford,  and  Martin  Lennon.  Each  of  those  present  agreed  to  contribute  $100. 
"This  is  noble,"  said  Father  Lynch.  "There  is  nothing  to  stop  us,  and  we  will  begin,  in  the  name  of  God,  to 
build  the  church."  However,  he  had  afterwards  to  seek  help  from  friends  in  New  York  and  to  sell  twenty-two 
pews  in  advance. 

The  lot,  measuring  70  feet  front  by  90  feet  deep,  was  bought  April  24,  1835,  at  two  shillings  per  foot. 
The  foundation  of  the  church  was  laid  in  the  following  October.     Know-Nothingism  being  then  rampant,  its 




followers  made  threats  to  prevent  the  erection  of  the  church.  These  did  not  deter  Father  Lynch  from  prose- 
cuting the  work.  It  went  forward  and  was  carried  to  completion,  but  it  had  to  be  protected,  night  and  day, 
by  armed  parties  of  the  men  of  the  parish,  who  regularly  relieved  each  other  in  mounting  guard.  When  nearly 
finished,  the  Know-Nothing  mob  declared  that  no  priest  should  ever  celebrate  Mass  in  the  building.  It  was  a 
frame  structure,  clapboarded  in  the  usual  manner,  and  such  as  could  have  been  quickly  reduced  to  ashes  by 
the  incendiary,  granting  him  the  opportunity  to  apply  his  torch.  Under  these  circumstances,  the  insurance 
companies  declined  the  risk  unless  the  whole  was  sheathed  in  brick.  This  was  done,  the  bricks  having  been 
made  by  Patrick  Sharkey,  already  mentioned,  in  the  forms  called  for  by  the  surfaces  they  weie  designed  to 
cover.  A  frame  parochial  house  was  added  later,  and  was  used  as  such  until  1859,  when  one  of  brick  was 
built  in  the  rear,  with  its  front  facing  Chester  Square,  where  it  was  numbered  33. 


The  church  was  dedicated  December  11,  1836,  and  well  served  its  purpose  for  the  following  thirty-five 
years.  Father  Lynch  remained  pastor  until  his  death,  March  27,  1870.  He  was  born  in  the  County  Cavan, 
Ireland,  in  1800.  He  received  his  early  education  from  his  father.  It  included  a  thorough  grounding  in 
Latin  and  Gaelic.  It  is  alleged  that,  at  the  age  of  eleven,  he  could  translate  long  passages  from  Virgil  and 
Horace  into  Irish.  While  a  student  at  All-Hallows  College,  he  volunteered  for  the  American  mission,  and 
arrived  here  in  1830.  He  continued  his  studies,  under  the  supervision  of  Bishop  Fenwick,  for  three  years 
longer,  at  the  same  time  teaching  school  at  the  Cathedral.  Then  he  was  admitted  to  Holy  Orders,  and  was 
the  first  priest  assigned  to  regular  duty  at  St.  Augustine's  Chapel  in  South  Boston.  In  1836  he  was  appointed 
St.  Patrick's  first  pastor.  He  revisited  his  native  land  in  1845,  leaving  his  parish  in  charge  of  the  Rev.  P. 
O'Beirne  until  his  return  in  1846.  He  is  described  as  "large,  strong,  and  strikingly  handsome."  It  is  also 
stated  that  he  was,  probably,  the  best  classical  scholar  in  New  England  at  that  time.     A  happy  combination  of 







moral  and  physical  courage  specially  adapted  him  for  the  position  he  filled.  His  most  prominent  characteristic 
was  his  intense  sympathy  for  the  poor.  Numbers  of  his  unfortunate  fellow-countrymen,  driven  by  famine  to 
this  country,  were  often  sheltered  in  the  basement  of  St.  Patrick's  while  he  sought  out  employment  for  them. 
His  death  was  a  grief  to  all  who  knew  him.  His  remains  are  interred  at  St.  Augustine's  Cemetery,  the  scene 
of  his  earliest  ministrations. 

The  Rev.  Joseph  H.'  Gallagher,  who  on  June  3,  1869,  was  appointed  curate  of  St.  Patrick's,  succeeded 
Father  Lynch.  The  proximity  of  the  new  Cathedral  on  Washington  Street  made  it  necessary  to  alter  the 
parish  lines  about  this  time.  By  the  new  lines  a  section  was  cut  off  at  the  northern  end,  and  new  territory  in 
the  Highlands  was  added  to  the  southern  end.  The  need  of  a  more  commodious  church  had  been  felt  before 
then.  Now  a  demand  for  a  more  central  location  was  heard.  The  result  was  that  a  lot  for  a  new  church,  in 
the  Mount  Pleasant  district,  was  purchased  in  the  summer  of  1872.  The  building  was  begun  in  the  early  part 
of  1873,  and  on  July  12  Archbishop  Williams  laid  the  corner-stone.  Mass  was  offered  for  the  first  time  in  the 
basement  on  the  last  Sunday  of  April,  1874,  and  the  finished  church  was  dedicated  December  5,  1880.  At  the 
dedication  ceremonies  Archbishop  Williams,  assisted  by  the  Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  V.  G.,  was  celebrant; 
the  Rev.  W.  J.  Daly  and  the  Rev.  Michael  Gilligan  were  deacons;  the  Rev.  M.  Moran  and  the  Rev.  P.  Ronan 
were  honorary  deacons;  and  the  Rt.  Rev.  P.  T.  O'Reilly,  Bishop  of  Springfield,  who  had  served  as  an  altar 
boy  in  the  old  church,  preached  the  sermon. 

The  church  occupies  a  most  desirable  site,  on  elevated  land,  at  the  junction  of  Dudley  and  Magazine 
Streets.  Several  lines  of  street-cars  meet  at  its  doors.  It  is  a  neat  sample  of  Gothic  architecture.  The 
basement  is  built  of  Roxbury  stone,  and  the  superstructure  of  brick  trimmed  with  freestone.  Over  the  main 
entrance  is  a  handsome  tower,  which  it  is  designed  to  finish  with  a  spire.  Close  by  the  sanctuary  end  is  the 
pastoral  residence,  well  in  keeping  with  the  general  exterior.  The  auditorium  seats  1,200  persons.  The  three 
altars  are  constructed  of  marble,  the  high  altar,  made  in  Baltimore,  being  a  remarkable  work  of  art.  Over 
the  latter,  on  the  sanctuary  wall  behind,  is  a  grand  painting  of  St.  Patrick  preaching  the  gospel  to  the  Irish 
princes  on  the  hill  of  Tara.     The  basement  is  high,  airy,  and  capable  of  seating  1,000  persons. 

In  1886  a  splendid  building  for  a  girls'  parochial  school  was  erected  within  a  few  rods  of  the  church  on 
Mt.  Pleasant  Avenue.  The  school  has  been  most  prosperous.  Beginning  with  300  pupils,  its  registers  now 
show  716,  with  an  average  attendance  of  630.  It  is  conducted  by  a  community  of  the  Sisters  of  Charity 
under  the  direction  of  Mother  Superior  Berchmans.  Coming  from  Mt.  St.  Vincent,  Halifax,  they  have  taken 
up  their  residence  in  the  convent  provided  for  them  by  the  rector  on  Perrin  Street.  The  school  offers  a  full 
grammar  and  high  school  course  to  its  pupils.  Special  instructions  are  given  in  vocal  and  instrumental  music. 
Gracefulness  of  action  combined  with  physical  development  is  imparted  by  a  well-regulated  system  of  calis- 
thenics. These  exercises  include  fencing  with  foils  and  dumb-bell  and  wand  drill.  A  novel  feature  of  the 
school  is  a  cooking  class.  Across  the  street,  in  another  building  owned  by  the  parish,  is  a  Kindergarten 
department,  where  the  lives  of  forty  little  tots  under  five  years  old  are  made  happy.  A  school  for  boys  will  be 
Father  Gallagher's  next  undertaking.  A  lot  for  the  purpose,  situated  near  the  girls"  school,  has  already  been 

Father  Gallagher  is  one  of  those  men  who  seek  to  do  good  in  secret.  He  would  not  have  his  left  hand 
know  what  his  right  hand  does.  But  it  is  well  for  the  community  and  for  Catholicity  that  the  voice  of  his 
works  cannot  be  stifled.  His  congregation  know  his  characteristic  and  love  him  for  it.  He  is  of  Irish  birth. 
He  was  a  child  when  he  arrived  in  this  country.  After  residing  a  year  in  Lawrence,  Mass.,  he  became  a  resi- 
dent of  Amesbury.  Here  he  attended  a  public  school  for  a  time,  and  then  was  sent  to  an  academy  where  a 
more  advanced  course  was  pursued.  In  i860  he  went  to  St.  Charles  College,  Ellicott  City,  Md.  Having 
graduated  there  in  1866,  he  took  his  theological  course  at  St.  Joseph's  Seminary,  Troy,  N.  Y.,  and  received 
Holy  Orders  May  22,  1869.  His  first  appointment  placed  him  in  St.  Patrick's  Parish,  and  the  connection  has 
remained  unbroken  for  the  past  quarter  of  a  century.      He  will  shortly  celebrate  his  silver  jubilee. 



Cburcb  of  SS.  peter  anb  Paul 

ASS  was  first  publicly  offered  in  South  Boston,  at  the  little  chapel  erected  by  Bishop  Cheverus 
in  St.  Augustine's  Cemetery.  This  was  in  1819.  In  1833  it  was  enlarged  by  Bishop  Fenwick, 
and  was  used  as  a  church  for  ten  or  eleven  years.  Its  last  pastor,  the  Rev.  Thomas  Fitzsim- 
mons,  at  the  end  of  the  decade,  was  commissioned  to  organize  a  parish  and  build  a  church 
capable  of  accommodating  the  increased  congregation.  The  co-operation  of  the  people  was 
readily  yielded,  and  a  site  on  Broadway,  near  Sea  Street,  now  Dorchester  Avenue,  having  been 
procured,  the  erection  of  the  church  was  soon  begun.  By  1844  the  basement  was  finished, 
and  the  holding  of  public  services  was  transferred  to  it  from  St.  Augustine's.     The  church  was 

completed  in  the  following  year,  when  it  was  dedi- 
cated under  the  invocation   of    SS.    Peter  and  Paul. 

No  engraving  or  other  drawing  of  it  has  been  pre- 
served; but  all  accounts  agree  in  describing  it  as  one 

of  the  handsomest  churches  in  New  England.     It  was 

designed  by  Gridley  F.  Bryant  in  the  Gothic  style  of 

architecture.     It  was  a  stone  structure,  measuring  6ii- 

feet  front  by  106  feet  depth.     Over  the  main  entrance 

rose  a  tower  and  steeple  that  were  especially  admired. 

The  interior  was  fitted  with  organ  loft  and  side  gal- 
leries, and  was   beautifully   ornamented.      A  striking 

object  was  a  wax  figure  of  the  "Dead  Christ''  placed 

over   the   altar.     The  organ,   which  cost  §3,000,  was 

considered  a  magnificent  instrument  at  that  time. 

One  of  the  reasons  urged  for  building  the  church 

of  stone  rather  than  of  wood,  had  been  the  greater 

security  from  Know-Nothing  incendiarism  that  would 

thereby  be  obtained.    Yet,  on  September  7,  1848,  it  was 

destroyed  by  fire.     The  first  cause  of  the  disaster  has 

never  been  learned.     One  theory  ascribed  the  fire  to 

spontaneous  combustion,  and  another  to  incendiarism. 

The  most  probable  explanation  was  that  it  originated 

with  burning  material  carried  to  the  church  from  a 

building   on    Sea    Street,    near   the   bridge,   that    had 

previously    caught  fire.      The   flames  were  first  seen 

issuing  from  the  belfry,  according  to  one  account,  and 

from   the  center  of  the   roof  according  to   a  second.  ^^  '  *■"'   ^■""  P'^^'-' S"ith  Boston. 

The  former  seems  to  be  corroborated  by  the  fact  that  the  roof  was  intact  until  the  steeple  fell  and  broke  through 

it.     According  to  Simond's  History  of  South  Boston,  the  firemen  were  unable  to  go  to  the  assistance  of  the 

church  because  they  were  engaged  at  the  fire  on  Sea  Street.     The  same  authority  states  that  nearly  every  house 

on  A  and  B  Streets  took  fire  on  the  roof,  and  that  the  steeple  of  the  Orthodox  Church  was  badly  burned  from 






fire  communicated  from  SS.  Peter  and  Paul's.  It  is  much  more  probable  that  all,  or  nearly  all,  these  fires, 
including  that  of  SS.  Peter  and  Paul's,  originated  with  the  "large  fire"  on  Sea  Street,  which  was  so  large  that 
it  monopolized  the  services  of  the  firemen.  Within  two  or  three  hours  nothing  was  left  of  the  new  church  but 
the  bare  walls  and  a  pile  of  smoking  ruins.  Some  of  the  masonry  of  the  belfry  tower,  which  still  stood,  was 
pronounced  dangerous  and  removed.  With  it  were  the  spires  of  cut  stone  now  sentineling  the  main  entrance 
of  the  church  on  Broadway.  As  the  building  had  been  insured  for  #42,000,  the  loss  did  not  fall  entirely  upon 
the  parish. 

Deprived  of  his  church,  the  pastor  took  his  congregation  to  a  hall  situated  at  the  foot  of  Fourth  Street, 
on  Sea  Street,  for  the  parish  Mass  on  Sundays.  He  also  re-opened  St.  Augustine's  Chapel  for  the  celebration 
of  another  Sunday  Mass.  The  work  of  restoring  the  church  seems  to  have  made  but  slow  progress.  It  started 
with  a  transverse  addition  at  the  rear,  which  altered  the  form  to   that  of  the   letter  T.     The  basement  of  this 


part  was  ready  for  use  by  1850.  When,  in  the  Spring  of  1853,  the  pastor  was  superseded  by  the  Rev.  P.  F. 
Lyndon,  the  interior  was  still  unfinished.  Under  Father  Lyndon's  energetic  superintendence,  the  church  was 
freed  of  the  workmen  by  the  end  of  six  months,  and  was  re-dedicated  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  on  Thanksgiving 
Day,  November  24.  The  ceremonies  were  attended  by  the  Bishops  of  Albany  and  Hartford  and  by  about  forty 
priests.  The  celebrant  of  the  High  Mass  was  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  assisted  by  the  Rev.  J.  McElroy,  S.  J.;  the 
deacons  of  honor  were  the  Rev.  William  Wiley  and  the  Rev.  John  O'Donnell;  deacons  of  the  Mass,  the  Rev. 
Manasses  P.  Dougherty  and  the  Rev.  John  J.  Williams;  chanters,  the  Rev.  W.  Blenkinsop  and  the  Rev.  Father 
Roche;  masters  of  ceremonies,  the  Rev.  N.  J.  O'Brien  and  the  Rev.  John  T.  Roddan;  and  the  sermon  was 
delivered  by  the  Very  Rev.  Dr.  Ryder,  S.  J.  The  Bishop  of  Hartford  officiated  at  the  evening  services,  when 
the  Rev.  Dr.  Moriarty,  of  Philadelphia,  preached  the  sermon. 



The  auditorium  of  the  new  or  present  church  is  about  twice  as  large  as  that  of  the  first  church.  A  steeple 
of  nearly  the  same  design  has  replaced  the  one  destroyed  by  the  fire.  The  interior  was  finished  by  Mr.  Keely, 
brother  of  P.  C.  Keely,  the  celebrated  architect.  It  consists  of  nave,  side  aisles,  and  transept.  This  division 
is  accomplished  by  graceful  arcades  of  clustered  columns  with  foliated  capitals.  Corbels  of  various  designs 
support  the  principals  of  the  roof.  Over  the  altar  is  a  large  screen  of  elaborate  design,  showing  monograms 
with  emblematic  figures  and  devices.  The  paneled  ceiling  is  richly  illuminated,  while  the  windows  and  altars 
are  worthy  of  a  Cathedral. 

A  small  number  of  the  congregation  manifested  a  disposition  to  resist  Father  Lyndon's  assumption  of  the 
pastorate,  but  they  quickly  found  out  their  error  and  sincerely  repented  the  act.  His  unselfish  devotion  to  his 
duties,  joined  to  his  open  and  clear-headed  business  methods,  won  the  confidence  and  esteem  of  all  the  parish- 
ioners before  he  was  among  them  a  month.  During  his  pastorate,  which  lasted  about  ten  years,  a  parochial 
school  for  girls  and  a  convent  for  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame  in  charge  of  it  were  established  in  the  vicinity  of 
the  church,  on  the  other  side  of  Broadway.  Also  the  Gate  of  Heaven  Church  was  built,  at  the  intersection  of 
Fourth  and  I  Streets,  for  the  accommodation  of  the  Catholic  residents  of  City  Point.  One  of  the  church 
organizations  formed  under  Father  Lyndon  was  SS.  Peter  and  Paul's  Library  Association,  started  in  1857,  and 
whose  first  officers  were:  John  McDonough,  President;  Thomas  Savage,  Vice-President;  William  Peard,  Secre- 
tary and  Treasurer;  John  J.  Fox  and  James  Barrett,  Librarians.  There  were,  also,  a  flourishing  Sundaj'-school 
and  an  active  branch  of  the  Young  Catholic  Friend's  Societ)-. 

When  Father  Lyndon  left  the  par- 
ish to  enter  the  Society  of  Jesus,  the 
Rev.  William  A.  Blenkinsop  took 
charge.  Under  his  administration 
the  school  accommodations  were  in- 
creased by  the  erection  of  another 
school-house,  fronting  on  Athens 
Street,  in  rear  of  the  first  building. 
On  November  24,  1866,  the  place  of 
the  Young  Catholic  Friend's  Society 
was  taken  by  the  Society  of  St.  Vin- 
cent de  Paul,  whose  first  officers 
were:  Rev.  William  A.  Blenkinsop, 
Spiritual  Director;  Patrick  Barry, 
President;  John  McDonough,  Vice- 
President;  James  Wright,  Treasurer, 
Patrick  A.  Collins,  now  United  States 
Consul-General  at  London,  Secretary. 
,  In  the  same  year  the  Sisters  of  Notre 
Dame  were  given  entire  charge  of  the 
Sunday-school.  The  church  sodali- 
ties, now  to  be  found  in  most  parishes,  were  established  by  Father  Blenkinsop.  His  recent  death  is  still 
mourned  by  many  to  whom  his  admirable  characteristics  had  endeared  him.  The  government  of  the  parish  was 
next  undertaken  by  Rt.  Rev.  John  Brady,  titular  Bishop  of  Alabanda  and  auxiliary  Bishop  of  Boston,  who  still 
directs  its  affairs,  and  although  not  three  years  yet  in  charge  of  SS.  Peter  and  Paul's  Parish,  Bishop  Brady's 
management  of  its  finances  has  already  won  the  hearty  commendation  of  his  parishioners. 



IC^ansb  of  St,  Dincent  be  IPaul 


first  parish  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  comprised  the  district  of  old 
Fort  Hill,  leveled  by  the  city  in  the  sixties.  The  old  church  of  St. 
Vincent  stood  at  the  corner  of  Purchase  and  Congress  Streets,  until 
April,  1872,  having  been  one  of  the  last  buildings  to  be  razed.  It  was 
a  granite  structure,  capable  of  accommodating  from  five  to  six  hundred 
people,  and  was  originaly  the  meeting-house  of  the  Purchase  Street 
Unitarian  Society.  It  was  bought  May  i,  1848,  in  behalf  of  Bishop 
Fitzpatrick,  by  Andrew  Carney,  for  $30,000.  The  sellers  repented  the 
transaction,  upon  learning  that  the  building  was  to  be  used  for  Catholic 
worship,  and,  doubtless,  would  have  recalled  the  sale  had  it  not  been 
guaranteed  by  a  bond  for  $10,000.  They,  however,  offered  $3,000  to  be 
freed  from  the  obligation  of  completing  it.  The  offer  was  refused,  and 
the  church  opened  for  Catholic  services  on  May  14.  Bishop  Fitzpatrick 
officiated  at  the  dedication,  after  which,  Demonti's  Mass  in  C  was  sung 
by  the  Rev.  Nicholas  O'Brien,  supported  by  a  choir  exclusively  composed 
of  boys  and  girls,  and  the  sermon  was  delivered  by  the  Bishop.  It  was 
attended  as  a  succursal  church,  by  the  priests  of  the  Cathedral,  until 
December,  1S62,  when  the  district  was  set  off  as  a  parish  and  the  Rev. 
Michael  Moran,  now  of  St.  Stephen's  Church,  appointed  its  pastor.  His 
successors  were  the  Rev.  John  McShane,  and  the  Rev.  E.  J.  Sheridan, 
now  of  Taunton. 

The  congregation  was  practically  dispersed  when  the  residents  of  Fort 
Hill  were  compelled  to  move  elsewhere.  The  portion  left  comprised  the 
parishoners  who  resided  in  the  immediate  vicinity  of  the  hill.  These  were 
accommodated  for  a  time  in  the  Chapel  of  the  Holy  Family  on  Beach  Street, 
and  then  were  assigned  to  the  parish  of  St.  James.  Of  the  hill  residents, 
the  larger  number  took  up  their  homes  in  South  Boston,  and  speedily  made 
the  erection  there  of  still  another  church  a  pressing  necessity.  It  was,  there- 
upon, decided  to  perpetuate  the  old  parish  in  the  peninsula.  In  1872  the 
requisite  territory  was  set  off  from  the  parish  of  SS.  Peter  and  Paul,  the  Rev.  Michael  Lane  was  appointed  its 
pastor,  and  the  records,  furniture,  and  other  property  belonging  to  the  Purchase  Street  Church,  were  given  to 
him  for  use  in  the  new  parish. 

Parochial  Masses  were  first  held  in  a  hall  at  the  intersection  of  C  Street  and  Broadway.  A  site  for  the 
church  was  chosen  as  soon  as  practicable.  The  lot  was  situated  at  the  corner  of  E  and  Third  Streets,  and  then 
but  one  block  removed  from  tide  water.  The  water  has  since  receded  before  the  march  of  improvement,  and 
several  blocks  now  intervene.  The  church  was  finished  in  about  two  years  after  building  was  begun.  It  was 
dedicated  on  the  festival  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  July  19,  1874.  The  ceremony  was  performed  by  Bishop 
Williams.  The  Rev.  William  A.  Blenkinsop  offered  the  Solemn  High  Mass,  the  Rev.  M.  Supple  and  the  Rev. 
Richard  Barry  being  the  deacons,  and  Father  Wissel,  C.  SS.  R.,  delivered  the  sermon. 



Although  the  design  of  the  church  is  simple,  its  exterior  is  pleasing  to  the  eye,  especially  when  clad  in  its 
summer  garb  of  foliage.  It  looks  older  than  it  is  because  two  of  the  walls  are  built  of  the  granite  blocks  that 
formed  the  walls  of  the  Purchase  Street  Church,  while  a  third  wall  is  composed  of  Roxbury  stone  harmonizing 
in  color  with  the  granite.  Over  the  front  is  the  belfry  in  which  hangs  the  bell  that  formerly  called  the  faithful 
of  Fort  Hill  to  church.  Inside,  a  Fort  Hill  resident  is  reminded  of  old  times  at  every  turn.  The  holy-water 
fonts,  the  images,  the  altars,  are  those  he  remembers  to  have  seen  in  old  St.  Vincent's;  yes,  and  the  grand  old 
picture  of  the  crucifixion,  over  the  tabernacle  of  the  high  altar,  which  is  shown  so  plainly  in  our  illustration 
of  the  church  interior,  is  the  same  that  often  fascinated  his  gaze  while  engaged  in  the  devotions  of  his  inno- 

ST.   VINCI'.NT'S    (_'H|:kCH,  M)U'ri-|    r.i  isI'dN. 

cent  youth.  The  striking  oil-painting  visible  over  the  top  of  the  altar,  on  the  sanctuary  wall,  is  of  more  recent 
date,  being  a  conception  of  the  present  rector,  executed  by  the  deft  brush  of  Muller.  An  interesting  fact  con- 
nected with  it  is,  that  the  original  of  the  sister  of  charity  in  the  composition  was  Sister  Ann  Alexis.  The 
main  dimensions  of  the  church  are  72  by  148  feet,  and  its  seating  capacity  is  1,200.  Very  recently  a  beautiful 
statue  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  has  been  placed  in  the  niche  in  the  church  front,  a  fine  picture  of  which  appears 
at  the  head  of  this  article. 

Father  Lane  was  succeeded  by  the  Rev.  W.  J.  Corcoran,  the  present  rector,  in   1878.     The  church  organ- 
izations include  the  St.  Vincent  de  Paul   Society,  the  Married  and  Single  Ladies'  Sodalities,  the  Men's  and 






Junior  Sodalities,  the  Society  of  the  Sacred  Heart,  the  Society  of  tlie  Rosary,  a  well-trained  sanctuary  choir  of 
sixty-two  voices,  and  a  most  creditable  altar  society. 

Father  Corcoran  was  born  in  Ireland,  and  received  his  early  education  partly  in  the  national  schools  of  his 
native  land,  and  partly  in  the  public  schools  of  Boston.  He  was  graduated  from  Holy  Cross  College,  Worcester, 
in  1867,  receiving  his  diploma  from  the  hands  of  Massachusetts'  war  governor,  Andrew.  After  concluding  his 
theological  studies  at  the  Seminary  of  St.  Sulpice,  Paris,  he  was  ordained  a  priest  by  Mgr.  Maret,  coadjutor  to 

Rev.  Michael  Lane,  J{J^,   William  J.  Cokcokan,  .St.  Vincent's  Church. 

First  Pastor  St.  Vincent  de  Paul's  Church,  South  Boston. 

Mgr.  Darboy,  and  returned  to  begin  his  missionary  labors  in  Boston.  His  first  Mass  was  celebrated  in  the 
pro-Cathedral  on  Castle  Street.  He  was  assigned  to  a  curacy  at  St.  James  Church,  under  the  pastorate  of 
the  Rev.  James  A.  Healy.  Thence  he  went  as  pastor  to  Hyde  Park.  Here  he  had  nearly  finished  the  erection 
of  the  Church  of  the  Epiphany,  when  it  was  burned  down.  Afterwards  he  purchased  the  site  now  occupied  by 
the  Church  of  Precious  Blood.  At  the  death  of  Father  Lane,  in  1878,  he  was  transferred  to  St.  Vincent's 
where  he  is  now  continuing  the  good  work  of  his  predecessor. 



Uhc  parish  of  St,  S^amee, 

OR  some  years  previous  to  the  formation  of  tliis  parisli,  the  Catholic  people  of  the  district  had 
all  the  unity  of  a  congregation.  The  earliest  manifestations  of  this  fact  were  their  meetings 
for  Sunday-school  and  other  religious  objects.  These  were  first  held  in  a  building  known  as 
the  Albany  Block,  which  has  long  since  disappeared.  Subsequently,  in  1849,  ^ey  were  held 
in  the  old  Turn  Hall,  on  Washington  Street.  Here  the  attendance  increased  so  rapidly  that, 
in  1850,  it  became  necessary  to  seek  more  commodious  quarters.  They  were  found  in  a  dis- 
used theatre  on  Beach  Street,  which,  when  the  necessary  alterations  were  made,  was  named 
the  Chapel  of  the  Holy  Family.  In  this  place  thereafter,  until  the  first  church  of  St.  James 
was  erected,  divine  service  was  regularly  offered  for  the  accommodation  of  the  people.  The 
spiritual  wants  of  the  little  flock  were  supplied  by  the  priests  attached  to  the  Cathedral  on 

Franklin    Street.       The  Rev.  Dr.  Manahan  was    first 

assigned  to  this  duty.     The  Rev.  John  J.  Williams,  the 

present  Archbishop,  succeeded  him  January  4,  1852. 

When  Father  Williams  took  charge,  the  congrega- 
tion had  largely  outgrown  the  capacities  of  the  chapel. 

As  a  consequence,  it  was  soon  after  decided  to  build  a 

church.     This  step  was  taken  at  a  meeting  held  in  the 

chapel  April  5,  1852,  under  the  presidency  of  Bishop 

Fitzpatrick.      A  site  was  selected  at  the  junction  of 

Albany  and  Harvard  Streets,  and  the  land  was  bought 

February   18,    1853.     The  corner-stone  was  laid   July 

22,  of  the  same  year,  by  the  Rev.   David  Walsh,  the 

Rev.  Nicholas  J.  O'Brien  delivering  the  sermon  appro- 
priate  to    the   occasion.      In   the    following   year   the 

district  was  set  apart  as  a  parish,  and  given  into  the 

charge  of  Father  Walsh  as  its  first  pastor.     The  first 

Mass   was    celebrated    in   the    basement   of    the    new 

church  on  Christmas  Day,  1854.     On  September  23, 

1855,  the  finished  structure  was  dedicated  by  Bishop 

Fitzpatrick,   under  the    invocation   of    St.    James   the 

Greater.     The  sermon  for  this  occasion  was  delivered 

by  the  Rev.  Thomas  Mullady,  S.  J.,  and  that  for  the 

evening  services  by  the  Rev.  John  J.  McElroy,   S.  J. 

The  church  was  a  fine  brick  edifice,  built  in  the  Gothic 

style,  from  plans  furnished  by  Architect  P.  C.  Keely, 

of  Brooklyn,  N.  Y. 

1      1   ■      ^1  4,         1      I  Rev.  Damd  Walsh,  First  Pastor. 

Father  Walsh  was  succeeded  m  the  pastoral  charge 
of  the  parish  by  the  Very  Rev.  John  J.  Williams,  then  vicar-general  of  the  diocese.     Under  Father  Williams' 
management  the  financial  difficulties  which  had  come  upon  the  parish  were  so  ably  met  and  handled  as  to  leave 
but  a  hght  burden  for  his  successor.     His  pastorate'had  lasted  nine  years  when  he  was  elevated  to  the  episco- 
pate and  assigned  as  coadjutor  to  Bishop  Fitzpatrick. 



This  occurred  in  1866,  wlien  the  Rev.  James  A.  Healy  was  appointed  pastor.  "Father  James,"  the  name 
b)'  which  he  was  affectionately  known  to  his  flock,  was  in  the  front  of  every  Catholic  movement  in  Boston  during 
his  administration.  He  delivered  many  addresses  before  state  and  municipal  committees  to  gain  some  rights 
withheld  from  his  co-religionists.  His  words  always  had  weight,  for  he  had  previously  measured  his  ground, 
and  he  stood  close  behind  his  facts.  Although  gratified  by  the  dignity  conferred  on  him  in  1875,  when  he  was 
raised  to  the  See  of  Portland,  the  parishioners  were  deeply  grieved  to  lose  him. 


Two  years  before  his  departure  Father  Healy  disposed  of  the  church  property  on  Albany  Street  to  the 
Boston  and  Albany  Railroad  Corporation,  whose  train  yards  abutted  on  the  parish  lot.  The  corporation  needed 
the  property  to  meet  the  increased  business  of  the  road,  and  the  congregation  desired  to  go  elsewhere  in  order 
that  they  might  worship  undisturbed  by  the  noise  of  constantly  moving  trains.  The  transfer  was  effected  to 
the  satisfaction  of  all  concerned,  and  a  much  more  suitable  site  for  another  church  was  found  on  Harrison 
Avenue.  This  land  was  purchased  in  February,  1873,  and  on  November  10  the  corner-stone  of  the  present 
church  was  laid.  The  last  High  Mass  was  held  in  the  Albany  Street  Church  August  30,  1874,  when  the 
officiating  clergymen  were  the  Rev.  James  Donegan,  celebrant;  and  the  Rev.  Michael  Ronan  and  Mr.  Joseph 
Colbert,  deacons.     Although  the  impending  change  was  a  source  of  gratification  to  all,  yet  many  of  the  parish- 



ioners  on  this  occasion  were  moved  to  tears ;  and  after  the  services  had  terminated  several  lingered  in  the 
aisles,  sadly  prolonging  their  last  look  at  a  place  that  had  become  intimately  associated  with  their  dearest 
memories.  Services  were  first  held  in  the  basement  of  the  new  church  September  7,  1874.  Father  Healy  had  so 
vigorously  pushed  the  work  that  the  building  was  nearly  completed  when  he  left  for  Portland.     What  remained 


to  be  done  was  accomplished  in  the  ne.xt  few  months,  under  the  direction  of  the  new  pastor,  the  Rev.  A.  S. 
Healy.  Then,  on  July  25,  1875,  *he  feast  of  St.  James  the  Apostle,  the  church  was  solemnly  dedicated  by 
Archbishop  Williams,  assisted  by  the  Bishops  of  Springfield,  Providence,  and  Portland. 

St.  James  has  been  pronounced  one  of  the  finest  churches  in  the  city.  It  is  built  in  the  style  of  the  Roman 
Basilica.  The  clerestory,  from  which  it  is  lighted,  is  composed  of  solid  masonry  supported  by  pillars  of  polished 
Scotch  granite  The  interior,  with  its  wide  nave  and  lofty  paneled  ceiling,  is  admirably  adapted  for  public 
worship.     Measuring  75  feet  in  height,  and  155  feet  by  75  feet  on  the  floor,  its  seating  capacity  is  easily  1,500. 

The  parisTi  did  not  long  enjoy  the  paternal  guidance  of  Father  A.  S.  Healy.  An  illness  contracted  in  the 
discharge  of  his  duties  resulted  in  his  death,  October  11,  1S75.  The  next  pastor  was  the  Rev.  Thomas  H. 
Shahan,  who  established  an  excellent  school  for  girls  under  the  efficient  charge  of  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame. 
Failing  health  obliged  Father  Shahan  to  resign  in  1884,  and  the  Rev.  Matthew  Harkins  was  appointed  to  take 


his  place.  Three  years  later,  Father  Harkins  was  consecrated  Bishop  and  given  the  See  of  Providence,  left 
vacant  by  the  death  of  Bishop  Hendricken.  This  was  the  third  time,  within  the  space  of  twenty-one  years, 
that  a  pastor  of  St.  James'  Parish  was  the  recipient  of  episcopal  honors.  The  present  esteemed  pastor,  the 
Rev.  William  P.  McQuaid,  was  Father  Harkins'  successor. 

The  parish  has  always  been  remarkable  for  the  practical  and  vigorous  character  of  its  religious  life.  Its 
congregation  is  reputed  for  generous  contributions  to  general  charities,  recommended  by  the  pastor.  Its  con- 
ference of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  is  one  of  the  best  sustained  and  most  active  in  the  archdiocese.  The  church 
sodalities  for  both  sexes  have  each  a  large  membership,  and  manifest  a  most  edifying  degree  of  earnestness  at 
their  meetings :  while  a  senior  and  a  junior  temperance  society  take  a  most  creditable  part  in  the  crusade 
against  liquor  drinking. 

,  Harrison  Ave 

Father  McQuaid  occupies  a  high  place  in  the  affections  of  his  people.  Since  he  became  pastor  he  has 
erected  a  much-needed  parochial  residence  beside  the  church.  He  was  educated  at  Holy  Cross  College,  Wor- 
cester, where  he  was  graduated  in  1864.  After  this  he  went  to  Ireland  and  took  his  theological  course  at  All 
Hallows,  Dublin.  Here  he  received  ordination  June  24,  1870.  He  then  returned  to  Boston,  and  was  appointed 
assistant  to  the  pastor  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales'  Church,  in  Roxbury.  In  1876  he  was  made  pastor  of  Abington, 
where  he  remained  until  May  i,  1887,  when  he  assumed  charge  of  the  Parish  of  St.  James. 



Right  Rev.  James  Augustine  Healy  was  born  near  Macon,  Ga.,  April  6,  1830.  He  came  North  at  an  early 
age  and  attended  the  Quaker  schools  on  Long  Island  and  New  Jersey.  At  the  age  of  fourteen  he  had  com- 
pleted algebra,  trigonometry,  and  the  science  of  surveying,  and  was  prepared  to  go  into  the  field  as  a  surveyor. 
He  was  one  of  the  first  students  at  Holy  Cross  College,  Worcester,  Mass.,  whence  he  graduated  in  1849.  He 
then  attended  the  Sulpitian  Seminary  at  Montreal,  as  a  theological  student,  for  three  years.  Thence  he  went 
to  Paris,  where  he  spent  two  more  years  in  perfecting  himself  in  theology  and  increasing  his  proficiency  in 
French,  of  which  language  he  became  a  very  fluent  speaker.  Here  he  was  ordained  priest  in  the  Church  of 
Notre  Dame  in  1854.  Called  to  the  Diocese  of  Boston,  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  chose  him  for  his  private  secretary 
and  rector  of  the  Cathedral.  He  occupied  these  important  positions  for  twelve  years  to  the  great  satisfaction 
of  his  Bishop,  who  then  transferred  him  to  St.  James'  parish.  He  was  rector  here  for  ten  years,  when,  on  the 
death  of  Bishop  Bacon,  he  was  chosen  ns  his  successor,  and  was  consecrated  Bishop  of  Portland,  June  2,  1875. 

Rt.  Rev.  James  A.  He.\lv,  Bishop  of  Portland, 

FOR.MERLV    P.\STOR    St.    JaMES'   ChURCH 

ew  Harkins,  Bishop  of  Pro\ 
Pastor  St.  James'  Church. 

Right  Rev.  Matthew  Harkins,  D.  D.,  although  Bishop  of  Providence,  and  not  directly  connected  with 
the  Archdiocese  of  Boston,  is  by  no  means  a  stranger  in  this  diocese,  as  all  of  the  early  days  of  his 
ministry  were  spent  laboring  in  several  parishes  here.  He  was  born  in  Boston  in  1846,  and  received  his 
elementary  education  in  the  public  schools  here.  After  a  successful  classical  course  in  Holy  Cross  College, 
Worcester,  he  entered  the  Seminary  of  St.  Sulpice,  Paris,  where  he  received  his  theological  course.  He  was 
ordained  at  Rome  in  1869.  In  November,  1870,  he  was  appointed  second  assistant  of  the  Immaculate  Con- 
ception Church,  Salem,  where  he  remained  for  almost  six  years,  and  acted  as  temporary  pastor  from  July,  1873, 
until  Father  Hally's  return  in  May,  1874.  In  May,  1876,  he  was  made  pastor  of  St.  Malachi's  Church,  Arling- 
ton, remaining  until  April,  1S84,  when  he  came  to  St.  James',  where  he  labored  until  he  was  consecrated  Bishop 
of  Providence  Diocese,  April  14,  1887,  succeeding  Rt.  Rev.  T.  F.  Hendricken,  D.  D.,  who  died  June  11,  1886. 



St,  Joseph's  IPaiisb,  Boston, 

N  the  western  section  of  Boston,  about  the  year  1S50,  there  were  so  many  CathoUc  chil- 
dren that  during  inclement  weather  it  was  far  from  convenient  for  them  to  go  to  St. 
Mary's  Church,  on  Endicott  Street,  for  the  purpose  of  attending  Sunday-school.  Therefore, 
a  small  hall  over  a  grocery  store,  situated  on  the  corner  of  Garden  and  Phillips  Streets,  was 
rented,  and,  for  fully  a  year,  the  regular  Sunday  meetings  of  the  children  were  held  there. 
Then  the  assembly  room  was  changed  to  the  hay-loft  of  a  stable  on  Bridge,  now  North 
Anderson  Street,  where  divine  service  was  first  offered  in  public  by  Dr.  Ambrose  Mana- 
han,  to  whose  efforts  the  organization  and  maintenance  of  the  school  were  due.  By  1854,  the  number  of  regu- 
lar attendants  had  greatly  increased,  consequently  Dr.  Manahan  went  in  search  of  larger  quarters,  which  he 
eventually  found  at  the  corner  of  North  Grove  and  Cambridge  Streets,  on  the  lower  floor  of  an  organ  factory. 
He  was  soon  enabled  to  lease  the  entire  building,  and,  by  cutting  away  the  upper  floors  so  as  to  form  galleries, 
besides  making  other  alterations,  he  transformed  the  edifice  into  a  miniature  chapel,  which  was  subsequently 

called  the   Chapel   of  the   Guardian   Angel.     A   side  _  

altar  from  the  old  Cathedral,  Franklin  Street,  was  con- 
veyed hither  and  re-erected.  After  that,  besides  being 
used  as  a  place  for  the  Sunday-school,  Mass  was  cele- 
brated therein  every  Sunday  for  the  convenience  of 
those  Catholics  who  resided  in  this  district.  The 
priests  from  the  Cathedral  were  most  constant  and 
regular  in  attending  to  the  little  chapel,  and  particu- 
larly worthy  of  mention  is  Rev.  John  J.  Williams,  the 
present  Archbishop.  Rev.  Hilary  Tucker  afterwards 
gave  this  newly  organized  congregation  considerable 
attention,  and,  in  fact,  continued  to  visit  here  until  the 
humble  structure  was  abandoned.  Among  the  teachers 
of  the  Sunday-school  were,  Andrew  Cassidy,  John  N. 
McDevitt,  William  Burke,  and  Thomas  Gargan.  At 
present  the  old  chapel  is  used  as  a  trade  school. 

The  present  St.  Joseph's  Church  formerly  be- 
longed to  the  Twelfth  Congregational  Society,  and  was 
purchased,  in  1862,  by  Father  Williams,  who  was  then 
the  administrator  of  the  diocese.  It  was  erected  in 
1824,  when,  with  the  land  on  which  it  stands,  it  cost 
$34,000.  In  the  autumn,  its  transfer  to  the  Catholics, 
together  with  the  good  organ,  was  effected  for  the  sum 
of  $27,000.  Rev.  Patrick  T.  O'Reilly  was  then  placed 
in  charge,  and,  consequently,  became  the  first  pastor. 
To  help  defray  the  debt  incurred  by  the  purchase  of 
the  property,  a  concert  was  given   in  the   church  on 


Sunday,  October  26,  1862,  at  which  the  cathedral  choir,  under  the  direction  of  Mr.  Werner,  assisted.  The 
church  was  finally  dedicated,  on  November  9,  1862,  by  Rev.  J.  J.  Williams,  High  Mass  being  celebrated  by 
Rev.  Hilary  Tucker,  and  the  sermon  delivered  by  Rev.  J.  Boyce,  of  St.  John's  Church,  Worcester. 

Rev.  Patrick  Thomas  O'Reilly  was  born  on  December  24,  1833,  at  Kilnaleek,  County  Cavan,  Ireland. 
His  parents  were  poor,  and,  as  he  displayed  a  studious  disposition,  he  was  sent  to  America,  where  a  rich  uncle 
resided.  He  studied  classics  in  St.  Charles'  College,  EUicott  City,  Md.,  and,  after  graduating  therefrom, 
in  1853,  when  20  years  old,  he  entered  St.  Mary's  Seminary,  Baltimore,  where  he  studied  philosophy  and 
theology.  With  the  late  Rev.  Michael  Hartney,  Salem,  and  the  late  pastor  of  St.  Stephen's  parish,  Boston,  he 
was  ordained,  on  August  15,  1857,  in  the  old  Cathedral  on  Franklin  Street  by  the  Right  Rev.  David  W.  Bacon, 
D.  D.,  late  Bishop  of  Portland.  Another  classmate  of  his  in  the  seminary  was  Right  Rev.  Lawrence  S. 
McMahon,  late  Bishop  of  Hartford. 

Father  O'Reilly's  first  mission  was  in  St.  John's  Church,  Worcester,  where  he  was  sent  to  assist  Father 
Boyce,  who  not  only  distinguished  himself  by  his  diligence  as  a  pastor,  but  also  in  the  literary  field.  Under 
such  a  learned  superior,  the  young  priest  was  well  schooled  in  the  manner  of  ministering  to  souls.  It  was  not 
long  before  he  won  the  favor  of  all,  and  most  especially  of  the  younger  portion  of  the  parish,  for,  seemingly, 
like  his  great  sacerdotal  Prototype,  he  said :  "Suffer  little  children  to  come  unto  me."  In  1862  he  was  pro- 
moted to  the  pastorate  of  St.  Joseph's  Church,  Boston.  There  he  remained  until  January,  1864,  when  he  was 
appointed  pastor  of  St.  John's  Church,  Worcester,  in  the  place  of  his  old  superior,  Father  Boyce,  who  had  died. 
The  many  good  works  accomplished  by  him  will  never  be  related,  for,  indeed,  mostly  all  his  time  was  spent 
after  the  manner  of  a  vigilant  and  model  pastor,  who  loved  his  God,  his  country;  and  his  people. 

He  was  consecrated  Bishop  of  the  newly  created  Diocese  of  Springfield  on  September  25,  1870.  At  this 
service.  His  Eminence,  John  Cardinal  McCloskey,  presided,  and  he  was  assisted  by  Right  Rev.  John  J.  Conroy, 
Bishop  of  Albany,  and  Right  Rev.  Bishop  Williams.  Bishop  Bacon,  who  ordained  him  to  the  priesthood, 
preached  the  sermon  on  the  occasion  of  his  consecration.  The  new  diocese  covered  considerable  territory,  and 
extended  over  five  western  counties  of  the  State.  There  were  about  eighty  thousand  souls  ministered  to  by 
forty-three  priests.  As  this  section  over  which  the  Bishop  was  to  preside  was  somewhat  remote  from  Boston,  it 
was  not  as  thoroughly  organized  as  it  might  have  been.  There  was  hardly  a  Catholic  school  within  his  province. 
By  no  means  discouraged,  he  set  to  work,  and,  after  twenty  years,  his  diocese  was  second  to  none  in  organiza- 
tion, as  well  as  in  religious  and  educational  matters.  There  was  scarcely  a  person  in  his  flock,  be  he  priest  or 
layman,  who  did  not  have  deep  regard  for  Bishop  O'Reilly;  to  know  him  was  to  love  him,  to  hear  him  was  to 
obey  him.  No  wonder,  then,  that  such  a  general  wail  arose,  when,  on  Saturday,  May  28,  1892,  it  was 
announced  that  he  was  dead.  The  day  before  his  death  he  received  a  cablegram  from  the  Holy  Father,  and, 
with  tears  coursing  down  his  pallid  cheeks,  he  gave  thanks  to  God  for  His  goodness.  Springfield  was  in  mourn- 
ing for  him,  the  flags  at  half-mast,  and  business-houses  closed,  for  all  recognized  the  fact  that  they  had 
lost  an  exemplary  man  and  a  good  citizen.  The  grief  was  not  limited  to  the  people  in  the  Springfield  Diocese 
alone,  for  not  a  few  of  the  parishioners  of  this  parish  remember  his  amiability  and  benevolence,  and  down  their 
cheeks  trickled  many  a  tear,  whilst  from  their  hearts  they  wished  him  eternal  rest. 

On  Wednesday,  June  i,  1892,  a  solemn  Pontifical  Mass  of  Requiem  was  celebrated  by  His  Grace,  Arch- 
bishop Williams.  The  deacon  was  Rev.  P.  J.  Garrigan,  D.  D.,  vice-rector  of  the  Catholic  University  of 
America;  sub-deacon.  Rev.  P.  J.  Phelan,  of  Holyoke;  master  of  ceremonies.  Rev.  John  F.  Fagan,  of  Spring- 
field, and  assistant.  Rev.  Louis  Leduc,  of  North  Adams.  The  general  arrangements  of  the  funeral  devolved 
upon  Rev.  Bernard  S.-Conaty,  rector  of  the  Cathedral.  The  sermon  was  preached  by  Right  Rev.  James  A. 
Heal)',  D.  D.,  Bishop  of  Portland,  who  took  for  his  text,  "The  ancients,  therefore,  that  are  among  you,  I 
beseech,  who  am  myself,  also,  an  ancient  and  a  witness  of  Christ.  .  .  .  Feed  the  flock  of  God  which  is 
among  you,  taking  care  thereof  not  by  constraint,  but  willingly,  according  to  God;  neither  for  the  sake  of  filthy 
lucre,  but  voluntarily;  neither  as  domineering  over  the  clergy,  but  being  made  a  pattern  of  the  flock  from  the 
heart;  and  when  the  Prince  of  Pastors  shall  appear,  you  shall  receive  a  never-ending  crown  of  glory."  The 
panegyric,  a  masterpiece  of  this  able  prelate,  was  listened  to  by  thousands  of  mourners. 

After  the  first  pastor  had  been  transferred  to  Worcester,  Rev.  P.  J.  Canny  was  appointed  to  take  charge  of 



the  congregation,  and  his  administration  lasted  from  January,  1864,  to  July,  1865,  when  he  was  succeeded  by 
the  Rev.  P.  F.  Lyndon,  a  sketch  of  whom  may  be  found  on  page  33.  With  the  purpose  of  enlarging  the  church, 
Father  Lyndon,  April  17,  1866,  purchased  the  Lane  estate  in  the  rear,  consisting  of  two  houses  and  the  land 
they  stood  upon,  for  $16,500.  Withdrawn  from  the  parish,  June  14th,  to  superintend  the  erection  of  the 
Cathedral,  Father  Lyndon  was  obliged  to  leave  the  execution  of  his  project  to  his  successor.  This  was  the  Rev. 
Bernard  O'Reilly,  who  carried  it  out  with  the  result  of  adding  about  one-third  more  space  to  the  church.  Father 
Lyndon  returned  to  the  parish  September  5,  1870,  after  having  practically  completed  his  great  work  of  con- 
structing the  Cathedral.  During  his  second  pastorate,  he  purchased  a  parochial  residence,  beside  the  church 
on  Allen  Street,  further  enlarged  and  improved  the  accommodations  of  the  church,  and  reduced  the  debt  from 
$50,000  to  $22,000.  Father  Lyndon  died  April  19,  1878.  His  obsequies  were  a  memorable  event  in  the  history 
of  the  parish.     His  remains  were  honored  with  Episcopal  interment  within  the  Cathedral. 

His  successor  was  the  Rev.  W.  J.  Daly,  under 
whom  the  basement  was  enlarged,  the  floors  renewed, 
modern  pews  substituted  for  the  old-fashioned  ones 
transferred  with  the  church  by  the  Congregationalists, 

Rev.  p.  F.  Lyndon,  Rev.  W.  J.  Daly, 

Former  Pastor  St.  Joseph's  Church,  Boston.  Former  Pastor  St.  Joseph's  Church,  Boston. 

and  a  new  organ  purchased.      Father  Daly's  pastorate  ended  with  his  death,  abroad,  while  visiting  Rome  with 
Archbishop  Williams. 

"Father  Daly  is  dead"  was  the  sad  news  that  came  over  the  deep  to  the  people  of  St.  Joseph's  parish. 
"Father  Daly  is  dead"  was  echoed  throughout  the  streets  of  Boston,  and  many  a  sigh  was  heaved  and  many  a 
tear  shed  at  this  sorrowful  announcement,  for  he  was  loved  as  few  priests  are  loved.  To  mention  the  many 
kind  and  generous  acts  of  this  model  priest  would  require  pages  of  this  volume.  We  need  only  refer  to  the 
unfortunates  whose  misdeeds  bring  them  to  the  Police  Court,  among  whom  he  was  a  constant  visitor.  Where 
the  payment  of  a  fine  would,  in  his  opinion,  turn  the  wayward  one  from  his  evil  path,  his  pocket-book  was 
always  open,  and  his  generosity  and  benevolence  have  converted  many  a  hardened  criminal  and  led  him  to  seek 
a  better  life.  The  poor  were  always  to  him  a  special  care,  and  their  appeals  received  ready  assistance.  We 
may  refer  to  an  old  cripple,  who  was  so  infirm  that  he  was  unable  to  work,  and  he  was  asked  how  he  was  able 



to  support  himself  and  wife.  "Oh!  Father  D?ly,  God  bless  him,  pays  my  rent,  and  sees  to  it  that  we  do  not 
want  for  food  or  clothing."  This  is  but  one  of  many  cases.  In  all  his  parish,  he  looked  for  folks  whose  very  exist- 
ence seemed  to  be  dependent  upon  him,  and  all  his  charity  to  them  was  given  unassumingly.  The  children 
were  his  constant  delight,  and  it  sickened  his  large  heart  when  he  would  meet  any  who  were  insufficiently  clad, 
and  soon  after  clothing  would  come,  shoes  would  cover  their  bare  feet,  and  hampers  of  provisions  would  find 
their  way  into  their  homes.  In  Newburyport,  whilst  assisting  Father  Lennon,  he  acted  in  the  same  manner, 
and  sorry  indeed  were  the  people  there,  when  he  was  appointed  pastor  of  St.  James'  Church,  Salem.  Creed 
made  no  difference,  his  energies  being  directed  to  save  all  he  could.  He  would  say  to  a  prisoner :  "  Now  tell 
me  your  story,  and  tell  it  truthfully.  The  truth  will  always  stand  strongly  in  your  behalf."  It  is  also  related 
of  him  that  one  day  some  unfortunate  was  being  tried  and  had  no  one  to  defend  him.  Father  Daly  interested 
himself  in  the  case,  and  actually  acted  as  his  attorney,  for  he   knew  he  was  innocent,  and,  consequently,  the 


man  was  discharged.     To  the  jail-keeper  he  said :   "  If  you  have  a  person,  sick  or  well,  who  would  speak  with  a 
Catholic  clergyman,  why,  send  for  me,  no  matter  what  the  hour  is." 

In  December,  1883,  the  Archbishop  went  to  Europe,  and  Father  Daly  accompanied  him.  On  Friday, 
December  14th,  he  died  in  the  Consolazione  Hospital,  in  Rome.  The  post  mortem  examination  revealed  ulcer- 
ations of  the  stomach  and  internal  hemorrhage.  The  body  was  embalmed,  and  was  placed  in  the  receiving 
chamber  of  the  Cemetery  of  San  Lorenzo.  On  the  following  Sunday  a  solemn  High  Mass  of  Requiem  was  cele- 
brated by  Archbishop  Williams  in  the  Church  of  the  Consolazione,  at  which  many  Americans  assisted.  A  High 
Mass  of  Requiem  was  also  celebrated  in  St.  Joseph's,  at  which  Bishop  McMahon,  of  Hartford,  was  celebrant  ; 
Rev.  Thomas  H.  Shahan,  of  Salem,  deacon ;  Father  Moran,  of  St.  Stephen's,  sub-deacon,  and  Father  Gilligan, 
master  of  ceremonies.  A  beautiful  and  touching  eulogy  was  delivered  by  Father  Shahan.  The  body  was 
interred  in  Rome. 



Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  D.  D.,  V.  G.,  whose  portrait  and  sketch  appear  on  pages  i8  and  19, 
respectively,  of  this  work,  was  appointed  pastor  on  February  i,  1S84. 

On  January  12,  1885,  Dr.  Byrne  increased  the  church  property  by  the  purchase  of  a  lot  at  the  corner  of 
Charles  and  Poplar  Streets  for  a  school  site.  It  measures  15,000  square  feet,  and,  with  the  houses  upon  it, 
cost  $37,250.  It  is  the  rector's  purpose  not  to  build  until  the  land  is  clear  of  debt.  So  far,  the  rental  of  the 
houses  has  paid  the  taxes  and  the  interest  of  the  mortgage.  The  mortgage  is  now  reduced  to  $8,000.  W'hen 
ready  for  building.  Dr.  Byrne  means  to  retain  the  houses  on  half  the  land,  with  the  view  of  having  their  income 
to  aid  him.  Fronting  on  the  Charlesbank,  unless  the  proximity  of  the  Massachusetts  Hospital  be  considered  a 
drawback,  the  location  must  prove  an  excellent  site  for  a  school-house. 

Associated  with  Dr.   Byrne  in  his   labors  are  Rev.   John  F.   Keleher,  William   H.  O'Connell,  Joseph  G. 


Anderson,  and  P.  J.  Walsh,  each  of   whom,  by  strict  attention  to   their   sacredotal  functions,  are  gaining  the 
esteem  of  the  members  of  the  congregation  and  the  approval  of  their  learned  pastor. 

St.  Joseph's  Church  is  a  brick  structure  erected  somewhat  after  the  Romanesque  style  of  architecture. 
The  trimmings  are  but  sparingly  distributed,  and  consist  of  wood  and  brown  stone.  The  building  is  admirably 
situated,  facing  on  Chambers  Street,  with  entrance  to  its  basement  on  Allen  and  McLean  Streets.  The  limit 
to  the  grounds  on  Chambers  Street  is  well  defined  by  a  large  iron  fence.  Two  heavy,  fluted,  wooden  pillars 
support  the  roof  over  the  narrow  veranda  on  the  front.  Five  large,  double  doors,  two  of  which  are  at  the  side 
terminals  of  the  veranda,  give  access  into  a  long  and  narrow  vestibule,  from  which,  by  three  portals,  entrance  is 
effected  into  the  auditorium.  Whilst  many  other  edifices,  as  far  as  architectural  display,  frescoing,  and  orna- 
ments, might  be  considered  far  more  attractive  than  this  humble  auditorium,  nevertheless  there  are  but  very 
few  which  inspire  more  devotion  and  awaken  greater  reverence  of  the  people  towards  the  Almighty.  Yet,  St. 
Joseph's  interior  is  far  from  being  plain,  for,   indeed,  the  sparing  decorations  are  so  dispersed  as  to  merit 



approval.  The  ceiling  over  the  centre  aisle  has  a  few  religious  symbols,  and  through  it,  also,  do  the  two  venti- 
lators penetrate.  Not  in  consonance  with  the  present  style  of  churches  are  the  galleries  on  the  sides  and  front, 
the  latter  one  of  which  is  furnished  with  a  large,  melodious  organ.  Six  heavy,  plain,  round  columns  support 
the  gallery  on  either  side,  as  well  as  the  semi-circular  arches,  which  uphold  the  roof.  The  five  windows  on 
either  side  of  the  auditorium  are  large  and  old-fashioned,  and  are  entirely  of  plain  glass.  They  admit  a  flood  of 
light,  which  can  be  excluded  when  occasion  demands  by  the  aid  of  folding  blinds.  Besides  the  paintings  of 
the  stations  of  the  cross,  there  are  other  pictures  on  the  walls  in  and  around  the  sanctuary,  the  most  striking 
one  of  which  is  the  Crucifixion,  which  hangs  above  and  behind  the  altar.  The  auditorium  and  sanctuary  are 
separated  only  by  a  small  railing,  which  does  not  extend  the  entire  width  of  the  church.  The  wall  in  this 
enclosed  part  is  especially  decorated  and  frescoed.  The  altar  is  most  beautiful,  and  looks  very  ornamental  with 
its  white  color,  and  trimmings  of  gilt  and  rich  candelabra.  On  the  flanking  pedestals  are  the  adoring  angels. 
A  little  to  the  right  is  a  large  and  beautiful  statue  of  the  Sacred  Heart  of  Jesus,  whilst  on  the  left  is  one  of  St. 
Joseph  with  the  Infant,  and  a  little  to  the  left  of  that,  on  a  separate  pedestal,  is  a  statue  of  the  Immaculate 
Conception.  As  it  stands  to-day,  with  its  galleries,  the  church  will  seat  about  1,500  persons.  Starting  with 
about  4,000  souls,  the  congregation  now  numbers  about  8,000.  Originally  a  part  of  St.  Mary's  parish,  the 
parish  of  St.  Joseph  is  being  depleted  in  much  the  same  way  as  that  parish.  It  is,  however,  likely  to  suffer 
more  from  the  encroachments  of  business  in  the  future. 

The  basement  is  very  spacious  and  somewhat  plain.  The  wood-work,  pews,  and  altar  railing  are  all 
quartered  oak;  The  large  altar  is  profuse  with  gilt,  and,  in  consequence,  looks  very  rich  and  attractive.  On 
the  epistle  side  is  a  statue  of  St.  Joseph;  on  the  gospel  side  one  of  the  Blessed  Virgin;  and,  upon  a  pedestal 
near  it,  is  a  statue  of  the  Sacred  Heart.  In  the  front  is  a  small  space  reserved  for  the  choir.  To  the  right  of 
the  sanctuary  is  a  small  vestry  where  the  St.  Joseph's  Conference  of  the  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  Society  meets,  and 
to  the  left  is  a  larger  vestry  which  contains  the  vestments  and  other  things  connected  with  the  altar.  St. 
Joseph's  Church  truly  reveals  its  age,  yet  the  casual  itinerant  cannot  look  upon  it  and  gaze  upon  the  small, 
shining  cross  that  surmounts  its  ridge  and  read  the  apt  inscription  on  its  base,  I.  H.  S.,  without  being  moved 
to  reverence.  Many  a  soul  has  communed  with  the  Almighty  therein,  and  many  a  body  has  there  received  the 
final  benediction.  Its  mission  in  the  past  has  been  most  successful,  and,  whilst  s.uch  an  able  rector  as  Dr. 
Byrne  continues  in  charge,  we  need  not  be  solicitous  about  the  future,  for  his  name  is  veritably  synonomous 
with  success. 



St  ©regor^'6  parish,  ©orcbeeter. 

|T  GREGORY'S  CHURCH  was  commenced  in  1863.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  August 
23d  of  that  year  by  tlie  Right  Rev.  Jolm  B.  Fitzpatricli,  Bishop  of  Boston,  in  the  presence 
of  a  very  large  concourse  of  people.  The  sermon  was  by  the  Rev.  George  F.  Haskins,  a 
lecent  convert  to  the  faith.  In  November,  1864,  the  church,  being  finished,  was  dedi- 
cated to  St.  Gregory,  the  Rev.  Sherwood  A.  Healy  preaching  the  sermon. 

Previous  to  1853,  the  Catholics  of  Dorchester  and  Milton  went  to  church  when  and 
where  they  could.  Some  went  to  West  Quincy,  some  to  Roxbury,  but  the  greater  number 
went  to  South  Boston,  as  all  this  district 
was  a  part  of  the  parish  of  SS.  Peter  and 
Paul,  on  Broadway,  South  Boston.  At  that 
time  the  southwestern  boundary  line  of  the 
parish  in  South  Boston  stretched  away  even 
beyond  the  limits  of  Dorchester  and  Milton, 
including  in  its  territory  Hyde  Park,  Can- 
ton, Stoughton,  and  Sharon,  and  was  about 
twenty  miles  from  headquarters.  All  this 
territory  was  attended  by  the  devoted 
clergy  resident  in  South  Boston. 

In  1853-4  a  church  was  built  in  Dor- 
chester, on  Washmgton  Street,  nearly  oppo- 
site the  end  of  Richmond  Street,  by  the 
Rev.  Father  Fitzsimmons,  and  when  nearly 
finished  was  blown  up  and  destroyed  on 
the  morning  of  July  4,  1854.  This  was  at 
a  time  when  the  Know-Nothing  party  was 
in  power,  and  the  few  Catholics  of  the  dis- 
trict were  not  able  to  protect  their  church 
against  overwhelming  numbers.  From  that 
time  up  to  1861  Mass  was  celebrated  in  a 
small  hall  which  stood  near  the  end  of  the 
bridge  dividing  Dorchester  from  Milton. 
On  that  same  spot  now  stands  the  magnifi- 
cent pile  of  buildings  owned  and  occupied 
by  the  Walter  Baker  Chocolate  Company. 
Rev.  Thomas  McNulty  was  selected 
by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  as  pastor  of  the  new 
and    growing    parish,    and    continued    to 

administer    its    affairs   with    fervor  and  zeal  Rev.  W.  H.  Fitzpatrick,  Pastor  St.  Gregory's  Church,  Dorchester. 

up  to  the  time  of  his  death,  in   1875.     The  two  last  years  of  his  life  he  was  ably  assisted  by  Rev.  James 
O'Doherty,  now  permanent  rector  and  pastor  of  St.  James'   parish  in  Haverliill.     At  that  time   St.  Gregory's 



parish  included  all  of  Dorchester  and  Milton  and  that  part  of  Quincy  now  called  Atlantic  and  Squantum.      In 
1870  Dorchester  was  annexed  to  Boston  and  is  now  known  as  Ward  24. 

The  parish  increased  in  numbers  rapidly,  and  St.  Gregory's  Church,  with  a  seating  capacity  of  nearly  800, 
soon  became  too  small  to  accommodate  the  people.  In  1870  Hyde  Park,  a  new  town,  made  up  from  parts  of 
Milton,  Dedham,  and  West  Roxbury,  was  made  a  separate  parish.  In  1S71  Atlantic  was  added  to  the  Quincy 
parish.  In  1872  the  northern  half  of  Dorchester  was  set  off  as  a  new  parish,  with  Rev.  Peter  Ronan  as 
pastor,  and  the  elegant  St.  Peter's  Church  and  parochial  house  adjoining  show  at  once  that  he  was  the  right 
man  for  the  place.     Long  may  he  live  ! 

ST.   GREGORY'S    CHURCH,  DORCHESTER— Fb.nt  Elevation. 

During  the  early  part  of  1875  Father  McNulty's  health  began  to  fail.  He  took  a  trip  to  his  native  land, 
thinking  the  healthy  air  of  the  North  of  Ireland  would  bring  back  his  once  rugged  constitution;  but  it  was 
otherwise  decreed,  and  he  returned  to  lay  down  his  life  in  the  midst  of  his  flock.  This  happened  on  the  8th  of 
October,  1875.  His  funeral  was  attended  by  an  immense  crowd  of  people  and  a  very  large  number  of  the 
clergy.  The  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Rev.  John  Flatley,  then  his  neighbor  in  Canton.  Archbishop  Williams 



October  12,  1875,  Rev.  W.  H.  Fitzpatrick  was  appointed  as  successor  to  the  late  Father  McNuIty,  and  at 
once  entered  into  the  work  so  well  begun.  His  first  work  was  to  purchase  a  suitable  site  for  a  parochial  house, 
and  he  succeeded  in  getting  about  an  acre  of  land  adjoining  the  church,  on  which  he  erected  a  rectory  in  1878. 
This  building  did  good  service  for  twelve  years  as  a  residence,  but  the  growing  parish  demanded  larger  accom- 
modations, and  in  1890  Father  Fitzpatrick  remodeled  and  greatly  enlarged  it  so  that  now  the  house  contains 
in  all  twenty-four  rooms.  The  accompanying  cut  shows  it  to  be,  as  it  really  is,  one  of  the  handsomest,  most 
commodious,  and  best  appointed  parochial  dwellings  in  the  Archdiocese.  Later  he  purchased  about  an  acre 
of  land  on  Dorchester  Avenue,  directly  opposite  the  church.  This  he  holds  as  an  excellent  site  for  the  future 
St.  Gregory's  school. 

ST,   GREGORY'S    CHURCH,   DORCHESTER— Pkospective  View. 

In  April,  1878,  the  church  was  struck  by  lightning  and  damaged  to  the  extent  of  about  $1,000.  The 
beautiful  tower,  about  130  feet  high,  suffered  to  such  an  extent  that  it  had  to  be  taken  down.  The  tower  was 
not  rebuilt,  as  the  pastor  contemplated  a  change  in  the  construction  of  the  church  and  an  enlargement  of  the 
seating  capacity  at  some  future  time.  In  1880  Father  Fitzpatrick  purchased  a  lot  of  nearly  40,000  feet  of 
land  in  Neponset,  a  growing  village  in  Dorchester  about  one  and  a  half  miles  northeast  from  St.  Gregory's 
Church.  Here  he  commenced  a  church,  and  cheerfully  did  the  people  of  that  section  aid  in  the  good  work. 
The  outside  of  the  church  was  finished  and  the  basement  made  ready  for  occupancy  in  December,  1881. 
About  this  time  Rev.  David  J.  Power  was  appointed  to  assist  the  pastor  in  the  many  duties  that  belong  to  a 
large  and  scattered  congregation. 



In  July,  i88g,  St.  Anne's  Church,  Neponset,  was  made  a  separate  parish,  and  His  Grace,  tlie  Archbisliop, 
appointed  Rev.  Timothy  J.  Murphy  as  first  resident  pastor.  Father  Murphy  found  his  church  and  grounds 
entirely  out  of  debt,  and  at  once  set  to  work  to  finish  the  church  and  erect  a  parochial  house,  in  both  of  which 
he  succeeded  admirably. 

In  1889  Father  Fitzpatrick  purchased  a  fine  lot  of  land  on  Norfolk  Street,  in  Dorchester,  about  one  mile 
and  a  half  northwest  of  St.  Gregory's  Church.  Here,  in  the  summer  of  1891,  he  built  a  temporary  church, 
with  a  seating  capacity  of  500,  and  on  Christmas  Day  ot  that  year  it  was  opened  under  the  patronage  of  St. 
Matthew.     In  less  than  one  year  it  was  found  neccessary  to  have  two  Masses  on  Sundays  in  order  to  accommo- 


date  the  people.  Rev.  Fathers  Smith  and  Wallace,  of  the  Society  of  Jesus,  gave  a  mission  there  in  February, 
1892;  and  in  one  week  gave  communion  to  700  people.  Two  sisters  of  Notre  Dame  from  South  Boston, 
assisted  by  a  number  of  young  ladies  of  the  parish,  are  doing  excellent  work  among  the  children  in  the 

The  work  of  the  parish  was  now  too  much  for  two  priests  to  perform,  and  in  July,  1892,  Rev.  John  A. 
Degan  was  appointed  to  assist  in  the  work.  To  him  was  assigned  the  Sunday-school,  and  the  work  being 
congenial  to  him,  he  entered  at  once  into  it,  as  he  did  in  all  other  parish  duties.  Two  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame 
from  South  Boston  come  to  St.  Gregory's  every  Sunday  (and  have  done  so  for  twelve  years)  to  assist  the  pastor 


and  his  priests  in  the  Sunda3'-school ;  these,  with  a  well-drilled  corps  of  j'oung  lady  teachers,  are  doing  their 
work  well.     St.  Gregory's  Sunday-school  numbers  nearly  400,  and  St.  Matthew's  about  150. 

The  erection  of  another  church  within  the  limits  of  St.  Gregory's  parish  will  soon  become  a  necessity, 
and  with  this  end  in  view  the  pastor  purchased,  in  January,  1894,  a  very  valuable  and  centrally  located  site  on 
the  corner  of  Dorchester  Avenue  and  Rosemont  Street,  about  one  mile  from  St.  Gregory's  Church.  The  lot 
contains  nearly  forty  thousand  feet,  is  in  the  vicinity  of  the  Ashmont  district,  and  is  just  the  shape  for  a 
church,  rectory,  etc. 

Father  Fitzpatrick's  desire  is  to  have  a  school  for  the  children  of  his  parish  as  soon  as  practicable.  At 
present  there  are  eighteen  public  schools  within  the  limits  of  St.  Gregory's  parish ;  consequently  the  children 
are  so  far  away  from  any  central  point  that  it  would  not  be  advisable  to  commence  a  parochial  school  for  some 
time  yet. 

In  1894  the  long  contemplated  enlarging  and  finishing  of  St.  Gregory's  Church  was  begun,  and  before  the 
year  ended  the  beautiful  front,  as  shown  in  the  accompanying  engraving,  was  completed.  When  finished,  the 
seating  capacity  will  be  1,100  upstairs  and  about  1,000  in  the  basement.  A  large  -vestibule  and  choir  gallery 
is  now  obtained  by  the  addition  of  the  new  front,  and  when  the  transept  is  finished,  much  better  sanctuary 
facilities  and  more  vestry  room  will  be  the  result. 

St.  Gregory's  parish  is  yet  scattered  over  a  very  large  extent  of  territory,  including,  as  it  does,  the  southern 
part  of  old  Dorchester  (Ward  24,  Boston)  and  all  the  town  of  Milton,  in  which  may  be  seen  the  beautiful 
range  called  the  Blue  Hills,  where  about  four  thousand  acres  have  recently  been  taken  by  the  State  Park  Com- 
missioners. To  appreciate  the  growth  of  the  Church  in  this  section,  it  is  only  necessary  to  say  that  now  there 
are  three  priests  at  St.  Gregory's,  three  at  St.  Peter's,  two  at  Neponset,  two  in  Canton,  two  in  Hyde  Park,  two 
in  Stoughton,  one  at  St.  Margaret's,  and  Atlantic  is  attended  from  Quincy ;  all  this  territory  was  attended  to 
by  one  priest  at  St.  Gregory's  from  1861  up  to  1870. 

Father  Fitzpatrick  was  born  in  Earltown,  Colchester  County,  N.  S.,  November  21,  1832.  His  father  was 
an  Irishman,  while  his  mother,  named  Jane  Jardine  before  marriage,  was  a  native  of  Ayr,  Scotland,  having 
been  born  next  door  to  the  cottage  in  which  Robert  Burns  first  saw  the  light.  Having  been  educated  in  his 
native  place,  he  taught  school  for  a  time.  He  came  to  Massachusetts  at  the  age  of  twenty,  and  was  variously 
employed  in  Billerica,  Bolton,  and  Dedham  for  the  next  five  years.  He  had  saved  sufficient  of  his  earnings  by 
this  time  to  enable  him  to  enter  Holy  Cross  College,  Worcester,  which  he  did  in  the  class  of  1856.  He  took 
the  classical  course  and  graduated  in  1862.  Thence  he  went  to  the  Sulpitian  Seminary  in  Montreal  where, 
after  completing  the  necessary  theological  studies,  he  received  Holy  Orders,  May  26,  1866.  His  first  appoint- 
ment after  his  arrival  in  Boston  was  that  of  assistant  to  Father  Cuddihy,  of  Milford.  From  here  he  was 
transferred,  at  short  intervals,  to  the  Cathedral,  thence  to  East  Boston,  and  later  to  Stoneham.  He  was 
appointed  pastor  at  Stoneham  in  1868.  At  that  time  Wakefield,  Reading,  and  Melrose  were  attended  from 
Stoneham.  Here  he  remained  seven  years  ;  purchasing  the  Universalist  Church  in  Stoneham  and  the  Baptist 
Church  in  Melrose,  he  transformed  both  into  convenient  Catholic  chapels ;  lately,  both  have  been  replaced  by 
elegant  and  commodious  churches.  He  also  built  the  first  part  of  what  is  now  a  large  and  beautiful  church  at 
Wakefield.  Father  Fitzpatrick  is  loved  and  respected  by  his  Protestant  as  well  as  by  his  Catholic  neighbors. 
"  Tolerant,  broad  of  mind,  and  large  of  heart,"  he  never  tires  of  preaching  and  practicing  the  gospel  of  good- 
will to  all  men. 



(3ate  of  lOeaven  parisb,  South  Boston, 

VER  mindful  of  the  spiritual  welfare  of  his  people,  Father  Patrick  F.  Lyndon,  when 
pastor  of  the  parish  of  SS.  Peter  and  Paul,  erected  the  Gate  of  Heaven  Church  for 
the  convenience  of  the  Catholics  residing  in  the  portion  of  the  South  Boston  peninsula 
called  the  City  Point.  Its  corner-stone  was  laid  May  i,  1862,  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick, 
and  it  was  dedicated  March  ig,  1863.  The  latter  ceremony  was  performed  by  Bishop 
McFarland,  of  Hartford,  in  the  absence  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  and  the  Rev.  Bernard 
A.  Maguire,  S.  J.,  preached  the  dedication  sermon.  The  church,  situated  at  the 
intersection  of  I  and  Fourth  Streets,  is  a  brick  structure  of  pleasing  exterior,  though 
simple  in  design,  and  is  capable  of  accommodating  about  1,500  persons.  There  are 
three  entrances  into  a  small  basement  vestibule,  from  which,  by  means  of  flights  of 
stairs,  approach  is  afforded  to  the  main  vestibule.  The  interior  is  very  bright  and  large,  and  is  laid  out  and 
furnished  in  almost  perfect  consonance  with  the  old  style  of  churches.  There  is  but  little  attempt  at  decora- 
tion ;  in  fact,  the  walls  are  mostly  plain.  Most  attractive,  indeed,  are  the  altar  and  stations ;  perhaps  on 
account  of  the  general  simphcity  and 
lack  of  ornament  that  pervade  every- 
thing else.  The  basement  is  scarcely 
ever  used  for  services,  as  it  has  been 
so  divided  and  furnished  that  it  is 
almost  entirely  used  for  school  pur- 
poses. At  first  the  parish  was 
attended  from  SS.  Peter  and  Paul's, 
and  Father  Blenkinsop,  who  suc- 
ceeded Father  Lyndon,  besides  or- 
ganizing the  schools,  did  much 
toward  making  this  a  permanent 

Rev.  W.  A.  Blenkinsop  was  born 
in  Dublin,  Ireland,  in  1819.  In  early 
life,  in  fact,  in  1826,  he,  with  his  de- 
vout parents,  came  to  America  and 
settled  in  Baltimore,  Md.  In  183 1 
he,  with  his  brother  Robert,  entered 
St.  Mary's  College,  Maryland,  from 
which  he  graduated  in  1839.  He 
then  went-to-St.  Mary's  Seminary,  Baltimore,  where  he  was  ordained,  in  1843,  by  the  Most  Rev.  Samuel  Eccleston, 
D.  D.,  the  late  Archbishop  of  Baltimore.  Right  Rev.  John  J.  Chance  being  his  intimate  friend,  he  persuaded 
him  to  go  to  Natchez,  Miss.,  where  he  labored  most  assiduously  until  1850,  when  he  came  North  and  was 
accepted  by  the  Right  Rev.  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  late  Bishop  of  Boston,  who  assigned  him  to  the  pastorate  of 
the  of  the  Holy  Name,  Chicopee.    While  in  charge  there,  he  had  fully  sixteen  dependencies  to  attend  to. 

South  Boston. 



which  included  at  that  time  Springfield,  Holyoke,  and  Northampton.  ^  Whilst  pastor  at  Chicopee,  he  succeeded 
in  erecting  a  church  and  parochial  residence  there.  In  1864  he  was  appointed  pastor  of  the  Church  of  SS. 
Peter  and  Paul  by  the  Right  Rev.  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  and  he  remained  there  until  his  death,  which  occurred  on 
January  8,  1892.  Whilst  pastor  of  that  church,  he  erected  the  present  St.  Joseph's 
Parochial  School,  the  magnificent  rectory,  and  the  large,  substantial  church,  all  of 
which  are  admirably  located  on  Broadway.  The  people  of  South  Boston  never  had 
greater  cause  to  mourn  than  when  Father  Blenkinsop's  death  was  announced  to  them. 
"  None  knew  him  but  to  love  him,  none  named  him  but  to  praise."  Indeed,  he  was  a 
model  pastor,  full  of  zeal,  full  of  charity,  and  full  of  pity.  No  wonder,  then,  that  so 
many  were  anxious  to  pay  respect  to  his  remains.  On  Monday,  January  11,  1892,  he 
was  buried.  Both  sides  of  the  main  aisles  were  reserved  for  the  pall-bearers.  Sisters 
of  Charity  from  Carney  Hospital,  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame  connected  with  the  parish, 
and  the  immediate  friends  and  relatives  of  the  deceased.  The  Pontifical  Mass  was 
celebrated  by  His  Grace,  Archbishop  Williams.  The  assistant  high  priest  was  Very 
Rev.  William  Byrne,  V.  G.;  deacons  of  the  Mass  were  Rev.  Robert  J.  Johnson,  and 
Rev.  W.  H.  Duncan,  S.  J.;  deacons  of  honor.  Rev.  P.  Cuddihy,  of  Milford,  and  Rev. 
Thomas  H.  Shahan,  of  Maiden  ;  masters  of  ceremonies.  Rev.  Hugh  Roe  O'Donnell  and  Rev.  William  J. 
Powers.  In  the  sanctuary  were  Right  Rev.  Denis  M.  Bradley,  D.  D.,  Bishop  of  Manchester,  N.  H.;  Right 
Rev.  Matthew  Harkins,  D.  D.,  Bishop  of  Providence,  R.  I.,  and  Right  Rev.  John  Brady,  Auxiliary  Bishop  of 
Boston,  and  Rev;"' Peter  Blenkinsop,  S.  J.  There  were  over  loo  priests  present  to  assist  in  the  office  of  the 
dead.  The  panegyric  was  delivered  by  Rev.  Denis  O'Callaghan.  During  the  funeral  all  the  stores  were  closed, 
and  business  was  generally  suspended.  The  pall-bearers  were  Hon.  Joseph  D.  Fallon,  Dr.  Michael  F.  Galvin, 
Jerome  S.  McDonald,  Denis  Collins,  Francis  Supple,  Michael  Moore,  Thomas  Kiley,  James  Doherty,  Edward 
Tracey,  Thomas  Cuddihy. 

The  funeral  procession  was  made  up  as  follows:  Detail  of  police,  100  clergymen  as  escort,  hearse,  flanked  on 
either  side  by  pall-bearers  ;  carriages  for  Sisters  of  Charity  from  Carney  Hospital  and  St.  Vincent's  Orphan 
Asylum.  Clergymen  in  carriages,  SS. 
Peter  and  Paul's  Conference,  SS. 
Peter  and  Paul's  Lyceum,  SS.  Peter 
and  Paul's  Temperance  Society, 
South  Boston  Charitable  Institute, 
SS.  Peter  and  Paul's  Young  Men's 
Sodality,  SS.  Peter  and  Paul's  Mar- 
ried Men's  Sodality,  St.  Augustine's 
Temperance  Society,  St.  Augustine's 
Lyceum,  City  Point  Catholic  Associa- 
tion, hacks  containing 'mourners. 

Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  V.  G., 
assisted  by  the  several  prelates  and 
priests,  officiated  at  the  grave.  After 
the  Archbishops,  Bishops,  and  priests 
deposited  a  shovelful  of  clay  upon  the 
casket,  the  grave  was  covered,  and  the 
cortege  moved  away  from  the  final  rest- 
ing-place of  a  devout  pastor,  with  the 

parting  wish:    "  Requiescat  in    pace."  St.  Agnes'  Convent,  Sou™  Hoston. 

Rev.  James  Sulhvan  was  appointed  the  first  resident  pastor  of  the  newly  created  Gate  of  Heaven  parish, 
in  1865.  He  erected  the  present  parochial  residence,  which  is  situated  to  the  left  of  the  church,  on  Fourth 
Street.     It  is  a  brick  structure  with  granite  trimmings,  and  its  three   stories   are   capped   by  a   mansard  roof. 



The  house  is  so  divided  that  it  affords  ample  and  spacious  rooms  for  the  clergy.  Standing  behind  a  green 
lawn  and  beautiful  shade  trees  and  flower  bushes,  its  ivy-covered  walls  look  most  attractive,  and  give  the  whole 
place  the  appearance  of  a  shady  retreat. 

Rev.  Emiliano  Gerbi,  O.  S.  F.,  became  pastor  in  i868,  and  diligently  performed  his  duties  for  five  years. 
Father  Gerbi  was  born  in  Azzano  d'Aste,  in  Piedmont,  Italy,  in  1826.  He  entered  the  Order  of.  St.  Francis  in 
1840,  studied  theology  in  Turin,  where  he  was  ordained  in  September,  1846.  In  1856  he  came  to  America, 
first  going  as  president  of  the  Franciscan  College  in  Alleghany,  Penn.  He  came  to  Lowell,  where  he  spent 
two  years,  and  later  he  was  three  years  at  St.  Mary's,  Charlestown.  He  was  at  the  Cathedral  for  a  short  time, 
and  from  which,  in  1868,  he  was  sent  as  pastor  to  the  Gate  of  Heaven  Church,  where  he  labored  most  faithfully 
until  the  time  of  his  death,  which  occurred  June  28,  1873,  near  his  forty-seventh  birthday.  He  did  much  for 
the  cause  of  religion  while  in  this  diocese,  and  was  known  as  a  ceaseless  worker,  his  zeal  never  relaxing  under 
the  most  trying  circumstances.  His  last  sermon  was 
preached  at  St.  John's,  Quincy,  a  short  time  before 
his  death. 

The  next  rector  was  Rev.  Michael  F.  Higgins, 
who  built  St.  Agnes'  Convent  and  Academy,  a  brick 
building  with  granite  trimmings.  It  is  situated  on 
the  parish  property  directly  in  front  of  the  church,  on 
I  Street.  It  is  the  home  of  the  Sisters  of  St.  Joseph, 
who  teach  the  children  in  the  parochial  school,  as 
well  as  those  who  pursue  the  more  advanced  course 
of  studies  offered  by  the  academy,  which  has  part  of 
the  building.  After  a  most  successful  pastorate 
Father  Higgins  died  at  the  pastoral  residence,  on 
Friday  evening.  May  7,  1886,  after  a  few  weeks' 
sickness,  of  pneumonia.  He  was  a  zealous  and 
energetic  priest,  and  did  good  work  in  the  establish- 
ment of  schools  and  for  the  welfare  of  the  people. 
He  was  born  in  the  County  Galway,  Ireland,  and 
came  to  this  country  in  early  life.  His  age  was 
forty-two  years.  His  funeral  took  place  from  Gate 
of  Heaven  Church  on  Tuesday,  May  nth,  and  was 
attended  by  a  large  number  of  priests,  sisters,  chil- 
dren, and  the  parishioners.  The  remains  were 
interred  in  the  family  tomb  at  Amesbury,  Mass. 

Father  Higgins'  successor  was  the  Rev.  Theo- 
dore Metcalf,  of  whom  there  is  a  short  sketch  and  a 
portrait  on  pages  492  and  493  of  this  work.  His 
short  pastorate,  beginning  in  1886,  was  made  memorable  by  his  simple  protest  against  the  use  in  the  public 
schools  of  text-books  containing  misstatements  regarding  the  Catholic  Church.  This  protest  was  the  innocent 
cause  of  the  strongest  manifestation  of  an  anti-Cathohc  spirit  in  Boston  since  1834.  Ill  health  obliged  Father 
Metcalf  to  retire  in  1890,  when  the  present  rector,  the  Rev.  Robert  J.  Johnson,  was  appointed  to  succeed  him. 

Besides  the  usual  Sunday-school  and  sodalities,  the  parish  organizations  include  the  City  Point  Catholic 
Association,  together  with  branches  of  the  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  Society,  the  Society  of  the  Holy  Name,  and  the 
League  of  the  Sacred  Heart.  There  are  about  600  girls  attending  the  academy  and  parochial  school,  and  the 
congregation  numbers  about  10,000  souls.  Although  the  present  church  seems  sufficient  for  the  needs  of  the 
congregation,  yet,  in  view  of  the  future  developments  expected  to  result  from,  the  public  improvements  going 
forward  in  the  district,  the  rector  intends,  at  an  early  day,  to  erect  another  church,  near  the  location  of  the 
present  one,  that  will  be  the  finest  and  costliest  in  South  Boston.     The  designs,  as  furnished  some  years  ago 





'T^^BE^^       V  "'''^^U  ^^^HHhHb 




%^ims!^    •S^^^B^'f^^H^riKH 

Parochial  Residence,  Church 


by  P.  W.  Ford,  the  Boston  architect,  provide  for  a  building  worthy  to  be  a  Cathedral.  The  site  has  for  some 
time  been  in  the  rector's  possession,  and  some  preparatory  work  has  already  been  done  upon  the  foundation, 
and  it  is  sincerely  to  be  desired  that  Father  Johnson  will,  in  the  near  future,  see  his  way  clear  to  vigorously 
push  the  construction  of  the  building  to  a  rapid  completion.  The  fact  that  the  population  of  this  section  of 
South  Boston  is  increasing  quite  rapidly,  a  considerable  portion  of  which  are  of  the  Catholic  faith,  makes  it  rea- 
sonable to  indulge  the  hope  that  we  may  soon  see  this  enthusiastic  priest's  long-cherished  plans  fully  perfected. 

For  some  reason  or  other,  Father  Johnson  did  not  give  the  new  project  the  attention  he  did  at  first,  yet, 
early  in  the  present  year,  the  old  church  edifice  was  partially  destroyed  by  fire,  and  he  then  importuned  his 
parishioners  to  be  more  generous  in  their  contributions,  so  that  work  on  this  new  edifice  might  be  pushed  with 
rapidity.  Whilst  the  building  was  being  repaired,  the  congregation  was  assembled  in  the  parish  hall,  which 
is  a  small,  one-story  building,  almost  directly  in  front  of  the  parsonage.  The  old  church  was,  in  the  meanwhile, 
being  refitted,  and,  from  April  25,  1895,  when  the  altar  was  blessed  by  Archbishop  Williams,  the  people  went 
regularly  to  services  in  the  old  edifice,  and  the  school  was  again  started. 

The  warm  affection  with  which  Father  Johnson  has  inspired  his  parishioners  may  in  part  be  attributed  to 
that  personal  magnetism  which  a  genial  and  courtly  manner  is  apt  to  e-xcite.  Constant  as  the  law  of  gravity  is 
his  regard  for  the  convenience  and  feelings  of  all  he  meets.  Boasting  no  progenitor  in  the  cabin  of  the  May- 
flower, nor  yet  in  the  Norman  Conqueror's  battalions,  his  characteristic  is  not  the  symbol  of  distinguished 
ancestry,  but  the  outcome  of  a  kindly  heart.  Born  in  Ireland,  it  is  a  subject  of  self-congratulation  to  him  that 
he  belongs  to  the  missionary  race  that  has  carried  the  gospel  to  the  ends  of  the  earth.  He  speaks  the  old 
Gaelic  tongue  with  precision  and  fluency.  Among  many  other  accomplishments  is  his  ability  to  deliver  a 
lecture  characterized  by  erudition  and  research.  Much  is  expected  of  him  at  the  Gate  of  Heaven  Church,  and 
it  can  not  be  reasonably  doubted,  by  those  familiar  with  his  earnestness  of  purpose  and  with  his  fine  abilities, 
that  he  will  fully  meet  these  great  expectations. 

Father  Johnson,  previous  to  assuming  charge  of  the  local  parish,  ended  a  most  successful  pastorate  in  St. 
Mary's  parish,  Dedham,  over  which  he  commenced  to  preside  in  August,  1878.  He  erected  St.  Raphael's 
Church  for  the  Catholics  residing  in  East  Dedham,  which  was  destroyed  by  fire  in  1879.  To  his  successful 
endeavors,  also,  must  be  attributed  most  of  that  beautiful  Church  of  St.  Mary,  the  worthy  boast  of  Dedham 
Catholics.  When  the  announcement  came  that  he  was  to  be  transferred  to  the  local  parish,  the  Protestants 
and  Catholics  alike  of  Dedham  were  sorry  on  account  of  the  change,  for  to  them  all,  as  he  has  since  to  the 
people  in  South  Boston,  he  proved  himself  to  be  a  staunch  and  exemplary  friend,  whose  every  action  seemed 
worthy  of  imitation  and  deserving  of  the  greatest  and  most  lasting  respect. 

Father  Johnson  is  ably  assisted  in  his  administration  of  the  affairs  of  the  Gate  of  Heaven  parish  by  Rev. 
David  J.  Herlihy,  Rev.  Nathaniel  J.  Merritt,  Rev.  Michael  F.  Murphy,  Rev.  Patrick  J.  Supple,  and  Rev.  Thomas 
F.  Brannan.  Each  of  these  priests  is  a  most  faithful  worker  in  this  large  parish,  and  it  is  in  no  inconsiderable 
degree  due  to  their  zeal  arid  untiring  efforts  to  promote  the  spiritual  and  material  progress  of  the  parish  that 
it  has  attained  such  large  proportions  and  become  so  powerful  and  prosperous,  The  Gate  of  Heaven  Church 
is  rightfully  exerting  a  great  influence  for  good  among  the  people  of  the  Peninsula  City. 

St.  Agnes'  Convent  is  most  pleasantly  situated,  and  is  a  most  commodious  and  a  very  handsome  structure, 
as  the  fine  engraving  which  we  herewith  present  amply  shows.  The  sisters  teach  the  primary  classes  in  the 
basement  of  the  church,  which  furnishes  quite  comfortable  school  rooms,  all  of  which  are  well  equipped  and 
furnished  for  the  convenience  and  comfort  of  both  teachers  and  pupils.  The  sisters  are  also  doing  good  work 
among  the  older  students  of  the  parish,  for  at  the  convent  there  are  classes  of  young  ladies  in  the  more 
advanced  studies.     The  convent  is  a  most  valuable  adjunct  to  the  parish. 


TLhc  pamb  of  St.  Hugustine. 

LTHOUGH  this  parish  is  comparatively  of  recent  formation,  its  history  reaches  back  to  the 
pioneer  clays  of  Catholicity  in  Boston.  It  takes  its  name  from  the  oldest  religious  edifice  in 
the  city  owned  by  Catholics.  This  is  the  mortuary  chapel  of  the  Catholic  Cemetery  in  South 
Boston.  On  December  9,  18 18,  Bishop  Cheverus  bought  the  land  for  the  cemetery  from 
Zachariah  G.  Whitman,  for  $680.  The  lot  was  an  irregular  quadrangle,  with  a  frontage  of  120 
feet  on  Dorchester  Street.  The  other  three  sides  measured  respectively  115  feet,  81  feet,  and 
117  feet.  The  chapel,  a  humble  little  brick  structure,  30  by  20  feet,  was  erected  early  in  the 
following  year.  The  Bishop  designed  it  as  a  mausoleum  for  the  remains  of  his  friend  and 
co-laborer,  Dr.  Matignon,  who  had  died  in  September.  The  necessary  funds,  amounting  to 
$1,500,  had  been  collected  by  the  Rev.  Philip  Lariscy,  an  Irish  Augustinian.  Apparently  in 
gratitude  for  this,  and  to  show  his  esteem  for  his  zealous  assistant,  the  Bishop  bestowed  on  the  building  the 
name  of  St.  Augustine.  Referring  to  it  in  a  letter  the  Bishop  wrote,  "  It  is  the  fruit  of  the  zeal  of  good  Father 
Lariscy,  and  I  have  given  the  church  the  name  of  the  founder  of  his  order,  St.  Augustine."  As  the  Cathedral 
on  Franklin  Square  was  a  considerable  distance  by  way  of  Dover- Street  Bridge,  and  the  Catholic  population 
of  the  district  was  increasing,  public  services  came  to  be  held  in  the  chapel.  To  further  facilitate  its  use  in 
this  way,  it  was  enlarged  in  1833,  and  a  priest  was  assigned  to  attend  it  regularly.  The  priests  so  appointed 
were:  The  Rev.  Thomas  Lynch,  in  1833;  the  Rev.  John  Mahony,  in  1836;  the  Rev.  Michael  Lynch,  in  1839; 
and  the  Rev.  Terence  Fitzsimmons,  in  1840. 

The  first  interment  in  the  chapel  was  that  of  Dr.  Matignon,  whose  burial  was  a  notable  event  of  that  day. 
The  remains  of  this  sainted  priest  were  tenderly  borne  to  their  final  resting  place,  accompanied  by  a  great  pro- 
cession of  people  and  by  robed  acolytes  with  lighted  candles.  The  body  of  Father  Matignon  was  first  interred 
in  the  old  Granary  burying-ground,  but  was  removed  to  the  chapel  early  in  18 19,  where  it  was  laid  at  rest  on 
the  episcopal  side  of  the  altar,  marked  by  a  marble  memorial  slab  fixed  in  the  wall.  On  the  gospel  side  of  the 
altar  reposed  the  remains  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  until  they  were  transferred  to  the  crypt  in  the  Cathedral. 

Outside  the  sanctuary  rail  in  separate  brick  vaults,  suitably  marked,  lie  the  bodies  of  some  twenty  priests 
who,  in  their  day,  were  very  influential  in  promoting  the  growth  of  Catholicity  in  Boston.  Their  names  are 
Rev.  Hilary  Tucker,  died  March  15,  1872;  Rev.  John  W.  Donohue,  pastor  of  St.  John's  Church,  East  Cam- 
bridge, died  March  15,  1873;  Rev.  John  B.  Purcell,  died  March  24,  1873;  Rev.  Emiliano  F.  Gerbi,  pastor  of 
the  Gate  of  Heaven  Church,  South  Boston,  died  June  28,  1873;  Rev.  G.  A.  Hamilton,  pastor  of  St.  Mary's 
Church,  Charlestown,  died  July  31,  1874;  Rev.  Bernard  O'Reilly,  pastor  of  St.  Joseph's  Church,  Boston,  died 
May  21,  1875  ;  Rev.  Stanislaus  Buteux,  died  June  14,  1875  ;  Rev.  Alexander  Sherwood  Healy,  brother  of  Bishop 
Healy,  of  Portland,  and  pastor  of  St.  James'  Church,  died  October  21,  1875;  Rev.  Nicholas  J.  O'Brien,  died 
April  25,  1876;  Rev.  Michael  Lane,  builder  and  first  pastor  of  St.  Vincent's  Church,  South  Boston,  died 
February  2,  1878;  Rev.  J.  S.  Dennehy,  of  St.  Mary's  Church,  Randolph,  Mass.,  died  October  26,  1878;  Rev. 
A.  I.  Conterno,  died  August  10,  1881 ;  Rev.  John  B.  F.  Boland,  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales'  Church,  Charlestown, 
died  November  30,  1882  ;  Rev.  WilUam  Walsh,  died  July  9,  1883;  Rev.  John  B.  O'Donnell,  pastor  of  the 
Church  of  St.  Mary's,  Star  of  the  Sea,  East  Boston,  died  August  22,  1884;  Rev.  John  Wall,  of  St.  Joseph's 
Church,  Somerville,  died  March  5,  1886;  Rev.  William  A.  Blenkinsop,  the  beloved  pastor  of  SS.  Peter  and 
Paul's  Church,  died  January  8,  1892;  Rev.  Leo  P.  Boland,  rector  of  the  Cathedral,  died  January  19,  1892; 
Rev.  Denis  J.  O' Donovan,  died  September  24,  1892,  and  Rev.  Michael  Moran,  the  lamented  pastor  of  St. 
Stephen's  Church,  who  died  July  11,  1894. 



In  the  rear  of  the  chapel  in  the  cemetery  grounds  is  buried  Rev.  John  Mahpny,  curate  of  the  Church  of 
the  Holy  Cross,  died  December  29,  1839.  Near  his  remains  lie  those  of  Rev.  Patrick  Byrne,  ordained  in  Bos- 
ton in  1820,  and  later  the  first  pastor  of  old  St.  Mary's  Church,  Charlestown.  He  died  in  1844.  Near  the 
grave  of  Father  Byrne  is  buried  Rev.  Thomas  J.  O'Flaherty,  D.  D.,  of  Salem,  a  physician  and  a  learned  priest, 
the  divine  who  held  a  famous  rehgious  controversy  with  Rev.  Lyman  Beecher  in  1831.  Doctor  O'Flaherty  was 
for  some  time  pastor  of  St.  Mary's  Church,  Endicott  Street,  Boston.     His  death  occurred  March  29,  1846.    At 


the  left  side  of  the  chapel  is  interred  Rev.  Thomas  Lynch,  the  first  pastor  of  old  St.  Patrick's  Church  on  North- 
ampton Street,  who  died  March  5,  1850.  The  parents  and  sister  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  lie  buried  here,  as  do 
also  the  parents  of  Archbishop  Williams.  Among  the  many  noteworthy  people  buried  here  is  Robert  Magner, 
who  was  one  of  the  earliest  Catholics  in  Boston.  The  deceased  members  of  Patrick  Donahoe's  family  lie  in 
one  of  the  larger  lots  of  the  cemetery. 



In  1892  the  St.  Augustine  Cemetery  Association  was  formed,  especially  for  the  care  and  preservation  of 
the  grounds  and  monuments,  and  much  has  already  been  done  in  this  direction.  The  association  is  composed 
of  the  descendants  of  those  who  lie  buried  there  and  is  supported  by  assessments  and  contributions.  Rev. 
Denis  O'Callaghan  is  president,  J.  A.  Mullen,  treasurer,  and  Misses  L.  D.  Mullen,  Nellie  Murtagh,  and  Maggie 
Crowly,  secretaries. 

The  seventy-fifth  anniversary  of  the  dedication  of  the  chapel  and  cemetery  was  most  appropriately  com- 
memorated September  27,  1894.  A  solemn  requiem  Mass  was  given,  and  an  able  discourse,  pertinent  to  the 
occasion,  was  delivered  by  Rev.  Denis  O'Callaghan,  rector  St.  Augustine's  Church.  At  the  conclusion  of  the 
discourse   the  Archbishop   blessed   and   incensed  the  graves  of  the  departed  clergy  within  the   chapel.     His 


Grace  in  a  few  words  emphasized  the  affection  and  veneration  in  which  the  old  cemetery  should  be  held  .by  all. 
The  services  were  attended  by  Archbishop  Williams,  Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  D.  D.,  V.  G.,  and  many  promi- 
nent clergymen  and  laymen;  among  the  latter  was  Mrs.  Shackford,  of  Syracuse,  N.  Y.,  who  attended  the  dedi- 
cation of  the  chapel  seventy-five  years  ago. 

The  number  of  CathoHc  residents  in  the  peninsula  increased  so  rapidly  after  1840  that  the  chapel  be- 
came totally  inadequate  to  their  religious  wants,  and  a  larger  church  was  called  for.  As  a  result  the  church 
of  SS.  Peter  and  Paul  was  built,  and  services  at  St.  Augustine's  Chapel  were  discontinued  in  1844. 

The  need  of  another  church  was  not  felt  until  nearly  a  quarter  of  a  century  later.  The  task  of  providing 
it,  and  of  organizing  a  parish  around  it,  was  given  to  the  Rev.  Denis  O'Callaghan,  then  a  curate  at  SS.  Peter 


and  Paul's.  With  a  stout  heart  and  the  blessing  of  God,  he  started  out  upon  his  work  August  22,  1868.  It 
occurred  to  him  that  the  old  mortuary  chapel  might  be  used  as  a  place  of  worship  again  until  the  proposed 
church  would  be  available.  He  found  it  in  a  ruinous  condition,  but  he  had  it  repaired,  and  offered  there  the 
first  parish  Mass  on  Sunday,  September  6.  There  also,  on  November  i,  the  first  High  Mass  was  celebrated. 
Father  O'Callaghan  had  no  trouble  in  disposing  of  the  pews.  By  his  suggestion,  a  church  debt  society  was 
formed  in  February,  i86g.  The  organization  virtually  comprised  the  entire  congregation,  each  member  of 
which  seemed  to  be  inspired  with  the  enthusiasm  and  self-sacrificing  spirit  of  the  pastor.  A  Sunday-school, 
organized  May  9,  i86g,  opened  with  400  children;  the  first  temperance  society,  named  the  "Father  Matthew, 
No.  2,"  was  established  May  23  ;  the  earliest  first  communion  class  received  the  eucharist  on  the  festival  of 
Corpus  Christi  in  1870 ;  and  the  parish  conference  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  was  formed  in  May  of  the  same  year. 
At  first,  it  was  designed  to  build  the  church  on  the  site  now  occupied  by  the  new  St.  Augustine  school 

1     ' 
r   1 

„  ^^^^ 

'"'  ,m^\ 




1         ll 

i     1   iiti. 




on  E  Street.  The  land  for  the  purpose  had  been  already  purchased  by  Bishop  Williams  at  the  time  the  parish 
was  set  off.  A  lot  parallel  with  the  cemetery,  though  not  adjoining  it,  and  extending  from  F  Street  to  Dor- 
chester Street,  offered  a  much  superior  location.  After  due  consideration,  it  was  decided  to  abandon  the  first 
site  for  this  one,  and  the  lot  was  bought  from  the  city.  The  property  containing  the  abandoned  site  was  sold 
to  advantage  some  time  after. 

The  work  of  erecting  the  church  was  begun  soon  after  the  land  was  acquired.  The  first  stake  was  driven 
by  Henry  W.  Wilson,  between  ten  and  eleven  o'clock  in  the  forenoon  of  April  21,  1870.  Father  O'Callaghan, 
in  person,  formally  broke  ground,  April  26.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  September  11,  when  Bishop  Williams 
officiated,  and  the  Rev.  Francis  E.  Boyle,  of  Washington,  D.  C,  delivered  the  sermon.  The  first  Mass  was 
offered  in  the  basement  of  the  new  church,  July  2,  187 1,  and  confirmation  was  administered  for  the  first  time 
on  the  sixth  of  the  same  month.     Since  then,  the  chapel  in  the  cemetery  has  been  used  for  mortuary  purposes 


only,  and  is  chiefly  interesting  because  of  its  associations  with  tlie  past.  Tlie  marble  tablet,  previously  spoken 
of,  aflixed  to  the  wall  on  the  gospel  side  of  the  altar,  bears  an  inscription  which  was  composed  by  Bishop 
Cheverus,  and  tells  that  there,  among  the  remains  of  other  pioneers,  lies  the  dust  of  his  dear  friend,  the 
saintly   Aiatignon. 

The  church,  with  its  bell  tower,  was  practically  finished  in  the  summer  of  1S74.  It  needed  but  the  spire 
to  complete  the  structure  when  ij_was  dedicated.  The  ceremony  was  performed  August  30,  1874,  by  Bishop 
Williams,  and  the  sermon  for  the  occasion  was  preached  by  Father  Boyle,  the  same  priest  who  had  rendered  a 
similar  service  at  the  laying  of  the  corner-stone.  By  this  time,  the  pupils  in  the  Sunday-school  had  increased 
to  946.  St.  Augustine's  Mutual  Relief  and  Total  Abstinence  Society,  composed  of  the  older  men  of  the  parish, 
was  organized  November  15,  1S74.  The  establishment  of  St.  Augustine's  Young  Men's  Temperance  Society 
followed,  December  20.  A  hall,  open  every  evening,  afforded  the  members  of  this  organization  the  means 
of  entering  into  agreeable  intercourse  with  each  other.      In  1875,  a  literary  societ)',  that  became  widely  known 

for  its  beneficent  influence  on  the  young  men  of  the  district,  was  founded  under  the  name  of  St.  Augustine's 
Lyceum;  and,  in  1876,  a  sewing  circle,  designed  to  furnish  the  poor  of  the  parish  with  clothing,  was  formed 
and  successfully  started  upon  its  charitable  enterprise. 

Endowed  with  so  much  vitality,  the  parish  quickly  cleared  the  church  of  debt.  Of  the  two  hundred  thou- 
sand dollars  expended  in  its  erection,  not  a  cent  remained  unpaid  in  1884.  As  a  consequence,  it  was  finally 
consecrated  August  31,  of  that  year.  This  was  a  memorable  day  in  the  history  of  the  parish.  The  ceremonies 
were  of  the  most  impres'sive  character.  The  rites  of  consecration  were  performed  in  the  morning  by  His  Grace, 
Archbishop  Williams,  assisted  by  a  number  of  visiting  and  local  priests.  Those  enacted  without  the  church 
walls  were  witnessed  by  thousands  of  spectators,  who  thronged  the  streets  in  the  locality,  and  occupied  every 
possible  vantage  point.     When  the  hour  for  beginning  the  Grand  Pontifical  High  Mass  arrived  the  worshipers 




filled  the  church  to  the  doors.  The  celebrant  was  the  Most  Rev.  John  J. 'Williams  with  the  Very  Rev.  William 
Byrne,  V.  G.,  for  assistant ;  the  deacons  of  honor,  the  Rev.  J.  J.  Gray  and  the  Rev.  Thomas  Griffin ;  the  deacons 
of  the  Mass,  the  Rev.  J.  J.  McDermott  and  the  Rev.  James  N.  Supple,  and  the  masters  of  ceremonies,  the 
Rev.  John  J.  Keegan  and  the  Rev.  P.  M.  O'Connor.  Among  the  clergymen  present  in  the  sanctuary  were 
Bishop  Kane,  of  Wheeling,  and  Bishop  Healy,  of  Portland.  The  sermon,  which  was  delivered  by  Bishop  Healy, 
was  worthy  of  the  preacher's  renown.  A  number  of  the  best  vocalists  and  instrumentalists  of  New  England, 
together  with  a  chorus  of  one  hundred  trained  voices,  all  under  the  direction  of  Mr.  J.  J.  Carew,  the  organist 
of  the  church,  rendered  Hummel's  Mass  in  E  Flat  with  a  perfection  and  an  effect  rarely  heard.  At  the  even- 
ing services,  the  celebrant  was  the 
Very  Rev.  J.  E.  Barry,  V.  G.,  and 
Bishop  Kane  delivered  a  sermon  that 
was  an  eloquent  tribute  to  the  devo- 
tion of  the  pastor  and  people. 

Well  situated  on  rising  ground, 
and  fronting  on  one  of  the  principal 
thoroughfares  of  South  Boston,  St. 
Augustine's,  with  its  tower  and  spire, 
is,  perhaps,  the  most  striking  object 
presented  by  the  peninsular  district 
to  the  distant  observer.  It  is  built 
in  the  Gothic  style  of  architecture. 
The  basement  is  of  Roxbury  stone 
dressed  with  white  granite,  while  the 
superstructure  is  of  red  brick  trimmed 
with  freestone.  Besides  a  clock,  the 
tower  contains  two  bells,  one  for  the 
usual  church  uses  and  the  other  for 
ringing  the  Angelus,  which  is  accom- 
plished automatically  by  a  connection 
with  the  clock.  A  fine  parochial  resi- 
dence, harmonizing  with  the  appear- 
ance of  the  church,  adjoins  its  rear 
extremity.  The  general  effect  of  the 
interior  elevates  without  distracting 
the  mind  of  the  worshiper.  The  or- 
namentation is  suggestive  without 
garishness.  Clusters  of  fluted  iron 
columns  divide  the  nave  from  the  side 
aisles.  From  the  foliated  capitals 
rises  the  groined  and  vaulted  ceiling 
admirably  decorated  for  the  motive 
of  inspiring  devotional  feeling.  The  dimensions  of  the  auditoriums  are  117  feet  by  63  feet;  those  of  the  chan- 
cel, 34  feet  by  18  feet,  and  the  seating  capacity  is  1,400.  The  side  altars  were  presented  by  the  Young  Ladies' 
Sodality  and  St.  Augustine's  Lyceum  respectively.  The  star  window  back  of  the  high  altar  is  the  gift  of  the 
pastor.  Three  of  the  large  stained  glass  windows  in  the  side  walls  are  memorials  respectively  of  Patrick 
Connor,  John  Finnegan,  and  Christopher  Connor,  deceased  members  of  the  congregation.  The  rest  of  the  side 
windows,  as  well  as  those  lighting  the  choir  gallery,  were  donated  by  living  members  of  the  congregation,  whose 
names  were:  John  Lally,  Andrew  Spence,  James  Power,  Winnifred  Folan,  James  Maguire,  Michael  Fitzgerald, 
Daniel  Sweeny,  Jeremiah  Collins,  John  T.  Driscoll,  William  Cavanagh,  Patrick  Nolan,  George  Cavanagh, 
John  Scott,  Bartholomew  Oaks,  Patrick  Cain,  James  T.  Tighe,  and  P.  F.  Mullen. 

Denis  O'Callaghan,  St.  Augustine's  Church. 



It  would  not  have  been  characteristic  of  Father  O'Callaghan,  or  of  his  devoted  flock,  to  rest  satisfied  with 
what  was  accomplished  at  this  time.  The  parish  history  for  the  last  ten  years  is  marked  by  the  same  zeal  for 
the  glory  of  God  and  the  good  of  his  parishioners,  on  the  part  of  the  rector,  and  by  the  same  self-sacrificing 
devotion  and  enthusiastic  co-operation,  on  the  part  of  the  parishioners.  The  present  church  organizations 
include  the  Society  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  Children's  Relief  Society,  Children  of  Mary,  Boys'  Sodality,  Young 
Ladies'  Sodality,  Married  Ladies'  Sodality,  Married  Men's  Sodality,  Cadet  Corps,  St.  Augustine's  Brass  Band, 
the  Temperance  Society,  andThe  Young  Men's  Catholic  Association. 

Since  1884,  besides  the  parish  hall,  erected  at  an  expense  of  $25,000  in  1886,  the  rector  has  built  a  grand 
school-house,  costing  over  |ioo,ooo.  In  1892  he  bought  back  the  lot  on  which  it  was  first  proposed  to  build 
the  church,  together  with  the  houses 
that  have  since  been  placed  upon  it. 
In  1893  he  began  the  erection  of  the 
school-house,  now  completed.  It  is 
built  of  brick,  with  freestone  trim- 
mings, over  a  substantial  granite  base- 
ment. The  main  door -ways  give 
entrance  to  a  spacious  vestibule  with 
tiled  floor,  from  which  a  pair  of  broad 
staircases  sweep  upwards  to  the  other 
floors.  The  pupils  are  received  in 
sixteen  large  class  rooms.  On  the 
third  floor  is  a  remarkably  fine  hall, 
of  excellent  acoustic  qualities,  fur- 
nished with  stage  and  scenery,  and 
capable  of  seating  1,400  persons. 
Fittings  are  laid  so  as  to  make  it 
possible  to  light  the  building  by  either 
gas  or  electricity.  The  heating,  ven- 
tilation, and  sanitary  requirements 
are  provided  for  according  to  the 
most  advanced  ideas.  It  is  expected 
that  the  school  will  start  with  1,200 
pupils.  The  boys  will  be  taught  by 
the  Xaverian  Brothers,  and  the  girls, 
by  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame.  Six 
houses,  included  in  the  purchased 
estate,  are  being  fitted  as  residences 
for  the  teachers.     A  fine  view  of  the 

school     building     and     teachers'     resi-  Parochial  Residence  and  Vestry,  St.  Augustine's  Church,  South  Boston. 

dences  is  given  in  the  full  page  illustration  on  the  preceeding  page. 

Father  O'Callaghan's  light  is  too  large  to  be  hidden  under  a  bushel.  Loved  by  his  flock,  who  have  felt 
the  benefit  of  his  labors,  the  public  at  large,  from  whose  observation  it  could  not  have  been  kept,  hold  him  in 
the  highest  regard.  They  recognize  in  him  a  man  of  a  broad  and  progressive  mind,  spurred  by  keen  sympathies 
and  an  exalted  idea  of  his  sacred  calling.  Born  in  Ireland,  in  1841,  he  was  brought  at  an  early  age  to  this 
country  by  his  parents,  who  settled  in  Salem,  Mass.  His  first  steps  on  the  road  of  knowledge  were  taken  at 
St.  James'  parochial  school  in  that  town,  then  under  the  pastoral  care  of  the  Rev.  Thomas  H.  Shahan,  now  his 
dear  and  venerated  friend.  Thence,  he  went  to  St.  Charles'  College,  in  Maryland,  and  later,  to  St.  Mary's 
Seminary,  in  Baltimore,  where  he  completed  the  studies  necessary  to  fit  him  for  the  priesthood.  He  was  ordained 
June  29,  1865,  by  Archbishop  Spalding.  After  ordination  he  went  to  Boston,  and  was  appointed  assistant  to 
Father  Blenkinsop  at  the  Church  of  SS.  Peter  and  Paul.     The  rest  of  his  life  story  is  the  history  of  his  parish. 



IParisb  of  ®uv  Xab^  of  tbe  IRosar^, 

1 15  feet  deep. 

OUTH  BOSTON  is  the  most  Catholic  quarter  of  New  England's  metropolis.  The  increase 
of  the  Catholic  population  seems  phenomenal  when  recalled.  Fifty  years  ago  the  peninsula 
was  comprehended  in  the  parish  of  SS.  Peter  and  Paul,  and  the  church  of  the  same  name 
was  more  than  ample  for  the  congregation.  Now  there  are  five  populous  parishes,  each  having 
its  own  church. 

The  last  to  be  detached  from  the  parent  parish  was  that  of  Our  Lady  of  the  Rosary. 
The  Rev.  John  J.  McNulty,  then  an  assistant  in  Dedham,  was  notified  of  its  formation,  and 
directed  to  take  pastoral  charge  of  it  June  8,  1884.  On  looking  over  the  district,  so  thickly 
settled  did  he  find  it  that  he  had  much  difficulty  in  selecting  a  site  for  a  church.  At  length 
he  made  choice  of  a  lot  on  which  the  owner  was  erecting  a  number  of  tenement  houses.  It 
was  situated  on  West  Sixth  Street,  between  C  and  D  Streets,  and  measured  100  feet  front  by 
Its  cost,  together  with  that  of  the  buildings  upon  it,  was  $io,5oo.     The  buildings  were  cleared 


away  as  soon  as  possible,  and  the  rector  broke  ground  for  the  proposed  church  on  September  3.     For  the 
ensuing  six  months  he  resided  in  the  parochial  house  of  SS.  Peter  and  Paul's.     During  this  period  he  offered 






Mass  in  SS.  Peter  and  Paul's  at  half-past  seven  o'clock  every  Sunday  morning  for  his  own  congregation.  He 
also  administered  baptism,  solemnized  marriages,  heard  confessions,  attended  sick  calls,  and  discharged  all  the 
other  duties  of  his  pastorate.  Towards  the  close  of  the  year  the  building  was  sufficiently  advanced  to  be  avail- 
able for  divine  worship,  and  Mass  was  offered  in  it  for  the  first  time  on  Christmas  Day.  The  usual  church 
societies  were  then  organized.  The  Sunday-school  opened  January  4,  1885,  with  364  children.  The  congrega- 
tion at  that  time  numbered  1,800  members.  By  the  beginning  of  the  fall  the  church  was  completed,  and  on 
October  18,  it  was  dedicated  by  Archbishop  Williams.  The  ceremonies  were  attended  by  a  large  number  of 
priests,  and  the  sermon  for  the  occasion  was  delivered  by  the  Very  Rev.  C.  H.  McKenna,  O.  P. 

The  church,  a  pretty  frame  structure  with  brick  basement,  measures  60  by  100  feet,  and  is  built  in  the 
style  called  "Perpendicular  Gothic."  The  two  rows  of  pillars  supporting  the  ceiling  divide  the  interior  into 
centre  and  side  aisles.  There  are  three  marble  altars  and  two  marble  shrines.  The  high  altar  has  for  back- 
ground a  large  rose  window  bearing  scenes  from  Holy 
Writ,  worked  out  in  striking  colors.  The  stained  glass 
windows  in  the  side  walls  and  sacristy  are  gifts  from 
individual  members  of  the  congregation.  Two  are 
memorials  of  Catharine  McCool  and  Thomas  R. 
Keenan,  Jr. ;  the  donors  of  the  rest,  as  inscribed 
beneath  each,  were  Hugh  Giblin,  William  Dempsey, 
Margaret  Foley,  Thomas  Stapleton,  Patrick  C.  Bruen, 
James  Sheridan,  Edward  Devin,  Ellen  McCarthy, 
Thomas  Cuddihy,  George  Keenan,  and  Patrick  F. 
Hanlon.  The  Stations  of  the  Cross  were  presented 
in  the  same  way  by  Michael  O'Day,  Edmund  P. 
Maskell,  Daniel  Cotter,  Patrick  Keany,  Hugh  Giblin, 
Thomas  Meaney,  Michael  Moore,  Patrick  Brady, 
John  H.  Reynolds  (memorial),  Mary  Keefe,  Ellen 
Christian,  P.  Doherty,  and  Margaret  Nagle.  An 
ingenious  device  makes  it  possible  to  open  all  the 
windows  in  the  central  uplift  of  the  ceiling  in  less 
than  half  a  minute,  and  effect  a  renewal  of  the  atmos- 
phere within  three  minutes.  The  artificial  light  is 
supplied  by  electricity,  with  which  the  church,  entirely 
or  by  sections,  can  be  dimly,  moderately,  or  brilliantly 
illuminated  in  a  moment.  It  is  also  possible,  by  one 
or  two  movements  of  the  hand,  to  set  alight  five  hun- 
dred incandescent  lamps  upon  the  altar.  When 
these  are  supplemented  by  the  electric  bouquets  and 
other  floral  devices  of  the  rector,  the  sanctuary  be- 
comes an  enchanting  spectacle.  The  church  is  kept 
open  all  day,  and  is  constantly  visited  by  the  work  people  going  to  and  returning  from  their  daily  labor.  Here, 
any  evening,  a  parallel  scene  in  city  life  for  that  depicted  in  "The  Angelus,"  can  be  witnessed;  the  humble 
laborer,  dinner  pail  in  hand,  clad  in  his  overalls  and  soiled  by  his  work,  offering  up  a  prayer  to  his  Creator. 

Confirmation  was  administered  for  the  first  time  to  80  children,  in  May,  1886,  by  Archbishop  Williams. 
The  act  has  been  repeated  three  times  since  then.  Five  missions  have  been  given  to  the  parishioners  by  the 
Dominican  Fathers.  The  existing  church  organizations  include  separate  sodalities  for  the  married  men, 
married  women,  young  ladies,  and  young  men.  The  children  are  enrolled  in  the  Society  of  St.  Aloysius,  and 
that  of  the  Children  of  Mary.  There  is  a  flourishing  Sunday-school,  numbering  530  pupils;  while,  practically, 
all  the  adult  parishioners  belong  to  the  Rosary  Society,  whose  membership  amounts  to  800.  Father  McNulty, 
assisted  by  a  member  of  his  flock,  gives  adequate  attention  to  the  poor.     There  is  no  temperance  society,  but 

South  Boston. 



the  morals  of  the  parish  are  good,  and  flagrant  cases  of  intoxication  are  rare.  The  rector  visits  all  the  Catholic 
families  in  the  parish,  has  a  personal  acquaintance  with  each  member,  knows  what  is  going  on  among  them,  is 
the  first  to  learn  of  misdeeds,  and  therefore  in  a  position  to  deal  with  the  misdoer  with  most  effect. 

The  parish  is  small ;  in  fact,  very  small.  It  is  possible  to  walk  around  it  in  seven  minutes,  and  from 
the  church  to  its  remotest  part  in  four  minutes.  But 
according  to  the  last  censuSj  J;aken  in  October,  1893, 
the  congregation  comprises  2,960  souls.  There  are 
smaller  congregations  than  this.  The  parent  parish  of 
SS.  Peter  and  Paul  could  not  have  had  that  number 
when  first  designated.  It  is  1,160  greater  than  it  was 
ten  years  ago.  Yet  the  number  is  small  and  must  remain 
so.  There  is  not  space  enough  for  much  further  growth. 
The  increase  is  partly  attributable  to  an  addition  of 
territory  made  some  time  ago,  but  mainly  to  the  devel- 
opment of  the  locality.  Some  persons  say  that  a 
Catholic  church  depreciates  property  in  its  neighbor- 
hood. That  may  be,  and  yet  be  highly  creditable  to 
the  church.  But  here  real  estate  has  risen  fifty  per 
cent,  since  the  foundation  of  the  church  was  laid. 
The  advance,  or  the  better  part  of  it,  can  be  fairly 
credited  to  the  moral  and  civil  improvement  of  the 

If  the  setting  off  of  this  parish  be  an  experiment, 
as  some  people  assert,  it  is  a  successful  one.  The 
chief  factor  of  the  success  has  been  the  able  and 
zealous  rector.  Father  McNulty  was  born  in  Armagh, 
Ireland,  in  November,  1850.  His  first  collegiate 
course,  lasting  three  years,  was  taken  at  All-Hallows, 
Dublin.  At  its  termination,  he  came  to  this  country 
and  entered  St.  Joseph's  Seminary,  at  Troy,  N.  Y.,  in 

1869.     On   December  20,   1873,  he  was   ordained   by  '^^^'■J"™  J- '^'^^'""^■- ''^=™«  O"'' ''*"''' °''™'=  ^°""^'' s°"™  ^°'™''- 
Bishop   McNeirney,  of  Albany.     His  first  appointment  was  that  of  assistant  to  the   Rev.   H.   A.  Teeiing,  of 
Newburyport,  Mass.     From  here  he  was  sent  to  Hyde  Park,  in  1879.     After  a  stay  of  a  few  months  in  Hyde 
Park,  he  was  assigned  as  curate  in  the  recently  enlarged  parish  of  Dedham,  where  the  summons  of  the  Arch- 
bishop to  take  charge  of  his  present  parish  found  him. 



Cburcb  of  the  /Iftost  IDol^  IRebeemer, 

East  Boston. 

HE  histor)'  of  Catholicity  in  East  Boston  dates  back  to  tlie  tirst  definite  steps  talcen 
to  develop  the  commercial  advantages  of  the  island.  In  1833  a  number  of 
moneyed  men  founded  what  was  called  the  East  Boston  Company.  To  th"e  enter- 
prise of  this  company  is  due  the  development  of  the  section,  and  among  the  first  to 
settle  upon  the  island  were  a  number  of  Catholic  families.  As  East  Boston  grew 
in  importance  more  settlers  were  attracted  thither,  a  large  proportion  of  whom  were  of 
the  Catholic  faith.  The  first  child  of  Catholic  parentage  born  on  the  island  was 
Mr.  Thomas  J.  Lavery,  at  present  chief  engineer  of  the  East  Boston  ferries.  He 
was  born  November  17,  1833.  In  the  latter  part  of  1843,  the  Catholics  of  East  Boston, 
with  the  approval  of  Bishop  Fenwick,  determined  to  build  a  church.  This  idea  was 
not  then  carried  out,  for  the  meeting-house  of  the  Maverick  Congregational  Church 
was  purchased  for  $5,000,  in  January,  1844,  by  the  Catholics,  and  the  building  was  converted  into  a  Catholic 
Church.     February  25,  1844,  the  little  church  was  dedicated  under  the  patronage  of  St.  Nicholas. 

The  first  pastor  was  Father  N.  J.  A.  O'Brien.  He  remained  in  charge  until 
March,  1847,  when  he  was  recalled  to  the  Cathedral.  He  was  succeeded  by 
Rev.  C.  McCallion.  Under  him  the  church  was  lengthened  40  feet  and  the  old 
brick  dwelling,  formerly  the  parochial  residence,  and  now  a  part  of  the  convent, 
was  built.  Father  William  Wiley  succeeded  Father  McCallion  as  pastor  in 
November,  185 1.  He  bought  the  land  where  the  Church  of  the  Most  Holy 
Redeemer  now  stands  and  he  laid  the  foundations  and  completed  the  basement 
wall  of  the  present  church.  Father  Wiley  did  not  live  to  complete  the  church 
for  death  interrupted  his  labors  April  19,  1855,  in  the  52d  year  of  his  age.  It 
was  Father  Wiley's  dying  request  that  Rev.  James  Fitton  should  be  his  succes- 
sor. In  response  to  this  request  and  the  wishes  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  Father 
Fitton,  who  was  then  in  the  Hartford  Diocese  and  had  just  completed  the  mag- 
nificent brown  stone  church  at  Newport,  R.  I.,  came  to  East  Boston  to  take  up 
the  work  of  his  deceased  bosom  friend.  He  and  Father  Wiley  were  ordained 
together  in  the  Cathedral  of  the  Holy  Cross,  December  23,  1827,  by  Bishop 
Fenwick.  It  was  Father  Fitton's  advice  to  Father  Wiley  that  the  church  should 
be  of  stone  and  not  of  brick  as  was  at  first  contemplated,  and  it  fell  to  Fatlier  Fitton's  hands  later  to  carry 
out  the  work,  and  the  imposing  edifice  now  standing  is  the  result  of  his  labors.  The  church  was  finished  in 
1857  and  was  dedicated  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  the  17th  day  of  August  of  that  year.  It  is  built  of  Rockport 
granite,  Gothic  in  design  of  the  13th  century,  and  its  architect  was  P.  C.  Keely.  The  solid  masonry  of  the 
walls,  the  imposing  built  tower,  and  the  heavy  buttresses  combine  to  form  one  of  the  finest  specimens  of 
architectural  solidity  and    durability   in   New  England.       The  tower,   which   is   on  the   left  hand    corner   of 

Father  N.  J. 





the  front,  is  capped  by  a  spire  whiclr  rises  to  nearly  200  feet.     The  interior  dimensions  are:    length,    no 
feet;  width,  62  feet;  height  of  wall,  60  feet.     Originally  there  were  two  sides  galleries,  but  they  were  removed 

The  clerestory  is  supported  by  five  columns  and  two  pilasters  on  each  side.  Texts  from  Holy  Scripture 
adorn  the  frieze  of  the  nave  and  the  aisles.  Six  lancet  shaped  windows  of  stained  glass  are  in  each  of  the 
side  walls.  The  top  of  each  window  is  circular  and  contains  an  emblematical  representation.  The  first  two 
on  each  side  represent  the  Evangelists,  Matthew,  Mark,  Luke,  and  John,  and  others,  such  symbols  as  the  Bible 
and  keys,  I.  H.  S,,  lilies,  pehcan,  Agnus  Dei  ciborium,  crossed  swords,  and  Bible.  A  large  rose  window  con- 
taining a  picture  of  Christ  blessing  little  children  is  over  the  chancel  and  in  addition  there  are  two  lancet  win- 
dows on  each  of  the  side  walls.     The  chancel  is  28  by  24  feet.     The   high  altar  is  very  beautiful.     In  the 

center  panel  is  an  Agnus  Dei.  On  the  side  panels 
are  carved  vine  and  wheat.  The  canopy  of  the  exposi- 
tory niche  rises  like  a  spire.  Over  the  epistle  side  of 
the  altar  is  a  statue  of  St.  Joachim.  On  the  gospel 
side  is  a  statue  of  St.  Anne.  At  each  end  of  the  altar 
base  is  a  statue  of  a  large  angel  bowed  in  adoration. 
On  the  left  is  a  side  altar  to  the  Blessed  Virgin  and  on 
the  right  an  altar  to  St.  Joseph.  Over  each  side  altar 
is  a  fine  oil  painting  by  H.  Schupp;  that  over  the 
Blessed  Virgin's  altar  represents  the  Assumption;  that 
over  St.  Joseph's  altar  represents  the  Resurrection. 
The  wood-work  of  the  church  is  chestnut  and  the  seat- 
ing capacity  a  thousand.  In  the  tower  is  a  bell  weigh- 
ing over  a  ton,  presented  by  Mr.  Daniel  Crowley. 
Since  1844  the  baptisms  number  over  10,000.  The 
register  records  the  baptism  of  the  wife  and  children 
of  the  famous  Dr.  Brownson. 

On  the  completion  of  the  new  church  the  old 
wooden  church  was  devoted  to  Sunday-school,  library, 
singing,  and  other  religious  purposes  until  1859,  when 
Father  Fitton  fitted  up  a  part  of  it  for  a  school  for 
girls,  and  here  three  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame  began 
the  work  which  has  since  then  grown  into  august  pro- 
portions. There  are  now  over  1,400  girls  in  the  three 
schools  of  East  Boston,  taught  by  some  35  sisters.  In 
c      .  .  ^  i860  was  erected  the  fine  brick  building  to  which  was 

St.  Aloysius    Convent.  o 

attached  the  little  chapel  used  by  the  sisterhood.  The 
convent,  as  built  in  1867,  fronts  on  Havre  Street  50  feet  and  is  40  feet  deep..  Subsequently  the  mother  parish 
of  East  Boston  grew  large  and  from  it  were  formed  the  parishes  of  Our  Lady  of  the  Assumption,  the  Star  of 
the  Sea,  and  the  Sacred  Heart. 

Father  Fitton  celebrated  his  golden  jubilee  on  December  23,  1877.  It  was  a  noteworthy  event  in  the 
Catholic  history  of  the  Boston  Diocese,  and  on  the  following  Thursday  the  entire  clergy  of  the  diocese  assem- 
bled at  the  Cathedral  to  do  honor  to  the  venerable  priest,  and  a  solemn  High  Mass  was  celebrated  with  Father 
Fitton  as  celebrant.  Three  years  later,  on  September  15,  1881,  Father  Fitton  was  called  to  his  reward.  His 
body  lay  in  state  in  the  church  and  was  viewed  by  vast  crowds  from  all  parts  of  the  archdiocese.  Solemn  Pon- 
tifical Requiem  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Archbishop  Williams  and  the  sermon  was  delivered  by  Bishop  Healy 
of  Portland,  Me.  The  remains  were  borne  to  Holy  Cross  Cemetery,  Maiden,  over  2,000  persons  following  in 
the  procession.  On  the  morning  of  the  funeral  business  places  were  closed  and  dwellings  and  stores  were 
draped  in  mourning  and  nearly  all  the  bells  in  East  Boston  tolled  while  the  funeral  cortege  passed. 





It  would  be  impossible  to  give  a  just  account  of  Catholicity  in  East  Boston  without  giving  a  sketch  of  the 
life  of  the  priest  who  filled  a  leading  part  in  it  for  a  remarkable  period.  Father  Fitton  was  born  in  Boston,  in 
1805,  in  the  house  corner  of  Milk  and  Congress  Streets,  near  the  site  of  the  present  post-office.  His  father  was 
a  wheelwright  by  trade,  of  English  birth.  His  mother  was  of  Welch  lineage  and  a  convert.  He  was  baptized  in 
the  small  Huguenot  church  on  School  Street.  He  was  educated  by  Bishops  Cheverus  and  Fenwick  and  prior 
to  his  ordination  as  priest  he  was  a  teacher  in  the  school  attached  to  the  old  church  on  Franklin  Street  and 
among  his  pupils  was  John  J.  Williams,  now  Archbishop  of  Boston. 

His  labors  as  a  missionary  priest  embraced  all  New  England.  In  182S  he  was  sent  to  the  Passamaquoddy 
Indians  in  Maine  and  then  to  the  scattered  Catholic  families  of  New  Hampshire  and  Vermont.  He  labored  as 
far  west  as  Long  Island  and  established  the  first  Catholic  church  in  Hartford.  In  1832  he  was  sent  to  Wor- 
cester and  opened  a  Catholic  boarding-school,  which  was  the  origin  of  Holy  Cross  College,  and  purchased  100 

acres  of  land  on  Pakachoag  Hill.  He  was  the  first 
priest  to  say  Mass  in  the  mother  church  in  Worcester 
and  he  named  the  street  on  which  the  church  now 
stands,  "Temple"  Street.  In  1849  he  removed  to 
Newport,  R.  I.,  where  he  was  stationed  until  1855, 
when,  as  mentioned  before,  he  came  to  East  Boston. 
When  he  arrived  in  East  Boston  there  was  but  the  little 
old  church  and  the  foundations  of  the  new  one,  and 
he  himself  was  the  only  priest.  Before  he  died  he 
saw  17  of  those  who  had  served  within  the  sanctuary 
of  the  Most  Holy  Redeemer  become  priests,  and  15  of 
the  young  girls,  once  pupils  in  his  parochial  school, 
join  the  Sisterhood  of  Notre  Dame. 

Father  Fitton  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  L.  P.  McCar- 
thy, who  was  born  in  East  Boston  and  was  baptized 
by  the  Rev.  N.  J.  A.  O'Brien  in  the  old  church  of  St. 
Nicholas.  He  was  ordained  in  1870,  and  from  1874 
to  1876  cared  for  the  Sacred  Heart  parish  as  Father 
Fitton's  assistant,  and  in  1877  was  appointed  its  pas- 
tor. Since  Father  McCarthy  has  been  pastor  the 
splendid  parochial  residence  on  London  Street  has 
been  built  and  the  old  parochial  residence  has  been 
added  to  the  school  property  in  charge  of  the  sisters. 
On  the  Feast  of  St.  Patrick,  1892,  ground  was 
broken  for  a  new  school  that  would  accommodate  both 
boys  and  girls.  This  building,  which  was  completed 
Ev.  James    itton.  j^  ^.j^^  Spring  of  the  following  year,  has  a  frontage  on 

Havre  Street  of  80  feet,  with  a  depth  of  75  feet.  On  the  northerly  side  is  an  ell  extending  from  the  main 
building  to  London  Street.  The  structure  is  of  brick  with  granite  and  freestone  trimmings,  three  stories  in 
height,  with  gables  and  peaked  roof.  The  interior  finish  is  of  ash,  with  hard  pine  flooring.  The  system  of 
heating,  ventilating,  and  sanitary  arrangements  is  all  that  could  be  desired.  The  first  floor,  of  seven  rooms,  is 
for  boys ;  the  second  floor,  of  the  same  number  of  rooms,  is  for  girls,  whilst  on  the  third  floor  is  the  high  school 
for  girls.  The  pupils  of  the  high  school  are  the  grammar  school  graduates  of  the  Holy  Redeemer,  Assumption, 
and  Sacred  Heart  Parochial  Schools.  On  this  same  floor  is  the  spacious  school  hall  with  a  seating  capacity  of 
1,200.  On  the  Havre  Street  side  of  the  hall  is  the  stage  with  a  full  set  of  scenery,  the  artistic  work  of  Hamil- 
ton and  Story,  of  Somerville.  As  a  tribute  to  the  work  of  the  pioneer  of  Catholic  education  in  East  Boston  the 
building  is  called  the  Fitton  School. 

The  boys  of  the  grammar  grade  are  taught  by  the  Xaverian  Brothers,  a  religious  order  entirely  devoted  to 



teaching.  It  was  founded  at  Bruges,  in  Belgium,  about  half  a  century  ago.  In  1854  the  first  branch  of  the 
Congregation  in  the  United  States  was  planted  in  Louisville,  Ky.,  under  the  immediate  supervision  of  the  late 
lamented  Archbishop  Spalding,  then  Bishop  of  Louisville.  They  have  houses  at  present  in  Baltimore,  Rich- 
mond, and  Norfolk,  and  five  in  the  State  of  Massachusetts. 

The  sodalities  of  the  church  number  upward  of  a  thousand  of  the  adult  population  of  the  parish,  and  the 
charitable  organizations  have  done  great  good  in  materially  aiding  the  worthy  poor. 


The  parochial  residence  in  the  rear  of  the  church  is  a  handsome  and  commodious  structure,  and  is  built 
of  brick  with  freestone  trimmings.  The  general  design  is  plain,  but  the  severity  of  its  lines  is  softened  and 
transformed  into  an  aspect  of  beauty  by  a  luxuriant  growth  of  ivy  in  clinging  festoons  upon  the  front  of  the 
house.  The  roof  is  of  Mansard  style  and  slated.  The  interior  is  finished  in  chestnut  and  is  heated  by  steam 
and  well  ventilated. 






Cburcb  of  tbe  Assumption, 

Sumner  Street,  East  JSoston. 

N  the  year  1869  so  greatly  had  the  Cathohc  population  increased  at  East  Boston,  especially  in 
the  part  called  the  first  section,  that  the  erection  of  a  third  Catholic  church  was  deemed  a 
necessity.  Hence,  through  the  efforts  of  the  late  Rev.  James  Fitton,  the  common  founder  of 
all  the  churches  at  present  erected  at  East  Boston,  an  eligible  site  for  a  church  and  parochial 
residence,  near  the  heighth  of  Sumner  Street,  was  secured  and  paid  for,  measuring  190  by  100 
feet.  This  much  accomplished,  during  the  month  of  April,  1869,  the  Rev.  Joseph  H.  Cassin, 
a  nephew  of  Father  Fitton  and  who  had  been  an  assistant  to  him  for  a  number  of  years,  was 
commissioned  by  the  then  Bishop,  now  the  Most  Rev.  Archbishop  Williams,  to  erect  the  much 
needed  church  for  the  parents  and  children  of  this  section.  July  5,  1869,  the  grand  work  he 
commenced  forthwith,  and,  through  his  energy  and  zeal,  on  the  29th  of  the  following  month, 
which  occurred  on  a  Sunday,  he  had  the  corner-stone  of  the  church  blessed  by  the  then  Bishop 
Williams,  assisted  by  a  large  number  of  the  neighboring  clergy  and  an  immense  concourse  of  a  most  enthu- 
siastic and  devoted  Roman  Catholic  people.  The  Romanesque  style  of  architecture  having  been  selected, 
substantial  granite  foundation  laid,  the  brick  walls  were  immediately  commenced,  and  by  the  end  of  October 
the  roof  was  on  and  slated.  The  church  is  136  feet  long  and  63  feet  wide,  the  side  walls  48  feet  high.  At  the 
southwest  corner  there  is  a  substantial  ornate  tower,  126  feet  high,  which  is  an  important  feature  of  the  building, 
its  gilded  cross,  the  sign  of  redemption,  being  the  first  and  last  point  seen  upon  entering  and  leaving  Boston 
Harbor.  Located  as  the  church  is  longitudinally,  east  and  west,  and  the  ground  on  the  hill-side  sloping  to  the 
north,  gives,  so  to  speak,  a  spacious  basement  church,  airy  and  well  lighted,  all  above  the  surface.  The  first 
four  years  after  the  erection  of  the  church  this  served  as  a  church  for  the  congregation,  and  here  it  was  the 
first  Mass  was  offered,  Christmas  Day,  1869.  It  is  now  used  for  early  Masses  on  Sundays  and  week  days  and 
for  the  Lenten  and  May  devotions,  also  as  a  place  of  meeting  for  the  various  sodalities  connected  with  the 
church.  For  want  of  funds,  the  upper  portion  of  the  church  remained  incomplete  until  1873,  when,  feeling 
the  need  of  more  room  and  better  conveniences,  an  effort  was  made,  and  by  the  generosity  and  assured  assist- 
ance of  the  people  the  work  of  completion  of  this  portion  of  the  church  commenced,  and  was  finished  by 
November  6th  of  that  year  and  then  solemnly  dedicated  to  God  under  the  title  of  the  Assumption  of  the 
Blessed  Virgin. 

During  the  first  year,  after  the  exterior  completion  of  the  church  and  the  basement  prepared  for  divine 
service,  the  pastor  resided  with  Father  Fitton.  Greatly  inconvenienced  and  unable  to  serve  his  people  as  he 
felt  they  should  be,  he  set  about  the  erection  of  a  parochial  house  in  close  conjunction  to  the  church,  which 
being  completed  he  took  possession  of  during  the  month  of  October,  1870,  and  in  that  house  he  has  resided 
ever  since,  taking  a  leave  of  absence  but  once,  on  account  of  ill  health. 

In  addition  to  the  erection  of  the  church  and  parochial  house,  another  great  work  accomplished  has  been 
the  establishment  and  erection  of  parochial  schools  for  both  boys  and  girls  of  the  parish.  Indeed,  we  may 
say,  the  school  has  gone  hand  in  hand  with  the  erection  of  the  church,  for  no  sooner  was  the  basement  of  the 
church  prepared  to  serve  as  a  church  than  steps  were  immediately  taken  for  the  religious  and  secular  education 
of  the  children,  under  the  devoted  and  efficient  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame,  whose  every  hour  of  life  in  connection 
with  their  own  salvation  is  dedicated  to  the  education  of  youth.     For  this  twofold  work,  as  mentioned,  the 





services  of  three  of  these  good  sisters  was  obtained,  temporary  rooms  liaving  been  prepared  for  them  and  their 
pupils  in  the  upper  unfinished  portion  of  the  church,  and,  inconvenient  though  they  were,  tlieir  occupation 
was  continued  until  the  work  of  finishing  this  portion  of  the  church  began.  In  the  meantime  an  additional 
lot  of  land  on  the  east  side  of  the  church,  measuring  114  by  100  feet,  having  been  secured,  a  portion  of  the 
now  completed  school-house  was  erected,  for  on  account  of  want  of  funds  the  school-house  like  the  church  was 
put  up  piecemeal.  However,  now  completed,  it  forms  a  spacious  building,  embracing  a  beautiful  exhibition 
hall  90  by  53  feet  and  ten  lofty  and  well-lighted  school  rooms,  bearing  the  name  of  the  School  of  the  Assump- 
tion, where,  at  this  date,  over  four  hundred  girls  and  two  hundred  and  fifteen  little  boys  daily  assemble  and 
receive  rehgious  and  secular  instruction  by  eleven  efficient  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame.  Until  1889  the  girls  only 
of  the  parish  had  the  school  privileges.  Feeling  the  importance  of  giving  to  the  boys  of  the  parish  the  same 
great  advantages,  arrangements  were  made  with  the  sisters  to  take  in  hand  the  primary  education  of  the  small 

-1  W11 


boys,  their  constitution  forbidding  the  instruction  and  care,  of  boys  beyond  the  age  of  ten  years.  So  appre- 
ciative had  the  parents  become  of  the  parochial  school  and  unwilling  to  deprive  the  boys  of  a  continuance  of 
the  benefits  already  received,  prompted  the  pastor  to  make  further  efforts -in  this  regard.  Hence,  in  1890, 
another  lot  of  land  on  the  south  side  of  the  church,  measuring  150  by  125  feet,  was  secured  and  the  erection 
of  an  imposing  brick  building  was  immediately  begun,  consisting  of  seven  large  school  rooms,  an  exercise  hall 
40  feet  square,  and  a  recreation  room  of  the  same  dimensions  to  be  vised  in  winter  and  unpleasant  weather. 
Previous  to  the  erection  of  the  building,  the  services  of  the  Xaverian  Brothers  were  engaged  to  continue  the 
education -of  the  boys  dismissed  from  the- sisters',  schools.  ■  January  15,  1891,  the  exterior  of  this  building 
having  been  completed,  and  three  of  the  school  rooms  finished  and  furnished  with  the  necessary  furniture, 
three  brothers  from  Baltimore  arrived  and  took  up  residence  at  a  house  provided  for  them  adjoining  the  school 
building,  and  on  the  above  mentioned  date  they  with  their  pupils  having  assisted  at  the  Holy  Sacrifice  of  the 






Mass  began  their  holy  and  important  work,  and  so  acceptable  that  others  than  those  who  had  been  pupils 
of  the  sisters  begged  to  be  admitted  to  their  instruction  and  care.  This  demand  necessitated  the  finishing  of 
additional  rooms  and  an  increase  of  more -brothers,  both  of  which  was  accomplished  in  one  year,  and  at  this 
date  there  are  six  teaching  brothers,  their  pupils  numbering  about  two  hundred  and  fifty. 

The  importance  of  erecting  a  church,  therefore,  in  this  section  of  East  Boston  may  be  learned  from  what 
has  been  thus  briefly  stated,  as  well  as  from  the  following  facts :  From  the  blessing  of  the  corner-stone,  in 
1869,  to  the  first  of  October,  1894,  besides  the  free  education  of  the  hundreds  of  children  who  have  attended 
the  schools  and  who  at  this  date  number  about  nine  hundred,  there  have  been,  as  seen  upon  the  register, 
embracing  adults,  converts  to  the  church,  as  well  as  infants,  upwards  of  4,300  baptisms.  Such  has  been  the 
work,  with  Heaven's  blessing,  accomplished  by  the  Reverend  Rector  and  a  devoted,  generous  people  in  this 
section  of  East  Boston. 


The  history  of  this  parish  would  not  be  complete  without  a  sketch  of  its  devoted  and  zealous  pastor, 
whose  life  work  has  been  the  upbuilding  of  this  fine  church  and  large  parish.  His  faithful  and  earnest  services 
have  won  the  admiration  of  a  wide  circle  of  friends  and  the  love  of  all  his  parishioners.  Father  Cassin  was 
born  at  Roxbury,  a  few  weeks  after  which  event  his  parents  moved  to  Worcester  and  there  with  him  took  up 
their  residence.  There  he  passed  his  youth  and  acquired  his  elementary  education.  Returning  again  with  his 
parents  to  Boston,  he  was  then  sent  to  make  an  academical  course  at  Regiopolis  College,  Kingston,  Ont.,  and 
afterward  took  a  theological  course  at  St.  Mary's  Seminary,  Baltimore,  Md. 

After  concluding  his  theological  studies  he  was  ordained,  December  17,  1864,  and  returning  to  Boston 
was  appointed  assistant  to  his  uncle,  the  late  Rev.  James  Fitton,  pastor  of  the  Church  of  Most  Holy  Redeemer, 
East  Boston,  and  after  five  years  of  service  he  was  appointed  to  erect  a  church  for  the  Catholics  of  that  part 



of  East  Boston  called  the  first  section  and  to  serve  as  their  pastor.  Shortly  after  he  built  a  parochial  resi- 
dence, in  which  he  has  resided  to  this  date  and  where,  in  all  probability,  he  will  continue  to  reside  until  called 
to  his  eternal  home. 

Re\  .    I.    H.   Cassin,    Pastor  Church  of  the  Assumption,    East  Boston. 



parish  of  tbe  Sacreb  Ibeart, 

East  Boston. 

N  the  month  of  October,  1869,  land  was  bought  for  $2,755,  o^  the  East  Boston  Land 
Company,  on  which  to  erect  this  church,  by  Father  Fitton,  extending  from  the 
corner  130  feet  on  Brooks  Street,  and  100  feet  on  Paris  Street.  An  additional  lot 
was  bought  on  Paris  Street,  100  feet  long,  from  G.  B.  Emerson,  and  the  title  deeded 
to  Bishop  Williams.  On  February  6,  1873,  ground  was  broken  and  preparations 
made  to  commence  the  building  of  the  church.  Father  Fitton  intended  at  first  to 
erect  a  church  of  stone,  but  the  unstable  quality  of  the  ground  made  that  idea  not 
feasible.  The  church  rests  on  20  foot  piles  driven  through  a  vein  of  clay  varying 
from  two  feet,  six  inches,  to  four  feet  in  thickness.  When  all  the  piles  were  driven 
into  the  ground,  28  tons  of  stone  were  placed  on  top  and  left  there  to  settle  the 
underpinning  for  fourteen  days.  It  is  related  that  in  the  digging  Father  Fitton  came  upon  a  great  boulder  at 
one  corner  of  the  foundation,  and  saying  a  Hail  Mary  and  sprinkling  it  with  holy  water  he  denominated  it  as 
the  church's  corner-stone.  Mr.  Herman  H.  Drake,  of  Everett,  was  the  builder,  and  J.  H.  Bessnick  the  archi- 
tect. The  work  was  carried  along  until  Christmas  of  the  year  1873,  when  a  temporary  altar  was  erected  and 
Mass  was  first  said.  The  church  was  finished  at  Easter  in  1S74,  and  was  dedicated  at  the  feast  of  the  Sacred 
Heart  of  that  year  by  the  then  Bishop  Williams.  Rev.  Father  Cassin,  now  of  the  Assumption,  celebrated 
Mass;  Father  McGrath  was  deacon;  Rev.  A.  J.  Teeling,  of  Newburyport,  now  of  Lynn,  sub-deacon;  and  Father 
J.  Delahunty,  now  deceased,  the  master  of  ceremonies.  Among  the  clergy  present  were  Father  Wissel,  C. 
SS.  R.,  who  delivered  the  sermon  on  the  occasion;  Fathers  J.  Hannegan,  L.  P.  McCarthy,  J.  McGlew,  Michael 
Clarke,  D.  S.  Healy,  W.  J.  Fitzpatrick,  T.  O'Brien,  P  Healy,  then  of  Chicopee,  and  Father  Joachim,  O.  S.  F. 
The  junior  and  senior  branches  of  the  East  Boston  Catholic  Total  Abstinence  Society,  wearing  regalias, 
attended  in  a  body.  The  church  is  of  wood,  resting  upon  a  foundation  of  Somerville  stone.  The  Sodality  of 
the  Sacred  Heart  was  formed  July  3,  1874.  The  parochial  residence  then  consisted  of  a  cottage  which  was 
originally  a  barn,  and  afterward  made  into  a  chapel  on  Deer  Island,  and  later  taken  apart  and  moved  to  the 
Sacred  Heart  parish  and  formed  into  a  house.  Here  Father  Lawrence  P.  McCarthy,  the  first  pastor,  resided 
since  1870.  The  church  is  125  feet  long  and  68  feet  wide,  with  a  handsome  spire,  and  is  of  the  Gothic  order 
of  architecture.  The  seating  capacity  of  the  church  is  about  1,000.  Since  the  foundation  of  the  parish  down 
to  1879,  December  31,  the  parish  register  records  884  baptisms.  At  present  there  are  about  900  children 
attending  the  Sunday-school. 

The  interior  of  the  church  merits  a  detailed  description.  It  was  frescoed  by  a  Mr.  Brazer,  now  deceased, 
a  convert  to  the  Catholic  faith.  A  striking  feature  of  the  interior  are  the  magnificent  paintings  upon  the  walls 
of  the  nave.  They  are  the  work  of  a  German,  named  Velper,  who  sold  them  for  only  $1,000  to  the  church, 
being  in  straitened  circumstances  at  the  time.  The  general  effect  of  the  interior,  looking  up  to  the  roof  of  the 
nave,  is  a  blue  sky  effect.  Over  the  main  altar  is  a  splendid  piece  of  art,  representing  the  Roman  soldiers 
transfixing  the  side  of  Christ  hanging  on  the  cross.  On  each  side  of  the  main  altar  are  two  of  the  four 
evangelists,  Matthew,  Mark,  Luke,  and  John.  Seven  arches  line  each  side  of  the  nave,  and  the  arches  are 
supported  by  square  pillars  which  sweep  upward  to  the  clerestory.  Under  the  middle  of  each  arch  hangs 
suspended  an  electric  chandelier.     The  pillars  of  the  arches  are  surmounted  by  gilt  Corinthian  capitals.      In 



the  clerestory  above  each  of  the  six  arches  lining  the  nave  on  each  side  are  three  stained  glass  windows  of  the 
pointed  arch  style,  and  from  each  side  of  the  clerestory  two  sets  of  trusses  spring  across  the  span  of  the  nave 
to  support  the  roof,  and  these  trusses  are  supported  by  under  trusses.  On  each  side  of  the  main  altar  are  two 
statues,  the  Blessed  Virgin  on  the  left  and  St.  Joseph  on  the  right,  looking  toward  the  altar.  On  either  side 
of  the  main  altar  is  a  side  altar.  On  the  epistle  aisle  is  a  painting  of  St.  Joseph  over  the  side  altar,  and  on 
the  gospel  aisle  is  a  picture  of  ("hrist  revealing  himself  in  a  vision  of  the  Sacred  Heart  to  a  holy  nun.  The 
arch  spanning  the  sanctuary  is  of  the  pointed  or  Gothic  style.     The  walls  of  the  church  are  pierced  by  six 

^i  '- 


I        ^ 

f  2     5: 



windows  of  stained  glass.     Over  the  choir  is  a  large  rosette  stained  glass  window,  and  in  the  choir  gallery  is  a 
fine  sounding  organ,  built  by  Hook  &  Hastings. 

Velper's  paintings  form  the  prominent  feature  of  the  interior.  There  are  ten  paintings  in  all,  five  on  each 
wall.  On  the  right,  looking  toward  the  sanctuary,  are  these  paintings,  in  the  following  order,  beginning  from 
the  sanctuary  railing :  "The  Presentation  in  the  Temple,"  "Christ  Teaching  the  Doctors  in  the  Temple, 
"Christ  Changing  the  Water  into  Wine,"  "Christ  Teaching  the  Woman  of  Samaria  at  the  Well,"  "Christ 
Speaking  in  Behalf  of  the  Sinning  Woman,"  saying  to  the  Pharisees,  "Let  him  who  is  without  sin  be  the  first 
to  cast  a  stone  upon  her."     On  the  opposite  side  are  these  paintings:     "The  Burial  of  Christ,"  "Christ  Taken 




Down  from  the  Cross,"  "Christ  Before  Pilate,' 
to  Life  from  the  Tomb." 

The  curates  now  stationed  with 
the  pastor  are  two,  Fathers  McKone 
and  Dwyer.  .The  present  sexton, 
Mr.  Michael  Larkin,  has  held  that 
post  since  January,  1892. 

The  first  pastor  was  Father  Fitton. 
Father  McCarthy,  now  of  the  Most 
Holy  Redeemer,  assisted  him  in  look- 
ing after  the  parish  until  his  appoint- 
ment as  pastor  in  1877.  When 
Father  McCarthy  succeeded  Father 
Fitton,  on  his  death,  as  the  pastor  of 
the  Most  Holy  Redeemer,  Father 
Michael  Clarke  was  appointed  pas- 
tor in  1 88 1.  He  is  at  present  the 
pastor.  Since  his  accession  as  pas- 
tor he  has  erected  on  Paris  Street, 
in  the  rear  of  the  church,  a  new  and 
handsome  parochial  residence  and  a 
large  and  very  commodious  brick 
school-house.  Mr.  Herman  A.  Drake 
was  the  builder.     The  pupils  are  taught 

'The  Agony  in  the  Garden,"   "Christ  Raising  the  Dead  Man 

Residence,  Church 

East  Boston. 

community  of  Notre  Dame  Sisters,  who  reside  at  the  convent 
in  the  Most  Holy  Redeemer  parish. 
The  school  and  the  sodalities  in  the 
parish  are  in  a  flourishing  condition, 
owing  to  the  interest  and  untiring 
work  of  the  pastor.  To  briefly  de- 
^ig^^  scribe  the  school,  it  is  a  brick  build- 

1       ^^  ^"S'    three    stories    in    height,    with 

granite  trimmings,  with  a  slate  roof 
of  the  Mansard  style.  Two  doors, 
one  at  each  side,  each  covered  with 
a  small  portico,  give  easy  access  to 
all  parts  of  the  school. 

Parochial  School,  Church 

Sacked  Heart,  East  Boston. 


St  /lftar^'8,  Star  of  tbe  Sea, 

East  JBoston. 

OR  twenty  years,  from  1844  to  1864,  one  church  had  to  suffice  for  accommodating  all 
the  Catholic  people  of  East  Boston.  The  fourth  section,  as  it  was  called,  being  the 
most  distant  part  of  the  island  from  the  mother  church  of  East  Boston,  was  the  first 
to  claim  at  the  hands  of  that  indefatigable  missionary,  Father  Fitton,  extra  provision. 
So  in  1864  he  purchased  for  $4,400  four  lots  of  land,  comprising  40,000  square  feet, 
and  bounded  by  Moore,  Saratoga,  and  Bennington  Streets.  The  first  step  of  Father 
Fitton's  design  was  to  furnish  a  Sunday-school  for  the  children.  To  procure  funds 
for  this  purpose  he  offered  weekly  Mass  for  the  benefit  of  all  those  who  would  con- 
tribute toward  the  undertaking.      Such  was  the  response  of  the  generosity  and  piety 

of  the  people,  that,  in  a  very  brief  period,  $2,800  was  received,  and  with  this  nucleus  Father  Fitton  erected  a 

little  chapel,  which  later  on  was  moved  to  the  corner  of  Moore  and  Bennington  Streets  and  used  as  a  parochial 

school.     In  this  chapel   Mass  was  first  celebrated  in  the  Fourth  Section  December  26,  1864,  and  the  children 

present  numbered  one  hundred.     One  year  later  the  census  showed  200  children,  50  single  men  and  women, 

and  145  families.    Whereupon,  Father 

Fitton  was  prompted  to  enlarge  the 

church  accommodations,  and  August 

16,    1868,  his   labors    were    realized. 

The  church  of  St.  Mary's,  Star  of  the 

Sea,  was   completed    and   dedicated. 

In  connection  with  the  church,  Father 

Fitton  built  a  two-story  frame  house 

which  served  as  a  parochial  residence 

until  later  years.     Up  to  1875  Father 

Fitton  himself   had   charge  over  the 

church    with    the    assistance    of    his 

curates.    Among  them  was  the  saintly 

Father  Lamb,  who  is  still  remembered 

in  the   hearts   of  the  people  in  that 

locality.     In  1875,  however,  the  parish 

was  set  off  from  that  of  the  Most  Holy 

Redeemer  and    Father    D.  J.  O'Far- 

rell,  later  of  Stoneham,  was  appointed 

first   pastor.     For  two   years   he   ad- 

.    .  ,     ,  ■    ,        rr    ■  J   .1,  St.  Mary's  Star  of  the  Sea,  East  Boston. 

ministered  the  parish  affairs  and  then 

he  was  sent  to  take  charge  of  a  parish  in  Stoneham,  and  for  the  two  years  following  the  parish  was  in  charge 
of  Rev.  Lawrence  P.  McCarthy,  then  pastor  of  the  Sacred  Heart.  In  1879,  Father  Michael  Clarke,  now  of  the 
Sacred  Heart,  was  appointed  pastor  and  so  continued  until,  in  1881,  he  was  sent  to  administer  the  pastoral 
affairs  of  the  Sacred  Heart.  Father  John  O'Donnell  was  the  succeeding  pastor,  but  poor  health  compelled 
him  to  resign  his  charge  in  the  fall  of  1883.  His  brother.  Rev.  Hugh  Roe  O'Donnell,  took  up  the  labor  Father 
John  relinquished,  and  he  is  the  present  pastor. 



INTERIOR    ST.    MARY'S,    STAR    OF    THE    SEA,    EAST    BOSTON. 



The  present  church  is  a  neat,  though  unpretentious  building,  91  feet  long  and  47  feet  in  width,  and  the 
height  to  the  hip  of  the  roof  is  about  35  feet.  A  small  tower  surmounts  the  roof  in  front,  and  the  aspect  of 
the  church  is  simple  and  attractive.  The  interior  is  in  keeping  with  the  exterior.  The  ceiling  of  the  nave  is 
frescoed  in  circular  panels  containing  emblematic  figures.  The  sanctuary  possesses  a  marked  degree  of 
beauty.  The  altar  is  of  Roman  design,  the  base  being  handsomely  ornamented  in  pillars  and  panels.  The 
reredos  is  finely  decorated.  The  altar  piece  is  a  striking  painting  of  the  Crucifixion,  and  at  either  side  are  the 
side  altars.  The  choir  possesses  a  good  organ.  The  church  as  it  now  stands  will,  undoubtedly,  prove  in  time 
inadequate  for  the  parish  needs  and  a  new  temple  of  God  may  take  the  place  of  the  present  one.  There  is 
ample  ground  whereon  to  build,  for  there  is  a  vacant  lot  on  the  right  facing  the  church  and  it  extends  to  the 
corner  of  Saratoga  and  Moore  Streets,  and  it  extends  in  depth  to  the  rectory  on  Moore  Street.  On  the  oppo- 
site corner  stands  a  splendid  brick,  two-storied  parochial  school,  St.  Francis  Xavier's,  erected  by  the  present 
pastor.  The  first  corps  of  teachers  were  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame,  but  later  the  Sisters  of  Mercy  were  intro- 
duced and  the  community  now  numbers  nine  teaching 
and  two  lay  sisters.  The  school  compares  favorably 
with  the  best  of  public  schools,  and  it  is  always  open 
to  inspection  by  whomsoever  wishes  to  see  the  work- 
ings of  the  institution. 

In  the  fall  of  1890  the  pastor  erected  the  convent 
on  Moore  Street,  just  beyond  the  school,  where  reside 

Rev.  John  O'Donnell, 
St.  Mary's,  Star  < 

Former  Pastor 
F  THE  Sea. 

Rev.  Hugh  Roe  ODonnell,  Pastor  St.  Ma 
Star  of  the  Sea. 

the  sisterhood.  In  May,  1893,  ground  was  broken  for  the  handsome  and  commodious  pastoral  residence,  of  three 
stories,  and  it  was  occupied,  the  work  having  been  pushed  on  to  completion,  in  December  of  the  same  year. 
Two  curates  at  present  assist  Father  O'Donnell.  Father  O'Donnell  has  charge  of  a  mission  church  in  Win- 
throp,  St.  John  the  Evangelist,  which  he  erected  at  the  cost  of  $7,000.  He  also  has  increased  the  parish 
property  by  the  purchase,  for  $5,000,  of  five  extra  lots  of  land  around  the  church  for  the  future  needs  of  the 
parish.     The  seating  capacity  of  the  church  of  the  Star  of  the  Sea  is  about  900. 

Of  the  societies  in  the  church  may  be  mentioned  the  Young  Men's  Catholic  Union,  comprising  150  mem- 
bers. The  spiritual  director  is  the  pastor.  It  has  a  pool  room,  library,  gymnasium,  and  reading  room.  A 
requisite  of  membership  is  a  membership  in  a  sodality  of  the  parish.     The  Sunday-school  now  numbers  about 



530  pupils.     The  Ladies'  Aid  and^^Sewing  Circle  and  the  Young  Women's  Sodality  also  deserve  mention  as 
parish  organizations. 

Father  O'Donnell,  the  pastor,  was  the  son  of  a  Dublin  physician,  Constantine  O'Donnell,  and  came  to 
this  country  when  one  year  old.  He  spent  his  early  years  in  South  Boston  and  was  confirmed  in  SS.  Peter 
and  Paul's  Church.  He  spent  two  years  at  Holy  Cross,  Worcester,  and  then  went  to  Boston  College.  Thence 
he  went  to  study  at  the  Petit  Seminary  of  St.  Charles,  Md.,  and  next  entered  the  Seminary  of  St.  Sulpice,  Balti- 
more, and  was  ordained  at  the  Christmas  ordinations  of  1873.  His  first  appointment  was  to  Bishop  Fitz- 
patrick's  church,  St.  John's,  in  East  Cambridge,  where  he  was  stationed  eight  years.     He  was  next  appointed 

to  SS.  Peter  and  Paul's,  South  Boston,  where  he  labored  four  years,  and  on  the  resignation  of  his  brother. 
Father  John  O'Donnell,  as  pastor  of  the  Star  of  the  Sea,  he  was  appointed  pastor  of  that  church.  It  may  be 
mentioned  that  two  sisters  of  Father  O'Donnell  joined  the  order  of  the  Sisters  of  Mercy.  Father  O'Donnell 
has  acquired  the  reputation  of  being  an  eloquent  preacher  and  has  labored  with  zeal,  especially  in  the  further- 
ance of  temperance.  Of  his  predecessor,  Father  John,  it  is  worthy  of  mention  that  he  was  a  native  of  Dublin, 
was  educated  in  the  Monaghan  Petit  Seminary,  Ireland,  and  afterwards  was  educated  at  Maynooth  and 
ordained  under  the  Dunboyne  establishment. 



parieb  of  St.  IRose  of  Xima, 


OSE  of  everlasting  bloom!     Such  indeed  is  the  Catholic  Church.     In  the  storms  of 

persecution,  in  the  frosts  of  hate,  through  all  the   years  that  mark  the  change  of 

times,  peoples,  governments,  she  alone  preserves  her  beauty  undecayed,  for  her  red 

bloom   was 

colored    in 


dyes  by  the 

blood    of 

her    divine 

Master  on 
the  cross,  and  is  ever  renewed  by  the 
blood  of  martyrs  as  often  as  spring 
returns  to  the  world.  Her  temples, 
too,  partake  of  her  divine  quality, 
and  once  God's  altar  is  erected  in 
the  midst  of  a  community  it  never 
entirely  perishes,  no  matter  what 
bigotry  or  persecution  may  attempt 
to  do.  What  more  appropriate  name, 
then,  could  have  been  chosen  for  the 
Catholic  Church  in  Chelsea  than  St. 
Rose?  The  Catholic  pioneers  of 
that  city  selected  wisely,  in  1865, 
when  they  dedicated  their  temple  to 
God  under  the  patronage  of  St.  Rose 
of  Lima,  the  first  American  Saint. 

The  beginning  of  Catholicity  in 
Chelsea,  however,  goes  farther  back, 
at  least  for  twenty- five  years.  Tlic 
first  Mass  there  was  said  in  the  house 
of  Orestes  A.  Brownson,  the  famous 
convert,  by  Father  O'Brien,  at  which  a 
half  dozen  were  present.  The  second 
Mass  was  celebrated,  and  others 
followed  for  some  time  afterwards, 
in  a  room  measuring  14  x  14,  in  the 
house  of  Mr.  Bernard  Fanning,  on  Pine  Street.  This  house  is  still  standing.  The  first  appointed  pastor 
was  a  Father  Radigan,  who  was  sent  to  Chelsea  by  Bishop  Fenwick.     The  priest  boarded  with  Mr.  Fanning, 







who  was  one  of  the  oldest  Irish  Catholics  in  Chelsea.  He  was  run  over  by  a  team  one  day  in  the  streets  of 
Boston,  breaking  his  leg,  and  his  pastorate  was  thereby  ended.  Father  O'Bierne  was  the  next  pastor.  He  was 
succeeded  by  Father  Smith.  For  a  time  Father  Smith  celebrated  Mass  in  a  hall  on  Winnisimmet  Street,  where 
the  National  Bank  now  stands.  The  first  attempt  to  erect  a  church  was  made  by  Father  Smith,  with  the 
assistance  of  Messrs.  Fanning  and  Coyle,  who  went  around  among  the  few  Catholics  in  the  section  and 
collected  $400,  which  was  the  iirst  payment  to  Mr.  John  Fenno,  of  the  Winnisimmet  Ferry  Company,  for  6,000 
feet  of  land  and  a  large  double  house  on  Cottage  Street.  The  pastor  occupied  one  side  as  a  home,  and  Mr. 
Lanigan,  a  builder,  transformed  the  upper  part  into  a  church,  at  a  cost  of  about  $2,000.  Father  Smith  died 
while  acting  as  pastor,  after  some  years,  and  in  1865  Father  Strain  came  to  Chelsea.  He  sought  to  have  a 
church  larger,  more  commodious,  and  handsomer  than  the  old  one,  and  the  work  began  as  soon  as  he  took 
charge,  and  he  founded  the  present  church  of  St.  Rose  of  Lima,  on  Broadway. 

The  church  is  of  Gothic  design,  and  it  was  drawn  by  P.  C.  Keely,  the  celebrated  architect.  The  land  on 
which  it  stands  was  bought  of  the  Winnisimmet  Land  Company,  and  the  church,  including  land,  cost  upwards 
of  $40,000.  It  was  dedicated,  in  1865,  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick.  Catholicity  has  had  no  easy  task  to  prosper  in 
Chelsea.     In  the  beginning  the  Catholics  were  few  in  number  and  poor  in  money.     In  addition  it  encountered 

Parochial  Residence  St.  Rose  Church,  Broadway.  Che 

a  hostile  spirit,  which  even  went  so  far  as  to  pull  down  the  cross  upon  the  church  on  Cottage  Street  in  the  days 
of  the  character  dubbed  the  Angel  Gabriel. 

The  body  of  the  church  is  divided  into  three  aisles  by  two  rows  of  columns,  six  on  each  side,  which  sup- 
port seven  arches.  Six  windows  of  stained  glass  are  set  in  each  wall  of  the  nave.  On  the  clerestory,  which  is 
painted  in  buff  and  yellow,  are  frescoes  of  the  twelve  apostles.  There  are  two  side  altars,  one  to  St.  Joseph, 
and  one  on  the  gospel  side  to  the  Blessed  Virgin  Mary.  Over  the  choir  is  a  rosette  window  of  stained  glass. 
The  organ  is  finished  in  oak,  and  on  the  oak  railing  of  the  choir  is  a  medallion  of  St.  Cecilia.  Two  stained 
glass  windows  illumine  the  choir,  one  window  on  each  side.  Within  the  sanctuary  are  six  paintings:  St. 
Rose  of  Lima,  The  Blessed  Virgin,  the  Sermon  on  the  Mount,  St.  Joseph,  and  St.  Bridget  of  Kildare.  Above 
the  main  altar  is  a  rosette  window  of  stained  glass,  and  between  the  sanctuary  and  the  side  altars  are  two 
statues,  one  of  Jesus  on  the  gospel  side,  and  one  of  the  Holy  Virgin  on  the  epistle  side.  Two  adoring  angels 
are  stationed  on  either  side  of  the  high  altar.     Just  without  the  sanctuary  railing,  on  the  epistle  aisle,  is  a 



memorial  tablet  of  marble  upon  the  wall  to  Mrs.  Mary  Clarke.  On  the  roof  are  frescoed  symbols  of  faith. 
The  pews  are  made  of  oak  and  seat  about  1,100  people. 

The  next  pastor  of  the  church  was  the  Rt.  Rev.  Mgr.  Patrick  Strain,  later  of  Lynn.  He'served  as  pastor 
from  1865  to  1867,  when  he  was  succeeded  by  the  present  "pastor,  Rev.  James  McGlew.  Father  McGlew  was 
born  in  County  Meath,  Ireland,  in  June,  1823.  He  was  educated  at  a  school  in  Navan,  and  pursued  his  theo- 
logical course  in  All-Hallows  Seminary.  He  was  first  sent  on  a  mission  among  the  Hindoos.  In  1850  he 
came  to  America,  and  was  stationed  in  Buffalo  and  in  New  York  prior  to  coming  to  Chelsea.  The  curates  are 
Fathers  Mulligan,  Grady,  and  Sheerin. 

The  sodalities  in  the  parish  are  numerous  and  comprise  the  St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  the  Holy  Name,  League 
of  the  Sacred  Heart,  which  numbers  3,000  members.  Total  Abstinence  Society,  and  sodalities  for  the  young 
men,  young  women,  married  men,  and  the  married  women.  Also  may  be  mentioned  sodalities  for  the  younger 
people  and  children. 

The  parish  school  is  a  fine  building  of  brick,  three  stories  high  and  with  a  slate  mansard  roof,  surmounted 
by  a  cupola  tipped  with  a  cross.     Twenty-five  windows  give  light  in  front  and  the  school  is  equally  well  lighted 




Ski.j^  -tti 


on  the  other  sides.  Three  doors  give  exit.  On  the  front  of  the  school  is  set  a  marble  stone  which  states  that 
the  house  was  erected  in  1887  by  Rev.  James  McGlew.  The  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame  taught  the  school  previous 
to  the  coming  of  the  Sisters  of  Providence,  five  years  ago.  There  are  thirteen  class  rooms  in  the  brick  school 
and  six  in  the  convent  itself,  and  the  school  is  attended  by  about  950  pupils,  boys  and  girls.  The  Sunday- 
school  numbers  1,000.  The  sisters  teach  in  the  Sunday-school  also.  The  course  of  study  extends  from  that  of 
beginners  up  to  that  of  high  school  graduates.  The  course  embraces  sewing,  embroidery,  music,  type-writing, 
book-keeping,  and  a  thorough  course  in  English.  Seventeen  of  the  sisters  teach  classes  and  three  teach  music. 
The  superior  of  the  convent  is  Sister  St.  Clement.  The  mother  house  of  the  order  in  the  United  States  is 
at  St.  Mary  of  the  Woods,  St.  Mary's  Post-office,  Indiana,  and  it  was  founded  in  this  country  October  22,  1840. 
The  sisterhood  originated  in  Ruielle,  on  the  Loire  River,  in  France.  The  sisters  reside  in  the  convent,  a 
four-storied,  brick  building,  erected  in  1872  and  standing  somewhat  back  and  between  the  church  and  school, 
fronting  on  Chestnut  Street.  Within  the  school  is  a  chapel  where  the  children  attend  Mass.  There  is  a  hall 
in  the  upper  part  of  the  school  building  which  seats  about  1,000. 


The  parochial  house  is  of  wood,  standing  on  a  green  terrace  on  tlie  corner  of  Pleasant  Avenue  and 
Broadway,  and  is  a  handsome  and  very  commodious  residence.  The  growtli  of  the  parish  has  been  constant, 
the  congregation  now  numbering  fully  8,000  persons.  The  devoted  and  zealous  pastor,  in  his  nearly  thirty  years 
of  service  with  this  people,  has  well  earned  the  gratitude  and  love  which  he  receives  from  them  in  such 
abundant  measure. 



St.  Jfrancis  be  Sales*  parish. 


rr  is  a  matter  of  common  knowledge  that  where  the  memorable  battle  was  fought,  June  17, 
1775,  was  not  on  Bunker  Hill,  but  on  Breed's  Hill.  The  veritable  Bunker  Hill  is  the  hill 
now  crowned  with  a  temple  of  God,  St.  Francis  de  Sales'  Church.  In  1859,  on  the  eve 
of  the  Civil  war,  Father  George  A.  Hamilton  began  building  St.  Francis  de  Sales'  on 
Charlestown  Heights.  In  those  days,  when  Catholicity  was  not  fully  understood  and 
even  hated  in  Massachusetts,  the  good  people  of  Bunker  Hill  were  horrified  at  the  idea 
of  a  Catholic  church  rising  on  that  classic  ground,  and  Deacon  Hunnewell,  who  sold 
the  land,  was  reproached  and  argued  with  by  the  members  of  his  church,  but  he  carried  out  his  agreement. 
There  was  even  then  talk  of  violence,  and  Father  Hamilton  placed  a  watchman  to  guard  the  building  at  night. 
When,  September  11,  1859,  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  laid  the  corner-stone,  a  stone  of  five  tons'  weight  was  placed  on 
top  so  the  corner-stone  might  not  be  disturbed,  but  there  was  no  actual  trouble.  The  church  was  solemnly 
dedicated  June  17,  1862.  Bishop  de  Goesbriand,  who  ordained  the  present  pastor,  celebrated  Mass  and  Arch- 
bishop Spalding  preached  the  sermon. 

When  Father  M.  J.  Supple  became  pastor  the  debt  was  $69,000.  Gradually  it  decreased  until,  in  1884, 
the  church  became  free  of  debt.  August  17,  1884,  it  was  consecrated.  It  is  the  church  consecrated  first  in  the 
Boston  Archdiocese.  Archbishop  Williams  celebrated  Mass,  assisted  by  Vicar-General  Byrne,  assistant  priest ; 
Father  Barry,  Vicar-General  of  Manchester,  N.  H.,  and  Rev.  T.  J.  Dowling,  now  Bishop  of  Hamilton,  Ont., 
deacons;  Father  Thomas  McGennis,  of  Jamaica  Plain,  and  Rev.  J.  T.  Canavan,  of  Milford,  junior  deacons, 
and  Revs.  W.  H.  Ryan,  of  Newburyport,  and  Garrett  J.  Barry,  masters  of  ceremonies.  Bishops  Moore,  of 
Florida,  and  Conroy,  of  Albany,  were  present  and  Archbishop  Corrigan,  of  New  York,  preached.  At  the 
evening  vesper  services  Father  Maguin,  S.  J.,  who  preached  twenty-five  years  before  at  the  laying  of  the  cor- 
ner-stone, delivered  the  sermon. 

The  entire  cost  of  the  church  is  about  $200,000.  P.  C.  Keely  was  the  architect,  and  this  noble  edifice 
designed  by  him  is  of  Celtic  architecture.  It  is  built  of  blue  stone  and  is  150  feet  long,  71  feet  wide,  and  the 
spire  is  18 1  feet  high,  towering  even  above  the  monument  of  Bunker  Hill.  The  church  contains  294  pews. 
The  interior  is  worthy  of  the  exterior.  Two  galleries  run  from  the  choir  loft  along  the  walls,  one  on  each  side 
of  the  nave.  On  each  side  of  the  nave  fluted  pillars  rise,  sweeping  into  arches  which  support  the  clerestory. 
There  are  ten  arches  on  each  side.  Under  each  gallery  are  seven  stained  glass  windows,  and  there  is  one  on 
each  side  of  the  vestibule.  On  a  level  with  each  gallery  are  twenty  stained  glass  windows,  long,  arched,  and 
narrow,  and  set  in  pairs,  and  over  each  pair  is  set  a  circular  pane  of  stained  glass.  In  the  sanctuary  above  the 
altar  is  a  large,  round  window  of  stained  glass,  picturing  Christ.  On  the  reredos  of  the  main  altar  are  three 
paintings.  The  middle  piece  represents  angelic  hosts  adoring  and  en-\wapped  in  the  effulgence  of  the  God- 
head; the  one  on  the  epistle  side  represents  the  Annunciation  and  the  one  on  the  right,  the  Nativity.  On  the 
left  side  of  the  altar  itself  is  a  statue  of  the  Sacred  Heart  and  on  the  right,  one  of  St.  Joseph,  and  each  statue 
rests  on  a  pedestal  fronted  by  a  statue  of  an  angel  bearing  a  torch.  On  the  epistle  side  is  an  altar  to  the 
Blessed  Virgin  and  on  the  gospel  side  one  to  St.  Francis  de  Sales.     Over  each  side  altar  is  a  small,  round 



stained  glass  window,  and  beneatli  each  of  these  windows  is  a  painting  representing  a  sacred  theme.  The 
organ  in  the  choir  is  black  walnut  in  finish,  with  gilded  pipes.  Along  the  walls  of  the  nave  are  the  stations  of 
the  cross.  The  contour  of  the  roof  is  a  long,  half  cyclinder  or  tunnel  formed  arch.  The  general  tone  of  the 
decorations  is  buff.  The  roof  is  pink  in  color  with  buff  borders.  The  seating  capacity  of  the  church  is  about 
2,000  and  the  congregation  numbers  upwards  of  5,500  souls. 

In  1881  a  fine,  commodious  parochial  residence  of  brick  was  built  at  the  cost  of  $18,000.  Nearly  oppo- 
site the  church,  on  Bunker  Hill  Street,  crowning  the  very  summit  of  the  hill  and  overlooking  the  country  for 
miles  around,  stands  a  great  school-house.      It  is  the  parish  school,  and  it  towers  apparently  as  high  as  the 


monument  on  Breed's  Hill.  It  is  of  brick,  with  granite  trimmings,  five  stories  high.  Two  arched  door- 
ways form  the  entrances.  It  was  built  according  to  plans  drawn  by  Mr.  C.  I.  Bateman.  It  is  125  feet  long 
and  75  feet  wide,  and  cost  over  $125,000,  including  price  of  the  land.  It  contains  sixteen  rooms  and  one  large 
hall  well  adapted  for  lectures  or  entertainments,  and  the  seating  capacity  of  the  hall  is  1,000.  The  building 
of  the  school  commenced  in  May,  1890,  and  the  school  being  completed  it  was  opened  in  September,  189 1. 
About  900  children  attend  at  the  school  and  the  teachers,  who  number  fifteen,  are  members  of  the  Sisters  of 






St.  Dominic,  whose  mother  house  in  tlie  United  States  is  in  Springfield,  Ky.  This  is  a  teaching  order  founded 
in  France  in  the  13th  century.  The  sisters  reside  in  a  convent,  a  small,  unpretentious  wooden  building  on  the 
left  of  the  church,  across  the  street  from  the  school. 

The  people  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales'  parish  take  a  lively  interest  in  their  church  and  do  their  full  share  in 
parish  work.  The  usual  societies  are  here,  including  the  Children  of  Mary,  the  sodalities,  and  the  League  of 
the  Sacred  Heart.  Moreover,  there  are  two  flourishing  temperance  societies.  The  conference  of  St.  Vincent 
de  Paul  has  quite  a  large  membership,  and  as  usual  in  parishes  where  this  society  is  established  it  does  much 
for  the  wise  and  judicious  relief  of  the  poor.  This  conference  is  unusually  flourishing,  and  in  addition  to  the 
amount  disbursed  in  charity  every  season  it  has  accumulated  a  handsome  fund,  available  for  emergencies. 
The  Sunday-school  numbers  900  children.      In  this   Father  James  Supple  takes  a  deep  interest  and  to  its 


management  he  devotes  unremitting  care  and  labor.  The  children  are  carefully  taught  and  prepared  for  the 
sacraments,  and  when  they  graduate  are  thoroughly  grounded  in  Christian  doctrine. 

The  pastors  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales'  parish,  preceding  the  present  pastor,  were  Father  G.  A.  Hamilton, 
whose  pastorate  extended  from  1855  ^'^  1865  inclusive,  and  Rev.  Michael  J.  Supple,  who  was  parish  priest 
from  July,  1865,  to  1888. 

Father  James  N.  Supple  was  born  in  Milford,  Mass.,  Jan.  19,  1850,  and  studied  in  the  town  high  school. 
He  then  entered  Holy  Cross,  where  he  remained  until  the  end  of  his  year  in  the  class  of  rhetoric.  He  then 
entered  the  Troy  Seminary  in  1870  and  was  ordained  to  the  priesthood  May  30,  1874,  by  Bishop  de  Goes- 
briand,  of  Burlington.  He  was  then  appointed  a  curate  to  St.  Augustine's  Church,  South  Boston.  He  was 
transferred  April  8,  1879,  to  St.  Francis  de  Sales',  Charlestown,  as  a  curate,  and  became  its  pastor,  succeeding 
his  brother.  Rev.  M.  J.  Supple,  in  1888. 



It  is  said  that  in  these  days  faith  is  dying  out;  that  people  do  not  care  any  longer  for  religion  and  God. 
They  who  talk  in  this  way  do  not  see  what  is  right  before  their  eyes.  Here,  for  instance,  is  a  parish  —  a  thor- 
oughly Christian  and  Catholic  community.  They  have  given  of  their  substance,  labored  hard,  made  many 
sacrifices,  and  all  for  the  sake  of  their  religion,  that  they  and  their  children  and  their  children's  children  may 
preserve  the  faith  of  their  fathers,  and  live  and  die  in  the  holy  Church.  Led  by  their  devoted  and  zealous 
priests,  they  have  raised  on  these  lofty  heights  the  three  distinctive  monuments  of  our  holy  religion  —  the 
church,  the  convent,  and  the  school  —  the  plainest  evidence  that  faith  is  not  dead  nor  the  care  for  the  little 
ones  of  the  flock  in  the  least  relaxed. 






St  Catberine'8  parish. 


,  CATHERINE'S  is  the  youngest  parish  of  Charlestown,  being  a  branch  of  the  St.  Francis 
de  Sales'  parisli,  which  by  1887  had  grown  so  extensively  as  to  make  it  necessary  to  divide 
it  into  two,  and  on  Father  -Michael  J.  Supple's  advice  a  portion  was  cut  off  from  the 
parish  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales,  and  thus  began  the  parish  of  St.  Catherine.  The  corner- 
stone was  laid  Sunday,  July  31,  1887,  by  Vicar-General  Byrne.  On  this  occasion  the 
eloquent  Dr.  T.  J.  Conaty,  of  Worcester,  preached.  Work  was  begun  on  the  church  in 
April,  1887,  and  the  price  paid  for  the  land  was  $15,000.  The  church  is  now  fully  com- 
pleted, except  that  the  interior  is  yet  somewhat  unfinished  and  will  not  be  entirely  com- 
pleted until  the  beginning  of  1895.  It  will  cost  over  $50,000.  The  dimensions  of  the 
church  are,  in  length,  156  feet;  in  width,  98  feet.  The  main  auditorium  is  90  feet  long  and  70  feet  wide.  The 
vestibule  measures  38  by  18  feet,  and  the  sanctuary  is  38  by  20  feet.  On  the  right  of  the  sanctuary  is  a 
library,  24  by  27  feet,  and  on  the  left  is  the  sacristy,  42  by  27  feet.  There  is  at  present  no  school  nor  convent 
connected  with  the  parish.  The  parochial  residence,  on  the  corner  of  Vine  and  Corey  Streets,  is  a  handsome, 
substantial  building,  of  three  stories,  erected  by  Father  Boylan.  It  is  a  brick  structure.  The  church  up  to  the 
present  time  is  not  dedicated.  Two  clergymen  assist  Father  Boylan  in  the  parish  work.  Father  Boylan  took 
charge  of  the  parish  in  1888. 

Mass  was  said  for  the  first  time  in  the  church  at  Christmas,  1887.  Father  M.  J.  Supple  bought  the  land 
on  which  St.  Catherine's  now  stands.  The  church  is  situated  at  the  foot  of  Bunker  Hill,  on  Vine  Street,  and 
it  is  built  of  faced  brick  with  freestone  trimmings,  in  the  style  of  the  renaissance  period  of  the  basilica  type, 
from  plans  drawn  by  Architect  Charles  J.  Bateman.  The  congregation  contains  nearly  5,000  souls  and  the 
seating  capacity  of  the  church  is  1,000. 

Father  Matthew  T.  Boylan,  the  present  pastor  of  St.  Catherine's,  is  a  genial,  unassuming  gentleman  to  all 
with  whom  he  comes  in  contact.  It  is  almost  superfluous  to  add  that  he  is  a  zealous  priest  and  will  yet  make 
of  the  parish  one  of  the  best,  spiritually  and  materially.  He  is  a  native  of  that  island  which  has  been  the 
prolific  source  of  abbots,  nuns,  saints,  and  holy  priests, —  Ireland.  He  acquired  his  education  at  Holy  Cross, 
Worcester,  and  at  Montreal  College,  and  then  in  the  Grand  Seminary  at  Montreal  further  prosecuted  his 
studies  toward  reaching  the  end  that  had  been  in  his  heart  even  in  his  youth — the  sacred  ministry.  He  was 
raised  to  the  order  of  the  priesthood  by  Archbishop  Fabre,  of  Montreal,  at  the  Christmas  ordinations,  twenty- 
two  years  ago.  He  was  first  sent  as  a  curate  to  Cambridge,,  then  to  Brookline,  and  while  there  was  appointed 
pastor  in  Medway.     Whilst  holding  that  pastorate  he  was  called  to  assume  the  care  of  St.  Catherine's. 






Ipartsb  of  St.  Stephen, 

ISHOP  FENWICK  made  it  a  special  object  of  his  episcopate  to  provide  sufficient 
cliurch  accommodation  for  tlie  faithful.  He  had  pretty  well  accomplished  this  by 
1842,  when  he  turned  his  attention  to  those  Catholics  in  Boston  who,  upon  the  plea  of 
poverty,  had  not  engaged  sittings  in  any  church.  To  meet  this  case  he  decided  to 
establish  a  free  church.  On  November  20,  he  authorized  the  Rev.  John  B.  McMahon 
to  receive  contributions  for  the  purpose.  Learning  that  a  good  brick  building  on 
Moon  Street,  at  the  North  End,  measuring  60  by  42  feet,  used  as  a  storehouse  for 
pork,  could  be  purchased,  he  bought  it  January  7,  1843,  for  $8,000.  By  fitting  it  with 
an  altar,  choir  gallery,  and  organ,  and  supplying  it  with  settee  framed  seats,  he  trans- 
formed it  into  a  church,  which  he  dedicated  under  the  patronage  of  St.  John  the  Baptist.  The  wisdom  of  the 
undertaking  was  quickly  proven  by  the  large  congregation  that  came  from  all  parts  of  the  city  to  assist  at  the 

services  held  there.  While  admission  and 
seats  were  free  to  all  comers,  the  priest  in 
attendance  derived  his  support  from  collections 
made  in  the  neighborhood. 

Father  McMahon  was  first  assigned  to 
the  congregation.  He  was  succeeded  by  the 
Rev.  George  Foxcroft  Haskins  in  1846.  At 
this  time  the  parish  lines  were  designated.  The 
territory  was  cut  off  from  the  older  parish  of 
St.  Mary.  Father  Haskins  was  not  long  in 
pastoral  charge  when,  near  the  church  on 
Moon  Street,  he  established  a  home  for  way- 
ward boys,  called  the  Hovise  of  the  Angel 
Guardian.  This  undertaking  afterwards 
developed  into  the  important  institution  of 
that  name,  now  situated  in  Roxbury. 

The  congregation  having  become  too  large 
for  the  church  after  the  lapse  of  fifteen  years. 
Father  Williams,  then  administrator  of  the 
diocese,  bought  the  New  North  Church,  also 
called  Parkman's  Church,  on  September  26, 
1862,  for  $35,000.  It  was  situated  at  the 
corner  of  Hanover  and  Clark  Streets,  and 
was  substantially  the  building  now  known  as 
St.  Stephen's  Church.  It  had  been  erected 
in  1804  for  the  Second  Church  society,  whose 
house  of  worship  is  now  located  in  Copley's 
Square.  A  bell  made  by  Paul  Revere,  of  Revolutionary  memory,  was  hung  in  the  tower  in  1805,  and  still 
remains  there.     After  undergoing  some  necessary  alterations,  the  building  was  dedicated  to  Catholic  worship. 






under  the  invocation  of  St.   Stephen,  by  Father  \\'iniams,  on  November  27,  when  the  dedicatory  sermon  was 
preached  by  the  Rev.  Dr.  Cummings,  of  New  Yorl<:. 

Father  Haskins  died  in  1872,  mourned  by  the  whole  city,  but  especially  by  his  parishioners,  whose  affec- 
tion he  had  entirely  won.  His  obsequies  at  St.  Stephen's  constituted  an  event  long  remembered  for  the 
throngs  of  sorrowing  people  who  came  from  far  and  near  to  assist  at  them. 

The  Rev.  Michael  Moran  was  called  from  Abington  to  fill  the  vacant  pastorate.  In  his  administration, 
the  present  parochial  residence  was  purchased.  Also,  the  church  was  enlarged  and  otherwise  improved  at  a 
cost  of  $30,000.  But  the  chief  work  of  this  zealous  pastor  was  the  erection  of  St.  John's  Parochial  School 
upon  the  site  of  the  old  church  of  St.  John. 

This  is  an  imposing  edifice,  built  of  brick  and  trimmed  with  granite.  It  is  a  three-story  building,  the 
hio-hest  being  a  double  story,  and  it  occupies  a  lot  measuring  16,087  square  feet.  Besides  the  sanitaries,  the 
basement  contains  the  usual  means  for  heating  and  ventilating.  The  top  floor  is  devoted  to  a  spacious  audi- 
torium, called  St.  John's  Hall,  furnished  with  stage  and  scenery.  The 
other  floors  are  occupied  by  nine  class  rooms  for  boys,  and  eleven  for 
girls,  together  with  office,  dressing  room,  etc.  The  school  registers 
show  the  names  of  300  boys  and  500  girls;  while  the  average  attend- 
ance for  the  past  year  was  650.  The  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame,  assisted 
by  two  lay  teachers,  are  the  instructors.  The  funds  necessary  to 
accomplish  all  this  were  munificently  contributed,  through  the  medium 
of  fairs,  entertainments,  or  voluntary  gifts  by  the  congregation.  The 
present  church  property  is  valued  at  about  $250,000,  and  is  unencum- 
bered by  a  dollar  of  indebtedness. 

Only  a  few  months  have  passed  since  death  deprived  the  commu- 
nity of  the  useful  life  of  Father  Moran.  He  was  born  in  Ireland  in 
1834,  and  at  the  age  of  two  years  was  carried  by  his  parents  to  St. 
John,  N.  B.,  and  subsequently  to  Boston.  He  received  his  early  edu- 
cation at  the  old  Dwight  school-house  on  Concord  Street,  where  he  won 
the  Franklin  medal  when  graduating.  After  spending  some  time  at  the 
high  school  on  Bedford  Street,  he  entered  Holy  Cross  College  at  Wor- 
cester. Owing  to  the  fire  that  destroyed  the  central  portion  of  this 
institution  in  1852,  he  was  obliged  to  suspend  his  studies  there.  Then 
he  went  to  St.  Charles  College,  Maryland,  and  one  year  later  to  St. 
hr.  J..I1NS  scHoriL,  St.  steiiii.ns  Liii  1.  H  Mary's  Seminary,  Baltimore,  where  he  completed  the  customary  four 
years'  course  in  theology.  On  August  15,  1857,  he  was  ordained  a  priest  by  Bishop  Bacon,  of  Portland,  in 
the  old  Franklin  Street  Cathedral.  His  first  ministrations  were  rendered  at  the  Cathedral  in  the  capacity  of 
assistant.  Subsequently  he  was  assigned  to  Fort  Hill,  and  then  to  Abington,  before  taking  charge  of  St. 
Stephen's.     He  died  July  12,  1894,  and  was  interred  in  St.  Augustine's  Mortuary  Chapel  in  South  Boston. 

The  church  societies  are  the  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  Conference ;  sodalities  for  boys,  girls,  young  ladies, 
young  men,  married  women,  and  married  men;  temperance  societies  for  both  sexes;  the  Sanctuary  Society, 
Sacred  Heart  Society,  Blessed  Sacrament  Society,  and  the  St.  Stephen's  Young  Men's  Literary  Society.  All 
are  in  a  flourishing  condition.  The  parishioners,  all  told,  number  about  18,000  souls,  of  which  about  8,000 
attend  St.  Stephen's  Church.  The  older  parishioners  are  migrating  to  the  suburbs,  but  their  numerical  loss  is 
more  than  supplied  by  the  influx  of  immigrants  from  Catholic  countries.  So  many  nationalities  are  represented 
in  the  population  of  the  North  End,  that  a  stranger  passing  through  it  might  mistake  it  for  a  section  of  lower 
New  York.  This  condition  manifests  itself  in  the  parish  arrangements  by  the  presence  of  two  churches  for 
Italians,  and  one  for  Portuguese,  each  attended  by  a  considerable  congregation. 

The  present  rector  is  the  Rev.  Denis  James  O'Farrell.  He  was  born  March  25,  1844,  in  Youghal,  Ireland. 
He  was  taught  the  elements  of  knowledge,  at  first  in  private  schools,  and  then  in  those  of  the  Christian 
Brothers,  established  in  his  native  town.     When  eighteen  years  old  he  entered  Carlow  College,  and  afterwards 



went  to  the  College  of  St.  Esprit,  Paris,  where  he  spent  five  years.  He  received  Holy  Orders  at  the  Christmas 
ordinations  of  1867,  in  Paris.  He  then  returned  to  Ireland,  and  in  1869  came  to  this  country,  attaching  him- 
self to  the  diocese  of  Boston.  His  first  appointment  was  that  of  assistant  in  Hopkinton,  which  he  held  for  one 
year.  He  was  next  sent  to  St.  Stephen's,  where  he  was  assistant  to  Father  Haskins  two  years,  and  to  Father 
Moran  three  months.      He  was  then  created  pastor  of  the  Star  of  the  Sea  parish,  situated  in  that  part  of  East 

Re\.  D.  J.  O'Far 

Church,  Boston. 

Boston  called  the  Fourth  Section.  After  laboring  zealously  there  for  about  two  years  and  a  half,  he  was 
assigned  to  the  pastorate  of  Stoneham  and  Melrose  on  July  i,  1875.  In  the  nineteen  years  during  which  he 
governed  that  parish  he  paid  the  debt  of  the  old  church  in  Stoneham  and  built  new  churches  for  both  Stone- 
ham  and  Melrose.  He  was  sent  to  St.  Stephen's  parish  July  16,  1894.  The  Catholics  of  Stoneham  and 
Melrose  were  deeply  grieved  to  part  with  him.  The  greatness  of  their  loss  was  the  measure  of  the  gain  of  St. 
Stephen's,  where  he  is  recognized  as  an  able  rector,  and  one  likely  to  prove  a  worthy  successor  of  Father 



Cburcb  anb  Congregation  of  St.  Xeonarb 

of  iport  /IDaurice. 

HE  Catholic  Italians  and  Portuguese  residing  in  Boston  and  vicinity  for  a  long  time 
worshiped  at  St.  Stephen's  Church,  North  End.  The  greater  number  of  both  nation- 
alities had  settled  within  the  parish  limits,  and  a  priest  familiar  with  the  language  of 
each  was  generally  stationed  at  the  church.  Then  an  Italian  congregation  was  formed 
and  assigned  to  St.  Mary's  Church,  Endicott  Street.  Here,  for  a  time,  they  had  the 
use  of  the  basement  and  the  exclusive  services  of  the  Rev.  Fathers  Angelus  and 
Conterino,  successively.  They  subsequently  attended  the  Portuguese  church  until, 
in   1875,  their  number  had   so  increased   that  a   church   for   their   special   use   was 

urgently  demanded.     At  length,  a  lot  of  land  meas- 
uring 74  by  30  feet,  situated  on   Prince   Street,  near 

Hanover  Street,  was  purchased  by  the  Rev.  Joachim 

Guerini,  O.  S.  F.,  for  something  less  than  $9,000.    The 

laying   of  the   foundations   began    in    January,    1876. 

The  building  was  completed  by  the  following  Novem- 
ber, and  on  the  next  recurrence  of  the  Festival  of  St. 

Leonard  of  Port  Maurice  it  was  dedicated  to  the  ser- 
vice of  God  by  Bishop  Williams.     The  Rev.  Father 

Paulino  delivered  the  sermon  at  the  High  Mass  cele- 
brated on  that  occasion,  which  was  also  the  first  on 

which  divine  service  was  offered  in  the  church.      In 

1878    Father  Boniface,    O.    S.    F.,   succeeded    Father 

Guerini  in  the  rectorship  of  St.  Leonard's.     After  him 

came  Father  Athanasius,  O.  S.  F.,  in  May,  1885;  and 

then  the  present  rector,  Father  Ubaldus,  O.  S.  F.,  in 

July,  1891. 

Early  in    the   last  year   of  his   pastorate    Father 

Athanasius  felt  the  necessity  of  having  a  larger  church. 

In  May  the  work  of  demohshing  the  old  church  and 

of  clearing  the  additional  land  bought  for  the  site  of 

a  new   one  was  begun.      In   November,   after  being 

blessed  by   Archbishop  Williams,  the  basement  was 

opened  for  public  worship.     A  handsome  brick  church 

with  granite  trimmings  was  completed  in  the  following 

year.    The  dedication  was  performed  in  August  by  the 

Rt.  Rev.  John  Brady,  D.  D.,  Bishop  Auxiliary  of  Bos-  ""'"^"  °''  '  ''    ''"'""  "     au  1    , 

ton ;  the  High  Mass  on  the  occasion  was  celebrated  by  Vicar-General  Byrne,  and  the  sermon  was  preached  by 

Father  Ubaldus. 



Father  Ubaldus  is  assisted  by  two  otlier  priests,  all  being  of  the  Order  of  St.  Francis.  The  congregation 
is  estimated  at  3,000,  an  unusually  large  one  for  so  small  a  house  of  worship.  It  is  gradually  acquiring  our 
American  democratic  custom  of  supporting  its  own  church.  The  church  societies  are  the  Children  of  Mary, 
the  Auxilium  Christianorum,  the  Third  Order  of  St.  Francis  for  men  and  women,  and  the  Rosary  and  St. 
Anthony  Societies.  In  addition  to  the  customary  services,  a  devotion  in  which  St.  Anthony's  blessing  is 
solicited  for  the  sick  is  held  in  the  afternoon  every  Tuesday,  and  all  participants  receive  a  plenary  indulgence 
granted  by  the  Pope. 

The  able  and  zealous  rector,  Father  Ubaldus,  was  born  in  Rieti,  Italy,  on  December  8,  1844.  At  the  age 
of  fifteen  he  entered  the  Order  of  St.  Francis.  Having  completed  his  studies  for  the  priesthood  in  Rome,  at 
the  house  of  St.  Francis  A  Ripa,  he  received  Holy  Orders  in  1867.  He  came  to  this  country  in  1869,  making 
his  abiding  place  with  the  community  of  his  order,  at  Allegheny,  N.  Y.  Some  years  later  he  went  as  Com- 
missary of  the  Holy  Land  to  the  Argentine  Republic.  He  returned  to  New  York  after  three  years,  and  was 
sent  to  Boston  to  take  the  place  of  the  Italian  rector  at  that  time,  during  his  absence  in  Europe.  Next  year 
he  was  appointed  Master  of  Novices  and  Professor  of  Moral  Theology  and  Dogma  at  Allegheny.  After  spend- 
ing five  years  in  this  capacity  he  was  dispatched  to  South  America  again,  this  time  for  the  important  purpose 
of  collecting  for  the  Vatican  archives  all  the  historical  documents,  manuscripts,  and  other  records  of  the 
country,  in  the  possession  of  the  several  Franciscan  Missions.  This  labor  took  him  three  years  to  accomplish, 
during  which  he  visited  the  Argentine  Republic,  Uruguay,  Paraguay,  Brazil,  Chili,  Bolivia,  Peru,  Ecquador, 
Panama,  United  States  of  Columbia,  Costa  Rica,  Guatemala,  Mexico,  and  California.  The  fruit  of  his 
researches  was  two  large  boxes  of  most  precious  documents,  among  which  were  two  letters  of  Columbus ;  three 
letters  of  his  royal  patroness,  Queen  Isabella;  one  letter  of  Philip,  King  of  Spain,  and  a  highly  valuable 
manuscript  written  by  the  celebrated  Father  Marius,  of  Nice,  who,  accompanied  by  an  Irish  lay  brother,  came 
to  America  fifty  years  after  Columbus,  and  finally  became  first  provincial  of  the  Franciscans  in  Peru.  After 
employing  two  more  years  on  the  same  errand  in  California,  he  returned  January  29,  1891,  to  Boston,  where 
he  served  as  assistant  to  P'ather  Athanasius  until  he  was  appointed  superior  in  the  following  July. 



Cbuvcb  anb  Congregation  of  the  Sacreb  Ibeart, 

i.^HIS  congregation  is  an  offshoot  of  that  of  St.  Leonard  of  Port  Maurice.  It  is  also  made  up  of 
1^  Italians  and  was  organized  towards  the  close  of  1889.  Its  first  pastor  was  the  Rev.  Francis 
Zaboglio,  and  its  first  meetings  were  held  in  a  store  numbered  86  Beverly  Street.  One  of  the 
first  steps  taken  by  the  congregation  was  the  formation  of  the  Society  of  St.  Mark,  whose  main 
object  was  the  procuring  of  a  suitable  place  of  worship.  This  it  accomplished  by  purchasing 
the  Protestant  meeting-house  known  as  Father  Taylor's  Bethel,  on  North  Square,  for  $28,000. 
After  the  necessary  changes  were  made  in  the  interior  it  was  dedicated  on  Pentecost  Sundajr, 
May,  25,  i8go,  by  Archbishop  Williams.  The  High  Mass  was  chanted  by  the  Reverend  Joseph 
Martini,  and  the  sermon  was  preached  by  Father 
Zaboglio.  The  Society  of  St.  Mark  continues  its  be- 
nevolent mission  by  caring  for  the  support  and  preser- 
vation of  the  church.  Its  spiritual  interests  are  in 
charge  of  the  Congregation  of  St.  Charles,  a  mission- 
ary organization  devoted  to  the  care  of  the  Italian 
immigrants  in  this  country,  and  founded  by  Mgr. 
Scalabrini,  Bishop  of  Piacenza  in  Italy,  about  six  years 
ago.  The  numerical  strength  of  the  congregation  is 
constantly  fluctuating.  A  maximum  estimate  is  5,000 
souls.  Those  members  who  have  established  a  fixed 
residence  come  from  Northern  Italy.  Connected  with 
the  spiritual  work  of  the  church  are  the  societies  of 
St.  Michael,  St.  Louis,  the  Holy  Rosary,  a  Sunday- 
school,  and  the  Ladies'  Sodality  of  the  Immaculate 
Conception.  A  sewing  school  for  girls  is  also  con- 
ducted under  the  guidance  of  the  fathers. 

The  present  rector  is  Father  Martini.  Being 
absent  in  Europe  his  place  is  occupied  by  the  Rev. 
Dominic  Vincentini,  of  New  York,  who  is  American 
Provincial  of  the  Congregation.  Father  Vincentini 
was  born  July  6,  1847,  in  Verona.  He  was  ordained 
priest  in  his  native  city  in  1871.  His  subsequent 
life,  up  to  the  time  of  his  departure  for  this  country, 
was  eventful.  Occupied  in  work  for  the  Mission  of 
Central  Africa,  he  passed  through  Alexandria  about 
three  months  after  its  bombardment  by  the   English  Church  of  the  Sacred  Heart,  North  SoLrARE,  Eoston. 

fleet  in  1882.  He  was  in  the  city  of  Khartoum  when  the  non-combatants  were  obliged  to  flee  from  it  at  the 
approach  of  the  insurgent  Mahdi.  At  the  First  Cataract  of  the  Nile  he  saw  the  celebrated  General  Gordon 
pass  through,  on  his  way  to  assist  in  the  defence  of  Khartoum.  In  an  effort  to  obtain  the  freedom  of  some 
missionaries  taken  prisoners  by  the  Mahdi's  forces,  he  accompanied  the  English  expedition  to  Dongola  for  the 
rescue  of  General  Gordon,  commanded  by  General  Wolseley.  Subsequently  he  made  the  tour  of  the  Holy 
Land,  extending  his  travels  eastward  to  view  the  ruins  of  Balbec.  He  went  to  New  York  in  rSgo,  where  he 
was  staying  at  the  church  of  St.  Joachim,  Roosevelt  Street,  when  it  became  necessary  to  come  to  Boston. 



First  Pastor  Sacred  Heart  Church,  Boston. 

Sacred  Heart  Church,   Boston. 


First  P.astor,  Church  of  St.  John  the  Baptist. 


Cburcb  anb  Congregation  of  St.  Jobn 
tbe  Baptist, 

HE  congregation  of  St.  John  the  Baptist  comprises  the  Catholic-Portuguese  residents  of 
Boston  and  vicinity.  They  are  not  beUeved  to  be  so  numerous  as  the  Italians  in  the  same 
district,  but  the  opinion  is  held  that  they  are  more  numerous  than  is  generally  supposed. 
Like  the  Italians,  they  are  settled  more  densely  at  the  North  End  than  elsewhere.  For  a 
long  time  they  attended  religious  services  v^fith  their  English-speaking  co-religionists,  both  at 
the  chapel  on  Moon  Street  and  at  St.  Stephen's  Church.  In  1872  Bishop  Williams  bought  the 
old  Baptist  meeting-house,  in  North  Bennett  Street,  for  $25,000.  After  making  the  necessary 
alterations  and  dedicating  it  to  Catholic  worship,  under  the  name  of  the  Old  Chapel  on  Moon  Street,  he  gave 
it  up  to  the  use  of  the  Portuguese  and  Italian  congregations  jointly,  with  the  understanding  that,  at  the  end  of 
two  years,  it  would  be  surrendered  to  the  exclusive  use  of  the  congregation  that  would  have  contributed  the 
larger  amount  of  money  towards  paying  for  it.  In  1874  the  Portuguese  had  contributed  $12,500  and  the 
Italians  $10,000.  The  church  was,  accordingly,  handed  over  to  the  Portuguese  congregation;  while  the  Italians, 
with  the  sum  they  had  subscribed,  were  able  to  begin  the  erection  of  their  first  church  on  Prince  Street. 

The  success  of  the  Portuguese  congregation  in  this  pious  contest  was  chiefly  credited  to  the  zeal  of  the 
Rev.  John  Ignatius,  their  first  pastor.  The  earnestness  and  energy  with  which  he  labored  in  his  mission, 
together  with  the  open-handed  charity  for  which  he  was  remarkable,  are  still  fresh  in  the  recollection  of  old 
members  of  the  congregation.     Appointed  in  1872,  he  left  September  20,  1878,  regretted  by  all. 

His  successor  was  the  Rev.  H.  B.  M.  Hughes,  a  Welshman,  but  to  whom  the  Portuguese  language  was  as 
familiar  as  his  mother  tongue.  He  was  a  linguist  of  unusual  attainments,  and  as  a  pastor  manifested  qualities 
that  endeared  him  to  young  and  old.  A  deplorable  affection  of  the  eyes,  that  rendered  it  impossible  for  him 
to  travel  without  a  guide,  seriously  impeded  his  missionary  work,  and  he  left  the  pastorate,  to  go  to  Wales, 
September  14,  1886. 

From  that  time  the  church  was  attended  from  St.  Stephen's,  chiefly  by  the  Rev.  Father  Gormley,  until 
November  2,  1887,  when  the  Rev.  Joseph  T.  Da  Serpa  was  appointed  rector.  Father  Da  Serpa  died  June  11, 
1892,  and  was  buried  m  Maiden.  Then  the  Rev.  Antonio  Joachim  Pimentel,  who  had  been  assistant  to  the 
last  rector,  received  charge  of  the  congregation  and  holds  it  still. 

In  connection  with  the  church  are  the  societies  of  the  Blessed  Sacrament  and  the  Holy  Rosary.  The 
congregation  regularly  attending  it  numbers  about  3,000.  There  is  no  school  for  the  children,  and  the  church 
is  still  in  debt  to  the  amount  of  $7,000. 



Cburcb  anb  Congregation  of  tbe  Ibol^  XTrinit^, 

'  RACTICALLY  all  the  German-speaking  residents  of  Boston  and  vicinity,  who  pro- 
fess the  Catholic  faith,  comprise  this  congregation.  It  is  claimed  that  the  first  Ger- 
man Catholics  of  Boston  were  three  brothers,  respectively,  named  Melchior,  Sebas- 
tian and  Mathias  Kramer,  who,  coming  from  Philadelphia,  settled  here  in  1827  or 
1828.  After  them  came  two  others,  John  Kohler  and  Anthony  Laforme.  By  1836 
a  sufficient  number  were  residing  in  the  city  to  form  a  small  congregation.  The 
Rev.  Frank  Hoffman  was  assigned  to  the  charge  of  it,  and  it  was  given  the  use  of 
the  Cathedral  at  certain  hours.     The  first  marriage  in  the  congregation  took  place 

September  5,  1836,  when  the  contracting  parties  were  Jacob  Jorkel  and  Barbara  Kessler;  and  Charles  Abele 

had  the  distinction  of  being  the  first  German  to  receive  baptism.     After  three  months.  Father  Hoffman  was 

succeeded  by  the  Rev.   Joseph  Freygang,  who  came 

from  Detroit.     His  stay  lasted  from  December,  1836. 

to  November,  1837,  when  the  Rev.  Bernard  Smolnikar 

took    charge    of   the    congregation.       In    May,    1838, 

Father   Smolnikar  developed   indications  of  insanity, 

and  he  was  suspended  from  the  exercise  of  his  priestly 

functions.  After  this  the  German  congregation  re- 
mained five  years  without  a  pastor.     In  1842   Bishop 

Fenwick  invited  the  Rev.  John  Raffeiner,  pastor  of  the 

German  congregation  in   New  York,  to  visit  Boston, 

when  his  duties  permitted,  to  preach  and  administer  the 

sacraments  to  the  Boston  congregation.    The  number  of 

German    Catholics  having  increased  in  East  Boston, 

Roxbury,  and  other  suburban  districts,  it  was  decided 

to  build  a  church  for  their  use,  and  a  lot  on   Suffolk 

Street,  since  added  to  Shawmut  Avenue,  was  bought 

in  July,  1841.     The  corner-stone  of  the  church  was 

laid  June  28,  1842,  and  first  services  were  held  in  the 

basement  March  3,  1844.     While  the  work  of  building 

continued,  the  congregation  was  successively  attended 

by  the  Rev.  Fathers   Roloff  and  Plathe.     The  church 

was  dedicated  October  25,  1846,  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick, 

and  the  dedication  sermon  was  delivered  by  the  Rev. 

Alexander  Martini,  O.  S.  F.      It  was  a  substantial  stone 

edifice  measuring  90  by  60  feet.      Father  Martini  had 

been  appointed  its   first   pastor  in  March,  1846.     In 

1848  the  church  and  congregation  were  given  in  charge 

of  the  Society  of  Jesus,  when  the  Rev.  Gustave  Eck  was  made  the  pastor.     Father  Eck's  successors,  while 

the  old  church  continued  to  be  used  for  divine  worship,  were:     Rev.  E.  A.  Reiter,  S.  J.,  in  1854;  Rev.  J.  B. 

Holy  Trinity,  Boston. 





Cattani,  S.  J.,  in  1856;  Rev.  Norbert  Steinbacher,  S.  J.,  in  1858;  Rev.  E.  A.  Reiter,  S.  J.,  again,  in  1859, 
and  Rev.  James  Simeon,  S.  J.,  in  1870. 

In  a  few  years  after  its  completion,  tlie  accommodations  of  tlie  church  were  found  too  limited  for  the 
growing  congregation,  and  a  site  for  a  larger  building,  on  Tremont  Street,  was  bought  in  1853.  The  founda- 
tions were  laid,  and  the  walls  were  raised  a  few  feet,  when  it  was  realized  that  the  edifice  would  be  too  large 
for  the  means  of  the  congregation.  Early  in  the  pastorate  of  Father  Simeon,  the  grading  of  Shawmut  Avenue 
resulted  in  leaving  the  church  in  a  less  advantageous  position.  It  was  much  lower  than  the  street  level.  In- 
stead of  raising  it,  the  city  made  good  the  damage  by  paying  the  sum  of  $9,000. 

The  erection  of  a  new  church  was  then  once  more  undertaken.  A  lot,  directly  opposite  the  old  church 
and  lying  along  Cobb  Street,  was  secured.  Ground  was  broken  for  the  foundations  in  187 1.  Bishop  Williams 
laid  the  corner-stone  on  November  10,  1872,  the  day  following  that  on  which  the  great  fire  of  Boston  broke 
out.  The  sermon  appropriate  for  the  ceremony  was  delivered  by  Father  Reiter.  Father  Simeon  offered  the 
first  Mass  in  the  basement  on  May  i,  1874,  and  on  May  31  pastor  and  flock  formally  abandoned  the  old  church 
by  leaving  it  together,  and  going  in  procession  to  the  new  one.  The  building  was  not  finished  until  three  years 
later.  It  was  dedicated  by  Archbishop  Williams  on  Trinity  Sunday,  May  27,  1877,  when  the  High  Mass  was 
celebrated  by  the  Rev.  John  B.  Lessman,  S.  J.,  and  the  sermon  was  preached  by  the  Rev.  F.  X.  Wenninger, 
S.  J.  The  structure  is  built  of  Roxbury  stone  trimmed  with  granite,  in  accordance  with  a  fine  Gothic  design  fur- 
nished by  Architect  P.  C.  Keely,  and  seats  about  1,200  worshippers.  After  this  event  the  rectors  were:  Rev. 
F.  X.  Nopper,  S.  J.,  1877;  Rev.  Nicholas  Greisch,  S.  J.,  1892,  and  Rev.  Charles  de  Gudenus,  S.  J.,  1893. 

The  necessity  that  compelled  the  congregation  to  have  a  church  for  its  special  use  likewise  forced  it  to 
support  a  school.  Hence  the  church  of  the  Holy  Trinity  has  had  a  school  connected  with  it  since  its  congre- 
gation was  first  organized.  The  present  school  is  located  in  the  old  church  building,  where  it  is  taught  by  the 
Sisters  of  Notre  Dame,  aided  by  two  lay  teachers,  the  number  of  pupils  being  196  boys  and  225  girls.  The 
asylum  of  St.  Elizabeth,  in  Roxbury,  a  home  for  orphans  and  destitute  aged  people  of  the  German  nationality, 
founded  by  Father  Nopper,  is  also  maintained. 



Cburcb  of  IRotre  Same  bee  l^ictoiues. 

HIS  church,  situated  on  Isabella  Street,  is  designed  for  the  accommodation  of  the 
French  Catholic  population  of  Boston.  The  French  have  long  been  identified  with 
the  Catholic  history  of  New  England  and  of  Boston,  but  it  was  not  until  recent 
years  that  they  were  able  to  erect  a  sacred  edifice  for  the  greater  convenience  of 
their  numbers.  Years  previous  to  the  building  of  the  church  on  Isabella  Street 
the  French  Catholics  worshiped  in  the  pro-Cathedral  and  afterwards  in  a  building 
in  Freeman  Place.  About 
1882  a  sentiment  grew  and 
developed  in  a  movement 
among  the  French  Catholics 

of  Boston,   the   result  of  which  is  their  present  fine 

temple.     The  corner-stone  was  laid  in  1885.     Gradu- 
ally the    church   neared    completion,    and    November 

13,    1892,   it  was  formally   dedicated  by    Archbishop 

Williams.     Very  Rev.  Father  Rex,  of  Brighton  Semi- 
nary, and  Father  William  P.  McQuaid  assisted.     The 

celebrants   of  the   High   Mass  were  Fathers  Neagle, 

Charlier,  S.  J.,  James  J.  Feeney,  C.  SS.  R.,  and  Remi. 

Bishops    De    Goesbriand    and    Emard,   of   Vallyfield, 

Canada,  were  present,  accompanied  by  Fathers  Gillet 

and  AUarcl. 

The  church  is  in  charge  of  the  Marists  Fathers, 

an   order  founded  in  France  and  finally  approved  by 

Pope    Gregory   XVI,    April    29,    1836,    in    his    brief 

Omnium  Gentium.     Its  purpose   is  to  reproduce  and 

glorify  the  virtues  of  Mary  all  over  the  world,  and  it 

has  spread  wonderfully  as  a  missionary  society.     The 

pastors  of  the  church  have  been  Father  Touche,  1883- 

1884;   Father  Auddifred,   1884-1889;  Father  Coppin, 

S.  M.,  1889  until  his  death,   October  16,  1891.     The 

present  pastor  is    Father  Onesime   Renaudier,   S.  M. 
There  is  no  school  or  convent  connected  with  the 

church.     The  parochial  residence,  a  fine  brick  build- 
ing of  four  stories  in  height,  is  closely  adjoining  the  church. 

The  church  is  of  brick  and  stone,  and  is  of  the  Gothic  and  French  renaissance  type  of  architecture.     It 
.is  160  feet  long,  64  feet  high,  and  62  feet  wide.     Its   seating   capacity  is  about   1,000.     The   Simday-school 

numbers  about  200.     The  interior  is  very  striking.     Eighteen  small  arched  windows  are  set  in  the  clerestory 

on   each  side  of  the   nave,  and  the  clerestory  is  supported  on  six  arches  resting  on  five  pillars.     Above  the 

Street,   Bos' 



arches  and  running  parallel  to  each  is  set  on  the  clerestory  a  raised  gilt  moulding  which  springs  from  a  series 
of  cherubim. 

The  pillars  are  fluted  and  of  plaster,  and  are  surmounted  by  square  Corinthian  capitals  capped  with  a 
heavy  brass  border,  from  which  jut  gas  jets.  The  choir  is  finished  in  dark  oak.  So  also  is  the  organ,  the  pipes 
of  which  are  gilded.  The  roof  of  the  nave  is  also  of  oak.  On  the  epistle  side,  the  church  wall  is  pierced  by 
four  white  glass  windows.  On  the  gospel  side  there  are  three.  Along  the  walls  are  the  stations  of  the  cross, 
done  in  plaster  and  framed  in  oak.  An  immense  crucifix  with  the  figure  of  Christ  adorns  the  gospel  wall  of 
the  nave.  The  nave  is  white  with  crimson  borders.  An  oak  railing  separates  the  body  of  the  church  from 
the  sanctuary,  \^'ithin  the  sanctuary  are  three  altars,  the  middle  or  high  altar  and  two  side  altars.  The  altars, 
especially  the  high  altar,  are  very  beautiful,  being  made  of  fine  polished  marble  and  onyx. 

On  the  epistle  side  in  the  sanctuary  wall  is  a  stained  glass  window  of  Christ  giving  the  Eucharist  to  his 
Mother.  On  the  gospel  side  is  a  similar  window  of  the  Immaculate  Conception.  A  statue  of  St.  Joseph  on  a 
marble  pedestal  also  adorns  the  gospel  side  of  the  sanctuary,  and  on  a  similar  base  at  the  epistle  side  stands 
a  statue  of  St.  Anne.  Four  large,  branching  candelabra  add  further  to  the  beauty  of  the  sanctuary.  Above 
the  high  altar  is  a  stained  glass  window  of  Christ  and  his  Blessed  Mother.  On  the  epistle  altar  is  a  great 
statue  of  Our  Lady  of  Victoires  holding  the  Blessed  Babe  in  her  arms.  On  the  gospel  altar  is  a  statue,  of 
corresponding  size,  of  the  Sacred  Heart  of  Christ.  The  church  is  heated  by  steam  and  contains  a  large  and 
commodious  basement. 

It  should  be  mentioned  that,  after  Father  Coppin's  death,  F'ather  Police,  who  served  twenty-seven  years 
of  his  sacerdotal  life  in  Loridon,  acted  in  charge  of  the  parish  until  the  coming  of  Father  Renaudier. 



pnvish  of  St.  Cecilia, 

JSelvi&ere  Street,  Boston. 

T.  CECILIA  is  situated  in  the  fashionable  part  of  Boston,  called  Back  Bay,  and  in  time  is  des- 
tined to  become  one  of  the  most  prosperous  and  influential  of  the  city  parishes.  This  parish, 
which  is  one  of  the  youngest  in  the  archdiocese,  was  first  organized  in  1888,  in  one  of  the 
halls  of  the  Mechanics'  building,  on  Huntington  Avenue,  by  Rev.  Richard  J.  Barr}'.  The  parish 
then  numbered  only  a  few  hundred.  The  church,  which  stands  on  the  corner  of  Belvidere  and 
Bothnia  Streets,  was  begun  and  the  corner-stone  laid  in  1888.  Mass  was  first  said  in  the  base- 
ment in  February,  1889.  The  building  of  the  church  edifice  constantly  progressed  until  it  was 
finished  some  years  later,  and  Mass  was  not  celebrated  up-stairs  in  the  main  church  until 
November  13,  1892.  Bishop  Brady  was  celebrant  and  the  occasion  was  made  one  of  solemn 

The  dedication  of  the  church,  which  was  a  brilliant  and  impressive  service,  occurred   on 

Sunday,  April  22,  1894.     Its  special  feature  was  the 

presence,  as  celebrant  of  the  solemn  Pontifical  Mass, 

of  Most  Rev.   F.    Satolli,   the   papal    delegate   to  the 

Catholic  Church  in  the  United  States,  who  came  from 

Washington  to  assist  in  the  ceremonies. 

The  purely  Romanesque  interior  was  sufficiently 

decorated   in   its   own   architectural  beauties,   and  no 

flowers  or  other  adornments  were  necessary  to. render 

it  attractive.     A  flood  of  light  from  numerous  waxen 

tapers  beamed  from  the  beautiful  marble  high  altar 

at  which  the  papal  delegate  officiated,  and  enhanced 

the  picture  presented  by  him  and  his  assistants  at  all 

times  during  the  services.     The   sanctuary  was  filled 

with  priests  from  other  city  churches,  and  from  many 

parishes  distant  from  Boston,  and  in  the  midst  of  the 

clergy,  on  one  side,  was  Archbishop  Williams,  and  on 

the  other  the  Auxiliary  Bishop  of  the  Diocese,  Rt.  Rev. 

John  Brady,  D.  D. 

The   ceremony  of  dedication  proper,  which  con- 
sisted of  the  blessing  of  the  walls,  outside  and  inside, 

and  the  recital  of  the  usual  prayers  and  litanies,  was 

performed  by  Archbishop  Williams,  assisted  by  a  num- 
ber of  the  attending  clergy. 

Archbishop  Satolli"s  immediate  attendants  during 

the   solemn   Pontifical   Mass  were  :     Very  Reverend  William    Byrne, 

Magennis,  of  Jamaica  Plain,  deacon ;  Rev.   William  P.    McQuaid 

St.    Cecilia. 

V.  G.,   assistant  priest;    Rev.  Thomas 
pastor  of  St.   James  Church,  sub-deacon  ; 

Rev.  Thomas  McCormack,  of  the  Cathedral,  master  of  ceremonies. 





After  Mass  was  over  Rev.  P.  A.  Halpin,  S.  J.,  of  New  York  City,  delivered  a  discourse  appropriate  to  the 
occasion.  Immediately  after  the  morning  services,  the  papal  legate,  Archbishop  Williams,  Bishop  Brady,  and 
many  visiting  clergymen  were  the  guests  of  Father  Barry  at  dinner.  The  gathering  was  presided  over  by 
Archbishop  Williams,  who  at  the  conclusion  of  the  menu  addressed  the  assembled  clergy  in  response  to  the 
toast  proposed  by  Father  Barry  to  the  health  of  His  Holiness,  Leo  XIII.  Archbishop  Satolli  also  made  an 
address  in  Latin,  in  which  the  fealty  of  the  American  clergy  to  the  Holy  See,  as  well  as  their  unflinching 
loyalty  to  the  institutions  of  the  republic,  was  eloquently  lauded. 

In  the  afternoon  Archbishop  Satolli  celebrated  Pontifical  Vespers  and  imparted  the  triple  benediction  with 
the  Blessed  Sacrament.  His  attendants  were:  Rev.  William  H.  O'Connell,  of  St.  Joseph's  Church,  West 
End,  deacon;  Rev.  John  Lyons,  pastor  of  St.  Ann's  Church,  Manchester,  sub-deacon;  Rev.  J.  A.  Donville,  of 
Nicolet,  Can.,  assistant  priest;  Rev.  Thomas  J.  McCormack,  master  of  ceremonies.  Rev.  Philip  O'Donnell, 
of  East  Cambridge,  was  the  orator  of  the  afternoon.  His  discourse  was  a  panegyric  of  St.  Cecilia,  patroness 
of  the  church,  and  an  exhortation  to  his  hearers  to  imitate  her  exalted  virtues. 

The  church  is  of  the  Norman  style  of  architecture,  and  it  differs  from  most  church  edifices  in  that  the 
parochial  residence  forms  a  congruous  part  of  the  church  itself.  It  fronts  on  Bothnia  Street  and  is  closely 
adjoining  the  handsome  tower.  The  interior  possesses  a  marked  degree  of  beauty.  Six  immense  white  col- 
umns and  two  pilasters  support  the  eight  round  arches  which  are  decorated  with  thirty-four  embossed  rosettes 
arranged  in  pairs.  From  each  column,  where  the  arches  rest  on  the  capitals,  round  arches  run  at  right  angles 
to  the  walls  of  the  nave.  The  capitals  of  the  columns  are  of  Corinthian  design  with  Christian  emblems  inter- 
mixed. The  roof  is  a  long  Roman  arch  in  effect  and  is  painted  a  light  yellow,  except  that  a  heavy  raised 
band  in  general  tone,  crimson,  spans  the  arched  nave  from  column  to  column.  The  roof  between  the  columns 
and  the  walls  is  light  blue  in  color.  The  walls  are  light  yellow  and  are  relieved  by  a  high,  sheathed  wainscot, 
drab  in  color.  The  wall  on  the  gospel  side  is  pierced  by  one  small  and  four  large  windows  of  ground  glass. 
The  wall  on  the  epistle  side  is  pierced  by  two  small  and  five  large  windows.  All  the  windows  are  lancet  form 
in  design.     Over  the  choir  is  a  tall,  two-paned  window  with  a  round  pane  surmounting  it. 

The  sanctuary,  which  is  a  high  semi-dome,  is  separated  from  the  body  of  the  church  by  a  white  railing. 
The  main  altar  is  of  marble  and  onyx,  and  the  reredos,  which  is  magnificent,  is  of  carved  wood.  On  the 
reredos  is  painted  a  Christ  on  the  cross,  standing  against  a  gold  sky,  and  on  each  side  of  the  cross  is  an  angel 
bowed  in  adoration,  and  further  back  a  palm  tree.  On  the  left  of  the  reredos  is  a  statue  of  St.  Peter,  and  on 
the  right  is  one  of  St.  Paul.  The  sanctuary  is  lighted  on  the  two  sides  by  a  window  of  white  glass  set  in 
three  lancet-shaped  panes.  Above  the  high  altar  is  a  painting  of  St.  Cecilia  on  the  gospel  side  and  one  of  St. 
Patrick  on  the  epistle  side.  Midway  between  is  a  statue  of  the  Blessed  Virgin,  standing  in  a  semi-domed 
recess  which  is  painted  in  blue.  The  effect  is  very  beautiful  and  life-like.  The  pictures  of  St.  Cecilia  and  of 
St.  Patrick  are  each  framed,  in  an  arch,  and  are  separated  from  the  statue  of  the  Virgin  by  two  Corinthian 
pilasters.  The  general  effect  above  the  tabernacle  of  the  sanctuary  wall  is  green  and  gold,  and  below  that  the 
wall  is  a  rich,  deep  maroon  adorned  with  gilded  crosses ;  but  separating  the  maroon  color  from  the  green  and 
gold  a  white,  broad,  embossed  moulding  runs  transversely  around  the  sanctuary  wall.  Two  high  brass  candela- 
bra are  placed  one  on  each  side  of  the  sanctuary  but  within  it.  The  organ  is  also  painted  in  green  and  gold. 
Under  the  choir  are  three  confessionals  alternating  with  three  door-ways  leading  into  the  vestibule.  Above  the 
doors  and  confessionals  are  round  arched  windows  of  multi-colored  glass.  On  the  walls  of  the  nave  are  small 
cross-formed  stations  of  the  cross  framed  in  gilded  metal  and  painted  with  a  blue  enameled  sky  background. 
The  pews  are  of  oak  and  number  200.  The  seating  capacity  is  1,100.  There  is  as  yet  no  school  or  convent 
connected  with  the  parish.  Fr.  Richard  J.  Barry,  the  rector,  was  ordained  in  Montreal,  in  1874,  at  the  Christ- 
mas ordination,  by  Archbishop  Fabre,  after  having  pursued  a  theological  course  at  the  Grand  Seminary  in 
that  city. 






St,  Joseph's  IParisb,  IRoxbur^. 

1  ^IHE  erection  of  a  church  in  the  Roxbury  district  became  an  urgent  necessity  in  1845.     P'ew 
■'vfl  \l  rea-lized  this  so   well   as  the   Rev.  Thomas  Lynch,  then  pastor    of    St.   Patrick's  parish. 

Before  starting  on  his  visit  to  Ireland,  in  that  year,  he  gave  permission  to  the  Rev.  Patrick 

H.  O'Beirne,  who  had  been  designated  to  perform  his  duties  at  St.  Patrick's  during  his 

absence,    to    take 

up  collections  for 

the  purpose.  This 
was  done,  and  Father  O'Beirne  was 
soon  able  to  begin  building  upon  a 
site  situated  on  an  eminence  long 
familiarly  known  as  "  Tommy's  Rock." 
The  basement  was  completed  by 
August  23,  1846,  when  the  first  Mass 
was  celebrated.  A  few  months  more 
sufficed  to  finish  the  building,  and  it 
was  dedicated  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick 
on  the  6th  of  the  following  Decem- 
ber. The  Bishop  also  officiated  at 
the  High  Mass,  the  Rev.  John  J. 
Williams  and  the  Rev.  Thomas  Rior- 
dan  serving  as  deacons,  and  the  ser- 
mon was  preached  by  the  Very  Rev. 
Dr.  Ryder.  The  church  was  consid- 
ered a  handsome  building  at  that 
time  and  an  ornament  to  the  neigh- 
borhood. It  was  well  and  solidly 
built  of  brick.  The  parish  was  set 
off  from  that  of  St.  Patrick,  with 
territory  extending  to  Dedham,  and 
Father  O'Beirne  was  appointed  first 

Partly  attracted  by  the  church 
and  partly  by  the  advantages  of  the 
situation,  the  number  of  Catholic 
residents  had  increased  so  much  that 
it  became   necessary  to   enlarge  the  g._,    i^^^^.^-^  chukch   koxi  uv 

building  in  i860.     The  new  addition 

was  blessed  on  Sunday,  March  4,  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick.  On  that  occasion  the  sermon  at  the  morning  services 
was  delivered  by  the  Rev.  J.  J.  McElroy,  S.  J.,  and  the  Rev.  John  J.  Williams  preached  at  Vespers.  The 
enlarged  building  was  then  described  as  one  of  the  most  commodious  churches  in  the  diocese. 





St.  Jos 


Father  O'Beirne  died  March  20,  1SS3,  at  the  age  of  seventy-four  years.  His  body  was  interred  in  tlie 
right-Iiand  corner  lot  in  front  of  the  cliurch,  where  already  rested  the  remains  of  his  brother,  the  Rev.  Jolm 
O'Beirne.      He  was  born    December  31,  iSoS,  in   Mohill,  near  Carrick-on-Shannon,  County  Leitrim,  Ireland. 

He  came  to  this  country  at  an  early 
age,  reaching  Boston  in  1833.  He  was 
ordained  priest,  at  the  old  Cathedral 
on  Franklin  Street,  on  March  14th  of 
the  following  year.  After  spending 
some  time  at  the  Cathedral,  he  was 
sent  to  the  mission  of  Burlington,  Vt. 
Subsequently  he  was  assigned  to  St. 
Mary's  Church,  Pond  Street,  and  later 
to  Portland,  Me.  Then  came  his 
administration  of  St.  Patrick's  parish, 
during  which  he  began  the  work  that 
Ifd  to  the  establishment  of  St.  Joseph's 

The  Re\-.  Hugh  P.  Smyth,  the  pres- 
ent rector,  succeeded  Father  O'Beirne 
iin  March  29,  1883.  One  of  the  first 
of  his  official  acts  was  to  reopen  the 
|iarochial  school,  which  had  been 
closed  for  some  time  before  the  de- 
cease of  his  predecessor.  The  next 
thing  to  demand  his  attention  was  the  condition  of  the  church.  It  was  much  worn  from  use  and  in  urgent 
need  of  repairs.     He  entirely  remodeled  the  interior  according  to  plans  furnished  by  P.  C.  Keely.    The  ceiling 

put  in  at  this  time  is  a  work  of  high 
art.  It  is  geometrically  paneled,  has 
nine  bays  of  different  designs,  and  it 
is  estimated  that  five  miles  of  quartered 
wood  were  used  in  its  construction. 
The  rest  of  the  interior  was  finished 
in  wliite  wood. 

Although  these  improvements  cost 
a  considerable  sum,  the  church  was 
entirely  freed  of  debt  by  1886,  when, 
on  June  20th,  it  was  consecrated  by 
Archbishop  'Williams,  assisted  by  a 
large  concourse  of  priests.  The  High 
Mass  on  the  occasion  was  celebrated 
by  the  Rt.  Rev.  Lawrence  S.  McMahon, 
Bishop  of  Hartford,  and  the  sermon 
was  preached  by  the  Rev.  Edward 
McGlynn,  D.  D.,  of  New  York. 

In  the  following  year  St.  Joseph's 

St.  John's  ScHnoL  and  Convent,  St.  JnsEi'ii's  Church,  Roxuurv.  School      and      Convent      Were     erected. 

Botlr  are  substantial  buildings  of  brick.  The  school-house  has  ten  spacious  class  rooms,  together  with  a  hall 
fitted  with  stage  and  scenery,  and  capable  of  seating  700  persons.  The  convent  is  furnished  with  all  modern 
improvements,  and  has  ample  accommodations  for  the  community  of  twenty  sisters  who  now  occupy  it. 



Two  years  later  the  energetic  pastor,  in  addition  to  a  handsome  chapel,  built  another  school-house  and 
convent  upon  a  lot  situated  at  the  intersection  of  Dacia  and  Dalmatia  Streets,  and,  in  1893,  he  began  the  erec- 
tion of  a  new  church  upon  a  site  at  the  junction  of  Centre  and  Penryth  Streets.  He  e.xpects  to  have  the 
basement  of  the  latter  building  ready 
for  use  at  Christmas-tide.  The  style  of 
the  church  is  Gothic.  The  walls  and 
roof  are  up.  The  basement,  which  is 
entirely  above  ground,  is  considered  to 
be  the  loftiest  in  Boston.  It  is  built 
of  Roxbury  stone  with  trimmings  of 
Quincy  granite.  The  superstructure  is 
of  pressed  brick  and  granite  trimmings. 
Its  external  dimensions  on  the  ground 
are  134  by  72  feet,  and  its  main  audi- 
torium will  seat  1,000  persons.  It  is 
to  be  named  the  Church  of  All  Saints. 

St.  Joseph's  Parochial  School  was 
first  taught  by  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame 
and  received  only  female  pupils.  When 
the  new  school-house  was  built,  the 
Sisters  of  Charity  from  Madison,  N.  J., 
were  given  charge  of  it,  and  thereafter 
boys  as  well  as  girls  were  received. 
The  plan  of  its  work  embraces  primary,  grammar,  and  high  school  grades.  Stenography,  type-writing,  book- 
keeping, and  mathematics  are  taught  with  marked  success.  In  reply  to  some  unwarranted  comments  made 
upon  the  school's  work,  Father  Smyth, 
three  years  ago,  offered  a  prize  of 
$1,000  to  be  competed  for  in  an  exam- 
ination in  these  subjects  by  pupils  of 
his  school  and  those  of  any  public 
school  in  Boston.  The  school  roll  has 
635  names  and  the  average  attendance 
is  620.  St.  John's  School,  at  the  cor- 
ner of  Dacia  and  Dalmatia  Streets,  is 
also  flourishing,  its  attendance  being 
300  for  a  roU  of  335. 

The  Sunday-school  is  attended  by 
300  children.  The  other  church  organ- 
izations include  a  Conference  of  St. 
Vincent  de  Paul,  numbering  20  mem- 
bers ;  the  Holy  Name  and  Rosary 
Societies,  each  having  about  500  mem- 
bers ;  the  Sodality  of  the  Blessed  Vir- 
gin Mary,  with  400  members,  and  the 
Sacred   Heart  League,  300  members. 

St.  JosErii's  Church,  Rox 

Although  considerably  depleted  by  loss  of  territory  to  new  parishes  on  two  occasions  during  Father  Smyth's 
rectorate,  the  congregation  is  estimated  at  7,000  souls.  One  cause  of  this  is  the  fact  that  the  district  is 
regarded  as  a  most  eligible  place  for  residence  by  people  of  moderate  means.     But  no  doubt  can  be  entertained 


that  due  influence  was  exercised  in  producing  tlie  result  by  tlie  ceaseless  and  self-sacrificing  activity  of  the 
rector,  in  seeking  the  good  of  his  people. 

The  sanctuary  of  the  new  church  will  be  an  octagonal  recess,  opening  at  each  side  into  a  commodious 
vestry.  The  main  entrance  will  be  that  constructed  in  the  tower,  and  is  to  be  tastefully  finished  with  mould- 
ings in  terra  cotta.  The  architects  are  W.  H.  and  J.  A.  McGinty,  of  Boston.  The  site  of  All  Saints'  Church 
was  formerly  part  of  the  estate  of  Governor  Bradley,  one  of  the  early  governors  of  the  New  England  colony, 
whose  family  occupied  it  for  many  years,  making  it  a  notable  spot  in  Roxbury. 

This  will  be  the  thirteenth  church  that  Father  Smyth  has  erected.  Before  coming  to  Boston  he  had  built 
four  churches  in  Weymouth,  as  well  as  one  each  in  Hingham,  Cohasset,  Scituate,  and  Kingston.  It  is  expected 
that  the  church  of  All  Saints  will  be  assigned  the  territory  northwest  of  Highland  Street,  starting  at  Roxbury 
Street,  and  continuing  by  an  imaginary  line  from  Marcella  Street,  near  the  West  Roxbury  boundary,  across  to 
Seaver  Street,  off  Washington  Street,  as  a  new  parish.  With  it  will  go  3,000  of  Father  Smyth's  congregation. 
He  does  not  know  that  such  a  parish  will  be  formed,  but  he  hopes  it  will,  and  he  is  building  All  Saints'  in 
expectation  of  seeing  that  hope  realized. 

The  parochial  residence  of  St.  Joseph's  Church  is  a  commodious  and  substantial  brick  structure,  and  fur- 
nishes a  most  comfortable  home  for  the  priests  of  the  parish. 

Father  Smyth  "was  born  June  6,  1839,  on  the  banks  of  the  historic  Boyne,  County  Meath,  Ireland,  close 
to  the  birth-place  of  the  late  John  Boyle  O'Reilly.  He  traces  his  ancestry  to  one  of  the  families  of  the  Pale, 
who,  for  whatever  else  it  may  be  censurable,  stubbornly  adhered  to  the  faith.  He  came  with  relatives  to  Boston 
at  the  age  of  six  years.  He  attended  a  public  school  in  Northampton  Street,  taught  by  a  lady  who  was  subse- 
quently married  to  Mr.  Gill,  one  of  the  past  writers  of  The  Pilot.  Leaving  there  at  the  age  of  twelve,  he 
became  a  pupil  of  the  old  Dwight  School.  At  the  age  of  sixteen  he  was  admitted  to  the  English  High  School. 
Then,  after  two  years,  he  went  to  the  Sulpitian  College  at  Montreal,  where  he  remained  from  1856  to  1865. 
Owing  to  the  illiiess  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  he  was  not  ordained  in  Boston.  He  elected  to  receive  his  priestly 
functions  at  the  hands  of  Bishop  Timon,  of  Buffalo,  who  accordingly  conferred  them  on  him,  January  3,  1863. 
He  was  first  appointed  as  assistant  at  St.  Patrick's  Church,  Northampton  Street,  in  the  following  July.  From 
here  he  was  sent  to  Mary's,  Taunton,  in  i8'65,  and  thence  to  St.  James',  Boston,  in  1867.  On  August  16,  1S69, 
he  was  appointed  pastor  of  Weymouth,  and,  in  1883,  pastor  of  Plymouth.  He  was  in  Plymouth  but  a  few 
weeks  when  he  was  assigned  to  St.  Joseph's  Church,  in  Roxbury.  Father  Smyth  was  the  first  priest  in  Boston 
to  receive  the  title  of  Permanent  Rector. 



parish  of  St.  jfrancis  be  Sales', 

IDernon  Street,  IRojbury. 

H  E  early  history  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales',  Roxbury,  goes  back  over  a  quarter  of  a 
century.  The  beginning  of  the  parish  was  pioneered  by  the  great-hearted,  indefatiga- 
ble Father  Haskins.  Previous  to  1861,  when  Father  Haskins  celebrated  Mass  in  the 
House  of  the  Angel  Guardian  on  Vernon  Street,  it  was  the  custom  of  the  Catholics  in 
the  neighborhood  to  gather  there  to  hear  IMass.  From  such  small  beginnings  grew 
the  present  great  and  prosperous  parish.  Previous  to  the  building  of  the  present 
j^^J^  church  the  parishioners  owned  a  church  on  Ruggles  Street.  This  was  subsequently 
destroyed  by  fire.  Father  Haskins  bought  the  lot  of  land,  in  1867,  on  Vernon  Street, 
opposite  the  House  of  the  Angel  Guardian,  and  on  that  rose  the  present  edifice.  The  first  pastor,  however, 
was  Father  Sherwood  Healy,  brother  of  Bishop  Healy,  of  Portland.  He  was  appointed  pastor  in  1867,  but 
held  the  pastorate  very  briefly,  for  he  was  transferred  to  the  pastorate  of  the  Cathedral.  Father  James  Griffin 
succeeded  him  in  1867,  and  he  built  the  church.  In  1867  Mass  was  first  said  in  the  basement,  and  October 
21,  i86g,  the  church  was  dedicated  by  Archbishop  Williams. 

The  church  is  on  Vernon  Street,  and  is  built  of  brick,  with  granite  foundations,  and  trimmed  with  yellow 
brick  and  brown  stone.  The  architecture  is  Gothic,  and  was  designed  by  P.  C.  Keely,  of  Brooklyn.  A  noble 
looking  bell  tower  rises  on  the  left  corner  of  the  church  and  is  surmounted  by  a  lofty  slated  spire.  The  total 
cost  of  the  church  is  over  $70,000.  A  new  loggia,  added  by  the  present  pastor  to  the  church,  leads  by  a 
granite  stair-way  to  the  two  main  doors.  Over  each  of  the  main  doors  are  pointed  arch  windows  of  stained 
glass,  set  in  trefoil  and  arc  designs.  The  vestibule  is  illumined  by  four  lancet  windows  of  stained  glass  in 
front,  and  four  on  the  sides.  A  painting  of  "  Christ  Blessing  Little  Children  "  adorns  the  vestibule.  The  vesti- 
bule leads  by  a  semi-circular  stair-way  into  the  body  of  the  church.  A  cherry  wainscot,  topped  by  a  quatrefoil 
moulding,  runs  around  the  vestibule.  Three  doors  lead  from  the  vestibule  into  the  nave.  Entering  and  look- 
ing down  the  aisles  one  beholds  an  interior  chaste  in  color  and  graceful  in  architectural  lines.  The  nave  is 
divided  into  three  aisles  by  two  rows  of  eight  columns  and  two  pilasters.  The  pillars  are  fluted.  From  these 
columns  rise  in  lofty  curves  three  series  of  pointed  arches.  The  nine  main  arches  support  the  highest  part  of 
the  roof.  Eight  arches  support  the  clerestory.  Two  galleries  run  along  the  sides  of  the  church  and  are  sup- 
ported by  the  walls  and  the  columns  in  the  nave.  The  galleries  are  of  oak,  and  are  elaborately  carved. 
Between  each  column,  as  a  support  for  the  galleries,  is  an  oak  truss  forming  an  angular  arch.  On  the  railing  of 
the  galleries  are  the  stations  of  the  cross.  They  were  made  in  Innsbruck,  Austria,  and  are  of  wood,  with 
figures  carved  in  bas-relief  against  a  golden  sky,  and  are  framed  in  a  quatrefoil  design.  Under  the  galleries 
are  stained  glass  windows  of  holy  personages  in  the  church. 

The  windows  are  very  fine  pieces  of  workmanship,  and  beginning  from  the  sanctuary  railing  on  the  gospel 
aisle  and  thence  up  the  epistle  aisle  to  the  sanctuary  railing,  the  windows  were  presented  by  or  are  in  memory 
of  the  following  personages:  Rev.  J.  Delehunty,  Mrs.  Phcebe  O'Donnell,  Henry  Doherty,  John  B.  Walker, 
James  Lambert,  John  Curley,  Jeremiah  H.  Lane,  John  J.  Franey,  Ellen  Good,  J.  J.  McNamara,  J.  Donahue, 
William  H.  Smith,  Margaret  and  Thomas  Fay,  Michael  H.  Reddish,  William  Gilligan,  J.  A.  Kingsley,  Thomas 
F.  Scanlon,   Charles  F.   Murphy,  Timothy  Kinahan,  Ann  Scott,   Peter  Fay,  John  McElroy,   Bridget   Norton, 



Margaret  Mulrey,  Michael  Murphy,  Rev.  James  Griffin,  Martin  and  Mary  Shay.     The  windows  number  four- 
teen, are  lancet  in  design,  and  are  arranged  in  pairs. 

The  windows  in  memory  of  Father  Griffin  ancL  Father  Delehunty  were  presented  to  the  church  by  the 
present  pastor.  The  memorial  window  to  Father  Griffin  represents  the  Good  Shepherd,  and  the  window  to 
Father  Delehunty  represents  the  Sacred  Heart   of  Jesus.     Above   the  gallery,   along  the   nave,  are  fourteen 

stained  glass  windows,  conventional  in  design,  but 
highly  ornamental  and  beautifully  colored.  These 
windows  are  also  arranged  in  pairs  and  each  pair  is 
surmounted  by  a  small  quatrefoil  stained  glass  pane. 
Over  the  side  altars  and  above  the  galleries  are  two 
stained  glass  windows,  a  combination  of  arch  and 
quatrefoil  in  design. 

The  sanctuary  is  lighted  by  three  fine  windows, 
lancet  in  design  and  of  stained  glass.  The  middle 
window  represents  Christ  throned  in  heavenly  glory. 
On  the  left,  adoring,  is  the  archangel  Michael,  and 
on  the  right  the  angel  Raphael.  The  choir  is  illumed 
by  two  stained  glass  windows  on  the  sides,  lancet  in 
form,  surmounted  by  quatrefoil,  and  back  of  the  organ 
is  an  immense  window  of  stained  glass.  From  the 
gallery  balustrade,  between  each  column,  rises  brass 
fixtures  for  gas  or  electric  light ;  and  from  the  columns, 
also,  project  two  sets  of  electric  lights,  one  above  the 
gallery  and  one  below. 

The  organ  in  the  choir  loft  was  made  by  Hook 
&  Hastings.  The  organ  pipes  are  blue  and  gold  and 
the  organ  panels  are  white  and  gold. 

The  interior,  as  it  now  stands,  has  been  altered  by 
plans  drawn  by  P.  W.  Ford,  and  it  is  frescoed  by  F.  P. 
Whitaker.  The  general  tone  of  the  interior  decora- 
tions is  olive  and  green  and  gold.  Between  the  trusses 
of  the  main  arches,  on  the  clerestory,  are  painted,  in 
quatrefoil  frames,  pictures  of  the  twelve  apostles  and 
the  four  doctors  of  the  church.  The  roof  of  the 
sanctuary  is  a  clouded  blue  sky  thronged  witli  cherubs. 
The  sanctuary  roof  is  supported  by  four  arch  trusses. 
The  walls  of  the  sanctuaf^'  are  done  in  maroon,  with 
gold  crosses,  and  capped  by  a  blue  border,  above 
which  are  painted  seven  lancet  framed  emblems  sym- 
bolic of  the  seven  sacraments. 

The  altar  is  of  wood,  elaborately  carved  and 
finished  in  white  and  gold,  while  on  either  side  of  the 
tabernacle  are  adoring  angels  encircled   in  a  halo  of 

St.  Fran-CIS  de  Sales'  Church.  Vernon  Street,  Roxmirv.  , 


The  general  design  of  the  interior  decorations  is  Gothic,  with  renaissance  tracery,  and  in  the  borders  the 
passion  flower  predominates.  Surrounding  the  sanctuary  is  a  circle  of  ele'ctric  lights,  each  cluster  made  up  of 
tiny  brilliant  stars,  while  various  designs  such  as  roses  and  dainty  blossoms  form  radii  of  vari-colored  lights. 

There  are'  two  side  altars,  one  to  St.  Joseph,  the  other  to  the  Blessed  Virgin.  The  pews  are  of  oak  and 
number  300,  and  the  seating  capacity  is  1,600.     There  are  about  io,ooa  people  in  the  parish,  and  the  Sunda)'- 






school  numbers  i,ooo.  Two  of  the  large  sodalities  in  the  diocese  are  connected  with  the  parish.  They  are  the 
Young  Women's  and  Married  Women's  Sodalities.  There  are  also  sodalities  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  Holy 
Name,  and  League  of  the  Sacred  Heart,  as  well  as  sodalities  for  the  married  men,  young  men,  and  the  boys 
and  the  girls  of  the  parish.     There  are  over  500  in  each  of  the  sodalities  for  the  women. 

The  present  curates  are  Rev.  John  J.  Bell,  Rev.  James  A.  Walsh,  and  Rev.  John  A.  Harrigan.  There  is, 
as  yet,  no  convent  nor  parochial  school  in  the  parish.  The  parish  residence  is  a  modest,  plain  wooden  building, 
on  Vernon  Street,  aside  the  church,  three  stories  high. 

Rev.  Patrick  J.  Daly,  the  present  pastor,  was  born  in  Ireland  forty-six  years  ago,  and  was  educated  in  that 
country.  He  was  ordained  twenty-one  years  ago  and  was  appointed  as  a  curate  to  St.  Francis  de  Sales',  where 
he  served  in  that  capacity  for  eight  years  under  the  pastorates  of  Father  Griffin  and  later,  Father  Delehunty. 
In  November,  1882,  he  was  appointed  pastor  to  the  church  in  Winchester,  and  on  the  demise  of  Father  Dele- 

Parochial  ] 
St.  Francis  de  Sales 

Church,  Roxuurv. 

Rev.  p.  J.  Daly, 
Pastor  St.  Francis  de  Sales'  Church,  Ro.xburv. 

hunty  he  became  pastor  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales'  in  Jul}',  1888.  Father  Daly  is  a  striking  looking  man  per- 
sonally, being  tall  and  robust,  and  he  is  greatly  beloved  by  all  his  parishioners.  Father  Delehunty,  who  pre- 
ceded him  as  pastor,  died  in  the  hospital  of  the  Grey  Nuns  at  Montreal,  August,  1888.  He  was  born  in  Hali- 
fax in  1843,  ^nd  was  ordained  June  24,  1867,  in  Baltimore,  and  after  serving  in  the  ministry  in  Salem,  Concord, 
and  Marlboro,  became  pastor  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales'  in  1876.  Father  James  Griffin,  the  second  pastor,  died 
June  26,  1885,  in  Franklin,  Mass.,  where  he  was  stationed  as  pastor  of  St.  Mary's. 

It  is  Father  Daly's  intention  to  erect  a  new  parochial  residence  in  place  of  the  old  one  now  occupied. 
The  church  is  entirely  free  of  debt  and  will,  no  doubt,  be  consecrated  in  the  near  future.  Sunday,  October  21, 
1894,  the  twenty-fifth  anniversary  of  the  dedication  was  celebrated.  Archbishop  Williams  celebrated  the  Mass 
and  a  large  number  of  the  clergy  were  present. 



Iparisb  of  ®ur  Xab^  of  perpetual  1K)elp, 

dommonl^  calleb  '*Zbc  riDiesion  Cburcb." 

'NDER  the  charge  of  the  Redemptorist  Fathers,  or  Priests  of  the  Congregation  of  the  Most  Holy 
Redeemer,  this  church  was  organized.  They  are  a  religious  order,  founded  in  1732  by  St. 
Alphonsus  de  Liguori,  Bishop  of  St.  Agatha,  in  the  Kingdom  of  Naples,  Italy.  The  object  of  the 
order  is,  principally,  to  give  missions  and  similar  religious  exercises  in  which  work  they  have  been 
engaged  in  this  country  for  over  si-xty  years. 

Right  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  Bishop  of  Portland,  when  pastor  of  St.  James'  Church  in  Boston, 
recognized  the  vast  amount  of  good  that  was  being  done  by  these   Fathers   and  induced  them  to 
establish  a  house  in  the  vicinity,  their  nearest  house  then  being  in  New  York  City.     Acceding  to 
his  wishes,  Very  Rev.  Joseph  Helmpraecht,  the  Provincial  Superior  of  the  Redemptorists,  pur- 
chased the  present  property  on  Tremont  Street,  Roxbury,  known  then  as  the  Franklin  Gardens. 
This  piece  of  land  was  one  of  the  choicest  in   Roxbury,  and   had  been  rendered  famous 
from  an  historic  point  of  view,  recalling  to  mind  some  of  the   most  interesting  and  important 
facts  connected  with  the  history  of  our  country.     It  was  known  as  "  Brinley  Place  "  in  the  early 

part  of  the  eighteenth  century,  having  been  bought  by  Colonel  Francis  Brinley,  who,  about  the  year  1723,  built 

upon  it  the  "Datchet  House,"  in  memory  of  the  old  homestead  of  his  ancestors  in  England.     This  house  is 

still  partially  preserved  and  forms  the  western  end  of  the  present  convent  of  the   Fathers.     Colonel   Brinley 

died  in  1765,  and  lies  buried  together  with  his  wife 

in  King's  Chapel,   Boston.     In   1773  the  house  was 

bought  by  Mr.  Robert  Pierpont,  a  very  rich  merchant, 

and  on  account  of  the  splendors  he  added  to  it,  was 

popularly  called  "Pierpont  Castle."      Tradition  has 

it  that  the   official   negotiations  in  reference  to   the 

Stamp  Act  were  carried  on  in  this  house.     It  was  in 

this  house  that  General  Artemas  Ward,  commanding 

the  right  wing  of  Washington's  army,  had  his  head- 
quarters.    It    was    here,    on    March    13,    1776,    that 

General    Washington     assembled     his    officers    and 

directed    their    movements    which    resulted    in    the 

evacuation  of    Boston  by  the   British  army.     It  was 

here  that  General  Henry  Dearborn  afterwards  lived, 

famous   in   our  war  with   England,   at  the  battle   of 

Bunker  Hill,  and  at  Quebec,  as  General  of  the  Army 

of  the  North,  in   1812,  when  he  captured  Fort  Erie, 

on  the   Niagara  River,  and  the  town   of  York,  now 

Toronto.     It  was  for  him  that  Fort  Dearborn,  now   covered  by  the  city  of  Chicago,  was  named,  whilst  he  was 

Secretary  of  War,  under  President  Jefferson's  administration.     General  Dearborn  was  buried  immediately  in 

front  of  the  present  church.      His  remains  were  afterwards  removed  to  Forest  Hills  Cemetery. 

"Datchet  Hou 



Gen.  Henry  Alexander  Scammel  Dearborn,  son  of  the  former,  also  lived  in  this  same  house  for  many  years, 

and  added  to  the  beauty  of  its  famous  gardens,  in  which  were  raised  many  of  the  grandest  trees  that  now 

grace  the  beautiful  cemeteries  of  Forest  Hills  and  Mount  Auburn,  of  both  of  which  he  was  one  of  the  founders. 

It  was  in  this  house  that  the  Ursuline  Nuns  were  received  and  lodged,  for  about  a  year,  after  their  convent  in 

Charlestown  had  been  burned,  by  a  bigoted  mob,  on  the  night  of  August  1 1,  1834. 
When  the  Redemptorist  Fathers  purchased  this  house  they  at  once  trans- 
formed it  into  a  convent.      After  some  time  a  church  was  built  on  the  east  side 

of  the  house,  connecting  with  the  right  wing  of  it.     It  was  dedicated  to  Our 

Blessed  Lady  of   Perpetual   Help  and  was  blessed  by  the   first  Superior,  Rev. 

Joseph  Vvissel,  on  January  29,  187 1.     It  was  a  hundred  feet  Ions;  and  forty-eight 

feet  wide.     It  was  a  plain  frame  structure,  with  the  entrance  at  the  upper  end 

facing  the  street,  and  was  surmounted  with  a  belfry  that  rose  to  a  height  of 

eighty  feet.      The   small   bell   summoned   not  only  the   neighboring 

Catholics,  but  people   from  all  over  the  city  and  neighboring  towns 

flocked  to  this  new  church,  where  the  sermons  of  powerful  speakeis 

and  veteran  missionaries  packed  the  edifice  Sundays  and  week  da)  s 

and  wrought  great  good  among  the  people.     So  great  and  eager  \\ere 

the  crowds  that  came  to  hear  the  word  of  God  that  they  were  satisfied 

to  sit  in  groups  before  the  doors  and  windows  rather  than  return  home 

again  entirely  disappointed  when  they  could  not  get  into  the  chuich 

For  seven  years  the  people  worshipped  in  this  humble  church,  dunng 

which  time  they  became  very  much  attached   to  it.     Although  it  \\as 

not  a  parish  church,  but  a  mission  church,  where  the  Fathers  preached 

and  administered  the  sacraments  of  penance  and  communion  only  to  those  who  frequented  it,  indiscriminately, 

wherever  they  came  from,  and  from  which  church  the  Fathers  went  forth  to  preach  missions  in  other  places,  the 

faithful,  nevertheless,  clung  to  it  and  seemed  to  think  that  it  was  suffi- 
cient to  supply  all  their  spiritual  wants.  Although  the  community  of 
the  good  Fathers  and  Brothers  who  waited  on  them  was  poor  in  the 
goods  of  this  world,  the  generous  people  supplied  them  with  everything 
their  ingenuity  could  suggest  for  their  comfort,  and  helped  very  soon  to 
liquidate  the  heavy  debt  upon  the  property  and  its  improvements. 

Both  this  generosity  of  the  people  as  well  as  the  crowds  that  con- 
stantly proved  the  inadequateness  of  the  frame  church  to  answer  to  the 
demands  of  the  faithful,  induced  the  Fathers  to  take  steps  towards 
erecting  a  larger  church  that  would  be  sufficiently  large  to  accommodate 
the  faithful  for  all  times  as  well  as  to  be  a  monument  to  their  zeal  and 

There  was  plenty  of  room,  as  the  missionaries  had  secured  about 
six  acres  of  land,  foreseeing,  no  doubt,  the  needs  of  future  institu- 
tions to  be  erected  in  connectioa  with  their  labors.  Plans  for  the  new 
church  were  prepared  by  Mr.  William  Schickel,  of  New  York,  under  the 
direction  of  Rev.  Leopold  Petsch,  the  Superior.  The  corner-stone  was 
laid  on  May  28,  1876,  by  His  Grace,  Archbishop  Williams.  The  ser- 
mon was  preached  by  Right  Rev.  Bishop  Healy,  of  Portland,  Maine. 
An  event  which  makes  that  day  still  more  memorable  was  the  burning 
of  the  convent  of  the  Fathers  during  the  following  night.  As  no  clue 
to  the  cause  of  the  fire  could  be  learned,  the  popular  feeling  has  pointed 

ever  since  to  incendiarism.     This  fire  destroyed  the  central  portion  of  the  old  Dearborn  mansion,  together  with 

the  eastern  wing,  leaving  at  present  only  the  corresponding  wing  on  the  west  side ;  to  which  is  attached  at  the 

Rev.  Leopold  Petsch 
Former  Pastor  Mission  Church 





present  time  the  old  frame  church,  which,  after  the  completion  of  the  new  church,  was  swung  around  and  now 
constitutes,  with  the  remnant  of  the  old  mansion,  the  spacious  and  unique  convent  of  the  Fathers. 

The  dedication  of  the  present  chijrch  took  place  on  April  7,  1878,  Rev.  William  Loewekamp  being  the 
rector.  Rev.  James  Fitton,  one  of  Boston's  pioneer  priests,  and  author  of  Sketches  of  the  Church  in  New 
England,  preached  a  most  eloquent  sermon. 

The  new  church  is  built  on  an  eminence  at  the  eastern  end  of  the  property,  standing  somewhat  back  from 
the  street,  making  a  large  and  graceful  area  in  front.  It  is  built  of  Roxbury  pudding  stone,  trimmed  with 
Quincy  granite,  and  is  one  of  the  largest  and  most  imposing  church  structures  in  New  England.  The  style  of 
architecture  is  the  Romanesque,  which,  by  both  its  massiveness  and  purity,  creates  in  the  beholder  a  feeling  of 
awe  as  well  as  delight.  The  church  is  215  feet  long  and  78  feet  wide.  Being  built  in  the  shape  of  a  Latin 
cross,  it  has  a  transept  115  feet  in  length.      It  has  both  a  nave  and  aisles.     Both  nave  and  transepts,  with  the 

Rev.  Augustine  McIne 

Rector  Mission  Church,  Ro>i 

clerestory  above  them,  rise  to  a  height  of  70  feet.  The  height  of  the  aisles  is  34  feet.  At  the  intersection  of 
the  nave  and  transepts  rises  an  octagonal  dome,  the  centre  of  which,  in  the  interior,  is  no  feet  above  the  floor 
of  the  church.  The  clerestories  are  supported  by  graceful  monoliths  of  various  kinds  of  polished  granite, 
American  and  foreign.  The  immense  arches  of  brick  supporting  the  dome  are  carried  on  clusters  of  four 
columns.  Triforium  galleries  look  out  into  the  nave  along  both  sides  of  the  church  beneath  the  clerestory 
windows.  Over  the  porch,  with  its  six  massive  doors  leading  in  and  out  of  the  church,  is  the  organ  loft,  a 
graceful  gallery,  for  organ  and  choir  only.  The  two  massive  towers  on  the  two  front  corners  of  the  church, 
which  have  not  yet  been  completed,  will  rise  to  a  height  of  over  200  feet,  and  will  no  doubt  be  the  most  im- 
posing in  the  city  of  Boston.  The  church,  with  its  large  chancel  and  transepts,  has  seven  altars,  which, 
although  of  modest  proportions  and  material  now,  will  soon  be  replaced  with  others  in  keeping  with  the  grand 






architecture  of  the  edifice.  The  pews,  confessionals,  and  other  wood-work  of  the  church  are  of  black  walnut, 
and  present  a  harmonious  combination  Avith  the  granite  columns  and  their  sandstone  bases  and  capitals.  The 
capitals  are  most  elaborately  carved  and  are  among  the  finest  in  the  country.  The  pulpit  is  an  artistic  piece 
of  work,  being  put  together  of  various  kinds  of  marble  and  granite,  and  presents  a  specimen  of  elegant  work- 

One  of  the  principal  attractions  of  the  Mission  Church  is  the  noted  shrine  of  Our  Lady  of  Perpetual  Help, 
to  whom  the  church  is  dedicated.  This  shrine  is  remarkable  for  the  miraculous  character  of  the  image  of  Our 
Blessed  Lady  venerated  there,  and  the  frequent  miracles  and  favors  obtained  there.  The  picture  is  a  copy  of 
the  original  miraculous  image  which  was  venerated  in  the  Island  of  Crete,  hundreds  of  years  ago,  and  was 
finally  placed  in  the  Church  of  the  Redemptorist  Fathers,  in  Rome,  by  the  late  Pope  Pius  the  IX.  Wherever 
the  Redemptorists  have  a  church  or  chapel  a  copy  of  this  picture  will  be  seen  over  some  altar  especially  dedi- 

MissiON  Church,  Roxdurv 

Rev.  Joseph  Henning, 
Formerly  Rector  Mission  Churcf 

cated  to  it.  Many  are  the  favors  granted  to  those  honoring  this  fond  image  of  our  Blessed  Mother,  so  that  it 
has  become  more  or  less  familiar  now  to  most  Catholics.  Few  seem  to  be  the  sanctuaries,  however,  that  have 
met  with  more  favor  at  the  hands  of  the  Mother  of  God,  than  this  one  of  (^ur  Lady  at  the  Mission  Church. 
Great  was  the  devotion  of  the  people  to  it  from  the  very  beginning,  when  the  present  picture  was  placed  over 
the  altar  in  the  old  frame  church.  Since  it  has  been  removed  to  the  present  beautiful  shrine,  miracles  of  an 
astounding  character  have  contributed  to  its  fame  and  prestige.  Fresh  in  the  minds  of  the  people  is  still  the 
miraculous  cure  of  Miss  Grace  Hanley,  now  Sister  Mary  of  Perpetual  Help  of  the  Sisters  of  Jesus  and  Mary, 
daughter  of  Col.  Patrick  Hanley.  She  had  been  a  cripple  from  her  fourth  year,  on  account  of  an  accident  that 
occurred  to  her.  At  the  age  of  sixteen,  after  finishing  a  novena  to  Our  Blessed  Lady  for  her  cure,  and  when 
approaching  the  altar  with  the  aid  of  crutches  and  the  assistance  of  her  relatives,  she  suddenly  cast  her  crutches 
aside  and  walked  to  the  altar  perfectly  cured.      She  is  at  present  teaching  at  a  convent  at  Claremont,  N.  H. 






\Mien  the  district  surrounding  the  church  had  become  thickly  populated,  whereas  the  people  could  not 
receive  all  the  necessary  spiritual  assistance  from  the  Mission  Church,  as  it  was  not  a  parish  church.  His  Grace, 
Archbishop  M'illiams,  recognizing  the  need  of  such  a  church  in  the  vicinity,  proposed  to  the  Fathers  the  erec- 
tion of  their  church  into  a  regular  canonical  parish.  This  proposition  was  received  with  favor  by  the  Fathers, 
who,  on  April  8,  1883,  announced  to  the  people  the  limits  of  the  parish  and  forthwith  took  their  entire  spiritual 
care  into  their  hands. 

One  of  the  main  features  of  the  Mission  Church  parish,  at  present,  is  the  Parochial  School.  For  years 
there  had  been  a  large  Sunday-school  conducted,  on  Sundays  and  Saturdays,  in  the  basement  of  the  church. 
This  mode  of  imparting  religious  instruction  to  almost  2,000  children,  who  then  belonged  to  the  Sunday-school, 
proved  every  day  more  and  more  inadequate.  Rev.  Fatlier  Mclnerney,  the  rector,  resolved,  therefore,  to  under- 
take the  good  work.  Plans  were  drawn  up  for  a  large  school-building  in  the  rear  of  the  church  grounds,  on 
Smith  Street.     The  corner-stone  was  laid  on  April  8.  188S,  by  His  Grace.  Archbishop  Williams.     Rev.  Joseph 


Henning,  C.  SS.  R.,  delivered  an  eloquent  address  on  christian  education.  The  school  was  blessed  by  Archbishop 
Williams,  on  August  18,  1889.  The  sermon  on  the  latter  occasion  was  preached  by  Rev.  Charles  Sigl,  C.  SS.  R. 
The  event,  an  important  one  in  Boston,  was  celebrated  with  unusual  pomp  for  such  an  occasion,  and  was 
honored  by  the  presence  of  several  bishops  and  many  priests  from  remote  parts  of  the  country. 

The  school  is  a  large  brick  building  trimmed  with  granite,  the  first  stoi-y  being  of  Roxbury  pudding 
stone.  It  is  i66  feet  long.  The  staircases  are  at  each  end  of  the  building  with  the  entrances  for  the  boys  and 
the  girls  respectively.  It  is  70  feet  wide  and  has  an  entrance  and  staircase  also  on  the  middle  front  of  the 
building.  It  contains  a  large  hall  in  the  basement,  with  a  well-equipped  stage  and  dressing-rooms,  and  a 
seating  capacity  of  nearly  1,200  people.  There  are  twenty-four  class-rooms,  eight  on  each  of  the  three  upper 
floors,  well  lighted  and^ventilated. 



There  are  at  present  1,250  children  in  the  school.  The  teachers,  to  the  number  of  twenty,  are  the  School 
Sisters  of  Notre  Dame,  taken  from  the  two  provinces  of  the  order,  Baltimore  and  Milwaukee,  a  sisterhood  of 
school-teachers  only,  whose  work  has  proved  most  satisfactory  to  both  the  high  schools  of  the  city,  to  which 
the  children  are  regularly  graduated,  as  well  as  to  the  select  schools.  They  have  been  awarded  a  prize  at  the 
late  Columbian  Exposition  for  their  general  work. 

The  following  organizations  are  connected  with  the  parish :  The  Arch-confraternity  of  the  Holy  Family, 
with  four  branches  for  both  married  and  single  men  and  women,  numbering  over  2,000  members;  the  Confer- 
ence of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  for  the  care  of  the  poor  of  the  parish;  the  Sacred  Heart  League,  embracing 
about  5,000  members;  the  Junior  Holy  Family,  for  the  boys  and  girls  of  the  parish,  having  upwards  of  700 
members ;  the  Young  Men's  Mission  Church  Association ;  the  Young  Ladies'  Charitable  Society,  and  the 
Catholic  Educational  Society  of  Our  Lady  of  Perpetual  Help. 

Rev,  William  H.  Gross. 
V  Rector  Mission  Church.  RoxiiURV. 

Rev.  John  J.  Frawlev, 
Pastor  Mission  Church,  Roxbury. 

The  growth  of  the  parish  has  been  almost  phenomenal.  From  a  few  souls  who  lived  in  the  neighborhood 
of  the  church  at  the  date  of  its  inception  it  had  grown  to  number,  in  1890,  9,300  souls.  As  fully  one-third  of 
these  lived  on  the  other  side  of  Parker  Hill,  over  a  mile  from  the  church,  and  had,  moreover,  to  make  a  great 
ascent  on  their  journey  to  the  services,  it  was  deemed  necessary  to  build  a  parish  church  nearer  to  them.  In 
1 89 1,  Rev.  Father  Frawley,  the  present  rector,  erected  the  Church  of  the  Blessed  Sacrament,  a  large  structure 
containing  both  church  and  school.  The  parish  has  since  been  cut  off  from  the  Mission  Church  parish  and 
has  been  placed  under  the  charge  of  Rev.  Arthur  T.  Connolly  with  two  assistant  priests.  This  is  the  first 
daughter  of  the  Mission  Church  parish  and  bids  soon  to  become  one  of  the  largest  parishes  of  Boston.  The 
membership  of  the  Mission  Church  therefore  numbers  at  the  present  time  about  8,000  souls. 



The  following  is  a  list  of  the  rectors  who  have  had  charge  of  the  Mission  Church  since  its  foundation : 
Rev.  Joseph  Wissel,  1869-187 1.  Father  Wissel  is  well  known,  both  in  the  United  States  and  Canada,  as 
one  of  the  veteran  missionaries  of  this  country.  He  has  been  conducting  missions  over  forty  years  and  is  still 
enjoying  health  and  vigor  for  the  work.  He  is  at  present  superior  of  the  Mission  House  at  Saratoga  Springs, 
N.  Y.,  from  which  place  he  still  goes  forth,  with  the  younger  missionaries  under  his  leadership,  into  his  old 
fields  of  labor. 

Rev.  ^^'iIliam  H.  Gross,  1871-1873.  In  1S73  Rev.  William  H.  Gross  was  appointed  Bishop  of  Savannah, 
Georgia,  and  was  consecrated  at  the  Cathedral  of  Baltimore,  by  Archbishop  Bailey,  on  April  27.  He  was 
promoted  by  His  Holiness,  Pope  Leo  XHI,  on  February  i,  1885,  to  the  Archiepiscopal  See  of  Oregon.  He 
had  greatly  endeared  himself  to  his  people  by  his  great  ability,  especially  by  his  superior  eloquence  and  his 
personal  amiability.  Although  their  joy  was  great  over  his  elevation,  their  sense  of  sorrow  over  his  loss  to 
them  was  none  the  less  keen. 

;l'I,IUAI,    HELP,    ROXBURY. 

Rev.  Leopold  Petsch,  1873-1877,  who  has  since  died  in  the  odor  of  sanctity  and  is  buried  in  Mt.  Calvary 

Rev.  William  Loewekamp,  1877-1880,  at  present  at  the  Church  of  St.  Alphonsus,  St.  Louis,  Mo. 

Rev.  Joseph  Henning,  1880-1887,  at  present  at  Ilchester,  Md.,  as  Provincial  Consultor  and  Professor  of 
Moral  Theology  in  the  Redemptorist  House  of  Studies  at  that  place. 

Rev.  Augustine  Mclnerney,  1887-1890,  at  present  superior  of  a  new  foundation  at  Bay  Ridge,  Long 
Island,  N.  Y. 

Rev.  John  J.  Frawley,  1890  to  the  present  time.  Father  Frawley  was  born  in  Brookline,  Mass.,  and 
rgfiseived  his  elementary  education  in  the  public  schools.  He  early  resolved  to  devote  his  life  to  the  sacred 
calling,  and  entered  the  Redemptorists'  House  of  Studies  at  Ilchester,  Md.,  when  a  young  man,  to  prepare 
himself  for  his  chosen  work.  He  was  ordained  in  the  Cathedral  at  Baltimore,  by  Cardinal  Gibbons,  June 
II,  188 1.  From  the  time  of  his  ordination  until  he  came  to  the  Mission  Church  as  rector,  his  services  were 
devoted  to  missionary  work  in  New  York, 



Iparieb  of  tbe  Bleeseb  Sacrament  IRoxbur^. 

\  the  last  ten  or  a  dozen  years,  the  number  of  the  Catholic  residents  of  Roxbury  has  largely 
mcieased.  By  1S91  the  need  of  further  church  accommodation  was  severely  felt,  and 
4ichbishop  Williams  saw  it  was  necessary  to  create  another  parish.  This  step  had  its 
objections,  and  he  accepted,  as  a  temporary  expedient,  the  proposal  of  the  Redemptorist 
Fathers  to  build  a  school  chapel  for  the  suffering  district  within  their  parish  lines,  and 
ittend  it  from  the  Church  of  Our  Lady  of  Perpetual  Help.  With  a  view  to  future  necessi- 
ties the  Fathers  secured  a  lot  situated  at  the  junction  of  Centre  and  Creighton  Streets, 
measuring  about  three  acres.  Here,  upon  a  site  some  rods  to  the  rear  of  Centre  Street,  a  tasteful  frame  struct- 
ure of  two  stories  was  erected.  On  the  first  floor  were  an  office  and  six  class-rooms,  suitable  for  a  school. 
The  upper  floor  was  devoted  to  a  chapel,  which,  well  lighted  and  ventilated,  was  capable  of  seating  1,000  per- 
sons. On  May  22, 
1892,  the  building 
was  dedicated  un- 
der the  name  of 
the  Chapel  of  the 
Blessed  Sacra- 
ment. The  cere- 
mony was  perform- 
ed by  the  Arch- 
bishop, assisted  by 
the  Rev.  Thomas 
M  a  g  e  n  n  i  s,  Rev. 
Arthur  T.  Con- 
nolly, and  Rev. 
Michael  Sheehan, 
C.  SS.  R.  Father 
Magennis  was  cele- 
brant of  the  High 
Mass,  Fathers 
Connolly  and  Shee- 
han officiating  as 
deacons,  and  the 
dedication  sermon 
was  delivered  by 
Rev.  Father  Wis- 
sel,  C.  SS.  R.,  of 

Shortly  after,  unforeseen  circumstances  compelled  the  Fathers  to  ask  to  be  relieved  of  their  new  charge. 
The  request  was  granted,  and,  thereupon,  the  parish  of  the  Blessed  Sacrament  was  formed.  The  territory 
assigned  to  it  comprised  portions  of  the  parishes  of  Our  Lady  of  Perpetual  Help,  St.  Thomas  Aquinas,  St. 

1 66 


Joseph,  and  Our  Lady  of  the  Assumption;  and  the  Rev.  Arthur  1'.  Connolly  was  appointed  its  rector.  In  the 
two  )'ears  that  have  since  elapsed.  Father  Connolly  has  accomplished  an  unusual  amount  of  work.  The  zeal 
and  abihty  he  brought  to  his  pastoral  duties  were  met  half  way  by  the  responsiveness  of  his  congregation. 
Under  these  happy  conditions  the  best  results  were  certain  to  ensue. 

After  organizing  his  parish  and  getting  its  administration  well  in  hand,  he  applied  himself  to  the  project 
of  erecting  a  parish  hall,  where  the  members  of  his  congregation  could  assemble  for  mutual  improvement  or 
recreation.  A  two-story  frame  building,  located  near  the  church,  94  by  40  feet,  with  a  spacious  hall  on  the 
upper  floor,  and  stores  on  the  ground  floor,  designed  to  be  let  for  business  purposes  to  bring  an  income, 
rewarded  his  efforts  in  May,  1893.  In  the  following  September  he  opened  a  parochial  school  in  the  lower 
story  of  the  church  building,  with  310  pupils,  taught  by  a  community  of  the  New  Jersey  Sisters  of  Charity.  On 
November  1,  aided  by  the  generosity  of  Mr.  John  R.  Alley,  he  opened,  in  Parker  Street,  a  day  home  for 
the  children  of  working  women,  under  the  care  of  an  experienced  matron  and  assistants.  Subsequently,  by 
his  suggestion,  to  aid  the  home,  a  number  of  the  ladies  of  the  parish  formed  themselves  into  an  organization 
named  the  Children's  Aid  Society,  which  holds  weekly  meetings  to  prepare  and  distribute  clothirg  to  worthy 


women  and  children  in  need  of  it.     The  active  interest  taken  in  parish  matters  by  the  ladies  was  further  illus- 
trated this  year  by  a  most  successful  May  party,  planned  and  carried  out  by  them. 

The  Roxbury  Young  Men's  Catholic  Association,  started  by  Father  Connolly  in  January,  1894,  is  one  of 
the  most  promising  of  his  works.  Its  objects,  as  stated  in  its  constitution  are,  "to  unite  the  yoimg  men  of  the 
parish,  and  to  afford  them  opportunities  of  advancing  in  knowledge  by  means  of  lectures,  debates,  essays, 
readings,  etc. ;  to  cultivate  a  social  and  fraternal  spirit  among  the  members,  and  also  to  provide  them  with 
lawful  recreation  by  means  of  social  conversation,  and  all  other  proper  and  legitimate  amusements  that  may 
advance  their  moral,  mental,  and  physical  development."  The  rector,  after  enlarging  the  parish  hall  by  adding 
another  story,  and  otherwise  improving  it,  has  given  the  free  use  of  it  to  the  association.  In  addition  to 
the  hall  on  the  second  floor,  and  the  stores  on  the  ground  floor,  it  has  now  a  reading-room,  recreation -room, 
billiard -room,  and  smoking-room,  all  commodious  and  suitably  furnished.  In  the  rear  of  the  building  there 
will  be  constructed  an  out -door  gymnasium,  furnished  with  a  cinder  track,  a  straight  track  of  100  yards,  tennis 
courts,  horizontal  and  parallel  bars,  and  other  apparatus  for  developing  the  muscles.     A  debating  and  literary 





class  has  already  been  formed.     A  bicj'cle  club  is  in  course  of 
supplemented  by  a  chorus  of  thirty  voices.     The  organization  of 



i  I  - 

^-laN'Pfiaia  uiiiife 

I'  niAi.  Risiiii:nck,  Ciuki  n  oi-  the  Blessed  Sacrament,  Centre  Stree 

people,  and,  no  doubt,  in  due  time,  a  nobler  edifice 
will  take  its  place. 

The  Sisters  of  Charity,  who,  nine  in  number, 
arrived  August  23,  1893,  have  their  convent  in  an  old 
historic  dwehing  near  the  rectory,  supposed  to  have 
been  honored  by  the  presence  of  Generals  Washing- 
ton and  Lafayette  for  a  short  stay  in  Revolutionary 
times.  Their  school  course  includes  stenography, 
type-writing,  algebra,  book-keeping,  together  with  plain 
and  fancy  sewing.  It  is  their  purpose  to  begin  next 
year  a  high  school  course,  which  includes  painting  in 
oil  and  water  colors.  The  pupils  comprise  boys  and 
girls,  divided  into  seven  classes.  After  having  had  an 
average  attendance  of  315  for  the  first  year,  the  school 
closed  in  June  last  with  360  pupils  on  the  registers. 
It  opened  in  September  with  358  pupils.  The  church 
has  the  usual  societies  connected  with  it.  The  con- 
gregation is  estimated  at  4,000  souls,  while  infallible 
signs  indicate  a  considerable  increase  in  the  near 

Father  Connolly  is  counted  among  the  pulpit 
orators  of  the  Archdiocese.  He  has  also  won  distinc- 
tion on  the  lecture  platform.  An  earnest  and  sympa- 
thetic nature  enables  him  to  quickly  win  the  confidence 
of  young  men.  He  was  born,  December  2,  1853,  in 
Waltham,    Mass.      After    graduating    in    the    public 

formation,  and  so  is  a  double  quartette,  to  be 
a  base  -  ball  nine  and  a  boat  club  are  in  con- 
templation. Beginning  with  about  200 
members,  the  association's  roster  now 
numbers  250.  In  compliance  with  a 
lule  of  the  organization,  all  attended 
r  week's  retreat  conducted  by  Father 
C  ullen,  of  Philadelphia,  and  closed  it 
by  receiving  Communion  together  on 
the  Feast  of  Corpus  Christi. 

The  latest  of  Father  Connolly's 
pastoral  undertakings  has  been  the 
erection  of  a  rectory,  which  was  com- 
pleted in  September,  1894.  The  sup- 
port he  received  from  his  parishioners 
m  this  work  is  most  cogent  proof  of 
the  esteem  with  which  they  regard 
him.  Tlie  first  thousand  dollars  paid 
on  the  building  was  presented  by 
the  Young  Men's  Association.  Tire 
chapel,  which  by  fortuitous  circum- 
stances, has  become  the  parish  church, 
does  not  satisfy  the  aspirations  of   the 



schools  of  his  birthplace,  he  entered  Boston  College,  where  he  spent  three  years.  He  also  studied  for  some 
time  in  St.  Charles  College,  EUicott  City,  Md.,  after  which,  in  1874,  he  went  to  the  Grand  Seminary  at 
Montreal,  to  take  his  course  in  divinity.  Having  accompHshed  this,  he  was  ordained  priest  December  22, 
1878,  and  returned  to  Massachusetts.  He  was  first  assigned  to  St.  Mary's  of  the  Annunciation,  Cambridge- 
port,  as  assistant  to  the  Rev.  Thomas  Scully.  After  laboring  for  a  year  in  Cambridgeport,  he  was  transferred 
to  St.  Joseph's  Church  in  Roxbury,  where  he  served  as  assistant  until  appointed  to  the  position  he  now  fills. 




IParisb  of  ®ur  Xab^  of  the  Hssumption, 


N  1852  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  commissioned  the  Rev.  John  O'Beirne  to  organize  a  congrega- 
tion in  the  town  of  Brookline.  For  nearly  two  years  after  taking  cliarge  of  the  parish 
he  held  Mass,  and  all  other  religious  services,  in  the  Lyceum  Hall.  By  that  time  he  was 
able  to  erect  a  little  frame  church  for  the  use  of  his  congregation.  Its  site  was  in 
Andem  Place,  on  land  formerly  owned  by  the  Rev.  John  Cotton,  second  pastor  of  the 
First  Church, of  Boston.  Divine  service  was  first  offered  in  it  on  Christmas  Day,  1853. 
It  was  dedicated,  September  24,  in  the  following  year,  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  the  sermon 

for  the  occasion  being  preached  by  the  Rev.  John  J.   McElroy,  S.  J.     In  January,   1855,  ill  health  obliged 

Father  O'Beirne  to  go  to  Europe,  and  the  Rev.  J.  M.  Finotti  was  appointed  to  administer  the  parish  affairs  in 

his  absence.    Except 

for  an  interval  of  a 

few    weeks.     Father 

Finotti  performed 

this     duty     until 

December    8,    1856, 

when    he    was    ap- 
pointed pastor. 

A   fire  destroy- 
ed the  little  church 

on    Thanksgiving 

Day,     1855.      While 

the     firemen    were 

trying    to    save    the 

building,  some  one, 

probably     actuated 

by   the    Know-noth- 
ing   spirit,    cut    the 

hose   conveying  the 

water    with    which 

the  flames  were  be- 

i  n  g       extinguished. 

As  the  congregation 

had    then   outgrown 

the  capacities  of  the 

church       advantage  1  iiirch,  our  t..41i\    of    iiik  assumption,  i'.kiidki.ini:, 

was  taken  of  the  necessity  of  making  repairs  to  enlarge  it  and  construct  galleries.     These  improvements  in- 
creased its  seating  accommodations  from  -780  to  over  1,000.      Father  Finotti  resided  with  the  bishop  in  Boston 



until  1857,  when  he  was  able  to  build  a  house  on  Harrison  Place.  This  he  took  possession  of  in  May,  and 
thereafter  occupied  it  during  the  remainder  of  his  pastorate.  At  Easter,  in  1872,  he  was  succeeded  by  the 
Rev.  P.  F.  Lamb.  Father  Lamb's  health  was  poor,  and  he  died  in  July,  1873.  His  successor  was  the  Rev. 
Lawrence  J.  Morris,  the  present  rector. 

The  chief  work  of  Father  Morris'  rectorate  has  been  the  erection  of  the  present  church  of  Our  Lady  of 
the  Assumption.  The  purpose  was  conceived  almost  as  soon  as  he  entered  upon  the  duties  of  his  new  charge. 
The  inadequacy  of  the  old  building  was  felt  by  all.  About  two  months  after  his  arrival  he  purchased  the 
Homer  estate,  fronting  on  Harvard  Street,  as  a  site  for  a  new  church.  Soon  after,  the  adjoining  lot,  situated 
at  the  corner  of  Harvard  Street  and  Linden  Place,  was  offered  for  sale.  This  being  a  much  better  site  for  the 
church,  he  secured  it  without  delay,  feeling  assured  that  he  could  in  time  find  use  for  the  first  purchase.  Yet, 
anxious  as  he  was  to  have  a  new  church,  he  resolved  to  pay  for  the  land  before  beginning  to  build.  This  was 
not  accomplished  until  1880.  Ground  was  then  broken.  The  walls  were  carried  to  the  first  floor  before  it  was 
decided  to  lay  the  cornerrstone.  This  was  clone  July  19,  under  the  shelter  of  a  large  tent  erected  over  the  entire 
work.  The  sermon  on  the  occasion  was  preached  by  the  Rev.  C.  H.  McKenna,  O.  S.  D.,  and  the  cere- 
mony was  performed  by  Archbishop 
Williams,  assisted  by  a  large  number 
of  visiting  priests.  In  October,  1882, 
the  first  Mass  was  celebrated  in  the 
basement,  and  there,  thenceforth,  the 
congregation  assembled  for  worship 
while  work  on  the  church  continued. 
The  building  was  finished  in  1886, 
and  was  dedicated  on  Sunday, 
August  22,  of  the  same  year.  The 
rite  was  performed  by  Archbishop 
Williams.  His  Grace  was  also  cele- 
brant of  the  High  Mass,  the  assistant 
priest  being  Vicar -General  Byrne; 
the  deacons  of  honor,  Rev.  Matthew 
Harkins  and  Rev.  John  J.  Gray;  dea- 
cons of  the  Mass,  Rev.  Matthew  Boy- 
Ian  and  Rev.  Michael  T.  McManus; 
while  the  sermon  was  preached  by 
Rt.  Rev.  P.  T.   O'Reilly,    Bishop  of 

^       .        /-    1  1  Parochial  Residence,  Church  of  Our  Ladv  of  the  Assu.mition.  Bkookline. 


The  church  is  built  of  Eastern  brick  trimmed  with  Longmeadow  brown  stone,  according  to  plans  furnished 
by  Peabody  and  Stearns,  the  architects.  The  style  is  Gothic,  with  an  intermixture  of  Queen  Anne  devices. 
Its  outline  is  cruciform,  save  for  the  graceful  tower  rising  over  the  gospel  arm  to  the  height  of  146  feet.  The 
external  dimensions  are  160  feet  long,  by  65  feet  for  the  body,  and  95  feet  for  the  transept.  A  dimness  some- 
what denser  than  ordinary  impresses  the  visitor  with  an  immediate  sense  of  reverence.  It  also  serves  to 
enhance  the  brilliancy  of  the  pictured  windows.  The  groined  roof  is  supported  by  ten  massive  columns  so 
placed  as  to  offer  but  little  obstruction  to  the  view.  The  altars  are  made  of  Caen  stone  trimmed  with  white 
marble.  The  sanctuary  wall,  back  of  each  altar,  is  lined  to  the  height  of  twenty  feet  with  Kilkenny  marble 
trimmed  with  onyx.  A  beautiful  window  showing  the  Assumption  in  vivid  colors,  presented  by  the  Rev.  M.  T. 
Boylan,  lights  the  Virgin's  chapel.  One  window  of  the  transept  was  presented  by  a  member  of  the  congregation, 
and  the  rest  by  the  church  sodalities.  The  windows  of  the  aisles  were  contributed  by  other  individuals  of  the 
congregation,  some  being  memorials  of  deceased  relatives.  The  church  seats  1,085  persons.  Its  cost,  including 
the  expenditure  for  pews,  statuary,  paintings,  sacred  vessels,  vestments,  etc.,  was  $155,000. 

Another  piece  of  the  church  property  is  a  handsome  rectory  beside  the  church,  and  well  in  keeping  wath 





its  exterior  effect.  With  a  view  to  future  needs,  Father  Morris  lias  acquired  other  lots  of  land  that  make  the 
total  113,000  square  feet.  As  soon  as  the  debt  of  the  church,  now  reduced  to  $33,000,  is  paid,  it  is  his 
intention  to  erect  a  school  and  hall  on  the  Homer  estate.  A  lot  of  13,000  square  feet  on  Chestnut  Street, 
bought  for  $4,600,  is  held  as  a  site  for  a  kindergarten  or  primary  school,  while  another  of  18,000  feet,  on 
Clyde  Street,  bought  for  $1,200,  is  designed  for  the  erection  of  a  chapel  when  the  need  of  it  arises. 

Of  the  church  organizations  the  Sunday-school  is  the  most  important.  In  the  absence  of  a  parochial 
school,  the  rector  makes  it  the  object  of  very  special  attention.  He  requires  pupils  to  attend  it  up  to  the  age 
of  sixteen.  As  a  consecjuence,  there  are  about  as  many  pupils  who  have  received  confirmation  as  who  have 
not,  the  whole  number  being  nearly  800.  An  advanced  course  of  instruction  is  pursued  with  the  former  class 
of  children.  Then,  every  year,  the  several  classes  are  required  to  pass  a  written  examination,  conducted  by 
printed  questions  that  demand  a  full  and  intimate  knowledge   of   the  subjects  of    instruction.     At  the   last 


examination  the  average  of  correct  answers  was  80  per  cent,  for  the  advanced  class.  In  connection  with  the 
school  is  an  excellent  library,  accessible  to  all  the  pupils. 

There  is  also  a  Young  Men's  Literary  Association,  registering  ninety  members,  and  for  whose  use  the 
rector  has  purchased  and  suitably  fitted  up  a  building  where  they  can  meet  for  social  intercourse,  innocent 
amusement,  or  mutual  improvement.  In  addition  to  these,  there  are  senior  and  junior  societies  of  the  Holy 
Name,  respectively  numbering  250  and  60  members;  confraternities  for  married  and  single  ladies  with  a  total 
membership  of  500  persons;  the  Confraternity  of  St.  Dominic  for  men  and  women,  of  which  600  men  are 
members,  together  with  the  Society  of  the  Children  of  Mary  for  girls,  a  reading  circle  for  young  ladies,  and  a 
Conference  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  aided  by  a  sewing  society,  whose  mission  is  to  make  clothing  for  the  poor. 

The  last  census  of  the  parish,  taken  in  1889,  showed  a  congregation  of  4,500  souls.  The  next  census, 
which  will  be  taken  this  year,  will  not  show  an  increase  proportionate  to  that  of  other  districts.     One  cause  is 



the  loss  of  about  loo  families  by  the  withdrawal  of  parochial  territor)' for  the  formation  of  other  parishes. 
Another  is  the  fact  that  the  town  has  but  a  few  industries  to  attract  and  hold  working  people  as  residents. 
This  is  chiefly  owing  to  the  exclusive  policy  of  a  class  of  wealthy  people,  who  have  made  Brookline  their  resi- 
dence, and  who  own  much  the  greater 


■  THE  Assumption,  Brooicune. 

part  of  its  real  estate.  Then,  the 
less  enlightened  portion  of  the  Prot- 
estant population  has  never  ceased 
to  manifest  an  anti-Catholic  feeling, 
of  more  or  less  intensity.  At  present, 
the  A.  P.  A.  conspiracy  is  active 
among  them.  Yet,  the  congregation 
have  been  able  to  maintain  fairly 
amicable  relations  with  them  under 
the  wise  guidance  of  the  rector. 

Father  Morris  was  born  in  Ire- 
land in  the  year  1845.  I'''  1849  he 
was  brought  to  Lowell,  Mass.,  where, 
in  his  boyhood,  he  attended  the 
public  schools.  Upon  leaving  these 
he  went  to  St.  Charles  College,  EUi- 
cott  City,  Md.,  where  he  graduated 
in  1865.  Then  he  entered  Troy 
Seminary,  successfully  passed  through 
his  theological  course,  and  received 
Holy  Orders,  May  22,  1869.  His  first  appointment  was  that  of  assistant  at  Waltham,  Mass.  Four  years  later 
he  was  called  from  there  to  the  rectorate  of   Brookline,  which  he  still  occupies.     Courteous  and  considerate  to 

all,  ever  ready  with  a  kind  word  to 
console  the  grief-stricken,  or  with  ma- 
terial aid  for  the  needy,  he  is  loved 
by  his  people,  who  ever  manifest 
a  readiness  to  second  all  suggestions 
for  the  spiritual  and  material  advance- 
ment of  the  parish.  The  public 
respect  in  which  he  is  held  was  mani- 
fested by  his  election  as  member  of 
the  school  committee  for  a  term  of 
three  years.  How  he  is  regarded  by 
his  parishioners  and  colleagues  of  the 
priesthood  was  not  exaggerated  at 
his  silver  jubilee,  celebrated  March 
22,  1894,  when  he  was  extolled  as 
"a  worthy  representative  of  his  ex- 
alted office,"  *  *  *  *  "a  model 
of  sacerdotal  life,"  *  *  *  *  and 
"one  beloved  by  his  people  and 
esteemed  by  all." 

Pastor  Church  of  Our  Lady  ov  the  Assumttion,  Brookline. 



St.  Peter's  partsb,  2)orebeetei\ 

■flte  past  an^  present  Ibistor^, 

BS  Josepb  1(3.  JBgrne. 

N  1872  the  greater  portion  of  the  Dorchester  district  of  the  city  of  Boston  had 
^<:~s^^//ni^hl\\^^^^-^S^'  no  Catholic  church.  The  CathoHcs,  numbering  in  all  about  2,000  souls,  were 
^^V/Vlf^'Ml\\^^  scattered  over  a  large  territory,  and  the  possibility  of  building  the  magnificent 
^  ^  church  which  now  crowns  Meeting-House  Hill  was  not  entertained,  even  as  a  hope. 
The  needs  of  the  faithful  were  attended  by  Rev.  Thomas  R.  McNuIty,  pastor  of  St. 
Gregory's,  Milton.  In  1872,  when  Providence  was  made  an  Episcopal  See,  the  Rev. 
Peter  Ronan,  then  an  assistant  at  New  Bedford,  was  recalled  to  Boston  and  appointed 
pastor  of  the  newly  formed  parish,  St.  Peter's.  It  was  not  a  promising  vineyard,  and  it 
was  fortunate,  indeed,  that  its  first  rector  had  the  zeal  and  enthusiasm  of  an  apostle. 
Diiificulties  which  would  have  deterred  a  timid  man  stood  in  the  way,  but  the  new  pastor, 
although  young  in  years,  was  a  priest  of  indomitable  faith  and  courage.  He  put  his  hand  to  the  plow  and 
now,  after  a  quarter  of  a  century  has  rolled  awa}',  his  parishioners  have  but  to  lift  up  their  eyes  to  behold  the 
monumental  evidences  of  his  zeal. 

For  three  years  the  congregation  worshipped  in  Lyceum  Hall,  and  meanwhile  workmen  were  employed  in 
the  construction  of  the  new  church.  It  was  the  original  intention  to  build  the  edifice  of  brick,  but  as  a  quarry 
of  Roxbury  pudding  stone  was  discovered  on  the  site  it  was  decided  that  this  stone  would  be  used.  Mr.  P. 
C.  Keely,  the  famous  architect,  furnished  the  plans  for  a  magnificent  edifice  of  the  Gothic  style.  The  corner- 
stone was  laid  on  Sunday,  August  24,  1873,  by  Rt.  Rev.  John  J.  Williams,  in  the  presence  of  a  large  concourse 
of  people  and  the  following  priests:  Very  Rev.  P.  F.  Lyndon,  Vicar-General;  Very  Rev.  L.  S.  McMahon, 
Vicar-General  of  Providence;  Revs.  J.  A.  Healy,  A.  Freitag,  C.  SS.  R,,  P".  B.  McNulty,  B.  Flood,  M.  Supple, 
M.  Green,  L.  J.  Morris,  J.  W.  McMahon,  J.  Ryan,  H.  P.  Smith,  J.  H.  Gallagher,  T.  Magennis,  J.  C.  Murphy,  D. 
J.  O'Donahue,  F.  A.  Frigioglietti,  R.  J.  Johnston,  J.  O'Brien,  M.  J.  McCall,  J.  B.  O'Donnell,  Michael  Moran, 
Michael  Ronan,  James  McGlew,  William  Byrne,  and  J.  E.  O'Brien.  The  sermon  on  the  occasion  was  preached 
by  the  Rev.  A.  Freitag,  C.  SS.  R.  From  this  day  until  its  completion  artisans  were  constantly  at  work.  On 
the  bleak  heights  a  massive  temple  rose  like  a  dream — rose,  as  it  were,  out' of  the  earth  like  a  prayer  takinc^ 
shape  and  carved  in  stone,  a  perfect  majesty  of  noiseless  power.  On  Sunday,  February  18,  1884,  the  entire 
structure,  with  the  exception  of  the  tower,  was  completed,  and  on  that  day  the  dedication  took  place.  The 
occasion  was  celebrated  with  great  pomp  and  magnificence.  The  Most  Rev.  John  J.  Williams  officiated  at  the 
dedication  and  pontificated  at  the  Mass.  The  Rt.  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  Bishop  of  Portland,  Me.,  preached 
the  sermon,  which  was  an  eloquent  review  of  the  history  of  the  parish. 

No  technical  description  can  do  more  than  faintly  suggest  the  grandeur  of  St.  Peter's  church,  which  is  a 
poem  of  architectual  beauty.  It  is  a  massive  Gothic  structure.  Exteriorly,  the  materials  are  Roxbury  puddino- 
stone'  laid  in  broken  ashler  work  with  Cape  Ann  granite  trimmings,  surmounted  by  a  Campinili  tower  150  feet 
high  and  20  feet  square.  The  side  walls  from  the  basement  are  42  feet  high,  and  the  front  gable  is  97 
feet  above  the  street  grade.     The  ceiling  of  the  church  is  65  feet  from  the  floor,  and  the  auditorium  presents 









no  obstacles  to  the  view  of  the  worshipper  for  there  are  no  pillars  or  posts.  This  unique  feature  lias  been 
obtained  by  the  use  of  the  Hammerbeam  roof  which  forms  a  single  span  and  rests  entirely  upon  the  side 
walls.  The  ceiling  of  the  church  as  well  as  the  arches,  ribs,  and  mouldings  are  finished  in  wood  and  stained 
a  Santo  Domingo  mahogany.  The  sheathing  and  paneling  are  of  the  same  color,  but  for  sake  of  contrast  are 
of  a  lighter  tinge.  The  background  of  all  the  tracery,  panels,  spandrels,  and  angle-ornamental  panels,  the 
soffits  of  the  main  arches  under  the  trusses,  and  the  longitudinal  cornices  are  finished  in  rich  Mosaic  patterns. 

There  are  three  altars  built  of  a  combination  of  American  and  Italian  marbles  and  Mexican  onyx  taste-~ 
fully  blended,  and  the  chancel  walls  from  the  floor  to  the  ceiling  are  marbelized  and  present  an  harmonious 
setting  for  the  altars. 

In  the  ceiling  panels  there  are  several  artistic  paintings  of  scenes  from  the  Old  and  New  Testament.  In 
the  top  panels  of  the  chancel  there  are  pictures  of  angels  symbolical  of  the  gifts  of  the  Holy  Ghost.  The 
painting  on  the  gospel  side  of  the  altar  represents  Christ  giving  the  keys  of  the   Kingdom  of  Heaven  to  St. 


Peter,  and  that  on  the  epistle  side  our  Saviour's  last  dower  to  the  chief  of  the  apostles,  the  commission  to  feed 
His  lambs  and  sheep. 

One  of  the  striking  features  in  the  interior  decoration  of  the  church  is  the  splendid  brass  ornamentation. 
The  magnificent  candelabra,  the  communion  rail,  the  Gothic  sanctuary  lamp  with  its  seven  ruby  chalices,  the 
colossal  altar  and  paschal  candlesticks  are  marvels  of  perfection  and  taste.  On  either  side  of  the  church 
where  the  pillars  would  ordinarily  be  placed  are  seven  candelabra  standing  eight  feet  from  the  tops  of  the  pews 
and  ligTited  by  650  gas  jets.  The  last  addition  to  the  indescribable  richness  of  this  church's  decoration  is  a 
set  of  Munich  stations  with  specially  designed  frames  of  cherry.  They  are  the  gift  of  the  congregation  and 
in  artistic  design  will  compare  with  "The  Way  of  the  Cross"  in  any  of  our  New  England  Cathedrals.  Their 
cost  was  $i,joo. 



The  side  and  gable  walls  of  the  edifice  are  tinted  a  lemon  color,  and  the  pews,  of  a  neat  pattern,  are 
made  of  ash  trimmed  with  cherry.  The  side  and  dormer  windows  in  the  church  are  of  the  best  cathedral 
stained  glass  and  are  remarkable  for  their  rich  and  mellow  colors  and  diversity  of  design.  Those  in  the 
chancel  are  picture  windows,  representing  the  Sacred  Heart  in  the  centre,  with  St.  John  on  the  right  and  St. 
James  on  the  left  of  the  Saviour.  The  orga,n,  built  by  Mr.  George  S.  Hutchings,  contains  2,600  pipes,  which 
are  placed  in  a  neatly  designed  frame  of  dark-colored  ash.  It  has  three  manuals  and  is  considered  one  of  the 
sweetest-toned  organs  in  the  diocese.  The  main  body  of  the  church  is  capable  of  seating  1,300  people  and 
the  basement,  which  is  13  feet  in  the  clear  and  very  lightsome  and  cheerful,  can  accommodate  1,100  more. 

The  location  of  the  church  has  been  peculiarly  fortunate.  Its  massive  walls  rest  upon  the  solid  rock,  and 
from  its  tower  a  magnificent  panora- 
ma of  city,  suburbs,  and  sea  greets 
the  eye.  Directly  in  front  of  the 
church  lies  Eaton  Square,  one  of 
Boston's  smallest  but  most  beautiful 
parks,  and  to  the  right  is  Dorchester 
Square  with  its  grand  and  costly 
soldiers'  monument. 

Adjoining  the  church  is  the  rec- 
tory. It  is  a  substantial  dwelling 
built  of  brick  with  stone  trimmings, 
is  three  stories  high,  and  contains, 
besides  a  large  and  airy  basement, 
twenty-four  rooms.  It  was  designed 
by  Mr.  P.  C.  Keely  and  is  a  model 
priest's  house.  The  entire  church 
property  of  St.  Peter's  parish  cost 
nearly  $200,000,  and  it  is  most  grati- 
fying to  be  able  to  state  that  it  is 
entirely  free  from  debt. 

The  pastor  of  St.  Peter's  Church, 
Rev.  Peter  Ronan,  was  born  in  1845, 
in  the  town  of  Mullingar,  West  Meath, 
Ireland.  At  the  age  of  five  he  came 
to  this  country  with  his  mother,  who 
took  up  residence  in  Lawrence,  Mass., 
and  there,  after  passing  through  the 
public  schools,  the  young  man  pur- 
sued his  classical  studies  under  the 
direction  of  Father  Taflie.  In  1864 
he  entered  the  provincial  seminary  at 
Troy,  where  he  distinguished  himself  '*='■  '''''^'"'  ^°''''-'-  ''''''°''  '^^  Vetku.  Chlk.  .,,  Dorchester. 

in  philosophy  and  theology.  In  i858  he  was  ordained  a  priest  and  appointed  an  assistant  to  Rev.  Lawrence 
I.  McMahon,  of  New  Bedford.  There  Father  Ronan  labored  four  and  a  half  years,  until  he  was  recalled 
by  Archbishop  Williams  and  appointed  pastor  of  the  Dorchester  district.  All  the  energies  of  his  life  have 
been  devoted  to  St.  Peter's  parish.  He  has  been  assisted  in  his  noble  work  by  Rev.  James  J.  Ghittick, 
who  was  an  assistant  at  St.  Peter's  for  ten  years.  When  Father  Chittick  was  appointed  pastor  of  Plymouth, 
his  place  was  taken  by  Rev.  Charles  F.  Glennon,  a  graduate  of  the  American  College,  Rome.  In  1890  the 
congregation  had  increased  so  rapidly  that  a  new  assistant  was  needed,  and  the  Rev.  John  W.  Sullivan  was 
appointed.  Father  Sullivan,  after  three  years  of  faithful  labor,  died  in  April,  1893,  and  he  was  succeeded  by 
Rev.  Thomas  C.  McGoldrick. 


The  congregation  of  St.  Peter's  Church  has  increased  so  marvelously  in  past  years  that  the  new  parish  of 
St.  Margaret's  was  detached  from  it  in  1893,  leaving  within  its  limits  at  the  present  time  about  6,000  souls. 
The  Sunday-school  is  attended  by  1,000  children,  and  confraternities  for  men  and  women  are  in  a  flourishing 
condition.  The  Temperance  Society  is  one  of  the  most  prominent  in  the  diocese.  A  parochial  school  will,  in 
the  near  future,  crown  the  noble  life  work  of  this  energetic  pastor. 

In  July,  1893,  Rev.  Peter  Ronan  had  the  happiness  of  celebrating  his  silver  jubilee.  The  public  demon- 
strations of  joy  were  so  great  that  the  day  will  be  regarded  as  a  red-letter  one  in  the  annals  of  the  Catholic 
history  of  Boston.  The  pastor  celebrated  the  Mass  and  was  assisted  by  Rev.  Thomas  F.  Brennan,  deacon; 
Rev.  C.  M.  O'Connor,  sub-deacon;  Rev.  Florence  J.  Halloran,  master  of  ceremonies  —  all  young  priests  who 
had  formerly  served  at  the  altar  of  this  church.  The  sermon  on  this  occasion,  a  tribute  to  the  sterling  char- 
acter of  Father  Ronan,  was  preached  by  one  of  his  assistants,  Rev.  Thomas  C.  McGoldrick.  In  the  evening 
a  public  reception  was  tendered  to  the  pastor  by  his  loving  flock,  and  Gen.  M.  T.  Donahoe,  in  an  address 
replete  with  expressions  of  esteem,  presented  Father  Ronan,  on  behalf  of  the  congregation,  with  a  purse  of 
§3,000.  Among  the  many  eulogistic  articles  written  on  the  occasion  of  Father  Ronan's  silver  jubilee,  there 
was  one  in  Doimhoe's  Magazine  which  so  faithfully  described  him  that  we  quote  it  as  a  conclusion  to  this  sketch 
of  an  eminent  priest : 

Father  Ronan  is  a  familiar  figure  in  Dorchester.  To  those  who  see  only  the  outward  man  he  is  a  typical 
gentleman.  Cardinal  Newman  defines  a  gentleman  as  one  "who  carefully  avoids  whatever  may  cause  a  jar  or 
a  jolt  in  the  minds  of  those  with  whom  he  is  cast;  all  clashing  of  opinion  or  collision  of  feeling,  all  restraint,  or 
suspicion,  or  gloom,  or  resentment;  his  great  concern  being  to  make  every  one  at  their  ease  and  at  home.  He 
has  his  eyes  on  all  his  company;  he  is  tender  towards  the  bashful,  gentle  towards  the  distant,  and  merciful 
towards  the  absurd;  he  can  recollect  to  whom  he  is  speaking;  he  guards  against  unseasonable  allusions  or 
topics  which  may  irritate;  he  is  seldom  prominent  in  conversation,  and  never  wearisome." 

How  appropriate  a  description  of  Father  Ronan !  And  yet,  exquisite  as  is  this  picture  to  those  who  know 
him  intimately,  the  Rector  of  St.  Peter's  is  all  this  and  more.  The  world's  gentleman  may  acquire  these 
qualities  as  a  veneer  and  be  at  the  same  time  devoid  of  moral  worth,  but  with  the  subject  of  this  sketch  these 
external  attributes  are  only  the  unconscious  manifestation — the  flowers  and  the  fruit  of  -a  blameless  and  unsel- 
fish life. 

It  is,  therefore,  as  a  faithful  priest  that  he  has  done  his  best  work,  and  the  record  of  this  apostolic  toil 
will  be  written  by  angels  and  not  by  men.  As  a  preacher  of  the  Word  he  has  been  eminently  successful,  and 
it  is  no  small  tribute  to  his  oratorical  gifts  to  remark  that  after  twenty  years  in  the  same  pulpit  he  still 
commands  the  eager  attention  of  his  congregation.  The  most  striking  characteristic  of  his  preaching  is  his 
earnestness.     He  moves  his  hearers  by  the  intense  strength  of  his  own  convictions. 

A  student  all  his  life  of  the  masters  of  religious  literature,  there  is  always  a  pleasing  variety  in  his  mes- 
sages to  his  people.  Although  he  has  not  courted  publicity,  his  voice  has  always  been  heard  where  there  has 
been  occasion  to  do  good,  and  his  public  utterances  have  always  reflected  credit  upon  himself  and  the  cause 
which  he  represented. 

The  real  life  work  of  the  priest,  however,  affords  scanty  materials  for  history.  It  is,  as  a  rule,  far  from 
the  gaze  of  men,  and  it  is  so  necessarily.  The  constant  round  of  his  unostentatious  duties  at  the  altar,  in  the 
pulpit,  at  the  bedside  of  the  sick  and  the  dying,  in  the  houses  of  the  poor  or  friendless,  or  in  the  homes  of  the 
sorrowful  escapes  alike  the  notice  and  the  appreciation  of  the  outer  world.  Yet  this  is  the  priest's  true  work. 
It  endures  forever.  "The  life-long  patience,"  says  a  spiritual  writer,  "down  the  silent  years,  the  still,  unobtru- 
sive, self-forgetful  habits,  the  influence  that  is  felt  not  seen,  these  are  what  the  Christian  life  means.  No 
single  great  acts,  no  dashing  forward,  clothed  with  victorious  strength,  to  rescue  one  or  two  and  to  weigh  down 
with  a  weight  of  gratitude  those  we  deliver.    This  is  not  the  idea.     The  idea  is  an  ever-present  sense  of  Christ." 

Such  has  been  Father  Ronan's  life.  He  has  walked  during  these  twenty-five  years  of  his  priesthood 
prayerfully  in  the  presence  of  God,  and  this  fact  is  the  key  to  his  life.  He  goes  among  his  people  like  the 
sunshine  from  heaven,  spreading  light  and  love  and  cheerfulness  around  him,  welcomed  in  every  circle,  beloved 
by  all  his  neighbors,  no  matter  how  wide  a  gulf  may  exist  between  their  religious  beliefs  and  his. 


St,  /Iftargaret's  paiisb,  ©orcbester. 

Vi!^j-\rvr\.yrr\frS.  -r\r\j-\Sli 

ORCHESl'ER    is    one   of   the  fast    growing    suburbs   of    Boston,  and    the  parish   of 
St.  Peter  is  one  of  the  fast  growing  sections  of  Dorchester.     Commodious  though  St. 
,,,    Peter's  Church  seemed  when  completed,  yet,  in  i8go,  it  began  to  be  overcrowded  at 
~j?    Sunday  services.     In  1893,  taking  the  prospective  as  well  as  the  actual  growth  of  the 
congregation  into  consideration.  Archbishop  Williams  came  to  the  decision  of  estab- 
lishing  another  parish   in  the   district.     The   territory  selected  was   the  part  of  St. 
Peter's  parish   adjoining   South   Boston,  and   which  was  the  most   distant  from  the 
church.     The  work  of  organizing  the  congregation  was  entrusted  to  the  Rev.  William 
A.  Ryan,  on  June   10,  1893.     This   date,  which  was  the   Feast  of  St.   Margaret,  suggested   the  name  subse- 
quently bestowed  on  the  parish. 

( )n  entering  upon  his  pastoral  duties  Father  Ryan 
found  his  flock  to  number  between  fifteen  and  sixteen 
hundred  souls.  After  residing  for  a  few  weeks  at 
Peter's  rectory  he  took  up  his  residence  within  his 
parish  in  a  hired  house  on  Clapp  Place.  Pending  the 
erection  of  a  church  he  held  services  in  the  old  town- 
hall,  standing  at  the  corner  of  East  Cottage  and  Pleas- 
ant Streets,  now  alleged  to  have  been  the  place  where 
was  held  the  first  town-meeting  of  the  early  settlers. 
He  used  the  lower  hall,  taking  turns  with  a  Protestant 
clergyman  who  held  Sunday-school  there.  Here,  on 
July  15,  was  offered  the  first  Mass  for  the  congrega- 

Father  Ryan's  appeal  for  funds  with  which  to 
erect  a  suitable  place  of  worship  met  with  a  quick  and 
generous  response  from  his  parishioners.  Early  in 
the  following  September,  having  secured  a  site  at  the 
junction  of  Harvest  and  Boston  Streets,  he  was  able 
to  begin  building.  The  church  was  finished  in  about 
two  months  from  that .  time,  and  it  was  dedicated  to 
the  service  of  God  on  Sunday,  November  26.  Bishop 
Brady  officiated  at  the  ceremony,  while  the  Rev.  Peter 
Ronan  was  celebrant  of  the  High  Mass,  and  the  Rev. 
D.  F.  Feeh'an  preached  the  sermon. 

...  ,       ,       •  ,    ,  -  ,  l^p-^-  William  -A.  Ryan,  Pastor  St.  Margarets  Church.  Xjorchester. 

Although  designed  to  serve  only  as  a  temporary 
place  of  worship,  the  building  more  than  fulfils  the  promise  of  the  rector.      His  words  were:    "While  keeping 
within  the  limits  of  prudence  and  economy,  your  own  comfort,  as  well  as  the  good  taste  and  decency  commen- 
surate with  God's  house,  will   be   realized  at  least  as  to  the  interior."     It  is  a  frame  edifice  of  plain  exterior. 



measuring  63  feet  of  frontage  on  Harvest  Street,  iiS  feet  of  length  on  Boston  Street,  and  one  story  in  height. 
It  is  well  lighted  and  ventilated,  is  adequately  supplied  with  fittings  for  heating  by  steam,  and  has  seating 
accommodation  for  goo  persons. 

The  first  mission  was  given  in  December  by  the  Redemptorist  Fathers  and  was  well  attended.  Confir- 
mation was  administered  for  the  first  time  October  28,  1894.  The  Sundajf-school,  which  is  in  charge  of  Sisters 
of  Notre  Dame,  has  300  pupils.  Other  church  organizations  are  the  Holy  Name  Society  for  men  and  women, 
numbering  no  members;  the  Young  Ladies'  Sodality,  numbering  80;  another  sodality  for  married  ladies,  and 
a  branch  of  the  League  of  the  Sacred  Heart. 


The  zeal  and  modesty  of  their  young  pastor  have  already  won  the  warm  esteem  of  his  parishioners.  He 
was  born  May  i,  1856,  in  Lawrence,  Mass.  After  graduating  in  turn  from  the  grammar  and  high  school  of 
the  district,  he  entered  St.  John's  College,  Fordham,  N.  Y.,  at  the  age  of  eighteen.  From  here  he  went  to 
Troy  Seminary,  in  1876,  to  make  his  theological  studies.  He  was  ordained  priest  by  Bishop  McNeirney  in 
December,  1879..  Upon  his  arrival  in  Boston,  shortly  after,  he  was  assigned  as  assistant  to  St.  Peter's  Church, 
North  Cambridge.  He  was  subsequently  transferred  to  Newburyport,  and  later,  to  Brookline,  where  he  was 
stationed  when  called  to  the  rectorship  of  St.  Margaret's. 



St.  Hniie's  Iparisb,  IReponset. 

stated,  this  parish  was  formerly  a  part  of  St.  Gregory's,  Milton.  The  bulk  of  its 
congregation  are  residents  of  Neponset,  one  of  the  several  villages  included  within  the  limits 
of  the  old  town  of  Dorchester,  now  annexed  to  Boston.  The  name  of  the  village,  as  well 
as  of  the  stream  upon  the  banks  of  which  it  has  risen,  was  that  of  the  Indian  tribe  who 
occupied  the  district 
i  n  aboriginal  time  s. 
.  _^,  r,7i,BLS.yv^,  The  first  settler  arriv- 
t  '^,'i'~J^ji'^  ed  as  early  as  1634. 
He  was  George  Minot, 
an  Englishman.  But 
no  growth  worthy  of  notice  was  observ- 
able until  184C,  when  the  Old  Colony 
Railroad  was  carried  through  the  place. 
A  large  majority  of  those  who  became 
residents  then  were  Irishmen  employed 
in  the  construction  of  the  railroad.  These 
were  of  the  Catholic  faith.  Like  the  rest 
of  the  faithful  in  Dorchester,  they  were 
obliged  to  go  to  South  Boston,  Roxbury, 
or  West  Quincy  to  hear  Mass  until  1863, 
when  St.  Gregory's  Church  in  Milton  be- 
came available.  This  was  still  a  con- 
siderable distance  to  travel,  especially  in 
winter,  but  seventeen  years  went  by  before 
a  better  condition  of  things  came  into 

In  1879,  Father  Fitzpatrick,  the  pas- 
tor of  St.  Gregory's,  purchased  a  site  for 
a  new  church,  situated  on  Neponset 
Avenue,  near  where  it  is  entered  b}' 
Minot  Street.  The  lot  measured  about 
one  acre  and  extended  from  the  first 
named  thoroughfare  to  the  other.  Build- 
ing was  begun  in  July  and  a  basement 
was  completed  by  the  Christmas  of  1880. 
when  the  first  Mass  was  celebrated.  The 
means  of  the  congregation  did  not  admit 
of  finishing  the  church  as  soon  as  desired,  but  Father  Fitzpatrick  attended  the  basement  regularly  from  Milton, 
and  the  meetings  of  the  Sunday-school,  organized  by  Mr.  John  J.  Coffey  some  years  before,  were  transferred  to 
it  from  Wood's  Hall. 

J.   Mu 

1 84 


In  1889  the  district  was  set  off  as  a  parish,  and  on  July  7,  the  Rev.  Timotliy  J.  Murphy  was  appointed  its 
rector,  an  office  which  he  still  fills  to  the  great  advantage  of  the  parishioners  of  St.  Anne's.  Immediately,  upon 
assuming  pastoral  authority,  Father  Murphy  began  a  vigorous  effort  to  secure  funds  for  the  completion  of  the 
church.  His  flock  responded  most  generously.  Some  of  his  Protestant  neighbors  showed  their  sympathy  by 
contributing  also.  In  possession  of  a  sufficient  sum  of  money  as  a  result  of  his  measures,  work  on  the  church 
was  resumed,  and  the  building  was  finished  in  April,  1S91.  On  May  22,  1892,  it  was  dedicated  by  Bishop 
Brady,  assisted  by  the  Rev.  Timothy  Brosnahan  and  Rev.  James  J.  Keegan.  The  celebrant  of  the  High  Mass 
on  the  occasion  was  Rev.  Thomas  H.  Shahan;  the  deacons  were  the  Rev.  Michael  Ronan  and  Rev.  [ohn  H. 

M,     ANM.>    CHURCH,    NEPONSET. 

Flemming ;  the  sermon  was  preached  by  Rev.  Richard  J.  Barry,  and  Father  Fitzpatrick  was  present  in  the 

The  edifice  is  a  modest  frame  structure.  The  interior  is  somewhat  of  a  surprise,  being  more  elaborate 
than  the  simplicity  of  the  exterior  would  lead  one  to  expect.  Its  design  is  Romanesque,  while  the  frescoing  is 
executed  with  excellent  taste  in  delicate  shades  of  the  tint  known  as  "ashes  of  roses,"  upon  a  ground  of  light 
buff.  The  lamp  before  the  high  altar  is  an  interesting  antique,  presented  to  Father  Murphy  by  a  friend.  It  is 
alleged  to-be  three  centuries  old,  and  to  have  formerly  hung  in  the  cathedral  of  Rotterdam.  The  windows  of 
the  church  are  all  of  stained  glass,  and  were  severally  presented  by  members  of  the  congregation.  The  audi- 
torium, divided  into  nave  and  side  aisles,  seats  700  worshippers,  while  the  basement  accommodates  650. 





In  February,  1892,  Father  Murphy  further  improved  the  property  by  erecting  a  much  needed  rectory.  It 
is  a  handsome  dwelling,  furnished  with  modern  improvements,  and  arranged  in  accordance  with  a  plan  sug- 
gested by  the  rector.  Previous  to  its  erection  he  resided  in  a  private  house  on  Neponset  Avenue.  The  cost  of 
church  and  rectory  was  about  $35,000. 

The  organizations  connected  with  the  church  are  the  usual  sodalities,  a  Sunday-school,  a  Conference  of  St. 
Vincent  de  Paul,  the  League  of  the  Sacred  Heart,  the  Society  of  the  Holy  Rosarj',  and  the  Young  Men's  Tem- 
perance and  Literary  Society.  The  last  named  organization,  now  numbering  100  members,  has  the  use  of  a 
building  purchased  and  refitted  by  the  rector  at  an  expense  of  $6,000.  It  has  a  parlor,  library,  reading-room, 
gymnasium,  etc.,  and  is  largely  frequented  by  the  members.  Dramatic  performances  are  given  from  time  to 
time,  and  debates  on  some  useful  subject  are  held  monthly.  The  Sunday-school  is  in  a  flourishing  condition, 
owing  to  the  zeal  and  constant  labor  of  the  Rev.  John  B.  Kelleher,  the  rector's  assistant. 


Father  Murphy  was  born  December  25,  1851,  in  Macroom,  County  Cork,  Ireland.  He  received  his  early 
education  in  the  national  schools.  From  these  he  went  to  All-Hallows  College,  Dublin,  to  prepare  himself  for 
the  priesthood.  He  was  admitted  to  Holy  Orders  June  24,  1877,  after  which,  without  undue  delay,  he  started 
for  Boston  to  carry  out  his  purpose  of  serving  in  the  missionary  field  of  America.  His  first  appointment  was  to 
the  duties  of  assistant  at  St.  James'  Church  under  the  rectorship  of  Father  Shahan.  Here  he  remained  until 
1889,  when  he  was  assigned  to  Neponset,  where  his  labors  have  been  rewarded  with  the  best  results.  A  man 
of  strong  convictions,  Father  Murphy  is  an  earnest  advocate  of  temperance.  Influenced  by  his  counsel  all  the 
children  of  the  Sunday-school  annually  pledge  themselves  to  abstain  from  intoxicating  drink.  The  fact  that 
license  to  sell  liquor  in  Neponset  has  not  been  granted  to  any  one  for  some  years  is  generally  attributed  to  his 
uncompromising  opposition  to  the  traffic.  He  claims  that  the  absence' of  liquor  stores  has  very  much  benefited 
the  community. 



St  5obn*s  Ipadsb,  (Sluiiic^, 

HE  Catholic  people  who  live  in  Quincy  had  been  accustomed,  previous  to  1872,  to 
attend  religious  services  at  what  is  now  a  mission  of  St.  John's  parish,  St.  Mary's 
Church,  in  West  Quincy,  which  is  the  granite  quarrying  part  of  Quincy  and  where  a 
great  number  of  Catholics  resided.  The  corner-stone  of  St.  John's  Church,  which  is 
situated  on  Phipps  Street,  in  the  center  of  Quincy,  was  laid  by  Archbishop  Williams, 
November  24,  1872.  The  Archbishop  was  assisted  by  Father  Francis  Friguglietti 
§J^  and  Father  William  A.  Blenkinsop,  deacons,  Father  Richard  Johnson  as  sub-deacon, 
and  Father  Corcoran  as  master  of  ceremonies.      Father  Kennedy  delivered  the  sermon 

on    the    occasion.       The    church    was    completed    and    ' " 

dedicated  to   St.  John,  June   14,  1874,  by  Archbishop    ^       ,    J  ''  1      f^i'^JfM^^^ 

Williams.     Father   William    A.    Blenkinsop   celebrated    T    <"•         1  ,.  11  .*/)''    /.^ 

Mass.  Rev.  James  C.  Murphy,  of  Abington,  was  deacon. 
Father  Friguglietti  was  sub-deacon,  and  Father  Sher- 
wood Healy,  master  of  ceremonies.  Among  the  promi- 
nent laymen  present  were  Charles  Francis  Adams  and 
John  Quincy  Adams.  The  building  of  the  church  be- 
gan in  October,  1S72.  The  plans  were  drawn  by 
architect  J.  G.  Quinlaven,  and  the  builder  was  Jeremiah 
Corbett.  The  church  is  a  wooden  edifice,  in  the  Gothic 
style  of  architecture.  A  spire  rises  from  the  middle  of 
the  front  of  the  nave.  The  windows  are  of  stained 
glass.  The  dimensions  of  the  church  are:  length,  135 
feet;  width,  65  feet;  height  to  the  top  of  the  spire,  135 
feet.  The  cost  was  over  $40,000.  The  interior  of  the 
church  is  divided  into  three  aisles  by  two  rows  of  square 
wooden  pillars  which  sweep  upward  into  the  Gothic 
arches  supporting  the  vaulted  roof.  On  the  vault  of  the 
nave  and  on  the  clerestory  are  painted  frescoes  symbolic 
of  the  faith.  The  prevailing  tints  of  the  interior  are 
light  buffs  and  crimson  borders.  There  are  two  side 
altars,  one  at  the  epistle  aisle  and  one  at  the  gospel 
aisle.  The  high  altar  is  very  pretty.  The  pews  are 
of  chestnut  and  seat  about  900  people.  Besides  St. 
John's  Church  there  are  three  mission  churches  in  the  S''-  J0"N'S  church,  ijuincy. 

parish.  The  principal  one  is  St.  Mary's  at  West  Quincy,  on  Copeland  Street.  This  church  is  also  a  wooden 
structure,  and  on  the  left  is  a  large,  commodious  dwelling-house  which  belongs  to  the  parish.  Adjacent  to  the 
church   is   the   Catholic   cemetery  of  Quincy,  which   contains  some  fine  specimens  of  mortuary  monuments. 





Among  those  interred  in  the  cemetery  may  be  mentioned  Garrett  Barry,  who  was  the  sculptor  of  the  famous 
Ether  monument  in  the  Boston  public  gardens.  The  two  other  mission  churches  are  at  Atlantic  and  at 
Hough's  Neck,  the  latter  place  being  a  watering-place  a  few  miles  from  Quincy,  where  many  Catholics  sojourn 
during  the  summer.  These  churches  are  also  wooden  edifices.  All  the  mission  churches  are  attended  by 
priests  from  the  parochial  residence  of  St.  John's.  The  entire  Catholic  population  of  the  Quincy  parish  is 
about  7,000.  About  2,500  live  in  West  Quincy  and  3,500  in  Quincy  proper.  The  rest  are  scattered.  The 
parochial  residence  is  a  wooden  building,  three  stories  in  height,  and  stands  in  the  rear  of  St.  John's  Church 
and  is  surrounded  by  a  fine  lawn.  The  Sunday-school  at  St.  John's  is  attended  by  about  800  children  and  the 
Sunday-school  at  St.  Mary's  is  attended  by  about  600.  There  is  at  present  no  convent  or  parochial  school 
connected  with  the  parish.  The  curates  are  Fathers  Ambrose  T.  Roach,  Francis  A.  Cunningham,  and  F^dward 
T.   Butler. 

Parochial  Residence,  St.  John's  Church,  Quincy. 

The  sodalities  are  the  usual  religious  confraternities  and  societies  found  in  every  parish.  They  are 
organizations  for  the  women  and  the  men,  married  and  single,  also  for  the  younger  people  of  both  sexes,  and 
also  charitable,  temperance,  Holy  Name,  and  Sacred  Heart  confraternities.  The  young  men,  organized  into  a 
society  called  the  St.  John's  Temperance  and  Athletic  Association,  possess  a  wooden  building  which  contains 
a  gymnasium,  billiard-room,  and  hall. 

Father  Friguglietti  has  been  the  only  pastor  of  St.  John's  and  has  been  a  priest  over  twenty-five  years. 
He  is  a  native  of  Italy. 



parish  of  St.  ITbomas  Hquinas, 

,  Jamaica  plain. 

IeSTLING  in  summer's  foliage,  the  cliurch,  rectory,  convent,  and  school  of  this  parish  pre- 
I  K         '      "  p-*  j     sent  as  pretty  a  group  of  buildings  as  can  be  found  in  the  State.     They  are  not  in  line  as 

if  on  parade,  nor  are  they  placed  in  a  manner  to  mark  out  any  regular  geometrical  figure. 

They  are  not  so  crowded  as  to  distract  the  gaze,  nor  so  far  apart  as  to  break  the  unity  of 

their  effect.     Neither  is  their  architecture  out  of  harmony  with  the  semi-rustic  situation. 

They  form  one  of  those  pleasant  pictures  in  which  the  memory  of  mature  years  loves  to  set 

the  events  of  youth. 

The  parish  was  formerly  a  part  of  the  territory  assigned  to  St.  Joseph's.  While  still  included  in  St. 
Joseph's,  the  Rev.  Patrick  O'Beirne  purchased  the  site  of  the  present  church  and  began  its  erection.  On 
January  4,  i86g,  the  Rev.  Thomas  Magennis,  the  present  rector,  then  assistant  to  Father  O'Beirne,  was 
selected  for  the  work  of  organizing 
the  parish  of  St.  Thomas.  Father 
Magennis  continued  the  work  of 
building  the  church.  Until  the  base- 
ment  was  ready  he  held  public 
services  for  his  congregation  in  the 
town-hall  of  Jamaica  Plain.  The 
ceremony  of  laying  the  corner-stone 
was  performed  August  15,  by  Bishop 
Williams,  Bishop  O'Reilly,  of  Spring- 
field, preaching  the  sermon.  The 
first  Mass  was  offered  on  Christmas 
morning  in  the  basement.  Here, 
subsequently,  were  held  all  public 
services  until  the  church  was  finished. 
The  organization  of  a  Sunday-school 
was  one  of  the  first  measures  taken 
by  Father  Magennis.'  Work  on  the 
church  ended  in  1873,  and  on  August 
17  the  building  was  dedicated  under 
the  patronage  of  St.  Thomas  Aquinas. 
Bishop  Williams  officiated  at  the  ceremony;  the  High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Father  Magennis,  assisted  by 
the  Rev.  H.  R.  O'Donnell  and  Rev.  M.  McDonald  as  deacons,  and  Bishop  O'Reilly  preached  the  sermon. 

The  church  is  a  Gothic  design,  furnished  by  P.  C.  Keely.  It  is  built  of  face  brick  upon  stone  foundation 
walls  that  rise  10  feet  overground.  It  measures  165  feet  depth  by  58  feet  front.  The  plan  of  the  interior  is 
highly  ornate,  the  frescoing  being  its  most  prominent  feature.     The  cost  of  erection'was  about  Sj8o,ooo. 

A  convent  and  school  were  opened  in  the  same  year.  Attached  to  the  convent  was  a  novitiate  of  the 
Sisters  of  St.  Joseph,  which  has  since  been  transferred  to  Brighton.  The  school,  which  is  named  after  Leo 
XIII,  is  conducted  by  Sisters  of  St.  Joseph,  fourteen  in  number,  under  the  direction  of  Sister  Superior  Mary 
Teresa.  Its  registers  show  200  boys  and  230  girls.  Connected  with  the  church  are  the  usual  societies.  The 
congregation  numbers  about  4,000  souls. 

Co.wENT,  Jamaica  Pl 



Hbe  /Iftaionite  /Iftission. 

'  N  recent  years  many  people  of  the  Arabic  races  have  taken  up  their  abode  in  this  country.  A 
.  considerable  number  profess  the  Catholic  faith.  These  are  most  numerous  in  the  West,  many 
being  settled  in  Cleveland  and  Detroit.  New  York  has  a  congregation  numbering  about  500. 
It  is  estimated  that  230  are  to  be  found  in  Boston;  15  in  Lowell;  57  in  Providence;  25  in 
Lawrence;  35  in  Springfield;  28  in  North  Adams;  47  in  Portland  Diocese;  39  in  Worcester, 
and  5  in  Putnam,  Conn.  The  greater  number  of  Boston's  colony  are  settled  in  St.  James' 
parish,  several  families  having  their  residences  in  South  and  Cove  Streets.  They  were  formed  into  a  congre- 
gation, towards  the  end  of  1893,  by  the  Archbishop's 
wish.  The  work  was  entrusted  to  the  Rev.  Gabriel 
Korkemas,  a  Maronite  Father.  By  the  kindness  of 
the  rector,  he  resides  at  the  parochial  residence  of  St. 
James',  and  holds  special  services  for  his  people  in  the 
church.  He  offers  Mass  on  Sunday  morning  at  8 
o'clock,  and  on  other  mornings  at  7  o'clock.  The 
demeanor  of  his  flock  on  those  occasions  is  most  edify- 
ing. They  listen  with  close  attention  whenever  he 
addresses  them  in  a  sermon.  His  jurisdiction  as  rector 
extends  to  all  New  England.  He  has  the  Archbishop's 
permission  to  collect  funds  with  which  to  procure  a 
place  of  worship  for  the  exclusive  use  of  his  congrega- 
tion, and  expects  to  attain  that  object  by  the  end  of 
the  year. 

Father  ICorkemas  is  a  vigorous,  intellectual  young^ 
man  of  twenty-eight.  He  comes  from  Mount  Lebanon. 
where  he  was  born  January  1,  1867.  He  made  his  pre- 
liminary studies  for  the  priesthood  in  the  college  at  that 
place,  and  received  his  sacred  functions  January  i, 
1 89 1.  Ten  years  of  his  life  have  been  passed  in 
Jerusalem  and  Bethlehem,  where  he  made  a  special 
study  of  their  holy  places,  while  serving  as  a  professor 
in  various  institutions.  He  arrived  in  Boston,  Decem- 
ber 26,  1893. 

According   to    the    custom  of    the    Maronites,    he 

^  .  ,  Rev.  Gabriel  Korkemas,  Pastor. 

celebrates  Mass  in  Syro-Chaldaic,  the  language  spoken 

by  Christ.      He  addresses    his    people  in  Arabic,  which  is  his    native  tongue;    he  speaks    French    fluently, 

and  is  already  master  of  sufficient  English  to  make  himself  generally  understood. 



TLbc  polisb  Cburcb  anb  Congregation, 

T  is  claimed  tliat  there  are  about  2,000,000  Poles  in  the  United  States,  llris  is  probably 
an  exaggeration,  but  there  is  no  doubt  that  the  number  of  those  within  the  Catholic  fold  has 
largely  increased  in  the  past  fifteen  years.  The  fact  is  most  evident  in  Chicago,  where 
they  are  more  numerous  than  in  any  other  city. 

•  Until  quite  recently,  the  Polish  Catholics  of  Boston  and  vicinity  made  no  sign  in  our 
religious  life.  On  May  28,  1893,  the  Rev.  John  Chmeilinski,  a  native  of  Russian  Poland, 
arrived  in  Boston,  having  been  sent  from  Piacenza,  Italy,  to  join  the  Congregation  of  St. 
Charles,  in  charge  of  the  Church  of  the  Sacred  Heart,  in  North  Square.  He  was  not  here 
long  when  some  of  his  fellow-countrymen  learned  of  his  presence.  The  knowledge  seems 
to  have  inspired  them  immediately 

with  the  idea  of  organizing  a  con- 
gregation, with  Father  Chmeilinski  for  rector.  On 
consulting  him,  they  learned  that  the  five  years  for 
which  he  had  been  bound  to  the  Congregation  of  St. 
Charles  had  ended  and  that  he  was  free  to  accept  the 
rectorship  of  the  proposed  congregation  should  he  be 
appointed  to  it.  Thereupon,  they  held  a  meeting  in  a 
hall  on  Hanover  Street  to  consider  the  best  course  to 
adopt  in  order  to  attain  their  wish.  Here,  after  pledg- 
ing themselves  to  properly  support  Father  Chmeilinski, 
who  was  present,  they  appointed  a  delegation  to  wait 
on  Archbishop  Williams  and  ask  him  to  authorize  the 
young  priest  to  organize  them  into  a  congregation. 
Prominent  men  in  this  delegation  were  Stephen  Hoppe 
and  Charles  Reed.  His  Grace  saw  fit  to  grant  their 
request.  Soon  after,  the  new  congregation  placed 
$3,000  in  the  hands  of  Father  Chmeilinski  to  enable 
him  to  buy  a  site  for  a  church.  The  site  was  quickly 
found.  It  was  a  lot  of  land,  measuring  about  28,000 
feet,  extending  from  Boston  Street  to  Dorchester 
Avenue,  and  having  a  frontage  of  120  feet  on 
each  thoroughfare.  It  was  bought  from  William  T. 
McKechnie  for  $6,896,  half  being  paid  in  ready 
money.  Ground  was  broken  for  the  church  on  June 
5.  Its  exterior  is  already  finished.  It  is  a  substantial 
frame   structure  capable  of  seating  650  persons.     Its  '"'"'" 

design  is  simple,  and  it  is  built  over  a  brick  basement  1 1  feet  in  height, 
in  time  to  have  it  dedicated  on  November  18. 

The  rector  hopes  to  ha\-e  it  finished 



Besides  performing  his  other  priestly  duties,  the  rector,  since  his  appointment,  has  offered  Mass  for  his 
congregation  at  10  a.  m.  on  Sundays  in  the  German  Church  of  the  Holy  Trinity.  Occasionally,  on  other  days 
of  the  week,  he  celebrates  Mass  in  St.  Margaret's  Church,  Dorchester.  His  authority  as  rector  extends  to 
Providence.  He  estimates  the  number  of  his  congregation  at  2,000.  The  larger  portion  live  in  South  Boston, 
some  having  residences  in  "the  Village,"  and  in  Bowen,  Silver,  Athens,  Second,  and  Fourth  Streets.     Father 

Chalupka,  of  Webster,  who  has  charge  of  the   Poles  residing  in  the  Diocese  of  Springfield,  is  the  only  other 
priest  of  the  Polish  nationality  in  New  England. 

Father  Chmeilinski  was  born  November  13,  186S,  in  Masiak,  province  of  Przasnycz,  Russian  Poland. 
His  early  education  was  received  in  the  gymnasium  of  the  city  of  Plock.  He  then  went  to  Piacenza,  where  he 
joined  the  Congregation  of  St.  Charles,  and  was  subsequently  admitted  to  Holy  Orders,  on  Pentecost,  in  1892. 



pamb  of  St.  Columbhille,  Brigbton. 

ERHAPS  the  early  history  of  CathoHcity  in  Brighton,  concerning  which  authentic 
records  are  somewhat  meagre,  can  best  be  given  in  the  following  reminiscence  of  an 
old  parishioner  of  the  present  parish.  He  says:  "In  1849  when  I  first  came  to 
Brighton,  I  attended  Father  Flood's  church  in  Watertown.  Some  of  our  people 
attended  Father  Doherty's  church,  in  Cambridge,  and  some  went  to  Brookline.  At 
about  the  year  1853,  Father  O'Beirne,  then  pastor  of  the  Brookline  church,  came  to 
Brighton  to  hear  confessions,  and  at  Christmas  and  Easter,  he  announced  from  the 
altar  of  the  Brookline  church, — Brookline  then  being  our  parish, — the  places  in 
Brighton  where  he  would 
hear  confessions.  I  re- 
member well  going  to  confession  at  the  houses  of 
John  Nolan,  on  Waverly  Street,  and  of  Patrick  Flynn, 
on  Western  Avenue,  and  also  at  the  house  of  Thomas 
Corcoran,  on  Church  Street.  In  the  year  1856, 
Father  Finotti,  the  parish  priest  at  Brookline,  began 
to  say  early  Mass  in  Brighton,  at  a  quarter  of  nine. 
He  hired  a  loft  over  a  stable,  in  which  Mr.  Chandler, 
the  ice  dealer,  kept  his  horses.  The  stable  was  located 
at  about  the  same  place  where  Mr.  Moley's  stable  now 
stands,  on  Chestnut  Hill  Avenue.  The  loft  was  forty- 
five  feet  long  and  thirty  feet  wide,  with  benches  made 
of  rough  spruce  boards,  ten  inches  in  width.  We 
were  very  much  disturbed  by  the  jumping  and  pranc- 
ing of  horses,  and  the  barking  and  howling  of  dogs  in 
the  stable  beneath  us.  About  seventy-five  persons 
attended  Mass  on  Sundays.'' 

The  history  of  St.   Columbkille's  Church  begins, 
however,  in  1872,  when  the  Brighton   district  was  set 
off  from  the  Brookline  parish.     The  corner-stone  was 
laid  Sunday,  September  22,  1S72,  by  the  Very  Rev.  P. 
F.  Lyndon,  V.  G.,  in  the  absence  of  the  Archbishop. 
Father  Cook,  C.  SS.  R.,  celebrated  the  Mass.     Among 
the  clergy  present  were  Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  V. 
G.;    Rt.  Rev.  Mgr.  Thomas  Grifiin,  of  St.  John's,  Wor- 
cester; Father  Lamb,  Rev.  Bernard  Flood,  Rev.  John      '''"'  ^^'^"""■'  -'■  **"-"'■  '''"""  "''■  L""»""-;"  "•:  i-"""^",  iiKK,,nns. 
W.  Donahoe,  Rev.  J.  Doherty,  and  Rev.  F.  Gallagher.     At  the  laying  of  the  corner-stone  the  famous  Dominican 
Father,  Thomas  Burke,  O.  P.,  preached.     The  church  was  dedicated,  in   1876,  by  Archbishop  Williams.     The 
church  measures  145  feet  long,  26  feet  wide,  and  the  tower  is  130  feet  high.     The  pews  number   186  and  the 




church  seats   1,200  persons.     Father  P.  J.  Rogers  was  appointed  the  first  pastor.      He  died  in  1SS5  and  was 
succeeded  by  Father  Rossi. 

The  church  stands  on  Market  Street  and  is  a  handsome  edifice.  It  is  built  of  granite  trimmed  with 
yellow  sandstone.  The  basement  is  granite.  The  church  is  covered,  in  a  great  portion,  by  a  thick  growth  of 
ivy.  The  architecture  of  the  edifice  is  renaissance,  with  perhaps  a  slight  touch  of  the  Byzantine.  A  mao-nifi- 
cent  rosette  window  of  stained  glass  is  situated  in  the  front  of  the  church  over  the  main  doors.  The  bell-tower 
is  not  loft}',  but  it  claims  attention  by  its  roof,  which  is  a  Byzantine  dome.  The  ground  plan  is  cruciform. 
Three   doors   lead   into   the  vestibule  which  receives  light  by  four  oblong  windows  of  stained  glass  in  front. 

Three  doors  lead  into  the  body  of 
the  church  from  the  vestibule.  Over- 
head is  the  choir  in  which  is  a  fine 
organ  finished  in  oak  and  decorated 
with  green,  gold,  buff,  and  maroon 
tints.  The  choir  is  lighted  by  the 
immense  rosette  window  behind  the 
organ  and  four  tall,  pointed  arch  win- 
dows of  stained  glass.  Eighteen 
clustered  columns  and  si.x  pilasters 
support  the  vaulted  roof.  These 
divide  the  church  into  three  aisles, 
roofed  by  three  series  of  Gothic 
arches  running  transversely.  The 
arches  over  the  middle  aisle  are  the 
highest  and  support  the  apex  of  the 
\'ault.  Longitudinally  there  are  seven 
(jothic  arches  on  either  side  of  the 
church  underneath  the  clerestory.  A 
window  of  stained  glass  adorns  each 
of  the  arches  running  longitudinally. 
Beginning  at  the  epistle  aisle  and 
going  up  the  nave  the  windows  have 
been  given  by  Patrick  Roach,  Mrs. 
Michael  McDonough,  Patrick  Roach, 
Wra.  Killion,  Eugene  Nagle,  in  his 
memory  by  his  wife ;  gift  of  the  Sun- 
(lay-school,  Mrs.  J.  Griffin,  and 
James  H.  Lawless.  On  the  gospel 
side,  going  down  to  the  choir,  the 
windows  have  been  given  by  Edward 
Farrell,  Bernard  Duggan,  William  S. 
McCarthy,  Mrs.  William  Scollons, 
James  O'Neill,  and  Miss  Kate  Boyle.  Eight  of  these  windows  are  conventional  in  design  and  six  are  pictorial. 
On  the  vaulted  roof  are  two  frescoes  painted  in  shaded  round  frames.  One  represents  the  Crucifixion,  and 
one  the  Ascension.  Twelve  stained  glass  windows  are  set  in  the  clerestory.  They  are  composed  of  two  lancet 
formed  panes  and  a  crowning  rosette  piece. 

The  transept  opens  into  the  nave,  just  in  front  of  the  sanctuary,  by  a  lofty  archway.  The  stations  of  the 
cross  on  the  walls  of  the  church  are  framed  in  oak.  The  vaulted  roof  is  frescoed  with  symbols  in  marble, 
green,  gold,  and  buff  colors  in  quatrefoil  design.  The  sanctuary  is  semi-circular.  Its  roof  is  supported  by 
sixteen  trusses,  all  which  converge  at  the  highest   part  of  the   sanctuary  vault  and  form  eight  Gothic  arches. 




The  sanctuary  is  illumined  by  four  windows  of  stained  glass.  The  high  altar  is  built  of  wood,  elaborately 
carved.  Over  the  tabernacle  is  a  statue  of  the  Sacret  Heart  of  Christ,  and  on  either  side  of  the  tabernacle  are 
two  statues.  On  the  epistle  side  is  the  altar  to  St.  Joseph.  On  the  other  side  is  an  altar  to  the  Blessed 
Virgin.  Two  stained  glass  windows  light  up  the  recesses  of  the  side  altars.  The  windows  behind  the  Blessed 
Virgin  altar  were  given  by  Michael  Doherty  and  Ellen  Gallagher.  Those  behind  St.  Joseph's  altar  were  given 
by  Mrs.  Peter  Murphy  and  Miss  Sarah  Murphy.  The  sanctuary  windows  were  given  by  Charles  F.  Donnelly, 
Thomas  Mullen,  James  Lyons,  James  Corcoran,  and  Owen  Nawn.  The  interior  of  the  church  is  one  of  the 
handsomest  in  the  Archdiocese. 

The  parochial  house,  which  is  on  the  right  of  the  church,  is  a  wooden  house,  painted  white,  and  three 
stories  high.  It  is  not  pretentious  looking,  but  is  quite  commodious  and  \-ery  pleasantly  situated,  a  handsome 
green  lawn  lying  in  front. 

The  societies  connected  with  the  church  are  numerous  and  in  a  flourishing  condition.  They  embrace 
sodalities  for  the  young  and  old  people  of  both  se.xes,  and  confraternities  for  purposes  of  charity,  temperance. 

and  the  practice  of  different  virtues.  Certainly,  if  the  condition  of  religious  societies  in  a  parish  is  a  test  and 
a  sign  of  religion  in  a  parish,  St.  Columbkille's  is  foremost  in  Catholic  works.  The  Sunday-school  numbers 
about  700.  The  curates  at  present  at  St.  Columbkille's  are  Revs.  Francis  J.  Butler  and  James  P.  McGuigan. 
There  is  no  parochial  school  nor  convent  connected  with  St.  Columbkille's  parish. 

The  Rev.  Anthony  J.  Rossi,  the  rector  of  St.  Columbkille's,  was  born  in  1836,  in  the  Canton  of  Tessin,  in 
Switzerland.  He  came  to  America  when  fifteen  years  old,  and  entered,  immediately,  the  old  Seminary  of  St. 
Mary's,  commonly  called  the  Barrens.  He  was  ordained  at  that  place  by  the  late  Bishop  Timon,  of  Buffalo, 
in  i860.  In  1864  he  came  to  Boston  and  was  assigned  to  the  late  Rev.  John  W.  Donahoe,  of  East  Cambridge. 
In  1867  he  was  sent  to  take  charge  of  the  parish  of  Palmer,  where  he  remained  but  a  short  time,  removing  to 
Saxonville  at  the  close  of  1869,  where  he  remained  nearly  sixteen  years.  In  June,  1885,  he  came  to  Brighton, 
succeeding  the  Rev.  P.  J.  Rogers,  deceased. 


parish  of  St,  Hntbon^  of  Ipabua, 


HIS  parish  is  one  of  tlie  latest  formed  congregations  in  tlie  Archdiocese.  The 
church  stands  on  the  corner  of  Holton  and  Athol  Streets  in  Allston.  Heretofore, 
the  Catholic  people  of  Allston  attended  church  at  St.  Columbkille's,  in  Brighton, 
but  as  years  passed  on  the  Catholic  population  in  Brighton  and  Allston  increased 
and  a  new  church  in  Allston  became  necessary.  The  parish,  therefore,  is  a  branch 
of  the  old  Brighton  parish,  and  Father  A.  J.  Rossi,  pastor  of  St.  Columbkille's, 
began  the  work.  In  June,  1893,  the  Rice  estate  was  purchased  by  Father  Rossi 
and  the  task  of  erecting  the  church  began.  Ground  was  broken  that  year  and  the 
laying  of  the  foundations  begun.  Sunday,  September  16,  1894,  the  corner-stone 
was  laid  and  the  church  dedicated  to  St.  Anthony  of  Padua,  by  Archbishop  WiUiams. 
Rev.  Father  Byrne,  V.  G.,  and  Father  A.  J.  Rossi,  assisted  as  deacons  of  the  Mass,  Father  F.  J.  Butler  as  sub- 
deacon,  and  Rev.  James  P.  McGuigan  as  master  of  ceremonies.  Rev.  Dr.  T.  J.  Conaty,  of  Worcester,  preached. 
In  the  corner-stone  were  laid  coins,  daily  and  weekly  papers  of  Boston,  and  a  paper  stating  that  the  erection  of 
the  chvirch  was  begun  by  Father  Rossi,  pastor ;  the  names  of  the  Pope,  the  Archbishop  of  Boston,  the  Presi- 
dent of  the  United  States,  the  Governor  of  Massachusetts,  and  the  Mayor  of  Boston,  also,  being  given.  The 
various  Catholic  societies  of  Brighton  attended  the  ceremony.  So  did  also  the  Catholic  Order  of  Foresters, 
the  Hibernians,  and  the  Holy  Name  Society. 

The  church  will  cost,  including  land,  $100,000.  It  is  built  in  the  Romanesque  style  of  architecture,  from 
plans  drawn  by  F.  Joseph  Untersee,  of  Boston.  The  ground  plan  is  cruciform  with  a  semi-circular  apse.  The 
tower  is  117  feet  high.  The  nave  is  70  feet  wide  and  128  feet  long.  The  width  across  the  transept  is  32  feet. 
The  height  from  floor  to  roof  is  40  feet.  The  walls  are  built  of  Brighton  stone,  trimmed  with  Ohio  buff  sand- 
stone. The  loggia  is  of  red  granite.  The  church  is  roofed  with  black  tiles,  and  the  tower  is  covered  with  red 
Italian  tiles.  The  clerestory  is  covered  with  copper  work  and  slate.  The  basement  is  14  feet  high  and  very 
commodious.  The  interior  is  finished  in  plaster  and  decorated.  The  sanctuary  is  semi-circular,  and  the  altar 
will  be  built  of  stone  and  marble.  On  the  west  side  is  the  sacristy,  and  the  choir  loft  will  be  at  the  southern 
end.  Four  clusterered  and  two  single  columns  will  support  the  roof,  making  four  bays,  each  covered  with  a 
splayed  vault  groined  into  the  main  vault  and  each  bay  of  the  aisles  will  be  covered  with  a  groined  vault.  The 
church  is  not  yet  in  a  finished  condition  and  it  is  almost  superfluous  to  say  that  there  is  neither  rectory  nor 
school  connected  with  the  parish.  Those  buildings  will  come  in  the  future.  The  present  pastor  is  Father 
Rossi  of  St.  Columbkille's.     The  parish  contains  about  2,500  souls  and  the  Sunday-school  numbers  about  400. 




ST.    ANTHdNW-    CHURCH,     ALI.MON. 


Boston  College  anb  Cbureb  of  tbe  Ifmmaculate 


ROM  the  days  of  St.  Ignatius  of  Loyola,  the  power,  the  influence,  the  labors,  the  zeal 
of  the  Society  of  Jesus  have  been  the  wonder  and  the  theme  of  historians  and  the 
admiration  of  all  Catholics.  Even  such  a  man  as  Macaulay,  who  can  not  be  accused 
of  being  partisan  to  the  Jesuits,  pays  them  a  glowing  tribute  of  admiration.  Without 
question,  the  Jesuits  are  the  most  remarkable  society  in  existence.  They  are  the  glory 
and  the  right  arm  of  the  Church.  There  is  no  field  of  noble  endeavor  which  they 
have  not  traversed,  no  art  or  science  which  they  have  not  mastered.  They  have  dis- 
tinguished themselves  as  discoverers,  explorers,  teachers,  writers,  orators,  and  scien- 
tists. They  have  borne  perils  of  flood,  famine,  war,  pestilence,  and  persecution,  and 
the  soldier  spirit  of  their  founder  animates  all.  There  is  little  need  to  wonder  at  the 
labors  they  have  performed  when  we  study  what  they  have  accomplished  in  the 
Archdiocese  of  Boston,  and  bear  in  mind  that  everywhere  and  in  all  times  they  labor  with  the  same  spirit 
that  they  have  labored  here.  Those  who  are  not  Catholics  may  not  understand  what  inspires  the  Society 
of  Jesus  to  such  vast  achievements.  They  behold  here  a  band  of  men  who  deny  themselves  all  worldly 
distinction,  who  take  upon  themselves  poverty  and  self-denial,  who  give  their  lives  to  the  cause  of  educa- 
tion. The  explanation  is  in  the  motto  they  hold  before  themselves,  "To  the  greater  glory  of  God."  The 
monuments  which  the  Jesuits  have  raised  to  religion  on  Harrison  Avenue  consist  of  Boston  College  and 
a  church,  the  Immaculate  Conception.  The  church  is  not  strictly  a  parish  church,  though  it  is  attended  by 
a  large  congregation. 

On  March  14,  1858,  a  boy  in  the  Eliot  School,  a  public  school  on  Bennett  Street,  was  punished  for  refus- 
ing to  obey  a  school  regulation  which  was  against  his  conscience.  Several  other  boys  were  punished  for  the 
same  reason,  and  in  consequence  four  hundred  boys  left  the  school.  To  provide  for  their  education  and  pro- 
tect them  against  truancy.  Rev.  Bernardine  Wiget,  S.  J.,  then  at  St.  Mary's,  Boston,  and  director  of  the  Men's 
Sodality,  appealed  to  them  to  provide  funds  to  establish  a  school.  The  people  responded  nobly  and  generously, 
and  a  school  was  organized  which  gave  a  plain  English  education.  This  was  the  incident  which  set  in  motion 
the  movement  that  resulted  in  establishing  Boston  College. 

Boston  College  owes  its  inception,  however,  to  Father  John  McElroy,  who  was  then  at  St.  Mary's,  on 
Endicott  Street.  His  plan  was  to  erect  a  scholasticate  and  a  church  on  the  "Jail  lands,"  as  they  were  called, 
on  Leverett  Street,  and  land  was  bought  there  from  the  city  for  that  purpose.  There  was  a  municipal  law, 
however,  which  empowered  the  inhabitants  of  wards  to  object  to  certain  kinds  of  buildings.  The  religious 
rancor  of  some  of  the  people,  therefore,  prevented  the  erection  of  the  college  and  church  upon  the  land,  and 
that  being  useless  for  any  other  purpose  to  the  Jesuit  Fathers  it  was  sold  back  to  the  city.  Noting  the  growth 
of  the  Catholic  population  at  the  South  End,  Father  McElroy,  with  the  substantial  aid  of  Alexander  H.  Rice, 
then  Mayor  of  Boston,  bought  the  land  on  Harrison  Avenue,  now  the  site  of  the  church  and  college.  The 
college  was  a  scholasticate  for  the  Society  until  1863,  when  the  scholasticate  was  transformed  into  Boston  Col- 
lege. May  25,  1863,  the  Massachusetts  Legislature  passed  an  act  empowering  the  Fathers  of  the  Society  to 
confer  such  degrees  as  are  usually  conferred  by  colleges  in  this  Commonwealth  except  medical  degrees.     Sep- 


tember  5,  1864,  classes  were  first  organized  in  the  college  and  twenty-two  students  were  enrolled,  the  first  name 
to  be  enrolled  being  that  of  Arthur  J.  McEvoy,  now  a  devoted  priest  of  the  Society.  Since  the  first  class 
graduated,  two  hundred  and  eighty-two  young  men  have  received  their  baccalaureate  degrees. 

The  presidents  of  Boston  College  have  been:  Father  Bapst;  1869,  Father  R.  W.  Brady;  1870,  Father 
Robert  Fulton;  1879,  Father  Jeremiah  O'Connor;  1884,  Father  Edward  V.  Boursaud;  1887,  Father  Stack. 
Father  Stack  died  suddenly,  and  in  188 7 -1888  affairs  were  put  temporarily  into  the  hands  of  Father  Nicholas 
Russo,  an  eminent  philosopher.  In  1888  Father  Fulton  returned.  In  January,  1891,  Father  Edward  I.  Devitt 
succeeded  Father  Fulton,  and  September,  1894,  Father  Brosnahan  succeeded  Father  Devitt. 

The  rapid  increase  of  students  which  went  on  from  year  to  year  became  at  last  so  marked,  in  1888,  that 
it  was  determined  to  build  an  addition  to  the  original  college.     In  the  spring  of   i88g  ground  was  broken,  but 


the  work  was  not  completed  until  May,  1890.  The  work  cost  over  $125,000.  To-day  the  college  stands  as  a 
representative  educational  institution  of  the  Society,  and  graduates  yearly  young  men  who  reflect  honor  upon 
their  alma  mater,  and  besides  giving  neophytes  to  law,  medicine,  and  other  secular  pursuits  of  life,  has  been 
the  means  of  supplying  the  Archdiocese  of  Boston  with  many  able  and  energetic  priests. 

The  college  organizations  include  the  Sodality  of  the  Immaculate  Conception,  founded  in  1869;  the 
Sodality  of  the  Holy  Angels,  founded  in  1875  ;  the  Fulton  Debating  Society  and  the  Agassiz  Association, 
founded  in  1892;  the  Boston  College  Atheneum  and  the  St.  Cecilia  Society,  founded  in  1868;  the  College 
Orchestra,  and  the  Boston  College  Athletic  Association.  Besides,  there  is  a  Students'  Library,  containing  over 
four  thousand  volumes,  and  an  Historical  Academy.  The  students  also  publish  a  college  paper,  called  Tlie 


The  college  building,  as  it  now  stands,  merits  some  description.  The  building  now  forms  a  T,  the  resi- 
dence facing  Harrison  Avenue,  the  college  building  running  along  James  Street.  The  length  of  the  first  from 
the  front  to  the  college  is  go  feet,  while  the  college  forms  an  imposing  structure  of  some  200  feet  in  length, 
with  three  projecting  door-ways.  All  the  buildings  are  of  the  same  height,  four  stories,  not  including  the  base- 
ment and  the  attic  used  as  a  storage  room.  The  college  building  takes  in  all  the  ground  from  half  way  behind 
the  church  to  the  httle  alley  beyond  the  once  famous  garden.  The  middle  building  wants  but  fifteen  feet  or  so 
of  being  as  wide  as  the  residence  is  long.  The  buildings  are  of  brick,  painted  red.  A  portico,  supported  by 
two  columns  capped  with  Corinthian  capitals,  adorns  the  main  door-way  of  the  residence.  Entering  the  resi- 
dence there  are  five  parlors  now,  instead  of  two,  facing  Harrison  Avenue  and  devoted  entirely  to  visitors.  In 
the  parlors  nothing  calls  for  comments  except  portraits  of  Father  Bapst  and  Father  McElroy,  the  former  an 

excellent  likeness,  showing  a  handsome  countenance  lighted  by  a  holy  benignity,  the  work  of  Mrs.  E.  Washburn 
Brainerd.  Passing  the  second  or  cloister  door  one  enters  a  wide  corridor  leading  through  the  intermediate 
building  to  the  college  boys'  entrance  on  James  Street.  The  first  room  on  the  right  is  the  chapel.  A  picture 
of  Madonna  of  the  Thumb,  which  forms  the  chapel  window  on  the  left,  is  an  exquisite  piece  of  the  artist's 
work.  The  window  on  the  right  is  St.  Joseph's,  and  the  walls  are  lined  with  paintings  of  St.  Ignatius  at  Mont- 
matre  and  of  other  saints. 

Passing  into  the  college  proper,  the  first  door  on  the  right  opens  into  the  lecture  hall,  which  comfortably 
seats  three  hundred.  There  are  now  fifteen  rooms  occupied  by  classes,  and  there  are  in  all  eighteen  class- 
rooms. The  main  corridor  runs  southwest  and  northeast,  and  is  about  fifteen  feet  wide.  In  the  basement  are 
the  boiler  rooms  and  a  concreted  recreation  hall  for  the  students  during  stormy  weather.  The  prefect's  room 
is  on  the  first  floor.     On  the  first  floor  is  the  room  where  the  Fulton  Debating  Society,  composed  of  fifty  mem- 


bers,  meets.  On  that  floor  is  the  new  sacristy.  Climbing  the  old  stairs  to  the  second  floor,  beside  the  several 
class-rooms,  the  chemistry  room,  the  new  music  room,  and  the  museum,  the  library  is  on  that  floor.  On  the 
third  floor  is  the  college  hall,  where  commencements  take  place,  and  where  the  students  give  entertainments 
and  plays.  The  hall  contains  a  gallery  and  will  seat  i,6oo  people.  It  is  very  beautifully  frescoed,  and  the 
seats  are  in  keeping  with  it,  and  it  is  regarded  the  best  amateur  hall  in  Boston. 

The  entire  collegiate  course  embraces  seven  years,  but  those  who  have  received  a  preparatory  classical 
training  in  an  academy  or  in  a  high  school  may,  on  proof  of  possessing  the  requisite  scholarship,  receive  the 
degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts  after  a  course  of  three  years'  study.  The  course  of  study  embraces  an  extensive 
course  in  mathematics,  including  trigonometry,  calculus,  applied  mechanics,  applied  geometry  and  algebra. 
The  reading  of  the  classics  include,  in  Latin,  the  favorite  Horace  and  other  Latin  poets  and  the  prose  writers. 
Greek  is  also  studied,  as  well  as  the  sciences,  music,  and  English.  The  course  in  Latin  in  Boston  College,  as 
well  as  in  all  colleges  of  the  Society,  is  superior  to  any  secular  college  in  the  country.  The  custom  of  writing 
Latin  poetry,  which  is  followed  in  the  universities  of  England,  is  kept  up  in  the  college.  The  last  year  is 
given  over  almost  exclusively  to  philosophy.  Throughout  the  course,  lectures  are  given  on  Christian  doctrine 
and  on  Catholic  history.  Declamation  contests,  debates,  and  disputations  in  philosophy  also  form  a  feature 
of  the  collegiate  course. 

In  the  fall  of  i860  the  scholasticate  which  afterwards  became  Boston  College  was  opened.  Father  Bapst, 
in  a  letter  to  his  old  friend.  Father  Billet,  writes  that  he  is  at  the  head  of  a  house  of  study  in  the  modern 
Athens  of  the  new  world,  and  that  neither  of  them  would  ever  have  thought  of  such  an  event  when  they  were 
companions  at  St.  Michael's  College  in  Freiburg,  sixteen  years  before.  Father  Sopranis,  a  Visitor,  estabhshed 
the  scholasticate,  which  was  meant  to  be  a  house  of  studies  for  all  the  provinces  in  North  America.  The 
scholastics  were  delighted  with  Father  Bapst,  whose  fatherly  and  gentle  manner  invited  all  confidences  and 
won  all  affections.  In  the  summer  of  1863  it  was  decided  to  transfer  the  scholasticate  to  Georgetown,  the 
progress  of  the  war  rendering  communication  with  Boston  very  difficult.  Father  Bapst  remained  as  pastor  of 
the  Immaculate  Conception,  and  when,  in  September,  1864,  Boston  College  was  opened  for  day  scholars, 
Father  Bapst  became  vice-rector  of  the  "collegium  inchoatum."  The  care  of  the  college  then  devolved  on 
Father  Robert  Fulton,  who  began  with  only  twenty-five  students,  but  his  prudence  and  courageous  persever- 
ance soon  raised  Boston  College  to  a  high  position.  Father  Bapst  seconded  Father  Fulton  with  an  unwavering 
confidence  in  everything. 

Next  Father  Bapst  set  to  work  to  devise  means  to  pay  oft"  the  church  debt,  which  was,  when  he  became 
pastor,  $150,000  resting  on  the  church  alone.  The  college  had  been  freed  from  all  debt  by  the  munificence 
of  the  people  of  St.  Mary's  parish.  The  interest  on  the  church  was  1^9,000  and  the  revenue  only  $6,000. 
'When  Father  Bapst  was  appointed  pastor  of  the  Immaculate  Conception  Church,  he  called  together  a  meeting 
of  the  congregation  and  made  a  statement  of  its  financial  condition.  At  that  meeting  Mr.  Andrew  Carney 
made  a  generous  proposition  to  give  $20,000  if  the  congregation  could  raise  an  equal  sum;  Ten  thousand  of 
the  required  sum  was  quickly  raised,  and  the  amount  was  increased  to  $27,000  by  the  proceeds  of  a  fair  held 
in  Music  Hall.  April  4  Mr.  Carney  died  suddenly,  leaving  $25,000  to  the  church.  In  1867  another  fair 
netted  $28,000,  thus  leaving  Father  Bapst  in  a  very  comfortable  condition  for  the  remainder  of  his  adminis- 

The  congregation  that  attended  the  Immaculate  Conception  during  Father  Bapst's  day  must  have  been 
a  remarkable  one  for  a  Catholic  church  in  such  a  new  and  non-Catholic  locality  as  New  England,  for 
Father  Bapst,  in  one  of  his  letters,  speaks  of  many  of  the  elite  as  attending  the  services  there,  among  them 
many  Protestants,  judges,  lawyers,  men  of  prominence  in  state  and  city  affairs,  noted  physicians  and  pro- 
fessors. Among  them  may  be  mentioned  Gov.  John  A.  Andrew,  who  was  a  warm  friend  of  Father  Bapst. 
Governor  Andrew  delighted  to  often  run  up  to  the  college  to  converse  with  Father  Bapst  on  religious  matters, 
and  there  is  little  doubt  but  that,  if  he  had  not  died  suddenly,  he  would  have  become  a  Catholic  under  Father 
Bapst's  guidance.  One  day,  it  is  related,  the  Governor  heard  Father  Bapst  preach  a  eulogy  on  St.  Joseph. 
It  impressed  the  Governor  very  much,  and  on  his  way  home  he  would  talk  of  nothing  else.  Some  time  after, 
when  presiding  over  a  State  Council,  he  was  perplexed  as  how  to  decide.     Lost  for  some  time  in  thought,  he 


at  length  astonished  the  gentlemen  of  the  council  by  declaring :  "  I  will  defer  my  decision  upon  this  point, 
gentlemen,  and  in  the  meantime  will  consult  with  St.  Joseph  upon  it."  The  councilors  looked  at  each  other  in 
perfect  amazement,  and,  as  his  private  secretary  declared,  were  fearful  that  he  was  becoming  weak  in  the 
upper  sto)-y.  Father  Bapst  had  great  influence  also  with  Nathaniel  Shurtleff,  Jr.,  who  became  a  convert.  He 
was  a  scion  of  one  of  Boston's  first  families,  living  on  Beacon  Street.  He  met  death  on  the  battle-field  during 
the  war,  and  at  his  request  the  words  "Ave  Maria"  were  engraved  upon  his  memorial  stone  in  Mount  Auburn. 
Father  Bapst's  salient  virtue  was  charity.  In  personality  he  was  mild  and  kindly,  and  the  spirit  of  holy 
gentleness  illuminated  his  countenance.  As  a  preacher,  although  his  accent  was  foreign  and  his  command  of 
English  sometimes  at  a  loss  for  a  word,  3'et  he  held  his  audience  completely  by  his  earnestness  and  by  that 
apostolic  spirit  which  dominated  the  man  and  the  discourse. 

The  number  of  students  now  attending  Boston  College  is  391.     The  present  faculty  is  as  follows: 

Rev.  Timothy  Brosnahan,  S.  J.,  President,  and  Lecturer  on  Christian  Doctrine  to  the  College  Classes. 

Rev.  Thomas  A.  Reid,  S.  J.,  Treasurer. 

Rev.  Daniel  A.  Doherty,  S.  J.,  Prefect  of  Schools  and  Discipline. 

Rev.  James  A.  Doonan,  S.  J.,  Lecturer  on  Logic,  Metaphysics,  and  Ethics. 

Rev.  Francis  de  Sales  Fullerton,  S.  J.,  Lecturer  on  Physics  and  Chemistry. 

Rev.  Thomas  I.  Gasson,  S.  J.,  Professor  of  Rhetoric  and  German. 

Mr.  Francis  J.  McNiff,  S.  J.,  Professor  of  Poetry  and  French. 

Mr.  William  J.  Duane,  S.  J.,  Professor  of  Higher  Grammar,  Mathematics,  and  French. 

Mr.  Augustus  J.  Duarte,  S.  J.,  Teacher  of  Second  Grammar,  Geometry,  and  French. 

Mr.  Daniel  J.  Quinn,  S.  J.,  Teacher  of  Third  Grammar  and  Professor  of  Mathematics. 

Mr.  John  H.  Doody,  S.  J.,  Teacher  of  First  Rudiments  and  Algebra. 

Rev.  William  Hayes,  S.  J.,  Teacher  of  First  Rudiments  and  Algebra. 

Mr.  Carroll  J.  Boone,  S.  J.,  Teacher  of  Third  Grammar  and  Algebra. 

Mr.  George  A.  Keelan,  S.  J.,  Assistant  Prefect  of  Discipline. 

Mr.  Peter  F.  Gartland,  A.  M.,  Professor  of  English,  Teacher  of  French  and  Algebra.  "'"*'' 

Mr,  John  J.  Cadigan,  A.  M.,  Teacher  of  Special  Latin,  Algebra,  and  French. 

Mr.  Joseph  H..  Willis,  A.  M.,  Teacher  of  Second  Rudiments. 

Mr.  James  A.  Dorsey,  Teacher  of  English  and  Arithmetic. 

(Tburcb  of  tbc  llmmaculatc  Conception. 

The  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception  is  on  Harrison  Avenue,  on  the  left  of  the  college.  It  is  one 
of  the  finest  church  edifices  in  New  England.  It  is  of  the  basilica  type,  and  is  of  the  Grecian  style  of  archi- 
tecture. The  architect  was  P.  C.  Keely,  of  Brooklyn,  N.  Y.  Ground  was  broken  for  the  edifice  in  1858.  The 
church  is  built  entirely  out  of  stone.  Over  the  noble  facade  is  a  statue  of  the  Blessed  Virgin.  Three  Roman 
arched  door-ways  lead  into  the  vestibule.  Pilasters  surmounted  by  Ionic  capitals  adorn  the  facade  and  the 
walls  of  the  church.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  in  1859,  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  officiating.  The  architect  of  the 
old  college,  Mr.  Wissiben,  and  Mr.  C.  J.  Bateman,  have  also  acted  as  architects  for  the  new  institution,  the 
latter  gentleman  doing  the  work  for  the  last  addition  to  the  college  building.  The  dimensions  of  the  church 
are:  length,  156  feet;  width,  86  feet;  height  over  the  middle  aisle,  68  feet. 

The  interior  is  as  magnificent  as  the  exterior.  White  in  color,  lofty  in  sweep,  graceful  and  chaste  in  lines, 
the  effect  produced  on  the  beholder  can  be  nothing  but  that  of  religious  awe  and  admiration.  Then,  one 
understands  to  the  fullest,  the  spirit  that  says : 

"  And  on  my  soul,  monastic  aisles 
Fall  hke  sweet  strains  and  pensive  smiles." 

Immense,  high,  white  columns,  six  in  number,  and  two  pilasters  crowned  with  Corinthian  capitals,  which  are 
adorned  with  faces  of  cherubs,  support  the  roof.  The  vaulted  roof  between  the  columns  over  the  middle  aisle 
is  a  Roman  arch  elaborately  carved  into  seventy  squares  and  in  each  square  is  a  rosette.  The  seventy  squares 
are  divided  by  six  transverse  bands  into  seven  sets  of  ten  squares  each.     These  transverse  bands  rise  from  the 



capitals  of  the  columns,  and  at  the  base  of  the  bands  is  an  angel  on  an  acanthus  base.  Along  the  clerestory 
runs  a  projecting  moulding.  The  clerestory  rests  on  seven  arches,  and  the  space  between  the  arches  and  the 
wall  is  divided  into  seven  bays,  covered  with  a  splayed  vault,  Over  the  side  altars  are  arches  of  thirty  gas 
jets.  The  sanctuary  is  arched  and  the  arch  is  lower  than  the  arch  of  the  nave.  Above  the  arch  of  the 
sanctuary  are  two  angels,  and,  between,  a  colored  medallion  of  I.  H.  S.  The  arch  of  the  sanctuary  is  blue, 
white,  and  gold.  The  sanctuary  is  supported  by  two  pilasters  and  gilded  Corinthian  capitals  where  the  nave 
joins  the  sanctuary.  Two  stained  glass  windows  light  up  the  sanctuary  on  the  sides.  The  roof  of  the  sanct- 
uary is  a  marvel  of  beauty.     The  effect  is  two  round  arches  -which  intersect  so  as  to  form  a  cross.      In  the 


center  of  the  roof  is  an  oval  opening  covered  by  a  window  representing  the  Holy  Ghost  as  a  dove  in  a  blue 
sky  pierced  by  golden  rays.  On  the  sanctuary  wall,  behind  the  reredos,  is  a  painting  of  the  Assumption  of  the 
Blessed  Virgin.  The  altar  is  marble  and  the  tabernacle  is  also  marble,  Roman  in  design,  with  a  golden  door. 
The  reredos  is  divided  into  three  arches  by  two  sets  of  pillars  surmounted  by  a  heavy  Romanesque  moulding. 
Over  the  tabernacle  is  a  golden  canopy  and  upon  it  is  a  recess  groined  and  arched.  In  each  bay  is  a  window 
consisting  of  three  arched  panes,  the  middle  pane  being  taller,  and  each  pane  crowned  by  a  round  light  of 
glass.  Between  the  windows  is  a  flat  pilaster  against  the  wall  and  crowned  by  capitals  similar  to  the  other 
capitals.     Over  the  apex  of  the  longitudinal  arches  are  carved  heads  of  religious  personages,  and  between  the 



angelic  figures  at  the  base  of  the  transverse  bands  spanning  the  vault  and  the  carved  heads  at  -the  apex  of  the 
arches  are  groined  recesses  adorned  with  cherubs.  The  columns  support  four  sets  of  three  gas  jets  each.  On 
four  pilasters  against  the  wall  are  four  metal  crosses  and  four  gas  lights.  Along  the  wall  runs  a  high  oak 
wainscot  of  raised  panels.  The  pews  in  the  nave  number  232  and  are  of  oak.  The  seating  capacity  is  about 
1,200.  The  choir  is  supported  by  two  small  iron  columns  and  two  large  columns.  The  choir  balustrade  is 
decorated  in  white  and  gold  and  along  the  top  runs  an  oak  railing. 

Over  the  middle  aisle  on  the  choir  is  a  beautiful  oil  painting  of  the   Star  of  the   Morning.     Under  the 
choir  are  six  confessionals  and  three   doors  which    lead   into  the   vestibule.      The  organ  in  the  choir  is  a  huije 

IXIKKIilR    CHCRCH    (IF     THI',    I.MM  ACL' I,.\TE    CONC'KPrioN 

and  splendid  instrument,  crowned  by  three  arches  of  oak,  and  the  organ  pipes  are  painted  white  and  steel 
blue,  'i'he  vestibule  is  tiled  with  black  and  white  square  panes.  There  are  two  beautifully  carved  holy  water 
fonts  of  marble.  The  altar  on  the  gospel  side  is.  made  of  marble,  with  a  reredos  of  wood  consisting  of  three 
flat  pilasters  and  two  columns,  one  large  arch  and  two  smaller  arches,  Romanesque  in  design  and  white  and 
gold  in  color.  The  reredos  is  crowned  by  a  cross,  and  above  the  altar  is  an  oil  painting  of  St.  Aloysius.  On 
the  left  of  the  altar  is  a  statue  of  St.  Joseph  on  a  marble  pedestal.  The  altar  on  the  epistle  side  is  of  the 
same  general  design.  Over  it  is  a  painting  of  St.  Joseph  and  the  Child,  and  on  the  right  of  the  altar  is  a 
recess  in  which  is  a  statue  of  the  Blessed  Virgin.     Above  the  recess  is  a  cross  with  a  golden  aureole,  and  on 


either  side  of  tlie  cross  is  an  adoring  angel.  On  the  riglit  of  the  tabernacle,  in  a  recess  of  the  reredos,  is  a 
statue  of  St.  Joseph,  and  on  the  left  a  statue  of  St.  John  the  Baptist.  On  the  summit  of  the  reredos  is  a  statue 
of  St.  Ignatius  of  Loyola,  and  on  the  left  a  statue  of  St.  Francis  Xavier.  Over  the  tabernacle,  in  the  middle 
arch  of  the  reredos,  is  a  picture  of  the  Crucifixion,  now  covered  with  a  gold  and  white  veil.  In  the  sanctuary 
are  paintings  of  St.  Andrew  and  St.  John.  A  gold  and  white  silk  cloth  runs  from  either  side  of  the  high  altar 
to  the  sides  of  the  sanctuary.  The  sanctuary  is  illumined  by  an  arch  of  two  hundred  and  ten  gas  jets.  Two 
nickel  candelabra  also  stand  within  the  sanctuary.  On  the  left  side  of  the  sanctuary  is  an  oil  painting  of  the 
Sacred  Heart  of  Christ,  and  on  the  right  a  painting  of  the  Sacred  Heart  of  Mary.  They  are  surrounded  in 
gilded,  arched  frames. 

Under  the  church  is  a  basement  chapel  of  good  height  and  of  the  same  dimensions  as  the  church.  This 
basement  is  fitted  with  a  fine  organ  of  great  power.  The  organ  of  the  upper  church  is  one  of  the  finest  in  the 
city.  The  church  was  dedicated  Sunday,  October  14,  186 1,  with  the  greatest  solemnity  by  Bishop  John  F. 
Fitzpatrick,  of  Boston.  Archbisliop  Hughes,  of  New  York,  preached  in  the  morning,  and  Bishop  McCloskey,  of 
Albany',  afterwards  the  Cardinal,  preached  in  the  afternoon.     Over  fifty  Jesuits  participated  in  the  ceremonies. 

The  Immaculate  Conception  was  consecrated  on  the  Feast  of  Our  Lady  of  Assumption,  August  15,  1875. 
Preparations  for  the  function  were  going  on  for  a  month  before  the  day.  A  freight  car  of  laurel  branches  was 
brought  from  a  college  villa,  sixty  miles  from  the  city,  for  the  interior  decorations.  Indeed,  it  would  remind 
one  of  the  preparations  made  in  Catholic  countries  of  Europe,  on  some  great  church  festivals,  to  see  these  par- 
ties of  New  England  boys  and  girls,  ladies  and  gentlemen,  merrily  weaving  garlands  to  decorate  Our  Lady's 
beautiful  shrine.  At  half-past  six  on  the  day  the  last  of  the  impedimenta  necessary  for  the  church  decora- 
tions was  removed,  and  a  few  moments  later  the  Archbishop  drove  up,  and  shortly  after  the  ceremonies  began. 
As  prescribed,  the  relics  were  exposed  on  the  previous  evening  in  the  domestic  chapel,  and  during  the  night 
the  Fathers  of  the  college,  by  turns,  recited  the  office  prescribed. 

It  was  here  the  consecrating  Prelate,  Archbishop  Williams,  rested  prior  to  the  ceremony,  whence  through 
the  main  door  of  the  college  the  procession  started.  The  consecration  took  place  according  to  the  ceremonies 
prescribed  by  the  Roman  Pontifical.  The  ritual  lasted  three  hours.  The  church  being  consecrated,  Pontifical 
High  Mass  followed.  Meanwhile,  the  church  doors  were  opened  and  the  edifice  was  filled  in  a  short  time.  It 
had  been  suggested  to  the  Archbishop  that  it  might  tire  his  strength  overmuch  to  celebrate  after  the  ceremony, 
for  it  must  be  remembered  that  the  mere  walking  around  the  edifice  for  the  lustrations  and  anointing  reached 
into  miles.  But  the  Archbishop  preferred  to  sing  Mass,  and  so  it  was  arranged.  The  great  organ  breathed 
forth  gusts  of  melody,  presaging  the  bursts  of  harmony  that  were  to  follow.  The  fumes  of  incense  arising  from 
behind  the  reredos  gave  the  signal  to  the  orchestra  and  organ  which  swelled  forth  into  the  thrilling  strains  of 
Mendelssohn's  March  in  Athalie,  as  the  procession  moved  solemnly  from  the  Gospel  vestry.  The  processional 
cross  came  first,  carried  by  a  scholastic  in  dalmatic,  with  the  acolytes  bearing  candlesticks,  and  clad  in  purple 
and  crimson  cassocks  and  swiss  mushn  cottas.  Next  followed  the  censer -bearers  swinging  censers.  Then 
came  fifty  choir  boys  walking  two  abreast.  Then  came  seventy  priests,  secular  and  religious,  clad  in  cassock,  lace 
surplice  and  biretum,  and  walking  two  by  two.  Then  singly  the  purple  clad  bishops,  each  attended  by  a  choir 
boy  as  train-bearer.  Next  came  the  archiepiscopal  cross,  borne  by  a  scholastic,  followed  by  nine  choir  boys, 
the  sacred  ministers,  the  deacons  of  honor,  the  assistant  priest,  and  last,  the  Archbishop.  The  vestments  worn 
on  this  occasion  were  used  for  the  first  time,  and  were  made  in  Rome  for  this  church.  They  are  made  of  moire, 
brocaded  with  silver  and  shot  with  gold,  and  Roman  in  style.  The  solemn  grandeur  of  a  Pontifical  Mass  was 
carried  out  in  all  the  details  of  the  rubrics.  For  two  hours  of  solemn  joy  to  that  vast  throng  the  music  rose  and 
fell ;  now  a  solo  of  sacred  song,  now  a  harmonious  chorus ;  the  incense  fumes  arose  with  the  silent  prayer  of  the 
multitude ;  the  gorgeously  robed  prelates  and  priests  moved  back  and  forth ;  the  air  was  luminous  with  hun- 
dreds of  lighted  tapers.  The  whole  scene  almost  carried  one  out  of  himself  till  the  tinkling  chimes  would  recall 
his  believing  soul  and  his  faith  tell  him  that  it  was  all  in  the  honor  of  the  Present  God  who,-  when  the  solemn 
s'tillness  of  a  few  moments  at  the  elevations  followed,  spoke  as  audibly  to  each  believing  heart  as  if  the  words 
really  had  sounded  in  the  ears,  "The  Lord  is  in  His  holy  temple,  let  all  the  earth  keep  silence  before  Him." 
At  the  end  of  the  Mass  the  reverend  rector,  Father  Fulton,  advanced  to  the  railing  and  read  a  telegram  received 



from  the  venerable  Father  McEh^o}',  conveying  his  paternal  blessing.  Then  followed  the  great  spectacle  of  the 
day.  The  organ  and  orchestra  swelling  out  into  the  grand  Coronation  March  of  Meyerbeer,  and  the  procession, 
forming  in  the  same  order  as  it  entered  the  sanctuary,  filed  down  the  central  aisle,  thence  to  the  right  in  Harri- 
son Avenue  to  the  main  gate  of  the  college  by  which  it  entered.  In  the  evening  Pontifical  Vespers  were  sung 
by  Rt.  Rev.  Bishop  Conroy,  of  Albany.  Bishop  de  Goesbriand  preached  and  benediction  followed.  The  fol- 
lowing is  a  list  of  the  prelates  and  clergymen  who  took  part  in  the  services :  The  Archbishop,  Bishops  Conroy, 
P.'  T.  O'Reilly,  de  Groesbriand,  Hendricken,  Father  Miege,  S.  J.,  ex-Bishop  of  Leavenworth,  Kansas ;  Father 
Keller.  S.  J.,  Provincial  of  Maryland;  Father  Galberry,  Provincial  of  the  Augustinians ;  Vicar-General  Lyndon, 
Father  Fulton.  S.  J.,  Fathers  Bapst,  Dompieri,  Duncan,  Sabetti,  Maguire,  Simeon,  McGurk,  Byrne,  Blenkinsop, 
Uegni,  O'Connor,  of  the  Society  of  Jesus;  Father  Freitag,  C.  SS.  R.,  and  the  following  clergy  from  other 
churches:       Fathers     Metcalf,     Blenkinsop,    O'Brien,    Flood,    Supple,    O'Callaghan,    Toole,    Lamy,    Hummel, 

Riordan  and  O'Bierne. 

Sunday,  April  15,  1883,  was  celebrated  at  the 
Immaculate  Conception  the  golden  jubilee  of  the  foun- 
dation of  the  Jesuits'  Society  in  the  United  States  as 
a  Province.  Father  O'Connor  was  then  rector  of  the 
Immaculate  Conception.  The  day  dawned  bright  and 
fair,  and  at  nine  o'clock  in  the  morning  the  great 
crowds  began  to  gather  at  the  church.  At  half-past 
ten  the  celebration  began  with  the  Pontifical  High 
Mass.  The  prelates  and  clergy  present  were  Arch- 
bishop Williams,  Bishop  O'Rielly,  of  Springfield,  Rev. 
L.  O'Toole,  Rev.  James  O'Brien,  Rev.  Jolm  O'Brien, 
Rev.  T.  Gallagher,  Rev.  L.  O'Connor,  C.  SS.  R.,  Rev. 
M.  O'Brien,  Fathers  Bodfish,  McMahon,  Delahunty, 
P.  Ronan,  Flatley,  Daily,  Corcoran,  Welch,  Dough- 
erty, Byrnes,  Jamison,  Charlier,  Massi,  Heichemer, 
and  O'Connor,  the  last  eight  being  priests  of  the 
Sociely.  Bishop  O'Rielly  preached,  contrasting  Loy- 
ola with  Luther  in  his  sermon.  In  the  evening  solemn 
vespers  were  sung  by  Father  T.  Metcalf,  of  Marble- 
head.  Father  O'Brien,  C.  SS.  R.,  preached.  The 
Boston  Symphony  Society  assisted  the  choir.  Insti- 
tutions are  intimately  connected  with  the  men  who 
have  them  in  charge.  Therefore,  to  give  some  words 
on  the  lives  of  the  various  pastors  of  the  Immaculate 
Conception  is  giving  a  history  of  the  chucrh  itself. 
Kkv.  Koi'.tKT  FiiiMN,  '^   J  June  21,  1891,  was  celebrated  the  tercentenary  of 

SL  Aloysius.  High  Mass  was  celebrated  and  Rev.  Dr.  Welch,  of  the  Cathedral,  delivered  a  panegyric.  In 
the  evening  an  old-time  academia  was  held  in  the  college  hall,  consisting  of  music  and  English  and  Latin 
literary  exercises. 

Father  John  McElroy,  S.  J.,  was  born  in  Enniskillen,  County  Fermanagh,  Ulster,  Ireland,  May  14,  1782. 
His  early  education  was  the  scantiest,  as  Ireland  was  just  waking  from  the  sleep  of  ignorance  into  which  the 
penal  laws  had  cast  her.  He  trudged  to  school  with  his  brothers  every  morning,  each  with  a  brick  of  turf 
under  his  arm,  which  served  as  his  contribution  to  the  day's  fuel  used  in  heating  the  school-room.  For  want 
of  benches  the  pupils  sat  on  the  floor.  In  1803,  when  twenty  years  old,  he  emigrated  to  America,  and  landing 
at  Baltimore  he  made  his  way  to  Georgetown  where  he  engaged  in  mercantile  pursuits.  It  was  not  long  before 
he  heard  God's  voice  calling  him  to  a  religious  life  in  the  Society  of  Jesus,  then  just  struggling  again  into 
existence.     He  entered  as  a  lay-brother,  and  made  his  retreat  at  Georgetown  College.     Father  McElroy  re- 



mained  as  a  buyer  and  book-keeper  for  years  in  the  college.  It  was  during  this  period  that  he  witnessed,  from 
the  college,  the  burning  of  the  capitol  by  General  Ross,  after  the  battle  of  Bladensburgh. 

May  3,  18 1 7,  at  the  age  of  thirty-five,  he  was  ordained  priest  by  Bishop  Carroll.  Not  long  after  his  ordi- 
nation his  ability  as  a  preacher  was  accidentally  discovered.  It  happened  that  the  pastor  of  the  church  was 
absent  one  Saturday  and  could  not  return  on  Sunday.  The  Superior  asked  Father  McElroy,  with  some  doubt, 
if  he  could  preach  the  next  day.  Father  McElroy  replied,  "Well,  if  you  tell  me,  I  will  try."  With  the  aid  of  an 
old  volume  of  Father  De  Ponte's  meditations  which  he  found  lying  in  a  corner,  covered  with  dust  and  neglected, 
he  prepared  his  first  sermon.  The  result  was  gratifying  and  surprising  to  the  Superior  at  the  unexpected 
discovery  of  a  great  ability  in  the  young  priest  as  a  preacher.  Father  McElroy  was  thereafter  asked  frequently 
to  give  sehnons,  and  shortly  after  the  task  of  preaching  fell  entirely  into  his  hands.  He  remained  a  short  time 
at  Georgetown  as  pastor.  In  1822  he  was  sent  to  Frederick  to  take  the  place  of  Father  Malare,  who,  just 
then,  was  very  ill. 

The  old  church  at  Frederick,  built  by 
Father  Dubois,  Father  Malare's  predecessor,  and 
afterwards  Bishop  of  New  York,  was  falling 
into  decay.  The  congregation  was  not  large, 
but  with  resistless  energy  and  invincible  trust 
in  Providence,  Father  McElroy  commenced  and 
completed  St.  John's  Church,  which  is  an  exact 
copy  of  St.  Francis  Xavier's  Church  in  Dublin, 
an  edifice  in  the  charge  of  the  Society.  The 
St.  John's  is,  however,  larger  than  St.  Francis 
Xavier's.  St.  John's  College  soon  arose  under 
the  magic  of  his  labors.  He  introduced  the 
sisters  and  opened  the  first  free  school  in  Fred- 
erick, and  had  painted  over  the  door,  much  to 
the  disgust  of  some  good  people  in  .Frederick, 
these  words :  "  First  Catholic  Frederick  Free 
School.'"  His  labors  were  not  confined  to  Fred- 
erick, but  extended  to  Pennsylvania  and  Vir- 
ginia. There  were  no  railroads  or  conveniences 
of  travel  in  those  days,  and  a  night  passed  in 
the  woods  was  a  common  experience  with  Father 

The  building  of  the  great  National  road  and 
the  construction  of  the  Baltimore  and  Ohio  Rail- 
road brought  many  Catholic  Irishmen  into  Fred- 
erick   and    into    the    field  of    Father  McElroy's 

influence.  His  influence  over  these  men  was  immense,  and  his  care  for  them  when  the  terrible  cholera  plague 
was  sweeping  them  off,  in  183 1,  by  the  hundreds  fully  justified  their  confidence  in  him.  After  twenty-three  years 
of  labor  in  Frederick  he  was  transferred  to  Georgetown.  When  the  Mexican  war  broke  out,  in  1846,  Father 
McElroy  was  selected  as  chaplain,  with  Father  Key,  by  the  Superior  of  the  Society.  He  served  with  General 
Taylor's  army  for  about  three  years.  On  his  return  from  the  war  he  was  sent  to  Boston  to  St.  Mary's,  which 
Bishop  Fitzpatrick  had  presented  to  the  Society.  After  some  years  he  succeeded  in  erecting,  in  spite  of  diffi- 
culties and  opposition,  Boston  College  and  the  Immaculate  Conception,  which  are  noble  monuments  of  his  zeal. 

That  finished,  his  life  work  was  done.  His  sight  failed  and  his  gigantic  frame  slowly  grew  feebler  under 
the  unflagging  labors  of  seventy-five  years.  He,  however,  persevered  in  saying  Mass  (the  Mass  of  the  Blessed 
Virgin,  which  he  knew  by  heart)  every  day,  though  blind,  until  actually  confined  to  his  bed.  He  died  at  the 
novitiate  in  Frederick,  Md.,  September  12,  1877,  at  the  patriarchal  age  of  nine-five  years  and  four  months. 


He  entered  the  novitiate  in  1806.     His  was  a  noble  character.      He  could  look  around  upon  the  church  in  his 
old  age  and  say  with  truth,  -'This  is  my  doing." 

Father  John  Bapst  was  born  at  La  Roche,  a  village  in  the  Canton  of  Freiburg,  Switzerland,  December  7, 
1815.  His  parents  were  prosperous  farmers  and  were  able  to  give  their  three  sons,  Joseph,  John,  and  Abel,  a 
good  education.  At  the  age  of  twelve  he  went  to  the  Jesuit  college  of  St.  Michael's,  at  Freiburg,  after  iinish- 
ing  his  course  in  the  schools  of  La  Roche.  Father  Bapst  was  regarded  as  one  of  the  most  brilliant  and  withal 
thorough  students  in  his  various  classes,  especially  in  philosophy.  Father  Bapst  was  so  eager  to  be  enrolled 
among  the  sons  of  St.  Ignatius  that  he  applied  for  admission  into  the  Society  at  the  end  of  his  first  year.  He 
was  received  into  the  Society  at  Estavayer-le-lac,  (Stafis),  Canton  of  Freiburg,  September  t,o,  1835.  The 
following  year  he  was  sent  to  Brigg.      In  September,  1837,  at  the  end  of  his   no\'itiate   at  Brigg,  Father  Bapst 

was  sent  to  the  scholasticate  at  Freiburg,  where  he  pursued  a  course  of  philosophy  for  two  years.  In  1840  he 
became  a  professor  at  St.  Michael's,  his  ahna  matei-.  Here  he  taught  for  three  years.  Here  he  had  as  an 
associate  Father  Anderledy,  afterward  Superior  General  of  the  Jesuits. 

In  1843  he  began  a  four  years'  course  of  theo'.ogy.  December  31,  1846,  he  was  ordained  to  the  priest- 
hood by  Bishop  Stephen  Marilley,  of  Lausanne,  Switzerland.  On  New  Year's,  1847,  he  celebrated  Mass  for 
the  first  time.  Father  Bapst  was  sent  to  Notre  Dame  d'Ay  to  make  his  third  year  of  probation,  under 
the  direction  of  Father  Fouillot.  In  the  early  part  of  May,  1848,  he  was  hurriedly  summoned  one  afternoon 
to  the  room  of  the  Father  Instructor,  who  communicated  to  him  the  order  of  the  Rev.  Provincial  Father 
Minorex,  directing  him  to  proceed  at  once  to  Antwerp  to  take  steamer  for  America.  Father  Bapst  was  stunned 
by  the  unexpected  news  and  was  greatly  distressed.  He  was  unable  to  hide  his  grief,  tears  sprang  to  his  eyes 
and  he  felt  powerless  to  restrain  their  flow.     His  fellow-tertians,  on  his  re.turn  to  their  midst,  noticed  his  great 


emotion  and  eagerly  inquired  the  cause.  "I  am  ordered  to  .America"  lie  said  in  broken  accents,  "and  I  never 
thought  of  that  land.  I  do  not  believe  I  was  ever  made  for  the  missions."  His  sympathizing  brethren,  to 
whom  he  had  greatly  endeared  himself,  had  often  heard  him  express  the  natural  repugnance  he  felt  for  the 
Americans  and  were  not  surprised  at  the  agitation  he  manifested.  But  when  urged  to  write  to  the  Father  Pro- 
vincial to  change  his  destination,  he  bravely  replied :  "  Oh  !  I  will  take  care  never  to  pursue  such  a  course. 
I  did  not  ask  to  go,  but  my  Superior  sends  me ;    I  obey.     May  the  holy  will  of  God  be  done  !  " 

Father  Bapst  came  to  the  United  States  in  May,  1848,  in  company  with  other  Jesuits  of  the  same  province. 
They  were  warmly  welcomed  by  the  Provincial  of  the  Maryland  Province,  Father  Brocard,  who  assigned  Father 
Bapst  as  assistant  to  Father  James  Moore,  to  the  Indian  Mission  in  Oldtown,  Me.  In  1851  the  mission  was 
transferred  to  Eastport,  Me.,  and  Father  Bapst  was  appointed  Superior.  In  1854  the  mission  of  Bangor,  Me., 
was  begun  by  Father  Bapst,  whose  pastoral 
care  extended  to  Ellsworth,  some  thirty  miles 
distant  southeast  of  Bangor.  It  was  there 
that  Father  Bapst,  mild  and  gentle  man  that 
he  was,  was  tarred  and  feathered  by  a  big- 
oted mob.  On  October  14,  1854,  he  was 
dragged  from  the  confessional,  at  about  nine 
o'clock  in  the  evening,  and,  clad  in  his  cas- 
sock and  stole,  he  was  hurried  to  an  adjoin- 
ing field  and  borne  along  in  mock  triumph 
amid  blasphemous  taunts  and  insults.  After 
perpetrating  their  gross  indignity  they  or- 
dered him  to  leave  town.  He,  however, 
proved  himself  no  hireling,  but  a  true  shep- 
herd, for  he  remained,  offered  Mass  for  his 
people,  and  counseled  them  to  Christian 
patience  and  forgiveness.  Father  Bapst  re- 
covered with  difficulty  from  this  ill  treat- 
ment. For  five  years  Father  Bapst  continued 
to  labor  in  Bangor  and  Ellsworth.  In  Sep- 
tember, 1859,  he  removed  to  the  Holy  Cross. 
Worcester,  Mass.,  where  he  remained  unti' 
August,  i860.  That  fall  he  went  to  open 
the  new  scholasticate  at  the  new  college  at 
Boston,  just  completed  by  Father  McElroy. 
In  1863,  on  the  removal  of  the  house  of 
studies,  he  was  appointed  pastor  of  the  Im- 
maculate Conception,  and  in  1864  was  ap- 
pointed rector  of  Boston  College  with  Father 
Fulton  as  Prefect.  In  1869  he  was  appoint- 
ed Superior  of  the  Mission  of  New  York  and  Canada.  In  1873  he  returned  to  Boston  College.  In  1877  he 
was  sent  to  Providence,  R.  I.  In  1879  l''^  was  sent  once  more  to  Boston  College,  but  about  this  period  his 
health  began  to  fail.  In  order  that  he  might  recruit  his  shattered  health,  his  Superior  sent  him  to  the  novitiate 
at  West  Park,  N.  Y.  Here  he  remained  until  1883,  when  he  went  to  the  novitiate  at  Frederick,  Md.  In  1885 
he  went  to  Mount  Hope,  Baltimore,  and  two  years  later  he  passed  away,  with  a  clouded  mind,  it  is  true,  but 
he  may  be  truly  esteemed  of  the  number  of  those  chosen  ones  of  whom  the  Wise  Man  says :  "  As  gold  in  the 
furnace  he  hath  proved  them  and  as  a  victim  of  the  holocaust  he  hath  received  them." 

Father  R.  W.  Brady,  S.  J.,  was  born  October  6,  1825,  in  Hancock,  Washington  County,  Md.     His  native 
town  is  not  far  from  Mason  and  Dixojr's  line,  in  the  highlands  of  the  State.     In  his  nineteenth  year,  August 



31,  he  was  received  into  the  Society  of  Jesus.  He  began  teaching  rudiments  in  Georgetown  College  immedi- 
ately after.  His  health  failing,  he  was  sent  to  Holy  Cross,  Worcester.  He  remained  there  five  years,  during 
which  his  health  improved.  From  September,  1853,  to  July  25,  1857,  he  was  at  Georgetown  College  acting  as 
prefect  of  studies  and  studying  theology  and  philosophy,  when  he  was  ordained  with  five  others,  among  them 
Father  Fulton,  by  Archbishop  Kenrick,  in  the  student's  chapel.  The  third  year  of  his  probation  was  spent, 
1859-60,  in  Frederick,  under  Father  Duverney.  He  was  then  sent  to  Baltimore,  after  taking  his  last  vows, 
August  15,  i860.  In  1861  he  went  to  St.  Aloysius'  Church,  Washington,  where  he  remained  until  1863,  where 
he  worked  like  a  Titan  among  the  war  hospitals.  From  February  27,  1867,  to  August  27,  1869,  he  was  presi- 
dent of  Holy  Cross  College;  August  27,  1869,  to  August  2,  1870,  he  was  president  of  Boston  College,  and 
after  that  he  became  pastor  of  St.  Mary's  Church,  Boston.  May  8,  1877,  he  became  Provincial  of  Maryland. 
On  May  28,  1882,  he  was  succeeded  by  Father  Robert  Fulton,  and  Father  Brady  was  operarius  in  Jersey  City 

until  June  28,  1883.  He  was  then  appointed  rector 
of  Holy  Cross,  where  he  remained  until  August  2, 
1887.  He  was  then  sent  as  an  elector  to  the  twenty- 
third  General  Congregation  with  Father  Keller.  In 
1886  he  was  sent  as  procurator  of  the  province  to 
Fiesole.  His  health  now  began  to  fail  him  and  he 
labored  in  a  less  arduous  field,  as  operarius  in  Bohe- 
mia, superior  at  St.  Thomas',  Md.,  at  Georgetown 
College  as  spiritual  director,  and  last  at  Trinity  Church, 
Georgetown.  He  succumbed  in  March,  189 1,  to  an 
attack  of  pneumonia  and  died  March  26.  He  was 
buried  from  Trinity  Church  and  interred  in  the  George- 
town  College  cemetery.  At  his  funeral  Cardinal 
Gibbons  spoke  a  few  touching  words,  and  Father 
Provincial  Thomas  J.  Campbell  said  the  Requiem  Low 
Mass.  Father  Brady  was  a  very  tall  man  personally, 
considerably  over  six  feet,  with  a  very  deep  voice.  In 
character  he  was  a  man  of  that  sanctity  that  goes  on 
daily  buffeting  the  trials  of  the  world  and  never  labor- 
ing to  disclose  the  great  virtues  of  prudence,  justice, 
temperance,  and  fortitude  which  he  possessed  in  a 
high  degree. 

Father  Jeremiah   O'Connor,    S.  J.,  was    born   in 
Dublin  on  Easter  Sunday,  April  lo,  1841.      His  father 
had   been   dead  for   a   month   or   more  when  he  was 
born.     From  his  mother  he  early  imbued  two  strong 
Riiv.  T.  H.  Stack,  S.J.  passions    of   his   soul :    love   of    holy  church    and  his 

native  land.  Coming  to  America  in  his  early  youth  he  settled  with  his  mother  in  Philadelphia,  and  at  the 
public  high  school  and  later  at  the  old  St.  Joseph's  school  laid  the  foundation  of  his  classical  and  mathematical 
studies.  In  i860  he  entered  the  Society  of  Jesus,  beginning  his  noviceship  at  Frederick  in  July  of  that  year. 
In  1863  he  began  his  regency  at  Loyola  College  and  closed  it  at  the  same  place  to  enter  Woodstock  in  Sep- 
tember, 1869.  He  spent  seven  years  at  that  place  and,  by  special  favor  of  Father  Beckx,  then  Superior  General 
of  the  Society,  was  granted  permission  to  be  ordained  in  1874,  a  year  before  his  time,  in  order  that  his  saintly 
mother,  then  in  failing  health,  might  not  die  until  she  had  looked  upon  her  son  at  the  altar  of  God,  a  priest  of 
the  Most  High. 

His  studies  finished  and  his  tertianship  made,  he  was  sent  to  Boston  and  succeeded  Father  Fulton  in 
1880  as  rector.  In  1884  he  was  made  operarius  at  St.  Francis  Xavier's,  New  York,  until  the  summer  of  1888, 
when  he  was  placed  in  charge  of  the  church  and  residence  of  St.  Lawrence,  and  while  there  died,  February 



27,  i8gi.  Father  O'Connor  was  a  brilliant  and  talented  teacher,  happy  in  disposition,  quick  in  wit,  and  had  a 
remarkable  capacity  for  labor.  He  was  a  splendid  pulpit  orator,  and  to  listen  to  the  easy  flow  of  the  sparkling 
thoughts  and  bright  fancy,  graced  with  dramatic  action  and  a  musical,  sonorous  voice,  no  one  would  imagine 
that  his  every  sermon  and  exhortation  were  written  out  with  painstaking  care. 

When  the  war-drum  had  ceased  echoing  among  the  hills  of  Virginia  and  the  last  soldier  of  Stonewall 
Jackson  had  found  his  way  back  to  his  wretched  home  on  the  Shenandoah,  Rev.  Bernard  A.  Maguire,  S.  J., 
began  his  earnest  missionary  labors  in  that  war-desolated  region.  He  found  a  docile  listener  in  a  young  con- 
federate soldier,  Thomas  H.  Stack.  That  led  him  to  enter  the  service  of  God  in  the  Society  of  Jesus.  Novem- 
ber 2,  1866,  he  entered  Georgetown  College  to  begin  his  preparatory  studies.  In  1868  he  entered  the  novitiate 
of  the  Society.  To  sum  up  his  character,  he  was  a  meek,  pleasant  man,  and,  though  not  a  great  pulpit  orator, 
was  an  effective  speaker ;  but  it  was  in  the  sick  room,  at  the  death  bed,  and  in  the  confessional  that  he  showed 

Rev.  Edward  V.   HiirRSAi'D.  S.J.  Rev.  Nicholas  Russo,  S.J. 

in  the  most  glowing  manner  his  sacerdotal  character.  In  August,  1887,  he  was  appointed  president  of  Boston 
College.  Not  more  than  two  weeks  after  his  appointment  he  was  attacked  with  cholera  morbus,  and  though 
at  the  onset  of  his  illness  it  was  not  deemed  serious,  in  two  days  it  was  deemed  necessary  to  give  him  the  last 
rites  of  the  church.  August  29  he  was  removed  to  Carney  Hospital,  but  God  decreed  that  the  holy  priest 
should  not  again  take  up  the  burden  of  life,  and  August  30,  1887,  at  2.30  p.  jf.,  he  expired.  His  body  rests  in 
the  college  grave-yard  on  the  hill-side  of  Worcester,  Mass. 

Rev.  Father  Boursaud  is  of  French  lineage  and  entered  the  Society  at  an  early  age,  having  been  imbued 
with  the  spirit  of  sanctity  and  heeding  tlie  voice  of  God,  regardless  of  whether  it  led  him  into  thorny,  or  to  the 
worldly  eye,  uncongenial,  paths.  He  is  a  thorough  priest  and  possesses  in  a  marked  degree  the  ecclesiastical 
spirit.  As  president  of  Boston  College  he  endeared  himself  to  the  students  and  directed  the  college  affairs 
with  praiseworthy  zeal  and  energy.      He  possesses  marked  administrative  ability  and  it  is  certain  that  though 



his  labors  in  Boston  have  had  no  public  heralding,  yet,  in  his  own  unobtrusive  ways,  he  received  his  duties  as 
rector  of  the  Immaculate  Conception  and  so  fulfilled  them  that  he  ranks  as  an  honored  transmitter  of  the 
destinies  of  Boston  College  among  his  successors  and  his  predecessors.  He  is  at  present  stationed  in  New 
York   City. 

Among  the  presidents  of  Boston  College  Father  Russo,  S.  J.,  ranks  as  eminently  cUstinguished  for  learn- 
ing, solid  virtues,  and  zeal.  Although,  as  before  mentioned,  his  connection  with  Boston  College  was  not  ex- 
tended, yet  he  labored  with  the  same  devotion  and  readiness  for  the  college  as  though  it  was  to  be  his  charge 
for  a  long  number  of  years.  Father  Russo  was  especially  eminent  as  a  philosopher  in  a  Society  where  all  its 
members  became  masters  of  philosophy  for  the  purpose  of  holding  the  impregnable  barrier  of  Catholic  philoso- 
phy against  the  tides  of  agnosticism  that  are  constantly  threatening  to  overwhelm  religion.  Father  Russo's 
text  book  of  philosophy  shows  that  in  him  the  Society  has  one  who  is  able  to  cope  with  and  overthrow  the  false 

doctrines  that  are  advanced  to  undermine  Christian 
belief.  During  his  regime  as  president  of  Boston 
College,  one  thing  he  accomplished  stands  out  most 
noticeably,  and  that  was  the  raising  of  the  standard 
of  scholarship  in  the  college  and  the  improvement  of 
the  curriculum.  As  a  teacher  Father  Russo,  in  his 
absorbing  desire  for  learning,  has  no  tolerance  for 
slothful  indifference  to  study  on  the  part  of  the  stu- 
dent, yet  no  man  shows  more  patience  or  sympathy 
with  the  student  who  labors  honestly  but  is  slow  to 
grasp.  Father  Russo  is  at  present  stationed  in  New 
York  City. 

Father  Edward  I.  Devitt,,  the  eighth  president, 
was  born  in  Boston,  December  13,  1841.  He  was  a 
Franklin  medal  scholar  in  the  Eliot  School,  in  1S54. 
He  next  attended  the  English  High  School  and  then 
entered  Holy  Cross  College.  In  1859  he  entered 
the  Society  of  Jesus,  and  studied  two  years  at  Fred- 
erick, Md.  He  then  taught  from  1863  to  i85g  at 
Gonzaga  College,  at  Washington.  The  next  seven 
years  were  spent  at  Woodstock,  Md.,  and  in  1875  he 
was  ordained  a  priest  by  Archbishop  Bayley  at 
Baltimore.  He  was  then  sent  to  Holy  Cross  where 
he  taught  the  class  of  rhetoric.  In  1876  he  became 
professor  of  philosophy  at  the  college.  In  1879  he 
went  to  Woodstock  where  he  taught  philosophy  for 
about  four  years.  The  next  two  years  he  spent  at 
In   :888   he  went  to   Holy  Cross  College  as  its  vice- 


Rev.  Edwakd  I.  Devitt,  S.  J. 

He  next  taught  theology  at  Woodstock. 

president.  In  1889  he  became  professor  of  philosophy  at  that  college,  and  in  January,  1891,  he  came  to 
Boston  College  as  its  president.  In  September,  1894,  he  was  succeeded  by  Father  Brosnahan  as  president 
of  Holy  Cross,  and  he  went  to  Georgetown  where  he  is  stationed  at  present. 

Rev.  Timothy  Brosnahan,  S.  J.,  was  born  in  Alexandria,  Va.,  on  January  8,  1856.  He  entered  Gonzaga 
College,  a  college  for  day  scholars,  conducted  by  the  Jesuits,  in  Washington,  D.  C,  in  September,  1869.  He 
was  admitted  into  the  Society  of  Jesus  on  August  21,  1872,  and  made  his  novitiate  of  two  years  at  Frederick, 
Md.  During  the  next  five  years,  partly  at  Frederick  and  partly  at  Woodstock,  he  completed  the  literary,  math- 
ematical, scientific,  and  philosophical  courses  of  studies  which  are  usual  in  the  Order.  In  the  summer  of  1879 
he  was  sent  to  Boston  College,  which  was  then  governed  by  Father  Fulton,  to  begin  his  course  of  teaching. 
After  spending  four  years  at  Boston  College  and  one  year  at  Georgetown  College,  as  a  professor  of  literature  and 



mathematics,  he  returned  to  the  scholasticate  of  the  Society  at  Woodstock  in  August,  1884,  and  was  ordained 
there  as  priest,  August  27,  1887. 

After  completing  his  theological  studies  he  was,  in  August,  1888,  sent  to  Boston   College  as  a  professor  of 
literature  in  the  class  of   rhetoric.      He  was  also  professor  of  logic  for  two  years   at  Woodstock,  after  spending 

a  year  at  Frederick.  Returning  to  Boston  in  the  summer  of  1892,  as  professor  of  logic,  metaphysics,  and 
ethics,  he  continued  to  hold  that  position  until  July  16,  1894,  when  he  was  appointed  president  of  Boston 


l^outig  /IfteiVs  Catholic  Hssociation  of  Boston 


'g,HIS  splendid  organization  represents  the  social  side  of  Boston  College.  There  were  other 
\o^  parochial  bodies,  but  these,  by  their  nature,  were  limited  in  influence  and  membership  and  did 
\,  not  possess,  in  some  instances,  sufficient  interest  and  attractiveness  to  exercise  much  of  a  power 
"-  for  the  general  Catholic  good.  It  remained  for  Father  Fulton  to  lay  the  corner-stone  of  the 
society  and  to  solicitously  guide  its  initial  development  to  provide  the  association  with  attractive 
quarters  and  to  give  it  the  benefit  of  his  magnetic  personality.  His  idea  was  to  provide  the 
Catholic  young  men  of  the  city  with  a  place  where  they  could  meet  for  a  common  purpose  and 
on  an  equal  social  footing,  a  source  of  mutual  help  to  each  other,  morally  and  intellectually, 
through  association,  and  the  mental  alertness  that  is  the  result  of  such  attrition.  Father  Fulton  called  a  meeting 
in  December,  1875,  to  be  held  in  one  of  the  college  rooms.  When  the  appointed  evening  came  it  was  apparent 
that  no  room  in  the  college  could  hold  all  that  gathered  long  before  the  hour,  such  was  the  response.  There- 
fore, the  meeting  adjourned  to  the  basement  of  the  church,  wher-e  Father  Fulton  made  an  address  outlining  the 
plans  and  purposes  of  the  organization  which  he  had  so  much  at  heart,  stating  at  the  same  time  that  he  had  set 
apart  certain  rooms  in  the  college  for  the  free  use  of  the  association,  which  rooms  he  had  furnished  at  his 
expense.  The  result  of  that  meeting  was  that  an  immediate  organization  was  effected,  by-laws  adopted,  and 
the  association  started  out  with  a  membership  of  two  hundred.  Later,  Father  Fulton  placed  at  the  disposal  of 
the  association  the  rooms  he  had  set  aside  and  furnished  for  them,  consisting  of  a  library  and  reading-room, 
and  a  billiard-room,  also  granting  the  use  of  the  college  gymnasium  and  the  privilege  of  utilizing,  when  neces- 
sary, the  large  college  hall  and  the  lecture  room. 

The  first  election  took  place  in  June,  1876.  The  temporary  oificers  who  had  served  up  to  this  time  were 
appointed  by  Father  Fulton.  According  to  the  by-laws  the  president  of  the  college  was  president  of  the 
association,  a  vice-president  being  elected  to  preside  in  his  absence.  As  a  matter  of  fact  the  vice-president 
was  virtually  the  president  of  the  association  and  its  chief  executive  officer.  The  first  vice-president  was  James 
W.  Dunphy,  who  was  appointed  by  Father  Fulton  to  serve  till  the  first  election.  At  this  election  the  late 
William  J.  McCormick  was  chosen  vice-president;  William  A.  Dunn,  a  Boston  physician,  recording  secretary; 
George  D.  W.  Lennon,  financial  secretary;  the  late  Robert  Morris,  Jr.,  librarian.  The  board  of  directors  were 
John  F.  Dever,  James  S.  Murphy,  P.  J.  Flatley,  Esq.,  Thomas  Fay,  Jr.,  Dr.  John  B.  Foley,  Dr.  Charles  E. 
McGowan,  and  Gerald  Griffin.  The  last  three  have  since  died.  This  board  served  two  years,  having  been 
re-elected  in  June,  1877.  P.  J.  Flatley  was  chosen  vice-president  in  1878,  James  S.  Murphy  in  1879,  and  John 
E.  Gilman  in  1880. 

Father  Fulton  was  so  well  identified  with  its  life  and  had  so  endeared  himself  to  the  members,  that 
his  separation  from  them  was  severely  felt.  Father  O'Connor,  his  successor,  was  no  less  desirous  of  doing 
everything  possible  for  its  advancement  and  success ;  and  had  it  not  been  for  his  encouragement,  supplemented 
by  that  of  Father  Boursaud,  together  with  the  most  energetic  efforts  of  the  officers,  its  success  would  have  been 
problematical.  D.  F.  Sheehan,  the  vice-president  in  1881,  with  his  associates  in  the  board  of  government  and 
the  more   energetic  members,  labored  indefatigably  to  stem  the  tide  that  seemed  to  have  set  in  against  the 





association;  but  it  remained  for  the  admmistration  of  F.  J.  McQueeney.  who  was  vice-president  in  1882,  to 
experience  the  greatest  depression  in  the  histor}'  of  the  association,  which  was  due  to  a  lack  of  interest  on  the 
part  of  the  members.  The  subsequent  administration  of  Thomas  Fay,  Jr.,  covering  the  term  of  1S83-84, 
guided  by  the  sagacity  and  counsel  of  the  Rev.  Pres.,  Father  Boursaud,  and  Rev.  Treas.,  Father  Halpin,  gave  an 
impetus  to  the  association,  which  crystalized  into  assured  success  and  stability  under  A.  A.  Turner  and  his 
associate  officers  in  the  years  1885-86.  During  the  succeeding  administration  of  Thomas  F.  DuiHy,  in  1887, 
the  annual  reunion  was  held  in  Mechanics  Building  for  the  first  time.  The  financial  outcome  of  the  venture 
more  than  realized  the  hopes  of  its  projectors ;  but  its  greatest  success  was  the  development  of  the  social  life 
of  Catholic  Boston,  and  it  may  well  be  said  that  its  permanent  success  is  assured  both  by  the  high  standing  of 
Boston  College  and  of  the  association,  together  with  the  support  given  by  Catholic  society,  who  regard  the  reunion 
as  an  annual  social  gathering  of  iirst  importance.  The  proceeds  of  the  reunion  were  devoted  to  the  building- 
fund,  and  the  new  building  now  occupied  by  the  society  was  furnished  out  of  the  proceeds  of  the  annual 
reunions,  without  which  the  association  would  doubtless  have  continued  in  its  old  quarters  and  with  varying  of 
interest  on  the  part  of  its  members.  Under  the  administration  of  Mr.  McLaughlin,  Father  Fulton  returned  to 
Boston,  conferred  on  the  college  the  new  building,  and  on  the  association  its  new  home  —  another  noble  testi- 
mony of  the  zeal  of  the  founder  and  of  his  unswerving  interest  in  and  affection  for  this  embodiment  of 
Catholic  worth. 

F.  J.  McLaughlin  was  elected  vice-president  in  1888,  and  re-elected  in  1889.  J.  D.  Berran  was  elected  in 
i8go,  T.  H.  Mullen  in  1891,  D.  H.  Mahoney  in  1892,  and  James  F.  Hayes  in  1893. 

One  of  the  events  that  lives  in  the  minds  of  most  of  the  members  was  the  occasion  when  His  Grace, 
Archbishop  Williams,  honored  the  association  by  his  presence  and  fatherly  words  of  encouragement  on  the 
occasion  of  its  fifteenth  anniversary  and  opening  of  the  new  building. 

The  association  has  for  its  use  about  one-quarter  of  the  James  Street  building,  including  the  college  hall. 
On  the  ground  floor  is  the  gymnasium  which  rises  so  as  to  include  the  greater  part  of  the  next  story,  the  dress- 
ing, bath,  and  toilet,  rooms.  On  the  second  floor  is  the  parlor,  most  sumptuously  furnished,  the  coat  room,  a 
registry,  business  office,  and  the  janitor's  office.  x\bove  is  the  library  and  reading-room,  whicli  by  the  way  is 
as  perfect  an  apartment  for  its  purpose  as  could  be  desired.  Over  this  is  the  lyceum  or  debating  room, 
the  entrance  to  the  hall,  the  music  room,  and  the  council  room  of  the  directors.  Above  is  the  billiard-room 
equipped  with  four  billiard  tables,  three  pool  tables,  and  some  two  dozen  game  and  card  tables.  From  this 
floor  is  the  entrance  to  the  balcony  of  the  hall.  The  association  holds  lecture  courses  and  courses  of  instruc- 
tion as  well  as  giving  plays  for  the  benefit  of  its  members  and  their  friends.  I'he  fee  for  all  the  privileges  of 
the  associationship  is  very  small,  only  four  dollars  a  year. 

The  board  of  trustees  for  1894-95  consist  of  Rev.  T.  J.  Brosnahan,  president;  Rev.  D.  Doherty, 
treasurer;  Thomas  F.  Duffly,  Daniel  P.  Toomey,  William  H.  Dowling,  John  F.  Dever,  John  D.  Berran,  Dennis 
F.  Sheehan,  and  Daniel  F.  O'Connor. 



St  JobrVs  lEccleeiastical  Seminary, 


can  give  the  priestly  training 
be  found  only  in  places  removed  from 
the  engrossments  of  the  world,  in  places 
secluded  and  fit  for  meditation,  and 
hedged  about  by  saintly  preceptors  and 
companions ;  in  a  word,  in  a  seminary. 
Previous  to  the  founding  of  the  Sulpitian 
Seminary  of  St.  John's,  at  Brighton,  by 
Archbishop  Williams,  there  was  no  such 
institution  for  the  young  seminarians  of 
the  Boston  Archdiocese.  It  was  to 
afford  such  a  place  to  these  young  men 
that  the  present  venerable  Archbishop 
caused  this  institution  to  be  founded,  and 
among  the  acts  of  his  episcopacy  there 
is  none  more  important  than  that.  A 
tract  of  land  was  purchased  on  Lake 
Street,  in  Brighton,  and  in  1884  the 
erection  of  the  building  was  commenced. 
It  opened  on  September  22,  18S5,  and 
was  blessed  by  Archbishop  Williams  in 
August  of  the  same  year.  It  was  placed 
in  charge  of  the  Sulpitian  Fathers,  whose 
original  house  is  in  Paris.  The  Rev. 
John  Hogan  was  the  first  president, 
assisted  by  Rev.  Charles  B.  Rex,  D.  D. 
The  first  year  thirty  finished  their  course. 
Abbe  Hogan  was  born  in  Bodyke, 
County  Clare,  Ireland,  in  1829.  He 
prosecuted  his  ecclesiastical  studies  in 
France,  and  was  ordained  priest  and 
appointed  professor  in  the  Seminary  of 

ERTAINLY  there  is  nothing  more  important  in  the  workings  of  the  Cathohc 
Church  than  the  training  of  young  Levites,  to  succeed  those  venerable  members 
of  sacerdotal  dignity  whom  death  has  taken  from  earth,  in  order  that  a  per- 
petual sacrifice  shall  ascend  unto  Heaven,  and  the  mission  of  the  church  shall  go 
on  unceasingly  according  to  the  divine  promise  and  injunction.  To  raise  such 
young  Levites  to  the  priesthood  there  must  be  a  proper  institution,  where  the 
candidates  for  that  high  calling  shall  receive  not  only  the  necessary  education 
but  also  the  more  necessary  instilling  of  the  Holy  Spirit.  Neither  camps  nor 
courts,  nor  the  various  institutions  given  over  solely  to  the  affairs  of  the  world. 
It  is  to 

J..HK    Ho 

.St.  Ju 



«f ;  (m:--    ;feg,' 



St.  Sulpice,  Paris,  in  1852.  Tliere  he  tauglit,  in  succession,  dogmatic  and  moral  tlieology,  besides  lecturing 
occasionally  on  other  subjects,  until  1884.  In  that  year  he  took  charge  of  St.  John's  Seminary  and  remained 
here  until  September,  1889,  when  he  went  to  the  CathoHc  University  at  Washington,  D.  C,  and  was  succeeded 
by  his  assistant,  Rev.  Charles  B.  Rex,  D.  D.,  who  continued  in  charge  until  September,  1894,  when  he  was 
transferred  to  St.  Charles  Seminary,  Maryland,  and  Abbe  Hogan  returned  once  more  to  take  charge  of  the 
affairs  of  St.  John's  Seminary.  He  is  a  kindly  man  in  all  his  dealings  with  those  under  his  charge,  and  is  an 
accomplished  linguist  and  an  authority  on  art. 

The  present  faculty  is  as  follows : 
Abbe  Hogan,  D.  D.,  President. 
Rev.  p.  Ch.'Vpon,  D.  D.,  Moral  Theology. 
Rev.  Father  Dorveau.x,  D.  D.,  Dogmatic  Theology. 
Rev.  F.  E.  Gigot,  S.  T.  L.,  Biblical  Science. 
Rev.  Louis  Walsh,  D.  D.,  Church  History  and  Liturgy. 


D.  J.  Maker,  D.  D.,  Professor  of  Philosophy. 

J.  Driscoll,  D.  D.,  Professor  of  Philosophy. 

D.  J.  Kelleher,  Professor  of  Science. 
Rev.  Austin  M.  Dowling,  Professor  of  Church  History. 
Rk\-.  R.  K.  Wakeham,  a.  M.,  Treasurer. 



The  course  at  the  seminary  embraces  philosophy  and  theology,  and  lasts  for  four  years  and  two  months. 
The  first  building  contained,  for  several' years,  both  the  philosophical  and  theological  students,  but  in  189 1 
another  building  was  erected  for  the  students  in  philosophy,  and  the  original  building  was  thenceforth  occupied 
only  by  the  theologians.  The  Theology  House  is  of  stone  and  brick,  on  the  svunmit  of  a  small  hill  on  Lake 
Street,  and  is  surrounded  by  a  grove  and  a  field  which  is  used  as  a  recreation  ground  for  the  seminarians.  The 
building  is  four  stories  in  height  and  is  roofed  with  black  slate.  It  is  plain  and  unpretentious  on  its  e.xterior, 
and  equally  plain  in  its  interior. 

It  is  in  the  form  of  a  right  angle,  with  two  wings.  One  wing  forms  the  quaint  little  chapel  which  is 
covered  with  ivy.  The  other  wing  is  for  the  boiler  house.  On  the  right  of  the  chapel  is  a  court-yard  where  the 
seminarians  walk  for  recreation.     Well-kept  lawns  are  in  the  rear  of  the  building. 


The  Philosophy  House  is  a  splendid  edifice  of  brick  above  the  first  story,  which  is  of  stone.  A  handsome 
porch,  with  brick  pillars,  fronts  the  middle  of  the  building,  and  two  broad  piazzas  are  on  the  sides.  It  is  four 
stories  high,  not  including  the  basement.  A  cupola,  crowned  with  a  cross,  adorns  the  towers  about  the  roof  in 
the  middle.     The  building  is  oblong  in  form. 

Previous  to  1885,  the  students  of  the  Boston  Archdiocese,  and  indeed  of  all  New  England,  who  wished  to 
become  priests,  were  obliged  to  go  to  Rome,  Paris,  Montreal,  or  at  least  outside  of  New  England,  to  attain  the 
end  they  held  in  view,  and  often  at  great  expense.  Now,  however,  they  can  acquire  a  priestly  training  within 
the  borders  of  their  own  diocese,  if  being  educated  for  the  Archdiocese  of  Boston.  The  students  now  number 
about  145.     The  ordinations  occur  in  June  and  preceding  the  Christmas  festival. 

The  entire  tract  of  land  on  which  the  seminary  now  stands  consists  of  forty-six  acres,  which  was  bought  in 
two  parcels,  and  is  most  admirably  suited  to  the  needs  of  a  seminary.     The  seminary,  of  course,  is  now  but  in 

I'HUJJ.SOPHY    H()U.SE  — .bi'.    J(,)HN'S    .SEMINARY. 

the  beginning  of  its  usefulness,  and  in  years  to  come  its  influence  will  be  most  far-reaching  in  the  Catholic 
history  of  New  England.  The  philosophy  course  consists  of  logic,  ethics,  and  metaphysics,  and  lasts  one  year. 
The  theological  course  consists  of  canon  law,  dogmatic  and  moral  theology,  liturgy,  Hebrew,  church  history, 
and  science,  and  is  of  three  years'  duration.  The  clergy  of  the  Archdiocese  of  Boston,  appreciating  the  fore- 
sight and  energy  of  the  Archbishop  in  causing  this  institution  to  be  erected,  and  recognizing  the  inestimable 
benefits  which  will  flow  from  it  to  the  church  in  after  years,  naturally  felt  desirous  of  expressing  their  apprecia- 
tion of  his  important  work.  Therefore,  they  united  in  having  a  bust  of  the  patriarchal  prelate  cast  in  bronze, 
and  which  they  presented  to  the  seminary  at  the  close  of  1887.  The  bust,  which  stands  on  a  marble  pedestal 
in  the  reception  room,  is  a  life-like  image,  and  is  much  admired  by  visitors  to  the  seminary. 



Hbe  Boeton  Hcabemv  of  IRotre  5)ame, 

Berheles  Street. 

HE  Congregation  of  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame  was  founded  in  1803  at  Amiens,  France, 
by  Venerable  Julie  Billiart  and  the  Viscountess  Blin  de  Bourdon,  under  the  auspices  of 
the  Bishop,  Monseigneur  de  Villaret.  The  Rule  is  that  of  St.  Ignatius,  approved  for  the 
Institute  by  Gregory  XVI,  June  28,  1844.  The  sisters  came  to  the  United  States  in 
1840,  at  the  invitation  of  Rt.  Rev.  J.  B.  Purcell,  and  settled  in  his  episcopal  city  of  Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio,  where  is  still  the  chief  house  of  this  country.  There  are  convents  of  the 
Order  in  Boston,  South  Boston,  East  Boston,  and  Ro.xbury,  and  in  fourteen  other  cities 
of  Massachusetts.     The  mother  house  is  in  Namur,  Belgium. 

In   1847,  Rev.  John  McE'.roy,  S.  J.,  passed  through  Cincinnati,  ( )hio,  on  his  way 
to  the  seat  of  war  in  Mexico,  having 
been     appointed,    a    few    clays    pre- 
viously,   chaplain    to    the     Catholic 

soldiers.     He   stopped  over  night  with    Rt.    Rev.    Bishop 

Purcell,  and  in  the  morning  said  Mass  in  the  chapel  of  the 

Sisters  of  Notre  Uame,  Si.xth  Street.     During  the  day  he 

visited  the  schools  and   seemed  well  pleased  with  all  he 

saw  there. 

The  following  year  Father  McElroy  was  sent  to  Bos- 
ton to  found  a  house  of  the  Society  of  Jesus  in  this  city. 

He  soon  gave  substantial  proof  of  the  satisfaction  he  had 

testified  in  seeing  the  work  of  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame 

in  Cincinnati,  for  he  applied  to  Bishop  Purcell  for  some 

members   of   the   community  to  take   charge  of  the  girls' 

school,   recently  opened   in  the    yet   new   parish.     Three 

sisters  were  given  for  the  new  foundation.  Sister  Louis  de 

Gonzague  as  Superior,  Sister  Mary  Stanislaus  and  Sister 

Magdalene  as  teachers.     It  was   on  a  Saturday  evening, 

November  12,  1849,  they  entered  Boston,  and  good  Father 

McElroy  conducted  them  to  their  neat  little  convent   on 

Stillman     Street.      On    Tuesday   morning    they   assumed 

charge  of  the  girls'  school,  replacing  the  two   ladies  who 

had  charge  of  it  just  then.     This,  school  at  St.  Mary's — if 

we  except  that  of  the  Ursulines,  which  had  been  removed 

to  Mt.    St.   Benedict  in  1826 — was  the  first,  and   in   1849      '""  ^'^^'^'^-^"^'^  .Klie  i;ili,i,^kt,  Foinuj 

was   the   only,   Catholic   school  for  girls  in  the    "  Athens 

of  America."     It  is   superfluous  to  say  it  was  needed ;  actual  necessity  had  given  it  birth 

did  the   pupils  flock  in  that  the  next   September  saw  the  doublina 

In  such   numbers 
of  the  little  community  by  the   arrival 



of  three  sisters  from  Cincinnati.     The  house  did  not  kindly  double  itself  to  accommodate  the  new  comers.     On 
the  contrary,  it  seemed  to  grow  smaller  every  day,  so  that  one  room  soon  came  to  serve  several  purposes. 

In  1852  Father  McElroy  rented  Mr.  Neat's  house,  opposite  the  convent,  as  a  dwelling  for  the  sisters,  that 
the  whole  of  the  other  building  might  be  given  up  to  class  use.  In  March,  1853,  was  held  the  first  meeting  of 
the  Young  Ladies'  Sodality  of  the  Blessed  Virgin,  an  organization  destined  to  effect  great  good.  Five  years 
later  the  Married  Ladies'  Sodality  was  begun.  These  were  the  first  sodalities  in  Boston.  Both  are  still  in 
existence  and  bearing  the  fruit  their  pious  projector  anticipated. 

The  story  of  those  early  years  is  but  the  old  one  of  all  beginnings,  hard  work,  inadequate  accommoda- 
tions, and  frequent  changes.  In  June,  1858,  Father  McElroy  blessed  the  corner-stone  of  a  new  building  on 
Lancaster  Street,  which  was  destined  for  a  convent  and  academy.  On  Christmas  Day,  of  the  same  year,  Mass 
was  celebrated  in  the  chapel  for  the  first  time,  and  on  January  8,  1859,  the  house  was  blessed  by  Rt.  Rev. 

Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  accompanied  by  Father  McElroy. 
The  chapel  of  this  convent  is  yet  fondly  remembered  by 
all  the  old  parishioners  of  St.  Mary's  and  many  of  the 
inhabitants  of  the  then  churchless  western  suburbs,  for 
they  were  allowed  to  assist  at  the  Mass  said  there  on 

School  closed  happily  after  a  prosperous  year,  and 
in  the  vacation  the  first  of  the  little  band  was  called  home 
by  the  Hea\-enly  Bridegroom.  Sister  Amelia,  a  music 
teacher,  died  August  i,  i860,  after  a  short  and  sharp 
illness.  She  was  the  first  laid  to  rest  in  the  peaceful 
God's-Acre  of  the  lovely  convent  grounds  of  Roxbury. 

It  was  at  Sister  Amelia's  death-bed  that  the  sisters 
made  the  acquaintance  of  Dr.  H.  T.  Bowditch,  who  was 
introduced  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick.  Finding  some  painful 
treatment  necessary,  the  good  doctor  turned  to  Sister 
Alphonse  Marie  and  said,  "  Sister,  I  will  do  for  her  what 
I  would  do  if  she  were  my  own  daughter."  The  words 
epitomize  the  story  of  his  dealings  with  the  sisters  for 
twenty  years,  and  it  will  be  easily  understood  that,  in  all 
that  time,  the  calls  made  upon  his  time  and  skill  could  not 
lie  "like  angels'  visits,  few  and  far  between." 

The  service  that  gave  him  the  greatest  satisfaction, 
and  which  has  been  an  inestimable  gain  to  the  sisters, 
was  the  obtaining  of  the  land  for  the  present  building  on 
Berkeley  Street.  The  ground  would  not  be  sold  to  the 
sisters,  so  Dr.  Bowditch  presented  himself  as  purchaser  of 
a  large  lot  not  far  from  his  own  residence.  When  it  was 
discovered  that  it  was  for  the  nuns  there  was  a  storm.  All  sorts  of  invectives  were  leveled  at  "the  champion 
of  the  nuns,"  for  that  was  in  Know-Nothing  times.  He  heeded  them  not,  however,  but  took  a,  fatherly  interest 
in  the  place  until  his  death,  two  years  ago.  A  month  after,  two  of  his  favorite  pictures  were  sent  to  the  con- 
vent with  his  last  message  to  the  community  and  his  last  word  of  remembrance  of  Sister  Alphonse  Marie, 
always  associated  in  his  mind  with  a  kindred  spirit,  the  great  and  dear  Sister  Anne  Alexis,  of  Carney  Hospital. 
But  this  little  tribute  to  a  noble  friend  and  true  Christian  gentleman  has  brought  us  far  away  from  the 
last  days  at  St.  Mary's.  Sad  times  they  were  all  around,  for  pastor  and  people  loved  the  sisters  and  could  not 
willingly  resign  themselves  to  their  departure.  And  the  sisters  repaid  the  feeling  in  generous  measure;  nor 
could  any  know  better  than  they  the  advantages  of  being  near  the  school.     Superiors,  however,  have  to  take 

)E  Bourdon,  Co- 
NoTRE  Dame. 


into  consideration  other  things  besides  affection  and  convenience,  and  the  thickly  settled  locality  was  undeni- 
ably unsuitable  for  a  growing  community  of  nuns,  who,  if  not  "  of  the  world "  are  yet  in  it  and  must  breathe 
its  air.  But  any  one  who  would  see  the  house  on  Lancaster  Street  now,  or  at  any  time  since  the  sisters  left  it, 
and  would  form  from  what  it  is  a  judgment  of  what  it  was,  would  be  greatly  mistaken.  There  was  a  religious 
atmosphere,  an  expression,  a  nameless  something,  a  sort  of  mysterious  presence,  which  struck  every  person, 
lay  or  clerical,  who  entered  the  place  with  a  feeling  of  reverence,  and  made  them  exclaim  like  Jacob,  "Verily, 
this  is  none  other  than  the  house  of  God  and  the  gate  of  Heaven."  A  collector  of  customs,  calling  one  day, 
was  invited  to  visit  the  chapel.  In  the  parlor  he  had  been  quite  at  his  ease,  speaking  in  his  usual  business 
tone,  but  the  moment  he  entered  the  inner  corridor  he  seemed  as  if  suddenly  brought  into  some  higher 
presence  ;  his  whole  expression  changed,  his  voice  became  reverent  and  low,  and  on  re-entering  the  parlor  he 
said  to  the  Sister  Superior,  "  There  is  something  in  your  house  that  inspires  one  to  keep  silence,  it  would  seem 
like  a  profanation  to  speak  loud."  And  an  old  German  priest,  than  whom  it  would  be  hard  to  find  a 
severer  critic,  on  being  shown  the  house  by  Sister  Amelia,  said,  "When  I  see  a  religious  house  like  this,  so 
clean,  silent,  and  orderly,  I  feel  that  there  is  but  a  curtain  between  me  and  Heaven." 

Finally,  all  were  brought  to  see  the  wisdom  of  the  proposed  change  of  residence,  which  would  benefit  the 
workers  without  any  loss  to  the  work,  and  a  reluctant  consent  for  the  new  building  was  given  by  the  Rt.  Rev. 
Bishop  and  Father  McElroy.  The  land  on  Berkeley  Street  was  purchased  July  i,  1862,  and  work  was  begun 
at  once  on  the  building.  The  cost  of  erection  was  $60,000.  To-day  it  wears  its  years  so  lightly  as  to  look 
little  older  than  the  present  top  story  and  roof,  which  were  added  nearly  a  score  of  years  later.  The  structure 
is  of  brick  with  sandstone  trimmings,  substantially  built,  the  original  portion  finished  in  oak  throughout. 

Formal  possession  was  taken  of  the  new  convent  on  July  3,  1864.  This  would  be  the  place  to  record  the 
sisters'  sense  of  the  kindness  of  the  pastor  and  people  of  St.  Mary's,  never  lacking  at  any  time,  and  never  so 
openly  demonstrated  as  in  those  days.  But  a  royal  octavo  volume  would  not  do  justice  to  the  theme,  nor  a 
sketch  like  this  allow  the  bare  enumeration  of  the  deeds  that  are  yet  gratefully  recalled  by  the  older  members 
of  the  community  and  are  written  down  for  the  generation  that  cannot  conclude  the  tale  of  self-sacrificing 
devotedness  to  God's  nuns  but  with  a  heartfelt  "All  of  which  I  saw  and  part  of  which  I  was." 

"The  Boston  Academy  of  Notre  Dame"  was  chartered  in  1865.  The  foundation,  however,  dates  from 
1853,  when  the  classes  were  formed  on  Stillman  Street.  This  school  found  favor  from  the  first  with  Catholic 
parents  who  were  seeking  higher  education  for  their  daughters,  hitherto  accessible  only  at  distant  boarding- 
schools.  The  children,  and  the  children's  children,  of  these  first  pupils  have  been  educated  within  the 
academy  walls.  Of  what  that  training  is,  their  lives  are  the  best  eulogy.  They  have  gone  forth  into  the  world 
enabled  to  reach  out  their  hands  to  strong  things,  or  to  let  their  fingers  take  hold  of  the  spindle.  Their 
teachers  have  found  earth's  best  reward  for  their  labors  in  seeing  their  former  pupils  such  mothers  as  a  cliild 
can  rise  up  and  call  blessed;  such  wives  as  a  husband  can  praise  as  he  sitteth  at  the  gates,  in  honor 
among  the  senators  of  the  land;  such  daughters  and  sisters  as  can  set  down  life's  cup  of  joy,  filled  for  them- 
selves, and  walk  bravely  in  the  path  of  renunciation  for  duty's  sake ;  such  maidens  as  can  look  "  up  from  the 
best  of  which  no  man  need  tire"  and  obey  the  heavenly  call  to  share  with  others  the  religious  training  they 
have  received. 

Here  is  the  place  to  say  a  word  of  Sister  Alphonse  Marie,  the  foundress  of  the  academy.  She  came  to 
Boston,  May  2,  1852,  to  replace  Sister  Louis  de  Gonzague,  who  was  recalled  to  Europe.  From  that  moment 
she  identified  herself  with  the  work  of  the  institute  in  this  city;  which  then,  and  for  many  years  after,  was  the 
sole  work  of  Catholic  education  for  girls.  She  was  gentle,  generous,  and  just ;  sympathetic,  discerning,  and 
prudent ;  of  wide  culture  and  rare  judgment.  With  these  qualities  of  heart  and  mind  were  united  the  solid 
virtues  of  a  true  religious  and  the  untiring  devotedness  of  a  loving  mother;  while  her  stately  form,  her  noble 
countenance,  and  perfect  manners  bespoke  the  refinement  of  her  race,  least  of  all  to  be  despised  when  one's 
whole  life  proves  that 

"  Kind  hearts  are  more  than  coronets 
And  simple  faith  than  Norman  blood." 

The  whole  house  is  embalmed  with  her  memory.  Even  to  the  young  sisters  nothing  seems  half  so  good  or  so 
beautiful  as  the  articles  of  furniture,  philosophical  instruments,  or  chapel  ornaments  that  are  here  "since  Sister 



Alphonse  Marie's  time."  Many  a  tine  book  in  the  library,  many  a  valuable  specimen  in  the  cabinet,  remain  to 
show  the  esteem  and  affection  in  which  she  was  held  by  those  who  had  the  privilege  of  her  friendship.  The 
love  of  those  who  knew  her  best,  the  members  of  her  own  community  and  the  pupils  of  the  schools,  was  almost 
boundless.  For  seventeen  years  she  lived  and  labored  among  them  and  was  the  sunshine  of  their  hearts.  She 
tided  the  community  safely  through  the  hard  times  of  1863  and  1864,  when  money  was  scarce  in  the  new  con- 
vent and  calls  for  it  but  too  frequent.  Sister  Alphonse  Marie  was  recalled  to  Cincinnati  in  May,  1869,  where 
she  filled  the  post  of  mistress  of  postulants  until  her  death  in  1876. 

The  work  of  the  institute  went  on  apace.  At  the  time  of  the  removal  to  Berkeley  Street  the  community 
numbered  twenty  sisters,  just  enough  to  fulfil  the  duties  required  of  them  in  the  schools  and  the  house.  An 
apartment,  running  the  whole  length  of  the  building  and  on  the  ground  floor,  to  be  easier  of  access,  was  fitted 
up  as  a  chapel  for  the  sodalities  which  met  here.  Mass  was  celebrated  for  them  every  Sunday,  and  this  proved 
a  great  boon   to  many  girls  living  in  the  neighborhood,  from  which  churches  were  then  remote.     Near  the 

BOSTON    ACADEMY    OF    NOTRE    DAME,    |;il<l,l.ll\     -IKliET. 

sodality  chapel  was  a  room  fitted  up  for  the  books  of  a  circulating  library  and  for  the  night  school.  All  these 
are  now  discontinued,  as  no  longer  necessary.  From  this  sodality  chapel,  on  the  feast  of  the  Sacred  Heart  of 
Jesus,  1865-,  the  Blessed  Sacrament  was  carried  in  solemn  procession  through  the  convent  garden,  not  only  for 
the  first  time  there,  but  "for  the  first  time  in  the  open  air  since  Boston  exists,"  as  the  French  annalist  naively 
expresses  it.  A  shrine  of  the  Sacred  Heart,  on  the  garden  terrace,  is  the  memorial  of  this  first  procession,  of 
which  its  altar  bears  the  legend  in  golden  letters. 

In  May,  1865,  the  Congregation  of  the  Children  of  Mary  was  founded  by  Rev.  Robert  Fulton,  S.  J.,  with 
Miss  Emma  Forbes  Gary  for  its  first  president.  She  held  the  office  for  many  years,  until,  her  health  failing, 
she  resigned  and  assumed  her  present  post  of  secretary.  The  meetings  take  place  in  the  community  chapel 
every  second  Tuesday,  Mass  and  Benediction  of  the  Blessed  Sacrament  alternately.  A  retreat  is  made  every 
year  under  the  direction  of  a  father  of  the   Society  of  Jesus.     Among  converts  and  others  seeking  especial 



spiritual  advantages  the  sodality  has  accomplished  much  good,  as  shown  by  the  interesting  and  edifying  chron- 
icle of  its  thirty  years  of  existence. 

In  1 88 1  a  Tabernacle  Society  was  formed  by  some  of  the  members  of  the  sodality.  The  ladies  meet  twice 
a  week,  or  oftener,  to  sew  for  poor  churches.  It  was  affiliated  to  the  association  in  Rome  in  1886,  and  its  use- 
fulness, like  its  membership,  increases  daily. 

To  make  room  for  good  works_and  a  larger  community,  a  five-story  wing  was  added  to  the  north  side  of 
the  convent  in  1883,  running  sixty  feet  along  Providence  Street  and  facing  south  on  the  garden.     Here  are 


eight  class-rooms,  ten  music-rooms,  a  studio,  and  a  dining-room,  light,  airy,  cheerful,  and  home-like.  The  original 
class-rooms  are  now  library,  museum,  sewing-room,  offices,  and  hall.  The  collection  of  shells,  minerals,  and 
fossils  has  been  praised  even  by  specialists.  The  library  contains  about  five  thousand  volumes,  many  of  them 
valuable  and  rare.  To  these  pupils  have  free  access,  as  have  also  the  members  of  the  Notre  Dame  Reading 
Circle.     This  is  an  association  of  former  pupils,  mainly  graduates,  of  the  academy,  who  assemble  twice  a 



month  for  literary  discussion  and  direction.  It  is  in  tlie  second  year  of  what  promises  to  be  a  long  and  fruit- 
ful life.  At  its  pleasant  meetings  are  strengthened  both  soul  and  heart;  while,  as  one  said  recently,  "It  is' 
delightful  to  talk  with  the  old  girls,  like  whom  there  is  nobody.  We  all  find  that  out."  Preparatory  steps  to 
the  Reading  Circle  are  the  literary  societies  of  the  school,  St.  Catherine's  for  the  seniors,  St.  Aloysius'  for  the 
juniors.  A  fourth  society,  which  includes  present  and  past  pupils,  is  the  Cecilian,  composed  of  the  musicians. 
They  give  a  recital  monthly,  which  is  attended  by  the  whole  school.  Special  attention  has  always  been 
bestowed  upon  music,  and  the  result  has  been  exceedingly  gratifying. 

The  religious  associations  are  the  League  of  the   Sacred   Heart,  the  Children  of  Mary,  and  the  Infant 
Jesus  Sodality.     The  time  given  to  these  various  associations  in  no  way  detracts  from  the  regular  studies,  but 


prevents  hard  work  from  falling  into  dull  routine.  The  academy  exhibit  of  class-work  and  needle-work  at  the 
Chicago  World's  Fair  was  awarded  a  medal,  two  diplomas  of  honor  and  a  ribbon. 

The  community  of  Berkeley  Street  numbers  seventy-five  sisters,  who  teach  i,8oo  children  in  the  parochial 
schools  of  St.  Mary's,  St.  Stephen's,  and  Holy  Trinity;  175  in  the  academy;  2,000  in  the  Sunday-schools  of 
the  above-named  parishes,  the  Cathedral,  and  Brookline,  and  have  charge  of  3,000  sodalists  (adults)  at  the 
Cathedral,  St.  Stephen's,  St.  Augustine's,  South  Boston,  St.  Mary's,  Charlestown,  and  the  Assumption,  Brookline. 

A  favor  not  often  accorded  to  pioneers,  that  of  seeing  the  harvest  of  their  little  seed,  was  given  to  the 
first  sisters  in  Boston.  Sister  Louis  de  Gonzague  died  at  Jumet,  Belgium,  in  1890,  Sister  Mary  Stanislaus  at 
the  novitiate,  Waltham,  Mass.,  in  1893,  and  Sister  Magdalene  at  the  convent  in  East  Boston,  in  t894. 



Hcabein^  of  IRotre  S)ame,  IRoxbur^. 

r  c)';.£'^^plf  t^  FTER  the  burning  of  the   Ursuline  Convent  at  Charlestown,  the   Catholics  of  Boston  and 
"'  vicinity  remained  for  twenty  years  without  any  institution  for  the  higher  education  of  girls. 

The  lawless  spirit  shown  in  1834,  taken  with  the  small  measure  of  protection  given  by  the 
guardians  of  the  law,  deterred  the  religious  sisterhoods  from  attempting  to  establish  any- 
thing of  the  kind  until  1854.  In  that  year  the  Cincinnati  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame  were 
invited  to  open  a  boarding-school  in  Roxbury.  A  community  of  the  order  was  already  in 
p  .,4^  '-''W^'jJ'^       charge  of  St.  Mary's  parochial  school  for  girls. 

^  ^',''  -^'<  The  following  account  of  the  circumstances  attending  the  founding  of  the  institution  is 

taken  from  a  record  preserved  by  the  community : 

"May  4,  1854,  Sister  Mary  Aloysius,  as  Superioress,  left  Cincinnati  with  Sisters  Stanis- 
laus Koska  and  Mary  Ignatius,  who  were  destined  for  the  parochial  school ;  Sister  Mary  Clemens  as  cook,  and 
Sister  Mary  Joseph  to  take  care  of  a  few  boarders,  who  were  waiting  in  the  house  of  Boston  for  the  sisters  to 
come.  Two  of  the  pupils  were  from  South  America.  Sister  Julia  (our  present  Sister  Superior),  who  was 
destined  to  be  first  teacher  here,  had  charge  of  the  first  day  school  in  Cincinnati,  and  could  not  be  replaced 
until  September. 

"  The  following  Saturday  we  arrived  in  Boston,  where  we  remained  until  Monday  morning,  when  we  left 
for  our  destination.  Rev.  Father  McElroy  and  Sister  Alphonse  Marie,  Superioress  of  Boston,  accompanied  us. 
On  our  way  the  carriages  stopped  at  the  Church  of  St.  Joseph,  known  as  "Tommy's  Rock."  We  alighted  and 
went  to  see  the  schools,  which  were  in  the  basement  of  the  church.  They  were  in  a  dilapidated  state.  About 
II  A.  M.  we  arrived  in  our  new  home,  which  was  a  small  frame  building  with  a  stable  adjoining.  The  house 
was  poorly  furnished  and  in  disorder.  Mrs.  Boland,  sister  of  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  came  to  welcome  us.  We 
tried  to  light  a  fire  in  the  kitchen  but  could  obtain  nothing  but  smoke.  As  it  was  a  very  cold  day,  and  we  had 
changed  our  winter  clothing  before  leaving  the  West,  some  went  into  the  sunlight  to  get  warm.  Good  Mrs. 
Boland  hurried  home  to  prepare  us  a  dinner  which  arrived  at  i  p.  m.  As  dear  Sister  Marie  was  still  with 
us,  we  had  our  first  meal  in  the  Highlands  with  much  enjoyment. 

"There  was  a  parlor  on  either  side  of  the  entry.  One  was  converted  into  a  chapel,  where  soon  we  had 
the  pleasure  to  possess  the  Treasure  of  our  hearts.  Soon  we  received  other  boarders,  among  whom  were 
two  more  from  South  America.  As  there  were  only  two  rooms  above  the  parlors,  we  were  badly  off  for  sleep- 
ing rooms,  and  were  obliged  to  have  trundle-beds  to  roll  under  the  others  during  the  day.  As  the  grounds 
were  extensive  we  had  to  work  hard  to  keep  things  in  order.  Sister  Julia  arrived  in  September,  bringing  with 
her  a  little  niece  as  a  boarder.  The  same  year  the  niece  of  the  Bishop,  Miss  Minnie  Boland,  came.  Both 
children  were  very  clever,  and  after  remaining  seven  5'ears  graduated  with  honor. 

"Our  first  exhibition,  that  of  1855,  was  held  in  the  garden.  As  there  was  a  porch  on  the  side  of  the 
house,  there  the  piano  was  placed  and  the  pupils  played  and  sang  in  a  group  around  it,  the  audience  being 
on  the  grounds.     The  little  drama,  'The  Nymphs  of  Roxbury,'  was  spoken  in  the  bushes." 



The  parochial  school  opened  with  forty  pupils.  At  the  re-opening  of  school  in  the  following  September, 
I  GO  pupils  were  in  attendance  in  the  church  basement,  ii  boarders  were  in  the  house,  and  it  became  necessary 
to  add  three  more  sisters  to  the  community. 

In  January,  1855,  foreseeing  the  need  of  larger  accommodations,  the  Superioress,  Sister  Mary  Aloysius, 
commissioned  architect  P.  C.  Keely  to  draw  the  plans  of  the  present  academy  building.  Her  aim  was  the 
erection,  by  parts,  as  her  necessities  called  for  it,  of  an  edifice  that  would  be  suitable  for  the  remote  future. 
Soon  after  she  began  to  build  one  wing.  On  March  26,  the  academy  was  invaded  by  the  infamous  "Smelling 
Committee,"  appointed  by  the  Know-Nothing  legislature  "to  visit  and  examine  theological  seminaries,  boarding 
academies,  nunneries,  etc.     The  episode  is  narrated  as  follows  in  the  records  of  the  community : 

"We  were  not  very  long  here  when  we  were  warned  that  the  Know-Nothings  were  visiting  the  convents. 
Sister  Superior  told  the  Sister  Portress  to  receive  them  very  politely.     The  next  day  two  omnibuses  full  of  men 


arrived.  The  first  place  they  visited  was  the  chapel.  A  sister  who  had  to  make  her  examination  of  conscience 
before  the  others  was  in  the  chapel.  As  they  remained  some  time  she  thought,  "If  I  remain  here  they  will 
think  I  am  hiding  a  trap-door."  She  tried  to  leave  by  a  door  near  the  altar,  but,  as  it  was  not  opened,  she 
could  not  do  so.  Her  attention  was  drawn  by  a  tap  on  the  shoulder.  In  turning  she  was  accosted  by  one  of 
the  men  who  asked  her  a  question.  The  sister  excused  herself,  saying,  "We  do  not  speak  in  our  chapel." 
She  left,  but  was  stopped  at  the  end  of  the  hall  by  the  same  man,  who  again  asked  her  several  questions. 
They  went  to  the  dormitory  where  Sister  Superior  was  applying  leeches  to  the  throat  of  a  child  who  was 
alarmed  to  see  through  a  door  at  the  foot  of  her  bed  a  man's  head.  Its  owner  had  to  stretch  over  a  bed  by 
that  door  in  the  next  room  to  get  into  the  position. 

"When  they  had  examined  the  house  from  the  attic  to  the  cellar,  every  press,  hole,  and  corner,  they  left, 
accompanied  to  the  front  door  by  the  Sister  Superior.     The  man  who  spoke  to  the  sister  in  the  chapel  was  the 



last  to  leave.  As  he  was  going  he  addressed  the  Superioress,  saying  that  he  ought  to  be  a  Catholic,  and  asked 
if  he  could  not  come  now  and  then  to  receive  instructions.  Sister  Superior  referred  him  to  a  priest.  He  said, 
'Oh  no!  Let  me  come  here  and  you  and  I  will  have  a  pleasant  conversation  together.'  Sister  Superior  then 
seeing  the  kind  of  man  he  must  be,  dispatched  him  as  soon  as  possible." 

This  did  not  end  the  incident,  however.  Perhaps  a  more  trying  ordeal  to  the  sisters  was  to  appear  as 
witnesses  at  the  State  House  in  an  investigation  of  the  acts  of  the  committee,  and  bear  with  a  cross-examina- 
tion that  carried  by  imputation  an  insult  with  every  question.  It  is  a  matter  of  congratulation  that  we  have 
advanced  so  far  beyond  that  period  that  such  scenes  cannot  be  repeated  to-day. 

The  basement  of  the  church  being  unhealthy,  from  some  cause,  the  sisters  obliged  to  teach  in  it  were 
often  ill.  As  a  remedy  for  the  evil  the  Superioress  proposed  to  Father  O'Beirne  to  build  a  school-house  for 
the  parish  upon  the  academy  grounds.  Father  O'Beirne  accepted  the  proposal,  after  some  time,  and  a  two- 
story  frame  building,  facing  Washington  Street,  was 
accordingly  erected.  Besides  two  class-rooms,  it  had  a 
sodality  chapel  and  a  dormitory.  It  was  known  as 
"The  School  of  the  Meadow,"  and  served  its  purpose 
for  thirty-four  years,  when  it  was  abandoned  for  the  fine 
school-house  erected  by  Father  O'Beirne's  successor, 
the  Rev.  Hugh  P.  Smyth.  After  that  the  old  school- 
house  was  removed  to  a  site  close  to  the  western  side 
of  the  academy.  Here  its  interior  was  remodeled; 
while  its  exterior  was  so  altered  by  the  addition  of  a 
veranda  and  a  coat  of  paint  that  it  was  no  longer 
recognizable.  Besides  St.  Joseph's  Hall,  where  the 
academy  reading  circles  meet  and  calisthenic  exercises 
are  conducted,  it  contains  an  Oratory  where  the  Chil- 
dren of  Mary  hold  their  weekly  meetings. 

In  1857  there  were  18  boarders  in  the  academy 
and  180  children  in  the  parochial  school.  The  first 
part,  or  western  wing  of  the  new  building,  was  finished 
in  this  year,  and,  on  May  i,  it  was  blessed  and  taken 
possession  of.  A  number  of  the  sisters  opened  the 
school  connected  with  the  Church  of  the  Holy  Trinity 
on  September  5,  1859. 

An  attempt  to  manufacture  gas  for  the  academy, 
upon  its  own  grounds,  was  made  in  1867.  This  failed 
because  of  the  incompetency  of  the  man  to  whom  it 
was  entrusted,  and  the  city  gas  was  then  obtained. 
The  contract  for  erecting  the  central  part  of  the  future 
building  was  signed  in  April,  1865,  but  a  vexatious  delay  was  caused  by  the  seizure  of  all  the  material  to  be 
used  by  the  creditors  of  the  contractor.  However,  the  work  was  finished  by  April  7,  1866,  when  the  com- 
munity took  possession.     Bishop  Williams  made  his  first  episcopal  visit  on  April  24. 

In  1868  the  number  of  boarders  had  increased  to  40.  The  old  chapel  was  found  too  small  at  this  time. 
It  was  therefore  determined  to  build  a  new  one.  P.  C.  Keely  furnished  the  plans,  and  the  contract  for  build- 
ing it  was  signed  on  January  19,  1869.  Father  Lyndon  laid  the  corner-stone  on  July  26.  Father  John 
McEIroy  celebrated  the  last  Mass  in  the  old  chapel,  July  17,  187 1,  and  on  the  same  morning  Bishop  Williams, 
assisted  by  fifteen  priests,  performed  the  ceremony  of  dedication.  On  this  occasion  sisters  from  all  the  Eastern 
houses  helped  in  the  choir. 

A  memorable  event  of  this  year  was  the  location  of  a  pest-house  for  small-pox  patients  in  the  near  vicinity 
of  the  academy.     The  protests  of  the  community  and  of  the  parents  of  the  pupils  were  unheeded.     At  length, 



the  disease  broke  out  among  the  pupils,  and  the  old  school-house  was  used  as  a  hospital  for  the  isolation  and 
treatment  of  the  little  victims.  The  cit)'  institution,  known  as  the  Marcella  Street  Home,  now  covers  the  site  of 
the  objectionable  pest-house. 

In  1874  the  community  suffered  an  irreparable  loss  by  the  death  of  their  brave  Superioress,  Sister  IMary 
Aloysius.  On  July  13  she  was  on  the  deck  of  the  Parthia,  an  Atlantic  steamer  that  was  taking  her  to  Europe 
to  participate  in  the  golden  jubilee  of  the  Superioress-General  of  the  Order,  when  she  fell  dead,  stricken  by 
heart  disease.  She  was  buried  at  sea,  the  funeral  service  having  been  read  by  a  Mr.  John  Reardon,  one  of  the 
passengers.  The  news  of  the  event  reached  the  academy  when  the  community  were  expecting  from  the 
deceased  sister  a  pleasant  letter  descriptive  of  her  voyage,  and  of  her  reception  in  Belgium  by  her  brother 
and  other  loving  friends. 

Sister  Mary  Loyola,  the  able  and  beloved  directress  of  the  academy  for  fifteen  years,  was  next  appointed 
Superioress,  which  office  she  held  for  three  years.     Sister  Albania  succeeded  her  in   September,  1877.      On 


September  10,  1882,  Sister  Albania  was  recalled  to  Cincinnati,  and  Sister  Mary  Bernard,  formerly  of  Cam- 
bridgeport,  became  Superioress  at  the  academy. 

Upon  assuming  charge.  Sister  Mary  Bernard  resolved  to  carry  out  the  wishes  of  the  first  Superioress 
regarding  the  building.  She  began  the  erection  of  the  east  wing  April  3,  1884.  It  was  finished  in  the  summer 
of  1885,  leaving  the  completed  edifice  as  it  stands  to-day.  July  3,  1885,  suffering  from  poor  health.  Sister  Mary 
Bernard  was  called  to  Cincinnati,  where  she  died  the  following  year.  She  was  succeeded  by  Sister  Aloyse,  the 
present  Superior,  whose  administration  for  the  past  nine  years  proves  that  the  splendid  institution  built  up  by 
her  predecessors  could  not  be  entrusted  to  worthier  hands. 

The  grounds  of  the  academy,  acquired  by  sundry  purchases  from  time  to  time,  border  on  Washington 
Street,  opposite  Townsend  Street,  and  comprise  nearly  seven  acres.  A  greater  variety  of  surface,  with  its  banks 
and  dells,  terraces  and  lawns,  is  not  often  met.     For  this  reason,  the  natural  formation  has  not  been  altered 



further  than  was  necessary  to  lay  out  walks  and  plant  shrubs.  In  one  corner,  veiled  by  the  trees,  is  the 
community's  God's  Acre,  where  rest  from  their  labor  the  pioneers  of  the  institution.  Hidden  away  among  the 
foliage  of  vines  and  ferns,  is  a  charming  little  grotto  of  the  Virgin.  The  religious  character  of  the  place  is 
further  indicated  by  statues  of  Christ  and  of  St.  Anthony.  Upon  an  elevated  space  in  the  centre  is  the 
academy  building,  resting  upon  a  solid  foundation  of  rock.  It  is  built  in  the  style  of  an  English  manor-house. 
The  basement  is  constructed  of  Roxbury  stone,  trimmed  with  granite,  and  the  superstructure  of  brick.  Its 
interior  is  divided  into  four  stories,  which  give  ample  space  for  the  rooms  usually  needed  by  such  institutions. 
Worthy  of  mention  among  the  latter,  are  the  music  rooms,  divided  by  glass  partitions,  and  furnished  with 
fourteen  pianos ;  a  library,  having  a  considerable  collection  of  select  works ;  a  laboratory,  supplied  with  all 
necessary  material  and  apparatus  for  the  study  of  chemistry ;  and  a  fine  exhibition  hall,  furnished  with  stage 
and  scenery,  and  a  large  museum.  The  chapel,  occupying  the  whole  of  a  building  adjoining  the  rear  of  the 
academy,  is  large  enough  for  a  parish  church,  and  is  evidently  the  object  of  the  community's  fondest  care. 
Lighting,  heating,  and  ventilation  are  provided  for  upon  the  most  approved  principles.  Four  broad  stair-ways, 
connecting  the  top  floor  with  the  lowest,  are  ample  guarantee  of  the  inmates'  safety  in  case  of  lire. 

The  programme  of  studies  ranges  from  the  primary  grade  to  the  collegiate  course.  Physical  science  is 
carefully  taught  by  modern  methods.  Special  care  is  given  to  English  literature,  and  the  perfecting  of  the 
pupils  in  the  use  of  the  English  language,  both  by  pen  and  tongue.  Latin,  French,  and  German,  together  with 
the  literature  of  each  language  are  thoroughly  studied.  Numerous  specimens  of  most  creditable  work  done  by 
the  pupils  testify  to  the  academy's  success  in  teaching  linear  and  crayon  drawing,  and  painting  in  oils  and 
water  colors.  A  specialty,  cultivated  in  this  branch  of  instruction,  is  the  painting  of  glass  and  china-ware. 
The  pupils  are  also  instructed  in  all  kinds  of  needle-work.  And  music  receives  due  attention  by  artistic  voice 
culture,  and  by  instruction  in  the  playing  of  the  organ,  piano,  harp,  violin,  guitar,  and  banjo. 

The  reputation  of  the  academy  is  among  the  highest  in  the  country.  The  work  of  its  pupils,  sent  to  the 
World's  Exhibition  in  Chicago,  elicited  the  most  flattering  encomiums,  and  was  awarded  a  gold  medal  in  recog- 
nition of  its  excellence.  Protestants  as  well  as  Catholics  avail  of  the  institution.  Its  community  now  numbers 
forty-three,  while  it  has  sixty  resident  boarders  and  twenty-one  day  boarders. 



/Iftt.  St.  Josepb'e  Hca&em^,  Brigbton. 

HE  Congregation  of  the  Sisters  of  St.  Joseph  originated  in  the  town  of  Puy,  in  Velay, 

France,  where  it  was  founded  by  Rt.  Rev.  Henry  de  Maupas,  at  the  suggestion  of  Father 

John  Peter  Medaille,  S.  J.,  on  the   15th  of  October,  1650.     The  Bishop  gave  them  the 

rules  for  their  guidance  and  manifested  great  zeal  for  the  success  of  their  congregation. 

Louis  XIV  confirmed  by  letters  patent  the  first  establishment  at  Puy  and  other 

places  in  Velay.       In    1836  they  were  introduced  into  the   United   States  by  Rt.  Rev. 

Joseph   Rosati,  of  St.  Louis.       From  the  St.  Louis  house  they  have  spread  throughout 

entire  country.     On  the  7th  day  of  June,   1867,  Pope  Pius  IX  approved  the  American 

branch  of  this  community. 

The  object  of  this  sisterhood  is  the  sanctification  of  the  souls  of  its  members,  by  leading 
a  more  perfect  life  in  conformity  to  the  divine  precept,  and  in  this  diocese  the  instruction 
and  education  of  youth. 

Six  sisters  of  this  community  came  from  Flushing,  L.  I.,  N.  Y.,  October  2,  1873,  at  the  request  of  Rev. 
Thomas  Magennis,  P.  R.,  of  Jamaica  Plain,  and  established  a  branch  for  the  Diocese  of  Boston,  in  Jamaica 
Plain,  Mass.,  where  a  novitiate  was  opened  in  1876. 

The  blessing  of  God  has  been  very  apparent  and  success  has  met  them  at  every  turn.  The  number  of 
sisters  has  increased  from  six  to  one  hundred  and  forty  within  eighteen  years.  The  mother  house  and  novitiate 
are  now  located  in  Brighton  in  connection  with  the  academy.  The  sisters  are  also  in  charge  of  the  parochial 
schools  in  Jamaica  Plain,  South  Boston,  Stoughton,  Amesbury,  Haverhill,  Cambridge,  and  Arlington. 

Mt.  St.  Joseph's  Academy  was  founded  at  Cambridge,  Mass.,  September  7,  1885,  by  the  Sisters  of  St. 
Joseph.  A  new  building  was  erected  in  Brighton,  Mass.,  to  which  the  academy  was  transferred,  October  29, 
1 89 1.     There  are  thirty-six  sisters  in  the  academy. 

The  building  contains  eight  class  and  recitation  rooms  besides  dormitories,  refectories,  reception,  and  other 
rooms.  The  chapel,  like  the  rest  of  the  building,  is  finished  in  the  natural  wood,  highly  polished;  it  is  in  the 
Roman  style  of  architecture,  very  delicately  and  beautifully  frescoed,  and  furnished  simply  and  artistically. 
The  frescoes  on  the  sanctuary  walls  are  adoring  angels  ;  those  on  each  side  of  the  sanctuary  arch,  facing  the 
nave,  are  the  Lamb  of  the  Apocalypse  and  the  symbolic  pelican.  The  stained  glass  windows  admit  a  soft,  rich 
light  which  imparts  a  devotional  atmosphere  to  the  already  sanctified  precinct.  The  main  altar  and  two  side 
ones,  of  the  Blessed  Virgin  and  of  St.  Joseph,  adorn  the  sanctuary.  The  stations  of  the  cross,  a  gift  to  the 
community  from  a  prominent  benefactor,  were  imported  from  Munich.  They  are  white  and  gold,  and,  with  the 
beautiful  statues  which  occupy  the  niches,  form  an  appropriate  finish  to  the  gem  of  the  house.  The  architect 
was  P.  W.  Ford,  of  Boston,  Mass. 

The  course  of  studies  comprises  Christian  doctrine,  reading,  elocution,  orthography,  writing,  English 
grammar,  rhetoric,  composition,  history,  physics,  geography,  civil  government,  astronomy,  botany,  chemistry, 
physiology,  English  literature,  arithmetic,  book-keeping,  algebra,  geometry,  French  and  Latin  languages,  music, 
stenography,  type-writing,  plain  and  fancy  needle-work,  and  etiquette. 



The  academy  is  built  of  bricli  witli  a  granite  basement.  It  is  four  stories  in  heiglit  with  a  slated  roof  sur- 
mounted by  a  cupola.  It  is  a  very  handsome  structure  and  does  credit  to  its  designer  and  to  the  sisters  whose 
zealous  labors  brought  it  to  completion.  The  building  is  133  feet  front  and  90  feet  in  depth,  and  stands  on  a 
beautiful  eminence  known  as  Allstoil  Heights,  in  the  middle  of  a  tract  of  five  and  one-half  acres  of  land.  The 
view  from  the  cupola  is  a  grand  one,  giving  an  unbroken  view  of  the  surrounding  country  for  a  long  distance, 
and  is  an  attractive  object  to  the  traveler  approaching  Boston  on  the  Albany  railroad.  On  the  first  floor  of 
the  academy  are  the  reception,  class,  and  music  rooms,  the  study  hall,  and  the  chaplain's  dining-room.  On 
the  second  floor  are  the  novitiate,  community  room,  infirmary,  chaplain's  suite  near  the  chapel,  the  dormitories 
for  the  older  girls,  and  the  rooms  for  the  sisters.  On  the  third  floor  are  the  boarders'  infirmary,  the  smaller 
girls'  dormitories,  the  bath-room,  the  sewing-room,  and  rooms  for  the  professed  religious.  The  contractors  for 
the  work  of  building  were  Stephen  Brennan  &  Co.  The  most  beautiful  place  in  the  academy  is  the  chapel 
called  in  honor  of  St.  Francis  Regis. 

MT.    ST.    JOSEPH'.?    .ACADEMY,    BRIGHTON. 

The  dedication  of  the  chapel  and  school  took  place  Saturday,  March  ig,  1S92,  Most  Rev.  John  J. 
Williams  officiating,  assisted  by  the  Very  Rev.  Father  Byrne,  V.  G.,  Very  Rev.  Charles  B.  Rex,  D.  D.,  then  of 
St.  John  Seminary,  Brighton,  and  Father  A.  J.  Rossi.  Vicar-General  Byrne  preached.  The  dedicatory  Mass 
was  celebrated  by  Rev.  Joseph  E.  Keyes,  Chaplain  of  the  Academy,  assisted  by  Fathers  Coen,  Ryan,  and 

There  are  at  present  (1894)  sixty-two  pupils  in  the  school  under  the  charge  of  Mother  Mary  DeSancta. 
She  is  an  admirable  governess  for  an  educational  and  religious  institution,  and,  assisted  by  the  worthy  sisters, 
does  a  great  and  holy  work,  which  will  redound  to  an  almost  incalcuable  benefit  for  those  who  are  growing  up 
to  be  among  the  future  women  of  the  archdiocese. 



St,  Vincent's  ©rpban  Hs^lum, 

Vincent's  Orphan  Asylum  is  the  oldest  of  Boston's  charitable  institutions  conducted 
by  Catholics.     It  had  its  beginning  in  the  episcopate  of  Bishop  Fenwick.     In  1832, 
three  Sisters  of  Charity  came  from  Baltimore  for  the  purpose  of  establishing  a  school 
for  girls  whose  parents  were  too  poor  to  pay  for  their  education.     These  pious  women 
were   Sisters  Ann  Alexis,  Blandina,  and  Loyola.     They  were  the  first  of  their  cele- 
brated order  to  enter  New  England.     They  succeeded  in  opening  a  day  school  in 
Hamilton  Place,  but,  from  the  first,  they  found  it  necessary  to  take  entire  charge  of  a 
few  orphan  children.     The  first  orphan  was  brought  to  them  by  Bishop  Fenwick.    She 
subsequently  became  a  teacher.     In   time  tlrese  poor   children   became   so   numerous 
that  the  sisters  were  obliged  to  remove  to  a  larger  house  on  Congress  Street,  then 
called  Atkinson  Street.     Here  tlie  institution  came  to  be  regarded  as  a  home  without  ceasing  to 
be  a  school.     Says  Father  Fitton,   "Many  of  the  most  respectable  matrons  now  (1872)  in  the 
city  look  back  upon  the  years  they  attended  these  schools  as  the  happiest  of  their  lives." 

On  November  i5,  1841,  a  still  more  commodious  house,  situated  at  the  corner  of  High  and  Pearl  Streets, 
was  bought  for  $11,000.  After  four  years  spent  here,  lack  of  space  again  compelled  the  managers  to  seek 
larger  quarters.  These  were  found  in  a  well-built  house  on  Purchase  Street,  for  which  Ji8,ooo  were  paid.  The 
work  of  the  sisters  had  met  with  ready  and  constant  appreciation  from  the  citizens  at  large,  while  it  inspired  in 
the  Catholic  laity  a  sentiment  towards  themselves  amounting  to  enthusiasm.  As  a  consequence,  the  fairs  that 
were  held  in  behalf  of  the  institution  were  most  generously  patronized,  and  its  funds  were  otherwise  augmented 
by  several  donations  and  bequests. 

In  1850,  the  proceeds  of  a  fair,  held  in  Faneuil  Hall,  enabled  the  sisters,  not  only  to  pay  the  balance  due 
on  their  building,  but  to  put  by  a  sum  as  a  nucleus  for  a  fund  to  procure  a  new  asylum,  once  more  urgently 
needed.  Five  years  later  it  was  decided  to  build  a  house  that  would  meet  all  the  requirements  experience  had 
shown  to  be  desirable.  In  November,  1855,  a  lot  of  land  measuring  42,000  feet,  situated  at  the  corner  of 
Shawmut  Avenue  and  Camden  Street,  was  bought  for  $21,000.  The  work  of  erection,  begun  in  1857,  ended 
in  the  following  year,  when  the  sisters  witJi  their  charges  took  possession  of  it. 

The  new  home  was  then  considered  one  of  the  best  of  its  kind  in  the  States.  The  whole  property,  land, 
building,  and  subsequent  improvements,  cost  about  $120,000..  The  land  has  a  frontage  of  264  feet  on  Cam- 
den Street  and  158  feet  on  Shawmut  Avenue.  The  home  is  built  of  brick  trimmed  with  freestone;  is  164  feet 
long,  60  feet  wide,  and  four  stories  high  over  a  roomy  basement.  A  prominent  feature  of  the  exterior  is  a 
tower  in  front,  20  feet  square  and  136  feet  high.  A  work-room,  bath-room,  and  play-room  occupy  the  first 
floor.  On  the  next  floor  are  a  class-room  and  a  chapel.  Worthy  of  notice  in  the  chapel,  among  other  things, 
is  a  painting  by  Murillo,  "The  Immaculate  Conception,"  presented  to  the  home  in  1859  by  the  Spanish  consul, 
M.  Picard,  upon  the  condition  that  it  would  not  be  sold  unless  there  were  no  other  means  to  procure  food  for 
the  children.  It  was  then  valued  at  $20,000,  the  price  offered  for  it  by  Mr.  J.  E.  Lodge,  one  of  the  asylum's 
Protestant  friends.  There  are  two  more  class-rooms  upon  the  third  floor,  while  the  fourth  and  fifth  floors  are 
entirely  occupied  by  dormitories  supplied  with  iron  bedsteads.  The  other  apartments  include  reception  rooms, 
offices,  kitchen,  and  bedrooms.     Spacious  piazzas,  accessible  by  an  external  stair-way,  run  along  the  south  side 



of  the  edifice.  The  stair-way  descends  to  an  ample  play-ground,  furnished  with  swings  and  other  apparatus  for 
recreation.  In  the  rear  is  a  small  building  where  cases  of  contagious  diseases  are  isolated  and  treated. 
Light,  heat,  and  ventilation  are  provided  for  according  to  approved  principles. 

There  are  160  children  in  the  asylum  now,  but  the  number  often  rises  to  250  and  over.  Since  the  sisters 
started  out  upon  their  divine  mission  they  have  boarded,  clothed,  and  educated  6,700  girls.  The  course  of 
instruction  followed  is  designed  to  supply  a  plain,  useful  education.  Needle-work  and  cooking  are  taught  with 
a  view  to  enable  the  children,  when  old  enough,  to  earn  a  living.  Situations  and  homes  are  found  for  them 
when  leaving.     The  sources  of  income   are  wholly  charitable.     Besides  the  proceeds  of  an  occasional  enter- 


tainment,  and  the  donations  of  individuals,  the  home  receives  an  annual  collection  taken  up  at  all  the  Catholic 
churches  of  Boston. 

The  memory  of  Sister  Ann  Alexis,  who  directed  the  institution  for  forty-three  years  after  its  inception,  is 
held  in  loving  reverence  by  the  older  members  of  the  Catholic  community  of  Boston.  A  fine  portrait  of  her, 
hanging  in  one  of  the  reception  rooms  of  the  home,  shows  a  face  whose  lines  were  wrought  by  divine  charity. 
The  combined  ravages  of  time  and  labor  were  insufficient  to  eclipse  the  sweetness  and  exaltation  radiating 
from  her  noble  mind.     She  died  March  19,  1875,  mourned  by  thousands  as  an  intimate  friend. 


ST.    VINCENT'S    ORPHAN    ASYLUM,    CAWDKN    SrHKI,!',     liOr^l'ON. 



Ibouse  of  tbe  Hngel  (3uar6iati, 

H  E  great  oak  that  towers  above  its  fellows  in  the  forest  sprang  from  a  weak 
sapling.  The  broad  river  that  bears  along  the  huge  sea-faring  vessels  in  its 
irresistible  tides  first  bubbled  from  a  spring.  Human  institutions  oftentimes 
arise  from  apparently  insignificant  events  and  beginnings,  only  to  become  majestic 
and  wonderful.  The  institution  which  is  the  subject  of  this  sketch,  now  a  power- 
ful agent  of  Christian  charity,  grew  from  similar  beginnings.  The  man  whose 
brain  conceived  it,  whose  heart  fostered  and  gave  it  strength,  was  Father  Haskins. 
Like  St. 

de  P  a  u  1, 
he  had  al- 
ways a  love  for  children;  especially  for 
the  orphaned,  the  destitute  and  home- 
less waifs  that  seemed  castaways  in  life. 
After  consulting  with  his  Bishop,  who 
not  only  approved  of  his  designs,  but 
urged  him  to  put  them  into  e.xecution, 
giving  the  Cathedral  for  the  first  collec- 
tion in  aid  of  the  good  work,  Father 
Haskins  gathered  a  few  boys  and  placed 
them  under  the  care  of  Mr.  and  Mrs. 
Cornelius  Murphy,  in  a  small  building- 
adjoining  the  church  on  Moon  Street. 
This  was  the  cradle  of  the  House  of 
the  Angel  Guardian,  the  first  asylum 
for  Catholic  orphans  in  New  England. 
It  grew  so  rapidly  that  in  1S53  he 
found  it  necessary  to  purchase  a  larger 
estate,  and  that  also  becoming  too 
small,  he  bought  a  piece  of  land  in 
Roxbury,  in  1858,  and  erected  the 
present  building  on  Vernon  Street,  and 
transferred  his  boys  thither  in  the  fall 
of  i860.  During  all  these  years  the 
congregation  of  St.  John's  increased 
until  the  church  on  Moon  Street  became 
too  small  for  its  parishioners,  and  the 
newer  church  on  Hanover  Street  became 
the  scene  of  Father  Haskins'  pastoral 
labors  until  his  death  in  1872.     During 

Founder  of  the  House  < 



all  this  time  Father  Haskins  ministered  to  the  people  living  in  the  present  parish  of  St.  Francis  de  Sales,  in 
Roxbury.  They  held  services  in  the  chapel  of  the  House  of  the  Angel  Guardian  after  the  old  church  on 
Ruggles  Street  was  burned.  He  bought  the  land  for  the  present  church  on  Vernon  Street,  but  his  labors  in 
connection  with  that  parish  were  ended  in  1867,  when  Father  Sherwood  Healy  relieved  him.  His  work,  there- 
fore, became  more  intimately  entwined  around  the  House  of  the  Angel  Guardian  as  time  went  on.  He  reduced 
the  debt  of  the  institution,  in  twelve  years,  from  $60,000  to  $30,000.  It  was  his  ardent  desire  to  see  his 
beloved  house  in  the  charge  of  a  religious  community,  and  for  that  purpose  he  made  a  voyage  to  Europe  and 
a  journey  to  Canada,  but  his  wishes  were  destined  to  be  disappointed,  for  it  was  not  until  nearly  two  years 
after  his  death  that  the  brothers  took  charge.  January  27,  1874,  a  colony  of  six  Brothers  of  Charity  came  to 
Boston  to  continue  the  work  he  began.  They  were  under  the  charge  of  Brother  Justinian,  a  native  of  Limburg, 
Belgium.  He  was  a  man  of  beautiful  character,  which  glowed  with  love  of  tireless  labor  in  behalf  of  God's 
fatherless  and  forlorn.  He  continued  as  administrator  of  the  institution  until  1878,  when  he  was  appointed 
Provincial  of  the  Order  and  was  transferred  to  the  mother   house  of   Montreal.      He  died  April   16,  1880. 


Brother  Wenceslaus  succeeded  Brother  Justinian,  and  held  charge  for  three  years,  when  he  was  sent  to  govern 
a  similar  institution  in  Waterford,  Ireland.  Brother  Eusebius  was  successor  to  Brother  Wenceslaus.  He  was, 
previously,  Provincial  of  the  Order  in  America.  He  was  born  of  noble  parentage,  in  Ypres,  Belgium,  March 
17,  1817,  and  entered  the  Brotherhood  of  Charity  March  27,  1842.  He  governed  houses  of  the  Order  in 
Louvain,  Ghent,  and  Burges,  and  came  to  Canada  in  1865.  At  the  invitation  of  Archbishop  Williams,  in  1874, 
he  sent  a  number  of  brothers  to  take  charge  of  the  House  of  the  Angel  Guardian,  in  Boston.  Later,  he  came 
to  Boston  himself.  He  died  at  Longue  Point,  Quebec,  while  head  of  the  house  for  epileptics  there.  Brother 
Joseph  succeeded  April  24,  1884.  While  still  governing  the  house  here  in  Boston,  he  died  suddenly  Septem- 
ber 8,  1892. 

Brother  Joseph,  or  Onesime  Hamel,  was  born  in  Quebec,  March  29,  1844,  and  became  a  Brother  of 
Charity,  October  27,  1866.  He  enlarged  the  house  in  Boston  by  adding  a  new  wing  in  189 1.  Brother  Jude 
succeeded  Brother  Joseph  and  he  is  the  present  Superior  of  the  institution. 



The  House  of  the  Angel  Guardian  would  be  poorly  described  if  a  word  was  not  said  anent  its  Industrial 
School,  which  was  completed  May  20,  1891.  It  fronts  on  Ruggles  Street,  and  though  not  a  "palace  of 
industry,"  it  is  a  worthy  addition  to  the  house.  In  this  building  is  a  bake  shop,  a  printing  establishment,  a 
shoe  shop,  and  a  tailor's  shop.  The  necessary  motive  power  is  supplied  by  an  electric  motor  of  3-horse  power. 
The  purpose  of  the  Industrial  School  is,  of  course,  to  give  the  boys  some  occupation  whilst  dwelling  in  the 
house,  and  more  important  still  to  provide  them  with  a  calling  which  can  furnish  them  a  livelihood  when  com- 
pelled to  face  the  world. 

In  the  press  room  there  are  now  nine  presses,  and  over  twenty  boys  are  kept  employed  in  the  composing 
room.  The  boys  print  a  twenty-page  weekly  paper,  "The  Orphan's  Bouquet,"  which  has  some  of  the  ablest 
Catholic  writers  of  the  day  as  contributors,  and  has  a  subscription  list  of  ten  thousand. 

The  Brotherhood  of  Charity  was  founded  by  Father  Triest,  the  so-called  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  of  Belgium, 
during  the  days  of  the  French  Revolution. 

The  House  of 
the  Angel  Guardian 
was  peculiarly 
Father  Haskins'  life 
work,  and  also  his 
monument.  There- 
fore, it  is  only  just 
and  fitting  to  narrate 
the  story  of  his  life. 
George  Foxcroft 
Haskins,  son  of 
Thomas  and  Eliza- 
beth Haskins,  both 
descendants  of  the 
first  settlers  of  New 
England,  and  firm 
adherents  of  the 
Episcopal  Church, 
was  born  April  4. 
1806,  in  a  house  on 
the  corner  of  Eliot 
and  Carver  Streets, 
Boston.  He  was  edu- 
cated in  the  school 
of  Webb  and  Pa)'- 
son,  and  later  in  the 
Boston  Latin  School. 

At  the  age  of  sixteen  he  entered  Harvard  College,  and  graduated  with  honors  in  1826,  at  the  age  of  twenty. 
He  then  studied  theology  under  Revs.  Alonzo  Potter  and  George  W.  Doane,  both  of  whom  are  Protestants  and 
now  wear  the  title  of  bishop.  About  that  time  Lyman  Beecher  was  delivering  anti-Catholic  tirades  in  Boston, 
and  he  was  answered  by  Bishop  Fenwick  and  Dr.  O'Flaherty.  Mr.  Haskins  attended  all  these  lectures  with  his 
friend,  George  W.  Lloyd,  Esq.  Then  and  there  were  the  seeds  of  Catholicity  sown  in  Father  Haskins'  mind. 
February  28,  1829,  he  was  ordained  a  deacon  of  the  Episcopal  sect  by  Bishop  Griswold,  and  became  Chaplain 
of  the  House  of  Industry.  In  May,  1830,  he  became  acquainted  with  Father  William  Wiley,  then  attached  to 
the  old  Cathedral  on  Franklin  Street.  It  happened  in  this  wise ;  In  the  House  of  Industry,  a  poor  old  Irish 
woman,  dying,  begged  for  a  priest.  The  superintendent  in  reply  said,  "Oh,  I'll  send  you  a  priest  as  good  as 
any  of  your  Catholic  priests,"  and  he  sent  Mr.  Haskins  to  the  dying  woman.  She  begged  so  earnestly,  how- 
ever, of  him  when  he  went  to  her  that,  'being  touched,  he  said,   "  You  shall   have  a  priest.     I'll  go  for  him 




myself."  He  immediatel)'  went  to  the  priest's  house  on  Franklin  Street,  and  saw  Father  Wiley,  to  whom,  in 
the  course  of  their  conversation,  he  stated  he  was  a  Protestant  minister.  Father  Wiley  visited  the  woman  and 
gave  her  the  sacraments.  When  she  saw  Chaplain  Haskins  again,  she  raised  up  her  hands  and  with  streaming 
eyes  she  said,  "God  bless  you,  sir.  O,  God  bless  you,  and  may  you  be  a  Catholic  before  you  die."  In 
October,  1830,  Mr.  Haskins  gave  up  the  post  of  Chaplain  at  the  House  of  Industry  and  accepted  a  call  as 
rector  of  Grace  Church,  Boston.  December  g,  1830,  he  was  ordained  by  Bishop  Griswold.  He  subsequently 
became  rector  of  Grace  Church,  in  Providence,  R.  I.  After  a  time  he  resigned,  and  returning  to  Boston  he 
became  Chaplain  of  the  House  of  Reformation,  where  he  remained  until  1836.  In  1837  he  was  appointed 
superintendent  of  the  institution,  but  in  January,  1839,  he  resigned  his  ministry,  and  the  following  May,  though 
knowing  he  no  longer  believed  in  Protestantism,  the  directors  re-elected  him  superintendent,  one  of  them  saying, 
"We  don't  care  if  j'ou  are  a  Mohammedan,  only  don't  teach  the  children  to  follow  you."     In  1840  he  resigned 

that  post  and  abjured 
Protestantism  com- 
pletely. He  was 
through  all  these  years 
a  friend  of  Father 
Wiley,  and  went  to  his 
house  at  Taunton  to 
make  a  spiritual  re- 
treat at  the  time  of 
his  abjuration,  and  in 
November  he  was  re- 
ceived into  the  church. 
Shortly  after  he  was 
confirmed  by  Bishop 
Fenwick  and  received 
holy  communion.  He 
then  left  for  Europe 
and  visited  Rome  and 
other  cities,  and  final- 
ly entered  the  Sulpi- 
tian  Seminary.  While 
in  Rome  he  met  a 
Protestant,  James  R. 
Bayley,  who  after- 
wards   became   Arch- 

couRT-YARD,  HuusE  OF  THE  ANGEL  GUARDIAN.  bishop    of   Baltimore. 

He  was  also  present  in  Rome  when  Rev.  Alphonse  Ratisbonne  —  the  Jew  who  was  miraculously  converted  by 
the  Blessed  Virgin — received  first  communion.  After  two  years  in  St.  Sulpice,  Father  Haskins  was  ordained 
in  1844.  On  his  return  to  America  he  was  sent  to  assist  his  old  friend.  Father  Wiley,  then  in  Providence.  In 
1846  Father  Haskins  became  pastor  of  the  Church  of  St.  John,  on  Moon  Street.  Father  Wiley,  who  wag 
instrumental  in  converting  Father  Haskins,  received  the  last  rites  from  him,  and  died  in  his  arms  April  29,  1855. 
Father  Haskins  died  Saturday,  October  5,  1872.  He  was  buried  in  Forest  Hills  Cemetery  from  St.  Stephen's 
Church.  Bishop  Williams  celebrated  the  requiem  Mass,  assisted  by  Father  Lyndon,  V.  G.,  Fathers  D.  J. 
O'Farrell  and  McMahon,  and  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  now  Bishop  of  Portland.  St.  Stephen's  bell  tolled  Satur- 
day night  and  all  day  Sunday.  During  the  funeral  the  schools  and  stores  at  the  North  End  closed.  In  the 
funeral  procession  were  St.  Stephen's  Temperance  Society,  the  Hibernians',  the  Longshoremen's  Society,  and 
Sodality  of  the  Blessed  Virgin.  '■'■Nil  lie  iiiortuis  nisi  boiium."  Such  is  the  epitaph  that  deserves  to  be  carved 
on  Father  Haskins'  tomb,  for  surely  no  act  or  word  was  ever  done  or  said  by  him  that  was  not  born  of  good- 
ness, and  in  imitation  of  his  divine  model  meant  for  goodness  and  that  alone. 



IDouse  of  tbe  (3oot)  Sbepberb, 

HIS  institution  slielters  one  of  the  noblest  cliarities  undertaken  by  the  CathoUc  Church. 
It  is  a  protectory  and  reformatory  for  females.  It  had  its  beginning  May  2,  1867, 
when  a  private  house  on  Allen  Street,  West  End,  was  secured  and  given  into  the  charge 
of  the  Sisters  of  the  Good  Shepherd.  Before  the  lapse  of  a  year  a  larger  house  was 
needed,  and  in  March,  1868,  the  Eustis  mansion,  in  the  Mount  Pleasant  district,  on 
Shirley  Street,  was  leased  for  the  purpose.  After  some  alterations  had  been  effected, 
this  building  was  taken  possession  of  by  the  sisters  and  their  wards  in  the  following 
May.  The  ample  accommodations  found  here  seemed  to  justify  the  hope  that  it  would 
not  be  necessary  to  move  again  for  some  time;  but  the  grievous  fact  was,  that  in 
another  year  the  demands  made  upon  the  institution  largely  surpassed  its  capacities. 

A  charitable  gentleman  of  Boston,  in  February,  1869,  gave  $10,000  to  be  applied 
for  the  purchase  of  a  site  on  which  to  erect  a  building  of  sufficient  dimensions.  In 
the  following  year,  for  the  same  object,  the  State  agreed  to  grant  an  appropriation  of  $10,000,  provided  a  like 
amount  should  be  subscribed  by  other  parties,  and  both  sums  were  obtained.  After  some  delay,  the  Brigham 
estate,  situated  on  Tremont  Street,  opposite  Parker  Hill,  Roxbury,  was  purchased  for  $58,000.  Beginning 
December  8,  1870,  a  substantial  brick  structure,  capable  of  accommodating  150  inmates,  was  thereon  erected, 
while  the  Brigham  mansion  was  adapted  for  the  use  of  the  sisters.  Despite  sundry  additions,  it  became  nec- 
essary, in  1885,  to  erect  the  present  building.  This  is  a  brick  edifice,  with  brown  stone  trimmings,  rising  to 
the  height  of  four  stories  over  the  basement.  The  body  or  central  part  of  the  structure  measures  106  feet 
front  by  40  feet  depth;  the  north  wing,  go  by  40  feet,  and  the  south  wing,  50  by  40  feet.  Still  another  build- 
ing, costing  $120,000,  has  just  been  completed. 

In  twenty-two  years  the  total  number  of  females  received  by  the  institution  was  4,152.  Of  these  there 
were  provided  with  situations  or  returned  to  their  friends,  3,500,  and  the  average  number  in  the  house  at  one 
time  was  about  320.  The  inmates  are  required  to  be  employed  at  some  useful  occupation,  which  generally  is 
dressmaking,  tailoring,  or  laundry  work.  The  income  derived  from  this  does  not  make  the  institution  self- 
supporting.  Even  in  the  most  prosperous  times,  it  is  more  or  less  dependent  on  charity,  which  had  to  be,  at 
one  period,  solicited  from  door  to  door.  Popular  aid  is  generously  given  to  it  through  the  medium  of  fairs 
held  from  time  to  time.  It  is  also  frequently  the  recipient  of  a  considerable  donation  or  bequest  from  individ- 
uals.    But  the  State  has  refused  to  assist  it  again,  on  the  ground  that  it  is  a  sectarian  institution. 






IFnstitution  of  tbe  Xittle  Sisters  of  tbe  poov. 

I  HIS  admirable  charity  was  established  in  the  year  1870.  With  the  paternal  watchfulness 
that  has  been  characteristic  of  his  rule,  Bishop  Williams,  for  some  time,  had  realized  the 
necessity  of  some  asylum  of  the  kind.  The  aged  poor,  so  many  of  whom  owe  their  con- 
dition to  duty  nobly  done,  appealed  to  his  feelings  with  special  force,  and  he  welcomed  the 
time  when  the  strict  dictate  of  right  left  him  free,  so  far  as  his  means  permitted,  to  soften 
the  hardships  of  their  waning  lives. 
His  first  step  was  to  invite  the  Little  Sisters  of  the  Poor  to  open  a  house  in  Boston.  This  order, 
devoted    exclusively    to   the   care   of    the   poor,   had   been   founded   by  Pere   Le   Paileur,   in    Brittany,   about 


thirty  years  before.  The  invitation  was  promptly  accepted,  and  the  Rev.  Ernest  Le  Lievre  was  sent  on 
from  the  mother  house,  at  Renne,  to  make  the  necessary  arrangements.  Soon  after,  on  April  18,  1870,  Sister 
Mary  of  the  Conception,  First  Assistant  to  the  Mother  General,  accompanied  by  six  other  sisters,  arrived  from 



France.  They  were  installed  in  two  adjoining  houses  in  Springfield  Street,  corner  of  Harrison  Avenue,  that 
had  been  rented  and  prepared  for  their  use.  This  was  the  first  home  for  the  aged  poor  established  by  the 
sisters  in  Boston.  The  sisters  spent  two  years  in  these  quarters,  sheltering  and  caring  for  thirty-six  old  people, 
all  that  there  was  accommodation  for.  Being  well  satisfied  with  their  work,  the  Bishop,  on  April  26,  1872, 
through  the  agency  of  Messrs.  Owen  Nawn  and  Bernard  Foley,  purchased  for  them  the  Bartlett  estate  on 
Dudley  Street,  near  St.  Patrick's  new  church,  Roxbury.  It  consisted  of  a  residence  with  50,270  square  feet 
of  land,  the  price  being  $50,000.  The  residence  was  refitted  for  its  new  purpose  without  dela)',  after  which 
the  sisters  with  their  charges  removed  to  it  from  Springfield  Street.  Here  they  were  able  to  receive  forty 

Six  months  after,  a  new  and  larger  house  was  erected  on  the  property.  This  forms  the  Woodward 
Avenue  wing  of  the  present  building.  In  1874  the  central  part  was  built.  The  second  wing  together  with  the 
chapel  was  completed  in  1883,  and  still  another  addition  was  made  in  1893.  As  it  appears  now,  the  home  is 
a  substantial  brick  structure,  two  stories  in  height,  175  feet  long  and  75  feet  deep  at  the  wings.  Although 
some  of  the  land  has  been  sold  to  the  city  for  improvement  purposes,  further  purchases  have  increased  the 

House  of  ihe  li'jtle  sisters  (.)F  the  poor,  charlestown. 

total  to  56,024  square  feet.     The  whole  property  is  now  valued  at  $go,ooo,  while  the  last  dollar  of  indebted- 
ness was  paid  in  July,  1893. 

The  community  comprises  fifteen  sisters  under  the  direction  of  Mother  Mary  Blanche.  The  rule  of  the 
institution  restricts  admission  to  friendless  and  destitute  people  over  sixty  years  of  age.  There  is  accommo- 
dation for  210  persons,  and  that  number  is  constantly  in  the  home.  Vacancies  caused  by  death  or  departure 
are  promptly  filled  by  applicants  waiting  for  admission.  Of  the  present  number  100  are  men,  and  no  are 
women.  They  are  treated  with  the  utmost  kindness  and  consideration.  All  the  necessaries  of  life  are  sup- 
plied to  them.  The  feeble  or  infirm  are  constantly  aided,  and  the  sick  are  nursed  in  the  infirmaries  under  the 
direction  of  a  physician.  Those  able  to  perform  any  work  are  expected  to  do  it,  without  overtaxing  their 
strength.  The  women  are  generally  employed  in  sewing  or  at  laundry  work;  while  the  men,  when  they  can 
not  be  utilized  at  such  trades  as  they  may  have  followed,  help  in  the  barn,  the  kitchen  garden,  or  the  general 
work  of  the  institution.  Cleanliness  and  order  reign  in  every  department.  The  dormitories,  with  their  neat 
and  comfortable  beds,  are  especially  remarkable  for  these  two  characteristics. 



The  institution  is  entirely  maintained  by  private  cliarity.  Tliis  is  chiefly  obtained  by  the  sisters,  who  go 
from  door  to  door  soliciting  aid  in  whatever  form  may  be  convenient  to  the  giver.  In  this  way,  besides  dona- 
tions of  money,  they  receive  food,  clothing,  or  material  for  clothing.  Unsolicited  gifts  have  been  frequent  and 
generous,  although  but  little  is  known  of  the  home  by  people  generally.  Yet,  not  one-third  of  the  cases  of 
destitution  among  the  aged,  brought  to  the  knowledge  of  the  community,  can  be  relieved.  There  is  only  too 
great  a  need  for  a  much  wider  and  more  generous  support. 



On  April  30,  1SS3,  another  home  was  opened  in  Charlestown,  which,  at  present,  shelters  fifty  old  people. 
It  is  designed  for  temporary  use,  and  will  in  time,  no  doubt,  be  abandoned  when  more  commodious  quarters 
will  be  available. 

A  much  larger  institution  was  opened  December  26,  1889,  at  Somerville.  Only  one  wing  of  the  building 
provided  for  in  the  plans  has  so  far  been  erected,  but  it  gives  ample  accommodation  to  135  persons.  Work 
has  just  begun  on  the  other  wing.     When  finished  it  is  expected  that  it  will  accommodate  about  300  inmates. 



IDome  for  ©eetitute  Catholic  Cbilbreii. 

C  MONG  the  most  deplorable  consequences  of  the  Civil  War  was  the  suffering  it  brought  upon 
children.  In  the  winter  of  1863-4,  the  natural  protectors  of  many  of  the  little  victims  had 
been  killed,  or  were  absent,  fighting  for  the  Union.  On  this  account  numerous  families  in 
Boston  were  steeped  in  the  direst  poverty.  Heartrending  tales  were  told  at  that  time,  of 
homes  without  food  and  fuel,  of  boys  and  girls  barefooted  and  ragged,  exposed  to  the  inclem- 
ency of  the  season.  So  great  was  the  mass  of  misery,  that  even  Boston's  well-known  benevo- 
lence was  not  entirely  capable  of  coping  with  it. 

A  large  number  of  the  unfortunate  children  were  Catholics,  for  Catholic  men  had  been 
among  the  readiest  to  enlist  for  the  war.  The  condition  of  these  gave  the  Catholic  clergy 
and  several  prominent  laymen  the  deepest  concern.  After  some  earnest  discussion,  a  proposition 
/A  to  meet  the  evil  by  establishing  a  home  for  destitute  children  received  general  approval.  To  carry 
I  it  into  effect,  the  superintendents  of  the  Catholic  Sunday-schools  were  invited  to  confer  with  other 
persons  interested,  at  a  meeting  in  the  basement  of  the  pro-Cathedral,  to  be  held  March  20,  1864.  The  out- 
come of  this  meeting  was  that  the  forming  of  a  plan  of  organization  was  entrusted  to  a  committee  composed  of 
Very  Rev.  John  J.  Williams,  V.  G.,  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  Patrick  Bonahoe,  William  S.  Pelletier,  Charles  F. 
Donnelly,  and  William  J.  Mellen.  At  a  second  meeting,  held  April  28,  under  the  presidency  of  Vicar-General 
Williams,  it  was  resolved  to  open  and  maintain  a  "Temporary  Home  for  Destitute  Roman  Catholic  Children" 
under  the  control  of  a  duly  chartered  corporation,  to  consist  of  fourteen  members  representing  the  entire  city, 
and  one  clergyman  to  be  designated  by  the  Bishop.  The  lay  corporators  were  selected  at  a  meeting  held 
March  5.  Patrick  Donahoe,  William  Coyle,  Arthur  McAvoy,  Patrick  H.  Powers,  O.  Lappen,  Cornelius  Mur- 
phy, James  Havey,  James  Collins,  Charles  F.  Donnelly,  P.  I.  Grace,  Matthew  Keany,  John  C.  Crowley,  John 
Leahy,  and  William  J.  Mellen  were  present  at  the  first  meeting  of  the  corporation,  which  was  held  in  Patrick 
Donahoe's  house.  No.  19  Franklin  Street,  May  11,  and  signed  and  sealed  the  articles  of  association.  The 
incorporation  of  "  The  Association  for  the  Protection  of  Destitute  Roman  Catholic  Children  in  Boston  "  was 
perfected  by  recording  the  articles  with  the  Suffolk  Deeds  on  May  12.  The  first  officers  of  the  board  were: 
Patrick  Donahoe,  president;  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  the  director  named  by  the  Bishop,  vice-president;  Patrick 
H.  Powers,  secretary;  Owen  Lappen,  treasurer;  and  Arthur  McAvoy,  P.  L  Grace,  and  William  Coyle,  execu- 
tive committee. 

After  this,  a  suitable  house  for  use  as  a  home  was  sought  for.  The  Eliot  Charity  School  at  No.  g  High 
Street,  which  had  been  maintained  by  Protestant  philanthropists  for  the  shelter  of  destitute  children  of  all 
religions,  was  abandoned  at  this  time.  The  building  was  found  adapted  to  the  purpose  of  the  corporation, 
and  was  accordingly  leased  through  the  agency  of  Father  Healy.  Mr.  George  W.  Adams  was  elected  superin- 
tendent, July  12,  and  Mrs.  Leake,  the  former  matron  of  the  school,  was  engaged  as  matron  of  the  home. 
Better  accommodations  became  desirable  after  the  lapse  of  a  year,  and  the  lot  and  buildings  at  No.  10  Com- 
mon Street  were  bought  at  the  total  cost  of  $11,320.47.  The  first  meeting  of  the  board  here  was  held  Novem- 
ber 8,  1865.  On  January  10,  1865,  it  was  thought  that  better  results  could  be  obtained  by  giving  the  domestic 
affairs  of  the  institution  into  the  charge  of  the  Sisters  of  Charity,  while  retaining  the  lay  superintendent,  and 



keeping  the  property  of  the  home  in  the  hands  of  the  corporation.  The  sisters  were  accordingly  invited  to 
the  home  for  that  purpose.  The  invitation  was  accepted  January  24,  i866,  and  a  community  of  the  order  has 
directed  the  internal  work  of  the  home  since.  The  first  sister-servant  was  Sister  Almida,  who  governed  her 
little  kingdom,  for  seven  years,  with  the  gentleness  and  patience  which  only  divine  charity  can  evoke.  Her 
untiring  labors  broke  down  her  health  and  obliged  her  to  seek  recuperation  in  Maryland.  Her  quest  was  vain, 
and  she  returned  northward  to  Troy,  N.  Y.,  where,  on  March  11,  1873,  she  died  from  the  effects  of  a  painful 

Sister  Almida,  however,  had  been  spared  to  enjoy  the  pleasure  of  installing  her  community  and  their 
charges  in  the  present  home  on  Harrison  Avenue.  The  need  of  such  a  building  was  felt  by  the  board  of 
directors  as  early  as  i856.  In  June,  1867,  the  site,  consisting  of  40,000  feet  of  land,  was  purchased  from  the 
city  at  seventy-five  cents  per  foot,  a  price  asserted  to  be  half  the  market  value.     With  the  purpose  of  providing 

HoMK    Kik    liKMlirih    (.AIHdI.K;    CHILDREN. 

a  play-ground  for  the  children,  another  lot,  adjoining  the  rear  of  the  first,  was  bought  in  December,  1869. 
Owing  to  the  dullness  of  business,  building  was  delayed  until  the  fall  of  1870.  Bishop  Williams  laid  the  cor- 
ner-stone in  October,  Bishop  O'Reilly,  of  Springfield,  preaching  the  sermon  for  the  occasion.  The  services 
were  stated  to  have  been  witnessed  by  50,000  persons,  Mayor  Shurtleff  and  Mr.  Gaston  being  among  them. 
The  completed  building  was  dedicated  by  Bishop  Williams  in  187 1,  when  the  sermon  was  delivered  by  the  Rt. 
Rev.  Dr.  Bayley,  Bishop  of  Newark.  The  offerings  made  in  aid  of  the  home  on  this  occasion  were  very  large. 
In  the  fall  of  1872  a  lecture  for  the  benefit  of  the  institution,  delivered  by  the  famous  Dominican,  the  Rev. 
Tom  Burke,  in  the  old  Coliseum  building,  to  an  audience  of  38,000  persons,  added  $11,435  to  the  funds.  The 
debt  was  great,  but  these  and  other  generous  contributions  quickly  lessened  it. 

The  building  is  a  handsome  structure  of  brick,  tastefully  trimmed  with  faced  stone.     It  is  three  stories  in 
height,  and  has  a  frontage  on  Harrison  Avenue  of  175  feet,  for  a  depth  of  50  feet.     Its  interior  is  divided  into 


dormitories,  bath-rooms,  dining-rooms,  school-rooms,  play-rooms,  infirmaries,  and  other  apartments.  In  the 
rear  is  a  spacious  play-ground,  that  must  be  of  great  utility  in  preserving  the  health  of  the  inmates. 

The  chief  purpose  of  the  institution  is  to  furnish  a  temporary  refuge  to  destitute  children  between  the 
ages  of  three  and  twelve  years.  These"  are  received  without  charge,  and  sheltered,  clothed,  fed,  and  instructed 
until  they  are  either  restored  to  their  relatives  or  placed  in  good  Catholic  homes.  It  is  not  left  to  themselves 
to  apply  for  admission,  or  to  their  guardians  to  place  them  in  the  home.  An  active  search  for  them  is  con- 
stantly maintained  in  the  city  by  several  persons.  The  superintendent  watches  the  municipal  court  and  prison 
for  their  appearance  in  either  place;  the  directors  of  the  home  keep  up  a  perpetual  surveillance  of  their 
respective  parishes  for  the  same  purpose;  the  members  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul's  Society  pursue  them  into 
their  homes  and  notify  the  officers  of  the  institution  where  they  may  be  found;  while  the  truant  officers  and 
the  agents  of  the  Society  for  the  Prevention  of  Cruelty  to  Children  aid  and  abet  as  far  as  they  are  able. 

The  report  for  the  year  ending  September  i,  1894,  shows  that  820  children  were  received  and  788  were 
placed  in  families,  while  the  average  number  of  children  in  the  home  each  day  was  208.  The  total  number 
received  since  the  home  began  its  existence  in  High  Street,  in  i865,  up  to  September  1,  1894,  was  11,686. 
The  yearly  expenses  of  the  home  amount  to  about  $20,000.  The  sources  of  income  are:  An  annnal  collec- 
tion, generally  )delding  about  $5,000;  subscriptions  amounting  to  about  $4,000;  the  efforts  of  the  Ladies'  Aid 
Society,  which  last  year  resulted  in  $6,000;  and  bequests,  never  a  dependable  source,  and  which  the  directors 
think  should  be  solely  reserved  for  the  extension  of  the  work. 



St.  /Iftar^  8  Ifiifant  Helium,  ©orcbester. 

H  E  practical  nature  of  the  work  performed  by  Catholic  religious  orders  is  well  exemplified  in 
St.  Mary's  Infant  Asylum,  Dorchester.  This  is  an  institution  where  abandoned  and  otherwise 
unfortunate  infants  are  received  and  provided  for.  Its  need  became  apparent  to  the  St.  Vincent 
de  Paul  Society  more  than  a  quarter  of  a  century  ago.  So  many  cases  of  unprotected  babes 
came  under  their  notice,  that  a  surplus  fund  possessed  by  them  was  set  apart  for  the  main- 
tenance of  some  place  where  the  little  waifs  could  be  sheltered  and  cared  for,  pending  their 
disposal  to  some  persons  willing  to  take  proper  charge  of  them.  At  first,  the  use  of  a  ward  in 
Carney  Hospital,  with  the  services  of  a  Sister  of  Charity,  was  secured.  Later,  it  became  necessary  to  establish 
a  separate  institution.  For  this  purpose,  on  February  i,  1872,  the  Seaver  estate,  comprising  a  dwelling-house 
and  thirteen  acres  of  land,  on  Bowdoin  Street,  Dorchester,  was  purchased  for  $56,700.  Here  was  opened  the 
St.  Ann's  Infant  Asylum,  in  the  care  of  three  Sisters  of  Charity.  On  October  i,  1874,  a  charter  of  incorpora- 
tion, under  the  title  of  St.  Mary's  Infant  Asylum,  was  obtained,  the  incorporators  being  the  Rt.  Rev.  John  J. 
Williams,  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  Rev. 
Peter  Ronan,  and  Messrs.  Owen  Nawn, 
Bernard  Foley,  Patrick  A.  Collins,  and 
Thomas  Ring.  At  this  time,  with  a 
debt  of  $70,000,  the  asylum  was  not 
paying  its  expenses.  Soon  after,  a  new 
board,  composed  entirely  of  Sisters  of 
Charity,  took  the  place  of  the  first  one. 
Matters  improved  considerably  for  a 
time  after  this,  but  the  asylum  proved 
to  be  unsuitable  in  many  ways.  At 
length  it  was  abandoned  for  a  new 
location  on  an  eminence  overlook- 
ing the  city  and  harbor,  on  Cushing 
Avenue,  which  was  purchased  in  1883, 
through  the  agency  of  Mr.  John  O'Brien, 
for  $14,000.  A  proposition  to  surrender 
the  property  on  Bowdoin  Street  —  the 
debt  on  which  was  now  $30,000  —  to 
the  mortgagees,  was  rejected.  Thanks 
to  the  unremitting  efforts  of  Mr.  O'Brien  and  others,  the  institution  obtained  more  support  from  the 
charitably  disposed  than  heretofore.  The  efforts  of  the  community  and  the  lay  friends  of  the  institution  suc- 
ceeded in  reducing  the  debt  on  the  Seaver  estate  to  $16,000.  The  Sisters  of  Charity  withdrew  from  the  asylum 
December  15,  1890,  and  the  Sisters  Nazareth  took  charge  of  it.  With  less  experience  than  their  predecessors 
in  conducting  such  institutions,  they  were  not  successful,  and  they  withdrew  November  14,  1892.  A  proposal  to 
merge  the  charity  in  that  of  the  Home  for  Destitute  Catholic  Children  was  now  made  but  not  adopted,  and  the 
Sisters  of  Charity  were  induced  to  resume  of  charge  it,  which  they  did  January  17,  1893.  The  asylum  has  no 
income,  no  endowment,  but  depends  for  support  wholly  upon  the  charity  of  the  public.  It  refuses  no  cases,  ex- 
cept where  there  is  a  contagious  disease.  In  the  past  year  475  children  were  received.  The  mortality  rate  was 
30  per  cent.,  a  low  figure  when  it  is  remembered  that  a  large  number  of  the  children  were  brought  to  the  home 
in  a  sickly  or  dying  condition.     There  is  also  in  connection  with  the  asylum  a  lying-in  department. 



MorMng^eirls^  IDome. 

^il         W         J|l 

HILE  based  upon  motives  of  far-seeing  cliarity,  this  is  not  a  charitable  institution 
in  the  ordinary  sense.  Its  main  object  is  the  prevention  of  possible  evil,  rather 
than  the  cure  or  removal  of  existing  evil.  Its  benefits  may  be  received  without 
hurt  to  a  proper  spirit  of  self-respect.  Briefly  described,  it  is  a  boarding-house 
for  girls.  As  in  other  boarding-houses,  payment  is  exacted  for  services  rendered; 
but  it  differs  from  them  in  every  other  respect.  It  is  an  ideal  boarding-house, — 
such  a  one  as  the  millenium  might  be  expected  to  bring,  or  as  the  author  of 
"  Looking  Backward "  might  conscientiously  approve.  Its  promoters  seek  no 
profit  more  than  is  necessary  to  render  it  self-supporting.  Beyond  that,  it  is  con- 
ducted solely  for  the  benefit  of  its  boarders.  The  result  is  that,  for  a  weekly  fee 
insufficient,  as  a  general  thing,  to  secure  board  and  lodging  elsewhere  in  the  city  under  moderately  respectable 
conditions,  a  girl  can  have  the  comforts,  and  much  of  the  counsel  and  guardianship,  of  a  refined  home  beneath 
its  roof. 

The  idea  of  establishing  such  a  home  had  been  long  entertained  by  His  Grace,  the  Archbishop.  Pater- 
nally watchful  of  his  people,  none  knew  so  well  the  trials  to  which  working  girls  were  exposed  in  the  city. 
The  situation  of  those  who,  coming  from  a  distance — from  other  states  and  other  countries — worked  for  wages 
not  half  sufficient  to  pay  for  board  and  decent  c'.othing,  gave  him  the  deepest  concern.  The  evils  arising  from 
such  a  condition  of  things,  which  could  only  be  suspected  by  people  generally,  were  largely  known  to  him. 

At  length,  he  made-  a  beginning.  He  rented  a  house  for  the  purpose.  A  gentleman  whom  he  had 
acquainted  with  his  intentions  sent  him  a  check  for  $i,ooo  to  aid  it.  Upon  consideration,  he  was  convinced 
that  a  permanent  matron  was  necessary.  He  thought  of  the  Grey  Nuns,  who  conducted  similar  houses  in 
Lawrence  and  Salem  with  success,  and  called  them,  to  his  assistance.  In  response,  Sisters  Kavanagh,  Quinn, 
and  Savaria  came  in  January,  1888,  from  Salem  to  ascertain  for  themselves  the  best  way  in  which  to  comply 
with  the  wishes  of  His  Grace.  By  the  advice  of  a  gentleman  who  was  friendly  to  the  project,  they  selected 
the  houses  numbered  34  and  36  Dover  Street  in  which  to  begin  their  work.  The  location  was  unfortunately 
chosen,  although  there  were  reasons  urged  in  its  favor.  Both  buildings  were  leased  by  the  Archbishop.  They 
needed  a  thorough  cleansing  and  renovation  interiorly.  This  the  sisters  partly  did  themselves,  and  partly 
supervised,  coming  to  Boston  daily  for  the  purpose,  and  returning  in  the  evening  to  Salem.  The  sisters  made 
them  their  permanent  residence  on  April  i.  Sister  Kavanagh  acting  as  Superior.  With  the  purpose  of  adopting 
some  way  of  co-operating  with  them,  an  informal  meeting  of  ladies  was  held.  May  3,  at  No.  34.  From  this 
meeting  sprang  the  Working-Girls'  Friend  Society,  which  soon  became,  what  it  is  at  present,  a  most  active  and 
influential  supporter  of  the  enterprise.  This  organization  quickly  furnished  the  home  in  a  tasteful  and  most 
attractive  way.  There  was  accommodation  for  from  forty  to  fifty  girls.  In  the  first  year,  35  were  received  and 
10  were  refused;  in  the  second  year,  168  were  received  and  18  were  refused;  in  the  third  year,  283  were 
received  and  706  were  refused;  and  in  nine  months  of  the  succeeding  year,  366  were  received  and  1,005  were 
refused.  These  figures  indicated  success,  not  alone  for  the  establishment  on  Dover  Street,  but  for  a  much 
larger  one,  the  need  of  which  they  also  proved. 



With  the  purpose  of  erecting  a  home  capable  of  receiving  all  the  girls  who  were  refused  for  lack  of  space 
in  Dover  Street,  the  Archbishop,  on  April  i,  1891,  effected  the  purchase  of  over  22,000  feet  of  land,  situated 
at  the  corner  of  Union  Park  Street  and  Harrison  Avenue,  opposite  his  own  residence.  The  work  of  laying 
the  foundations  began  August  3,  1891,  and  continued  until  October  10,  when  it  was  abandoned  until  the  fol- 
lowing spring.  A  movement  to  assist  His  Grace  had  been  started  at  a  meeting  of  the  society  held  at  Steinert 
Hall  in  May.  It  had  gained  some  headway  when,  at  a  public  meeting  held  in  Boston  College  Hall,  January 
24,  1892,  the  Archbishop,  in  the  course  of  an  address  sketching  the  histoiy  of  the  home,  gave  the  movement 
his  heartiest  approval.  After  this  it  gathered  force.  In  addition  to  several  donations,  the  building  fund  was 
increased  by  $4,700,  obtained  through  the  agency  of  a  concert,  a  lecture,  and  a  tableau  exhibition  given  that 
winter  and  spring,  under  the  auspices  of  the  Working-Girls'  Friend  Society.  Building  was  resumed  April  i . 
Thenceforward,  the  work  of  erection  went  on  uninterruptedly  until  a  wing  was  completed.     The  sisters  with 

lIuML      UAKkl.^ilN    A\  I.NL  1., 

their  boarders  took  possession  May  31,  1893.  The  plans,  as  drawn  by  W.  H.  and  J.  A.  McGinty,  of  Boston, 
provide  for  a  building  with  a  Romanesque  front,  to  be  built  of  brick  with  granite  trimmings.  The  completed 
wing  is  five  stories  high  and  132  feet  long.  Its  basement,  14  feet  in  height,  is  nearly  all  above  ground.  Here, 
besides  the  culinary  departments,  are  a  general  lavatory,  a  sewing-room,  the  sisters'  refectory,  a  gymnasium, 
and  the  girls'  dining-room.  A  flight  of  marble  steps  leads  from  the  door  on  the  sidewalk  to  the  first  floor. 
On  this  floor  are  three  parlors,  besides  the  rooms  for  the  sisters,  a  community  room,  a  reading-room,  and  an 
office  for  the  employment  bureau.  The  second,  third,  fourth,  and  fifth  floors  are  occupied  by  a  chapel,  the 
boarders'  rooms,  and  bath-rooms.  A  corridor  10  feet  wide,  and  laid  with  a  rubber  covering,  runs  from  end  to 
end  of  each  floor.     Three  staircases,  of  ample  width,  lead  from  the  attic  to  the  first  floor. 

Neatness  and  order  are  the  characteristics  of  the  kitchen,  pantry,  baking-room,  etc.     The  gymnasium, 
measuring  43  by  33  feet,  is  to  be  supplied  with   some  exercising  apparatus  and  a  piano,  and  is  free  to  the 


boarders  for  dancing,  singing,  or  other  unobjectionable  recreation.  Tlie  boarders'  dining-room,  45-^-  by  41  feet, 
with  its  floor  of  Italian  mosaic  and  daintily  laid  tables,  is  such  as  can  be  only  found  in  a  high-class  hotel. 
The  parlors  are  supplied  with  pianos,  and  are  tastefully  carpeted  and  furnished,  and  open  to  the  boarders  for 
social  intercourse  or  the  reception  of  their  friends.  The  chapel  is  a  room  12  by  2  4-|-  feet,  having  a  pretty  little 
altar  with  tabernacle,  and  opening  by  sliding  doors  on  the  corridor  of  the  second  floor,  where  are  ranged 
folding  chairs  for  the  convenience  of  those  desiring  to  participate  in  the  devotions  of  the  sisters.  The  employ- 
ment bureau  is  for  the  exclusive  advantage  of  the  boarders,  and  is  in  the  competent  charge  of  Mrs.  M.  E.  P. 
Fennell,  who  has  been  one  of  the  most  active  and  useful  friends  of  the  home  since  it  was  first  established. 

The  chambers  consist  of  double  and  single  rooms,  well  lighted,  ventilated,  and  heated,  and  furnished  to 
the  verge  of  luxury.  A  special  feature  of  them  are  the  beds,  which  consist  of  iron  bedsteads,  having  the  wire 
mattresses  of  the  best  mannfacture,  a  soft  hair  mattress  of  the  best  quality,  and  linen  of  snowy  whiteness. 
There  are  no  double  beds.  The  double  rooms  have  a  bed  for  each  occupant,  as  well  as  separate  places  for 
their  clothing  and  other  possessions. 

The  home  is  conducted  by  seven  sisters  under  the  direction  of  Sister  Superior  M.  A.  Mongeau.  The 
preceding  Superiors  were:  Sister  Kavanagh,  appointed  April  i,  1888,  and  Sister  Quinn,  September  i,  1888. 
The  present  Superior  was  sent  from  Montreal,  and  took  charge  September  5,  1889.  She  had  charge  of  the 
City  Orphanage  of  Salem  from  September,  1876,  to  September  8,  1887.  She  is  a  pleasant  and  courteous  lady, 
such  as  must  easily  win  the  confidence  of  her  boarders,  and  is  manifestly  filled  with  zeal  for  the  work  she  is 
engaged  in. 

The  rules  of  the  home  are  only  such  as  a  mother  would  approve.  All  the  boarders  are  expected  to  be  in 
the  house  by  10  p.m.,  except  when  they  go  to  the  theatre,  attend  a  lecture,  or  have  any  other  sufficient  cause 
for  remaining  out  later,  previous  notification  of  same  being  required.  Each  of  the  floors  on  which  are  the 
boarders'  rooms  is  in  charge  of  a  sister,  who  keeps  in  her  room  a  medicine  case  and  a  gas  stove.  A  girl  who 
feels  unwell  has  only  to  apply  to  this  sister  to  receive  the  remedy,  be  it  a  cup  of  tea  or  a  phenacetine  powder. 
Should  she  be  in  trouble  of  any  kind,  she  will  find  in  the  same  sister  a  sympathizing  friend  and  a  wise  coun- 
selor. No  one  is  debarred  from  admission  to  the  home  because  of  her  religion,  and  no  minister  of  religion  is 
debarred  from  visiting  any  of  the  boarders  who  may  desire  his  presence.  It  is  intended  to  establish,  at  an 
early  date,  a  department  through  which  the  girls  may  learn  a  desirable  business,  or  improve  in  that  in  which 
they  may  be  engaged.  Single  rooms  with  board  can  be  had  for  $5.00  per  week,  and  double  rooms  with  board 
can  be  hired  by  two  occupants  for  $7.00  per  week.  The  home  accommodates  210  boarders,  and  it  has  had 
that  number  constantly  for  some  time.  Many  have  been  refused  because  of  lack  of  room,  and  it  is  designed 
to  begin  building  again  shortly. 


Catholic  IHnion  of  Boston, 

IKE  many  other  associations  of  the  same  character,  this  organization  had  its  origin 
in  the  words  of  Pius  IX,  recommending  the  Catholic  laity  to  unite  and  organize  in 
the  defense  and  promotion  of  Catholic  interests.  The  project  of  establishing  it  was 
first  proposed  at  a  meeting  held  in  1873,  at  the  pastoral  residence  of  St.  James' 
parish.  Besides  the  pastor  of  St.  James,  the  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  now  Bishop  of 
Portland,  there  were  present  a  number  of  prominent  Catholic  laymen.  The  first 
election  of  officers  resulted  in  the  choice  of :  Theodore  Metcalf,  president ;  Patrick 
Donahoe,  first  vice-president;  John  C.  Crowley,  second  vice-president;  John  Boyle 
O'Reilly,  recording  secretary;  William  S.  Pelletier,  corresponding  secretary;  Hugh  O'Brien, 
treasurer.  The  members  of  the  executive  committee  were :  Dr.  John  G.  Blake,  Hon. 
Patrick  A.  Collins,  John  F.  McEvoy,  William  T.  Connolly,  and  Henry  L.  Richards ;  and  those  of  the  committee 
on  nominations  were :  Hugh  Carey,  General  Patrick  R.  Guirney,  John  Boyle  O'Reilly,  Samuel  Tuckerman,  and 
the  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  who  was  also  spiritual  adviser  of  the  Union. 

With  a  view  to  enlarging  its  field  of  action  and  augmenting  the  agencies  by  which  it  sought  its  object,  the 
Union,  in  1877,  obtained  a  charter  of  incorporation.  The  incorporators  named  were  John  C.  Crowley,  Hugh 
O'Brien,  Theodore  Metcalf,  H.  L.  Richards,  Samuel  Tuckerman,  George  F.  Emery,  and  William  S.  Pelletier. 
The  purposes,  as  declared,  were,  "The  promotion  of  virtue,  learning,  and  piety,  the  intelligent  consideration 
and  more  efficient  aid  of  educational,  charitable,  and  religious  objects,  and  the  advancement  of  the  best  inter- 
ests of  the  community  through  its  Roman  Catholic  members, — religiously,  intellectually,  and  socially  —  by 
means  of  public  worship  and  discourses  on  Christian  and  national  festivals,  and  by  studies,  lectures,  social 
meetings,  and  other  beneficial  amenities,  incidental  and  auxiliary  to  said  main  purpose  of  the  institution."  To 
these,  Article  I  of  the  association's  by-laws  adds,  "And,  as  inseparable  from  and  involved  in  the  said  purposes 
of  this  corporation,  it  shall  be  our  duty,  both  as  American  citizens  and  Roman  Catholics,  to  continue  to  defend 
and  promote  Catholic  interests;  to  maintain  a  spirit  of  devotion  to  the  Holy  Father,  and  to  promote  by  all 
proper  means  a  spirit  of  reverence  for  his  rights,  both  spiritual  and  temporal." 

To  efficaciously  carry  out  these  high  and  comprehensive  purposes.  Article  II  of  the  by-laws  makes  it 
incumbent  on  the  Union  to  maintain  "a  suitable  place  or  places  in  Boston,"  and  to  hold  therein  a  social  meet- 
ing of  all  the  members  on  one  evening  in  every  week.  The  proposal  and  adoption  of  all  further  means  are 
left  to  the  e.xecutive  committee.  In  the  infancy  of  the  Union  but  little  was  attempted  and  accomplished.  With 
the  lapse  of  time  the  ground  covered  by  its  work  gradually  enlarged.  Its  extent  now  is  fairly  indicated  by  the 
standing  committees  for  the  year  1893-4,  which  were,  the  Catholic  Truth  Committee,  the  Committee  on  Chari- 
table and  Penal  Institutions,  the  Library  Committee,  the  Committee  on  Music,  the  Committee  on  Receptions, 
etc.,  at  Family  Reunions,  the  Committee  on  Suppers  at  Family  Reunions,  the  Committee  on  Ladies'  Nights, 
the  Auditing  Committee,  and  the  Committee  on  Building  Fund. 

The  social  features  in  the  programme  have  been  the  most  attractive.  The  meeting  on  W^ednesday  even- 
ings is  often  attended  by  Archbishop  Williams  in  his  capacity  as  Honorary  President.  Lately,  these  meetings 
.were  made  much  more  interesting  than  previously  by  devoting  them  to  conversation  on  prescribed  topics.    The 


concerts  and  family  reunions,  generally  held  in  a  public  hall  about  once  a  month,  on  Monday  evenings,  are 
well  attended,  and  most  enjoyable  occasions.  Also,  under  this  head  come  the  Union's  receptions  to  distin- 
guished men,  generally  well  managed  and  reflecting  much  credit  on  the  Catholic  community.  Notable  among 
these  were  the  receptions  to  Cardinal  Gibbons,  on  the  occasion  of  his  last  visit  to  Boston,  and  to  Archbishop 
Williams,  in  the  celebration  of  his  silver  jubilee. 

The  diffusion  of  truthful  information  regarding  the  faith,  practices,  and  history  of  the  Catholic  Church 
was  adopted  as  a  special  work  of  the  Union  on  the  recommendation  of  His  Grace,  the  Archbishop.  This  has 
become  urgently  necessary  because  of  the  numberless  falsehoods  relating  to  the  Church,  spread  broadcast  over 
the  country  through  publications  made  acceptable  to  a  depraved  taste  by  their  salacious  or  sensational  con- 
tents. No  doubt  can  be  entertained  that  many  well-meaning  people  have  been  drawn  into  the  so-called  Ameri- 
can Protective  Association,  so  rampant  at  present,  by  these  falsehoods.  The  only  way  to  meet  the  evil,  and  it 
is  a  labor  of  genuine  charity  as  well  as  of  self-preservation  for  the  Catholic  body,  is  to  spread  the  truth  as 
thoroughly  as  the  falsehood.  The  task  presents  at  home  as  veritable  a  field  for  missionary  effort  as  the  wilds 
of  Africa  or  of  India.  Through  its  Committee  on  Catholic  Truth,  the  Union  is  doing  this  in  a  measure  com- 
mensurate with  its  means,  if  not  with  the  great  necessity,  by  distributing  sermons,  lectures,  newspaper  articles, 
and  other  forms  of  literature. 

The  Union's  educational  purpose  is  most  directly  served  by  lectures  and  by  the  meetings,  on  alternate 
Thursday  evenings,  of  the  Catholic  Union  and  the  John  Boyle  O'Reilly  Reading  Circles,  respectively  presided 
over  by  Mrs.  Mary  E.  Blake  and  Miss  Katherine  E.  Conway.  A  work  of  pure  benevolence  is  that  assigned  to 
the  Committee  on  Charitable  and  Penal  Institutions,  which,  through  conference  with  the  Catholic  chaplains, 
ascertains  the  moral  and  physical  needs  of  Cathohc  prisoners,  and  in  part  supplies  them.  Beyond  these  special 
lines  of  action,  the  organization  is  watchful  for  other  opportunities  of  serving  the  purposes  for  which  it  was 
founded.  A  memorable  occasion  of  this  kind  was  the  Catholic  demonstration  in  Boston  during  the  recent 
Columbian  celebrations,  the  Union  being  entitled  to  the  credit  of  projecting  it  and  of  largely  helping  to  carry 
it  out.  Anotherthing  to  its  credit  was  the  part  it  took  in  securing  a  proper  representation  of  Boston  in  the 
Catholic  Congress  held  in  the  same  period  at  Chicago.  It  has  also  given  support  to  the  Summer  School  at 
Lake  Champlain.  On  Washington's  Birthday  and  Thanksgiving  Day  it  is  the  Union's  custom  to  have  special 
public  services,  and  a  discourse  delivered  by  a  preacher  of  eminence  on  some  patriotic  subject,  in  the  Cathedral. 

While  the  Union  has  developed  slowly,  it  has  done  so  healthfully.  The  result  is  that  it  now  can  safely 
make  an  advance  which  cannot  fail  to  largely  increase  its  usefulness.  In  possession  of  a  building  fund 
amounting  to  $30,000,  it  recently  purchased  the  fine  estate,  consisting  of  a  brown  stone  mansion  and  lot,  situ- 
ated at  the  southeastern  corner  of  Washington  Street  and  Worcester  Square.  Here,  at  a  total  expense  of  about 
$70,000,  it  is  the  intention  of  the  Union  to  make  itself  a  suitable  home.  When  the  alterations  in  contemplation 
are  finished,  the  building  will  have  a  billiard -room,  smoking-room,  card-room,  bowling-alleys,  supper-rooms, 
hall,  and  a  library  of  Catholic  works,  in  addition  to  such  rooms  as  the  Union  now  occupies  in  Worcester  Street. 

BOARD    OF    GOVERNMENT,    1893-4. 

Honorary  President,  Most  Rev.  John  J.  Williams,  D.  D. ;  President,  John  P.  Leahy;  First  Vice-President, 
John  J.  McCluskey;  Second  Vice-President,  John  P.  Manning;  Recording  Secretary  and  Treasurer,  Francis 
Martin ;  Corresponding  Secretary,  Thomas  J.  Kelly ;  Executive  Committee,  the  foregoing  officers  ex-officiis  and 
John  W.  McDonald,  P.  A.  Dowd,  T.  M.  Watson,  F.  J.  McLaughlin,  William  Sullivan;  Spiritual  Adviser,  Rev. 
L.  M.  A.  Corcoran. 


Of  tliis  Association  are  cliosen  because  of  their  great  ability  and  eminent  services  in  the  Clmrcli  or 
tlieir  good  ivorlt  in  tlie  Association. 

Most  Rev.  John  J.  Williams,  D.  D.,  Rt.  Rev.  James  A.  Healy,  Rt.  Rev.  John  Brady,  D.  D.,  Very  Rev. 
William  Byrne,  Rev.  J.  P.  Bodfish,  Miss  Emma  Forbes  Carey,  Miss  Katherine  Eleanor  Conway,  Mrs.  Mary 
Elizabeth  Blake. 


Rev.  L.  M.  A.  Corcoran,  Rev.  William  H.  Fitzpatrick,  Rev.  Robert  Fulton,  S.  J.,  Rev.  Hugh  Roe  O'Donnell. 



Carmelite  Convent,  IRoxbnr^. 

URING  the  Catholic  Congress  held  in  Baltimore,  Maryland,  in  November  of  1889, 
one  of  the  Boston  delegates  called  at  the  Carmelite  Convent  in  that  city,  and 
learning,  during  the  course  of  conversation,  that  the  number  of  members  was  com- 
plete (the  order  limiting  the  number  to  twenty-one)  and  that  applications,  some 
of  which  had  come  from  New  England,  were  being  constantly  refused,  conceived 
an  ardent  desire  of  founding  in  Boston  a  monastery  of  Mt.  Carmel,  where  these 
souls  and  others  might  be  permitted  to  follow  so  holy  a  vocation.  Upon  his  re- 
n  to  Boston  after  the  adjournment  of  the  Congress,  the  delegate  laid  the  matter 
before  the  Most  Rev.  Archbishop,  and  meeting  with  no  objection  he  proceeded  to  call 
the  attention  of  Catholic  friends,  clergy  and  laity,  to  the  project.  Upon  several  occa- 
sions of  conference  among  members  of  the  Catholic  Union  of  Boston,  the  founding  of  a  Boston  Mt.  Carmel 
was  recommended  and  discussed,  receiving  favorable  attention  from  all.     After  due  consideration  the  Union 

resolved   to   invite   the  Rev.  Charles       

W.  Currier  to  deliver  a  public  address  ' 
before  the  Union  and  its  friends, 
conveying  information  of  the  record 
and  genius  of  the  venerable  Carme- 
lite Order,  abroad  and  in  America, 
and  of  the  advantage  and  blessing 
its  coming  wovild  be  to  the  commu- 
nity of  Boston.  The  Rev.  Father 
Currier  was  most  fitted  for  this  under- 
taking as  he  was  an  esteemed  friend 
of  the  community  in  Baltimore,  and 
had  recently  published  his  valuable 
addition  to  Catholic  literature,  en- 
titled, "Carmel  in  America,"  a  com- 
prehensive work  on  the  Order  of 
Carmel  and  giving  the  history  of  the 
foundations  in  America,  drawn  from 
the  archives  of  the  different  commu- 
nities. Rev.  Robert  Fulton,  S.  J., 
then  president  of  Boston  College,  e.xpressed  his  warm  approval  of  the  foundation  and  tendered  the  use  of 
Boston  College  Hall  for  the  occasion.  The  lecture  was  duly  announced  and  eloquently  delivered  there  on 
April  10,  1890,  by  Rev.  Father  Currier,  before  a  large  and  enthusiastic  audience  of  ladies  and  gentlemen, 
among  whom  were  the  Most  Rev.  Archbishop  and  many  clergymen.  The  reverend  orator  carried  his  audience 
by  storm,  and  so  much  interest  and  pleasure  was  expressed  in  the  matter  of  his  discourse  that  it  was  afterwards 


printed  and  widel)'  distributed,  tlius  helping  to  make  a  quite  unknown  order  mucli  better  understood  and 
appreciated  among  the  CathoHcs  of  Boston.  The  members  of  the  Union  were  much  encouraged  by  the  marked 
success  of  the  lecture.  Soon  after  a  circular  was  issued,  signed  b)'  nine  prominent  laymen  and  addressed  to 
some  800  Catholics,  clergy  and  laity.-  To  this  circular  many  answers  were  promptly  returned,  and  on  May 
31,  1890,  His  Grace,  the  Most  Rev.  Archbishop,  was  notified  of  the  result  of  the  appeal  and  of  the  cordial 
sentiments  so  universally  expressed  in  favor  of  the  proposed  Carmel,  which  seemed  to  give  undoubted  indica- 
tion of  the  warm  welcome  with  which  the  Carmelites  would  be  received  in  Boston,  and  after  a  brief  period  of 
time  an  invitation  was  extended  to  the  Rev.  M.  Prioress,  of  Mt.  Carmel,  Baltimore,  to  make  arrangements  for 
a  settlement  of  the  order  in  Boston,  where  proper  accommodations  would  be  provided. 

The  Chapter  of  Mt.  Carmel,  Baltimore,  having  accepted  the  invitation  of  the  Most  Rev.  Archbishop,  his 
Eminence  designated  those  sisters  who  should  constitute  the  new  Carmelite  colony  in  Boston,  and  requested 
the  late  Mr.  Robert  Jameison,  of  Baltimore,  to  be  their  escort. 

On  Sunday,  August  24,  1890,  the  five  religious  appointed  by  his  Eminence,  Cardinal  Gibbons,  left  their 
strict  enclosure  and  went  forth  after  Mass,  Communion,  and  the  itinerary  prayers,  to  found  the  first  Carmel 
which  was  to  flourish  upon  New  England  soil.  The  separation  of  the  branch  from  the  parent  stem  was  pain- 
ful, and  especially  so  in  this  case  of  a  cloistered  community,  whose  members,  except  for  the  extraordinary 
event  of  a  foundation,  would  never  leave  their  chosen  home,  but  there  was  joy  in  the  thought  of  propagating  in 
new  fields  the  glorious  vine  planted  by  the  hand  of  St.  Teresa,  in  1562,  and  that,  too,  on  the  P^east  of  St.  Bar- 
tholomew, the  very  anniversary  of  the  establishment  of  her  reform. 

Kind  friends  in  Baltimore  sent  private  carriages  to  conduct  the  religious  to  the  wharf,  and  a  free  passage 
had  been  offered  them  by  courtesy  of  the  officers  of  the  Baltimore  Steamship  Company.  After  a  safe  voyage 
they  arrived  in  Boston  on  the  evening  of  August  27th,  where  friends  were  awaiting  them  with  carriages  at 
Central  wharf.  They  were  driven  to  their  new  home,  the  Osgood  estate,  corner  of  Cedar  and  Centre  Streets, 
Roxbury,  which  had  been  prepared  for  their  reception.  The  house  was  rented  for  their  use  until  such  time  as 
they  might  decide  upon  the  erection  of  their  monastery;  and  temporary  gratings  and  a  "turn"  had  been  con- 
structed, making  the  house  as  conventual  as  could  be  expected  in  a  private  dwelling. 

The  front  parlor  was  to  be  the  chapel  for  the  people,  and  was  separated  by  a  grating  from  the  "choir," 
which  was  reserved  for  the  nuns.  The  chapel  of  the  nuns  is  called  choir  because  it  is  there  they  chant  the 
divine  office  during  the  appointed  hours  of  the  day.  In  the  exterior  chapel,  where  people  may  assemble  to 
hear  Mass  and  enjoy  the  many  rare  and  exceptional  privileges  and  indulgences  accorded  to  the  churches  of 
this  venerable  order,  was  erected  a  beautiful  altar  of  white  and  gold  with  blue  panelings,  the  gift  of  the  Rev. 
Hugh  P.  Smyth,  P.  R.,  of  St.  Joseph's  parish,  in  which  the  convent  was  established.  Much  to  the  surprise  of 
the  religious,  who  had  not  anticipated  such  foresight  on  the  part  of  their  new  friends,  the  altar  was  dressed  and 
ready  for  the  morning  Mass,  and  the  house  far  better  adapted  to  their  needs  than  they  had  supposed  possible. 

On  August  28th,  the  Feast  of  St.  Augustine,  the  first  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Rev.  Father  Currier,  who 
had  been  instrumental  in  the  foundation  and  who  made  a  beautiful  little  address  of  welcome  to  the  nuns.  The 
Cathedral  quartette  and  members  of  the  Cathedral  choir  furnished  the  music,  and  after  Mass  benediction  of  the 
most  blessed  sacrament  was  given  and  the  house  was  blessed.  For  two  or  three  days  the  enclosure  was  left 
open  and  friends  of  the  community  were  permitted  to  go  through  the  house  and  see  the  religious  unveiled,  but 
on  Saturday,  August  30th,  the  enclosure  was  sealed  by  order  of  the  Most  Rev.  Archbishop  and  the  doors  of 
the  interior  convent  were  closed  to  visitors. 

The  year  1890  was  the  centennial  year  of  the  foundation  of  the  Carmelites  in  America,  and  all  the  American 
houses  were  preparing  to  celebrate  the  event  with  ceremony  and  pomp  befitting  the  occasion.  The  infant  house 
in  Boston  was  glad  to  be  able  to  join  in  the  rejoicing  and  made  it  the  occasion  of  a  public  inauguration  of  the 
recent  foundation.  The  Most  Rev.  Archbishop  celebrated  the  Mass  and  Rev.  Augustus  Laugcake,  S.  J., 
preached  an  eloquent  sermon,  laying  before  the  people  the  object  and  utility  of  the  Order  of  Carmel  and  con- 
gratulating them  upon  the  advent  of  the  community  to  their  midst  and  expressing  every  hope  of  the  success  of 
the  foundation. 

The  foundation  was  indeed  a  success  spiritually,  at  once,  for  the  people  soon   learned  to  come  for  prayers 


and  consolation  in  their  trials  and  left  their  little  alms  of  food  or  money,  as  the  case  might  be,  with  love  and 
gratitude.  Many  instances  might  be  given,  resembling  the  charming  account  in  the  "  Fioretti "  of  St.  Francis, 
of  the  timely  aid  given  to  the  religious,  and  of  the  prompt  and  remarkable  answers  to  their  prayers  in  their 
various  needs.  They  had  a  heavy  rent  to  meet,  but  the  money  never  failed  to  come  in  due  season  and  from 
most  unexpected  sources.  If  new  novices  were  received  the  stores  increased  in  proportion.  Many  a  time  a 
poor  person  was  deeply  touched  and  consoled  by  learning  that  the  alms  he  timidly  brought,  fearing  it  would 
not  be  acceptable,  was  a  direct  answer  to  a  prayer  for  the  very  article.  The  tender  happiness  of  mutual  charity 
must  be  experienced  to  be  understood,  and  if  it  may  be  found  anywhere  in  its  perfection,  it  is  in  the  intercourse 
between  souls  who  are  suffering  and  the  religious  of  Carmel,  whose  mission  is  to  aid  them  by  their  prayers. 

Soon  the  Carmelites  found  that  the  house  they  were  occupying,  though  well  suited  for  a  beginning,  would 
not  be  at  all  adequate  to  the  needs  of  a  regular  monastery,  so  every  endeavor  was  made  to  find  a  suitable  loca- 
tion combining  all  the  necessary  requisites.  Four  years  went  by  and,  at  length,  in  September  of  1894,  an 
estate  on  Mt.  Pleasant  Avenue,  the  property  of  the  late  Joseph  Morrill,  was  purchased  for  them.  On  Septem- 
ber 24th  the  removal  took  place  with  solemn  ceremony.  And  after  the  chanting  of  the  Laudate  Dominum  in 
their  new  home  and  the  blessing  of  the  house  by  the  Rev.  Father  Gallagher,  their  present  pastor,  the  doors 
were  closed  and  the  foundation  in  Boston  might  be  said  to  have  inaugurated  a  new  era  of  its  career.  What 
remains  now  to  be  done  is  to  erect  on  the  spacious  lot  adjoining  the  house  the  permanent  monastery  and 
chapel,  modeled  after  those  of  the  order  in  Europe,  and  in  strict  accordance  with  the  spirit  of  the  order.  It  is 
hoped  that  it  may  not  be  long  before  this  much  desired  end  is  accomplished.  During  Novenas  and  public 
devotions  the  need  of  a  proper  chapel  has  been  painfully  felt.  The  people  find  much  spiritual  consolation  in 
the  numerous  devotions  peculiar  to  Carmel,  and  come  in  such  throngs  to  the  exercises  that,  in  many  cases,  the 
street  has  been  filled  with  devout  worshippers  unable  to  enter  the  door,  yet  content  to  kneel  within  sight  of  the 
windows.  Among  the  devotions  may  be  mentioned  particularly  that  of  the  Infant  Jesus  of  Prague.  In  the 
Carmelite  chapel  may  be  seen  a  true  copy  of  this  miraculous  image,  now  enshrined  in  a  church  in  Prague,  and 
the  source  of  many  marvelous  favors  for  soul  and  body.  On  the  25th  day  of  January  of  each  year,  takes  place 
the  solemn  consecration  of  children  to  the  Divine  Infant,  and  the  ceremony  is  touching  and  beautiful.  The 
chapel  is  filled  with  happy  children  under  twelve,  and  proud  parents,  and  after  a  sermon  the  act  of  consecra- 
tion is  repeated  and  the  children  go  in  procession  to  receive  the  medal  of  the  Divine  Infant.  The  children  are 
hereby  incited  to  imitate  the  virtues  of  the  Holy  Child,  and  the  parents  are  impressed  with  the  necessity  of  keep- 
ing before  their  minds  this  Divine  Model  of  simplicity  and  obedience.  Another  special  devotion  is  that  of  the 
Holy  Face  of  our  Lord,  the  veil  of  Veronica.  This  devotion  was  revealed  to  a  Carmelite  nun  in  France,  Sister 
Mary  of  St.  Peter,  and  has  since  spread  over  the  whole  church.  A  devout  young  lady  conceived  the  idea  of 
having  a  perpetual  light  burned  before  the  Holy  Face  in  the  Carmelite  chapel  for  all  those  who  would  con- 
tribute a  small  sum  monthly  and  enroll  themselves  in  the  League  of  Love  instituted  in  the  spirit  of  reparation, 
and  the  shrine,  with  the  lamp,  may  be  seen  by  those  who  visit  the  chapel. 

The  daily  life  of  the  community  is  one  of  austerity,  contemplation,  and  prayer.  The  nuns  rise  at  5  a.m., 
and  devote  an  hour  to  meditation  and  silent  prayer.  At  6  o'clock  they  recite  the  "canonical  hours."  After 
this  they  attend  Mass,  and  spend  the  remainder  of  the  time  before  10  o'clock  in  necessary  manual  labor.  Be- 
ginning at  10,  some  time  is  given  by  each  to  an  examination  of  her  conscience,  after  which  all  go  to  the  refec- 
tory. Dinner  concluded,  they  proceed  to  the  choir,  and  then  to  the  recreation  room,  where  an  hour  is  spent 
in  conversation.  Their  manual  employments  are  then  resumed  and  continued  until  the  hour  for  vespers,  after 
which  prayer  and  meditation  occupy  their  time  up  to  6  p.m.  After  partaking  of  a  collation,  they  give  another 
hour  to  recreation,  recite  the  complines  and  engage  in  special  devotions  until  9,  and  spend  two  hours  additional 
at  matins  before  retiring  to  their  cells. 

The  nuns  use  no  flesh  meat,  unless  compelled  to  do  so  by  severe  illness.  They  observe  a  fast  from  Sep- 
tember :4th  until  Easter,  and  on  all  Fridays  throughout  the  year,  except  those  occurring  between  Easter  and 
Pentecost,  the  use  of  eggs,  butter,  and  milk  being  prohibited.  It  is  a  fact  proved  by  experience  that  these 
austerities  promote  the  health  of  the  nuns  instead  of  impairing  it.  They  have  no  servants,  they  doing  all  the 
work  of  the  convent.     In  addition  to  this,  they  make  every  article  of  their  own  clothing,  including  their  sandals, 


of  which  the  material  is  hempen  cord.  As  sources  of  income,  they  also  engage  in  painting,  embroidery,  the 
making  of  vestments  and  of  habits  for  the  dead,  and  other  suitable  employments  within  their  capacities.  Livmg 
such  sinless  and  holy  lives,  their  prayers  are  considered  more  acceptable  to  God  than  those  of  persons  living  in 
the  world,  and  are,  therefore,  in  constant  request  by  the  faithful.  In  gratitude  for  those  prayers,  and  for  favors 
believed  to  be  received  through  them,  it  is  the  custom  to  leave  offerings  of  money  or  goods,  which  are  applied 
to  the  maintenance  of  the  house. 

The  Roxbury  community  is  the  first  of  its  kind  established  in  New  England,  and  the  fourth  in  the  United 
States.  The  other  communities  of  the  order  are  in  Baltimore,  St.  Louis,  and  New  Orleans.  There  is  also  a 
convent  in  Montreal.  The  first  community  came  to  Baltimore  from  Antwerp,  in  1790,  at  the  invitation  of 
Archbishop  Carroll.  The  prophet  Elias,  who  with  his  followers  lived  a  hermit's  life  on  Mt.  Carmel,  is  re- 
garded as  the  founder  of  the  order,  as  he  is  of  monasticism  generally.  The  female  branch  is  believed  to  have 
originated  in  the  thirteenth  century,  when  St.  Simon  Stock  founded  a  community  in  Louvain.  In  the  six- 
teenth century,  St.  Teresa,  assisted  by  St.  John  of  the  Cross,  introduced  certain  reforms  that  restored  the  order 
to  its  pristine  perfection.  The  Carmelites  who  accepted  these  reforms  were  called  Discalceated,  or  barefoot, 
to  distinguish  them  from  the  others.     This  is  the  branch  to  which  the  communities  in  the  United  States  belong. 



l^oung  Xabiee'  Charitable  Hseociation, 

N  March,  1891,  spurred  by  a  few  pitiable  cases  of  disease  and  destitution  brouglit  to  Iier 
attention,  Miss  Elizabeth  A.  Power  induced  a  number  of  her  young  lady  friends  to 
organize  themselves  into  a  society  for  the  relief  of  the  sick  and  poor.  At  first,  its  mem- 
bership was  about  thirty,  and  its  meetings  were  held  in  Miss  Power's  home.  That  society 
khas  now  nearly  one  thousand  members,  conducts  a  home  where  thirty  poor  people  afflicted 
with  consumption  receive  the  best  of  care,  free  of  charge,  and  searches  out  and  carries 
Immaterial  and  moral  aid  to  hundreds  suffering  from  poverty  and  misfortune.  What  better 
sign  of  the  times  is  needed  ?  In  the  presence  of  this  organization,  the  sneers  of  the 
c)  nic  and  the  forebodings  of  the  pessimist  can  have  no  force. 

While  the  number  of  members  continued  few,  much  work  could  not  be  undertaken. 
For  that  period  it  was  limited  to  providing  delicacies  for  the  dying,  imparting  moral  aid  and 
consolation,  and  preparing  them  for  the  ministrations  of  the  priest.  Then  the  membership 
so  increased,  and  the  field  of  benevolence  so  widened,  that  it  was  deemed  advisable  to  seek  the  approval  of 
Archbishop  Williams.  Besides  giving  his  cordial  approval,  under  date  of  June  10,  i8gi.  His  Grace  further 
manifested  his  interest  by  assigning  as 
adviser  to  the  society  the  Rev.  Richard 
Neagle,  Chancellor  of  the  Archdiocese. 
This  communicated  a  new  impetus  to 
the  movement.  Many  more  young 
ladies  joined  it,  and  an  enthusiasm  for 
the  work  spread  rapidly.  Among  the 
rest,  belles  of  the  ball-room  were  now 
often  found  in  the  homes  of  the  poor, 
relieving  their  necessities,  speaking- 
kind  words,  and  shedding  sympathetic 

Shortly  after  the  association  was 
formed,  its  attention  was  called  to  the 
practice,  said  to  be  followed  at  an 
institution  of  a  similar  character,  of 
denying  the  ministrations  of  a  priest 
to  dying  inmates.  It  was  asserted  that 
a  number  of  Catholic  inmates  had  died 
in    the     asylum     calling    vainly    for    a 

-r  -  1-11  ,  CONSUMITIVES"     HoMiC,     RdXisuR-i- 

priest.      It    IS    now    claimed    that   the 

founder  of  this  consumptives'  asylum,  near  Boston,  made  it  a  condition  of  its  continuance  that  no  Catholic 
priest  was  to  be  permitted  to  enter  it.  But  it  does  not  appear  that  this  condition  was  ever  made  public  before; 
nor  is  it  asserted  that  all  the  Catholic  persons  entering  the  asylum  were  informed  of  its  existence.  Under 
these  circumstances,  it  would  seem  that  the  institution  was  a  mere  trap  to  its   Catholic  inmates,  whose  last 



moments  must  have  been  made  a  period  of  unspeakable  horror  by  finding  tlremselves  caught  in  it.  Sucli 
bitter  animosity  against  the  Catholic  priesthood  can  reasonably  be  attributed  to  insanity ;  but  it  is  not  credit- 
able to  the  country  or  the  age  that,  under  the  fairest  circumstances,  any  sane  person  can  be  hired  to  enforce 
this  condition  upon  a  dying  person, 

L'pon  learning  the  facts,  the  Voung  Ladies'  Charitable  Association  immediately  began  an  effort  to  procure 
a  home  for  consumptives,  which  all  ministers  of  religion  desired  by  the  inmates,  should  be  free  to  entjer.  The 
proposition  immediately  enlisted  popular  sympathy.  Many  Protestants  as  well  as  Catholics  approved  of  it. 
Under  the  auspices  of  the  association,  a  fair  to  procure  the  requisite  funds  was  held.  It  was  cleverly  con- 
ceived and  carried  out.  and  yielded  over  §4,000.  His  Grace,  the  Archbishop,  increased  the  sum  by  a  loan  of 
$5,000.  Paying  $9,000  in  cash,  and  giving  a  mortgage  for  the  rest,  the  association,  in  March,  1892,  bought 
for  $24,000  a  large  residence  with  grounds,  situated  at  the  corner  of  Bellevue  and  Quincy  Streets,  constituting 

RKCEPTION     K(iOM,    tONSr  .MPl'I  VKS'    HO.MK. 

one  of  the  finest  homestead  estates  in  Dorchester.  The  society  was  chartered  as  a  corporation  in  the  same 
month.  •  After  the  necessary  alterations  were  made,  the  home  opened  July  30,  under  the  corporate  title, 
"Free  Home  for  Consumptives  in  the  City  of  Boston."  A  quarterly  report  read  at  a  meeting  of  the 
association  held  October  14,  1894,  showed  that  $18,000  had  been  paid  on  the  property;  $10,000  for  alterations 
and  furnishings,  and  the  average  sum  of  $600  monthly  for  the  support  of  the  home. 

Among  the  first  inmates  were  five  persons  taken  from  Ur.  Cullis'  Home.  Many  more  have  been  taken 
since.  One  of  these  was  Helen  Barry,  the  brave  young  girl  who,  some  years  ago  in  Cambridge,  excited  public 
admiration  by  saving  her  brothers  from  burning  with  their  home.  Consumption  marked  her  for  its  prey  soon 
after;  and  her  employer,  a  well-meaning  lady,  obtained  her  admission  to  Cullis'  Home.  On  learning  that 
she  could  not  have  the  consolations  of  her  religion,  she  desired  to  leave  the  home  immediately.  Her  wish 
was  made  known  to  the  Young  Ladies'  Charitable  Association,  and  its  officials  went  promptly  to  her  rescue. 



Her  joy  on  arriving  at  the  Dorchester  home  was  most  touching.  She  knew  that  she  had  not  long  to  live;  yet, 
she  bore  herself  with  cheerfulness  to  the  end.  She  died  recently,  at  the  age  of  nineteen,  happy  in  the  privilege 
of  receiving  the  last  sacraments. 

The  home  accommodates  but  twenty-seven  patients.  It  is  constantly  full,  and  a  long  waiting  list  eloquently 
pleads  for  a  larger  building.  No  fee  or  compensation  of  any  kind  is  taken.  Applicants  for  admission  found 
to  be  ablff  to  pay  such  are  refused.  Besides  want  of  room,  there  are  no  other  grounds  for  refusal.  No  appli- 
cants are  refused  on  account  of  religion  or  race.  The  association  not  only  keeps  the  patients  while  living,  but 
often  buries  them  when  dead.  In  the  first  two  years  of  its  existence  the  home  sheltered  250  persons.  Of  that 
number,  some  were  discharged  apparently  cured,  and  100  died.  Miss  Catherine  McNally,  the  matron,  and  her 
assistant.  Miss  Mary  T.  Carroll,  are  trained  nurses,  as  testified  by  diplomas  obtained  at  the  Boston  City 
Hospital.     The  fact  is  more  gratifyingly  proved  by  their  management  of  the  home.     Among  the  visiting  staff 

MALI.    WAKIl.    (.(iN>r\IPllVF,S'    HOMK. 

of  physicians  is  Dr.  Edward  C).  Otis,  who  has  made  a  special  study  of  consumption.  The  rest  of  the  visiting 
staff,  together  with  the  doctors  comprising  the  consulting  staff,  are  likewise  men  of  eminence  in  their  profession. 
All  give  their  services  gratuitously.  On  the  visiting  staff  with  Dr.  Otis,  are  Doctors  Horace  D.  Arnold  and 
Charles  D.  Fillebrown.  The  consulting  staff  are.  Doctors  Frederick  I.  Knight,  J.  W.  Farlow,  Vincent  Y. 
Bowditch,  William  A.  Dunn.  John  G.  Blake,  John  B.  Moran,  H.  Ferguson,  Thomas  Dwight,  M.  F.  Gavin,  and 
Henry  C.  Towle. 

While  maintaining  and  conducting  the  home  so  effectively,  the  association  continues  its  general  work  among 
the  sick  poor.  It  supports  patients  in  their  homes  or  in  a  hospital,  procuring  for  them  medical  attendance, 
medicine,  and  food ;  defraying  burial  expenses,  when  necessary,  and  finding  homes  for  the  neglected  or 
orphaned  children.  During  the  year  ending  July  30,  1894,  the  association  cared  for  579  cases  of  various 
diseases.     In  addition  to  this,  the  young  ladies  read  to  and  amuse  the  sick,  and  do  everything  else  possible  to 


alleviate  their  sufferings.  The  facts  of  one  of  its  first  cases  fairly  illustrate  what  the  association  undertakes 
and  often  accomplishes : 

A  boy  nine  years  old,  paralyzed  from  the  waist  down,  was  found  by  some  of  the ,  young  ladies.  He  had 
nobody  to  care  for  him.  His  intemperate  mother  had  abandoned  him.  The  association  had  him  placed  in 
the  Children's  Hospital,  where  the  members  visited  and  attended  to  him  with  as  much  sympathetic  interest  as 
if  he  were  a  brother.  His  case  seemed  hopeless.  For  two  years  the  child  lay  in  bed,  strapped  to  an  iron 
frame,  with  weights  suspended  by  attachments  from  head  and  feet.  At  length,  after  due  consideration,  the 
association  consented  to  a  surgical  operation,  which  would  probably  result  in  his  death  or  cure.  After  he  was 
religiously  prepared  for  death,  the  operation  was  performed.  For  a  time  his  life  was  despaired  of.  However, 
he  rallied,  and  steadily  improved  from  that  day.  The  child  is  now  in  Arlington,  boarded  and  cared  for  at  the 
association's  expense,  and  can  walk  or  run  about  almost  as  freely  as  other  children,  without  the  aid  of  crutches. 

For  the  funds  necessary  to  do  all  this,  the  association's  chief  reliance  is  the  payment  of  Ji.oo,  monthly,  by 
each  young  lady,  who  is  free  to  take  it  from  her  own  purse,  or  to  collect  it  by  ten-cent  subscriptions  from  her 
neighbors.  Entertainments,  made  attractive  by  interesting  and  novel  features  and  clever  management,  have 
heretofore  brought  considerable  sums  to  the  treasury,  and  no  doubt  will  continue  to  do  so.  The  Boston  public 
will  readily  recall  those  given  under  the  names  of  Kirmess,  Cosmorama,  Hazaribagh,  and  Synchronism. 
Individual  donations  and  bequests  also  contribute  a  part.  The  amount  received  from  all  sources  during  the 
year  ending  January  i,  1894,  was  $11,768.06.  Not  including  the  expense  of  caring  for  the  sick  in  their 
homes,  since  its  formation  in  1891,  the  association,  for  the  home  alone,  has  collected  and  expended  over  ^^40,000. 

The  association  is  thoroughly  organized.  For  the  better  performance  of  its  work,  Boston  and  vicinity 
have  been  divided  into  thirty  districts,  each  in  charge  of  officers,  subject  to  the  central  board  of  government. 
The  present  members  of  this  board  are:  Ehzabeth  A.  Power,  president;  Julia  C.  Prendergast  and  Emma  A. 
Murray,  vice-presidents;  Mary  Agnes  Dowling,  financial  secretary;  Grace  M.  Phalan,  corresponding  secretary; 
Alice  Gaynor  O'Gorman,  recording  secretary;  Mary  A.  Barr,  treasurer;  N.  Tabraham,  investigator.  The 
district  boards  have  two  additional  officers,  respectively,  named  custodian  and  vestiaire,  but  only  one  vice- 
president.  The  duties  of  each  are  clearly  set  forth  in  printed  documents  of  a  size  convenient  for  distribution 
and  reference.  Any  young  lady  of  good  moral  character,  introduced  by  three  members  in  good  standing,  and 
acceptable  to  the  board  of  government,  is  eligible  to  membership  in  the  association.  The  organization  has 
adopted  for  its  emblem  the  rose,  and  for  its  motto,  "  Suavite?-  in  inodo,  fortiter  in  re." 

Its  next  important  undertaking  will  be  the  enlargement  of  its  home  for  consumptives.  Dr.  Otis  says  this 
is  needed,  not  only  for  the  accommodation  of  more  patients,  but  for  the  purpose  of  classifying  all,  with  a  view 
to  curing  such  as  science  has  proved  can  be  cured.  So  gratifying  is  it  to  see  young  ladies,  employed  in  such 
noble  work,  so  practical  is  the  aim  of  their  association,  and  so  widely  and  efficaciously  is  it  conducted,  that 
they  have  won,  and  easily  hold  the  sympathy  of  the  public  to  a  degree  that  promises  much  for  the  future. 



milouMnG=Bo^8'  IF^oine. 

OMELESS  working  boys,  without  distinction  of  creed  or  color,  find  a  temporary  home 
in  this  institution.  It  was  founded  in  June,  1883,  by  the  Rev.  David  H.  Roche,  with 
the  consent  and  approval  of  Archbishop  Williams.  It  is  a  commodious  brick  building 
of  four  stories  and  a  basement,  situated  on  Bennet  Street,  between  Harrison  Avenue 
and  Washington  Street.  Besides  the  usual  apartments  necessary  to  lodge  over  a  hun- 
dred boys  and  the  persons  in  charge  of  them,  the  house  contains  a  reading-room, 
recreation-room,  and  a  chapel.  Land  and  building  cost  ^65,000.  Of  that  amount 
$21;, 000  have  been  paid.    The  balance  is  secured  by  a  mortgage  on  the  property,  bear- 

ino-  an  interest  of  a-J-  per  cent.     The  home  received  its  charter  of  incorporation  July  24,  1884.     The  incorpora- 
tors named  in  it  were:     Rev.  Thomas  Magennis,  Rev.  David   H.   Roche,  Thomas  F.  Doherty,  John  Conlon, 

James  M.  Prendergast,  Rev.  Matthew 

Harkins,   Patrick  Maguire,  William  J. 

Quinn,     Matthew     Keany,     John     B. 

Moran,  M.  D.,  Rev.   Hugh  P.   Smyth, 

Rev.   Denis   O'Callaghan,   Thomas  F. 

Sullivan,     and     James     H.     Lambert. 

After  a  short  time  the  domestic  affairs 

of  the  home  were  given  in  charge  of 

the   Franciscan  Sisters,  who  continue 

their  services  still.     Father  Roche  had 

personally   conducted    the    institution 

for  nearly   five   years,    when   financial 

difficulties  made   a  change   desirable. 

By  the  request  of  the  Archbishop,  the 

Rev.  John  F.  Ford-,  the  present  super- 
intendent,   superseded    Father    Roche 

on  February  22,  1888.     In  addition  to 

the  mortgage   debt  of  $46,000,  Father 

Ford  found  a  floating  debt  of  $23,000. 

Since  then  he  has  paid  all  of  the  latter 

debt,  and  $6,000  of  the  former.. 

According  to  the  last  report,  dated 

January   i,   1894,  the  home  had  shel- 
tered since  it  first  opened  2,466  boys. 

Beginning  January    1,    1893,  with    110 

boys  in  the  institution,  216   more  were 

received  in  the  ensuing  year,  and  97 

remained  in  it  at  the  end  of  the  year. 
At  an  early  date  in  its  existence, 

the   directors   of   the   home  felt  com- 
pelled to  take  in  children  too  young  to 

work.     Finding  many  unfortunate  lads 


Street,  Boston. 



thrown  upon  their  own  resources  for  a  living  before  they  had  reached  twelve  years,  they  considered  that  it  was 
entirely  within  the  mission  of  the  institution  to  shelter  these  until  they  should  become  able  to  work.  In  the 
interval  they  are  sent  to  the  Brimmer  and  Quincy  schools,  from  which.  Father  Ford  is  pleased  to  state,  no  com- 
plaints of  them  are  received.  While  attending  school  the  boys  are  obliged  to  prepare  their  home  lessons  with 
due  diligence.  Of  the  97  boys  in  the  home  at  the  end  of  1893,  55  belonged  to  this  class.  As  a  matter  of 
course  they  are  fed  and  clad  entirely  at  the  expense  of  the  home.  The  boys  comprising  the  other  class,  when 
employed,  are  required  to  pay  a  percentage  of  their  earnings;  x'Vdvantage  is  taken  of  their  presence  in  the. 
home  to  train  the  minds  and  hearts  of  all,  and  to  develop  their  bodily  strength  "so  that  they  may  become  good 

Christians  and  useful  members  of 

The  running  expenses  of  the 
institution  average  about  $12,000 
yearly.  Its  resources,  besides 
donations  and  bequests,  are  The 
Working  Boy,  a  monthly  publica- 
tion that  yields  about  $7,000  yearly, 
the  board  money  paid  by  the  boys, 
which  last  year  amounted  to  $2,- 
590.83,  an  occasional  fair,  an  annual 
entertainment,  and  an  annual  picnic. 
The  proceeds  of  the  monthly  paper, 
entertainment,  and  picnic,  as  a  rule, 
are  sufficient  to  meet  the  ordinary 
expenses.  All  the  money  received 
through  other  channels  is  devoted 
to  paying  off  the  debt  and  to  mak- 
ing improvements. 

At  a  meeting  of  the  corpora- 
tion, held  in  June,  1890,  attention 
was  called  to  the  fact  that,  while 
the  home  was  accomplishing  much, 
it  was  doing  a  great  deal  less  than 
was  possible  in  the  educational  and 
industrial  departments.  As  a  con- 
sequence, it  was  thereupon  decided 
to  procure  land,  and  to  erect  upon 
it  a  suitable  building  where  these 
departments  could  be  accommo- 
dated. In  the  following  September, 
fifty-eight  acres  of  land,  pleasantly 
and  healthfully  situated  in  Newton 
Highlands,  were  secured  tor  the 
purpose.  The  foundation  trenches  and  cellars  for  the  proposed  building  were  excavated  and  paid  for  in  189  i, 
the  cost  being  $6,547.  Building  was  begun  in  1892,  and  finished  in  the  spring  of  1894,  at  a  cost  of  $53,600. 
Plastering,  electric  wiring,  and  gas  piping  were  done  in  1893,  at  an  expense  of  $5,520.  The  further  work 
done  since  brings  the  expenditure  to  $75,000.  \\'hen  the  building  will  be  ready  for  occupancy  the  total  cost 
will  have  reached  $100,000.  Still,  the  structure  will  be  but  about  half  of  the  edifice  for  which  the  plans  are 
drawn.  It  is  built  solidly  of  brick,  trimmed  with  granite,  and  has  three  stories,  besides  basement  and  attics. 
It  will  accommodate  600  boys,  with  the  officials  of  the  institution.     The  younger  boys  will  be  brought  here,  and, 



in  addition  to  the  usual  grammar  school  education,  they  will  be  instructed  in  the  trades  of  baking,  tailoring, 
shoemaking,  printing,  and  carpentry.  It  is  also  the  purpose  to  lay  out  the  surrounding  land  as  a  model  farm, 
and  to  train  up  in  agriculture  such  boys  as  may  manifest  an  aptitude  for  that  occupation.  After  graduating  in 
the  Newton  home,  the  pupils  will  be  sent  to  the  city  home,  where  an  employment  bureau  will  aid  them  to 
obtain  work. 

Father  Ford,  the  projector  of  this  noble  enterprise,  was  born  in  Weymouth,  Mass. ,  After  graduating 
from  the  grammar  school  of  his  native  town,  and  studying  for  two  years  in  the  high  school,  he  became  a 
student  of   Boston  College.      Finishing  the  course  here  in   18S1,  he  went  to  Rome  and  entered  the  American 

W(1KKIN(;-I'.(l^  S-    HOMK,    XF.WldX     HICHT.ANDS. 

College.  He  was  ordained  priest  May  19,  1883,  and  exercised  his  sacerdotal  functions  in  the  college  church 
and  chapel  while  completing  his  studies.  Upon  his  return  to  Boston,  he  was  appointed  assistant  at  St.  Mary's 
Church,  Charlestown.  At  the  end  of  six  months  he  was  sent  to  Marlboro,  where  he  was  still  serving  when 
requested  by  the  Archbishop  to  assume  the  direction  of  the  Working-Boys'  Home.  The  zeal  and  ability  which 
have  distinguished  his  administration  of  the  affairs  of  the  Bennet  Street  home,  give  adequate  assurance  of  his 
competence  to  carry  the  much  larger  enterprise  in  Newton  to  success. 



Society  of  St.  Dincent  be  Paul 

^fvt""  nibti  acting  the  c  h  i  1- 
dien  m  their  religion, 
the  members  made  it  their  business  to 
ascertain  the  circumstances  of  the 
pupils,  and  to  aid  them  and  their 
parents,  when  deemed  necessary,  by 
gifts  of  clothing,  food,  or  fuel.  Their 
labors  were  not  confined  to  the  Cathe- 
dral school.  Other  schools  were  suc- 
cessively started  in  a  building  at  the 
corner  of  Broad  and  India  Streets,  in 
the  old  Albany  Block,  near  Beach 
Street,  in  the  Turn  Hall  on  Washing- 
ton Street,  in  the  old  Beach  Street 
Theatre,  and  in  a  hall  situated  at  the 
corner  of  Garden  and  Phillips  Streets, 
West  End.  Prominent  among  Dr. 
Manahan's  assistants  were  Edward  A. 
Coggins,  William  S.  Pelletier,  Peter 
McGourty,  and  Michael  H.  Keenan. 

The  society  was  hardly  an  organ- 
ization. It  had  never  been  thought 
necessary  to  restrict  the  action  of  the 
members  by  many  or  stringent  rules. 
After  serving  well  the  immediate  pur- 
poses-for  which  it  was  established,  the 
need  of  a  more  thorough  organization 
became    apparent.     Father   Williams, 

ITHIN  the   Catholic  fold  in  Boston,  the  good  works  without  which  faith  is  dead 
have  made  their  principal  vehicle  the  Society  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul.     Previous 
to  the  introduction  of  this  society,  a  local  organization,  called  the  Young  Catho- 
lic's Friend  Society,  accomplished  a  great  deal  of  admirable  work  for  the  poor 
of  the  city.     It  originated  in  the  Sunday-school  of  the  old  Cathedral  on  Franklin 
Street,  and  Rev.  Dr.  Ambrose  Manahan  was  its  moving  spirit.     Its  active  members  were 
the   superintend- 
ent  and   teach- 
ers of   the    Sun- 
school.      Besides 



the  pastor  of  St.  James'  parish,  had  heard  of  the  Society  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  and  now  desired  to  learn  more 
about  it.  Referring  to  this  in  an  address  to  the  representatives  of  the  society  on  the  occasion  of  his  silver 
jubilee,  the  Archbishop  said :  "  I  knew  of  but  one  conference  in  this  country,  and  that  was  in  St.  Peter's 
parish,  New  York.  Knowing  the  pastor,  I  visited  him  and  got  from  him  a  full  explanation  of  the  workings  of 
the  society.  1  then  determined  to  establish  a  conference  in  Boston."  This  conference  was  formed  in  St. 
James'  parish,  in  1861,  with  Mr.  James  Collins  for  its  president.  Father  WiUiams'  example  was  followed  by 
other  pastors  until  there  was  a  confeTence  in  every  parish.  Now,  no  parish  is  deemed  fully  organized  until  its 
poor  are  in  the  guardianship  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul's  Society. 

Although  the  circumstances  under  which  Frederic  Ozanam,  in  1833,  made  the  suggestion  which  led  to 
this  grand  organization  were  apparently  fortuitous,  yet  the  wide  extention  it  has  since  received,  and  the 
enormous  amount  of  good  it  has  accomplished,  give  warrant  to  believe  that  its  conception  and  development 
have  been  the  work  of  divine  inspiration.  Founded 
in  the  true  charity  which  knows  no  pride,  and  con- 
sistently ruled  and  guided  by  the  same  sentiment,  it 
seems  impregnably  fortified  against  that  worldly  spirit 
whose  entrance  within  its  councils  would  mean  the 
commencement  of  its  dissolution. 

Its  first  object  being  the  sanctification  of  its 
members  through  charity,  the  scope  of  its  mission  is 
practically  limitless.  However  and  wherever  it  can 
aid  a  fellow  creature,  its  object  is  served  by  doing  it. 
No  distinction  of  race  or  creed  withholds  its  hand. 
However,  its  great  field  of  labor  is  among  the  poor. 
They  often  need  the  charity  of  kind  words  and  good 
counsel  as  much  as  that  of  material  assistance.  From 
the  earliest  days  of  its  existence  the  society  has 
required  of  its  members  to  visit  the  poor  in  their 
homes.  This  gives  the  opportunity  for  giving  all  three 
if  necessary,  while  it  serves  to  convey  the  much-needed 
acknowledgment  of  the  brotherhood  of  humanity.  In 
the  giving  of  material  aid  the  society  does  not  restrict 
itself  to  any  special  sort  of  relief.  It  does  what  may 
be  needed  according  to  the  means  at  its  command. 
The  victims  of  all  sorts  of  misfortune  find  in  the  mem- 
bers sympathetic  and  helpful  friends.  The  wayward 
girl  or  boy  is  placed  under  wholesome  control  by  them  ; 
they  find  a  home  for  the  abandoned  child ;  employ- 
ment is  procured  for  the  unemployed  man  or  woman, 
and  instruction  or  schooling  is  obtained  for  those  in  need  of  it.  Boston  has  now  35  conferences  with  a  total 
membership  of  545.  They  are  under  the  government  of  Boston's  particular  council,  whose  ofiicers  are:  Very 
Rev.  William  Byrne,  spiritual  adviser;  Thomas  F.  Ring,  president;  J.  J.  Kennedy  and  Thomas  Shay,  vice- 
presidents;  J.  J.  Mundo,  secretary;  Bernard  C.  Kelley,  assistant  secretary;  Richard  Keefe,  treasurer.  The 
district  of  New  England  includes  the  particular  councils  of  Boston,  Manchester,  N.  H.,  Springfield,  Holyoke, 
Worcester,  and  Providence,  and  is  governed  by  the  central  council  of  Boston  whose  officers  are :  Very  Rev. 
William  Byrne,  spiritual  adviser;  Thomas  F.  Ring,  president;  J.  J.  Kennedy  and  J.  W.  McDonald,  vice-presi- 
dents; J.  J.  Mundo,  secretary;  Bernard  C.  Kelley,  recording  secretary;  Richard  Keefe,  treasurer;  John  W. 
Kelly,  John  O'Connor,  Arthur  E.  Marsh,  Dr.  D.  P.  Donoghue,  M.  B.  Lamb,  Michael  Carney,  Thomas  Shay, 
Dr.  Thomas  Dwight,  and  Bernard  Corr,  councilors.  This  central  council,  with  others,  is  subject  to  the 
superior  council  of  New  York;  and  this  with  other  superior  councils,  representing  the  entire  society,  is  subject 
to  the  council  general  in  Paris. 



The  practical  work  is  done  by  the  conferences,  which  meet  weekl)'  for  the  purpose  of  hearing  reports,  and 
deciding  upon  ways  and  means.  Since  its  introduction  into  Boston  the  society  has  expended  over  $500,000 
for  the  relief  of  the  poor.  According  to  the  last  annual  report  of  the  particular  council  the  conferences  repre- 
sented, in  the  preceding  year,  had  given  relief  to  1,603  families  numbering  6,090  members,  had  made  22,319 
visits  to  the  poor,  and  had  procured  191  situations  for  unemployed  persons.  Special  work  in  behalf  of  children 
was  undertaken  by  the  particular  council  about  five  years  ago.  It  employed  an  agent,  with  assistants,  to  look 
out  for  neglected  children,  making  it  his  special  duty  to  attend  the  municipal  courts  and  offer  such  assistance 
as  seemed  needed  to  youths  charged  with  minor  offences  or  placed  on  probation.  During  the  year  1893,  this 
agent  made  1,716  visits,  investigated  817  cases,  found  homes  in  institutions  for  175  children,  provided  board 
in  private  families  for  89  babes,  had  legal  guardians  appointed  for  32  children,  found  families  to  adopt  21  chil- 
dren, and  received  into  his  personal  charge,  on  probation,  from  the  courts,  iig  boys.     The  particular  council 

prefers  to  place  neglected  children  with  good  families, 
rather  than  in  institutions,  as  offering  more  natural 
environment,  and  therefore  more  conducive  to  whole- 
some, moral,  and  physical  development.  A  fact  well 
worthy  the  attention  of  the  humane  is  the  statement  of 
the  council  that,  while  the  average  death  rate  of 
infants  in  all  institutions  is  about  75  per  cent.,  the 
death  rate  among  the  infants  the  society  has  placed  in 
families  is  only  25  per  cent.  At  one  period  the  par- 
ticular council  had  a  department  in  Carney  Hospital 
exclusively  devoted  to  the  care  of  neglected  infants. 
This  work  was  subsequently  transferred  to  a  separate 
institution,  and  is  now  the  special  mission  of  St.  Mary's 
Infant  Asylum,  in  Dorchester. 

The  society's  funds  are  chiefly  obtained  from 
voluntary  contributions  by  the  members,  church  collec- 
tions, and  entertainments.  The  amount  received  from 
all  sources  last  year  was  $32,258,  while  the  total 
expenditure  was  $30,444.  Of  course  these  figures  are 
no  measure  of  the  moral  good  done  by  the  society,  and 
(all  far  short  of  representing  the  actual  material  good 
it  was  instrumental  in  accomplishing. 

"First,   look  out  for  a  good  president,"   was  the 
advice  Archbishop  Williams  received  when,  as  pastor 
of  St.  James',  he  expressed  his  decision  to  have  a  con- 
iiLiiMs  1-    Kin.;  ference  in  his  parish.     Ashe    "directs  the  business  of 

PuEsiuENT  Paktich.ak  OuNtii.  st.  ViNCENT  Dii  Pah.  SociETv,  HosTd.N.  tliB  confercnce,  rcccives  and  submits  propositions,  calls 
meetings,  if  necessar)',  and  watches  over  the  execution  of  the  rules  and  the  decisions  of  the  society,"  the 
society's  manual  seems  justified  in  asserting  "what  the  president  is  so  is  the  conference."  If  this  be  true  of 
the  president  of  a  conference,  it  must  apply  with  still  more  appositeness  to  the  president  of  a  particular  council. 
For  the  past  eighteen  years  the  president  of  Boston's  particular  council  has  been  Thomas  F.  Ring,  of  Dor- 
chester. His  work  in  this  capacity  during  that  period  mirrors  a  man  of  large  and  estimable  characteristics, 
while  laying  the  community  under  a  great  debt  of  gratitude. 

He  was  born  in  Boston,  November  6,  1841,  and  has  been  a  resident  of  this  city  all  his  life.  He  graduated 
at  the  old  Boylston  School,  in  1857,  winning  with  honor  the  Franklin  medal  for  that  year.  After  graduation 
he  worked  for  his  father  in  the  paper  stock  business ;  was  received  into  partnership  by  his  father  at  the  age  of 
twenty-two,  and  subsequently  took  entire  control  of  the  business  after  his  father's  death. 

His  connection  with  charitable  work  began  in  1863,  with  the  formation  of  the   Holy  Cross  Conference  of 



St.  Vincent  de  Paul,  of  which  he  was  one  of  the  original  members.  He  was  appointed  assistant  secretary  of 
the  particular  council  in  August,  1867  ;  he  was  made  secretary  in  May,  1868,  and  elected  president  in  January, 
1876.  This  position  he  has  held  since,  much  to  the  satisfaction  of  clergy  and  laity.  The  Central  Council  for 
the  New  England  States  was  first  organized  on  December  8,  1888,  and  Mr.  Ring  was  chosen  president.  He 
has  continued  in  this  office  also  up  to  the  present  day. 

For  the  proper  performance  of  his  duties  in  these  important  offices  he  found  it  necessary  to  become  a  close 
student  of  general  and  organized  charity.  The  result  has  been  to  make  him  one  of  the  leading  authorities  in 
the  country  on  these  subjects.  A  part  of  his  work  has  been  to  write  and  speak  upon  them  in  many  parts  of 
New  England.  Among  the  many  engagements  he  has  filled  was  one  to  address  the  students  of  St.  John's 
Seminary,  Brighton,  by  the  invitation  of  the  president,  Father  Rex.  He  was  selected  to  address  the  Catholic 
Congress  held  in  Chicago  during  the  Columbian  Exposition,  upon  the  subject  of  Public  and  Private  Charities. 
He  was  a  member  of  the  Board  of  Overseers  of  the  Poor  of  Boston  from  1879  to  1887.  While  serving  on  this 
board,  Mr.  Ring  shared  in  the  project  which  resulted  in  the  Waj'farer's  Lodge,  a  city  institution  for  sheltering 
homeless  men,  that  has  been  copied  by  many  other  cities  since.  Believing  that  friendly  association  with  persons 
of  all  religious  denominations  for  the  purposes  of  charity  to  be  wise  and  useful,  he  has  unhesitatingly  joined 
organizations  of  that  character,  and,  since  1882,  has  been  vice-president  of  the  Associated  Charities  of  Boston. 
In  1892  and  1893  he  was  a  member  of  a  special  committee  appointed  by  the  Mayor  of  Boston  to  examine  and 
report  upon  the  condition  of  the  city's  public  institutions.  As  a  result  of  this  committee's  investigations,  the 
city  government  appropriated  the  sum  of  $800,000  for  improvements.  Mr.  Ring  has  been  an  active  member 
of  the  Catholic  Union  of  Boston  for  eighteen  years.  He  was  president  of  that  association  in  1888,  when  it 
extended  a  reception  to  Cardinal  Gibbons,  and  it  fell  to  his  lot  to  make  the  address  of  welcome. 


St.  patrich's  IPadsb,  XowelL 

HE  record  of  Catholicity  in   Lowell  is  a  record  of  growth  and  progress  surpassed  by 

probably  few  places  in  New  England.     Seven  magnificent  churches  are  among  the 

^most  palpable  and  visible  manifestations  of  this  growth  and  progress,  and  when  to 

Ithese  are  added  the  schools  and  colleges,  and  the  many  charitable  institutions  founded 

by  the  Catholics  of  Lowell,  it  will  be  seen  that  the  record  is  one  in  which  they  may 

take  just  pride.     As  might  be  expected,  this  growth  and  progress  is  but  the  measure, 

or  rather  it  is  the  reflex,  of  the  increase  in  the  Catholic  population  of  Lowell.     When 

the  first  Catholic  church  was  established  here,  over  sixty  years  ago,  the  whole  Catholic 

population  numbered  only  about  500.     The  entire  population  of  the  town  was  then 

about  15,000,  so  that  the  Catholics  numbered  only  about  one-thirtieth  of  the  whole  community,  but 

at  the  present  day  the  Catholic  population  is  estimated  at  from  40,000  to  45,000,  or  about  half  of 

the  whole  community.     In  other  words,  while  the  population  as  a  whole  has  increased  about  500  per  cent.,  the 

Catholics  have  increased  at  the  rate  of  about  8,000  per  cent.,  or  sixteen  times  as  fast. 

The  pioneer  church  in  Lowell  is  now  known  as  St.  Patrick's,  but  in  the  humble,  unpretentious  structure  in 
which  the  Catholics  first  assembled  for  divine  worship,  few  would  recognize  the  germ  of  the  splendid  edifice 
which  now  stands  on  Adams  and  Suffolk  Streets.  When  Lowell  was  yet  little  more  than  a  village,  a  Catholic 
seems  to  have  been  a  rara  avis  here,  but  about  the  year  1822  came  a  change.  The  great  natural  advantages 
for  industrial  purposes  which  Lowell  possessed,  from  its  location  at  the  confluence  of  the  Merrimack  and  Con- 
cord Rivers,  had  at  this  time  attracted  the  attention  of  men  of  enterprise  and  capital,  such  as  Kirk  Boott, 
Lowell,  Lawrence,  and  Appleton,  and  the  result  was  the  inauguration  of  that  era  of  industrial  activity  which 
has  been  the  distinguishing  characteristic  of  Lowell  ever  since.  The  Merrimack  Manufacturing  Company  was 
incorporated,  in  1822,  with  a  capital  of  $600,000;  then  followed  the  Hamilton,  in  1825,  with  $600,000;  the 
Lowell  in  1828,  with  $900,000;  the  Appleton,  in  the  same  year,  with  $600,000;  the  Middlesex,  in  1830,  with 
$500,000;  the  Tremont  and  Suffolk,  in  1831,  with  $1,200,000;  the  Lawrence,  in  the  same  year,  with  $1,200,- 
000,  and  several  others  at  a  later  date.  The  immense  expenditure  of  money  necessitated  by  the  building  of 
all  these  mills,  the  digging  of  canals,  and  the  construction  of  streets,  roads,  and  bridges,  created  a  great  de- 
mand for  labor,  and  among  the  large  number  of  workmen  who  came  here  to  meet  this  demand  were  many  Irish 
laborers.  The  annals  of  the  day  tell  us  that  about  thirty  men,  led  by  Hugh  Cummisky,  came  here  to  work  on 
the  canals,  and  that  they  were  received  and  cared  for  by  Kirk  Boott.  This  was  the  nucleus  of  the  Irish  colony 
which  afterwards  grew  to  such  large  proportions. 

In  a  short  time  Irishmen  began  to  arrive  in  large  numbers,  and  they  settled  down  on  that  tract  of  land 
which  to  this  day  is  familiarly  known  as  "the  acre."  These  men  were  Catholics  almost  to  a  man.  They  were 
chiefly  men  who  were  forced  into  exile  by  the  Irish  rebellion  of  1798,  or  during  the  years  of  oppression  and 
tyranny  which  outlived  the  hateful  Act  of  Union  with  England.  They  were  not  educated  men,  for  education 
was  under  a  ban  in  their  native  country ;  they  were  not  cultured  men,  for  culture  was  impossible  with  such 
environments,  but  they  were  devout,  God-fearing  men,  honest  in  their  convictions,  and  humbly  grateful  for  the 



opportunity  of  "life,  liberty,  and  the  pursuit  of  happiness"  vouchsafed  to  them  in  their  new  home.  Gifted 
with  those  qualities  of  physical  strength  so  characteristic  of  their  race",  they  were  peculiarly  fitted  for  such 
works  as  were  then  being  carried  on  in  Lowell,  and  so  they  found  themselves  appreciated  accordingly.  Their 
religious  feehngs  glowed  warmly  within  them,  and  as  soon  as  their  numbers  reached  sufficient  proportions 
arrangements  were  made  to  have  the  divine  sacrifice  of  the  Mass  offered  up  among  them.     The  first  Mass  of 


which  there  is  any  record  was  celebrated  in  1822  for  the  benefit  of  the  "Irish  camp,"  on  the  spot  now  occupied 
by  Wheeler's  block  on  Tilden  Street.  Religious  services  were  carried  on  at  irregular  intervals  for  a  few  years, 
the  number  of  Catholics  being  too  small  to  maintain  a  resident  clergyman,  and  the  number  of  clergymen  avail- 
able being,  doubtless,  so  small  that  it  was  difficult  to  get  one  from  outside  to  offer  up  the  sacrifice  of  the 
Mass  even  once  a  month.     At  length,  however,  in  1827,  the  Lowell  Catholics  were  placed  under  the  spiritual 


charge  of  Rev.  John  Mahony,  and  a  new  era  was  inaugurated.  Father  Mahony  was  a  native  of  Kerry,  Ireland, 
where  he  was  born  in  1781,  and  before  coming  to  the  Diocese  of  Boston  he  labored  for  six  years  in  Maryland, 
and  eight  more  in  the  Diocese  of  Virginia.  At  the  time  of  his  appointment  to  the  Lowell  pastorate  he  had 
charge  of  the  Catholics  of  Salem,  and  there  he  continued  to  reside  for  some  time  after,  making  regular  visits 
to  Lowell  for  the  discharge  of  his  duties  here.  Bishop  Fenwick  visited  the  Catholics  of  Lowell  on  October  28, 
1828,  and  at  this  time  Mass  was  celebrated  in  the  Merrimack  Company's  school-house  on  Merrimack  Street. 

The  year  1830  saw  the  Catholic  contingent  increased  to  about  400,  and  under  the  direction  of  Father 
Mahony  they  began  the  erection  of  a  frame  building  on  land  donated  by  the  Locks  and  Canals  Company. 
This  building  was  70  feet  long  by  40  feet  wide,  and  in  the  following  year,  183 1,  it  was  completed.  It  was  a 
proud  day  for  the  exiled  children  of  St.  Patrick  when  they  saw  dedicated,  under  the  patronage  of  the  beloved  ■ 
apostle  of  their  native  land,  this,  their  first  church  to  the  service  of  God.  The  ceremonies  were  conducted  by 
Bishop  Fenwick,  and  on  the  same  day  he  administered  the  sacrament  of  confirmation  to  thirty-nine  persons. 
The  dedication  took  place  on  July  3,  1831,  and  this  date  marks  the  establishment  of  St.  Patrick's  Church  of 

Soon  the  increasing  duties,  both  at  Salem  and  Lowell,  made  it  necessary  to  have  a  resident  priest  at  both 
places,  and  Rev.  Father  Mahony  was  appointed  to  take  charge  of  Lowell.  Immediately  the  erection  of  a  pas- 
toral residence,  adjoining  the  church,  was  begun,  and  in  1832  it  was  ready  for  occupancy.  In  the  following 
year  Rev.  Father  Curtin  was  sent  to  Lowell  to  assist  Father  Mahony  and  he  remained  until  1835,  when  he  was 
transferred  to  the  Cathedral  at  Boston.  His  place  was  taken  by  Rev.  Father  Connelly,  and  he  and  Father 
Mahony  began  the  work  of  adding  two  wings  to  the  church.  About  this  time  the  Catholics  had  increased  to 
goodly  proportions,  so  much  so  that  in  1838  we  find  them  celebrating  St.  Patrick's  Day  by  a  procession  and 
banquet.  High  Mass  was  offered  up  in  the  morning  and  Father  Mahony  delivered  an  eloquent  panegyric  on 
the  saint.  The  banquet,  as  well  as  the  parade,  was  under  the  auspices  of  the  Lowell  Irish  Benevolent  Society, 
founded  in  1833,  and  among  the  speakers  was  Mayor  Bartlett,  who  warmly  commended  the  Irish  Catholics  for 
their  industry  and  fidelity." 

Father  Mahony  remained  in  Lowell  till  February,  1836,  when  he  was  transferred  to  St.  Augustine's 
Church,  South  Boston.  His  successor  was  Rev.  E.  J.  McCool,  who  remained  till  August  24,  1837,  and  was 
succeeded  by  Rev.  James  T.  McDermott.  He  came  here  from  New  Haven,  where  he  built  the  first  Catholic 
church  in  that  place,  and  in  December,  1839,  Rev.  James  Conway  came  here  as  assistant.  In  1841  Bishop 
Fenwick  visited  Lowell  and  was  so  much  impressed  with  the  increase  in  the  number  of  Catholics  that  he  asked 
Father  Conway  to  begin  the  erection  of  a  second  church.  Before  the  Bishop  took  his  departure  a  meeting  of 
the  parishioners  was  held,  at  which  he  was  present,  and  the  sum  of  $8,000  was  pledged  by  members  of  the 
congregation.  In  August,  of  that  year,  a  lot  was  purchased  at  the  corner  of  Gorham  and  Appleton  Streets, 
and  on  it  was  erected  St.  Peter's  Church,  the  second  Catholic  church  established  in  Lowell. 

Meanwhile  St.  Patrick's  parish  was  growing  in  prosperity  under  the  pastorate  of  Father  McDermott,  and 
in  1846  he  purchased  a  building  which  stood  near  the  corner  of  Lowell  and  Suffolk  Streets.  This  edifice  was 
built  by  the  Second  Baptists  and  dedicated  for  religious  services  in  1831.  In  1838'they  sold  it  to  the  Metho- 
dists who  named  it  "Wesley  Hall,"  and  from  the  Methodists  it  was  purchased  by  Father  McDermott.  It  was 
immediately  fitted  up  for  Catholic  worship,  and  on  Sunday,  March  8,  1847,  it  was  dedicated  by  Bishop  Fitz- 
patrick,  the  sermon  being  delivered  by  Very  Rev.  Dr.  Ryder,  president  of  Holy  Cross  College,  Worcester. 
This  church  became  known  as  St.  Mary's,  and  under  the  pastorate  of  Father  McDermott  it  was  used  until  the 
enlarged  accommodations  at  St.  Patrick's  Church,  some  years  later,  made  it  no  longer  necessary.  It  was  then 
closed  and  remained  so  till  it  was  again  opened  for  a  brief  period  in  1879.  In  1880,  Father  Michael  O'Brien, 
who  had  purchased  it  from  the  heirs  of  Father  McDermott,  who  died  in  1862,  had  it  remodeled  and  converted 
into  a  parochial  school  for  the  boys  of  the  parish. 

On  the  opening  of  St.  Mary's  and  the  appointment  of  Father  McDermott  to  its  pastorate.  Rev.  Father 
Tucker  became  his  successor  at  St.  Patrick's.  He  remained  till  December,  1848,  and  was  succeeded  by  a 
man  who,  above  and  beyond  all  others,  was  revered  by  the  Catholics  of  Lowell,  the  Rev.  John  O'Brien.  During 
the  years  of  his  pastorate  in  St.  Patrick's  he  left  the  impress  of  his  personality  not  only  on  the  affairs  of  the 


parish  but  of  the  city,  and  when  he  passed  away  it  was  amid  the  mourning  of  all  classes  of  the  community. 
The  visit  of  Rev.  Father  Mathew,  the  great  apostle  of  temperance,  in  1849,  was  an  important  event  in  the 
history  of  St.  Patrick's  parish,  and  during  his  stay  of  three  days  he  was  the  guest  of  Father  O'Brien.  Father 
Mathew  arrived  at  the  Northern  Depot  on  Tuesday,  September  11,  1849,  and  according  to  arrangements  pre- 
viously made  was  received  by  a  committee  of  prominent  citizens.  A  procession  was  formed  and  the  march 
was  made  through  Middlesex,  Tyler,  Lawrence,  Church,  Andover,  Nesmith,  Merrimack,  Button,  Lowell,  Cabot, 
and  Merrimack  Streets,  to  the  Merrimac  House.  The  crowd  was  an  immense  one  and  as  the  people  insisted 
on  hearing  the  distinguished  visitor.  Father  Mathew,  though  suffering  from  over-exertion,  made  a  brief  address. 
On  the  same  day  Father  Mathew  administered  the  pledge  to  a  large  number  at  St.  Patrick's  Church,  and  later 
he  visited  some  of  the  mills.  That  evening  he  worked  in  St.  Patrick's  Church  up  to  10  o'clock,  and  though  he 
administered  the  pledge  to  over  1,000  people,  many  had  to  go  away  disappointed.  On  Wednesday  he  adminis- 
tered the  pledge  at  St.  Mary's,  and  on  Thursday  at  St.  Peter's.  At  3  o'clock  in  the  afternoon  of  Thursday  he 
went  to  the  city  hall  where  a  reception  was  tendered  him  and  where  he  had  an  opportunity  of  meeting  a  large 
number  of  the  most  prominent  men  in  the  city.  He  spoke  briefly,  as  did  also  Dr.  Huntington,  and  he  also 
administered  several  pledges.  It  was  estimated  that  over  5,000  pledges  in  all  had  been  administered  by  him 
before  he  departed  for  Lawrence  on  Friday. 

In  185  I  there  came  to  St.  Patrick's  another  man  who  was  destined  to  do  valuable  work  in  the  Master's 
vineyard.  This  was  Rev.  Timothy  O'Brien,  an  elder  brother  to  Father  John,  and  for  many  years  the  two 
brothers  labored  unceasingly  for  the  spiritual  and  material  welfare  of  the  people.  Soon  the  congregation  in- 
creased to  such  an  extent  that  the  original  building,  even  with  all  the  additions  made  to  it,  was  insufficient  for 
the  needs  of  the  parish,  and  in  1853  Father  O'Brien  perfected  the  plans  for  the  present  stately  edifice.  The 
corner-stone  was  laid  on  July  4,  1853,  by  Rev.  John  O'Brien,  assisted  by  Rev.  Timothy  O'Brien,  and  Rev. 
Michael  O'Brien,  their  nephew,  then  of  Rochester,  N.  Y.  The  work  went  on  steadily,  and  on  October  29,  1854, 
the  church  was  dedicated.  The  ceremony  was  performed  by  Bishop  Fitzpatrick,  and  the  attendance  was  so 
large  that  hundreds  had  to  stand  in  the  aisles.  The  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Very  Rev.  John  J.  Williams,  now 
Archbishop  of  Boston,  with  Rev.  Michael  O'Brien,  of  Rochester,  N.  Y.,  as  deacon ;  Rev.  Father  Shahan,  of 
Salem,  sub-deacon ;  and  Rev.  Nicholas  J.  O'Brien,  master  of  ceremonies.  The  sermon  was  preached  by  Rev. 
Dr.  Moriarty,  O.  S.  A.,  of  Philadelphia.  At  vespers  the  sermon  was  delivered  by  Right  Rev.  Bishop  O'Reilly, 
of  Springfield,  Mass.  The  new  church  was  such  as  to  excite  wonder  and  admiration,  and  at  that  time  there 
were  probably  few  churches  in  the  country  to  equal  it  in  splendor.  It  is  170  feet  long  and  its  greatest  width  is 
100  feet.  The  building  is  of  granite,  and  the  architecture  is  Gothic  of  the  13th  century.  The  distance  from 
the  fioor  to  the  center  of  the  arch  overhead  is  70  feet,  and  the  arches  on  the  sides  are  supported  by  fourteen 
large  pillars.  The  tower,  which  stands  at  the  center  of  the  eastern  end,  is  one  of  the  most  conspicuous  land- 
marks in  that  section  of  the  city.     The  seating  capacity  of  the  church  is  about  2,000. 

Just  about  the  time  the  church  was  completed  the  Know-Nothing  movement  was  rife  in  Massachusetts,  and 
soon  the  ferment  spread  to  Lowell.  A  fanatic  named  Orr,  who  called  himself  the  "  Angel  Gabriel,"  came  here 
and  tried  to  incite  to  pillage  and  violence  all  the  lawless  characters  whom  he  could  gather  around  him.  He 
went  through  the  streets  tooting  a  tin  trumpet,  he  harangued  the  crowds  on  the  commons,  and  at  length  he 
succeeded  in  working  a  number  of  his  followers  up  to  a  pitch  of  frenzy.  An  attack  was  planned  on  St.  Patrick's 
Church  and  Convent,  but  the  people  of  the  parish  had  made  very  extensive  preparations  for  defense,  and  when 
the  attacking  party  arrived  they  met  with  such  a  warm  reception  that  they  soon  beat  a  hasty  retreat.  The 
"  Angel  Gabriel "  was  unable  to  organize  any  further  attacks,  but  the  Catholics  were  subjected  to  annoyance 
from  another  direction.  The  election  of  1854  sent  to  the  legislature  several  members  of  the  Know-Nothing 
party,  and,  worse  still,  a  Know-Nothing  Governor,  Henry  J.  Gardner,  was  elected.  This  pernicious  influence 
was  soon  felt  in  the  new  legislative  measures  passed.  One  of  the  first  acts  was  directed  against  militia  compa- 
nies composed  of  "persons  of  foreign  birth,"  and  the  Jackson  Musketeers,  of  Lowell,  a  company  coming  under 
this  description,  was  at  once  ordered  to  be  disbanded.  General  Butler  was  then  commander  of  the  company 
and  he  refused  to  obey  the  order,  and  thus  came  into  conflict  with  the  Know-Nothing  Governor.  A  more  in- 
famous act  was  directed  against  the  religious  houses  throughout  the  State,  and  the  convent  of  Notre  Dame  was 


soon  visited  by  tlie  so-called  "smelling  committee"  appointed  under  the  act  to  "inspect"  the  various  houses. 
But  the  infamous  conduct  of  this  committee  and  the  dissolute  character  of  the  men  composing  it  did  more  than 
anything  else  to  kill  the  Know-Nothing  movement  and  cover  with  opprobrium  all  its  adherents.  The  historian, 
John  G.  Shea,  says  of  the  matter :  "  In  their  visit  to  Lowell  one  of  the  committee  was  accompanied  by  a  loose 
woman  whose  expenses  he  charged  to  the  State,  and  these  very  fair  samples  of  Massachusetts'  guardians  of 
public  morals,  going  to  see  whether  any  disorder  existed  in  Catholic  convents,  themselves  gave  every  example 
of  dishonesty  and  debauchery.  The  whole  Know  -  Nothing  party  blushed  at  the  dishonor  they  had  drawn  upon 
themselves,  and  to  satisfy  the  public  clamor  they  expelled  William  Hiss,  one  of  their  members,  making  him  the 
scape-goat."  After  a  time  sensible  men  got  ashamed  of  the  position  into  which  they  had  been  led,  and  the 
Know-Nothing  movement  died  a  natural  death. 

In  1855  the  congregation  of  St.  Patrick's  suffered  a  severe  loss  in  the  death  of  Father  Timothy  O'Brien. 
He  died  on  the  1 1  th  of  October,  and  shortly  after  a  beautiful  granite  monument  was  placed  over  his  grave, 
just  outside  the  main  entrance  to  the  church.  Soon  after  Rev.  Thomas  R.  McNulty  came  from  St.  Augustine's 
Church,  South  Boston,  and  he  remained  as  assistant  to  Father  John  O'Brien  till  February,  1857,  when  he  was 
transferred  to  Milton.  Another  assistant  came  to  St.  Patrick's  in  November,  1856,  in  the  person  of  Rev.  T. 
P.  McCarthy,  and  he  remained  till  May,  1858,  when  he  retired  on  account  of  failing  health.  In  June,  185S, 
Rev.  Father  Carroll  came,  and  remained  till  February,  1859,  when  he  went  to  Mansfield,  from  which,  in  turn, 
he  was  transferred  a  little  later  to  the  Boston  Cathedral.  Rev.  Father  P.  O'Donoghue  came  in  December, 
1858,  and  remained  till  February,  1859.  His  place  was  taken  by  Rev.  Father  O'Connor,  who  remained  till 
June,  1861.  Rev.  E.  Gerbi,  O.  S.  F.,  came  in  June,  1861,  and  remained  till  April,  1862,  when  he  was  trans- 
ferred to  St.  Mary's  Church,  Charlestown,  and  afterwards  to  the  Gate  of  Heaven  Church,  South  Boston.  In 
June,  1862,  came  Rev.  Peter  Bertoldi,  and  he  remained  till  July,  1864,  when  he  was  transferred  to  St.  Peter's 
Church,  Sandwich.  Next  came  Rev.  Peter  Hamill,  who  served  from  September,  1864,  till  December  of  the 
same  year.  He  was  followed  by  Rev.  James  McGlew,  who  remained  from  January  to  July  of  1865,  and  was  trans- 
ferred to  St.  Mary's  Church,  Randolph,  and  afterwards  to  the  Church  of  St.  Rose,  Chelsea.  Next  came  Rev. 
Father  Charles  F.  Grace,  who  served  from  July,  1865,  till  July,  1868,  when  he  was  transferred  to  Great  Bar- 
rington.  About  this  time  the  increasing  duties,  consequent  on  the  growth  of  the  congregation,  made  a  second 
assistant  necessary,  and  in  August,  1866,  Rev.  Dennis  C.  Moran  was  appointed  to  St.  Patrick's,  He  remained 
till  March,  1868,  when  he  was  placed  in  charge  of  St.  Mary's  Church,  Uxbridge.  Before  Father  Moran  left,  it 
happened  that  a  young  priest  was  called  to  St.  Patrick's  who  was  destined  to  play  an  important  part  in  the 
subsequent  history  of  the  parish.  This  was  Rev.  Michael  O'Brien,  the  nephew  of  the  two  worthy  brothers. 
Fathers  Timothy  and  John  O'Brien,  and  the  present  esteemed  pastor  of  the  church.  At  that  time  he  was 
stationed  in  Rochester,  N.  Y.,  but  at  the  earnest  solicitation  of  Father  John,  he  came  to  Lowell,  on  June  29, 
1867.  It  thus  happened  that  when,  in  the  fullness  of  time,  Father  John  was  gathered  to  the  elect,  his  mantle 
was  ready  to  fall  on  worthy  shoulders,  and  Father  Michael  has  since  that  time  not  only  proved  a  worthy  suc- 
cessor to  his  illustrious  uncle,  but  he  has  added  new  lustre  to  the  name  of  O'Brien. 

Just  before  this  time  came  the  great  civil  conflict,  but  it  was  not  altogether  an  unmixed  evil,  as  far  as  the 
Irish  Catholics  were  concerned,  as  it  proved  a  complete  vindication  from  the  slurs  thrown  upon  them  by 
Governor  Gardner  and  others  of  his  ilk  a  few  years  previously.  They  were  among  the  first  to  respond  to  the 
call  to  arms  in  behalf  of  their  adopted  country,  and  their  blood  was  as  freely  shed  on  American  battle  fields  as 
that  of  their  forefathers  in  their  battles  with  the  Saxon  on  Irish  soil.  The  Catholics  of  Lowell  were  prompt  in 
responding,  and  the  famous  Sixth  Regiment  contained  four  Lowell  companies  in  which  the  Catholics  were 
largely  represented.  The  color  bearer  was  a  young  Irishman  named  Timothy  A.  Crowley,  and  his  career  in 
the  service  of  his  country  was  such  as  to  win  admiration.  In  fact,  the  first  company  organized  in  Lowell  was 
organized  in  St.  Patrick's  parish  in  response  to  a  call  published  in  one  of  the  local  papers.  The  call  met  with 
such  a  ready  response  that  66  men  were  enrolled  that  very  evening.  This  company  was  afterwards  known  as 
the  Hill  Cadets,  and  was  largely  composed  of  members  of  the  Jackson  Musketeers — the  very  company  which 
Governor  Gardner  had  disbanded  a  few  years  before  because  its  members,  being  "foreign  born,"  could  not  be 
trusted  to  carry  arms  or  serve  in  the  state  militia!     Only  a  few   days  after  this   first  company  was  organized 



another  call  was  issued,  and  in  response  a  company  was  formed  to  be  attached  to  the  Irish  Brigade,  of  Boston, 
and  still  later  the  Butler  Rifles,  afterwards  Company  G,  of  the  Sixteenth  Infantry,  was  organized.  Both  these 
contained  a  large  proportion  of  men  of  Irish  birth  or  parentage.  The  Catholic  women  of  Lowell  seemed  fully 
as  enthusiastic  in  the  cause  as  the  men.  As  the  companies  were  being  formed  we  find  them  coming  together 
to  assist  in  furnishing  supplies  and  equipments  for  the  soldiers  who  were  marching  forth  to  war.  A  committee, 
specially  organized  for  this  purpose,  was  made  up  as  follows:  St.  Patrick's  Church,  Mrs.  Hogan,  Mrs.  P. 
Haggerty,  Mrs.  T.  D.  Smith,  Miss  B.  Proctor,  Miss  M.  A.  Doyle,  Miss  M.  Shea,  Mrs.  D.  Crowley,  and  Miss  L. 
Enright;  St.  Mary's,  Mrs.  J.  Warren,  Mrs.  P.  Lynch,  Mrs.  J.  Hiland,  Miss  B.  Carroll,  Mrs.  T.  Lucas,  Miss  M. 
Pindar,  and  Miss  M.  Deehan;  St.  Peter's,  Mrs.  J.  Quinn,  Mrs.  B.  Costello,  and  Misses  J  L.  and  Kate  McEvoy, 
M.  McGuiggan,  and  M.  McNulty.  On  Sunday,  May  5,  1861,  the  Hill  Cadets  attended  Mass  at  St.  Patrick's 
Church  in  full  uniform,  and  when  Father  John  O'Brien,  at  the  consecration,  raised  the  Sacred  Host,  the  drum 
beat  and  the  men  presented  arms,  making  a  most  impressive  scene. 

All  this  time  St.  Patrick's  parish  kept  growing  rapidly,  and  shortly  after  the  war  an  additional  charge  was 
added  to  the  work  of  the  pastors.  The  Catholics  of  Chelmsford  had  become  quite  numerous,  and  the  distance 
being  so  far  to  St.  Patrick's,  it  was 
determined  to  give  them  a  more  con- 
venient place  of  worship.  Accord- 
ingly, Father  John  O'Brien  purchased 
a  building  used  as  a  Protestant  church 
in  Middlesex  Village,  and  he  had  it 
removed  to  North  Chelmsford,  where 
it  was  fitted  up  for  Catholic  worship 
and  dedicated  under  the  patronage  of 
St.  John,  the  Evangelist.  Up  to  last 
year  the  priests  of  St.  Patrick's  con- 
ducted the  services  at  this  church, 
but  the  number  of  Catholics  in 
Chelmsford,  Westford,  Graniteville, 
and  the  adjoining  villages  had  in- 
creased to  such  an  e.xtent  that  it  was 
deemed  advisable  to  form  them  into 
a  distinct  parish.  This  was  done,  and 
Rev.  Father  Shaw,  for  some  years  an 
esteemed  assistant  at  St.  Patrick's, 
was  placed  in  charge. 

In  the  year  1866,  Father  John  O'Brien  was  instrumental  in  laying  the  foundation  of  what  has  since  proved 
one  of  the  noblest  institutions  in  the  land  —  St.  John's  Hospital.  About  the  same  time  Father  John  made  an 
extensive  addition  to  St.  Patrick's  Cemetery,  the  only  Catholic  cemetery  in  Lowell  up  to  the  present  day, 
though  just  now  a  second  one,  chiefly  for  the  benefit  of  French  Catholics,  is  about  to  be  opened.  Up  to  this 
time  the  cemetery  consisted  of  only  a  few  acres,  bought  many  years  before  by  Father  Mahony,  the  first  pastor, 
but  Father  John's  purchase  made  a  considerable  increase  in  its  size.  Since  that  time  the  present  pastor,  Father 
Michael,  has  made  further  additions  to  the  cemetery,  so  that  now  it  comprises  about  seventy  acres. 

In  July,  1868,  Rev.  Arthur  J.  Teeling  came  to  succeed  Rev.  Father  Moran,  already  referred  to,  and  he 
remained  till  August,  187 1,  when  he  was  transferred  to  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception,  Newbury- 
port.  In  1869  was  organized  St.  Patrick's  Temperance  Society,  which  afterwards  became  one  of  the  largest 
organizations  of  its  kind  in  the  State.  At  one  time  it  numbered  700  men  and  600  women.  Its  first  president 
was  Rev.  Michael  O'Brien,  and  Father  Teeling  was  secretary,  with  Mr.  James  J.  Shea  as  treasurer.  The 
society  is  in  existence  to-day,  though  not  as  active  as  in  those  days.  In  1869  the  parochial  residence  had  be- 
come altogether  inadequate  to  meet  the  needs  of  the  parish,  and  Father  John  had  it  removed  to  make  room  for 

P\ROCHi\L  Re 


the  present  building,  a  view  of  which  is  shown  herewith.  It  is  a  commodious  and  comfortable  building  and  is 
admirably  adapted  to  the  purposes  for  which  it  was  constructed.  In  1870  Father  John  O'Brien  began  to  feel 
the  weight  of  advancing  years,  and  he  resigned  the  pastorate  in  favor  of  Father  Michael.  He  had  well  pro- 
vided for  the  present  and  the  immediate  future  needs  of  the  parish  and  he  thought  he  could  afford  to  take  a 
well  earned  rest,  but  he  worked,  nevertheless,  with  scarcely  less  activity  than  before  for  four  years  more,  when 
the  angel  of  death  called  him  away.  His  death  was  mourned  not  only  in  the  parish  but  throughout  the  whole 
city.  It  came  so  suddenly,  too,  that  it  shocked  the  community.  On  October  31st,  the  feast  of  All  Saints,  in 
the  year  1874,  he  was  in  the  confessional  as  usual  the  greater  part  of  the  afternoon.  About  six  o'clock  he 
went  home  to  supper  and  while  at  the  table  he  complained  of  fatigue.  He  was  conversing  with  Father  Michael 
O'Brien  and  Father  McManus  when  he  suddenly  fell  back  in  his  chair.  Father  McManus  hastily  administered 
the  last  rites  of  the  church  to  him,  and  in  a  few  minutes  his  soul  passed  to  its  eternal  reward.  The  sad  news 
spread  rapidly  through  the  city,  and  on  the  following  day,  Sunday,  thousands  came  to  view  the  remains  and 
pay  a  tearful  tribute  to  his  memory.  The  city  council  held  a  special  meeting  at  which  it  was  voted  to  attend 
the  funeral  in  a  body.  On  the  following  Wednesday  morning  the  funeral  took  place  from  the  church,  which 
had  been  draped  in  mourning  by  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame.  The  various  societies  connected  with  the  church, 
the  sisters,  and  the  school  children  were  all  present.  The  Catholic  societies  of  the  city  had  formed  a  proces- 
sion on  Market  Street,  with  D.  J.  Sullivan  as  marshal,  and  John  Grady,  John  Sullivan,  Patrick  Lynch,  P.  J. 
Courtney,  J.  M.  Laughlin,  and  J.  Healy  as  aids,  and  they  marched  to  the  church.  When  the  societies  took 
their  places  in  the  church  the  edifice  was  filled  to  its  utmost  capacity.  At  10  o'clock  when  the  office  of  the 
dead  was  intoned  there  were  five  bishops  and  over  100  priests  in  the  sanctuary.  The  solemn  High  Mass  which 
followed  was  celebrated  by  Very  Rev.  P.  F.  Lyndon,  Vicar- General  of  the  diocese,  with  Very  Rev.  James  A. 
Healy,  now  Bishop  of  Portland,  as  deacon ;  Rev.  J.  B.  Smith,  of  the  Boston  Cathedral,  sub-deacon,  and  Rev. 
Father  Teeling,  of  Newburyport,  and  Rev.  Father  Gray,  of  Salem,  as  masters  of  ceremonies.  Bishop  Williams 
was  present  and  was  attended  by  Rev.  Father  Blenkinsop  and  Rev.  Father  Purcell  as  deacons  of  honor.  A 
very  feeling  address  to  the  congregation  was  delivered  by  Bishop  Williams.  The  other  bishops  present  were 
Bishop  Lynch,  of  Charleston,  S.  C;  Bishop  Conroy,  of  Albany,  N.  Y.;  Bishop  Hendricken,  of  Providence,  R. 
I.,  and  Bishop  O'Reilly,  of  Springfield.  The  lay  pall-bearers  were  Dr.  F.  C.  Plunkett,  Patrick  Lynch,  Patrick 
Dempsey,  Richard  Comerford,  James  Collins,  and  James  Owens.  The  clerical  pall-bearers  were  Rev.  Fathers 
Haley,  of  Salem;  Delahunty,  of  Roxbury ;  McNulty,  of  North  Bridgewater;  Purcell,  of  Pittsfield ;  O'Donnell, 
of  Nashua;  Blenkinsop,  of  Worcester;  McGlew,  of  Chelsea;  Flood,  of  Waltham,  and  Crudden,  of  Lowell.  The 
remains  were  interred  beside  the  body  of  his  beloved  brother.  Father  Timothy,  just  in  front  of  the  church,  and 
the  monument  which  Father  John  had  erected  some  years  previously  in  memory  of  his  brother  now  serves 
for  both. 

Father  John  having  passed  away,  the  mantle  of  succession  fell  on  Father  Michael,  and  he  was  at  once 
confirmed  as  pastor  of  the  church  by  Archbishop  Williams.  Just  previous  to  this,  several  changes  had  taken 
place  in  the  assistants.  When  Father  TeeHng  left,  in  187 1,  he  was  succeeded  in  May  of  that  year  by  Rev. 
Michael  T.  McManus,  who  remained  till  April,  1876,  when  he  was  transferred  to  West  Newton,  and  afterwards 
to  St.  Patrick's,  South  Lawrence.  A  short  time  before  he  left,  the  needs  of  the  congregation  made  two  addi- 
tional assistants  necessary,  and  in  September,  1875,  Rev.  William  and  Rev.  Martin  O'Brien  came  to  Lowell. 
Father  William  remained  till  June,  1884,  when  he  was  placed  in  charge  of  the  newly  organized  St.  Michael's 
Church,  in  Centralville,  and  here  he  has  since  remained.  Father  Martin  O'Brien,  after  a  stay  of  about 
eighteen  months,  was  transferred  to  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception,  Salem.  In  September,  1876, 
Rev.  William  M.  O'Brien  came  to  St.  Patrick's  and  remained  twelve  years,  when  he  was  transferred  to  Win- 
chester. In  January,  1883,  came  Rev.  John  J.  Shaw,  and  he  remained  till  the  summer  of  last  year,  when  he 
was  placed  in  charge  of  the  newly  formed  parish  of  Chelmsford.  In  January,  1884,  Rev.  James  W.  Hickey 
came  and  he  remained  till  September,  1887,  when  failing  health  compelled  him  to  seek  a  change  of  climate 
in  California.     This  brings  the  list  up  to  the  present  clergymen  who  will  be  noticed  later  on. 

Father  Michael  O'Brien,  having  taken  charge  of  the  parish,  lost  no  time  in  pushing  on  the  good  work  of 
his  predecessor.     One  of  his  first  acts  was  to  enlarge  and  remodel  the  basement  of  the  church,  changing  it 



into  a  handsome  chapel,  in  which  Mass  is  celebrated  on  week  days,  and  for  the  children  on  Sundays,  and  where, 
moreover,  the  religious  societies  and  the  Sunday-school  are  provided  with  ample  accommodations.  One  por- 
tion of  it  was  cut  off  into  two  apartments,  one  known  as  O'Connell  Hall,  being  used  as  a  library,  and  the  other 
for  a  vestry.  This  being  accomplished,  his  next  task  was  an  effort  to  clear  the  church  from  debt  and  prepare 
for  the  crowning  glory  of  its  consecration.  In  this  work  he  gave  largely  of  his  private  resources,  and  he  had 
the  satisfaction  of  not  only  seeing  the  debts  all  cleared,  but  he  was  able  to  make  many  improvements  on  which 
he  had  long  set  his  heart.  The  most  important  of  these  was  the  beautiful  marble  altar  which  he  had  erected 
at  this  time.  It  is  Gothic  in  style,  built  of  gray  and  white  marbles,  inlaid  with  Mexican  onyx  and  rare  marbles 
from  Ireland  and  Portugal,  and  is  alto- 
gether a  splendid  work  of  art.  At  its 
base  it  is  20  feet  wide,  and  the  height 
to- the  top  of  the  central  pinnacle  is  23 
feet.  In  a  niche  on  the  gospel  side  of 
the  altar  is  a  marble  statue  of  the 
Blessed  Virgin,  and  in  a  corresponding 
niche  on  the  other  side  is  a  similar 
statue  of  St.  Patrick.  Another  impor- 
tant improvement  was  the  removal  of  all 
the  old  windows  and  the  substitution  of 
beautiful  stained  glass  ones.  These 
were  chiefly  contributed  through  the 
generosity  of  some  members  of  the 
parish,  and  they  present  a  beautiful 
appearance  with  their  lovely  tints  and 
colors,  portraying  some  scriptural  scene 
or  inculcating  some  great  moral  truth. 
The  list  of  donors,  and  subjects  repre- 
sented, is  as  follows :  Gospel  side, 
beginning  next  the  entrance  —  No.  i, 
ornamental  window,  presented  by  James 
J.  McCafferty,  in  memory  of  his  father; 
No.  2,  allegorical  representation  of  the 
results  of  temperance  and  intemperance, 
presented  by  St.  Patrick's  Temperance 
Society;  No.  3,  miraculous  catch  of 
fishes,  presented  by  Miss  B.  C.  Proctor, 
in  memory  of  her  brother.  Captain 
Patrick  S.  Proctor;  No.  4,  pictures  of 
St.  Matthew  and  St.  Mark,  presented  by 
James  Collins;  No.  5,  the  raising  of 
Lazarus,  presented  by  the   Rosary   So-  '^"-'■'^"■'  ^''-  P^™"^'^'^  Convent. 

ciety;    No.  i,  transept,  pictures  of  St.  Jerome  and  St.  Augustine,  presented  by  Rev.  Arthur  J.  Teeling;    No.  2, 
transept,  pictures  of  St.  Patrick  and  St.  Bridget,  presented  by  Patrick  Mead. 

On  the  epistle  side  —  No.  i,  ornamental  window,  presented  by  Mary  and  Katie  Griffin;  No.  2,  pictures 
of  St.  Michael,  the  Archangel,  and  St.  James,  the  Apostle,  presented  by  Rev.  James  McGlew;  No.  3,  miracle 
of  the  loaves  and  fishes,  presented  by  the  Sodality  of  the  Immaculate  Conception;  No.  4,  pictures  of  St.  Luke 
and  St.  John,  presented  by  the  Holy  Name  Society;  No.  5,  Christ  restoring  sight  to  the  blind,  presented  by 
Timothy  O'Brien;  No.  i,  transept,  pictures  of  Saints  Gregory  and  Ambrose,  presented  by  Mrs.  A.  F.  Jewett; 
No.  2,  transept,  pictures  of  the  Blessed  Virgin  and  St.  Anne,  presented  by  Anne  Hallinan.     On  the  left  side  of 



the  altar  is  a  window  representing  the  Nativity  of  Christ,  presented  by  Dr.  F.  C.  Plunkett,  and  on  the  riglit  is 
a  representation  of  the  Resurrection,  presented  by  Patrick  Lynch.  Overhead,  in  the  left  transept,  is  a  repre- 
sentation of  the  Annunciation,  presented  by  the  Sodality  of  the  Holy  Family,  and  in  the  right  transept  is  a 
representation  of  the  Ascension,  presented  by  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame.  Above  the  altar  is  a  magnificent 
window  representing  the  Crucifixion  of  Our  Lord.  It  was  donated  by  Rev.  Michael  O'Brien,  in  memory  of 
Revs.  Timothy  and  John  O'Brien.  In  the  choir  are  two  handsome  windows,  one,  representing  Saints  Rose 
and  Anne,  being  presented  by  John  J.  Donovan,  and  the  other,  representing  St.  John  the  Baptist  and  St. 
Columbkille,  being  presented  by  Mrs.  Terrence  Hanover,  in  memory  of  her  husband. 


Every  preparation  being  now  completed,  arrangements  were  made  for  the  consecration,  and  on  Sunday, 
September  7,  1879,  the  impressive  ceremony  took  place.  It  was  the  third  church  consecrated  in  the  Archdio- 
cese of  Boston,  the  other  two  being  the  Immaculate  Churches  of  Boston  and  Newburyport.  The  ceremonies 
were  conducted  by  Archbishop  Williams,  and  in  the  private  portion,  which  began  at  7  a.  m.  and  lasted  three 
hours,  he  was  assisted  by  Rev.  Father  Shahan,  of  Boston,  as  first  deacon ;  Rev.  Father  Gray,  of  Salem,  second 
deacon ;  Rev.  Father  McManus,  of  West  Newton,  sub-deacon,  and  Rev.  Father  Teeling,  of  Newburyport,  and 
Rev.  Father  Gilmore,  of  Lawrence,  masters  of  ceremonies.  At  10  o'clock  the  church  was  opened  to  the  con- 
gregation, admission  being  by  ticket,  and  in  a  few  minutes  all  available  space  was  crowded.     Solemn  Pen- 



tifical  Mass  was  begun  at  10.15,  Archbishop  Williams  being  celebrant,  with  Very  Rev.  Father  Byrne,  V.  G., 
as  archpriest ;  Rev.  Father  McGlew,  of  Chelsea,  and  Rev.  Father  Hourigan,  of  Binghamton,  N.  Y.,  as  deacons 
of  honor ;  Rev.  Father  Smith,  of  Boston,  as  deacon  of  the  Mass  ;  Rev.  Father  Morris,  of  Brookline,  as  sub- 
deacon,  and  Rev.  Father  Metcalf,  of  Boston,  and  Rev.  Father  William  O'Brien,  of  St.  Patrick's,  as  masters  of 
ceremonies.  An  unusually  large  number  of  priests  were  present,  also  Bishop  Ryan,  of  Buffalo,  N.  Y.;  Bishop 
Lynch,  of  Charleston,  S.  C;  Bishop  Healy,  of  Portland;  Bishop  Shanahan,  of  Harrisburg,  Pa.;  Bishop  McMa- 
hon,  of  Hartford,  Conn.;  Bishop  O'Reilly,  of  Springfield;  Bishop  Conroy,  of  Albany,  N.  Y.  Right  Rev. 
Bishop  Ryan  preached  the  sermon.  The  choir  rendered  Haydn's  Sixteenth  Mass,  under  the  direction  of  Mr. 
E.  F.  Faulkner,  with  M.  J.  Johnson  as  organist,  and  at  the  close  of  the  Mass  the  Te  Deum  was  sung  by  the 
whole  congregation,  led  by  Rev.  Father  Teeling.  In  the  evening  pontifical  vespers  were  sung  by  Right.  Rev. 
Bishop  Conroy,  of  Albany,  and  the  sermon  was  preached  by  Right  Rev.  Bishop  Healy,  of  Portland. 


St.  Patrick's  Boys"  School  is  one  of  the  most  flourishing  institutions  of  its  kind  in  the  State,  and  the  peo- 
ple of  the  parish  may  certainly  congratulate  themselves  on  having  such  an  excellent  means  of  educating  their 
boys  in  their  midst.  The  school  owes  its  origin  to  the  present  pastor.  Rev.  Michael  O'Brien,  and  the  beginning 
of  the  work  dates  back  to  the  year  188 1. 

The  pastors  of  St.  Patrick's  parish  have  always  paid  special  attention  to  the  education  of  the  young  people 
committed  to  their  charge,  and  from  the  very  earliest  days  of  the  parish  we  fi.nd  them  devoting  their  energies 
to  the  task  of  providing  the  best  educational  facilities  available.  Scarcely  had  the  first  frame  building  been 
opened  as  a  church  by  Father  Mahony,  in  183 1,  when  he  began  to  bring  the  children  together  for  the  purpose 
of  giving  them  proper  iustruction.  A  room  in  the  basement  of  the  church  was  fitted  up  and  for  some  years 
the  children  of  the  parish  were  accommodated  there.  It  appears  that  about  the  year  1835  the  school  com- 
mittee assumed  charge  of  this  school,  made  a  grant  for  its  maintenance,  and  elected  its  teacher,  one  Patrick 


Collins,  as  one  of  the  corps  of  public  instructors.  In  1S37  another  room  under  the  church  was  opened  for 
educational  purposes  with  Miss  Mary  Ann  Stanton  as  teacher.  In  June  of  1838,  the  school  taught  by  Mr. 
Collins,  and  another  Catholic  school  kept  by  Daniel  McElroy  in  the  vicinity  of  Chapel  Hill,  were  united  into 
one  and  moved  to  Liberty  Hall,  on  Lowell  Street,  with  Mr.  McElroy  as  principal.  On  January  8,  1844,  this 
school  was  moved  to  a  new  building  on  Lewis  Street,  which  has  since  been  known  as  the  Mann  School.  For 
some  years  an  arrangement  was  maintained  with  the  school  committee  whereby  the  teachers  of  schools  made 
up  wholly  or  principally  of  Catholic  children  should  be  in  charge  of  Catholic  teachers,  but  subject  to  examina- 
tions and  to  the  supervision  of  the  school  committee  like  the  other  public  schools.  This  arrangement,  though 
the  best  that  could  be  made  at  the  time,  was  not  quite  satisfactory,  and  it  was  not  till  1852  that  the  present 
system  of  parish  schools  was  inaugurated.  In  that  year  arrived  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame,  and  for  several 
years  they  educated  the  young  people  of  both  sexes  in  the  parish. 

About  the  year  1880  Father  Michael  O'Brien  turned  his  attention  to  educational  matters,  and  conceived 
the  idea  of  remodeling  and  fitting  up  the  building  formerly  known  as  St.  Mary's  Church,  on  Suffolk  Street,  as 
a  school  for  the  boys  of  the  parish.  Such  a  change  involved  much  labor  and  expense,  but  the  work  was 
driven,  and  in  September  of  18S1  the  new  school  was  ready  to  be  opened.  Father  O'Brien  was  fortunate  in 
securing  four  brothers  of  the  Xaverian  Order,  introduced  into  this  country  in  1854,  and  these  he  placed  in 
charge  of  the  school.  Brothers  Joseph,  Eugene,  Bonaventure,  and  Aloysius  arrived  here  on  August  16,  1881. 
Brother  Joseph  was  in  charge,  and  he  became  the  first  director  of  the  school.  The  school  was  opened  on 
Monday,  September  i,  1881,  and  the  number  of  pupils  was  about  225.  In  January  of  1882  Brother  Joseph 
was  transferred  to  the  Mt.  St.  Joseph's  College,  Baltimore,  Md.,  and  he  was  succeeded  by  Brother  Dominic, 
who  came  from  the  same  in,stitution.  During  the  first  year  the  number  of  pupils  increased  to  such  an  extent 
that  at  the  beginning  of  the  term  in  September  of  1882,  two  additional  teachers  had  to  be  obtained.  These 
were  Brother  George,  who  is  at  present  director  of  the  school,  and  Brother  Amandas.  This  made  six  teachers 
in  all,  and  the  pupils  had  increased  to  over  300.  Brother  Dominic  remained  about  three  years,  and  he  was 
succeeded  by  Brother  Angelus,  who  came  from  the  parent  house,  Mt.  St.  Joseph's,  where  he  was  prefect  of 
studies.  Brother  Dominic  was  transferred  to  Mt.  St.  Mary's  Industrial  School,  Baltimore,  Md.  Brother  Ange- 
lus remained  four  years,  from  1885  to  1889,  and  during  his  regime  he  brought  the  school  to  a  high  state  of 
efficiency.  Among  other  marked  improvements  which  he  inaugurated,  he  organized  a  number  of  societies  and 
sodalities  among  the  pupils,  and  these  continue  to  flourish  to  the  present  day.  The  principal  ones  are  the 
Immaculate  Conception  and  Sacred  Heart  Sodalities,  St.  Xavier's  Lyceum,  and  Young  Catholic  Cadets.  He 
also  successfully  organized  an  orchestra  and  a  band.  After  his  term  expired  Brother  Angelus  was  transferred 
to  St.  Peter's  Cathedral  School,  Richmond,  Va.,  and  he  was  succeeded  by  Brother  Philip,  who  came  from  the 
same  institution,  practically  changing  places  with  him.  Brother  Philip  remained  one  year,  and  then  he  returned 
to  Richmond.  He  was  succeeded  by  Brother  George,  the  present  director,  who  is  now  serving  his  third  year 
in  that  position.  Brother  George  first  came  to  St.  Patrick's  in  1882,  and  after  a  stay  of  two  years  was  trans- 
ferred to  Mt.  St.  Joseph's,  Baltimore,  where  for  four  years  he  was  prefect  of  studies.  During  his  term  as 
director  he  has  still  further  increased  the  efficiency  of  the  school  and  maintained  a  high  standard  of  excellence. 

At  present  there  are  ten  teachers  in  all  and  the  number  of  pupils  is  over  500.  The  first  floor  of  the 
building  is  devoted  to  a  large  hall,  which  is  used  as  an  assembly  room  by  the  pupils,  and  it  is  also  in  very  fre- 
quent use  as  a  meeting  place  for  some  of  the  many  societies  connected  with  the  church.  St.  Patrick's  Tem- 
perance Society  has  made  it  its  headquarters  for  many  years,  and  the  Young  Men's  Catholic  Institute  and 
some  of  the  literary  and  debating  societies  meet  regularly  there.  It  is  also  much  used  for  entertainments  by 
the  societies,  the  stage  being  large  enough  for  all  ordinary  purposes,  while  the  seating  capacity  of  the  hall  is 
such  as  to  accommodate  an  audience  of  several  hundred.  On  the  next  or  second  floor  there  are  five  class- 
rooms, divided  by  a  corridor  running  through  the  length  of  the  building,  and  these  are  principally  used  for  the 
primary  and  lower  grades.  The  third  floor  has  a  similar  arrangement  of  five  class-rooms,  four  of  them  being 
used  by  the  grammar  classes  and  the  fifth  by  the  academy  class,  the  highest  department  in  the  school.  The 
fourth  floor  has  another  large  hall,  and  this  is  used  for  drilling  and  also  as  a  regalia  room. 


St.  Patrick's  Cadet  Band  is  one  of  tlie  features  of  the  school.  At  present  it  comprises  30  members, 
and  their  playing,  considering  their  youth,  is  remarkably  good.  Their  public  exhibitions  are  always  well  pat- 
ronized and  they  are  frequently  asked  to  play  in  parades  and  at  public  celebrations.  The  orchestra  numbers 
twenty-three  pieces,  the  leader  being  Master  Joseph  O'Dwyer. 

The  Sacred  Heart  Sodality  comprises  the  boys  of  14  years  of  age  and  upwards,  and  has  at  present  a 
membership  of  over  60.  Ths  Immaculate  Conception  Sodality  includes  those  boys  who  have  made  their 
first  communion,  up  to  the  age  of ^14  years,  and  the  membership  is  about  120.  The  St.  Aloysius  Sodality  con- 
sists of  those  boys  who  are  preparing  for  their  first  communion  each  year,  and  this  year  there  are  between  50 
and  60  of  them.  The  Infant  Jesus  Society  comprises  all  the  younger  pupils  and  the  membership  generally 
ranges  between  200  and  300. 

But  the  Young  Catholic  Cadets  are,  perhaps,  after  all,  the  pride  of  the  institution.  All  the  pupils  who 
wish  to  join  are  eligible  for  membership  in  the  Cadets,  and  the  great  majority  of  the  boys  who  have  attained 
sufficient  age  take  advantage  of  the  privilege.  There  are  five  companies,  A,  B,  C,  D,  and  E,  and  the  total 
membership  is  about  225.  The  uniform  is  very  pretty,  consisting  of  blue  pants,  white  coat  with  belt,  black 
leggings,  and  a  blue  cap,  on  the  front  of  which  is  inscribed  the  letters  Y.  C.  C.  Brother  Hubert  is  the  military 
instructor  and  naturally  he  is  very  proud  of  his  boys.  Indeed  this  feeling  is  shared  by  the  whole  parish,  for 
the  Cadets  present  such  a  neat  and  soldierly  appearance  and  the  discipline  and  general  efficiency  are  such  that 
they  are  universally  admired. 

It  is  almost  impossible  to  overestimate  the  advantages  which  this  school  confers  on  the  youth  of  the 
parish.  Not  alone  is  the  education  conferred  of  the  highest  order,  but  it  is  supplemented  by  such  physical 
exercises  as  must  tend  to  produce  strong,  healthy  young  men,  while  the  military  discipline  is  a  further  factor  in 
developing  good,  intelligent,  and  loyal  citizens.  Of  course  the  religious  training  is  looked  upon  as  the  most 
important  requisite  of  all,  and  this  is  attended  to  in  the  most  painstaking  and  conscientious  manner.  When 
the  question  of  placing  flags  over  the  schools  of  the  land  came  up,  a  few  years  ago,  St.  Patrick's  School  was 
among  the  first  to  take  up  the  matter,  and  the  "flag  raising"  on  St.  Patrick's  Day  of  1890  proved  one  of  the 
most  interesting  events  in  the  recent  history  of  the  school.  The  school  hall  was  handsomely  decorated  for  the 
occasion,  the  Irish  colors  being  quite  conspicuous  among  the  national  emblems,  and  the  attendance  was  so 
large  that  the  accommodations  proved  inadequate  for  the  needs  of  the  people.  The  school  orchestra  played  a 
selection,  and  then  Rev.  Father  Burke,  on  behalf  of  St.  Patrick's  Temperance  Society,  presented  the  flag  to  the 
school.  His  address  was  an  eloquent  and  patriotic  one,  and  Rev.  Father  Michael  O'Brien,  the  rector,  in 
accepting  the  gift  on  behalf  of  the  school,  made  a  very  feeling  response.  Mayor  Palmer,  who  was  present, 
also  spoke  briefly.  Then  all  adjourned  to  the  school  yard  to  watch  the  flag  as  it  was  raised  to  the  top  of  the 
tall  flag-pole,  surmounted  by  the  gilt  cross,  which  had  been  placed  in  position  a  few  days  before  in  anticipation 
of  the  event.  As  the  flag  was  thrown  to  the  breeze  the  pupils  sang,  "The  flag  above  the  school,"  written  for 
the  occasion  by  Henry  F.  O'Meara,  of  Boston,  and  everybody  within  sound  of  their  voices  felt  a  thrill  of  pride 
and  happiness. 

The  graduates  of  this  school  have  always  been  remarkable  for  their  intellectual  attainments,  and  many  of 
them  may  be  found  to-day  occupying  high  positions  both  in  Lowell  and  elsewhere.  They  are  also  to  be  found 
among  our  successful  business  men,  and  on  the  whole  the  proportion  of  St.  Patrick's  School  graduates  who 
have  attained  success  in  the  various  walks  of  life  is  remarkably  high.  From  the  school,  too,  have  passed  many 
brothers  who  have  since  done  excellent  work  in  similar  institutions  in  other  places.  On  the  whole,  St.  Patrick's 
has  good  reason  to  be  proud  of  its  boys'  school. 

In  i888,  Father  Michael  gave  further  proof  of  his  devotion  to  the  work  of  education  by  contributing  the 
sum  of  $5,000  to  the  seminary  at  Brighton,  with  the  object  of  assisting  poor  but  worthy  young  men  who  might  be 
blessed  with  a  vocation  for  the  priesthood.  In  the  following  year,  1889,  it  occurred  to  the  zealous  assistant 
priests  that  there  was  just  "one  thing  lacking"  in  the  church,  and  as  the  fortieth  anniversary  of  the  ordination 
of  the  honored  rector  was  near  at  hand,  it  was  thought  that  no  more  fitting  time  could  be  selected  for  putting 
into  execution  the  project  thus  conceived.    This  was  the  placing  of  a  chime  of  bells  in  the  church  tower,  making 


a  valuable  addition  to  the  church  and  at  the  same  time  a  gift  of  reverence  and  affection  from  the  congregation 
to  their  pastor.  Father  Michael  was,  at  this  time,  away  in  Palmyra,  N.  Y.,  and  his  absence  gave  the  promoters 
of  the  project  an  excellent  opportunity  for  perfecting  their  plans.  A  meeting  of  the  congregation  was  hastily 
called,  and  so  eagerly  was  the  idea  taken  up  that  in  a  short  time  the  money  necessary  to  purchase  the  bells  was 
subscribed.  The  celebration  of  the  anniversary  took  place  on  Sunday,  February  24,  1889,  and  it  was  one  of  the 
most  pleasing  events  that  occurred  for  a  long  time  in  the  parish.  Father  Michael  was,  indeed,  a  much  sur- 
prised man  when  the  whole  truth  dawned  upon  him,  and  the  proceedings  touched  him  deeply,  conveying  as  they 
did  such  an  outpouring  of  love,  reverence,  and  appreciation.  Scarcely  less  surprised  were  many  members  of 
the  congregation  who  could  hardly  realize  that  the  active,  energetic  priest  before  them  had  been  forty  years 
in  the  ministry.  The  exercises  connected  with  the  presentation  took  place  after  the  vesper  services  in  the 
evening,  and  the  church  was  crowded  in  every  part  to  witness  them.  Rev.  Father  McManus,  of  South  Law- 
rence, was  celebrant,  assisted  by  Rev.  Father  Gleason,  of  St.  Patrick's,  and  Rev.  Father  William  O'Brien,  of 
Winchester,  with  Rev.  Father  Shaw,  of  St.  Patrick's,  as  master  of  ceremonies.  After  the  religious  service,  an 
address  was  presented  in  behalf  of  the  congregation  by  John  J.  Hogan,  Esq.  The  next  address  was  presented 
by  Mrs.  Mary  Calvert,  on  behalf  of  the  Holy  Family,  and  Miss  Nellie  Foley  spoke  in  behalf  of  the  Immaculate 
Conception  Sodality,  both  ladies  presenting  beautiful  bouquets  to  the  pastor.  Next  came  an  address  by 
Michael  H.  McDermott,  representing  the  Holy  Name  Society,  and  one  by  Colonel  James  H.  Carmichael,  repre- 
senting the  Young  Men's  Sodality.  Father  O'Brien  made  a  feeling  address  in  response,  and  at  the  close  of 
the  services  the  congregation  joined  in  singing,  to  the  air  of  America,  a  hymn  written  for  the  occasion  by 
Miss  Katherine  E.  Conway,  of  the  Boston  Pilot.  On  the  following  Tuesday  the  event  was  celebrated  in  the 
academy  and  in  the  girls'  school,  and  on  Wednesday  in  the  boys'  school. 

It  was  nearly  a  year  before  the  bells  were  finished,  but  early  in  1890  they  were  placed  in  position  in  the 
tower,  and  on  Sunday,  February  9,  the  ceremony  of  blessing  them  took  place.  Solemn  Pontifical  Mass  was 
celebrated  in  the  morning  by  Right  Rev.  Bishop  Bradley,  of  Manchester,  assisted  by  Rev.  Father  Teeling,  of 
Newburyport,  archpriest;  -Rev.  William  O'Brien,  of  St.  Michael's,  deacon;  Rev.  James  Walsh,  sub-deacon; 
Rev.  L.  S.  Walsh,  of  St.  John's  Seminary,  and  Rev.  J.  J.  Shaw,  of  St.  Patrick's,  masters  of  ceremonies.  Most 
Rev.  Archbishop  Williams  was  present  in  the  sanctuary,  with  Rev.  John  Flatley,  of  Cambridge,  and  Rev.  L.  J. 
Morris,  of  Brookline,  as  deacons  of  honor,  and  Bishop  Healy,  of  Portland,  Bishop  O'Reilly,  of  Springfield,  and 
Bishop  McQuaid,  of  Rochester,  N.  Y.,  were  also  present.  The  sermon  was  preached  by  Right  Rev.  Bishop 
O'Reilly.  In  the  afternoon  the  congregation  attending  the  vesper  services  was  fully  as  large.  Pontifical 
Vespers  were  celebrated  by  the  Archbishop,  assisted  by  Fathers  Teeling,  O'Reilly,  Walsh,  and  Shaw.  The 
bells  were  blessed  with  all  solemnity  by  the  Archbishop,  twenty  boys  from  the  boys'  school,  and  as  many  girls 
from  the  academy,  standing  as  sponsors.  The  sermon,  from  the  text,  "  I  am  the  voice  of  one  crying  in  the 
wilderness,"  was  preached  by  Right  Rev.  Bishop  Healy,  of  Portland.  On  the  following  Tuesday  a  sacred 
concert  was  given  on  the  bells  by  Mr.  Barbourka,  representing  the  firm  from  which  they  were  purchased,  and 
as  the  sounds  floated  in  the  air,  and  were  borne  to  every  part  of  the  parish,  they  brought  feelings  of  joy  and 
rejoicing.     The  chime  consists  of  sixteen  bells. 

The  next  great  work  was  the  placing  of  two  magnificent  marble  shrines  in  the  transepts  of  the  church. 
The  idea  seems  to  have  originated  with  members  of  the  Holy  Family  and  Immaculate  Conception  Sodalities, 
who  shortly  after  the  exercises  of  the  40th  anniversary,  already  alluded  to,  informed  the  pastor  that  they  in- 
tended as  soon  as  arrangements  could  be  made  to  present  a  shrine  to  be  dedicated  to  Our  Lady  of  the  Rosary. 
The  matter  was  warmly  taken  up  by  the  congregation  and  it  was  determined  to  add  another  shrine  to  be  dedi- 
cated to  the  Sacred  Heart.  In  a  short  time  the  necessary  amount  was  subscribed,  the  plans  and  specifications 
were  completed,  and  in  November  of  1892  the  people  of  St.  Patrick's  had  the  pleasure  of  seeing  the  new 
shrines  in  place,  one  in  the  northern  transept  and  another  in  the  southern.  These  two  altars  are  among  the 
finest  of  their  kind  in  the  country,  and  as  works  of  art  they  have  excited  the  admiration  of  all  who  have  seen 
them.  They  are  exactly  alike  in  construction,  with  the  exception  of  the  filling  of  the  center  panel,  so  that  one 
description  suffices  for  both.  The  architecture  is  Gothic,  and  each  fills  a  space  about  thirty  feet  high  by  about 
fifteen  feet  wide.     Above  the  altar  proper,  on  either  side,  is  the  reredos,  rising  to  the  height  of  five  stories, 



each  story  being,  in  turn,  formed  of  smaller  Gothic  niches,  or  panels,  and  above  each  reredos  is  an  ornamental 
capping  of  rich  design.  The  altar  proper  is  of  American  statuary  marble,  with  a  tracing  of  light  Sienna  mar- 
ble around  the  panels.  The  three  center  panels  of  the  altar  table  of  the  Shrine  of  the  Sacred  Heart  are  filled 
with  the  Gothic  letters,  I.  H.  S.  They  are  of  hand -polished,  pure  American  marble,  formed  in  rehef  one 
inch  deep,  and  the  background  on  which  they  rest  is  a  diaper  work  of  white  marble.  The  panels  on  the  Holy 
Rosary  Shrine  are  filled  as  follows :  The  center  panel  has  a  monogram  of  the  Blessed  Virgin  Mary,  hand- 
polished,  one  inch  in  thickness,  in  relief,  from  the  face  of  the  panel.  The  panel  on  the  left  is  filled  with  a 
bouquet  of  lilies,  carved  from  nature,  in  full  relief.  The  panel  on  the  right  is  filled  with  a  bouquet  of  Virgin 
roses  carved  in  the  same  way.  The  background  of  these  panels  is  of  diapered  white  statuary  marble.  The 
tracing  and  moulding  in  each  panel 
are  of  marble.  The  panels  on  the 
altars  and  tables  are  of  light  Sienna 
marble,  with  traceries  and  mouldings 
of  white  marble.  The  bases,  corni- 
ces, and  tops  are  of  pure  white 
American  and  Italian  marble,  while 
the  pillars  and  shafts  are  of  polished 
Mexican  onyx.  The  tabernacle  on 
either  altar  is  of  white  marble,  the 
panels  being  of  light  Sienna  marble. 
The  interior  of  the  tabernacles  is  of 
iron.  The  door  on  that  of  the  Sacred 
Heart  Shrine  is  filled  with  figures  of 
the  Sacred  Heart,  Crown  of  Thorns, 
and  Flame  and  Cross,  executed  in 
■bass  relief,  and  on  the  other  shrine 
the  door  has  a  branch  of  three  roses 
executed  in  the  same  style.  The 
center  piece  of  the  Sacred  Heart 
Shrine  represents  Our  Lord  standing 
on  the  clouds  and  instructing  Mar- 
garet, who  is  kneeling,  in  the  duty  of 
honoring  the  Sacred  Heart.  The 
heavens  around  are  filled  with  angels 
and  cherubs,  and  the  whole  picture  is 
one  of  great  beauty.  In  the  Shrine 
of  Our  Lady  of  the  Rosary  the  Blessed 
Virgin  is  represented  with  the  Infant 
Jesus  in  her  arms,  standing  on  a 
bank  of  clouds  and  supported  by 
cherubs.  On  the  ground  beneath, 
St.   Dominic  is  kneeling  and  to  him 

the  Virgin  is  handing  a  rosary.  This  piece,  like  the  other,  is  one  of  great  beauty.  No  description  can  convey 
an  adequate  idea  of  the  grandeur  of  these  shrines,  but  the  accompanying  cuts  will  give  a  good  idea  of  their 
general  appearance.     The  sculptor  is  Mr.  Joseph  Sibley,  of  New  York. 

Sunday,  November  20,  1892,  when  the  new  altars  were  consecrated,  was  a  day  of  rejoicing  for  the  people  of 
the  parish.  The  ceremonies  of  consecration  began  at  6.30,  and  were  conducted  by  His  Grace,  Archbishop 
Williams,  assisted  by  Rev.  Father  O'Brien,  Rev.  Father  Shaw,  and  Rev.  Father  Burke,  of  St.  Patrick's,  and 
Rev.  Father  William  O'Brien,  of  Winchester.     At  7.30  the  Archbishop  celebrated  Mass,  for  the  first  time,  at 



the  new  Shrine  of  the  Sacred  Heart,  and  Rev.  William  O'Brien  gave  Holy  Communion  at  the  main  altar.  At 
the  solemn  High  Mass,  at  10.30,  the  church  was  crowded  to  the  doors,  and  admission  had  to  be  by  ticket. 
The  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Rev.  Father  Gleason,  of  St.  Patrick's,  with  Rev.  Father  Shandelle,  S.  J.,  of  Boston, 
deacon;  Rev.  Father  Burke,  of  St.  Patrick's,  sub-deacon,  and  Rev.  Father  Shaw,  of  St.  Patrick's,  master  of 
ceremonies.  On  the  left  of  the  altar  sat  His  Grace,  the  Archbishop,  with  Rev.  William  O'Brien,  of  St.  Michael's, 
on  his  left  and  Rev.  Father  McGlew,  of  Chelsea,  on  his  right.  To  the  Archbishop's  left  sat  the  pastor,  Rev. 
Michael  O'Brien,  together  with  Rev.  William  O'Brien,  of  Winchester,  and  Rev.  Father  Nagle,  chancellor  of  the 
diocese.  An  eloquent  sermon  was  preached  by  Rev.  Father  Shandelle,  S.  J.,  of  the  Immaculate  Conception 
Church,  Boston,  from  the  text,  Hebrews,  xiii  :  10,   "We  have  an  altar,"  etc, 

The  choir  sang  Haydn's  No.  6 
Mass  under  the  direction  of  Mr.  E. 
F.  Faulkner,  and  the  National  Or- 
chestra assisted  both  at  the  Mass  and 
the  vesper  services  in  the  afternoon 
The  solo  parts  were  taken  by  Miss  J 
J.  Finn,  Miss  Faulkner,  Daniel  J 
Donahue,  D.  S.  O'Brien,  D.  A 
McHugh,  and  E.  F.  Faulkner.  Mr, 
M.  J.  Johnson  presided  at  the  organ 
At  the  solemn  vespers  in  the  after- 
noon Rev.  William  O'Brien  was  cele- 
brant. Rev.  Father  Gleason,  deacon  ; 
Rev.  Father  Burke,  sub-deacon,  and 
Rev.  Father  Shaw,  master  of  cere- 

This  is  the  last  event  of  impor- 
tance in  the  history  of  St.  Patrick's. 
The  work  has  gone  on  and  prospered 
until  it  may  be  doubted  if  there  is  in 
the  diocese  a  more  flourishing  church. 
In  fact  there  is  grave  danger  that  the 
people  may  become  apathetic  from 
having  so  much  already  provided  for 
them.  Their  spiritual  wants  are 
looked  after  with  the  utmost  solici- 
tude, and  in  addition  to  the  services 
of  the  regular  pastors,  missions  and 
retreats  by  outside  clergymen  are  fre- 
quently provided  for  them.  The  two 
parish  schools  are  among  the  best 
equipped  educational  institutions   in 

the  country,  and  the  large  attendance  ^hkinii  oi-  Ihe  Sacred  Heaui. 

of  pupils  shows  that  they  are  appreciated.  A  large  amount  of  charitable  work  is  clone  in  the  parish,  chiefly  by 
the  Society  of  St.  Vincent  de  Paul  and  the  Ladies'  Sewing  Circle.  During  the  distress  which  prevailed  through 
the  winter  of.  1893-4,  the  amount  of  good  rendered  by  these  two  societies  was  simply  incalculable.  When  the 
distress  reached  an  acute  stage,  committees  were  organized,  a  canvass  was  made  for  subscriptions,  and  a 
systematic  method  of  relieving  the  poor  of  the  parish  was  formulated  and  put  into  practice,  with  the  best  results. 

Perhaps  few  churches  in  the  country  have  a  larger  number  of  flourishing  societies  and  sodalities  than  St. 
Patrick's.     There  are  sodalities  of  all  kinds,  for  men  and  women,  for  young  men,  old  men,  and  boys;  for  mar- 



ried  women  and  single  women ;  there  are  orders  of  various  Ivinds,  and  tliere  are  temperance,  literary,  debating, 
and  benefit  societies. 

Rev.  John  O'Brien,  the  former  pastor,  was  one  of  the  most  remarkable  men  whom  our  city  has  known,  and 
to  him,  perhaps,  more  than  to  any  other,  with  the  exception  of  the  present  esteemed  rector,  is  due  the  growth 
and  prosperity  which  have  come  to  St.  Patrick's  parish.  He  laid  the  foundations  broad  and  deep  for  the  work 
of  future  years,  and  he  planned  everything  with  remarkable  judgment  and  foresight. 

Father  John  O'Brien  was  born  in  the  year  1800,  in  Ballina,  County  Tipperary,  Ireland,  and  with  his 
brother,  Timothy,  he  was  educated  for  the  priesthood  from  an  early  age.     Having  completed  his  studies  he  was 

Re\     John  o  1  i  iln    In  mlf   1  \si  ik  St    Patrick's  Church. 

ordained  at  Limerick  on  December  28,  1828,  and  immediately  after  was  placed  in  the  Diocese  of  Killaloe.  He 
was  stationed  near  Ennis,  in  the  County  of  Clare,  and  there  he  remained  for  twelve  years.  Meanwhile,  his 
brother  Timothy,  who  had  entered  on  the  American  mission  many  years  before,  had  frequently  expressed  a 
desire  to  see  him,  and  he  himself  had  become  so  impressed  with  the  accounts  given  of  the  increase  of  Catholics 
in  America,  and  the  great  need  of  priests  to  minister  to  their  spiritual  wants,  that  he  determined  to  enter  the 
field  himself.  Having  obtained  the  desired  permission,  he  came  to  America  in  1840,  and  joined  his  brother  in 
Richmond,  Va.  About  a'year  after.  Rev.  Richard  Whelan,  who  had  charge  of  the  parish  of  Martinsburg  and 
some   missions  adjoining  it,  became  Bishop  of  Richmond,  and  thinking  Father  John  was  peculiarly  fitted  for 


such  work,  he  urged  him  to  take  the  place  he  had  just  vacated.  Father  John  accepted  the  trust,  and  for  about 
seven  years  he  labored  with  unceasing  diligence  in  a  field  which  was  full  of  difficulty  and  hard  work.  The 
outlying  districts  of  Winchester  and  Harper's  Ferry  had  previously  been  almost  cut  off  from  all  religious 
influences,  and  the  people  of  Winchester  had  not  had  an  opportunity  of  hearing  Mass  for  four  years.  During 
Father  John's  time,  however,  better  facilities  for  communication  were  introduced,  and  a  wonderful  improvement 
was  effected  in  a  few  years.  In  1848  he  came  to  the  Boston  Diocese,  where  he  was  placed  in  charge  of  the 
Catholics  of  Newburyport,  Chelsea,  and  adjoining  places.  There  he  labored  with  the  same  zeal  which  had 
characterized  his  former  labors,  and  his  marked  ability  led  to  his  selection  in  December,  1848,  for  the 
important  position  of  pastor  of  the  growing  congregation  of  St.  Patrick's,  Lowell,  just  vacated  by  Rev.  Father 

Father  John,  during  the  twenty-seven  years  of  his  connection  with  St.  Patrick's  Church,  constantly  labored 
for  the  spiritual  and  material  welfare  of  his  people  and  for  the  growth  and  advancement  of  the  church.  From 
the  first  the  education  of  the  young  people  of  the  parish  claimed  his  warmest  care,  and  three  years  after  his 
arrival  he  had  a  school  built  and  placed  in  charge  of  the  Sisters  of  Notre  Dame,  five  of  whom  came  from 
Cincinnati  in  1852,  on  his  invitation.  This  was  the  beginning  of  the  present  flourishing  convent  of  Notre 
Dame,  and  to  show  how  advanced  Father  John's  ideas  were  it  may  be  stated  that  this  was  the  second  house  of 
the  order  established  in  the  East. 

A  sketch  of  Father  John  O'Brien  would  be  incomplete  without  some  mention  of  his  brother,  Father  Timothy 
O'Brien.  For  some  years  they  worked  hand  in  hand  for  the  good  of  St.  Patrick's  parish,  and  each  seemed  to 
find  encouragement  and  inspiration  in  the  example  of  the  other.  Father  Timothy  on  entering  the  American 
mission,  in  18 16,  went  to  the  Jesuit  novitiate  at  Georgetown,  D.  C,  and  remained  there  two  years.  His  first 
intention  was  to  become  a  member  of  the  Order  of  Jesuits,  but  events  seeming  to  render  this  inexpedient  for 
some  time  longer,  he,  with  the  advice  and  approbation  of  his  spiritual  directors,  was  ordained  a  secular  priest, 
in  18 18,  at  Baltimore,  by  Archbishop  Marechal.  The  intention  then  was  that  his  entrance  into  the  Society  of 
Jesus  was  only  to  be  deferred  for  a  few  years,  but  God  willed  otherwise,  though  all  through  his  life  Father 
Timothy  retained  a  strong  predilection  for  that  order.  After  his  ordination  he  was  sent  to  St.  Patrick's  Church, 
Fell's  Point,  Baltimore,  and  afterwards  he  was  transferred  to  Richmond,  Va.  After  spending  about  a  year  there 
he  volunteered  to  take  charge  of  the  Catholics  of  Baltimore,  who  were  then  in  great  suffering,  and  having 
ministered  in  every  way  possible  to  the  plague-stricken  people,  he  was  soon  able  to  return  to  his  charge  at 
Richmond.  There  he  remained  for  nearly  twenty-nine  years,  during  which  time  he  built  up  a  large  and  flour- 
ishing parish  and  built  an  elegant  new  church,  now  the  Cathedral  of  St.  Peter's.  Later  he  built  an  asylum  and 
a  girls'  school,  and  placed  both  in  charge  of  the  Sisters  of  Charity.  When  Bishop  McGill  was  appointed,  in 
1850,  Father  Timothy  got  permission  to  resign  his  charge  and  gratify  a  long-cherished  wish  —  to  come  to  Low- 
ell and  spend  the  remainder  of  his  life  with  his  brother.  Father  John.  Five  years  he  remained  here,  and  during 
that  time  he  was  identified  with  every  good  work  in  the  parish. 

But  in  the  midst  of  his  usefulness  Father  Timothy  was  suddenly  called  away.  In  March,  1855,  he  was 
threatened  with  pneumonia,  but  he  recovered  in  a  short  time.  His  great  interest,  however,  in  the  new  school 
building  which  was  then  being  erected  became  the  means  of  exposing  him  to  a  second  attack,  and  on  October 
II,  1855,  he  died,  at  the  age  of  64  years,  five  of  which  had  been  spent  at  St.  Patrick's  parish.  He  had  been  in 
the  ministry  for  thirty-seven  years. 

Father  Timothy  died  on  Thursday  afternoon,  and  on  Saturday  his  funeral  took  place.  Solemn  High  Mass 
of  requiem  was  celebrated,  at  which  Bishop  Fitzpatrick  and  over  twenty  priests  assisted.  His  remains  were 
interred  in  front  of  the  main  entrance  to  the  church,  and  a  granite  monument,  erected  by  the  congregation 
shortly  after,  bore  testimony  to  their  appreciation  of  his  life  and  services. 

Rev.  -Michael  O'Brien,  the  esteemed  rector  of  St.  Patrick's,  has  had  a  remarkable  and  eventful  career.  He 
was  born  on  May  i,  1825,  at  Ballina,  in  the  County  of  Tipperary,  Ireland,  so  that  he  is  now  69  years  old. 
He  came  of  a  family  which  has  given  a  remarkably  large  number  of  its  members  to  the  service  of  God, 
there  being,  in  this  country  alone,  four  cousins  and  four  nephews,  all  priests,  while  a  sister  and  three  nieces 
have  joined  religious  orders  in  this  country.     His  early  studies  were  pursued  at  Killaloe,  and  on  his  determi- 



nation  to  prepare  for  the  ministry  lie  entered  All  Hallows  College,  Dublin,  where  he  remained  four  years.  He  ■ 
conceived  a  desire  to  devote  himself  to  the  American  mission,  and,  in  1848,  he  came  to  this  country.  He  spent 
a  few  months  with  Bishop  Timon,  of  Buffalo,  and  by  that  prelate  was  ordained  on  February  17,  1849.  He 
remained  for  a  few  weeks  at  the  Buffalo  Cathedral,  and  then  entered  upon  his  missionary  career.  He  was  given 
charge  of  the  counties  of  Alleghany  and  Steuben,  in  New  York  State,  with  headquarters  at  Greenwood.  At 
the  request  of  Bishop  O'Connor,  of  Pittsburg,  Pa.,  the  counties  of  McKean  and  Potter  were  soon  after  added  to 
his  territory,  with  the  result  that  he  had  a  district  extending  over  one  hundred  square  miles  to  attend  to.  At 
this  time  this  territory  was  little  better  than  a  wilderness,  untouched  by  civilization,  and  wholly  devoid  of  all 

Riu.  MicH\i  I   n  l.Mi  ^    PvsTOR  St.  Patrick's  Church. 

facilities  for  travel.  The  thinly  scattered  population  consisted  largely  of  poor,  struggling  Irish  immigrants,  who 
had,  as  yet,  scarcely  had  an  opportunity  to  adopt  a  settled  condition  of  life.  From  his  home  at  Greenwood, 
Father  O'Brien  traveled  about  thirty  miles  a  day  to  discharge  his  duties.  Among  these  people  he  labored  for 
two  years.  At  this  time  the  Erie  Railroad  was  to  be  extended  to  Hornellsville,  and  correctly  surmising  that 
Catholic  settlers  would  follow  the  road,  he  began  preparations  for  building  a  church  there.  After  a  journey 
of  forty  miles,  made  through  a  rough  country,  Father  O'Brien  reached  Hornellsville  late  one  stormy  evening. 
When  his  arrival  became  known  a  number  of  roughs,  who  lived  in  the  place,  came  together  with  the  avowed 
object  of  having  the  "  Popish  priest "  tarred  and  feathered,  but  their  evil  intentions  were  frustrated  by  the 


prompt  action  of  Chief  Engineer  Emmet,  of  tlie  Erie  road,  who  gave  the  young  priest  his  protection.  This  Mr. 
Emmet  was  a  grand-nephew  of  the  Irish  patriot,  Robert  Emmet.  Father  O'Brien  persevered  in  his  work  not- 
withstanding this  unpropitious  beginning,  and  he  was  soon  able  to  erect  a  brick  church  which  did  duty  for  the 
CathoHc  population  for  many  years  after.  He  afterwards  built  a  frame  church  at  Scio,  and  had  purchased  a 
site  for  another  church  at  Angelica,  when  he  was  transferred  to  the  parish  of  Geneva,  N.  Y..  on  January  i, 
1851.  Here  he  finished  a  brick  church  which  had  been  begun  by  his  predecessor.  Father  Bradley.  He  also 
built  a  pastoral  residence,  purchased  and  laid  out  a  cemetery,  and  opened  a  parochial  school.  His  success  led  to 
a  call  to  more  important  fields  of  labor,  and  in  October,  1854,  he  was  appointed  to  the  pastorate  of  St.  Patrick's 
Church,  Rochester,  N.  Y.,  to  take  the  place  of  Very  Rev.  William  O'Reilly,  who  was  transferred  to 
Hartford,  Conn.  Here  the  increased  opportunity  for  good  work  only  developed  more  strongly  Father  Michael's 
talents.  His  first  work  was  to  provide  a  school  for  the  boys  of  the  parish.  The  institution  he  placed  in  charge 
of  seven  Christian  Brothers  from  Montreal,  and  in  a  short  time  it  was  one  of  the  most  flourishing  in  the  State. 
He  next  founded  St.  Mary's  Hospital,  and  placed  it  in  charge  of  the  Sisters  of  Charity. 

In  June,  1859,  he  was  appointed  Vicar-General  of  the  diocese,  and  this  necessitated  a  removal  to  Buffalo. 
The  congregation  at  Rochester  received  the  news  of  his  departure  from  among  them  with  feelings  of  sorrow. 
He  only  remained  a  year  and  a  half  at  Buffalo,  but  the  time  was  replete  with  good  works,  and  with  joy  the 
people  of  Rochester  beheld  him  back  again  among  them.  A  call  for  aid  from  Ireland  at  this  time  enlisted  his 
sympathy,  and  a  meeting  called  by  him  resulted  in  a  subscription  of  $7,000  being  raised  in  a  short  time. 

St.  Patrick's  parish,  Rochester,  needing  a  new  church,  he  began  to  take  steps  to  erect  a  large  granite  struct- 
ure. The  people  warmly  seconded  his  efforts  and  he  succeeded  in  raising  a  sum  amounting  to  $60,000  before 
he  entered  upon  the  work  of  building.  For  some  time  previously  his  uncle,  Father  John  O'Brien,  in  charge  of 
St.  Patrick's,  Lowell,  had  been  very  desirous  of  securing  his  presence  here,  well  knowing  how  much  he  might 
depend  on  his  valuable  assistance  in  the  onerous  duties  of  his  large  parish.  Father  Michael  was  willing  to 
come,  but  his  Bishop,  recognizing  too  well  the  value  of  his  services,  did  not  wish  to  let  him  go.  At  length, 
however,  the  desired  permission  was  given,  and,  on  June  29,  1867,  he  came  to  Lowell. 

Father  O'Brien's  work  since  his  connection  with  St.  Patrick's  has  been  alluded  to  in  this  sketch  of  the 
church,  but  it  is  not  alone  in  church  work  that  his  benevolence  and  philanthropy  have  been  shown.  No  worthy 
charity  has  ever  appealed  to  him  in  vain  and  every  good  cause  has  always  found  in  him  an  ardent  supporter. 
The  cause  of  his  native  land  has  always  appealed  to  him  with  special  force,  and  every  appeal  for  aid  sent 
across  the  waters  for  many  years  has  met  with  a  ready  response. 

Father  O'Brien  is  still  hale  and  vigorous,  and,  though  he  is  relieved  of  the  more  active  duties  by  his 
assistants,  he  still  directs  the  affairs  of  the  parish.  In  1876  he  visited  Rome  and  had  the  pleasure  of  an 
interview  with  His  Holiness,  Pope  Pius  IX.  Last  year  he  paid  another  visit  to  Ireland  and  spent  some 
weeks  in  visiting  the  scenes  of  his  younger  days.  He  has  always  been  noted  for  his  hospitality,  and  his  home 
is  always  open  to  the  worthy  stranger  as  well  as  to  his  intimate  friends.  He  is  a  deep  theologian  and  a  forcible 
and  logical  speaker,  though  he  is  not  seen  in  the  pulpit  now  as  frequently  as  in  former  days. 

Rev.  D.  J.  Gleason,  first  assistant  at  St.  Patrick's  Church,  was  born  in  185 1,  in  Tipperary,  Ireland,  and  was 
educated  at  the  Diocesan  College,  in  Ennis,  County  Clare.  In  1875  ^^  came  to  this  country  and  studied  in 
the  Grand  Seminary,  at  Montreal.  Here  he  remained  about  six  years,  and  he  was  ordained,  on  June  11,  1881, 
by  Archbishop  Corrigan,  at  Troy,  N.  Y.  He  was  first  appointed  to  St.  Paul's  Church,  Cambridge,  where  he 
remained  five  years,  and  then  he  went  to  Newton,  where  he  remained  two  years.  In  1888  he  came  to  St. 
Patrick's  to  take  the  place  of  Rev.  William  O'Brien,  who  had  been  transferred  to  Winchester. 

Rev.  Richard  S.  Burke  came  to  St.  Patrick's,  in  September,  1887,  to  take  the  place  of  Rev.  Father  Hickey, 
who  was  obliged  to  go  to  California  for  his  health.  He  was  born  in  Boston  and  educated  in  Montreal  Sem- 
inary. He  was  ordained  for  the  Archdiocese  of  Boston,  on  June  20,  1883,  and  before  coming  to  Lowell  spent 
three  and  a  half  years  at  Winchester  and  about  a  year  at  Hyde  Park. 

Rev.  Michael  J.  Leonard  came  to  St.  Patrick's  on  January  6,  1893,  He  was  born  in  1867,  at  Buffalo, 
N.  Y.,  and  was  educated  at  the  University  of  Ottawa.  He  finished  his  studies  at  the  Grand  Seminary,  Mon- 
treal, and  was  ordained,  on  December  17,  1892,  by  Archbishop  Fabre. 



Iparisb  of  the  Ifmmaculate  Conception,  Xowell 

p.  5.  %vncb. 

NE  of  the  marked  characteristics  of  the  growth  of  Catholicity  in  Lowell  is  the 
wonderful  success  which  has  attended  the  establishment  here  of  the  Order  of 
Oblates  of  Mary  Immaculate.  The  first  members  of  the  order  arrived  in  Lowell 
.  twenty-seven  years  ago,  or  thirty-six  years  after  the  first  Catholic  parish  was 
formed,  but  to-day  they  have  four  of  the  seven  Catholic  churches  in  the  city, 
and  about  25,000  people,  or  fully  one-half  of  the  Catholic  population  is  under 
their  charge.  Taking  into  account  the  various  institutions  connected  with  these 
churches,  the  value  of  the  property  owned  by  the  order  in  Lowell  must  reach  a 
large  figure.  Such  a  wonderful  amount  of  work  accomplished  in  so  short  a 
time  speaks  volumes  for  the  zeal  and  devotion  of  these  missionaries. 
The  Oblate  Order  was  founded  by  Charles  Joseph  Eugene  De  Mazenod,  who  was  born  at  Aix,  in  France, 
on  August  I,  1782.  He  early  conceived  the  idea  of  founding  an  order  which  should  carry  on  the  work  ex- 
pressed in  the  beautiful  words  which  he  adopted  for  his  device,  "God  hath  sent  me  to  evangelize  the  poor," 
and  thenceforth  he  devoted  all  his  energies  and  his  brilliant  talents  towards  that  end.  Pope  Leo  XII  gave 
him  his  sympathy,  and  on  February  16,  1826,  the  Congregation  of  Cardinals  unanimously  approved  the  rules 
submitted  by  Father  De  Mazenod  for  the  government  of  his  new  community.  The  next  day  Pope  Leo  con- 
firmed this  decision,  and  gave  his  solemn  approbation  to  the  institute,  to  the  rules  and  regulations  of  the  order, 
naming  it  at  the  same  time  the  "Oblate  of  Mary  Immaculate."  This  was  even  before  the  Immaculate  Con- 
ception of  the  Blessed  Virgin  was  defined  as  a  dogma  of  Catholic  faith,  and  it  showed  the  love  and  reverence 
the  Holy  Father  had  for  the  glorious  Mother  of  God.  The  order  was  soon  firmly  established  in  Canada,  and  a 
few  years  ago  a  province  was  formed  in  the  United  States. 

The  history  of  the  introduction  of  the  order  into  Lowell,  and  of  its  subsequent  growth,  is  full  of  interest. 
In  1868,  a  Canadian  secular  priest,  named  Father  Leclerc,  happened  to  visit  Burlington,  Vt.,  on  the  occasion  of 
the  consecration  of  the  church  there,  and  while  there  he  met  Bishop  Williams,  of  Boston,  who  happened  to  be 
an  old  college  friend  of  his.  During  the  conversation  Bishop  Williams  remarked:  "I  have  many  French 
Canadians  in  my  diocese,  and  I  think  that  there  are  enough  in  Lowell  to  form  a  separate  parish.  Could  you 
not  procure  me  a  Canadian  priest  to  place  in  charge  over  them?"  Father  Leclerc  replied:  "Why  would  it  not 
be  a  good  idea  to  ask  the  Oblate  Fathers,  who  are  stationed  in  Montreal,  to  come  here  ?  They  would  be 
peculiarly  fitted  for  such  a  charge.  Father  Vandenburg,  the  Provincial  of  the  Oblate  Order  in  Canada,  is  here. 
I  will  introduce  him  to  your  lordship,  and  it  might  be  well  to  talk  the  matter  over  with  him."  Bishop  Williams 
acquiesced,  and  later  had  a  conference  with  Father  Vandenburg.  As  there  was  no  time  then  for  any  extended 
conferences.  Bishop  Williams  invited  Father  Vandenburg  to  call  upon  him  at  Boston,  so  that  they  could  talk 
more  fully  on  the  subject  Father  Vandenburg  accepted  the  invitation  and  anived  in  Boston  on  St.  Patrick's 
Day  of  1868.  Bishop  Williams  received  him  kindly  and  said:  "Now,  that  you  are  here,  let  us  look  over  the 
ground  fully.  Let  us  go  to  Lowell  and  see  what  can  be  done."  They  came  to  Lowell  on  the,  same  day  and 
dined  with  Father  John  O'Brien,  of  St.  Patrick's  Church.     After  dinner  they  took  a  carriage  and  drove  to  St. 




John's  Hospital,  which  had  been  founded  a  short  time  previously.  The  Bishop,  in  order  to  encourage  the 
Sisters  of  Charity,  had  empowered  them  to  erect  a  chapel,  and  had  invested  it  with  all  the  rights  and  privileges 
of  a  parish  church.  St.  John's  Chapel  at  that  time  could  accommodate  about  500  people.  On  passing  this 
chapel  Bishop  Williams  remarked  to  Father  Vandenburg,  "  Perhaps  some  arrangement  could  be  made  whereby 
one  of  your  fathers  could  officiate  at  this  chapel  for  some  time,  performing  the  services  of  chaplain  at  the 
hospital  at  the  same  time,  and  later  we  may  be  able  to  make  this  an  Irish  parish."  Father  Vandenburg  could 
not  see  that  the  proposition  was  what  he  wished ;  in  fact,  at  that  time  the  views  of  the  two  prelates  on  the 
subject  were  altogether  different.  All  that  the  Bishop  wanted  was  simply  a  priest  to  take  charge  of  the  French 
Canadians  at  Lowell.  Of  religious  communities  he  thought  there  were  enough  in  his  diocese,  and  he  evidently 
had  no  intention  to  establish  new  ones.  On  tire  other  hand,  the  Father  Provincial  wanted  a  foundation  for  the 
establishment  of  a  branch  of  the  Oblate  Order,  and  for  this  reason  he  asked  not  only  for  a  Canadian  parish, 
but  also  an  Irish  or  English  one,  so  as  to  provide  assured  resources  for  the  support  of  a  community  of  Oblates. 
He  considered  that  the  Canadian  church  alone  could  not  assure  these  resources.  Again,  the  Father  Provincial 
did  not  forget  that  the  Oblates  were,  above  all,  missionaries,  and  he  wished  to  feel  that  this  part  of  their  vocation 
should  be  assured,  with  authority  to  give  missions  in  either  English  or  French  in  all  parts  of  the  diocese.  With 
views  so  dissimilar,  no  definite  arrangements  could  be  arrived  at  then,  nevertheless  much  good  had  been 
accomplished.  The  two  prelates  learned  to  know  and  respect  one  another,  and  the  Bishop  learned  much  about 
the  beautiful  lives  and  works  of  the  Oblates.  At  the  close  of  the  conference.  Father  Vandenburg  said :  "  I 
would  wish,  in  any  case,  for  permission  to  send  two  of  our  fathers  here  to  preach  a  mission,  and  perhaps  while 
they  are  here  something  in  the  situation  will  develop  which  will  open  the  way  to  a  better  understanding  than 
seems  possible  now.  And  even  if  we  cannot  get  a  foundation  here,  and  that  you  want  simply  a  Canadian  priest, 
I  will  be  able  to  send  you  a  good  one."  The  Bishop  accepted  the  suggestion,  and  willingly  gave  the  desired 
permission  for  holding  the  mission.  Father  Vandenburg  returned  home,  and  shortly  after,  on  April  ig,  1868, 
Rev.  Father  Andrew  M.  Garin  and  Rev.  Father  L.  Lagier  arrived  in  Lowell  to  preach  the  mission.  It  was  held  in 
St.  Patrick's  Church,  where  the  visiting  fathers  were  hospitably  received  and  entertained  by  Rev.  John  O'Brien.. 

The  mission  was  a  success,  and  over  800  communicants  approached  the  altar  while  it  was  in  progress. 
From  the  first  moment  of  the  arrival  of  Father  Garin  and  his  colleague,  success  seemed  to  attend  their  every 
effort,  so  much  so  that  even  then  Father  Garin  gave  promise  of  proving  the  special  agent  of  Providence  on 
behalf  of  the  French  population,  which  subsequent  years  showed  him  to  be,  beyond  a  doubt.  Only  a  few  days 
after  his  arrival,  he  purchased  the  building  on  Lee  Street,  now  known  as  St.  Joseph's  Church,  and  there  the 
first  French  congregation  was  formed.  The  difficulties,  which  before  had  seemed  so  formidable,  vanished  one 
by  one  before  the  magic  of  his  genius,  and  in  a  short  time  the  way  seemed  clear  for  the  foundation  of  a  com- 
munity of  Oblates  in  Lowell.  Since  his  arrival  he  had  been  the  guest  of  Father  John  O'Brien,  but  now  he 
took  up  his  residence  at  St.  John's  Hospital,  along  with  Father  Cosson,  who  had  been  sent  to  assist  him.  Father 
Lagier  having  returned  home  immediately  after  the  close  of  the  mission.  On  Father  Cosson's  arrival  he  took 
charge  of  the  Sisters'  Chapel,  the  following  being  the  arrangement  which  had  been  made  with  the  sisters :  The 
fathers  were  to  receive  $600  and  half  the  collections  at  Christmas  and  Easter,  the  remaining  income,  consisting 
of  pew  rents,  Sunday  collections,  etc.,  was  to  go  to  the  sisters.  The  increasing  needs  of  his  church  now  made 
it  necessary  for  Father  Garin  to  have  an  assistant,  and  Father  Guillard  was  sent  to  him  from  Ottawa.  He 
arrived  here  in  July,  1868,  and  he,  too,  went  to  St.  John's  Hospital  to  live.  But  this  arrangement  was  incon- 
venient for  both  the  fathers  and  sisters,  consequently  Father  Garin  rented  a  small  house  on  Fayette  Street  for 
their  use.  During  the  summer  Bishop  Williams,  wishing  to  increase  the  resources  of  the  community,  estab- 
Ushed  a  temporary  mission  at  Billerica,  and  Father  Lebret,  another  Oblate  who  came  from  Montreal,  was  given 
charge  of  it  by  Father  Garin.  The  building  had  been  purchased  from  a  Protestant  denomination  there,  and 
the  church  was  nained  St.  Andrew,  in  honor  of  Father  Garin,  whose  first  name  was  Andrew.  It  was  under- 
stood that  all  the  resources  of  this  mission  would  belong  to  the  fathers  at  Lowell,  and  that  one  of  them  should 
go  there  to  say  Mass  twice  a  month.  The  mission  was  of  a  temporary  character  until  Father  Lebret  took 
possession  on  November  i,  1868,  becoming  its  first  pastor.  At  the  end  of  the  summer  of  1868  the  house  on 
Fayette  Street  was  inhabited  by  three  fathers,  each  having  charge  of  one  church.     The  fathers,  working  with 


great  zeal  and  energy,  soon  infused  much  of  their  enthusiasm  into  the  people,  and  the  parishes  grew  rapidly. 
The  experience  of  some  months  was  sufficient  to  show  that  different  arrangements  were  needed  to  meet  the 
situation.  The  fathers  did  not  feel  that  they  were  in  exactly  the  position  that  they  would  wish,  and,  as  a  result, 
negotiations  were  entered  into  with  Sister  Rose,  Superior  at  St.  John's  Hospital,  for  the  purchase  of  St.  John's 
Chapel.  The  negotiations  were  completed  and  the  Oblates  bought  the  chapel  with  all  its  rights  and  privileges 
for  the  sum  of  $1,200,  to  be  paid  in  four  annual  payments.  The  land,  however,  remained  the  property  of  the 
sisters.  With  all  this  arrangement  completed  the  chapel  became  a  parish  church.  Naturally,  the  change  pro- 
duced quite  a  revolution  in  the  management  and  conduct  of  the  church.  St.  John's  Church  at  that  time  could 
only  accommodate  about  500  people,  and  this  was  altogether  inadequate  to  meet  the  needs  of  the  parish.  The 
first  work  of  the  fathers  was  to  enlarge  it,  and  two  additions  were  made  which  nearly  doubled  its  capacity. 
Services  were  held  regularly,  and  the  people  attended  in  large  numbers. 

Then  came  the  idea  of  giving  missions,  and  it  was  at  once  put  into  effect.  The  iirst  mission  was  given  at 
St.  John's,  and  it  attracted  a  large  congregation.  Father  Garin  sent  to  Buffalo  for  Rev.  James  McGrath  and 
Rev.  J.  Mangin  to  come  and  conduct  this  mission,  and  they  accepted  the  invitation.  The  mission  was  opened 
on  May  7,  1869,  and  lasted  two  weeks.  The  effect  of  the  mission  was  almost  phenomenal,  and  from  all  parts 
of  the  city  the  people  came  to  enjoy  the  ministrations  of  the  worthy  fathers.  During  the  progress  of  the  mis- 
sion 6,200  people  approached  the  altar,  the  highest  figures  ever  before  known  in  the  history  of  the  cit}'.  After 
the  mission,  the  pews  in  the  church  were  all  rented,  and  many  persons  had  to  be  refused  accommodations.  Father 
Guillard,  who  had  charge  of  the  chapel  at  this  period,  thought  it  would  be  a  good  work  to  establish  a  sodality 
for  young  girls,  and  though  this  idea  was  not  unattended  with  some  difficulty,  the  sodality  was  formed  and  it 
soon  became  a  flourishing  organization.  The  Arch-confraternity,  for  the  men  of  the  parish,  was  established 
about  the  same  time,  also  the  Holy  Rosary  Society  for  married  women.  All  these  societies  worked  energetic- 
ally for  the  general  good  of  the  parish. 

The  time  had  come  to  fully  establish  a  community,  and  Father  Vandenburg,  the  Provincial,  came  to 
Lowell  the  last  of  October,  1869.  On  the  31st  of  October  a  retreat  was  begun  in  the  little  community,  and  on 
the  following  day,  the  feast  of  All  Saints,  the  members  renewed  their  vows  to  God.  Rev.  Father  Garin,  who 
had  been  working  dihgently  preparing  for  the  establishment  of  the  order,  and  who  had  acted  as  its  head  since 
the  beginning,  now  received  his  letters  from  the  Provincial,  confirming  him  Superior,  and  thus  he  became  the 
first  head  of  the  order  in  Lowell.     Fathers  Guillard  and  Lebret  were  confirmed  as  his  assistants. 

Meanwhile,  St.  John's  Church  was  becoming  insufficient  to  meet  the  ends  of  the  growing  Irish  Catholic 
population  of  Belvidere,  and  it  became  necessary  to  secure  a  more  commodious  place  of  worship.  A  new 
church  was  the  only  thing  that  could  be  considered  a  permanent  remedy  for  the  situation,  but  where  to  get  the 
land,  and  how  to  raise  sufficient  funds  for  the  purpose,  became  a  serious  problem.  Bishop  Williams  had 
restricted  the  fathers  to  that  portion  of  the  city  known  as  Belvidere,  and  there  the  land  should  be  secured,  if 
secured  at  all.  On  the  other  hand,  the  number  of  Irish  Catholics  in  Belvidere  was  comparatively  small,  and 
if  a  prosperous  parish  was  to  be  built  up  it  was  necessary  to  attract  Catholics  from  other  parts  of  the  city.  To 
accomplish  this  a  commodious  church  was  necessary,  and  consequently  this  became  the  all-absorbing  thought 
with  the  fathers.  In  the  whole  district  there  was  no  more  favorable  spot  available  for  a  site  than  where  the 
old  chapel  of  St.  John  stood.  There  was  one  vacant  lot,  which  was  considered  very  desirable,  but  it  was  the 
property  of  a  corporation  which  absolutely  refused  to  sell.  Taken  altogether,  the  undertaking  was  fraught  with 
difficulty.  The  street  was  occupied  by  a  number  of  small  proprietors,  and  the  question  was  whether  they  would 
be  willing  to  sell.  And  even  if  some  wished  to  sell  the  others  might  not.  This  also  involved  expense,  for 
the  buildings  would  have  to  be  bought  with  the  land,  thus  entailing  considerable  loss.  The  sympathy  and 
encouragement  of  the  congregation,  however,  overcame  all  these  fears,  and  full  of  courage  they  resolved  to 
undertake  the  work.  During  the  month  of  July,  1869,  the  fathers  succeeded  in  buying  the  lot  on  which  now 
stands  the  vestry  of  the  church.  Soon  after  another  lot  was  bought,  on  which  the  tower  of  the  church  now 
rests.  There  yet  remained  another  lot  owned  by  an  old  man  named  Leavitt,  who  had  occupied  it  for  thirty 
years  and  who  had  no  desire  to  sell  it.  And  yet,  without  this  lot  the  rest  was  practically  useless,  inasmuch  as 
his  property  cut  the  other  in  two,  and,  moreover,  half  of  a  building  on  one  of  the  purchased  lots  covered  a  por- 


tion  of  Leavitt's  lot.  The  old  man  realizing  that  the  fathers  were  determined  to  build  their  church,  at  last 
consented  to  sell,  and  with  this  last  acquisition  the  greater  part  of  the  property  on  what  is  now  Fayette  Street 
passed  into  the  hands  of  the  fathers.  There  was  one  exception,  the  lot  known  in  recent  years  as  the  Owen 
estate,  at  the  corner  of  Merrimack  and  Fayette  Streets,  but  it  may  be  remarked  here  that  after  resisting  every 
offer  to  sell  during  all  the  years  since,  this  property  was  finally  secured  two  years  ago  by  the  fathers  and  is 
now  known  as  Columbus  Park.  At  the  end  of  the  year  1869  the  fathers  changed  their  residence  to  half  of  the 
house  occupied  by  the  old  man,  Leavitt,  who  with  his  family  continued  to  reside  in  the  other  half  till  the  spring 
of  the  following  year.  Although  such  near  neighbors,  Leavitt  and  the  fathers  had  nothing  in  common.  The 
•chapel  in  the  fathers'  residence  was  only  divided  from  Leavitt's  parlor  by  a  thin  partition,  and  it  often  happened 
that  while  the  fathers  were  chanting  their  evening  prayers  the  lady  of  the  house  would  play  the  most  fantastic 
airs  on  the  piano.     The  good  fathers,  however,  were  not  in  the  least  disconcerted  by  such  distractions. 

At  this  time  Father  Tortel,  Father  Mangin,  and  Father  McGrath  were  transferred  from  Buffalo  to  Lowell, 
arriving  on  January  4,  1870.  Father  Tortel  was  attached  to  St.  Joseph's  Church  with  Father  Garin,  while 
Fathers  Mangin  and  McGrath  were  placed  at  large,  as  it  were,  so  as  to  be  at  liberty  to  give  missions.  About 
the  same  period  the  Father  Provincial  came  to  Lowell  and  reconstructed  the  arrangement  of  the  house  as  fol- 
lows :  Father  Tortel  was  named  first  assistant  or  administrator  to  Father  Garin,  and  Father  Guillard  was  named 
second  assistant.  The  question  that  occupied  the  attention  of  the  people  at  this  time  was  the  construction  of 
the  new  church,  and  soon  a  subscription  list  was  opened  for  that  purpose.  Father  Guillard  made  a  canvass  of 
the  city,  going  from  house  to  house  in  his  zeal  for  the  cause.  He  was  well  received,  as  a  rule,  but,  as  was 
natural,  he  had  also  to  encounter  rebuffs  and  humiliations.  Father  Garin  was  at  the  same  time  perfecting 
plans  for  the  structure,  and  he  succeeded  in  securing  the  services  of  P.  C.  Keely  as  the  architect.  During  the 
summer  of  1870  work  on  the  basement  was  begun.  For  this  it  was  necessary  to  use  the  lot  on  which  stood  the 
house  occupied  by  the  fathers,  consequently  it  was  removed  to  the  corner  of  Stackpole  and  Fayette  Streets, 
where  it  stood  until  the  new  residence  was  built  on  its  site  a  few  years  ago.  Father  Guillard,  in  addition  to  his 
canvass  for  subscriptions,  also  arranged  for  a  fair  in  aid  of  the  new  church.  It  was  held  in  Huntington  Hall, 
lasted  fifteen  days,  and  netted,  clear  of  all  expenses,  $6,200.  This  was  so  successful  that  other  fairs  were  held 
afterwards  with  good  results.  In  1870  Father  Guillard  was  transferred  to  Montreal,  and  Father  McGrath  was 
named  pastor  of  St  John's  Church,  to  replace  him,  with  Father  Burke  as  his  assistant.  During  the  year  1870 
the  Oblate  Fathers  gave  twelve  missions. 

Mr.  Keely  having  completed  his  plans  for  a  church  of  Gothic  architecture,  the  contract  for  the  basement 
was  given  out,  and  active  work  was  commenced  in  the  last  days  of  April,  187 1.  The  work  was  vigorously 
pushed  and  towards  the  end  of  summer  the  basement  was  well  advanced.  About  this  time  Father  Burke  was 
transferred  to  Quebec  and  Father  Lefevre  was  sent  to  replace  him.  In  the  summer  Father  Vandenburg,  the 
Provincial,  accompanied  by  Bishop  Guigues,  of  Ottawa,  came  to  Lowell  to  conduct  the  ceremonies  of  laying  the 
corner-stone  of  the  new  church,  but  on  account  of  the  epidemic  of  small-pox,  which  was  then  prevalent,  the 
city  authorities  asked  the  fathers  to  postpone  the  ceremonies  for  some  time.  The  epidemic  having  subsided, 
the  corner-stone  was  laid  on  Thursday,  December  30,  1871.  On  that  day  a  grand  procession,  made  up  of  local 
and  out-of-town  companies  and  societies,  was  formed  on  Market  Street,  to  take  part  in  the  exercises.  Major 
Mathew  Donovan  was  marshal,  and  the  aids  wereTerrence  Hanover,  James  Carroll,  Patrick  McVeney,  William 
McGovern,  James  Powers,  Henry  Garrison,  Michael  Roark,  and  Patrick  Flannigan.  The  foundation  of  the 
church  had  been  covered  with  a  temporary  floor,  at  the  end  of  which  was  a  raised  platform  for  the  clergymen. 
The  sermon  was  by  Rev.  James  Lonergan,  of  Montreal,  and  the  benediction  was  pronounced  by  Right  Rev. 
Bishop  Williams,  of  Boston,  who  then  proceeded  to  lay  the  corner-stone  at  the  southeast  angle  of  the  building. 
In  the  copper  box  were  placed  several  newspapers  and  a  number  of  gold,  silver,  and  copper  coins,  also  a  parch- 
ment document,  in  Latin,  which  set  forth  the  date,  the  names  of  the  president  of  the  United  States,  of  the 
sovereign  pontiff,  bishop  of  the  diocese,  mayor  of  the  city,  superiors  of  the  Oblate  Order,  and  several  other 
data.  Among  the  clergymen  present  were  Very  Rev.  Father  O'Donnell,  of  Nashua;  Father  Barry,  of  Concord; 
Father  Millette,  of  Nashua;  Father  Qualey,  of  Woburn;  Father  Chevalier,  of  Manchester;  Father  Foley,  of 
Fitchburg;  Father  Fitzpatrick,  of  Stoneham,  and  Fathers  Michael  O'Brien,  McNamara,  Garin,  Tortel,  Lafabre, 




McKiernan,  Mangin,  and  McGrath,  of  this  city.  The  ceremonies  were  witnessed  by  over  2,000  people,  not- 
withstanding the  fact  that  the  temperature  ranged  from  15°  to  20°  below  zero. 

The  basement  was  finished  in  the  summer  of  1872,  and  by  July  it  was  ready  to  be  opened  for  services. 
The  blessing  of  the  basement  took  place  on  Sunday,  July  7,  1872,  in  the  presence  of  a  large  congregation. 
The  pews  were  able  to  accommodate  about  2,000  people,  and  they  were  all  occupied.  At  10.30  High  Mass 
was  celebrated  by  Rev.  Father  Vanderburg,  of  Montreal.  The  sermon  was  preached  by  Bishop  Williams  on 
the  subject,  "The  Christian  love  of  God  in  building  and  adorning  His  temples."  A  large  choir,  under  the  direc- 
tion of  John  F.  McEvoy,  rendered  appropriate  musical  selections.  In  the  afternoon  the  sacrament  of  confir- 
mation was  administered  by  Bishop  Williams  to  nearly  300  children.  The  first  mission  in  the  basement  was 
preached  in  Lent  of  1873  by  Revs.  James  McGrath,  J.  Mangin,  D.  Barber,  and  D.  O'Riordan. 

It  took  some  four  years  more  to  build  the  church,  and  it  was  not  till  the  summer  of  1877  that  it  was  ready 
to  be  dedicated.  The  new  church  is  built  entirely  of  granite,  which  was  procured  chiefly  from  the  piers  and 
abutments  of  the  old  Pawtucket  Bridge  and  from  the  "  Black  Granite  Ledge  "  in  Dracut.  The  architecture  is 
modern  Gothic,  the  cruciform  style  being  adopted,  and  the  whole  appearance  of  the  building  is  massive  and 
imposing  in  the  extreme.  The  only  thing  needed  to  make  it  complete  is  to  finish  the  tower  on  the  southeastern 
corner,  and  this  work  is  expected  to  be  accomplished  within  a  few  years.  The  tower  will  support  an  imposing 
spire,  and  here  also  will  be  placed  a  chime  of  bells,  which  will  be  in  keeping  with  the  other  equipments  of  the 
church.  The  bell,  named  the  "Immaculate  Conception,"  which  was  placed  in  position  in  1883,  is  intended  to 
be  the  base  of  the  future  chime.     It  weighs  4,000  pounds. 

The  interior  of  the  church  presents  a  beautiful  appearance.  The  efl^ect  is  light  and  graceful,  and  symmetry 
of  form  and  harmony  of  design  and  coloring  combine  to  make  a  picture  of  light  and  beauty.  The  length  from 
the  vestibule  to  the  chancel  is  192  feet,  and  the  height  from  floor  to  ceiling  is  70  feet.  The  width  is  76  feet 
in  the  nave,  and  109  feet  in  the  transepts.  The  clerestory  and  aisle  roofs  are  supported  by  16  clustered 
columns,  resting  on  iron  pillars,  set  in  the  basement.  The  capitals  of  the  columns  are  ornamented  with  rich 
designs  in  stucco.  Above  the  apex  of  the  arches,  between  the  columns,  on  the  clerestory  wall  m  the  nave,  are 
clustered  pilasters  with  caps  and  bases  richly  ornamented  with  designs  of  calla  lilies  and  roses,  from  which 
spring  numerous  ornate  ribs  which  trace  the  ceiling  in  graceful  lines  and  unite  their  extremities  to  a  heavy 
moulding  which  runs  the  entire  length  of  the  ceiling.  The  junctions  are  marked  by  large  bosses  of  floral  designs, 
the  central  one  over  the  transept  representing  the  Sacred  Heart,  surrounded  by  golden  rays.  The  aisle  roof  is 
of  the  same  design  as  the  nave,  and  the  groined  arches  in  the  transept  terminate  in  groups  of  clustered  pilasters 
ornamented  with  floral  caps  and  bases.  The  clerestory  windows  number  44,  and  are  set  in  small  arches  which 
surmount  a  line  of  niches  formed  by  Gothic  arches  in  relief  stucco  work,  with  panels,  columns,  and  ornamented 
caps.  In  the  transept  walls  are  two  large  windows  30  feet  high  and  25  feet  wide  at  the  base.  Along  the  tran- 
sept and  side  walls,  at  the  spring  of  the  arches,  runs  a  richly  designed  frieze  in  two  sections,  one  representing 
clusters  of  grapes  and  wheat,  and  the  other  clusters  of  passion  flowers  with  foliage.  The  chancel  is  a  place  of 
beauty,  and  difficult  to  be  adequately  described.  Seven  arches  in  relief  rise  from  the  floor,  and  are  surmounted 
by  rich  designs  in  fruit,  flowers,  and  diaper  work.  The  seven  windows  are  ornamented  with  elaborate 
embeUishments,  and  between  them  are  suspended  thirteen  projecting  pedestals  representing  clusters  of  flowers 
and  fruits  in  i  -ch  profusion.  These  pedestals  support  statues  of  the  Blessed  Virgin  and  the  twelve  apostles. 
The  wings  of  the  chancel  are  divided  into  arched  panels,  surmounted  by  large  circular  columns.  The  oro-an 
gallery  is  large  enough  to  accommodate  two  hundred  singers. 

The  pews  are  322  in  number,  built  of  ash,  and  ornamented  with  cherry  trimmings.  The  seating  capacity 
is  about  2,000.  The  floors  of  the  five  isles  and  the  chancel  steps  are  of  Georgia  pine,  oiled  and  polished.  The 
high  altar  was  a  splendid  specimen  of  its  kind.  It  was  built  entirely  of  marble,  the  design  being  Gothic.  It 
was  18  feet  wide  at  the  base,  and  21  feet  high.  In  1888  this  altar  was  replaced  by  a  far  larger  and  much  more 
beautiful  and  costly  one.  The  design  of  the  present  altar  may  be  seen  from  the  accompanying  cut,  but  it  scarcely 
conveys  an  adequate  idea  of  its  beauty.  The  windows  are  composed  of  cathedral  glass.  The  large  transept 
windows  are  triangular  in  form,  with  a  wheel  27  feet  in  diameter  in  the  centre.  The  centre  figure  of  the  east- 
ern window  represents  the  Ascension,  and  the  western  window  the  Assumption  of  the  Blessed  Virgin.     The 




four  windows  in  tlie  aisles  and  transepts  represent,  "Christ  Blessing  Little  Children,"  "The  Nativity,"  "Moses 
Striking  the  Rock,"  and  "  St.  Martin  Dividing  His  Mantle  with  a  Beggar."  Some  of  the  other  windows  show  life- 
size  figures  of  St.  Peter,  St.  Paul,  St.  Andrew,  St.  Thaddeus,  and  St.  Patrick.  In  the  chancel,  above  the  main 
altar,  are  seven  windows,  containing  figures  of  the  Sacred  Heart,  Immaculate  Conception,  St.  Anne,  St.  Eliza- 
beth, St.  Joachim,  St.  Joseph,  and  St.  John  the  Baptist.  Among  the  donors  of  windows  were  the  following  : 
Chancel  windows  donated  by  Charles  M.  Williams,  Michael  Trainor,  Christopher  Mooney,  Thomas  Downing, 
Anne  Barton,  Thomas  Costello,  iind  Mary  A.  Hodder;  transept  windows  by  the  Holy  Rosary  and  Immaculate 
Conception  Sodalities,  and  the  Sunday-school ;  aisle  windows  by  the  Immaculate  Conception  Temperance 
Society,  the  Arch-confraterity,  Martin  Morris,  Patrick  Boyle,  Bridget  Brogan,  Bridget  Barton,  Richard  F.  Con- 
nor, Owen  McKenna,  Bridget  O'Connell,  William  Courtney,  Hugh  Quinn,  Patrick  Corcoran,  Peter  Smith, 
Philip  Connors,  Paschal  Harnois,  and  Mathew  Murphy. 

The  organ  is  a  remarkably  fine  instrument.  It  is  22^  feet  wide,  24  feet  deep,  and  35  feet  high.  The  case 
is  made  of  ash,  Gothic  in  style,  and  with  its  decorations  of  carved  pilasters,  caps,  fruit,  foliage,  etc.,  it  presents 
an  elegant  appearance. 

The  new  church  was  dedicated  on  June  10,  1877,  and  a  most  interesting  event  it  proved.  Admission  to 
the  church  was  by  ticket,  and  fully  2,700  people  were  present  when  the  procession  entered  from  the  sacristy 
at  10  o'clock.  The  order  was  as  follows:  Master  of  ceremonies.  Rev.  Father  D.  O'Riordan;  cross  bearer, 
Rev.  William  M.  Reardon;  fifty  acolytes,  visiting  clergymen.  Bishop  Goesbriand,  of  Burlington,  Vt.,  and  His 
Grace,  Archbishop  Williams.  The  ceremonies  were  conducted  by  the  Archbishop,  and  after  blessing  the 
portals,  doors,  walls,  altar,  and  other  parts  of  the  church,  solemn  High  Mass  was  celebrated.  The  celebrant 
was  Rev.  Father  Antoine,  Provincial  of  the  Oblate  Order,  with  Rev.  Father  Ponsardin  as  deacon,  Rev.  Father 
Garrigan  as  sub-deacon,  and  Rev.  D.  O'Riordan  as  master  of  ceremonies.  The  Archbishop  was  attended  by 
Rev.  Father  O'Brien  and  Rev.  Father  Gilmore  as  deacons  of  honor.  The  sermon  was  preached  by  Right  Rev. 
Bishop  O'Reilly,  of  Springfield,  taking  his  te.xt  from  the  epistle  of  Paul  to  the  Ephesians,  4th  chapter,  3d  to 
6th  verse,  inclusive.  The  large  choir  sang  Haydn's  Third  Mass,  under  the  direction  of  Professor  Haggerty. 
Mr.  J.  G.  Lennon  presided  at  the  organ.  Among  the  clergymen  present  were  Very  Rev.  Father  Antoine,  of 
Montreal;  Father  Garrigan,  of  Fitchburg;  Father  Ponsardin,  of  Biddeford,  Me.;  Father  Lebret,  of  St.  Paul, 
Minn.;  Father  Guillard,  of  Buffalo,  N.  Y. ;  Father  Sacomb,  of  Montreal;  Father  Qualey,  of  Woburn;  Father 
Powers,  of  Blackstone ;  Father  Doherty,  of  Millbury;  Father  Magennis,  of  Roxbury;  Father  Munger,  of 
Attleboro,  and  Father  Michael  O'Brien.  At  the  vesper  service  His  Grace,  the  Archbishop,  officiated,  assisted 
by  Rev.  Father  Ponsardin  and  Rev.  Father  Garrigan.  Right  Rev.  Bishop  Goesbriand,  of  Burlington,  Vt., 
preached  an  eloquent  sermon  on  "The  Immaculate  Conception."  Among  the  invited  guests  present  were  His 
Honor,  Mayor  Stott,  Judge  Crosby,  Hon.  D.  S.  Richardson,  J.  C.  Abbott,  Esq.,  the  late  John  Boyle  O'Reilly, 
Hon.  P.  A.  CoUins,  of  Boston,  ex-Governor  Talbot,  and  many  other  prominent  men. 

An  important  event  in  the  history  of  the  church  was  the  translation  of  the  relics  of  St.  Veracunda,  which 
took  place  November  24,  1878.  At  10.15  ^^^  ceremonies  opened  before  a  great  congregation.  The  Pontifical 
Mass  was  celebrated  by  Archbishop  Williams,  with  Rev.  Father  Bodfish,  of  Boston,  archpriest;  Rev.  Father 
Michael  O'Brien,  and  Rev.  Father  Strain,  of  Lynn,  deacons  of  honor;  Rev.  Father  Trudeau,  deacon  of  the 
Mass;  Rev.  Father  Tortel,  sub-deacon;  Rev.  Father  O'Riordan,  master  of  ceremonies,  and  Rev.  Father 
Gigault,  cross  bearer.  Rev.  Father  Bodfish  preached  an  eloquent  sermon.  He  dwelt  especially  on  the  life 
and  virtues  of  St.  Veracunda.  After  the  sermon  a  procession  was  formed,  headed  by  the  cross  bearer,  incense 
bearer,  and  acolytes  carrying  lighted  candles.  Then  came  four  priests  carrying  on  their  shoulders  the  bier  on 
which  rested  the  wax  figure  containing  the  relics  of  the  saint.  Immediately  after  came  the  Archbishop  and  the 
attending  clergymen.  After  the  procession  had  moved  around  through  the  church  the  relics  were  deposited  on 
a  temporary  altar  provided  for  them.  Kalliwoda's  Mass  was  rendered  by  a  large  choir,  assisted  by  Owen's 
orchestra.  At  the  vesper  service  at  6  p.  m..  Father  Bodfish  was  celebrant,  Father  McGrath,  deacon,  and  Father 
Gigault,  sub-deacon.     The  anniversary  of  the  translation  is  regularly  observed  every  year. 

In  187S  occurred  the  first  mission  in  the  Immaculate  Conception  Church.  It  was  opened  on  Sunday, 
January  12th,  and  was  conducted  by  Father  Hunt.     On  that  day  solemn  High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Father 



McGrath,  with  Father  Trudeau  as  deacon,  Father  Van  Laar  as  sub-deacon,  and  Father  O'Riordan  as  master  of 
ceremonies.  After  Mass  a  procession  was  formed  at  the  high  altar,  led  by  the  master  of  ceremonies  and 
acolytes,  and  Father  McGrath  came  next  carrying  a  large  cross.  When  the  procession  reached  the  vestibule 
the  cross  was  presented  to  Father  Hunt,  who  then  took  his  place  in  the  line  and  the  procession  returned  to  the 
altar.  The  mission  was  a  wonderful  success,  and  in  order  to  accommodate  all  the  people  it  was  found  neces- 
sary to  extend  it  considerably  beyond  the  two  weeks  first  intended. 

The  Immaculate  Conception  Parochial  School  is  justly  regarded  as  one  of  the  leading  Catholic  educational 
institutions  of  the  city.  It  was  opened  on  Monday,  September  6,  1880,  and  was  placed  in  charge  of  eight 
Sisters  of  the  Order  of  Gray  Nuns  of  the  Cross,  from  Ottawa.  There  were  only  six  of  them  present  at  the 
opening,  and  they  were  Sister  Shanley,  superior;  Sister  St.  James,  Sister  Margaret  Mary,  Sister  Rose  of  Lima, 
Sister  Mary  Bernard,  and  Sister  Saint  Eugenia.  The  opening  of  the  school  was  celebrated  by  solemn  High 
Mass  at  the  Immaculate  Conception  Church,  and  afterwards  the  pupils  formed  a  procession  and  marched  to 
the  new  school  building.  The  school  opened  with  an  attendance  of  about  700  children  of  both  sexes,  but  at 
this  time  the  city  was  not  divided  into  parishes  and  the  children  came  from  all  parts  of  the  city.  Of  course, 
when  the  division  was  made,  some 
time  afterwards,  the  number  decreased 
to  less  than  500,  as  the  attendance 
was  practically  restricted  to  the  chil- 
dren of  the  parish. 

The  school  is  situated  at  the 
corner  of  High  and  Bartlett  Streets. 
The  building  is  about  100  by  50  feet, 
and  four  stories  high.  For  a  distance 
of  ten  feet  above  the  foundation  the 
walls  are  built  of  gray  granite,  and 
above  that  they  are  built  of  brick, 
with  granite  trimmings  about  the 
doors  and  windows.  The  front  facade 
is  divided  into  three  sections,  and  on 
the  centre  one  is  a  triangular  pedi- 
ment containing  a  marble  slab  on 
which  is  the  following  inscription : 
"Parochial  School,  O.  M.  I.  of  the 
Church   of  the   Immaculate  Concep- 

,,„,..  ^    J  1  1  Parochial  School,  Immacul.-vte  Conception  Church,  Lowell. 

tion.       This  IS  surmounted  by  a  large 

cross.  The  building  has  a  slated  roof,  from  which  rises  a  square  belfry.  The  first  floor  is  entirely  devoted  to 
a  large  hall,  used  as  an  assembly  room  and  also  for  various  entertainments.  The  second  floor  is  divided  into 
four  rooms,  each  about  34  by  23  feet,  and  16  feet  high.  Three  of  these  are  used  for  primary  classes  and  one 
for  a  junior  class.  The  third  floor  is  divided  in  a  similar  manner,  the  rooms  being  used  for  four  junior  classes. 
On  the  fourth  floor  there  are  four  more  rooms  devoted  to  the  senior  classes.  In  the  primary  classes  the  boys 
and  girls  are  kept  together,  but  in  the  junior  and  senior  classes  they  are  taught  in  different  rooms.  In  1887 
Sister  Shanley  went  back  to  Ottawa,  and  Sister  Mary  Angela  came  from  there  to  take  her  place  as  superior. 
Sister  Mary  Angela  has  filled  the  position  ever  since,  and  under  her  direction  the  school  has  attained  a  high 
degree  of  efficiency.  She  is  at  present  assisted  by  eight  teachers,  and  the  average  attendance  is  about  500. 
The  school  is  well  graded  both  in  the  primary  and  grammar  departments,  and  the  results  show  that  the  pupils 
compare  most  favorably  with  those  of  any  of  the  public  schools  in  the  city.  Each  year  since  1884  a  number  of 
the  graduates  from  this  school  have  entered  the  high  school,  and  some  of  them  at  the  early  age  of  twelve  years. 
Within  the  last  few  years  no  less  than  twenty-seven  graduates  of  the  school  have  graduated  from  the  high  school, 
and  three  of  them  secured  the  "  Carney  medals,"  the  highest  award  of  scholarship  made  in  the  high  school. 



On  July  I,  1883,  a  province  of  the  Order  of  Mary  Immaculate  was  created  in  the  United  States,  and 
Father  McGrath  was  appointed  the  first  provincial.  It  was  a  just  recognition  of  his  many  years  of  faithful 
service,  and  it  brought  joy  to  his  congregation.  On  October  28th,  of  the  same  year,  occurred  the  interesting 
service  of  the  blessing  of  the  bell,  named  the  Immaculate  Conception,  which  was  placed  in  the  tower  of  the 
church.  An  immense  congregation  attended,  including  Mayor  Donovan  and  members  of  the  city  government. 
A  procession  was  formed,  comprising  the  various  societies  connected  with  the  church,  and  they  took  places 
assigned  them  in  the  church.  The  bell  was  suspended  in  front  of  the  main  aisle  and  was  almost  completely 
hidden  by  flowers  and  evergreens.  Near  it  was  a  smaller  bell  which  was  to  be  blessed  for  the  novitiate  at 
Tewksbury,  recently  opened  by  Father  McGrath.  The  ceremonies  were  conducted  by  Right  Rev.  Bishop 
Healy,  of  Portland,  assisted  by  Very  Rev.  Father  Byrne,  Vicar-General  of  the  diocese ;  Very  Rev.  Father 
Tabaret,  O.  M.  I.,  President  of  the  College  at  Ottawa ;  Rev.  Father  Bournigalle,  O.  M.  I.,  Superior  at  St.  Sauveur, 
Quebec,  and  the  fathers  connected  with  the  church.  Bishop  Healy  ascended  the  pulpit  and  preached  an 
eloquent  sermon  from  Isaiah  XL:g. 

In  November,  1885,  occurred  the  first  death  in  the  community,  that  of  Rev.  Father  Trudeau.      He  came 

to  Lowell  in  1876,  and  up  to  the  time 
of  his  death  he  earned  the  good-will 
and  esteem  of  all  for  his  faithful  and 
devoted  services  in  the  cause  of  the 

In  November  of  1883  the  Tewks- 
bury Novitiate  for  the  Province  of  the 
United  States  was  opened.  This  place 
is  for  the  training  of  young  men  who 
may  have  a  desire  to  enter  the  order, 
and  it  is  more  especially  intended  for 
the  purpose  of  subjecting  them  to  a 
course  of  rules  and  discipline  which 
will  show  whether  or  not  they  have 
a  vocation  for  membership  in  the 
order.  At  present  twenty-four  young 
men  are  at  the  novitiate.  On  July  20, 
1884,  the  20th  anniversary  of  the 
ordination  of  Rev.  Father  McGrath, 
the  Provincial,  was  celebrated.    Solemn 

Parochial  Residence,  I:\imacilate  Conxeitiun  Chlrch,  Lowell. 

High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Rev. 
Father  McGrath,  with  Father  Tortel  as  deacon,  and  Father  Garin  as  sub-deacon.  Archbishop  Duhamel,  of 
Ottawa,  was  present,  and  Father  McGrath  received  many  gifts. 

Early  in  1889  work  was  begun  on  a  parochial  residence  and  on  Sunday,  December  15th,  the  completion 
of  the  work  was  announced.  It  stands  at  the  corner  of  Stackpole  and  Fayette  Streets,  occupying  all  the  space 
from  the  church  to  the  corner  of  the  two  streets.  It  is  plainly  furnished,  in  accordance  with  the  principles  of 
the  order,  but  the  building  is  of  the  most  substantial  kind.  The  foundation  is  of  granite,  and  the  super- 
structure is  brick  with  granite  trimmings.     It  is  an  elegant  parochial  residence. 

An  interesting  and  unusual  event  occurred  on  August  16,  i8gi,  when  the  Order  of  Tonsure  was  conferred 
on  Brother  Howe.  The  four  minor  orders  were  conferred  on  Brothers  O'Callahan  and  Reynolds,  and  Brother 
McAvenue  was  ordained  to  the  priesthood.  A  similar  event  occurred  on  August  13,  1893,  when  Brothers 
Reynolds  and  Howe  were  ordained  priests,  and  George  Costello  had  the  order  of  sub-deacon  conferred  upon 
him.  The  ceremonies  were  conducted  by  Right  Rev.  Bishop  Brady,  Coadjutor  Bishop  of  Boston,  assisted  by 
Rev.  Father  Joyce,  of  the  Immaculate  Conception  Church,  and  Rev.  Father  Andre,  of  St.  John's  Seminary, 



The  latest,  and  perhaps  the  most  important,  improvement  since  the  dedication  of  the  church  was  the  beau- 
tifying of  the  grounds  between  the  church  and  Merrimack  Street  in  the  fall  of  1892.  Ever  since  the  church 
was  built,  this  space,  known  as  the  Owen  estate,  was  occupied  by  a  number  of  small  buildings,  and  thus  the 
church  surroundings  on  this  side  were  not  only  unsightly,  but  the  view  of  the  church  was  almost  wholly  shut  off 
from  the  street.  For  a  long  time  the  fathers  tried  to  secure  this  property,  but  either  there  was  some  difficulty 
in  the  way  or  the  owners  were  unwilling  to  sell.  In  1892  the  fathers  secured  the  much  coveted  land  for  the 
sum  of  $13,000,  and  immediately  steps  were  taken  to  clear  away  all  the  old  buildings  and  form  a  lawn,  which 
was  afterwards  named  "  Columbus  Park,"  in  honor  of  the  year.  In  addition  to  the  land  acquired  from  the 
Owen  estate,  another  lot  adjoining  it  was 
secured,  and  the  entire  lot  has  an  area 
of  nearly  an  acre,  with  a  frontage  of 
about  200  feet  on  East  Merrimack 
Street  and  about  120  feet  on  Fayette 
Street.  The  arrangements  for  beautify- 
ing the  park  were  designed  on  a  very 
elaborate  scale,  the  Oblate  Fathers  be- 
ing evidently  determined  to  have  one  of 
the  finest  lawns  fronting  any  church  in 
New  England,  and  in  this  they  have 
succeeded  most  admirably.  The  cost 
.  of  the  improvements  of  this  beautiful 
park,  an  ornament  alike  to  the  church 
and  to  the  city,  has  been  upwards  of 
$7,000,  and  the  fathers  are  to  be  com- 
mended for  their  good  taste  and  great 

On  October  2,  1893,  another  im- 
provement was  made,  on  the  front  of 
the  church  facing  Merrimack  Street,  by 
placing  a  statue  of  the  Immaculate  Con- 
ception in  the  niche  near  the  top  of  the 
gable  which  had  been  prepared  for  it 
when  the  church  was  built.  This  statue 
is  8  feet  high,  weighs  1,900  pounds, 
and  makes  a  most  appropriate  and  im- 
pressive decoration  for  the  front  of  the 
church.  In  1894  an  irhportant  improve- 
ment was  made  in  the  basement  by  the 
substitution  of  a  large  pipe  organ  for 
the  reed  organ  which  had  done  duty 
there  for  several  years,  and  had  long 
been  considered  inadequate  for  the  needs  of  the  church.  The  new  organ  has  two  manuals,  compass  CC  to  A, 
58  notes;  pedal  organ,  CCC  to  F,  30  notes.  Its  dimensions  are  15  feet  in  width,  12  feet,  6  inches,  in  depth, 
and  1 7  feet  high. 

Taken  altogether  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception  is  one  of  the  best  appointed  and  best  equipped 
churches  in  New  England.  Everything  is  carried  out  with  such  a  high  standard  of  excellence  that  people  are 
attracted  from  all  parts  of  the  city  to  attend  the  exercises.  The  normal  congregation  is  comparatively  small, 
numbering  about  4,000  souls. 

Rev.  Father  Joyce,  O.  M.  I.,  pastor  of  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception,  is  one  of  the  most  pop- 

Pastor  Church 

Conception,  Lowe 


ular  priests  in  tlie  community.  Tliis  high  place  in  the  esteem  of  liis  people  has  been  attained  by  years  of 
devotion  to  their  interests  and  self-sacrifice  on  his  part.  His  highest  aim  is  to  advance  the  spiritual  and  mate- 
rial welfare  of  those  committed  to  his  charge,  and  they  repay  his  love  and  devotion  a  thousand  fold.  He  is  a 
man  of  fine  presence,  of  scholarly  attainments,  brilliant  in  his  conversation  and  address,  and  as  a  pulpit  orator 
he  is  eloquent,  forcible,  and  convincing.  In  fact,  as  a  preacher,  he  has  no  superior  among  the  Lowell  clergy- 
men, even  numbering,  as  they  do,  several  eloquent  speakers.  Under  his  able  direction  the  Church  of  the 
Immaculate  Conception  has  attamed  a  leading  position  among  the  churches  of  Lowell. 

Father  Joyce  was  born  in  County  Waterford,  Ireland,  in  1856,  so  that  he  is  now  thirty-eight  years  old. 
From  an  early  age  he  was  intended  for  the  priesthood,  and  in  187 1  he  entered  the  College  of  Mt.  Melleray,  in 
charge  of  the  Trappist  Order.  He  afterwards  studied  in  St.  John's  College,  Waterford,  and  in  1873  he  entered 
the  junior  house  of  the  Oblates,  in  Yorkshire,  England.  Later  he  went  to  France  and  entered  the  Oblates' 
scholasticate,  and  so  impressed  did  he  become  by  the  example  and  the  beautiful  lives  of  the  Oblates  of  Mary 
Immaculate  that  he  determined  to  become  a  member  of  that  order.  When  his  studies  were  nearly  completed 
he  was  sent  over  to  Manitoba,  Canada,  that  he  might  become  accustomed  to  the  changeful  life  of  an  Oblate, 
and  in  1879  he  was  ordained  a  priest  at  Winnipeg  and  received  into  the  order  by  Most  Rev.  Alexander  Tache, 
O.  M.  I.  He  was  the  first  priest  ordained  in  the  city  of  Winnipeg,  and  the  ceremonies,  which  took  place  in 
St.  Mary's  Church,  were  witnessed  by  a  large  congregation.  In  St.  Mary's  parish  he  labored  for  three  years, 
having  for  associate,  during  a  portion  of  the  time.  Rev.  Father  Lavoie  of  the  Sacred  Heart  Church  of  this  city 
and  in  1882  he  was  transferred  to  Lowell.  His  first  appointment  here  was  as  assistant  in  the  Church  of  the 
Immaculate  Conception,  but  when  the  new  parish  of  the  Sacred  Heart  was  created,  in  1883,  Father  Joyce  was 
appointed  its  pastor.  The  same  zeal  and  ability  which  had  characterized  his  labors  hitherto  bore  rich  fruit  in 
his  management  of  the  Sacred  Heart  parish,  and,  though  the  work  was  arduous,  he  succeeded  in  placing  the 
new  church  on  a  firm  footing.  In  1885  he  was  recalled  to  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception  and  he 
served  as  pastor  from  that  time  up  to  189 1.  In  July  of  that  year.  Rev.  Father  McGrath,  who  had  for  some 
time  been  acting  as  superior  as  well  as  provincial  of  the  order,  was  called  away  to  Buffalo,  and  Father  Joyce 
was  appointed  superior  to  take  his  place.  This  position  he  has  held  ever  since  with  credit  to  himself  and  the 
order,  and  much  to  the  prosperity  and  growth  of  the  parish. 

Rev.  D.  M.  Burns,  the  first  assistant,  is  an  eloquent  preacher,  with  the  genial  temperament  and  the  keen 
sense  of  wit  and  humor  which  distinguish  the  Celt.  He  was  born  October  18,  1852,  at  Ogdensburg,  N.  Y.,  and 
was  educated  at  Ottawa  University.  He  was  ordained  on  June  19,  1886,  by  Most  Rev.  T.  J.  Duhamel,  D.  D. 
During  his  connection  with  the  Immaculate  Conception  and  Sacred  Heart  Churches,  in  this  city,  he  has  made 
hosts  of  friends. 

Rev.  John  J.  Dacey,  the  second  assistant,  was  born  in  Charlestown,  Mass.,  on  July  11,  i860.  He  was 
educated  in  Boston  College,  and  later  took  a-  theological  course  for  two  years  in  St.  Mary's  Seminary,  Baltimore. 
He  afterwards  entered  the  scholasticate  at  Archville,  Canada.  He  was  ordained  on  December  22,  1888,  by 
Archbishop  Williams,  and  on  the  first  of  January,  1889,  he  was  appointed  to  the  Tewksbury  Mission.  In 
September,  1889,  he  was  sent  to  Billerica,  where  he  remained  till  January,  1890,  when  he  was  sent  to  the 
Immaculate  Conception  Church.  He  is  an  able  preacher  and  is  a  great  favorite  with  the  young  people.  He 
has  given  much  attention  to  the  Young  Men's  Catholic  Institute,  formed  among  the  young  men  of  the  church 
a  few  years  ago,  and  now  a  flourishing  organization. 

Rev.  E.  A.  Dorgan  was  born  in  Lawrence,  Mass.,  and  he  received  his  education  in  the  Ottawa  University 
and  the  Grand  Seminary  of  Montreal.  He  was  ordained  at  Buffalo,  N.  Y.,  in  1892,  by  Right  Rev.  Dr.  Ryan. 
He  came  to  the  Immaculate  Conception  Church  in  March  of  the  present  year  to  take  the  place  of  Rev.  Father 
Smith,  who  was  transferred  to  Buffalo.  Father  Smith  came  in  September,  1S93,  to  take  the  place  of  Father 
Quested,  who  came  in  March  of  1893. 


St.  3^06epb'8  parisb,  Xowell 

tW  YPni 

:Bp  p.  %.  x^ncb. 

i  H  E  church  history  of  the  French  population  of  Lowell  really  dates  from  the  coming  of 
the  Oblate  Fathers  in  1868,  but  before  that  time  measures  were  taken  to  establish  a 
parish  for  the  French  people.  This  is  something  of  which  very  few  people  know,  even 
among  the  oldest  of  the  French  residents,  but  there  are  living  two  of  the  men  who  were 
engaged  in  these  arrangements.  Early  in  1867,  the  idea  of  establishing  a  separate 
parish  began  to  take  form.  There  were  then  something  hke  1,000  French  people  in 
-Lowell.  They  attended  services  at  St.  Patrick's  Church,  and  having  attained  such  pro- 
*^/^4^  '^portions  they  became  anxious  to  acquire  a  church  where  they  could  have  the  gospel  preached 
to  them  in  their  own  language,  and  where  they  could  feel  a  greater  communion  of  spirit  than 
when  among  the  English-speaking  people.  The  feeling  grew  in  strength,  and  when  Mr.  John 
^W  E.  Dozois  had  occasion  to  make  a  business  trip  to  Canada,  in  1867,  he  was  commissioned  to  lay  the 
matter  before  Bishop  Bourget,  of  Montreal.  The  Bishop  gave  Mr.  Dozois  a  letter  of  introduction  to 
Bishop  Williams,  because  without  the  permission  of  the  latter  nothing  could  be  done.  After  Mr.  Dozois' 
return  a  conference  of  leading  French  residents  was  held  and  a  committee  appointed  to  present  the  letter  to 
Bishop  Williams.  This  committee  consisted  of  Mr.  Dozois,  Mr.  John  B.  Raymond,  and  Mr.  Joseph  Courchene. 
The  latter  died  some  years  ago,  but  the  two  former  are  living.  Bishop  Williams  received  them  kindly,  and 
when  the  situation  had  been  fully  explained  to  him  he  promised  to  consider  the  matter.  In  a  few  weeks  Father 
Boisoneau  arrived  here  from  Canada  to  preach  a  mission  to  the  French  Canadians.  This  mission  was  held  in 
the  basement  of  St.  Patrick's  Church,  and  it  was  the  first  attempt  made  to  provide  a  distinct  service  for  the 
French  population  of  Lowell.  This  movement  probably  paved  the  way  for  the  permanent  establishment  of 
the  Oblate  Fathers  the  following  year.  The  real  progress  of  the  French  people,  as  a  religious  community,  be- 
gan with  the  latter  event,  and  ever  since  this  progress  has  gone  on  with  gratifying  results. 

The  chief  agent  in  this  wonderful  achievement  has  been  that  faithful  priest,  the  "bon par"  and  idol  of  his 
people.  Rev.  Father  Garin.  The  birth  of  the  French  colony  in  Lowell  might  be  said  to  have  begun  with  him, 
and  his  life  work  has  been  so  closely  entwined  with  its  growth  that  the  two  are  inseparable.  When  the 
Provincial  of  the  order  came  to  Lowell,  on  St.  Patrick's  Day  of  1868,  accompanied  by  Bishop  Williams,  and 
both  looked  over  the  ground  to  see  whether  or  not  it  would  be  feasible  to  establish  a  community  of  Oblates 
here,  they  could  not  arrive  at  a  definite  understanding  because  they  viewed  the  matter  from  different  stand- 
points. Bishop  Williams,  however,  gave  Father  Vandenburg  permission  to  send  two  priests  here  to  preach  a 
mission  to  the  French  CathoUcs,  and  on  April  19,  1868,  Father  Garin  and  Father  Lagier  came  to  preach  this 
mission.  The  two  visiting  fathers  were  hospitably  received  at  St.  Patrick's  Church  by  Father  John  O'Brien, 
then  pastor,  and  the  mission  was  at  once  opened  there.  The  number  of  French  Canadians  at  that  time  was 
estimated  at  1,200,  and  they  attended  at  St.  Patrick's  Church.  On  Sunday  evening  Father  Garin  addressed 
them,  and,  after  fully  explaining  the  situation,  asked  them  if  they  were  in  favor  of  a  separate  church.  They 
answered  unanimously  in  the  affirmative,  and  Father  Garin  could  see  that  they  were  quite  enthusiastic  on  the 
matter.  He  next  asked  them  which  they  preferred — St.  Mary's  Church,  which  was  then  available,  or  a  build- 
ing on  Lee  Street  then  owned  by  the  Unitarians  and  used  for  religious  purposes  by  the  Spiritualists.     It  was 



understood  that  this  building  could  be  secured  on  eas}'  terms,  and  at  the  time  it  was  considered  as  being  well 
adapted  for  a  religious  edifice.  The  Canadians  seemed  to  be  unanimously  in  favor  of  the  Lee  Street  building, 
so  on  the  following  day  Father  Garin,  accompanied  by  Joseph  Miller  and  Louis  Bergeron,  called  on  Mr.  Bradt, 
who  had  charge  of  the  building.  Father  Garin  stated  his  purpose  and  Mr.  Bradt  replied  that  he  would  like  to 
consult  some  of  the  other  members  of  the  committee.  Two  days  after  Father  Garin  called  again,  and  before 
he  left  the  negotiations  for  the  purchase  of  the  Lee  Street  Church  had  been  fully  completed.  The  price  agreed 
upon  was  $11,500,  of  which  $3;Ooo  was  to  be  paid  when  the  deeds  were  passed,  $500  was  payable  in  six 
months,  and  the  remainder  in  instalments  covering  a  period  of  five  years.  The  announcement  that  the  Lee 
Street  Church  had  been  secured  was  joyously  received  by  the  French  Canadians,  and  at  the  next  meeting  of 
the  mission,  when  Father  Garin  explained  what  had  been  done,  and  added  that  money  was  now  necessary  to 
complete  the  negotiations,  their  enthusiasm  was  such  that  a  considerable  sum  was   subscribed  on  the  spot. 


Subscriptions  came  in  rapidly  during  the  next  few  days,  and  about  the  middle  of  the  week  Father  Garin  was 
able  to  pay  the  $3,000  and  complete  the  transfer  of  the  deeds.  On  Saturday  morning  the  building  was  turned 
over  to  the  new  owners  and  preparations  were  at  once  made  to  fit  the  place  for  divine  service  the  following 
day.  The  time  was  very  short,  but  there  were  willing  hands  ready  to  carry  on  the  work.  The  reading  desk 
was  pushed  against  the  wall  .and  made  to  serve  as  a  temporary  altar,  a  railing  was  hastily  improvised  for  the 
communion  service,  and  a  few  other  changes  were  made.  On  Sunday  the  holy  sacrifice  of  the  Mass  was 
offered  up  for  the  first  time  in  the  edifice,  and  the  French  Canadian  congregation  felt  a  thrill  of  joy  and 
thankfulness  as  they  knelt  for  the  first  time  in  a  church  which  they  might  consider  wholly  their  own.  Father 
Garin  was  feeling  a  little  indisposed  on  account  of  his  arduous  labors  during  the  few  days  previously,  and  the 
High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Father  Lagier,  his  associate.  It  was  the  first  Sunday  in  May,  the  third  Sunday 
after  Easter,  and  the  feast  of   St.   Joseph,  and  so  the  edifice  was  named  St.  Joseph's   Church,  in  honor  of  the 



day.  John  F.  McEvoy,  Esq.,  always  a  devoted  friend  of  the  church,  volunteered  his  services  at  the  organ,  and 
Father  Garin  called  for  singers  from  among  the  congregation.  About  twenty  men  responded,  and  a  very 
respectable  choir  was  organized  on  the  spot.  In  fact,  there  was  something  delightfully  home- like  about  the 
services,  so  much  so  that,  as  Father  Garin  remarked  to  the  writer  when  speaking  of  the  matter  a  few  days  ago, 
"  One  could  almost  imagine  that  he  was  in  one  of  the  old  parishes  in  Canada." 

After  Mass  Father  Garin  began  to  rent  the  pews,  and  the  people  responded  so  enthusiastically  that  on  the 
following  day  he  was  able  to  take  up  the  note  for  ;ji5oo  already  mentioned.  This  was  not  due  for  six  months, 
but  Father  Garin  considered  it  better  to  settle  the  matter  at  once,  as  the  money  was  available.  At  this  time 
the  church  could  accommodate  about  500  people,  and  when  it  was  fully  fitted  up  and  furnished  it  made  an 
excellent  place  of  worship.  Father  Garin  worked  with  that  wonderfvd  energy  which  seems  peculiar  to  him, 
and  through  which  he  has  accomplished  such  great  things,  and  his  congregation  warmly  supported  him  in  all 


he  undertook.  Shortly  after  steps  were  taken  to  establish  a  community  of  the  Oblate  Order  in  Lowell,  and 
Father  Garin  became  the  first  Superior.  Father  Lagier  returned  to  Canada  after  the  opening  of  the  church, 
and  Father  Cosson  was  sent  here  to  take  his  place.  He  and  Father  Garin  took  up  their  residence  at  St.  John's 
Hospital,  where  Father  Cosson  acted  in  the  capacity  of  chaplain.  The  details  of  the  transfer  of  St.  John's 
Chapel,  which  had  previously  been  under  the  jurisdiction  of  Sister  Rose,  Superior  at  St.  John's  Hospital,  to 
the  Oblate  Fathers,  is  told  in  the  history  of  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception,  and  there  also  is  given 
the  story  of  the  establishment  and  growth  of  the  community  of  Oblates.  At  this  time  the  community  seemed 
to  be  more  closely  identified  with  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception,  because  the  parochial  residence 
remained  there  from  the  time  Father  Garin  purchased  the  house  adjoining  St.  John's  Chapel,  a  short  time 
after  the  chapel  itself  was  taken  over,  up  to  a  few  years  ago,  and  hence  it  seemed  more  appropriate  to  give  the 
story  of  the  order  in  connection  with  the  history  of  the   Immaculate  Conception   Church.     But  as  a  matter  of 



fact  for  several  years  after  the  establishment  of  the  Oblates  here  the  histories  of  the  two  churches  are  so  closely 
intertwined  that  it  is  difficult  to  make  a  distinct  and  complete  narrative  for  each  of  them. 

For  about  two  years  after  the  opening  of  St.  Joseph's  Church  the  time  passed  uneventfully,  as  far  as  any 
developments  in  the  church  are  concerned.  But  during  this  time  a  great  change  was  taking  place  in  what 
might  be  termed  the  French  colony.  Business  was  brisk,  more  especially  in  the  cotton  industry,  and  the  agents 
were  asking  for  operatives.  The  result  was  that  an  extensive  immigration  movement  from  Canada  to  the 
United  States  set  in,  and  the  French  colony  in  Lowell  was  largely  increased  in  a  very  short  time.  Soon  St. 
Joseph's  Church  became  too  small  for  the  congregation,  and  Father  Garin  began  to  take  steps  to  provide  a 
remedy.  He  built  a  gallery  around  the  church,  thus  largely  increasing  its  capacity.  This,  however,  was  only  a 
temporary  arrangement,  for  the  congregation  increased  so  rapidly  that  more  decisive  measures  became  neces- 
sary. He  accordingly  purchased  two  small  buildings  adjoining  the  church  for  $2,850,  pulled  them  down,  and 
built  an  addition  to  the  church.  The  church,  as  it  originally  stood,  measured  83  feet  long  by  47  feet  wide, 
but  with  the  addition  it  measured  83  feet  each  way.  About  1,200  people  could  now  be  accommodated,  and  it 
was  confidently  expected  that  it  would  suffice  for  all  needs  for  many  years.  Subsequent  events,  however, 
proved  otherwise,  for  within  four  years 
it  was  found  that  the  congregation  was 
outgrowing  the  church.  Another  en- 
largement was  necessary  and  Father 
Garin  purchased  four  more  lots  adjoin- 
ing the  church,  two  of  them  on  Lee 
Street  and  two  on  Kirk  Avenue.  One 
of  the  lots  cost  !f9,ooo,  and  the  whole 
four  cost  between  $17,000  and  $18,- 
000.  He  had  the  buildings  cleared 
away  and  he  built  another  addition  to 
the  church,  making  it  now  150  feet 
long  by  83  feet  wide.  This  is  the 
form  in  which  the  church  stands  at 
present,  and  with  its  galleries  it  has 
the  largest  seating  capacity  of  an\ 
church  in  the  city,  easily  accommodat- 
ing over  2,000  people.  About  the 
same  time  a  new  organ  was  purchased, 
while  the  old  one  was  removed  to  the 
new  parochial  school  built  on  Moody 

Street  some  time  previously.     The  new  organ  is  a  fine  instrument,  with  some  forty  or  more  stops,  and,  with 
the  exception  of  the  organ  in  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Conception,  is  perhaps  the  largest  in  the  city. 

This  practically  completes  the  history  of  St.  Joseph's  Church  as  far  as  any  additions  or  improvements  are 
concerned,  but  it  is  very  little  more  than  the  beginning  in  the  work  of  the  parish  as  a  whole.  About  the  year 
1882  Father  Garin  purchased  a  lot  of  land  on  upper  Moody  Street,  containing  about  15,000  square  feet,  with 
the  intention  of  erecting  a  parochial  school.  There  was  a  building  on  the  land  at  the  time,  and  this  was  after- 
wards remodeled  and  fitted  up  as  a  convent  for  the  sisters  whp  came  to  take  charge  of  the  school.  As  soon  as 
the  plans  could  be  completed  the  erection  of  the  school  building  was  begun,  and  on  November  12,  1883,  it  was 
opened  for  pupils.  The  building  is  a  large  one,  being  85  feet  long  by  70  feet  wide,  and  four  stories  high,  and 
it  provides  accommodation  for  about  1,300  children  in  all.  Each  of  the  three  lower  floors  is  divided  into 
four  large  class-rooms,  making  twelve  in  all.  The  fourth  floor  is  devoted  to  a  large  hall,  which  is  furnished 
with  a  stage  and  other  accessories,  and  is  valuable  for  entertainments  and  such  purposes. 

As  soon  as  the  school  was  ready  for  occupancv,  Father  Garin  placed  the  institution  in  charge  of  the  Gray 
Nuns  from  Ottawa,  nine  of  whom  were  here  at  the  opening  of  the  school.     They  were  Sister  Plante,  Sister 



Mary  of  the  Blessed  Sacrament,  Sister  Colombe  of  the  Precious  Blood,  Sister  Dosithee,  Sister  St.  Felix,  Sister 
St.  Clotilda,  Sister  St.  Peter,  Sister  St.  Andrew,  and  Sister  Ryan.  Sister  Plante  was  Superior.  At  the  opening 
of  the  school  there  were  about  Soo  children  waiting  for  admission,  and  two  secular  teachers  had  to  be  employed 
to  assist  the  sisters.  The  school  continued  to  grow  with  astonishing  rapidity  and  it  soon  began  to  get  crowded, 
notwithstanding  its  great  size.  To  relieve  it,  somewhat,  Father  Garin  purchased  the  house  at  the  corner  of 
Moody  and  Spalding  Streets  and  had  it  remodeled  and  fitted  up  as  a  school  for  the  very  little  children — those 
under  seven  years,  or  thereabouts.  This  place  took  quite  a  number  from  the  main  building,  and  it  relieved  its 
crowded  condition.  But  the  relief  was  only  temporary,  and  Father  Garin  saw  that  more  heroic  measures  were 
necessary  to  effect  a  permanent  cure.  Accordingly,  in  1891,  he  took  steps  to  erect  a  college  for  the  education 
of  the  boys  of  the  parish,  leaving  the  girls  in  exclusive  possession  of  the  old  school.  Taking  away  the  boys 
made  a  great  change  in  the  parochial  school  and  for  some  time  there  was  room  enough,  but  it  is  rapidly  getting 
crowded  up  again,  and  all  the  indications  are  that  Father  Garin  will,  ere  long,  be  compelled  to  provide  another 
enlargement  in  some  way  or  other.  Even  now  the  number  of  girls  in  the  school  is  over  1,300,  and  there  are 
in  all  nineteen  teachers — sixteen   religious  and  three  secular.     Of  these,  three  teachers — two  religious  and  one 

secular — are  employed  in  the  little 
kindergarten  department,  the  number 
of  little  pupils  there  being  about  200. 
Not  only  are  all  the  class-rooms  on  the 
three  floors  occupied,  but  two  more 
classes  are  taught  in  the  hall  on  the 
fourth  floor.  It  is  certainly  a  wonder- 
ful record  for  the  school,  and  it  is  a 
wonderful  record  for  the  parish  to 
have  such  a  number  of  children.  With 
the  1,100  boys  in  the  college  the 
whole  number  of  school  children  in 
the  parish  is  over  2,400.  Nor  does 
this  number,  large  as  it  is,  represent 
the  full  growth  of  the  parish ;  for  the 
present  year,  with  its  wide-spread  iinan- 
cial  depression  has  seriously  affected 
the  French  population,  compelling 
large  numbers  to  temporarily  migrate 
to  Canada.  For  instance,  the  number 
iMani;iM  ki.,iiu...>  1  M    i.siuiis  i_iii  klh,  Imukii.  ^j  puplls  curoUed  at  the  beginning  of 

the  year  in  the  girls'  school  was  1,822,  and  the  difference  between  this  and  the  present  attendance,  1,300,  is 
largely  due  to  the  number  of  families  who  have  temporarily  left  the  city.  The  present  Superior  is  Sister  Felix, 
and  she  is  the  fourth  in  succession  from  the  founder.  Sister  Plante  was  succeeded  by  Sister  Theresa,  and  next 
came  Sister  Roby,  who  was  succeeded  by  the  present  Superior. 

In  the  meantime  the  French  population  kept  rapidly  increasing,  and  this  increase  was  especially  noticeable 
in  that  section  of  the  city  lying  between  Merrimack  and  Suffolk  Streets  on  the  one  side,  and  the  Merrimack 
River  on  the  other.  In  fact,  this  section  came  to  be  peopled  almost  wholly  by  French  Canadians,  and  hence 
the  name,  "Little  Canada,"  by  which  it  is  generally  known.  The  great  increase  in  the  population  of  St. 
Joseph's  parish  made  the  church  wholly  inadequate  to  meet  the  needs  of  the  people  in  a  few  years,  and  Father 
Garin  was  confronted  with  the  necessity  of  providing  a  second  church.  In  choosing  a  site  for  the  new  church 
he  took  into  consideration  the  fact  that  the  greatest  increase  of  population  was  in  the  northwestern  portion  of 
the  parish,  and  reasoned,  therefore,  that  here  the  new  church  should  be  located,  more  especially  as  the  old 
church  was  in  the  opposite  portion  of  what  might  be  considered  the  parish  proper.  Father  Garin  accordingly 
began  to  look  for  a  suitable  site  along  the  line  of  upper  Merrimack  Street,  and  in  1889  he  opened  negotiations 



for  the  purchase  of  what  was  known  as  the  Shaw  house  and  lot  belonging  to  the  Suffolk  Corporation.  This 
property  cost  $25,000.  As  soon  as  the  arrangements  could  be  completed,  Father  Garin  had  plans  for  the 
new  church  designed  by  architect  Ford,  of  Boston,  and  soon  after  the  contracts  for  the  building  of  the  base- 
ment were  given  out.  The  new  church  was  named  after  St.  John  the  Baptist,  or,  as  the  French  called  it,  St. 
Jean  Baptiste. 

A  short  time  before   the    purchase   of   the   Shaw   estate,   Father   Garin   bought   another   large   piece    of 

property,  known  as  the  Bon- 
ney  estate,  immediately  adjoining 
the  Shaw  estate,  for  the  sum  of 
826,000.  This  lot  had  a  large 
brick  building  erected  upon  it, 
and  Father  Garin  intended  to  use 
it  for  a  parochial  residence. 
Since  the  first  establishment  of 
the  Oblates  in  Lowell,  the  house 
or  headquarters  of  the  commu- 
nity had  been  located  at  the  Im- 
maculate Conception  Church. 
Now,  however,  not  only  was  the 
parochial  residence  at  the  Im- 
maculate growing  much  too  small 
for  the  ever  increasing  number  of 
fathers,  but  it  would  be  very  in- 
convenient for  them  to  attend  the 
new  church  on  upper  Merrimack 
Street.  Father  Garin  accordingly 
had  the  Bonney  house  fitted  up 
and  thither  he  removed  with  all 
the  other  fathers  of  St.  Joseph's 
parish.  But  the  new  house,  large 
as  it  was,  soon  proved  insufficient 
for  the  needs  of  the  community, 
more  especially  after  the  opening 
of  the  new  church,  for  that 
necessitated  an  increase  in  the 
number  of  fathers  in  the  parish 
to  nearly  double  the  number  pre- 
viously required.  He,  therefore, 
perfected  plans  for  an  extensive 
series  of  alterations  and  improve- 
ments in  the  building,  which  were 
carried  out  at  a  cost  of  $18,000. 
The  house  is   106  feet  long,  ex- 

CHURCH    OF    ST.    JOHN    THE    B.-iPTIST,    LOWELL.  t„      j-  (  at        ■  i 

tending  from  Merrnnack  to 
Moody  Street.  It  has  a  width  of  42  feet,  is  three  stories  high,  and  is  excellently  arranged,  having  a  chapel, 
recreation  room,  library,  and  everything  necessary  in  a  religious  house.  It  is  fitted  up  to  provide  accommo- 
dations for  a  community  of  twelve  fathers. 

The  basement  of  the  new  church  of  St.  John  the  Baptist  was  finished  early  in  1890,  and  it  is  a  substantial 
structure,  as  might  be  expected  in  the  case  of  a  church  which,  when  finished,  will  be  one  of  the  finest  in  New 


England.  Its  size  is  170  feet  long  b}^  70  feet  wide.  The  walls  are  built  of  granite,  quarried  in  North  Chelms- 
ford, and  they  were  erected  by  Patrick  Corcoran,  of  Lowell.  A  wainscoting  of  red  ash  extends  around  the 
walls  to  the  height  of  four  feet.  There  are  thirteen  stained  glass  windows  on  each  side  of  the  church.  They 
are  of  fine  design  and  are  ornamented  at  the  top  and  bottom.  Two  rows  of  iron  columns  support  the  ceiling 
and  the  columns  which  will  support  the  roof  of  the  church  proper. 

The  altar  is  a  fine  specimen  of  its  kind,  and  is  placed  on  the  Moody  Street  side.  Its  dimensions  are  four- 
teen feet  long,  five  feet  wide,  and  about  eighteen  feet  high.  The  table,  which  is  ten  feet  long  and  three  feet 
wide,  is  supported  on  columns  of  Mexican  onyx,  and  underneath  it  are  three  panels.  On  the  left  panel  is  the 
Greek  letter  "Alpha,"  and  on  the  right  one  the  letter  "Omega,"  signifying  that  God  is  the  beginning  and  end- 
ing of  all  things.  On  the  central  panel  a  lamb  is  carved  in  relief.  Beneath  the  panel  is  carved  the  word 
"Sanctus."  At  the  wings  are  niches  intended  to  form  a  repository  for  relics.  Five  crosses,  representing 
the  five  wounds  of  Our  Lord,  are  cut  at  different  places  on  the  table.  The  tabernacle  is  elaborate  in  design 
and  very  beautiful.  The  door  is  gold-plated,  with  a  chalice  in  relief,  and  on  either  side  of  it  are  two  columns 
of  Mexican  onyx  on  whose  capitals  is  supported  the  floor  of  the  expository.  The  canopy,  which  is  two  feet 
high  and  sixteen  inches  wide,  terminates  in  a  pyramid,  and  surmounting  all  is  a  cross  which  reaches  nearly  to 
the  ceiling.  The  reredos  is  of  rare  Mexican  onyx,  and  is  beautifully  paneled  and  carved.  The  pedestals  over 
the  end  wings  are  designed  as  supports  for  adoring  angels.  The  altar  was  built  under  the  supervision  of  Mr. 
J.  E.  Mahony,  of  Providence. 

The  church  of  St.  John  the  Baptist  was  dedicated  on  Sunday,  February  2,  1890,  and  the  event  marked  a  new 
and  important  epoch  in  the  religious  history  of  the  French  Canadians  of  Lowell.  The  day  which  had  been 
awaited  with  such  expectation  brought  together  an  immense  concourse  of  French  Catholics.  At  10  o'clock  a 
procession  was  formed,  the  cross-bearer  and  acolytes  being  followed  by  Rev.  Fathers  Lagier,  Tortel,  Angler, 
Lavoie,  McGrath,  Garin,  Amyot,  and  Gerry.  The  ceremonies  of  blessing  the  church  were  conducted  by  Right 
Rev.  Bishop  Glut.  Afterwards  Pontifical  High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Bishop  Glut,  with  Rev.  Father 
McGrath  as  assistant  priest ;  Rev.  Father  Amyot,  deacon ;  Father  Gerry,  sub-deacon,  and  Father  Lavoie, 
master  of  ceremonies.  A  choir  of  seventy-five  voices  rendered  excellent  music.  The  sermon  was  preached 
by  Father  Angler,  O.  M.  I.,  Provincial  of  the  Province  of  Canada.  He  spoke  in  French,  and  in  the  course  of 
his  address  he  paid  a  high  tribute  to  the  work  of  Father  Garin. 

On  the  following  day,  February  3d,  the  new  altar  was  consecrated  by  Bishop  Glut,  assisted  by  Fathers 
Lavoie  and  Gerry.  After  the  conclusion  of  the  ceremonies  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Father  Lagier.  On  the 
evening  of  the  same  day  Bishop  Glut  was  tendered  a  reception,  in  Huntington  Hall,  by  the  congregation  of  St. 
Joseph's  parish.  Mr.  F.  J.  Bousquet,  on  behalf  of  the  congregation,  presented  an  address  to  Bishop  Glut,  and 
the  latter  made  a  brief  address  in  response.     He  also  gave  a  brief  description  of  his  diocese. 

About  the  time  the  basement  for  the  church  of  St.  John  the  Baptist  was  completed.  Father  Garin  purchased 
two  lots  on  Merrimack  Street,  almost  opposite  the  church,  with  the  intention  of  building  a  college  for  the  edu- 
cation of  the  youth  of  the  parish.  One  lot  was  purchased  from  Daniel  Gage,  for  $11,000,  and  the  other  from 
T.  P.  Hall,  for  ^9,000.  He  immediately  removed  the  building  on  the  Gage  lot  and  prepared  to  build  the  college, 
while  the  Hall  building  he  had  fitted  up  as  a  residence  for  the  brothers  who  were  to  teach  there.  The  plans 
were  soon  completed,  work  was  begun,  and  in  the  fall  of  1892  the  place  was  ready  to  be  opened. 

The  new  college  is  a  splendid  building.  The  lower  story  is  built  of  granite,  the  remaining  portion  being 
built  of  brick  with  granite  trimmings,  and  the  building  has  an  appearance  of  strength  and  solidity.  The  length 
is  about  100  feet,  the  width  about  80  feet,  and  it  is  four  stories  high.  On  the  ground  floor  is  a  recreation  hall, 
also  music  and  drawing-rooms  and  a  library.  On  the  first  floor  there  are  six  class-rooms,  three  on  each  side  of 
a  wide  corridor  running  through  the  length  of  the  building.  These  rooms  are  used  for  the  higher  classes. 
On  the  third  floor  there  are  six  class-rooms,  and  these  are  used  for  the  intermediate  classes.  On  the  upper  floor 
are  two  rooms  devoted  to  the  elementary  classes,  and  the  remainder  of  the  space  is  taken  up  by  a  hall  about 
80  feet  long  by  60  feet  wide.  It  has  a  large  stage,  well  equipped,  and  it  serves  as  an  excellent  place  for  enter- 
tainments given  by  the  pupils  as  well  as  by  the  societies  in  the  parish. 

The  college  was  opened  on  September  12,  1892,  but  the  building  was  not  fully  completed  for  the  opening 



day,  only  six  of  the  rooms  being  ready.  Fatiier  Garin  placed  the  college  in  charge  of  the  Marist  Brothers,  or, 
as  they  are  sometimes  called,  the  Little  Brothers  of  Mary.  This  order  was  founded  in  1817,  by  Rev.  Father 
Champagnat,  in  the  Diocese  of  Lyons,  France,  and  it  soon  spread  into  the  other  European  countries,  then 
crossed  the  seas,  and  to-day  it  has  establishments  all  over  the  world,  even  in  China  and  the  Fiji  Islands.  The 
order  has  been  established  in  England  for  over  half  a  century,  and  it  is  also  to  be  found  in  Wales,  Scotland, 
and  Ireland.  The  order  was  first  established  in  Canada,  in  1885,  at  Iberville,  and  it  soon  spread  throughout 
the  country.  The  first  establishment  in  the  United  States  was  made  in  Manchester,  N.  H.,  and  Lowell  came 
second.  Lawrence  came  third,  and  New  York  came  soon  after.  The  summary  of  the  order,  published  in  i886, 
gave  the  following  figures:  535  schools,  2,467  teaching  brothers,  81,208  pupils,  1,758  professed  brothers, 
830  obedient,  450  novices,  209  postulates,  628  juniors,  and  132  stable.  These  figures  have,  of  course,  been 
very  largely  increased  since  then. 

At  the  opening  of  the  school  there  were  eight  brothers,  namely :  Brother  Chryseuil,  Brother  Priscillianus, 
Brother  Paul  Mary,  Brother  Pierre  Vincent,  Brother  Joseph  Athenasius,  Brother  Patrice,  Brother  Jean  Honore, 
and  Brother  Primien.  Brother  Chryseuil  was  Superior,  and  is  at  the  present  time.  He  was  one  of  the  second 
contingent  of  brothers  who  arrived  in  this  country  from  France  in  1886,  the  first  contingent  having  arrived  in 
1885.  He  was  at  the  college  at 
Iberville  until  he  came  to  Lowell 
He  was  born  in  1855,  in  Belmont,  m 
the  Diocese  of  Lyons,  France. 

On  the  day  fi.xed  for  the  opening 
of  the  college,  the  brothers  found 
themselves  surrounded  by  about  500 
children,  all  boys,  of  course,  and  all 
happy  and  proud  at  the  prospect  of 
taking  possession  of  such  a  fine 
building.  Many  more  came  in  latei 
but  very  reluctantly  the  brothers  had 
to  refuse  them  admission  until  the 
other  rooms  could  be  completed.  In 
the  meantime,  the  work  of  finishing 
the  interior  was  pushed  along,  and 
the  remaining  rooms  were  thrown 
open  to  the  pupils.  In  the  month  of 
October,  Rev.  Brother  Emilian,  the 
special   delegate  from   the    Superior- 

,^  ,  .-  T  11  J        1  •"^''"-     JKSEI'HS     LllLLEGE     H  >K     JIUVS,     .Vt.    JOSEPHS     I^AKISH,     UnVEI.L. 

General,    came    to    Lowell,    and    he 

added  to  the  community  another  brother,  the  only  one  at  his  disposal  in  America.  He  also  sent  a  report  to 
the  Superior -General  regarding  the  work,  and  asked  him  to  send  four  more  brothers.  The  Superior- General 
complied  with  his  request,  and  on  March  15,  1893,  the  four  brothers  arrived  in  Lowell,  and  opened  their 
classes  on  March  20.  In  September  of  1893,  three  more  brothers  arrived,  making  sixteen  in  all  in  the  com- 
munity.    There  are  about  1,000  pupils,  divided  into  fourteen  classes. 

The  school  curriculum  comprises  the  whole  range  of  subjects  from  the  elementary  to  the  highest  grades. 
The  course  for  the  primary  classes  is  about  the  same  as  in  the  public  primary  schools,  while  for  the  intermediate 
grades  the  course  corresponds  with  that  taught  in  the  grammar  schools.  For  the  higher  classes  the  course  is, 
to  some  extent,  similar  to  that  in  the  high  school.  It  includes  the  higher  mathematics,  drawing,  chemistry, 
light  and  heat,  electricity,  commercial  law,  book-keeping,  etc.,  making  altogether  an  excellent  course  of  study. 
All  the  sciences  are  taught  in  English,  and  French  is  taught  simply  as  a  language.  Of  course  the  fact  that  the 
children  all  speak  French  makes  it  easier  for  them  to  learn  it  thoroughly,  so  that  it  is  principally  with  the  liter- 
ature that  they  are  concerned.     For  the  same  reason  they  find  it  a  little  harder  to  learn   English,  but,  on  the 


whole,  the  progress  they  make  is  astonishingly  rapid.  A  special  class  in  Greek  and  Latin  is  taught  after 
school  hours,  for  the  benefit  of  all  those  who  wish  to  study  these  languages.  The  French  College  is  certainly 
a  creditable  institution,  and  the  good  which  it  is  accomplishing  and  will  accomplish  can  scarcely  be  estimated. 

When  the  basement  of  the  new  church  of  St.  John  the  Baptist  was  finished,  in  1890,  work  was  temporarily 
suspended  to  give  time  to  raise  funds  to  complete  the  edifice.  The  roof  was  graveled  over  and  everything  was 
made  as  substantial  as  possible,  so  that  the  services  might  be  carried  on  in  the  basement  as  long  as  it  was 
found  necessary.  Last  year,  however,  Father  Garin  was  able  to  resume  work  on  the  superstructure  and  about 
twenty-six  feet  of  the  walls  was  built  all  around.  This  work  cost  about  $28,000,  and  with  the  cost  of  the  base- 
ment, $32,000,  the  total  amount  expended  on  the  building  up  to  the  beginning  of  1894  was  about  $60,000. 
During  the  summer  of  1894  the  walls  were  completed  and  the  building  roofed  in  at  an  expenditure  of  about 
$50,000  more,  so  that  to  complete  the  exterior  work  alone  required  about  $1 10,000.  For  the  interior  work 
Father  Garin  says,  with  that  sublime  faith  which  has  always  been  his,  "God  will  provide." 

The  latest  and  a  very  important  work  was  the  purchase  of  a  tract  of  land  to  be  used  as  a  cemetery,  chiefly 
by  the  French  Catholics.  The  only  Catholic  cemetery  in  the  city  has  been  that  belonging  to  St.  Patrick's 
parish,  and  within  the  last  few  years  this  place  has  become  crowded  to  such  an  extent  that  Rev.  Michael 
O'Brien  was  compelled  to  give  notice  that  no  additional  lots  could  be  secured  by  outsiders,  as  there  was  scarcely 
enough  room  for  his  own  people.  Father  Garin,  early  in  1894,  secured  for  $5,500  a  desirable  tract  of  land  in 
East  Chelmsford,  some  distance  beyond  the  present  Edson  Cemetery.  This  tract,  consisting  of  thirty-four 
acres,  belonged  to  what  was  known  as  the  McKennedy  estate.  The  town  of  Chelmsford  gave  permission  to 
open  the  place  as  a  cemetery,  and  steps  were  at  once  taken  to  put  the  place  in  proper  condition. 

The  foregoing  gives  a  general  idea  of  the  many  improvements  in  the  parish  during  the  past  twenty-five 
years,  but  a  few  words  additional  as  to  the  growth  of  the  French  community  may  be  of  interest.  When  St. 
Joseph's  Church  was  founded  the  French  population  numbered  little  more  than  1,000  souls,  but  to-day  it  must 
be  close  to  20,000.  And  the  increase  in  wealth  and  prosperity  has  been  fully  as  remarkable.  According  to 
recent  statistics  there  are  247  French  real  estate  owners,  representing  $840,935  worth  of  property.  There  are 
262  merchants  and  traders,  owning  $279,085  worth  of  stock.  Ward  five,  which  is  really  the  French  ward,  has 
8,310  French  residents,  308  voters,  89  real  estate  owners,  having  $347,630  worth  of  property,  and  105  mer- 
chants, owning  $71,910  worth  of  stock.     Certainly  the  future  of  the  French  church  and  parish  is  very  bright. 

Rev.  Andrew  M.  Garin  is  the  idol  of  the  French  population  of  Lowell,  and  well  does  he  deserve  the  feeling 
of  love  and  reverence  with  which  he  is  regarded.  He  saw  the  birth  of  the  French  parish,  and  his  life's  best 
efforts  have  since  been  devoted  to  its  development  and  advancement.  He  has  truly  been  the  father  of  his 
people.  For  over  a  quarter  of  a  century  he  has  joined  their  hands  in  wedlock,  poured  the  waters  of  baptism 
over  their  heads,  administered  to  them  the  sacraments,  partaken  of  all  their  joys  and  sorrows,  and  finally  laid 
them  away  to  rest. 

Father  Garin  was  born  in  1822,  in  St.  Andre,  France.  He  went  to  the  village  school  and  later  entered 
the  college  in  his  native  town.  Later  still  he  studied  philosophy  at  the  university  at  Grenoble,  and  while  there 
he  became  filled  with  a  burning  desire  to  carry  the  gospel  to  heathen  lands.  His  mother,  who  was  a  woman  of 
great  piety,  saw  with  joy  this  impulse  grow  upon  him,  and  it  was  with  an  earnest  mother's  blessing  that  she  saw 
him  depart,  on  All  Saints  Day,  1841,  to  enter  the  novitiate  of  the  Oblate  Order  at  Notre  Dame  L'Osier.  He 
remained  there  a  year,  and  on  November  i,  1842,  he  donned  the  religious  habit  of  the  order  and  took  upon 
himself  its  vows.  He  next  went  to  Marseilles  where  he  was  ordained  a  sub-deacon.  In  the  spring  of  1844  he 
was  ordained  a  deacon  and  at  once  sent  to  Canada.  He  remained  during  the  winter  at  the  house  of  the  order 
at  Longueil,  near  Montreal,  and  went  through  a  course  of  study  and  severe  preparation  for  the  work  before 
him.     On  April  28,  1845,  ^^  '^^^  consecrated  to  full  fellowship  in  the  Order  of  Oblates  by  Bishop  Bourget. 

He  was  at  once  ordered  oh  mission  duty  among  the  Algonquin  Indians,  on  Lake  Timiskaming,  and  the 
Iroquois  Indians,  on  Lake  Abittibi.  The  missions  had  been  established  some  twenty  years  previously  and  there 
were  chapels  in  both  places.  Every  spring  he  and  his  companions  went  into  the  wilderness  to  administer  the 
sacraments  and  preach  the  faith.  The  Indians  came  and  pitched  their  tents  close  to  the  chapel,  and  for  the 
time  the  mission  lasted  Mass  was  offered  every  morning,  and  simple  prayers  and  hymns  were  offered  up  by  the 



Indians.  When  the  weather  was  good  it  was  a  delightful  spectacle.  During  the  summer  many  missions  had 
been  visited  in  this  way,  and  in  September  the  two  fathers  were  ordered  to  report  at  Bay  de  Ha  Ha,  at  the  head 
of  the  Saugenay,  where  a  mission  had  been  established  the  year  previous.  During  the  winter,  Father  Garin, 
with  another  priest,  made  a  journey  on  snow-shoes  to  Lake  St.  John,  a  distance  of  fifty  miles.  In  the  spring  of 
1846  he  visited  all  the  Indians  on  the  Labrador  coast  as  far  north  as  Esquimaux  Bay,  part  of  the  journey  being 
made  in  the  fishing  schooners  of  the  Hudson  Bay  Company  and  part  in  canoes.  He  was  accompanied  by 
Father  Durocher  on  this  trip,  and  in  the  fall  they  returned  to  Montreal,  whence  they  were  sent  to  spend  the 
winter  at  Point  Des  Montes,  on  the  St.  Lawrence,  about  two  hundred  miles  below  Quebec.     While  here  they 

REV.    A.    M.    GARIN,    O.    M.    I.,  ST.    JOSEPH'S    CHURCH,    LOWELL. 

busied  themselves  in  learning  the  language  of  the  Indians  and  translating  books  into  the  syllabic  characters 
which  had  some  time  previously  been  invented  by  a  missionary  on  the  Red  River.  In  this  way  Father  Garin 
translated  many  books,  and  some  of  them  are  now  preserved  in  the  Smithsonian  Institute.  By  this  method 
every  Indian  who  knew  his  letters  could  read. 

On  the  17th  of  March,  1847,  the  two  fathers  with  two  Indians  in  one  canoe,  and  an  Indian  and  his  wife 
in  another  canoe  set  out  for  Quebec.  The  season  was  inclement  and  the  river  was  filled  with  floating  ice.  On 
the  second  day  the  whole  party  had  a  narrow  escape  from  death.  The  river  is  many  miles  wide  at  this  point 
and  full  of  currents  and  eddies.     They  got  near  the  middle  of  the  stream  late  in  the  afternoon  and  when  night 


came  on  the  frail  canoes  were  at  the  mercy  of  the  waters,  with  large  ice  fields  threatening  to  crush  them  every 
moment.  The  danger  became  so  great  that  it  was  decided  to  throw  their  baggage  and  provisions  overboard, 
nothing  being  retained  but  the  chalice.  After  drifting  about  for  some  hours  a  bank  of  ice  was  encountered, 
and  it  was  found  to  be  a  solid  field  of  ice.  All  landed  on  the  great  floe,  and  the  canoes  were  pulled  in  upon  it. 
All  were  so  tired  that  they  lay  down  to  rest  as  best  they  could.  The  fathers  rested  on  a  sealskin,  and  the 
Indians  under  the  overturned  canoes.  It  was  impossible  to  sleep,  for  they  were  drifting  whither  they  knew  not, 
with  the  roar  of  rushing  waters  and  crunching  ice  around  them,  and  there  was  no  telling  when  the  floe  would 
break  up.  It  was  ten  o'clock  when  they  lay  down,  and  about  one  o'clock  the  Indians  came  to  the  fathers  and  in 
terror-stricken  tones  exclaimed:  "Oh,  fathers,  the  wind,  the  wind  is  coming  and  we  are  lost."  In  the  distance 
the  voice  of  the  hurricane  could  be  heard,  and  soon  it  was  upon  them.  The  waters  broke  over  the  floe  and 
even  the  Indians,  though  up  to  then  so  full  of  courage,  broke  down  and  wept.  Father  Durocher  endeavored 
to  calm  them,  saying:  "  My  good  friends,  God  can  always  save.  Let  us  pray  to  him  and  ask  for  the  intercession 
of  good  St.  Anne,  the  patron  of  voyagers."  In  the  darkness,  on  the  wet,  slippery,  unstable  ice  field,  the  little 
band  knelt  down  in  prayer.  The  fathers  asked  St.  Anne  to  plead  for  them.  They  vowed  to  make  a  pilgrimage 
in  her  honor  to  her  shrine.  Father  Durocher  promised  to  compose  a  hymn  in  her  honor,  and  the  poor  Indians 
made  their  promises  too.  As  if  by  magic  the  wind  subsided,  through  the  mercy  of  God,  and  the  little  band 
rested  in  security  till  morning.  When  the  light  came  they  saw  the  land  a  few  miles  distant,  but  before  they 
could  land  the  wind  again  gained  in  strength.  They  again  entered  their  canoes,  and  as  if  to  show  how  miracu- 
lous had  been  their  escape  they  had  scarcely  left  it  when  the  floe  was  broken  into  pieces.  The  waters  now 
became  a  raging  torrent,  and  wave  after  wave  broke  over  the  canoes.  They,  had  to  bale  out  the  water  with 
their  fur  caps,  but  finally,  about  noon,  they  reached  the  shore,  tired,  hungry,  and  almost  frozen.  They  were 
far  from  any  settlement,  and  they  were  without  food  or  the  means  of  making  a  fire.  Fortunately  they  had 
saved  their  snow-shoes,  and  after  resting  during  the  night  in  a  cavity  they  had  burrowed  in  the  snow,  they  set 
out  next  morning  for  the  nearest  port  of  the  Hudson  Bay  Company,  about  nine  miles  distant.  They  reached 
there  in  safety  and  they  were  kindly  cared  for.  They  had  eaten  no  food  for  forty-eight  hours,  besides  having 
undergone  such  severe  mental  and  physical  distress.  After  resting  a  few  days  the  two  fathers  sailed  in  one  of 
the  Company's  barges  for  Quebec,  and  the  Indians  returned  home. 

A  few  weeks  later  Father  Garin  was  ordered  to  Moose  Factory,  Hudson  Bay,  and  to  reach  there  he  had  to 
go  by  way  of  Timiskaming  and  Abittibi  Lakes.  During  the  winter  of  1847-48  he  was  at  Bay  de  Ha  Ha,  and 
during  the  two  summers  succeeding  he  ministered  to  the  Indians  of  Lake  St.  John.  In  1850  he  made  several 
other  tours,  and  in  185 1  he  spent  the  time  at  Montreal,  where  he  superintended  the  building  of  St.  Peter's 
Church.  In  1851  his  former  companion,  Father  Laverlochere,  was  stricken  with  paralysis  and  Father  Garin 
was  transferred  to  his  mission,  which  covered  hundreds  of  miles  of  the  wildest  section  of  country  in  that  region. 
He  remained  in  charge  of  this  mission  till  1856,  when  he  went  back  to  France  with  Bishop  Tache.  There  they 
were  engaged  by  the  Society  for  the  Propagation  of  the  Faith  to  preach  on  the  Indian  missions.  In  1857  he 
returned  to  Canada  and  went  back  to  his  mission  on  Hudson  Bay,  but  in  the  following  year  he  was  sent  to 
Plattsburg,  N.  Y.  Here  he  remained  five  years,  during  which  time  he  improved  the  church,  built  schools,  and 
and  greatly  advanced  the  work  of  the  parish.  From  Plattsburg  he  went  to  Buffalo,  where  he  remained  three 
years,  and,  in  1868,  he  came  to  Lowell. 

Of  Father  Garin's  history  in  Lowell,  it  is  not  necessary  to  speak  in  detail  here,  for  the  story  has  been 
already  told  in  the  history  of  St.  Joseph's  parish. 

An  important  event  in  his  history  was  the  grand  celebration  in  honor  of  the  fiftieth  anniversary  of  his 
ordination,  held  here  on  Sunday,  November  6,  1892.  Weeks  had  been  devoted  to  preparations  by  his 
parishioners,  and  when  the  day  arrived  the  whole  parish  was  en  fete.  In  the  morning  solemn  High  Mass  was 
offered  up  at  St.  Joseph's,  Very  Rev.  Father  McGrath  being  celebrant;  Father  Joddin,  of  Montreal,  deacon; 
Father  Dacey,  sub-deacon;  and  Father  Forget,  master  of  ceremonies.  An  eloquent  sermon  on  the  life  of 
Father  Garin  was  delivered  by  Rev.  Father  Lacomte,  of  Montreal,  and  some  phases  of  it  were  so  touching  that 
many  of  his  auditors  were  moved  to  tears.  After  the  Mass  Father  Garin  advanced  to  the  altar  and  renewed 
the  vows  he  had  made  fifty  years  before.     Later,  the   French  societies  formed  a  procession   on  the   North 


Common  and  marched  to  St.  Joseph's  Church,  where  they  took  the  places  assigned  to  them.  The  attendance 
was  so  large  that  hundreds  could  not  gain  admission.  The  clergymen  present  included  Rev.  Father  McGrath, 
Provincial  of  the  United  States;  Very  Rev.  Father  Lefebre,  Provincial  of  Canada:  Rev.  Father  McGuckin, 
Rector  of  the  Catholic  University  of  Ottawa;  Rev.  Father  Sugden,  Superior  of  the  Oblate  house  at  Montreal; 
Rev.  Father  Burtin,  delegate  from  the  house  at  Quebec;  Rev.  Father  Paillier,  from  the  University  of  Ottawa; 
Father  Lavoie,  Superior  of  the  house  at  Buffalo ;  Father  Fournier,  Superior  at  Plattsburg,  besides  all  the  local 
fathers  of  the  order. 

When  all  had  taken  their  places,  Mr.  J.  W.  Alexander,  representing  St.  Jean  Baptiste  Society,  presented 
an  address  beautifully  engrossed  on  parchment,  and  Mr.  T.  A.  Bertrand,  on  behalf  of  the  society,  presented 
him  a  check  for  a  substantial  sum.  The  same  ceremony  was  gone  through  by  J.  S.  Lapierre,  on  behalf  of  St. 
Joseph's  Society,  by  Mrs.  W.  A.  Caisse  for  St.  Anne's  Society,  by  Victor  Choquette  for  the  Angel  Guardian 
Society,  by  Miss  Molleux  for  the  Society  of  Notre  Dame  de  Lourdes,  by  Miss  Paquet  for  Les  Enfants  de 
Marie,  by  Mrs.  W.  A.  Caisse  for  Le  Tiers  Ordre,  by  R.  L.  Loupret  for  St.  Andrew's  Society,  by  George  Gagnon 
for  the  Association  Catholique,  by  E.  Pelletier  for  the  Temperance  Society,  and  by  J.  Hamilton  for  the  Societe 
du  Regne  Jesus.  When  all  had  made  their  presentations.  Father  Garin  responded  in  an  address.  Vespers 
were  then  celebrated  by  Rev.  Father  Fournier,  with  Father  Marion  as  deacon,  and  Father  Dacey  as  sub-deacon. 

In  the  evening  there  was  a  reception  in  Huntington  Hall,  which  was  crowded.  There  was  a  short  drama 
to  begin  with,  and  then  Mr.  Bourbonniere  read  a  congratulatory  address  on  behalf  of  the  French  people  of 
Lowell.  Colonel  Carmichael,  representing  the  governor,  tendered  his  congratulations,  and  then  Father  Garin 
came  forward  to  respond.  After  the  speeches  there  was  a  musical  programme,  and  the  exercises  closed  with 
fifty  strokes  on  the  decorated  bell  which  was  suspended  from  the  ceiling. 

7\.nother  happy  event  in  his  life  was  when  he  returned  from  his  trip  last  year  to  Europe,  whither  he 
went  with  many  other  members  of  the  order  to  take  part  in  the  election  of  a  Superior- General.  During  his 
absence  elaborate  arrangements  were  made  for  a  great  demonstration  in  his  honor,  and  all  the  details  were 
kept  from  him  until  his  return.  A  committee  was  sent  to  meet  him  in  New  York  with  instructions  to  utilize 
the  time,  under  some  pretext  or  another,  so  that  he  could  not  arrive  in  Lowell  until  about  seven  o'clock  on  the 
evening  appointed  for  the  demonstration.  When  Father  Garin  arrived  at  the  Northern  depot  he  was  astounded 
to  see  an  immense  concourse  of  people  before  him  with  thousands  of  torches  lighting  the  street  as  far  as  he 
could  see,  and  with  the  glare  of  red  fire  everywhere.  He  was  conducted  to  a  carriage,  and  the  great  procession 
escorted  him  to  his  residence  on  upper  Merrimack  Street. 

These  are  only  a  few  of  the  many  instances  of  the  same  kind  which  might  be  cited,  all  showing  unbounded 
love  and  reverence  for  the  venerable  pastor  by  his  people.  His  feast  day  is  religiously  observed  every  year, 
and  all  sorts  of  entertainments  in  his  honor  are  frequently  given.  He  is  still  hale  and  vigorous,  and  he  takes 
a  keen  interest  in  all  the  affairs  of  the  parish. 


St.  /Ifticbaers  Iparisb,  Centvalville,  XowelL 

HE  parish  of  St.  Michael  was  created  in  1883,  and  the  movement  which  led  to  it  might 
be  said  to  be,  to  some  extent,  caused  by  the  division  of  the  city  into  parishes,  which 
Archbishop  Williams  determined  on.     Up  to  that  time  there  were  no  lines  of  demarca- 
tion between  the  territories  subject  to  the  various  churches,  and  Catholics  in  all  parts 
of  the  city  were  at  liberty  to  go  to  whatever  church  they  found  most  convenient.    While 
this  arrangement  might  be  convenient  in  some  cases,  it  was  decidedly  inconvenient  in 
others,  especially  in  the  matter  of  sick  calls,  and  in  the  matter  of  revenue,  too,  there 
vas  likely  to  be  some  friction  between  adjoining  parishes.     These  and  other  considerations 
led  the  Archbishop  to  divide  up  the  parishes  and  definitely  define  the  boundaries,  and  in 
April  of  1884  his  instructions  to  this  effect  were  read  in  the  churches. 

On  Sunday,  November  ig,  1883,  Rev.  Michael  O'Brien,  pastor  of  St.  Patrick's,  announced 
at  the  High  Mass  that  he  had  received  a  letter  from  Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  Vicar-General 
and  administrator  of  the  diocese,  to  the  effect  that  Archbishop  Williams,  previous  to  his  departure  for  Rome  a 
short  time  previously,  had  committed  to  the  care  of  the  Vicar- General  the  building  of  a  new  church  in  Cen- 
tralville,  and  giving  exclusive  jurisdiction  to  Rev.  Michael  O'Brien.  Father  Michael  further  explained  that  it 
had  been  determined  to  set  Centralville  apart  as  a  distinct  parish,  and  that  the  matter  of  exclusive  jurisdiction 
meant  that  henceforth,  until  more  definite  and  permanent  arrangements  could  be  made,  all  sick  calls,  funerals, 
baptisms,  marriages,  and  other  parochial  duties  would  devolve  upon  the  priests  at  St.  Patrick's  parish,  and  that 
the  people  of  Centralville  must  have  recourse  to  the  clergy  of  St.  Patrick's  for  all  such  services  until  the  new 
church  was  ready.  Father  O'Brien  further  added  that  it  was  not  at  his  desire  that  this  new  duty  had  been 
imposed  upon  him,  as  already  his  labors  had  been  manifold  and  arduous.  He  had,  however,  yielded  to  the 
earnest  solicitation  of  the  Archbishop,  but  as  soon  as  the  new  church  was  completed  his  jurisdiction  would 
cease.  Father  O'Brien  at  once  began  to  look  for  a  suitable  site  for  the  new  church,  and  at  the  same  time  he 
began  to  prepare  plans  for  a  structure  intended  to  have  a  seating  capacity  of  from  1,200  to  1,500  people.  The 
new  parish  included  the  whole  district  on  the  further  side  of  the  Merrimack  River,  known  as  Centralville,  and 
though  the  Catholic  population  was  comparatively  small  at  that  time,  it  was  expected  that  in  such  a  large 
section  it  would  soon  increase  in  sufficient  proportions  to  support  a  church. 

Negotiations  were  soon  entered  into  for  the  purchase  of  a  lot  of  land  on  Jewett  Street,  but  before  they 
were  completed,  the  attorney  employed  to  examine  the  papers  discovered  what  he  considered  a  flaw  in  the 
title,  and  the  negotiations  were  abandoned.  Fortunately,  a  very  desirable  lot  of  land  was  secured  on  Sixth 
Street,  which  seemed  to  offer  excellent  advantages  for  a  church  site.  It  was  a  rectangular  lot,  running  all  the 
way  from  Sixth  to  Seventh  Streets,  with  a  frontage  of  90  feet  on  each  street,  and  a  depth  of  180  feet  between 
them.  No  time  was  lost  in  beginning  operations,  and  bids  for  the  foundation  work  were  at  once  called  for. 
On  Decemcer  9,  1883,  the  contracts  were  awarded,  and  on  the  following  day  the  ground  was  broken  by  Rev. 
William  O'Brien,  of  St.  Patrick's,  who  was  named  the  pastor  of  the  new  church.  The  contract  for  the  mason 
work  was  awarded  to  John  F.  Murphy,  and  that  for  the  wood-work  to  W.  H.  Wiggin.     The  work  was  pushed 



on  rapidly,  and  early  in  the  spring  of  1884  the  corner-stone  was  ready  to  be  laid.  But  in  the  meantime,  while 
awaiting  the  completion  of  the  church,  temporary  arrangements  had  been  made  by  the  priests  at  St.  Patrick's  to 
provide  for  the  needs  of  the  people  of  the  new  parish.  It  was  too  far  to  go  to  St.  Patrick's  to  attend  services, 
therefore  arrangements  were  made  for  holding  services  nearer  home.  For  this  purpose  the  engine  room  on 
Fourth  Street  was  fitted  up  and  converted  into  a  Catholic  chapel  for  the  time  being,  and  here  the  first  Mass 
was  offered  up  on  January  i,  1884.  The  priests  from 
St.  Patrick's  also  attended  there  on  Saturday  afternoon 
and  evening  to  hear  confessions,  and  as  far  as  practi- 
cable everything  was  done  to  provide  for  the  spiritual 
needs  of  the  Centralville  people.  These  services 
were  carried  on  in  the  engine  room  from  the  beginning 
of  the  year  until  the  following  June,  when  the  base- 
ment was  dedicated  and  opened  for  divine  worship. 

The  corner-stone  was  laid  on  Sunday,  April  27, 
1884,  in  the  presence  of  a  large  concourse  of  people. 
The  ceremonies  were  conducted  by  Archbishop 
Williams,  assisted  by  a  large  number  of  clergymen, 
both  local  and  visiting.  The  members  of  the  Immacu- 
late Conception  Temperance  Society,  with  the  Lowell 
Cornet  Band,  marched  to  Wyman's  Exchange,  where 
the  Mathew  Temperance  Institute  was  taken  under 
escort.  The  two  societies  proceeded  to  the  hall  of  the 
Irish  Benevolent  Society,  where  that  body  joined  the 
procession,  which  then  marched  to  St.  Patrick's 
Church,  the  line  being  joined  by  St.  Patrick's  Temper- 
ance Society,  the  Holy  Name  Society,  Sacred  Heart 
and  Immaculate  Conception  Sodalities,  and  Father 
Mathew  Cadets.  The  procession  had  attained  fine 
proportions  and  it  moved  to  the  site  of  the  new  church. 
The  marshal  of  the  day  was  Michael  Corbett,  Esq. 
The  Archbishop,  with  the  attending  clergymen,  rode 
in  carriages  in  the  procession.  Among  the  attending 
clergymen  were  Rev.  Michael  O'Brien,  Rev.  William 
O'Brien,  Rev.  John  J.  Shaw,  and  Rev.  James  W. 
Hickey,  of  St.  Patrick's;  Rev.  Father  Ronan,  of  St. 
Peter's ;  Rev.  Father  Tortel,  of  the  Immaculate  Con- 
ception Church;  Very  Rev.  Jeremiah  O'Connor,  S.  J.,  of 
Boston  College ;  Rev.  James  McGlew,  of  Chelsea ; 
Rev.  A.  J.  Teeling,  of  Newburyport ;  Rev.  Martin 
O'Brien,  of  Salem ;  Rev.  M.  T.  McManus,  of  South 
Lawrence ;  Rev.  M.  J.  McCall,  of  Concord ;  Rev.  D. 
J.  Gleason,  of  Cambridge. 

The  ceremonies  were  opened  with  the  chantins:  of 

'^  °  St.   Michaels   Chi-kch,   Centkalville,    Lowell. 

the  "Veni  Creator"  by  the  priests,  and  then  followed 

the  sermon  by  Rev.  Father  O'Connor,  S.  J.,  of  Boston  College,  on  the  theme,  "Who  is  like  to  God."  In  the 
course  of  his  discourse  the  speaker  paid  a  glowing  tribute  to  the  great  and  self-sacrificing  labors  of  Rev. 
Michael  O'Brien,  pastor  of  St.  Patrick's,  of  which  church  St.  Michael's  was  a  branch.  At  the  close  of  the 
sermon  a  collection  was  taken  up  for  the  church  and  a  generous  sum  was  realized.  The  ceremony  of  laying 
the  corner-stone  followed,  the  stone  being  laid  at  the  southeast  angle  of  the  building.     The  Archbishop  was 


attended  by  Fathers  Toitel  and  McGlew,  with  Rev.  Martin  O'Brien  as  cross-bearer,  and  Father  Shaw  as  master 
of  ceremonies.  In  the  corner-stone  was  placed  a  box  containing  copies  of  the  Lowell  papers,  of  many  of  the 
Catholic  papers  and  periodicals,  and  several  coins.  On  the  box  was  an  inscription,  in  Latin,  of  which  the 
following  is  a  translation:  "For  the  greater  glory  of  God.  Leo  XIII,  Chief  Pontiff.  Chester  A.  Arthur, 
President  of  the  American  Republic.  George  D.  Robinson,  Governor  of  Massachusetts.  John  J.  Donovan, 
Mayor  of  Lowell.  Michael  O'Brien,  the  first  pastor.  A  learned  and  eloquent  oration  being  delivered  by  Rev. 
Jeremiah  O'Connor,  President  of  Boston  College,  the  most  reverend  and  illustrious  Archbishop  of  Boston,  on 
the  27th  of  April,  1884,  laid  this  corner-stone,  in  the  presence  of  an  immense  concourse  of  people,  under  the 
invocation  of  St.  Michael,  St.  Mary,  and  St.  Joseph." 

The  work  on  the  basement  was  prosecuted  with  vigor,  and  in  June,  1884,  it  was  ready  for  divine  worship. 
On  Sunday,  June  22,  it  was  blessed  by  Archbishop  Williams,  and  dedicated  to  the  service  of  God.  At  the 
morning  service  a  procession  of  clergymen  was  formed  and  marched  around  the  church.  The  dedicatory 
services  having  been  concluded,  solemn  High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Rev.  Father  Blenkinsop,  of  South 
Boston ;  Father  Egan,  of  Lawrence,  deacon ;  Father  William  O'Brien,  sub-deacon,  and  Father  Gilday,  of 
Natick,  master  of  ceremonies.  The  sermon  was  preached  by  Rev.  Father  Bodfish,  chancellor  of  the  diocese. 
Ahiong  the  other  clergymen  present  were  ;  Father  McManus,  of  Lawrence;  Father  McGlew,  of  Chelsea;  Father 
Teeling,  of  Newburyport;  Father  Morris,  of  Brookline;  Father  Daly,  of  Winchester ;  Father  McNulty,  of  South 
Boston,  together  with  several  of  the  local  clergymen.  In  the  evening  at  the  vesper  service  an  interesting 
sermon  was  preached  by  Father  Teeling,  of  Newburyport. 

On  the  following  day  the  altar  was  consecrated  by  Archbishop  Williams,  assisted  by  Father  McGlew,  of 
Chelsea :  Father  Gleason,  of  Cambridge  ;  Father  McCall,  of  Concord,  and  Fathers  William  and  Willia:m  M. 
O'Brien,  and  J.  J.  Shaw,  of  St.  Patrick's  Church.  After  the  ceremonies  of  consecration  Mass  was  celebrated 
by  the  new  pastor.  Rev.  William  O'Brien.  The  new  altar  is  a  fine  work  of  art,  and  is  composed  wholly  of 
Italian,  American,  and  onyx  marbles,  so  blended  as  to  give  the  whole  work  an  artistic  appearance.  The  door 
of  the  tabernacle  is  of  burnished  brass,  having  a  chalice  in  relief,  and  directly  above  it  is  the  exposition  niche, 
cut  almost  wholly  from  the  solid  marb'e.  The  whole  work  is  surmounted  by  a  marble  cross.  This  altar  was 
the  gift  of  the  late  Mr.  Timothy  O'Brien.  On  either  side  of  the  main  altar  is  a  smaller  altar,  built  of  cherry 
and  handsomely  finished.  One  of  these  is  dedicated  to  the  Blessed  Virgin,  and  the  other  to  the  Sacred  Heart. 
On  the  left  of  the  altar  is  a  spacious  apartment,  neatly  furnished,  and  used  as  a  repository  for  vestments  and 
things  needed  about  the  altar. 

The  basement  is  handsomely  finished,  and  it  makes  an  excellent  temporary  church.  The  building  is  135 
feet  long,  by  70  feet  wide,  and  the  style  of  architecture  is  to  be  of  the  Romanesque  order.  The  walls  are  built 
of  pressed  brick,  with  trimmings  of  granite.  The  architect's  estimate  of  the  cost  of  the  completed  church  is 
$100,000.  The  basement  at  present  has  a  seating  capacity  of  about  1,200.  The  pews  are  of  ash,  with  a  hard 
finish,  and  were  built  by  Hon.  John  Welch,  who  also  built  the  two  wooden  altars.  Plenty  of  light  is  provided 
by  several  windows  on  the  sides,  and  artificial  light  is  provided  by  a  number  of  gas  jets.  A  large  pipe  organ 
occupies  an  enclosed  space  at  the  rear  of  the  church,  both  the  organ  and  the  space  reserved  for  the  choir  being 
enclosed  by  a  handsome  railing.  The  church,  when  completed,  will  have  235  pews,  and  will  provide  accom- 
modation for  about  1,500  people.  The  pews  and  most  of  the  wood-work  will  be  finished  in  ash.  On  the  front 
side  facing  Sixth  Street,  a  tower  will  rise  to  the  height  of  170  feet.  It  will  be  on  the  southeastern  corner,  and 
is  intended  to  have  a  chime  of  bells  at  some  future  time. 

The  more  pressing  needs  of  the  people  having  been  attended  to.  Father  William  O'Brien  began  to  devote 
himself  to  other  works  with  that  indefatigable  energy  which  has  always  distinguished  him.  His  first  work  was 
the  purchase  of  a  lot  of  land  on  Seventh  Street,  immediately  adjoining  the  church  lot  on  the  right.  This 
•contained  about  4,000  square  feet  of  land,  and  cost  about  $3,000.  On  this  lot  was  a  small  cottage  house, 
which  Father  William  had  immediately  altered  and  repaired  and  converted  into  a  parochial  residence.  Two 
years  after,  in  1886,  he  bought  a  lot  of  land  on  Sixth  Street,  immediately  adjoining  the  church  lot  on  the  right. 
This  lot,  with  the  building,  cost  $5,500,  and  Father  William  has  since  expended  an  equal  amount  in  improving 
it.     He  left  the  cottage  on  the  Seventh  Street  lot  and  took  up  his  residence  in  the  larger  building  on  the  Sixth 



Street  lot.  In  i8gi  he  added  another  story  to  this  building,  and  otherwise  remodeled  and  improved  it,  so  that 
to-day  it  makes  an  elegant  parochial  residence.  It  is  now  three  stories  high,  and  is  large,  commodious,  and 
conveniently  arranged.  In  1887  he  bought  a  lot  of  land  on  Sixth  Street,  on  the  left  of  the  church  lot  and 
immediately  adjoining  it.  It  contained  about  6,200  feet,  and  cost  $5,100.  There  was  a  two-story  cottage  on 
this  lot,  and  he  had  it  removed  to  make  room  for  the  new  parochial  school  which  he  proposed  to  erect  there. 
The  cottage  he  removed  to  the  Seventh  Street  lot,  and  afterwards  it  was  enlarged  and  remodeled  to  serve  as  a 
convent  and  residence  for  the  Sisters  of  St.  Dominic,  who  were  to  take  charge  of  the  school.  The  cottage 
which  stood  on  the  Seventh  Street  lot  was  removed  to  anotlier  lot  and  rented.  The  plans  for  the  new  structure 
were  completed  as  soon  as  possible,  and  in  the  summer  of  1889  the  school  was  ready  to  be  opened.  It  is  a 
wooden  building,  built  in  the  Colonial  style,  and  it  presents  a  neat  and  substantial  appearance.  It  is  three 
stories  high,  and  stands  on  a  brick  basement.  The  roof  and  sides  are  covered  with  shingles  dipped  in 
creosote.  The  dimensions  are  sixty  feet  wide  by  sixty-four  feet  long.  The  first  floor  is  divided  into  three 
rooms,  which  are  used  for  the  primary  classes,  each  room  having  two  grades.  The  second  floor  is  divided  in  a 
similar  manner,  the  rooms  here  being  used  for  the  advanced  classes.  On  the  remaining  floor  is  a  large  hall, 
tastefully  furnished,  and  used  for  exhibitions  and  other  purposes  of  a  similar  character. 


The  school  is  in  charge  of  the  "white-robed"  Sisters  of  St.  Dominic,  a  well-known  teaching  order,  whose 
mother  house  is  in  Louisville,  Ky.  St.  Michael's  was  the  second  parish  in  New  England  to  introduce  them, 
their  first  establishment  being  in  Watertown.  The  sisters  left  Kentucky  for  Lowell  on  August  23,  1889,  and 
arrived  August  31.  They  were  Sister  Mary  Raymond,  Sister  Alexia,  Sister  Sybllina,  and  Sister  Clara.  Sister 
Mary  Raymond  was  Superior.  The  school  was  opened  on  September  8,  1889,  and  for  the  first  year  only  girls 
were  taught.  The  attendance  at  this  time  was  about  300.  At  the  beinning  of  the  following  school  year  the 
school  was  opened  for  boys,  and  two  additional  teachers,  Sister  Mary  Reginald  and  Sister  Camilla,  were  added 
to  the  community.  Sister  Mary  Raymond  continued  as  Superior  for  the  first  three  years,  and  then  Sister  Mary 
Joseph  succeeded  her.  Sister  Mary  Joseph  filled  the  position  for  one  year,  and  was  succeeded  by  Sister  • 
Alexia,  the  present  Superior.  Sister  Alexia  was  one  of  the  first  four  sisters  who  came  to  the  house,  and  she 
has  remained  ever  since.  Two  other  sisters  of  the  original  four  are  at  present  in  the  house.  They  are  Sister 
Mary  Raymond  and  Sister  Clara.  There  are  seven  sisters  in  the  community  at  present,  the  other  four  being 
Sister  Frances,   Sister' Gertrude,   Sister  Mary  Agnes,  and  Sister  Mary  Sienna.      Sister   Sybllina   after  the  first 



year  became  ill,  and  she  returned  to  the  mother  house  at  Kentucky,  where  she  died  soon  after.  There  has 
been  only  one  other  death  in  the  community,  that  of  Sister  Angelica,  who  became  ill  during  the  second  year, 
and  went  home  to  Kentucky  to  die. 

The  success  of  the  school  has  fully  equalled  the  expectations  of  its  most  ardent  friends  and  promoters, 
and  this  success  is  all  the  more  gratifying  on  account  of  the  many  difficulties  which  the  good  sisters  had  to 
encounter  at  the  beginning.     The  present  attendance  is  about  500. 

About  the  time  St.  Michael's  was  opened,  another  very  important  work  had  been  carried  to  completion  by 
the  zealous  pastor.  When  Centralville  was  formed  into  a  parish,  the  district  known  as  Collinsville  was  added 
to  it,  but  as  it  is  some  three  miles  or  more  from  St.  Michael's  Church  it  was  found  necessary  to  provide  in 
some  way  for  the  Catholics  living  there.  Mr.  Michael  Collins  generously  provided  for  the  erection  of  a  church 
in  this  outlying  district  for  the  benefit  of  the  residents  there  who  were  almost  all  operatives  in  his  mills,  and  on 
August  24,  1884,  it  was  dedicated.  It  is  known  as  St.  Mary's  Church,  and  it  stands  on  the  Lakeview  Road,  a 
short  distance  from  the  Collins  Mills.  The  external  dimensions  are  55  feet  in  length  by  24  in  width,  and  the 
height  is  25  feet.      It  has  two  gable  roofs  and  is  lighted  by  three  large  windows  on  either  side.     On  the  front 


side  are  two  windows  of  the  Swiss  style,  and  high  above  the  roof  rises  a  tower  surmounted  by  a  cross.  The 
altar  is  of  wood,  painted  white,  with  gold  trimmings.  On  the  right  of  the  altar  is  a  small  sacristy  containing 
the  vestments  and  articles  pertaining  to  the  altar,  and  on  the  opposite  side  of  the  altar  is  a  space  for  the  choir. 

The  little  church  was  dedicated  on  August  24,  1884,  by  Rev.  Martin  O'Brien,  of  Salem,  assisted  by  Rev. 
William  O'Brien,  of  St.  Michael's;  Rev.  M.  T.  McManus,  of  South  Lawrence,  and  Rev.  D.  J.  Gleason,  of 
Cambridge.  The  sermon  was  preached  by  Rev.  Father  McManus.  Every  Sunday  one  of  the  priests  from  St. 
Michael's  goes  out  to  celebrate  Mass  in  St.  Mary's  Church,  and  in  the  afternoon  Sunday-school  services  are  held. 

Since  the  creation  of  St.  Michael's  parish  it  has  prospered  beyond  all  expectations.  For  this  success 
much  credit  is  due  to  the  energetic  pastor.  Father  William  O'Brien,  but  he  is  e.xceptionally  fortunate  in  having 
the  hearty  and  enthusiastic  co-operation  of  a  loyal  and  devoted  congregation.  They  have  entered  with  a  will 
into  every  movement  organized  for  the  benefit  of  the  parish,  and  whether  it  is  a  picnic,  a  fair,  or  a  concert, 
they  are  to  be  found  there,  giving  all  the  support  in  their  power.  The  congregation  has  grown  from  very 
humble  proportions  until  to-day  it  numbers  over  3,000  souls,  and  the  church  is  filled  at  all  the  services.  The 
work  of  completing  the  church  will  be  begun  early  the  coming  year,  and  will  be  carried  along  without  inter- 
ruption till  the  edifice  is  completed. 



Rev.  William  O'Brien,  the  esteemed  pastor  of  St.  Michael's,  was  born  in  Ballina,  County  Tipperary,  Ire- 
land, in  November,  1851.  He  finished  his  preparatory  studies  at  the  Diocesan  College  at  Killaloe,  and  then 
next  entered  All-Hallows  College,  Dublin,  to  take  his  ecclesiastical  course.  He  finished  in  1875,  and  on  June 
24th  of  that  year  he  was  ordained  by  Bishop  McDermott,  who  was  his  first  professor  in  philosophy.  He  was 
intended  for  the  American  mission  from  the  moment  he  turned  his  attention  to  the  ministry,  and,  accordingly, 
after  his  ordination  he  came  to  this  country,  arriving  in  Lowell  in  September,  1875.  He  was  at  once  appointed 
assistant  at  St.  Patrick's  Church,'and  remained  there  until  the  new  parish  of  St.  Michael's  was  formed  in  1884. 

His  selection  as  pastor  of  the  new  church  proved  a  happy  one,  and  from  that  time  to  the  present  he  has 

REV.   \\11,I,1AM    DBRIEX,    PAST<IR    ST.    MICHAEL'S    CHURCH,    EOWEEL. 

labored  with  unceasing  zeal  and  diligence  for  the  prosperity  of  his  parish  and  the  advancement  of  his  people. 
The  work  of  erecting  the  basement  of  the  future  church  first  engaged  his  attention,  but  no  sooner  was  this 
disposed  of  than  he  began  to  mature  plans  for  the  erection  of  a  fine  parochial  school  for  the  education  of  his 
young  people.  Then  he  secured  a  residence  for  the  sisters,  enlarged  the  parochial  residence  and  perfected 
many  other  plans,  all  of  which  will  be  found  more  in  detail  in  the  foregoing  history  of  the  parish.  Throughout 
all  this  period  he  has  had  the  satisfaction  of  seeing  a  rapid  growth  in  his  congregation,  and  at  present  there  is 
every  evidence  of  prosperity  and  contentment  among  his  people. 

Father  William  is  assisted  at  present  by  two  clergymen.  Re\'.  Father  Gilday  and  Rev.  Father  Scannell. 



St,  Peter's  parish,  Xowell 

Bs  p.  3.  Xgiicb. 

PETER'S  is  the  second  oldest  Catholic  church  in  the  city.  At  the  time  St.  Patrick's 
Church  was  founded,  in  1831,  the  Catholic  population  was  very  small  indeed,  but  with 
the  rapid  growth  of  industries  at  that  particular  period  there  came  a  correspondingly 
large  increase  in  the  population.  Consequently,  in  less  than  a  decade  from  the  dedica- 
tion of  the  first  church  there  was  a  growing  feeling  that  a  second  church  was  necessary  to 
'ff^{  meet  the  spiritual  needs  of  the  Catholic  population.  A  strong  factor  in  developing  this 
feeling  was  that  a  great  many  of  the  congregation  lived  about  Chapel  Hill  and  its 
vicinity  —  quite  a  distance  from  St.  Patrick's  —  and  that  they  began  to  think  that 
attendance  there  caused  them  considerable  inconvenience.  Another  factor  was  the  fact 
that  St  Patrick's  Church  was  getting  too  small  to  serve  the  needs  of  the  rapidly  growing  congre- 
gation The  feeling  among  the  parishioners,  however,  was  divided  as  to  the  expediency  of  erect- 
mg  a  second  church,  and  this  division  extended  even  to  the  two  clergymen  then  in  charge  of  the 
parish.  Father  McDermott,  the  pastor,  seemed  much  opposed  to  dividing  the  parish,  and  Father  Conway,  his 
assistant,  was  just  as  warmly  in  favor  of  the  division.  Finally,  the  agitation  reached  an  acute  stage,  and  some 
members  of  the  congregation  showed  considerable  feeling  with  regard  to  the  question.  Many  thought  that  it 
would  be  unwise  to  have  any  division.  On  the  other  hand  the  Chapel  Hill  people  were  quite  determined  on 
the  question,  and  they  evidently  had  no  idea  of  waiving  their  claims  to  what  they  considered  just  recognition. 
Bishop  Fenwick's  attention  was  called  to  the  matter  by  those  favoring  the  division,  and  one  Sunday,  in 
1841,  he  appeared  in  St.  Patrick's  Church.  At  the  Mass  he  called  a  meeting  of  the  congregation  to  be  held 
after  vespers.  This  meeting  was  largely  attended,  and  the  question  of  a  division  was  the  subject  of  a  spirited 
debate.  The  advocates  on  both  sides  presented  arguments  pro  and  con,  but  the  Bishop  seemed  to  be  rather 
impressed  with  the  case  made  by  the  advocates  for  a  second  church.  In  order,  however,  to  fully  test  the  matter 
he  called  on  all  who  would  be  willing  to  subscribe  $100  each  towards  the  erection  of  a  new  church,  to  stand. 
Some  seventy-five  or  eighty  men  rose  to  their  feet,  and  this  decisive  test  seemed  to  convince  the  Bishop,  for 
there  and  then  it  was  decided  that  there  should  be  a  second  church.  The  Bishop  announced  that  the  sub- 
scribers would  have  the  exclusive  privilege  of  bidding  for  the  pews,  when  they  would  be  sold  at  auction  after 
the  church  was  built. 

It  appears  that  even  before  this  decision  was  reached,  the  site  had  been  selected,  and  Bishop  Fenwick  on 
looking  it  over  expressed  himself  as  well  pleased  with  it.  This  location  was  at  the  corner  of  Gorham  and 
Appleton  Streets,  on  land  purchased  from  the  Hamilton  Corporation.  A  building  committee  of  about  a  dozen 
men  was  selected  to  supervise  the  building  of  the  new  church,  prominent  among  them  being  Owen  Donohoe, 
John  McNulty,  Hugh  Monahan,  Hugh  Cummiskey,  and  Charles  M.  Short.  Of  these  not  one  is  now  living. 
The  contract  for  the  building  was  given  to  Reed  &:  Powers,  and  the  work  was  pushed  with  great  energy.  The 
new  church  was  of  plain  brick,  about  90  feet  long  by  60  feet  wide,  and  its  cost  was  about  S2 2,000.  As  soon 
as  the  building  could  be  made  ready  for  the  purpose,  services  were  held  there,  for  the  parishioners  found  the 
time  too  long  until  they  could  assemble  in  their  new  home,  and  Father  Conway,  who  had  practically  severed 
his  connection  with  St.  Patrick's  as  soon  as  the  new  church  was  begun,  and  who  had  since  supervised  the 
building  operations,  immediately  entered  upon  the  pastorate  of  the  new  parish. 



The  first  services  were  held  on  Christmas  Day  of  1842,  and  the  event  was  one  which  brought  joy  and 
rejoicing  to  the  people  of  the  new  parish.  From  its  very  inception  they  seemed  to  take  a  peculiar  pride  in 
everything  pertaining  to  the  new  church,  and  the  utmost  enthusiasm  animated  every  member  of  the  parish. 
The  consciousness  that  they  had  taken  a  great  responsibility  on  themselves  probably  appealed  to  their  pride  and 
self-reliance,  and  they  were  determined  to  leave  nothing  undone  in  order  that  their  church  and  parish  might 
be  placed  on  a  firm  basis.  At  the  Christmas  Day  services  there  was  no  organ  available,  but  some  of  the  lead- 
ing members  had  organized  an  excellent  orchestra  for  the  occasion,  and  a  large  choir  had  been  in  training  for 
some  time,  composed  of  amateur  musicians,  many  of  them  being  prominent  citizens,  such  as  Mr.  Prince,  then 
agent  of  the  Merrimack  Corporation.  In  a  short  time  a  contract  was  made  with  Stevens,  of  Cambridge,  to 
build  an  organ,  and  while  waiting  to  have  it  completed  he  placed  a  temporary  organ  in  the  church.  Mr.  John 
Quinn,  one  of  the  most  prominent  members  of  the  parish,  took  charge  of  the  choir,  and  was  its  first  director, 
and  in  this  capacity  a  good  deal  of  work  devolved  upon  him  at  this  time.  Under  his  direction  the  choir  gave 
several  concerts  in  aid  of  the  church,  and  all  of  them  proved  highly  successful.  Mr.  Edward  Connolly  was  the 
organist.  Mr.  Quinn  is  one  of  the  very  few  surviving  members  of  the  first  congregation  of  St.  Peter's.  He 
was  married  in  the  church  the  year 
after  it  was  opened  for  services,  and 
with  his  wife  he  leads  a  quiet  and 
retired  life  at  his  home,  corner  of 
Westford  and  Hastings  Streets.  He 
is  over  70  years  old  and  is,  perhaps, 
the  best  living  authority  on  the  early 
history  of  St.  Peter's. 

The  church  was  not  fully  com- 
pleted till  the  year  1843,  3.nd  in 
October  of  that  year  it  was  dedicated. 
Among  the  people  who  were  present 
on  that  occasion  the  most  notable  was, 
perhaps,  the  famous  Irish  historian. 
D'Arcy  Magee,  whose  unique  per- 
sonality made  a  lasting  impression  on 
the  members  of  the  congregation  who 
met  him.  In  accordance  with  the 
promise  made  by  Bishop  Fenwick 
at  the  first  meeting  at  St.  Patrick's 
Church,  the  pews  were  sold  by  auction 

to  the  subscribers  as  soon  as  the  new  church  was  finished.  Each  purchaser  was  given  a  deed,  drawn  up  in  the 
strongest  possible  manner,  conveying  to  him  "and  his  heirs  and  assigns  forever,"  the  right  to  the  pew,  subject 
only  to  the  condition  that  the  annual  tax  should  be  paid,  and  even  in  case  of  failure  to  pay  the  tax  the  transac- 
tion could  only  be  revoked  after  due  notice  had  been  given  the  holder,  in  writing,  and  the  pew  sold  again  at 
auction  to  the  highest  bidder.  The  deeds  were  signed  "  B.  Fenwick,  before  H.  B.  Stanton,  at  Boston,  March 
13,  1845."  That  the  bidding  for  pews  was  rather  lively  may  be  inferred  from  the  high  prices  paid  for  some  of 
them.  A  deed  now  in  the  possession  of  Mr.  John  Quinn,  above  mentioned,  and  dated  as  above,  shows  that 
the  sum  of  $196  was  paid  for  the  pew.  His  pew  was  the  fourteenth  from  the  altar,  and  doubtless  those  nearer 
the  altar  brought  much  higher  prices. 

The  new  church  greatly  prospered  under  the  perfect  unanimity  which  existed  between  pastor  and  people  and 
among  the  people  themselves.  Father  Conway  remained  till  1847,  when  failing  health  compelled  him  to  make 
a  Southern  trip,  and  Father  Peter  Crudden  was  appointed  substitute  during  his  absence.  When  Father  Conway 
returned  he  was  transferred  to  Salem  and  Father  Crudden  was  confirmed  pastor  of  St.  Peter's.  The  parish  con- 
tinued to  grow,  and  during   Father  Crudden's  pastorate  great  prosperity  was  manifest.      Father   Crudden,  in 


addition  to  looking  after  the  spiritual  needs  of  the  people,  had  also  a  keen  eye  for  the  material  prosperity  of 
the  church,  and  at  various  times  he  acquired  considerable  real  estate,  some  of  which  proved  extremely  valuable 
to  the  church  afterwards.  He  purchased  the  land  and  brick  building  on  Appleton  Street  now  known  as  St. 
Peter's  Orphan  Asylum,  and  gave  it  to  the  Sisters  of  Charity  whom  he  introduced  into  the  city  at  this  time. 
Another  piece  of  property,  which  has  since  proved  very  valuable,  is  the  lot  on  Gorham  Street  on  which  now 
stands  the  temporary  church,  and  the  hall  adjoining  it.  Father  Crudden  continued  in  the  pastorate  till  1883, 
when  he  resigned  on  account  of  ill  health,  and  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  Michael  Ronan,  the  present  pastor. 

Father  Ronan  took  charge  of  the  church  on  August  8,  1883,  and  immediately  set  to  work  to  inaugurate  a 
series  of  improvements,  some  of  which  had  been  much  needed.  He  first  enlarged  and  improved  the  basement, 
which  up  to  this  time  had  been  only  the  size  of  the  original  church,  for  when  the  main  structure  was  enlarged 
by  Father  Crudden  by  making  an  extension  of  about  30  feet  at  one  end  of  the  building,  the  basement  remained 
untouched.  It  was  proposed  to  extend  it  so  as  to  make  it  the  same  size  as  the  church  above,  and  during  the 
months  of  September  and  October  of  1883,  many  improvements  and  alterations  needed  to  fully  equip  the  place 
were  made.  After  the  extension  had  been  completed  the  floor  of  the  basement  was  concreted  and  a  finished 
floor  was  laid.  New  chandeliers  were  put  in,  a  new  organ  was  placed  in  position,  and  many  other  improve- 
ments were  made,  the  result  being  that  the  old  basement  could  scarcely  be  recognized  in  the  new  one.  The 
seating  capacity  was  increased  to  about  1,200,  and  four  new  confessionals  were  put  in.  The  pews  were  built 
of  white  ash.  At  the  same  time  a  handsome  new  marble  altar  was  placed  in  the  basement  and  this  added  very 
much  to  the  general  effect.  On  the  wall  on  either  side  of  the  altar  were  hung  two  large  paintings  representing 
the  Sacred  Heart  of  Jesus  and  of  His  Blessed  Mother.  On  each  side  of  the  altar  were  provided  robing  rooms 
for  the  priests  and  altar  boys,  and  the  whole  was  enclosed  by  a  handsome  railing. 

The  consecration  of  the  new  altar  took  place  on  Sunday,  December  10,  1883.  The  ceremonies  were  con- 
ducted by  Very  Rev.  William  Byrne,  Vicar-General  and  administrator  of  the  diocese,  who  was  assisted  by  Rev. 
Father  Bodfish,  Chancellor  of  the  diocese.  Afterwards  solemn  High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Father  Byrne ; 
Rev.  Michael  McManus,'  of  Lawrence,  deacon;  Father  McGovern,  of  North  Lawrence,  sub-deacon,  and  Father 
Bodfish,  master  of  ceremonies.  The  other  clergymen  present  were  Rev.  William  O'Brien,  of  St.  Patrick's; 
Father  Garrigan,  of  Fitchburg ;  Father  Moran,  of  Boston ;  Father  Mahan,  of  Charlestown ;  Father  McGrath, 
of  Somerville  ;  Father  Doherty,  of  Haverhill,  and  Father  O'Callaghan,  of  South  Boston.  An  eloquent  sermon 
was  delivered  by  Rev.  Father  Garrigan.  Excellent  music  was  rendered  by  a  choir  directed  by  Mr.  T.  F. 
Molloy,  and  Mrs.  C.  M.  Williams  sang  some  solos. 

On  Sunday,  April  27,  1884,  the  pastor  announced  the  division  of  the  Lowell  parishes  just  promulgated  by 
Archbishop  Williams  and  gave  the  boundaries  of  St.  Peter's  parish  as  follows:  Beginning  at  the  junction  of 
the  Pawtucket  Canal  and  Concord  River,  thence  south  along  the  Concord  River  to  Swift  Street,  Swift  Street  to 
Kinsman,  Kinsman  to  Chambers,  Chambers  to  Gorham,  Gorham  to  Thorndike,  Thorndike  to  Hale,  Hale  to 
Chelmsford,  thence  along  Chelmsford  Street  to  the  town  line  of  Chelmsford,  thence  in  a  northwesterly  course 
along  the  town  line  to  Westford  Street,  Westford  Street  in  an  easterly  direction  to  Chelmsford  Street,  thence 
crossing  the  railroad  bridge  at  the  Middlesex  depot  to  Thorndike  Street,  thence  running  north  along  the  Paw- 
tucket Canal,  to  the  Concord  River,  to  the  point  of  starting. 

The  parish  greatly  prospered  and  in  a  few  years  the  idea  was  borne  upon  the  minds  of  both  pastor  and 
people  that  a  larger  church  would  be  a  desirable  consummation.  Plans  were  formulated  looking  towards  this 
end,  and  in  a  short  time  all  were  ready  to  undertake  what  promised  to  be,  and  what  has  proved  to  be,  a  most 
arduous  work.  It  was  considered  that  a  more  desirable  location  for  a  new  church  could  be  obtained  further 
south  on  Gorham  Street,  and  besides  the  advantage  in  location,  the  difference  between  the  relative  cost  of  the 
two  sites  would  leave  quite  a  margin  in  favor  of  the  change  to  a  site  further  from  the  centre  of  the  city.  It 
fortunately  happened  that  this  plan  was  furthered  by  a  movement  looking  towards  a  new  government  building 
for  Lowell  which  was  just  then  inaugurated.  The  leaders  in  the  movement  were  Colonel  J.  W.  Bennett,  C.  I. 
Hood,  Esq.,  and  C.  J.  Glidden,  Esq.,  and  considering  that  the  time  was  ripe  for  an  effort  to  have  a  new  post- 
office  building  erected  in  this  city,  they  had  the  matter  introduced  in  the  Board  of  Trade,  organized  a  short 
time  previously.     The  movement  met  with  general  support,  and  the  services  of  Congressman  Allen  were  en- 


listed  in  its  belialf.  The  Congressman  entered  warmly  into  the  movement,  and  with  the  support  which  he 
received  from  the  prominent  men  of  the  community  he  was  able  to  get  a  bill  passed,  authorizing  the  construc- 
tion of  a  new  post-office  in  Lowell.  This,  however,  was  really  only  the  beginning  of  the  contest,  for  the  passing 
of  the  bill  was  the  signal  for  a  tedious,  prolonged,  and  hotly  contested  struggle  between  contending  sections  of 
the  city  to  secure  the  site  for  the  proposed  building.  It  was  considered  that  wherever  the  new  federal  building 
was  located  it  would  have  a  tendency  to  centralize  business,  and  thus  greatly  enhance  the  value  of  real  estate 
in  that  section.  The  three  gentlemen  above  mentioned  early  saw  the  many  advantages  possessed  by  the  site 
on  which  stood  St.  Peter's  old  church,  and  they  formed  a  syndicate  and  bonded  the  land  on  which  stood  the 
church,  together  with  the  adjoining  lot  on  which  stood  the  parochial  residence,  making  in  all  a  tract  containing 
about  40,000  square  feet.  The  price  was  fixed  at  $3  per  foot,  or  about  $120,000  in  all.  The  members  of  the 
syndicate  expected  to  sell  half  the  lot  to  the  government  for  a  site  for  the  new  post-office  and  make  a  profit 
thereon,  in  addition  to  having  the  other  half  of  the  lot,  the  value  of  which  would  be  largely  increased  by  the 
erection  of  the  new  building.  This  programme  would  doubtless  have  been  carried  out,  but  unfortunately  at  this 
moment,  much  to  their  surprise  and  disappointment,  came  the  announcement  that  the  Massachusetts  Corpora- 
tion had  offered  the  government  a  site  for  the  sum  of  one  dollar.  This  site  was  near  the  old  post-office,  and 
the  understanding  seemed  to  be  that  the  Corporation  would  be  compensated  by  those  owning  real  estate  in  the 
vicinity.  The  members  of  St.  Peter's  syndicate,  however,  were  all  men  of  ability  and  indomitable  energy,  and 
they  were  not  to  be  so  easily  outdone.  As  soon  as  the  announcement  was  made  that  the  Massachusetts  site 
was  offered  free,  they  held  a  conference  in  the  office  of  the  Erie  Telephone  Company,  of  which  Mr.  Glidden  is 
treasurer,  and  called  in  a  few  other  friends  of  the  St.  Peter's  site  to  consult  on  the  matter.  The  result  was 
that  within  a  few  hours  several  thousand  dollars  were  subscribed  and  an  offer  of  St.  Peter's  site  was  made  to 
the  government  for  the  sum  of  one  cent.  A  new  Hne  of  action  had  been  decided  on.  It  was  determined  to 
form  a  company,  now  known  as  the  Lowell  Land  Company,  to  secure  the  parsonage  lot,  or  that  on  which  stood 
the  parochial  residence,  as  an  investment,  and  that  a  subscription  list  should  be  opened  for  the  purchase  of  the 
church  lot  so  that  it  could  be  given  free  to  the  government.  The  Lowell  Land  Company  was  formed  with  a 
capital  stock  of  $31,000,  and  the  stockholders  number  about  forty.  The  present  officers  are  J.  W.  Bennett, 
president;  C.  I.  Hood,  treasurer;  C.  J.  Glidden,  clerk,  and  these  with  Michael  Corbett  and  E.  B.  Conant  form 
the  board  of  directors.  The  subscription  list  for  the  purchase  of  the  church  site  grew  rapidly  and  in  a  short 
time  the  required  amount  was  raised.  The  Lowell  Land  Company  contributed  $8,386.17  to  the  fund.  Father 
Ronan  subscribed  $7,000;  F.  B.  Shedd,  $5,125;  George  Runels,  $2,500;  Michael  Corbett,  $2,000;  E.  A. 
Smith,  $2,000;  Nichols  &  Fletcher,  $2,000;  Fay  Brothers  &  Hesford,  $2,050;  C.  J.  GHdden,  $1,558.34;  W.  H. 
Anderson,  $1,150;  Appleton  National  Bank,  Cook  &  Taylor,  Thomas  Costello,  Mrs.  R.  Reed,  J.  J.  Donovan, 
A.  B.  French,  William  Manning,  and  the  Washington  Hotel,  $1,000  each  ;  J.  W.  Bennett,  $833.33  ;  J-  ^-  Howe, 
$750;  W.  H.  Bent,  $500;  E.  B.  Conant,  $700;  George  F.  Penniman,  $500;  Sheppard  &  Russell,  $500;  W. 
H.  Spalding,  $500;  C.  I.  Hood,  $500,  and  about  fifty  others  subscribed  sums  ranging  from  $25  to  $300  each. 

Enough  money  was  thus  raised  to  purchase  the  lot  in  order  to  present  it  to  the  government,  but  this  did 
not  settle  the  matter;  in  fact,  the  struggle  for  the  possession  of  the  site  had  only  just  begun.  The  Corporation 
site  had  a  large  number  of  influential  advocates,  and  petitions  and  counter-petitions  were  sent  to  Washington 
in  order  to  influence  the  authorities.  The  contest  grew  exciting,  and  for  a  long  time,  two  years  or  more,  the 
matter  of  the  selection  of  a  site  trembled  in  the  balance.  Finally,  the  advocates  of  St.  Peter's  site  succeeded 
in  proving  to  the  satisfaction  of  the  authorities  that  it  possessed  the  greatest  number  of  advantages,  and  early 
in  1890  it  was  decided  to  erect  the  new  building  there. 

As  soon  as  the  removal  of  the  old  church  had  been  decided  upon,  plans  were  completed  for  the  erection 
of  a  temporary  church  which  should  serve  the  needs  of  the  congregation  until  the  new  one  could  be  completed. 
For  this  temporary  church  a  location  was  selected  on  Gorham  Street,  on  land  adjoining  St.  John's  Episcopal 
Church,  and  the  building  of  it  was  pushed  with  the  utmost  despatch.  This  temporary  church,  which  will  do 
duty  till  the  new  church  is  completed,  is  a  rectangular  frame  building,  120  feet  long,  go  feet  wide,  and  18  feet 
high.  The  pews  were  taken  from  the  old  church  and  placed  in  position  here,  the  seating  capacity  provided 
being  sufficient  to  accommodate  1,500  people.      Services  were  held  for  the  first  time  in  this  temporary  church 



on  Sunday,  April  27,  1S90.  The  High  Mass  was  celebrated  by  Rev.  Father  McManus,  and  the  sermon  was 
preached  by  Rev.  Father  McDonough. 

On  May  20,  i8go,  was  commenced  the  demolition  of  the  old  church  of  St.  Peter's,  which,  with  its  quaint 
cupola,  surmounted  by  a  wooden  cross,  had  served  as  a  landmark  in  that  section  for  many  years.  Architectur- 
ally, the  structure  was  anything  but  pleasing  to  the  artistic  eye,  but  it  had  endeared  itself  to  many  of  the  older 
residents  on  account  of  the  old  memories  and  associations  connected  with  it,  and  some  of  them  were  genuinely 
sorry  to  see  it  pulled  down.  But  the  march  of  progress  must  go  on,  and  early  on  the  morning  of  the  20th  the 
old  wooden  cross  went  down  before  the  attack  of  a  gang  of  workmen.  The  old  cupola  and  tower  followed,  and 
the  work  of  demolition  went  on  till  no  trace  of  the  building  remained,  save  the  heap  of  bricks  piled  at  one 
corner  of  the  lot.  While  the  work  of  demolition  was  going  on  it  seemed  to  have  a  curious  fascination  for  some 
of  the  old  members  of  the  parish,  and  not  a  few  would  stand  around  and  look  on  during  a  great  part  of  the 
day.  A  particularly  touching  spectacle  was  afforded  by  a  flock  of  doves  that  had  for  many  years  made  their 
home  in  the  church  tower.  As  they  flitted  about  over  the  heads  of  the  workmen,  who  were  fast  tearing  down 
their  old  home,  they  seemed  to  experience  that  feeling  of  despair  and  sorrow  which  human  beings  might  feel 

under  such  circumstances.  Editor 
Gallagher,  of  the  Sun,  made  them  the 
subject  of  a  very  pretty  poem,  which, 
when  published,  became  very  popular 
among  the  people  of  St.  Peter's. 

As  the  workmen  neared  the 
foundation  a  sharp  look  out  was  kept 
for  the  corner-stone,  and  on  June  4th 
it  was  found  in  the  northeast  corner, 
pretty  near  the  ground.  In  the  stone 
was  found  a  lead  box,  twelve  inches 
long,  nine  inches  wide,  and  six  inches 
deep.  The  bottom  had  decayed  and 
moisture  had  penetrated  to  the  inside, 
badly  damaging  some  of  the  contents. 
Among  the  newspapers  found  were 
a  copy  of  the  Lowell  Advertiser  of 
December  g,  1839,  the  Lowell  Jour- 
nal of  July  7,  1841,  a  copy  of  the 
Boston  Pilot,  dated  December  14. 
I'M     Hni  kisiDiNLh    s,    fEii      (I        I      1  1839,  and  one   of  the  Lowell   Truth 

Teller.  The  other  articles  included  an  Irish  sixpence,  an  Irish  tenpence,  a  Father  Mathew  and  Immaculate 
Conception  medal,  and  several  pamphlets.  Those  who  saw  the  box  opened  gazed  with  curious  interest,  almost 
amounting  to  awe,  at  those  relics  of  a  past  age,  for  during  the  half  century  of  their  confinement  in  that  box  the 
world  had  moved  with  astonishing  rapidity  and  the  whole  aspect  of  the  world  and  of  humanity  had  changed. 

One  of  the  features  of  the  old  church  was  a  large  oil  painting  of  the  Crucifixion  which  occupied  a  place 
just  behind  the  altar.  It  was  procured  soon  after  the  erection  of  the  church  through  the  assistance  of  Mr. 
Charles  Gillianni,  an  Italian  resident  of  this  city.  It  was  placed  in  position  about  the  time  Rev.  Father  Crud- 
den  was  appointed  to  the  pastorate,  and  there  it  remained  till  the  old  church  was  pulled  down.  Then  an 
opportunity  was  afforded  to  study  it  more  closely,  and  artists  pronounced  it  a  production  of  one  of  the  old 
masters,  and  of  much  greater  age  than  anybody  had  supposed.     On  examining  it  closely  there  was  found  an 

inscription  which  read  as  follows:    "Pupil  of  Michael  Jerome,  Rue Paris,"  and  in  another  place  were  the 

words,  "Restored,  1843.''  The  painting  is  nine  feet  by  twelve,  and  it  gives  a  vivid  representation  of  the  Cru- 
cifixion. At  the  foot  of  the  cross  are  three  women,  two  of  them  the  Virgin  Mary  and  Mary  Magdalen.  The 
flesh  tints  were  worn  away  considerably  by  the  ravages  of  time,  and  experts  pronounced  the  work  a  century  old 
at  the  very  least. 


Early  in  1890  efforts  were  made  to  secure  a  location  for  the  new  church.  The  site  finally  decided  upon 
was  on  Gorham  Street  hill,  just  opposite  the  court-house,  and  on  the  westerly  side  of  the  street.  The  land  had 
to  be  secured  from  three  different  owners  and  even  then  there  was  scarcely  enough  for  all  the  buildings  that 
were  required.  It  was  planned  not  only  to  build  the  church  here,  but  also  to  erect  the  new  parochial  residence 
on  the  same  lot.  The  residence  was  first  begun,  and  it  was  completed  in  about  a  year.  It  is  a  substantial 
brick  structure,  and  an  idea  of  its  appearance  may  be  gained  from  the  accompanying  cut. 

The  plans  for  the  new  church  were  soon  perfected,  and  as  early  as  could  be  conveniently  done  the  land 
was  cleared  of  the  old  buildings,  trees,  and  other  obstructions,  so  that  the  excavation  for  the  basement  could  be 
begun.  Particular  care  was  taken  to  provide  a  substantial  foundation  for  the  two  towers  which  adorn  the  front 
of  the  church.  The  foundation  having  been  laid  the  work  could  be  carried  on  with  greater  rapidity,  and  the 
.summer  of  1892  found  it  pretty  well  advanced. 

The  laying  of  the  corner-stone  of  the  new  church  had  for  some  time  previously  been  awaited  with  keen 
expectation.  Elaborate  arrangements  were  made  for  the  event,  and  when  Sunday,  September  11,  1892,  arrived 
the  parishioners  were  in  a  flutter  of  excitement.  In  the  morning  solemn  High  Mass  was  celebrated  at  the  tem- 
porary church  by  Vicar-General  Byrne,  with  Father  McManus  and  Father  McKenna  as  deacon  and  sub-deacon, 
respectively.  Rev.  L.  S.  Walsh,  St.  John's  Seminary,  Brighton,  acted  as  master  of  ceremonies,  and  Rev. 
Michael  T.  McManus,  of  South  Lawrence,  preached  the  sermon.  His  Grace,  Archbishop  Williams,  occupied  a 
place  at  the  left  of  the  altar  platform  and  was  attended  by  several  clergymen.  The  preacher  devoted  his  atten- 
tion to  a  consideration  of  the  Feast  of  the  Holy  Name  of  Mary,  which  the  church  that  day  celebrated.  A 
pleasant  feature  of  the  services  was  the  singing  by  the  choir,  which  had  been  reconstructed  and  perfected  by 
the  new  director,  Mr.  T.  F.  Molloy.  Haydn's  Second  Mass  in  C  was  sung,  the  solo  parts  being  sustained  by 
Misses  Lizzie  and  Mary  McLaughlin,  Mr.  Molloy,  and  Mr.  David  Martin. 

The  exercises  proper  took  place  in  the  afternoon.  A  temporary  floor  was  constructed,  covering  the  whole 
basement  of  the  new  church,  but  though  an  enormous  seating  capacity  was  provided  it  did  not  half  suffice  for 
the  wants  of  all  who  desired  to  witness  the  exercises.  The  result  was  that  after  filling  all  the  available  space 
about  the  church  the  people  extended  across  the  street  in  front  and  filled  a  large  part  of  the  court-house  yard 
on  the  other  side  of  the  street.  Tickets  entitling  the  holders  to  seats  on  the  temporary  floor  had  been  dis- 
tributed at  the  temporary  church  at  High  Mass,  and  so  anxious  were  the  people  to  secure  seats  that  they  began 
to  arrive  a  full  hour  before  the  exercises  opened.  An  immense  awning,  covering  the  whole  area  devoted  to 
seats,  had  been  erected  as  a  safeguard  against  rain,  but  it  was  not  necessary,  for  the  day  was  delightfully  fine. 
Nevertheless,  the  great  area  of  swaying  canvas  overhead  seemed  to  make  the  scene  all  the  more  impressive, 
Previous  to  the  opening  of  the  exercises  the  several  lodges  of  Hibernians  had  formed  a  procession  and  marched 
to  the  church.  The  members  wore  full  regalia  and  presented  a  fine  appearance.  At  the  junction  of  Appleton 
and  Gorham  Streets  the  Hibernians  were  joined  by  the  Lowell  Irish  Benevolent  Society,  in  command  of  the 
president,  John  Doherty. 

At  3  o'clock  the  clergymen  passed  up  the  central  aisle  towards  the  temporary  platform.  The  cross-bearer 
and  acolytes  came  first,  and  Archbishop  Williams,  attended  by  two  clergj'men,  followed.  The  Archbishop  sat 
in  the  centre  of  the  platform,  being  supported  on  the  right  by  Very  Rev.  John  Hogan,  D.  D.,  of  the  Divinity 
College  of  the  Catholic  University,  Washington,  and  on  the  left  by  Rev.  Thomas  H.  Shahan,  of  Maiden. 
The  clergymen  present  were :  Vicar-General  Byrne,  Rev.  Richard  Neagle,  Chancellor  of  the  Diocese :  Rev. 
Peter  Ronan,  Dorchester;  Rev.  Hugh  P.  Smith,  Roxbury;  Rev.  L.  S.  Walsh,  St.  John's  Seminary;  Rev.  R.  J. 
Johnson,  South  Boston;  Rev.  John  Flatley,  Cambridge;  Rev.  James  T.  O'Reilly,  Lawrence;  Rev.  John  D. 
Colbert,  Boston;  Re\-.  W.  H.  O'Connell.  Boston;  Rev.  Father  McManus,  Lawrence;  Rev.  William  H.  Fitz- 
patrick,  St.  Gregory's  Church,  Milton:  Rev.  Father  Crane,  Lawrence;  Rev.  John  J.  Whelan,  Lawrence;  Rev. 
Father  Reagan,  Andover;  Rev.  Michael  Flatley,  Maiden;  Rev.  Father  Norris,  of  the  House  of  the  Angel 
Guardian,  Boston ;  Rev.  Father  Morris,  Brookline ;  Rev.  John  E.  Cronley,  Lawrence ;  Rev.  Father  Clarke, 
East  Boston ;  Rev.  William  F.  Murphy,  South  Boston ;  Rev.  P.  P.  Chapon,  St.  John's  Seminary,  Brighton ; 
Rev.  John  Lee,  Munson ;  Rev.  Hugh  Mulligan,  Chelsea ;  Rev.  Charles  Rex,  St.  John's  Seminary,  Brighton ; 
Rev.   Michael   Moran,   Boston;     Rev.   R.   P.   Stack,   Watertown;    Rev.   Timothy    Brosnahan,   Waltham;    Rev. 




NKW    ST.     PETER'S    CHrKlli,     IciWI.II. 


Christopher  McGrath,  Lawrence;  Rev.  T.  J.  Murphy,  Neponset;  Rev.  Denis  O'Callaghan,  South  Boston;  Rev. 
James  J.  Reagan,  Randolph ;  Rev.  James  M.  Supple,  Charlestown ;  Rev.  J.  O.  Dougherty,  Haverhill ;  Rev. 
Fathers  Joyce,  Guillard,  Quinn,  Shaw,  Gilday,  Scanlan,  Ronan,  McManus,  McDonough,  and  McKenna,  of  Lowell. 

After  a  selection  by  a  quartette,  consisting  of  Messrs.  Molloy,  Murphy,  Haggerty,  and  Martin,  Rev.  Dr. 
Garrigan,  rector  of  the  Catholic  University  at  Washington,  delivered  the  sermon.  His  discourse  on  this 
occasion  was  a  masterly  one.  At  its  close  the  choir  sang  the  Lauda  Sion  and  Laudate  under  the  direction  of 
Professor  Haggerty,  the  solos  being  by  Miss  Lizzie  McLaughlin  and  Mr.  T.  F.  Molloy.  Miss  Josephine  Rear- 
don  presided  at  the  organ.  A  collection  was  taken  which  yielded  a  generous  sum.  A  procession  was  formed 
and  the  clergymen  proceeded  to  the  northeastern  corner,  where  the  corner-stone  was  laid  with  the  usual  cere- 
monies by  His  Grace,  the  Archbishop,  after  which  the  clergy  chanted  the  Veni  Creator,  when  the  benediction 
was  pronounced. 

The  new  church,  when  completed,  will  be  one  of  the  most  beautiful  churches,  not  alone  in  Lowell,  but  in 
the  State.  The  architecture  is  Campanillo  Gothic.  One  great  distinguishing  feature,  as  compared  with  those 
previously  erected  in  Lowell,  is  that  it  has  two  towers,  while  the  others  are  built  with  one.  The  building 
measures  196  feet  through  its  greatest  length,  and  is  91  feet  wide  across  the  facade.  The  nave  is  85  feet  wide, 
and  the  transepts,  including  the  shrine  chapels,  measure  115  feet.  The  two  grand  towers,  each  26  feet  in 
diameter  at  the  base,  are  on  the  Gorham  Street  side.  One  is  195  feet  high  and  the  other  170,  the  latter  one 
being  on  the  southern  corner.  Both  towers  are  built  square  in  form.  At  the  far  end  of  the  vestry,  in  the 
northwest  corner,  rises  a  round  tower  to  the  height  of  75  feet  and  having  a  diameter  of  12  feet.  The  interior 
will  present  a  fine  appearance  when  fully  completed.  The  height  from  the  floor  to  the  ceiling  will  be  67  feet, 
and  the  arrangement  of  columns  and  arches,  all  decorated  in  the  highest  style  of  art,  will  be  such  as  to  produce 
a  fine  effect.  'J'here  will  be  five  altars,  and  these  in  themselves  will  form  a  marked  feature  of  the  church.  The 
windows  will  be  another  noticeable  feature,  and  the  Rose  window  to  be  placed  in  the  facade  will  be  a  magnifi- 
cent specimen.  In  the  chancel,  over  the  main  altar,  there  will  be  a  set  of  five  windows,  each  5^  feet  wide  and 
25  feet  high.  The  lower  chapel  is  15  feet  high  in  the  clear,  and  like  the  church  proper  it  is  intended  to  have 
five  altars.  There  are  five  entrances  to  the  church.  On  the  Gorham  Street  side  a  wide  and  massive  flight  of 
granite  steps  leads  to  three  great  doors,  each  8  feet  wide,  which  open  into  a  vestibule  20  feet  wide.  A  door  on 
either  side  of  this  flight  of  steps  gives  access  to  the  lower  chapel.  On  the  South  Street  side  there  are  two 
entrances,  each  6  feet  wide,  and  access  to  the  lower  chapel  is  also  obtained  on  this  side  by  two  more  entrances. 
The  structure  is  built  of  Acton  granite  throughout,  and  it  presents  a  massive  and  imposing  appearance.  The 
designer  is  Mr.  P.  C.  Keely,  of  Brooklyn,  the  famous  architect  who  has  designed  so  many  magnificent  churches 
throughout  the  country,  and  he  considers  the  plans  for  St.  Peter's  Church  among  the  finest  he  has  ever 
designed.  In  fact,  the  only  other  designs  of  the  kind  in  New  England  are  those  of  the  cathedrals  of  Providence 
and  Hartford.     It  may  be  added  also  that  they  are  the  last  work  of  the  famous  architect. 

The  people  of  the  parish  have  shown  a  most  generous  spirit  in  raising  funds  for  the  new  church.  Fairs 
and  entertainments  have  been  frequently  given  during  the  past  few  years,  and  in  the  fall  of  1894  a  fair  in  aid 
of  the  church  was  held  in  the  school  hall  on  Gorham  Street,  which  lasted  several  weeks  and  was  very  success- 
ful. The  pastor  has  the  assistance  of  three  earnest  and  devoted  clergymen.  Rev.  Father  McManus  is  first 
assistant,  and  the  other  two  are  Rev.  Father  McDonough  and  Rev.  Father  McKenna. 



Sacreb  Ibeart  Ipadsb,  Xowell 

3Bs  p.  5.  X^ncb. 

BOUT  the  beginning  of  1884  it  was  determined  to  create  a  new  parish  in  the  southern  part 
of  the  city,  chiefly  for  the  convenience  of  the  people  living  near  the  Bleachery  and  in  Ayer 
City,  and  the  result  was  the  founding  of  the  Sacred  Heart  Church.  The  movement  was 
directed  by  the  Oblate  Fathers,  and  in  a  short  time  a  lot  was  purchased  on  Moore  Street  for 
a  site  for  the  future  church.  A  lot  of  39,000  feet  was  first  bought,  and  a  second  lot  of 
24,000  feet  was  purchased  some  time  afterwards,  making  in  all  an  area  of  63,000  feet.  The 
ground  was  broken  on  Easter  Monday  in  April  of  1884  by  Very  Rev.  Father  Soulier,  of 
Paris,  first  assistant  general  of  the  order  and  representing  the  superior  general  in  this 
country,  and  in  the  presence  of  Very  Rev.  Father  McGrath,  Father  Jo3'ce.  Father  Tortel, 
and  Father  Smith. 

On  April  30,  1884,  the  male  members  of  the  new  parish  came  together  in  the  Lyon  Street  school-house  to 
devise  plans  for  raising  money  in  aid  of  the  church.  There  was  a  large  attendance  and  everything  showed  the 
utmost  enthusiasm  on  the  part  of 
those  present.  The  assembly  was 
presided  over  by  Rev.  Father  Joyce, 
who  had  been  appointed  to  take 
charge  of  the  new  parish,  and  imme- 
diate steps  were  taken  to  complete 
arrangements  for  a  fair  which  it  was 
decided  to  hold  the  following  June. 

This  fair  met  with  good  success, 
and  shortly  after  Father  Joyce  an- 
nounced the  receipts  as  follows :  Im- 
maculate  Conception  Temperance 
table,  $1,322.06;  Immaculate  Con- 
ception Sodality  table,  $1,015.94: 
Father  Joyce's  table,  $851:74;  St. 
Patrick's  table,  $567.80;  Arch-confra- 
ternity table,  $473.13;  St.  Rose  ol 
Lima  table,  $442.00;  Guard  of  Honor 
table,  $365.85;  Children  of  Mary 
table,  $^2^.00;  Sacred  Heart  table, 
$273.78;   Holy  Rosary  table,  $262.1 1: 

St.  Veracunda  table,  $246.84;  refreshment  table,  $115.49;  candy,  dolls,  and  soda  fountain,  $113.25;  door 
receipts,  $126.88;  total,  $6,509.87.  The  expenses  were  small,  amounting  perhaps  to  a  few  hundred  dollars, 
so  that  the  net  proceeds  in  aid  of  the  church  amounted  to  over  $6,000. 



The  boundaries  of  the  new  parish  of  the  Sacred  Heart  as  defined  in  tlie  letters  issued  by  Arclibishop 
Williams  on  April  20,  1884,  are  as  follows:  Beginning  at  the  intersection  of  Hale  and  Chelmsford  Streets, 
thence  along  Hale  Street  to  Thorndike,  Thorndike  to  Chambers,  Chambers  to  Kinsman,  Kinsman  to  Swift, 
thence  to  the  Concord  River,  where  the  line  follows  the  river  southerly  to  the  Chelmsford  town  line,  thence 
along  the  Chelmsford  line  to  Chelmsford  Street,  and  from  this  point  the  line  follows  Chelmsford  Street  to  the 
point  of  starting.  This  makes  quite  a  large  extent  of  territor)',  but  it  is  not  so  thickly  populated  as  other  sec- 
tions of  the  city. 

The  work  on  the  basement  was  vigorously  pushed,  and  in  August  of  1884  it  was  completed  as  far  as  it  was 
intended  at  that  time,  the  idea  being  to  hold  the  services  there  for  some  time,  until  the  congregation  could 
afford  to  finish  the  church.  This  time  has  not  yet  come,  and  the  basement  still  serves  for  all  purposes.  It  is 
a  substantially  constructed  building,  the  walls  being  of  brick,  with  granite  trimmings;  the  architecture  is  of  the 

iMi:kiiiK   ii[    i;a,>i.\ii,x  r.  sacred  heart  CHrken.    i.owKi.i., 

Florentine  order.  The  length  of  the  structure  is  145  feet  and  the  width  64  feet.  The  front  of  the  church 
stands  back  about  30  feet  from  the  street,  just  as  all  the  other  buildings  in  the  vicinity  do,  and  there  is  plenty 
of  clear  space  all  around  it.  The  audience  room  is  reached  through  two  large  vestibules,  12  feet  square,  one  at 
each  of  the  corners  nearest  Moore  Street.  This  room  is  115  feet  long,  64  feet  wide,  and  14  feet  high.  It  is 
well  lighted  by  thirty-eight  large  windows  of  ornamental  ground  glass,  and  the  furniture  is  finished  in  light 
colors.  The  floor  is  of  Georgia  pine,  and  the  ceiling  is  sheathed  with  Northern  pine.  The  pews  are  of  ash 
with  cherry  trimmings  and  tastefully  finished,  giving  a  pretty  effect.  There  are  four  aisles,  the  two  centre  ones 
being  five  feet  wide  and  the  outside  ones  four  feet.     The  seating  capacity  of  the  basement  is  about  1,200. 

At  the  further  end  of  the  church  is  the  sanctuary  and  on  either  side  of  it  is  a  vestry  about  20  feet  square. 
The  sanctuary  is  a  half  oval,  the  space  reaching  back  about  20  feet  from  the  altar  rail.  The  altar  is  a  splendid 
piece  of  workmanship.      It  is  composed  of  many  varieties  of  marble,  some  of  them  rare  and  costly,  and  many 



churches  of  larger  size  and  greater  pretensions  cannot  boast  of  such  a  specimen  of  art  work.  It  is  1 1  feet  in 
width  and  12  feet  high  from  the  base  to  the  topmost  pinnacle.  Beneath  the  basement  is  a  cellar  where  the 
boiler  for  heating  the  building  is  placed.  Here  also  room  is  provided  for  storing  coal.  Twenty-eight  cast  iron 
pillars  support  the  roof  of  the  basement  and  will  form  the  supports  for  the  columns  in  the  church  proper,  yet  to 
be  erected.  In  the  space  between  the  vestibules,  at  the  rear,  an  organ  is  located  which  was  purchased  from 
the  First  Congregational  Church.  The  plans  for  the  church  were  by  P.  C.  Keely,  of  Brooklyn.  The  brick- 
work was  done  by  Patrick  Corcoran,  the  wood-work  by  M.  C.  Pratt  &  Co.,  the  plumbing  by  Costello  &:  Co., 
the  gas  fixtures,  steam  pipes,  and  boiler  by  H.  R.  Barker  &  Co.,  and  the  painting  by  Fox  and  Kelley. 

At  the  time  the  site  for  the  church  was  purchased,  the  adjoining  lot  and  building  was  purchased  from  D. 
Moody  Prescott  for  the  purposes  of  a  parochial  residence.  The  lot  contains  about  23,000  square  feet,  and  the 
building,  a  large  and  commodious  structure  with  a  French  roof,  serves  admirably  for  the  purpose  intended. 

INIKKIOk    OK    SACRKh     WKAKi'    CH.AFF.t.,    I.OWEI. 

The  lot  extends  a  distance  of  nearly  300  feet  from  the  street,  and  it  has  a  large  number  of  fruit  and  ornamental 
trees,  so  that  it  makes,  altogether,  a  fine  location  for  a  residence,  and  adds  beauty  to  the  surroundings  of  the 

On  August  10,  1884,  the  church  was  dedicated  with  impressive  ceremonies.  There  was  a  large  congrega- 
tion and  all  evidently  felt  happy  in  assembling  for  the  first  time  in  their  new  church  home.  The  ceremonies 
were  conducted  by  His  Grace,  Archbishop  Williams,  assisted  by  a  number  of  clergymen.  Solemn  High  Mass 
was  celebrated  by  Rev.  Father  Lefevre,  of  Montreal,  the  Provincial  of  the  Oblate  Order;  the  deacons  of  honor 
were  Fathers  Tortel  and  Bournigal ;  the  deacon  of  the  Mass  was  Father  Trudeau ;  sub-deacon.  Father  Gladu; 
master  of  ceremonies,  Father  O'Riordan.  There  were  also  present:  Very  Rev.  Father  McGrath,  Father  Joyce, 
Father  Whalan,  of  Ottawa;  Father  Emery,  of  the  Tewksbury  Novitiate,  and  Father  Ronan,  of  St.  Peter's.  The 
sermon  was  preached  by  Rev.  Father  Maguire,  S.  J.,  of  Boston,  a  clergyman  whose  success  at  a  mission  given 



a  short  time  previously  at  St.  Peter's  made  his  audience  doubly  expectant.  At  the  evening  service  the  preacher 
was  Rev.  D.  O'Riordan,  of  the  Immaculate  Conception  Church,  who  took  for  his  text,  "O  Lord,  [  have  loved 
the  beauty  of  thy  house,"  etc.,  and  the  sermon  was  a  most  impressive  one. 

The  people  of  the  parish  have  taken  the  warmest  interest  in  church  affairs  since  the  parish  was  formed, 
and  the  result  is  that  everything  has  prospered  in  a  gratifying  degree.  The  territory  included  in  the  parish  is 
one  of  the  outlying  districts  of  the  city,  and  though  it  covers  a  fairly  large  area  it  was  but  thinly  populated  up 
to  a  recent  period.  It  gives  promise  of  rapid  growth,  however,  and  in  a  few  years  the  congregation  is  likely  to 
be  very  largely  increased.  At  present  it  numbers  about  3,000.  The  young  people  of  the  congregation  are 
quite  active  in  church  work,  and  numerous  entertainments  are  given  by  them  for  the  benefit  of  the  church  and 
school.  The  work  of  completing  the  church  is  expected  to  be  begun  in  a  year  or  two,  but  there  is  no  reason 
for  hurry,  for  the  present  edifice  provides  ample  accommodation  for  all  the  needs  of  the  parish.  Father  Lavoie 
is  assisted  in  the  administration  of  the  affairs  of  the  parish  by  Rev.  Father  Barrett. 

Early  in  1891  preparations  were  begun  for  the  erection  of  a  parochial  school  in  the  Sacred  Heart  parish. 
and  a  lot  of  land  was  purchased  on 
the  northern  side  of  Moore  Street, ' 
opposite  the  church.  The  lot  is  a 
corner  one,  extending  some  distance 
along  Andrews  Street,  which  branches 
off  Moore  Street  at  this  point,  and 
the  new  school  building  was  erected 
on  Andrews  Street,  while  the  build- 
ing which  stood  at  the  corner,  front- 
ing on  Moore  Street,  was  fitted  up  as 
a  convent  for  the  use  of  the  sisters 
w  h  o  were  to  take  charge  of  the 
school.  In  the  fall  of  1S92  the 
school  building  was  ready  for  occu- 
pancy. It  is  a  substantial  and  hand- 
some structure.  The  first  story  is 
built  of  brick  and  the  superstructure 
is  of  wood.  The  first  floor  is  devoted 
to  a  large  hall  with  a  seating  capacity 
of  about  500  people.  It  has  a  large 
stage  and  is  well  adapted  for  enter-  "'"^    '    "^  ""  '  "^"''     '   '      ■  - '^  . 

tainments  and  such  purposes.  The  second  floor  is  divided  into  four  class-rooms,  all  of  good  size  and  well 
equipped.     The  third  floor  is  finished  in  a  similar  manner  and  used  for  additional  class-rooms. 

The  school  was  opened  on  September  15,  1892,  but  during  the  two  weeks  preceding  that  event  the  hall 
was  used  for  a  series  of  concerts,  coffee  parties,  and  other  entertainments,  all  given  for  the  purpose  of  raising 
funds  to  pay  the  expenses  of  the  building.  The  school  was  placed  in  charge  of  the  Sisters  of  St.  Mary,  one  of 
the  teaching  orders  of  the  church.  It  was  founded  by  Rev.  Nicholas  Mansart,  of  the  Augustinian  Order,  and 
in  1863  the  first  establishment  was  made  in  America,  under  Mother  Emily.  Bishop  Timons,  of  Lockport,  N. 
Y.,  brought  five  sisters  from  Belgium,  and  since  that  time  the  mother  house  in  America  has  been  at  Lockport, 
the  mother  house  of  the  order  being  at  Naraur,  Belgium.  Six  sisters  of  the  order  arrived  in  Lowell  on  August 
27,  1892.  They  were  Sister  Joseph,  Sister  Berchman,  Sister  Loretta,  Sister  Felicite,  Sister  St.  Anne,  and  Sister 
Mary  of  the  Presentation.  Sister  Joseph  was  Superior,  and  she  has  occupied  the  position  ever  since.  On  the 
first  day  of  opening  the  school  there  were  about  125  pupils,  and  some  more  came  in  during  the  next  few  days. 
The  average  during  the  first  year  was  about  150.  At  the  beginning  of  the  school  year  in  September  of 
1893,  another  sister,  Emelia,  was  added  to  the  community.  At  the  beginning  of  the  year  last  September  the 
number  of  pupils  had  increased  to  235,  and  now  the  average  attendance  is  about  250.     There  are  six  classes, 



and  nine  sisters  comprise  the  community.     The  course  of  instruction  is  practically  the  same  as  in  the  grammar 

Rev.  Joseph  T.  Lavoie,  pastor  of  the  Sacred  Heart  Church,  was  born  in  1837,  i"  ^t-  JJenis,  Kamarouska 
County,  Quebec.  He  first  studied  in  St.  Anne's  College,  and  later  he  went  to  the  Quebec  University,  where  he 
graduated  with  high  honors.  His  earliest  ambition  was  to  enter  the  legal  profession,  but  he  began  to  feel  that 
he  had  been  called  to  serve  his  Master  in  a  higher  sphere,  and  he  determined  to  enter  the  ministry.  In  i860 
he  made  a  trip  to  Europe,  and  while  in  France  he  became  imbued  with  a  desire  to  join  the  Congregation  of 
Oblates.  He  entered  the  novitiate  of  the  order  and  began  a  course  of  theology.  After  the  usual  term  of  pro- 
bation he  entered  the   scholasticate  at  Autun,  Burgundy,  and  in  1864  he  was  ordained.     Immediately  after  his 

ordination  he  came  to  Ottawa  University,  where  he 
taught  sciences  and  mathematics  for  six  years,  during 
five  of  which  he  was  prefect  of  studies.  He  next  took 
charge  of  the  College  of  St.  Boniface  in  Manitoba,  and 
at  the  same  time  he  had  charge  of  St.  Mary's  parish  in 
Winnipeg.  There  he  remained  till  1885,  when  he  was 
transferred  to  the  Church  of  the  Immaculate  Concep- 
tion of  this  city,  and  was  given  charge  of  St.  Andrew's 
parish,  Billerica.  He  only  remained  about  six  months 
in  this  charge,  and  then  he  was  transferred  to  the 
Sacred  Heart  Church,  where  he  assumed  the  duties  of 
Superior.  He  remained  at  the  Sacred  Heart  Church 
till  1889,  when  he  was  transferred  to  the  Church  of 
St.  John  the  Baptist,  as  assistant  to  Father  Garin. 
There  he  remained  till  189 1,  when  he  was  transferred 
to  Buffalo  to  assume  the  duties  of  Superior  of  the 
Buffalo  house.  His  departure  from  St.  John's  Church 
was  made  the  occasion  for  a  gratifying  manifestation 
of  love  and  esteem  from  the  parishioners.  Just  before 
he  left  about  four  hundred  of  them  assembled  in  the 
basement  of  the  church,  and  Miss  Alma  Alexander, 
on  their  behalf,  read  an  address  in  which  they  feelingly 
expressed  their  sorrow  at  his  departure.  He  was  then 
presented  with  many  beautiful  gifts,  and  among  them 
a  purse  containing  gioo  in  gold. 

While  at  Buffalo  he  also  had  charge  of  the  Church 
Rei.  jc.stiH  1    i  vii.iE  o  M  1  Qf  ^]^g  Holy  Angels.     He  remained  there  till   July  of 

Pastor  Chikch  ,,r  THF  s^ci>rD  HEMir,  I  owEr.L.  .  ^ 

1893,  when  he  was  again  transferred  to  the  Church  of 
the  Sacred  Heart,  of  this  city,  as  Superior,  and  there  he  has  remained  since.  He  is  much  beloved  by  his 
congregation,  and  under  his  guidance  the  parish  is  prospering.  He  is  assisted  by  Father  Barrett.  Father 
Gagnon,  who  has  charge  of  Billerica  and  the  city  farm,  makes  his  home  at  the  parochial  residence.  The 
chapel,  a  cut  of  which  is  given  herewith,  is  located  at  the  rear  of  the  parochial  residence.  It  is  used  on  week- 
days when  it  is  found  inconvenient  to  heat  the  basement  of  the  church. 



IRotre  2)ame  Consent,  Xowell 


Bs  p.  5.  X^ncb. 

O'I'RE  DAME  CONVENT,  immediately  adjoining  St.  Patrick's  Ciuu-cli,  is  one 
of  the  finest  institutions  of  its  Icind  in  New  England,  and  it  is  also  one  of  the 
oldest,  for  i